Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Roman Catacombs

Catacombs are ancient underground cemeteries; the catacombs here in Rome were mainly used by Christians (and occasionally Jews) from the 2nd to the 5th centuries AD. At the time underground burial was popular due to the high price of land, and for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a really good time on our tour. The crypts were amazing...in a strange way. Seeing the Catacombs was something we had wanted to do the last time we were in Rome but ran out of time. We were happy to be able to do it this time. The two ladies who came with the two different groups were both informative and just very good with what they do. I enjoyed listening to both of them when we were on the bus. Overall, we really enjoyed our time and glad we took the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great tour. I did not know what to expect from crypts, just amazing. Catacombs history also amazing. Our tour guide was great. Would recommend this tour 100%

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Another great tour. Our 2 guides were Carenna and Julia. They were both excellent and very knowledgeable. They were very good at pointing out different iconic sights as we passed them in the bus. We really appreciated the extra information. The Catacombs were awesome and the Capuchin "Bone "rooms were unforgettable. So glad we took the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Melanie was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. She clearly loves her job and brings you right along with her. The catacombs are incredible, wish we could have seen more. The crypts are very interesting, and incomparable. However, the highlight of the tour was St Clement's with all the historical significance and amazing travel through time

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this tour, especially the catacombs and the Cappuchin crypt. Amazing. Our guide, Kinga, was my favorite for all of the tours we took. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best tour and guide we have EVER had. The guide Rebecca was informative friendly knowledgable . A true pro. Please ask for her. The catacombs were amazing. At one point there were 500,000 bodies buried there. I am recommending Rebecca to anyone I know. She is with Rome Dark City Tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see the Crypts and Catacombs. It sounds a bit macabre but it provides an interesting education around the history of the Christians and Roman's. The tour is by tour bus and starts with a short trip to the catacombs which is about 20 min by tour bus just outside of the city walls. There are 2 more stops - both were equally fascinating especially as you walk down the different 'layers' of the history. Its quite amazing to walk down hundreds of years of development. The last stop is the most macabre with the various skeletons re - designed into art by the monks. We found it really interesting and the kids were engaged (16 and 13) in the whole tour. As always the tour guides knowledge of these places really helps to bring alive the history. It wouldn't be the same to tour these on your own unless you had really researched the history behind these places on your own. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice tour! Great information about the Catacombs (we visited San Callisto Catacombs in Rome) and information on Christian Rome. We spent just the right amount of time there and then traveled to the Appian Way and Acqueduct Park. For us, this was the highlight of the tour. We marveled at the size and just ingenious nature of those structures! Beautiful and amazing!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour! We had a small group, a nice mini-bus and an American guide. The catacombs were very interesting.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

RITA P
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is very interesting, from the walk through the catacombs to the visit to the Capucin skulls via the underground visit of the Basilica of St-Clement - all must see attractions. Our guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable and brought great insight to this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

You don't actually see any bones in the catacombs. I suppose it was still worth the 45 minute ride out of the city. The last part of the tour with the church decorated with bones was the most interesting. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our group of about 40 left from the meeting site to board a bus to go to the catacombs on the Appian Way. On the way, our guides, Michael and Peter, gave a running commentary about the history of various places we passed along the way and about the catacombs we were about to see. It was easy to hear since the guides used microphones. At the catacombs we broke into 2 smaller groups; ours was led by Peter. As we toured the catacombs Peter shared much about the history and culture. He was very open to questions and was a an excellent guide. After the catacombs we drove to the San Clemente Basillica church for another tour led by Peter, who again proved very knowledgeable and open to questions. Our third stop was at the monastery of the Capuchin monks to see the "bone" tributes. It was sobering to observe the bones of so many now dead, but Peter expressed a reverence and appreciation for their solemn beauty that made the tour quite memorable. Overall, a very good tour, well worth the money. A few notes: There is a fair amount of walking and traversing old, uneven or steep steps, so be forewarned. The guides did provide time for a bathroom break and souvenir run at the catacombs. Peter clearly revealed a great appreciation for the sites we toured and we were very impressed with the depth and breadth of his knowledge. And, finally -- keep in mind that these very talented guides who work hard to keep you informed and entertained for 4 hours would appreciate a small tip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing! I loved everything about this tour. The catacombs are a must see, but very difficult to get to. This tour takes you to the catacombs and provides a guide to explain what you are seeing. What I also loved about this tour is that we stopped to see the Apian Way, and we went to the aqueduct park, where you can see a well-preserved section of aqueduct. This park would be very difficult to get to on your own. The inclusion of the aqueduct park along with the catacombs is why I gave this tour 5 stars. A very enjoyable morning.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Yes we enjoyed this tour of the Catacombs side.
Clearly the best catacomb choice. I would not recommend the catalyst tour of the relics of bone decorations. Cultures and religious beliefs aside it was a disturbing show of great evil.
The guides were excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

this was a wonderful tour!! We went to three sites--all incredible and amazing. We did feel a bit rushed by the sheer number of other groups forcing us to move on perhaps before everyone had a chance to see what our guide was telling us. We would have liked to have spent a less hurried time in the Capucchin museum, but again that is more a problem with the extraordinary number of tourists all vying to see the same things. Highly recommend. It was pouring rain when we left, so as a result our group was smaller than the usual 18 which was great. It would be nice if size could be limited to 12-15, since it can be difficult to hear at times in the Catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message