Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Roman Catacombs

Catacombs are ancient underground cemeteries; the catacombs here in Rome were mainly used by Christians (and occasionally Jews) from the 2nd to the 5th centuries AD. At the time underground burial was popular due to the high price of land, and for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

AMAZING!!!!!!! Our guide Korina knew so much about the history of the crypts and catacombs. She made it such a great experience!! I would recommend this tour enthusiastically!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide was so energetic, funny, and informative. The catacombs were very interesting and the aquaducts were beyond words...amazing! Although the history of the Appian Way is extraordinary, the original stones from the Appian Way are few, so it was a little disappointing. I expected to see a whole road of original stones, but there were only a few. I would still highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was incredible and very surreal. The guide for the crypts and catacombs was great and he was so knowledgeable. While the mystery tour guide was absolutely fabulous, she is a great story teller and kept you engaged. Definitely recommend this for any one interested in the dark history of Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Crypts and Catacombs plus Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Peter was a great guide. Highly recommend this tour. He was friendly and fun while talking about the crypts and catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour is described as a small group walking tour and it needs to be to fit into the confined spaces it visits. Having 23 people frequently led to a cramped diminished experience. Still the tour was different and interesting. The capuchin crypts were an amazing relic of times past but probably didn't need the repetitive review at each crypt. The catacombs were a once in a lifetime experience. Simply amazing. But the highlight was St Clemente. What a treasure. Brilliantly brought to life by the guide, we saw no better example of the sequential layering of Rome's building. A true gem.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour was nice, tour guide was nice but the communication was just OK......the catacombs we're pretty amazing. Bus to transport was good shape and be clean.....I would use Green Line Tours again and again.

Doing what: Christian Rome Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Fairly decent tour. Biking along the Appian way is great, and since the bikes are electric assisted, there is no physical challenge whatsoever for an decently conditioned person. The highlight really is the stop for cheese and wine at the farm near the end. The catacombs part of the tour was pretty lame, and took time from the biking. I thought that the catacombs would be the best, and the cheese and wine the worst, but the opposite was true. I had a great time. Perhaps the best and most memorable part of my trip to Italy, was sitting at the farm, as it was the most intimate chance to speak with regular Italian people. One suggestion, please do not bring kids under 13 or so. We had a young boy along, who was sure he could do it, and he did, but it was a drag on the rest of the tour because he couldn't keep the pace.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Had a small group which was great and the tour of the catacombs was interesting but didn't do much else. Didn't get to walk through the country side. Went to the Appian way for 10 minutes and then an aqueduct for 10 minutes and then went home. Stress free way of doing the catacombs though.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

iammj2
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour and saw some amazing sites. If you get claustrophobic don't go as you are taken through some incredible catacombs. The final part of the tour is a visit to the Cappuchin Monk's and this is really something you need to see!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I, including our two children in their twenties, loved this tour. It was very fascinating learning the history behind the crypts and catacombs. The designs in the crypts were unbelievable and the tour of the catacombs was so interesting. This is not your typical Rome tour. Our guide, Allessandro, was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to experience and learn about the history of Christianity from the Capuchin crypts, catacombs to the archeological levels of San Clemente Basilica. Our guide Becky was enthusiastic about sharing her knowledge during the tour. This was our 4 visit to Rome and the tour was a highlight.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended visit. Great visit of catacombs as well as as via appia and the viaduct in the Roman countryside. A welcome escape from the city. Lovely guide Inger gave a perfect overview with just the right amount of information about the history of the places. 3 hour visit was just right for a whistle stop tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The catacombs were great as well as the visit to the aqueduct, countryside, and Apia Way. The tour guide was misinformed on things Christian, i.e., origin of the word pagan. Didn't see as much of the catacombs as we've seen in the past. Guide pried into too much of individual's space, i.e., occupation, belief system, etc.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very unique tour. Loved the details in the catacombs and St. Clemente. Not feeling so good about the capuchins. Guide had great amount of knowledge. Wish we had her for the other Rome tours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Unfortunately it was not great. The guide lost us in the catacombs for 30 mins, she did not realize that 10 of us were missing from the group. The bus dropped us off a long way from our hotel at the end of the tour and I have some difficulty walking. Then finally the tour guide gives the tour in four languages which is really confusing. I took several italian tours years ago and they were much better. The company name was Green something not viator so not sure if you are passing your tours on to other companies

Doing what: Christian Rome Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

tour was great. Guide was knowledgeable, pace of trip was good, and the catacombs are amazing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour! The combination of the Catacombs, St Clemente and the Capuchin crypts was definitely a winning formula. All three offer an insight into a different era and aspect of the history of Rome. Our guide was very knowledgeable and kept the tour moving at a brisk pace. St Clemente is a Roman church not to be missed, all those layers underneath is like taking a vertical slice through the history of Rome over the last 2000 years or so- incredible!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fascinating and unusual tour. It started with a coach trip to the Catacombs sadly no bones present any more!, then another coach trip to the fascinating 4-levela church of San Clemente, then back on the coach to the fountain where the tour began for a short walk to perhaps the most unusual museum in Rome - the Capuchin museum complete with celebratory skeletal scenes featuring hundreds of dead monks and a couple of princesses too. I had a feeling this would be a good tour - I could feel it in my bones! - and I was right! Three separate parts to a half day tour packs a lot in and is good value for money. Our tour guide Rebecca was helpful and knowledgeable, and answered any questions anyone had, as well as putting everything in its historical and cultural context.
A great way to enjoy a taste of macabre Rome. Bone appetite!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Rebecca did a great job. She was knowledgeable and kept the tour interesting. This was my last day in Rome or I would have booked more tours with her as she was the best guide we had during our 15 days in Italy. She told multiple stories that brought the crypts and catacombs to life.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The crypts and catacombs were amazing. But what was great in this package was the additional night tour. Walking Rome at night while listening to history and ghost stories was fantastic.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Crypts and Catacombs plus Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour of the catacombs was interesting and our guide Jeanette was friendly, funny and interesting.
The walk down Appian way and to see the aqueducts was amazing!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely tour the catacombs are very interesting and our Guide gave us lots of information about the place, those who were buried there and much, much more. The frescoes are amazing not huge but still works of art worth seeing. I found the aquaduct of Claudius amazing, I have taught about this so to touch, see, was a real treat. The guide made our tour interesting, and informative and we would recommend this tour

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Thank you Jeanette for a wonderful and different excursion of Rome. Catacombs were amazing and the Appian Way and Aquaducts are so worth seeing. This may not be your first choice of things to see in Rome but if you get the chance to do this tour it is well worth it.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My kids say this was the best tour ever. They we 60 feet under ground and got to see so many artifacts. They learned about how and why the crypts and catacombs existed. They never thought they would get to see somethings like they were able to see. Rebecca was GREAT.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mike our guide was great very funny and knew a lot about the crypts and catacombs and definitely like what he does and that made a huge difference I would recommend this tour to everyone especially the crypts.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message