• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Roman Catacombs

Catacombs are ancient underground cemeteries; the catacombs here in Rome were mainly used by Christians (and occasionally Jews) from the 2nd to the 5th centuries AD. At the time underground burial was popular due to the high price of land, and for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very worthwhile afternoon in Rome. Our guide was very knowledgable! This was in actuality three tours in one with a new, clean bus picking us up at a great central Rome location and moving us from place to place. The catacombs were fascinating (and why we originally signed up for the tour) but the Capuchin Crypt and Basilica of San Clemente were two of the most interesting and memorable places we saw in Rome. Very well organized and professional tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide (Mike) stepped us back in time as we navigated our way through the catacombs. We had flown in on the redeye and hit the ground running. Our tour was in the afternoon and was a great way to finish out the day. Mike was awesome and EXTREMELY knowledgable. This is a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was offered through Dark Rome. Very unique tour. Please note this is a combination bus and walking tour which is nice on sore feet. First stop is the Catacombs. Rebecca did a great job explaining the city as we drove to the sight and lots of important and interesting info on the catacombs. Rebecca is very passionate and you can tell she is always doing research to make sure she offers best tour possible. Next stop is the church of San Clemente. This is four layers of history you walk through which is quite fascinating-this is a church you might skip on your own because the outside doesn't do the inside justice. Third stop is the bone stop pictured for this tour. Very cool and interesting! Great tour def recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic!!!! If you like Crypts and Catacombs this is a great tour. Also the fact that this tour was provided by Dark Rome tours and we had Rebecca the best tour guide ever. She made the whole experience fun and educational.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide Mike as absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend Dark Rome tours. The crypts and catacombs were wonderful to see. The small nature of the group was nice. The history surrounding us was amazing and inspiring.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Crypts and Roman Catacombs was with another small group but we all went on a coach together which was a surprise, but went back to small groups once we arrive at three different locations. Again tour guide was knowledgeable and very descriptive, and she done the tour with great passion. This was with Dark Rome via Viator and my children out of all the tours loved this the most. It was a fascinating experience and amazing to see these chambers of Crypts and Catacombs still exist, especially under the city. The only thing to be aware of was we were asked to met at the fountain and it was only by sheer chance my husband show a man with a clip board in the large open square that made us realise he was checking people in and not at the fountain as stated in our information.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Outstanding tour that was the highlight of our trip to Rome. The catacombs and crypts were amazing to see and learn about. Our guide was incredible and made the event fun and educational. I would recommend anyone visiting Rome to sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Getting to the catacombs would have been difficult on our own but this tour combines them with 2 other great sites in 3 hours. A great tour to pick up some of the less obvious gems in Rome. Although it is described as a walking tour, travel betwen the sites is by coach. The guides are very good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow! One of the best tours of the trip! Mateo (Matt) did a great job guiding us around on this very beautiful and educational tour. From a few highlights of Rome - we were quickly out of the "city" and into what felt like open countryside. Matt was great with everything from safety tips to area orientation and information. We did a side tour of St. Sebastion's catacombs and it was great as well. The highlight of the tour is stopping at a local farm and sampling the local cheese made of sheep milk - fantastic! This was just the break from the crowds you need if you are there seeing Rome's busy highlights!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was my favorite tour. A bus ride through the city and no crowds to deal with. It was also a nice treat to get away from the heat when we headed down into the catacombs. I did have a little bit of a hard time with understanding my tour guide. Her accent was very thick, but she had a great attitude and my girlfriend and I had a great time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had two great tour guides. Both ladies had art history back grounds and were very knowledgeable. I didn't realize we would be going to three different locations. The bus ride out to the catacombs was wonderful. They told us more about the city and the architecture on our way there. Fascinating at the catacombs. Then a unique church with great historic significance (at least three levels of different churchs on one site) and finally the Capuchin Crypts with the sobering skeletal art work. It was a great tour. It took much longer than we expected (close to 4 hours?) but I loved it and could have done it all day. Really nice people.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour guide, very knowledgable. Catacombs most interesting.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour and great guide. I am terrible with names, but the guide was a really sweet girl from the US (Los Angeles?). She was very knowledgeable, extremely funny and had a way of sharing history with us that really made you able to picture it all in your head. She was even kind enough to recommend a nice place to have lunch after the tour. Seeing the catacombs was a very different and uniqe experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Rome.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a fantastic tour. The Capuchin Monastery is so interesting, but be prepared, take a pen and paper to jot down information your are given. You are not permitted to take photos and unless you want to spend money and buy the information book, you will not remember all the interesting facts of this monastery. The Crypts and Catacombs was also amazing. Just it's age and historical facts will blow you away. Awesome. Our guide Luciana was fantastic. Her enthusiasm really brought energy to the tour. Whilst travelling by bus to the Catacombs she pointed out all the other historical aspects and architecture worth noting in Rome...so much it makes your head spin. Definitely do this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

JEANETTE IS THE BEST!!!! She is truly passionate about the subject matter and her knowledge of art history is fascinating!!! On top of it she has a lovely personality. She really made this tour great!!! Our tour was on a cold, rainy day...appropriate for catacombs! The catacombs, aquaducts, and Apian Way are amazing in and of themselves, but having Jeanette as the tour guide was what made this a once in a lifetime experience!!!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message