Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Roman Catacombs

Catacombs are ancient underground cemeteries; the catacombs here in Rome were mainly used by Christians (and occasionally Jews) from the 2nd to the 5th centuries AD. At the time underground burial was popular due to the high price of land, and for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Thank you Jeanette for a wonderful and different excursion of Rome. Catacombs were amazing and the Appian Way and Aquaducts are so worth seeing. This may not be your first choice of things to see in Rome but if you get the chance to do this tour it is well worth it.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My kids say this was the best tour ever. They we 60 feet under ground and got to see so many artifacts. They learned about how and why the crypts and catacombs existed. They never thought they would get to see somethings like they were able to see. Rebecca was GREAT.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mike our guide was great very funny and knew a lot about the crypts and catacombs and definitely like what he does and that made a huge difference I would recommend this tour to everyone especially the crypts.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour was fairly long and there is climbing involved and some bus rides. Big item to know, cameras are not allowed during the actual catacomb tours and if they were it is quite dark and they would not come out well. The tour is more for information on early Christian burial rites and conditions they had to go through. The history is fairly good to learn and our guides had great insights into details that made it all come together. We did have to wait around 15 minutes which threw off the remainder of the tour, making our last stop rushed and they were closing as we walked out the door, making gift shop buying rushed. We visited 3 sites, the actual Catacombs first, St Clemente (not really a catacomb) and the Cappuccini monastery which is where the bizarre bone art and displays are, not recommended for younger people or those squeamish at seeing actual bones of people on display. We enjoyed the tour and learned quite a bit but it was not as initially expected. For those believing this will be similar to the Paris catacombs it is not, outside of the last location you are seeing holes in walls at learning what occurred during the burial rites of the first Christians.

Our guides were professional, knowledgeable, and well organized. We did run into a problem at the first start where our tour was clashing with a group of nuns and we had to wait for them as the management sorted out the situation. Unfortunately this led to rushing through the remainder of the sites. St Clemente is not a catacomb per say but was a great site seeing the multiple levels and history of its site and name sake. I would recommend seeing this cathedral on its own separately as there are many things there to get more information on. The tour was worth while and I was happy to have taken it as was my wife, not Christian, who learned quite a bit and has a much better understanding after it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent guide, Chiarra..........My husband and I loved this tour. Great to see the catacombs and also the beautiful basilica of St. John of Lateran and Santa Maria de Maggoria. Our guide was very imformative and we especially loved the tour company pickup at the hotel and drop off very near our hotel when the tour was over.

Doing what: Christian Rome Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a really good time on our tour. The crypts were amazing...in a strange way. Seeing the Catacombs was something we had wanted to do the last time we were in Rome but ran out of time. We were happy to be able to do it this time. The two ladies who came with the two different groups were both informative and just very good with what they do. I enjoyed listening to both of them when we were on the bus. Overall, we really enjoyed our time and glad we took the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great tour. I did not know what to expect from crypts, just amazing. Catacombs history also amazing. Our tour guide was great. Would recommend this tour 100%

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Another great tour. Our 2 guides were Carenna and Julia. They were both excellent and very knowledgeable. They were very good at pointing out different iconic sights as we passed them in the bus. We really appreciated the extra information. The Catacombs were awesome and the Capuchin "Bone "rooms were unforgettable. So glad we took the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Melanie was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. She clearly loves her job and brings you right along with her. The catacombs are incredible, wish we could have seen more. The crypts are very interesting, and incomparable. However, the highlight of the tour was St Clement's with all the historical significance and amazing travel through time

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this tour, especially the catacombs and the Cappuchin crypt. Amazing. Our guide, Kinga, was my favorite for all of the tours we took. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best tour and guide we have EVER had. The guide Rebecca was informative friendly knowledgable . A true pro. Please ask for her. The catacombs were amazing. At one point there were 500,000 bodies buried there. I am recommending Rebecca to anyone I know. She is with Rome Dark City Tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see the Crypts and Catacombs. It sounds a bit macabre but it provides an interesting education around the history of the Christians and Roman's. The tour is by tour bus and starts with a short trip to the catacombs which is about 20 min by tour bus just outside of the city walls. There are 2 more stops - both were equally fascinating especially as you walk down the different 'layers' of the history. Its quite amazing to walk down hundreds of years of development. The last stop is the most macabre with the various skeletons re - designed into art by the monks. We found it really interesting and the kids were engaged (16 and 13) in the whole tour. As always the tour guides knowledge of these places really helps to bring alive the history. It wouldn't be the same to tour these on your own unless you had really researched the history behind these places on your own. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice tour! Great information about the Catacombs (we visited San Callisto Catacombs in Rome) and information on Christian Rome. We spent just the right amount of time there and then traveled to the Appian Way and Acqueduct Park. For us, this was the highlight of the tour. We marveled at the size and just ingenious nature of those structures! Beautiful and amazing!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour! We had a small group, a nice mini-bus and an American guide. The catacombs were very interesting.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

RITA P
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is very interesting, from the walk through the catacombs to the visit to the Capucin skulls via the underground visit of the Basilica of St-Clement - all must see attractions. Our guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable and brought great insight to this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message