Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Rome Civitavecchia Cruise Port

If your Mediterranean cruise stops off in Rome, Civitavecchia will be your port of call. Only 80km (50 miles) north-west of Rome, this busy cruise port is geared to ship travel and is your gateway to many historic sights of the Eternal City, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

First of all there was chaos at the Port entrance where we were supposed to meet the guide. After a while when we managed to find her, she took us to the bus and many people who were slow in walking took a long time to come to the bus and were very agitated with the guide.
Secondly and most importantly, please do NOT call this trip Rome Day Trip as we saw NOTHING of Rome during this shore excursion. We did not see the Colosseum, or the Trevi Fountain or any of the landmarks of this beautiful city. All we did was the Vatican museum and the Sistine chapel...both of which were very crowded. By the time we finished it was time to get on the bus to drive to Civitaveccia as the port is very far away.
Had we known that we would see nothing of Rome, perhaps we would not have taken this tour. The title is very misleading.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

Jnoblegas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Booked the transfer from port to our hotel, driver showed up early and got to central Rome hotel event free. The car was clean and large enough for our 5 bags of luggage. Driver was helpful, but only negative was language barrier as we spoke no Italian and he spoke limited English, but didn't affect the trip to Rome. Would recommend for use.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great service ended up with the same driver both ways to and from the cruise port Johnny was great

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The driver was the same person who picked us up at the Vatican after our tour and transported us to our hotel in Rome where we could freshen up and collect our luggage. He was most accommodating and allowed us the time we needed before continuing on to the seaport. The drive to the cruise port was smooth and pleasant.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Melissa was an excellent drive on time actually early, which was great the vehicle was very nice.
At the port she helped us get a porter for our baggage.
I will use your service again and highy recommend it.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was perfect, he was on time and it was a comfortable ride. I was so sorry that we could not reach your company for transfer from AMS port to airport.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had never used Viator previously and was very unsure that the driver would even find us at the port. Thankfully he was standing right where he needed to be for us to find him and he helped with the luggage and got us to the airport much sooner than ever expected. I'm recommending your site to everybody I know. Thank you

Doing what: Rome Shared Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was teriffic. Allesandra was our guide and she was excellent. really nice overview of Rome. Only downside was hooking up with our tour bus at port. instructions/directions were a little vague. there were some of our group that did not arrive on time and were left behind.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver was waiting for us and better than taking the cruise transfer with another 30 passengers. Directly to the airport with no issues.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver was on time and very professional, very knowledgeable to the history and culture of the city. Have us at the port in no time at all.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alessandro was on time, very professional and courteous, the drive to the airport was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were off our ship early and the driver was already there waiting for us. It made our trip to the airport wonderfully easy with no worries about missing our flight home. The driver was great! No waiting with a big group from the cruise who said they couldn't book our transfer to the airport because our flight was too early. Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the way to go - cost less than the cruise ship transportation which is on a large bus - this was a private car and very comfortable. Picked us up at the Hilton airport and got us to the cruise port in less than an hour.

Doing what: Rome Shared Transfer: Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

WE made it in less than 45 minutes. Driver had to park a long way from port and he drove VERY fast.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Transportation to the Vatican was fine but we were cast adrift after arrival.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We got from the port to the location to meet the tour bus the description of where to meet the guide was not the same information communicated to me in an email. Once we found the guide and got the bus to the Vatican. that was fine. We entered a building to get group stickers. a new guide joined the group we went to the Vatican. We were told we will meet another new guide when we go up to floor two. We were given a card. It wasn't explained to us the purpose of it.. Some people took the stairs, some tried to access the elevators not working. On floor 2, the former guide who said we would meet him up stairs could not be found. Now we were left on our own. We did not get into the Sistine Chapel and we paid for 'skip the line'. We had no guide to direct us or to follow. The changing of the guides was not properly coordinated. the guides should have made sure all the group members were made aware of the new guides.
f

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our driver was very pleasant and helpful. He knew his way around Rome and the cruise port, taking us directly to our ship, even though the dock location had been changed without our knowledge. I'm certain that without his help, the transfer would have been much more confusing and frustrating. The town car was clean and comfortable. We really feel that this was the best choice for a quick and easy transfer.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Driver arrived at Port dock early and deposited us at airport in plenty of time for our flight.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Travel arrangements to and back from civivatecci were a nightmare. Not picked up from outside the port as our travel documents said we would be so phone calls to your office required
Not confident once we got to Rome as to our return trip as the departure was not as initially indicated

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I was not a part of this transfer since I had a plane change and had to use other transportation from the ship.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was very well informed and gave us a good sense of what was there and why it is important. The walking was easy and the ruins remarkably intact.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything went smoothly! The driver met us inside the airport as scheduled and was holding a sign with our name on it. He was very courteous, very professional, and very competent. We had a private, comfortable ride in a new Mercedes and paid $50 less than we would have for the charter bus provided by the cruise line.

Doing what: Rome Shared Transfer: Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

No problem getting into Rome. We arrived early at the pick up point, and asked several drivers if this was the bus we were to go back to the ship on. All answered no, even the driver that dropped us off that morning, which we recognized, said no. When other people that traveled in with us arrived, it was the right bus. But we departed later than the time stated and I was getting worried. So, I had arranged with a man driving a smaller van back to the port to travel with him for a total of €40.00.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Please provide your drivers with bona fide identification. When we left our rooms in the Annex of the Profumo Maison D'Hotes, we were met by a driver with a Mercedes who had apparently been brought there by the hotel porter. This was not at the main hotel itself, but two blocks away. We naturally assumed that he was our driver, but when we went to check out at the main hotel, your driver appeared and was identified as such by the hotel receptionist. If she had not been there, we would have ended up in Civitavecchia having to pay again for a journey that was prepaid. It is important therefore, that your drivers come forward with their identification. The journey to Civitavecchia was excellent in a clean and modern car. The driver courteous and helpful.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It is the first time we used this service and we worried that if driver did not show up in the airport we could be in a big trouble because our cruise schedule is very tight.

Thanks God that the driver was waiting for us and the service is good.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message