Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Rome Civitavecchia Cruise Port

If your Mediterranean cruise stops off in Rome, Civitavecchia will be your port of call. Only 80km (50 miles) north-west of Rome, this busy cruise port is geared to ship travel and is your gateway to many historic sights of the Eternal City, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was great! We saw all the major sights except for the trevi fountain because of construction. The only issue is that because the port is so far they left a little early so that we didn't miss our ship but we ended up being back with a couple hours to spare that I would have rather spent in rome. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and spoke great english. Great knowledge!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The driver was waiting for us when we exited the cruise. He held a sign with our name and was easy to find at the port. He was friendly and spoke English well enough to be understood. The car was clean It was a pleasure dealing with the company and will recommend them to others and will definitely use them again.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Rude and unapologetic driver from pick up at port to drop off in Rome.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The skip-the-line aspect of this tour was certainly worthwhile. There were about 20 of us to make the trip from Civitavecchia to Rome in a comfortable bus. At the start, the tour guide was late and didn't have a clear, large enough sign for us to spot the Viator Tour, easily. Once we arrived in Rome, we were more than 30 minutes early at the entrance as we had an 11:00 a.m. scheduled group entrance at the Museum--a waste of precious time as we were all standing around grumbling. The tour guide announced that the pick-up point would be at the Museum exit instead at the Colosseum which we were all expecting as that was how the excursion was published when we signed up. As a group we felt slighted as we would not be able to see the famous Roman Colosseum. Five star for skip-the-line and the Vatican Museum, one star for not being informed of the pick up change and the disappointment for not being able to see the Colosseum.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Punctual and excellent driver made our transfer from hotel to port a comfortable and enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

we got off the ship 30 minutes early and the driver was there waiting for us.I was worried about making our flight home bit the private transfer service eliminated that worry - had plenty of time at the Rome airport which takes awhile to negotiate.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

driver was early and waiting for is at the hotel. excellent driver got us to the cruise port and right to our ship ahead of schedule.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Could not have been better! Picked up right on time. Got to the port in less time than anticipated, with a wonderful driver.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Service was excellent. We were picked up on time from the Cruise Port and were driven directly to the Rome Fuimincino Airport and arrived within the time range given by the driver. We were very satisfied and I was happy I didn't choose the cruise ships transportation with a bus full of 50 other people! This private transfer was perfect!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

excellent driver very informative had great wi fi and conversation all the way to the port

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This company provides outstanding customer service! Originally we were to take the shuttle to the entry to the port. A later email which I did not pay enough attention to, told us we'd be picked up at the ship. We took the shuttle to the entry and did not see our tour. They called me, we returned to the ship where the driver had waited for us for over an hour. Super friendly and helpful. The entry to the Vatican museum was pretty chaotic, but just because of the sheer numbers of people. I'm told it's like this at the Vatican year 'round, otherwise I'd try to visit during off season. I'd not do the Vatican again, but 100 percent would use Viator again.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Could have paid much less booking through the hotel to the PORT. Seems like VIATOR is getting double what would normally be paid for a transport. I don't mind paying slightly more, but DOUBLE the cost???...totally not worth the cost.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

First of all there was chaos at the Port entrance where we were supposed to meet the guide. After a while when we managed to find her, she took us to the bus and many people who were slow in walking took a long time to come to the bus and were very agitated with the guide.
Secondly and most importantly, please do NOT call this trip Rome Day Trip as we saw NOTHING of Rome during this shore excursion. We did not see the Colosseum, or the Trevi Fountain or any of the landmarks of this beautiful city. All we did was the Vatican museum and the Sistine chapel...both of which were very crowded. By the time we finished it was time to get on the bus to drive to Civitaveccia as the port is very far away.
Had we known that we would see nothing of Rome, perhaps we would not have taken this tour. The title is very misleading.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

Jnoblegas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Booked the transfer from port to our hotel, driver showed up early and got to central Rome hotel event free. The car was clean and large enough for our 5 bags of luggage. Driver was helpful, but only negative was language barrier as we spoke no Italian and he spoke limited English, but didn't affect the trip to Rome. Would recommend for use.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great service ended up with the same driver both ways to and from the cruise port Johnny was great

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The driver was the same person who picked us up at the Vatican after our tour and transported us to our hotel in Rome where we could freshen up and collect our luggage. He was most accommodating and allowed us the time we needed before continuing on to the seaport. The drive to the cruise port was smooth and pleasant.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Melissa was an excellent drive on time actually early, which was great the vehicle was very nice.
At the port she helped us get a porter for our baggage.
I will use your service again and highy recommend it.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was perfect, he was on time and it was a comfortable ride. I was so sorry that we could not reach your company for transfer from AMS port to airport.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had never used Viator previously and was very unsure that the driver would even find us at the port. Thankfully he was standing right where he needed to be for us to find him and he helped with the luggage and got us to the airport much sooner than ever expected. I'm recommending your site to everybody I know. Thank you

Doing what: Rome Shared Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was teriffic. Allesandra was our guide and she was excellent. really nice overview of Rome. Only downside was hooking up with our tour bus at port. instructions/directions were a little vague. there were some of our group that did not arrive on time and were left behind.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver was waiting for us and better than taking the cruise transfer with another 30 passengers. Directly to the airport with no issues.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver was on time and very professional, very knowledgeable to the history and culture of the city. Have us at the port in no time at all.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alessandro was on time, very professional and courteous, the drive to the airport was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were off our ship early and the driver was already there waiting for us. It made our trip to the airport wonderfully easy with no worries about missing our flight home. The driver was great! No waiting with a big group from the cruise who said they couldn't book our transfer to the airport because our flight was too early. Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the way to go - cost less than the cruise ship transportation which is on a large bus - this was a private car and very comfortable. Picked us up at the Hilton airport and got us to the cruise port in less than an hour.

Doing what: Best Rome Shared Transfer: Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message