Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Rome Civitavecchia Cruise Port

If your Mediterranean cruise stops off in Rome, Civitavecchia will be your port of call. Only 80km (50 miles) north-west of Rome, this busy cruise port is geared to ship travel and is your gateway to many historic sights of the Eternal City, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 180 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Made the transfer to the port very easy!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Richard S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Poorly organized from start to finish. The guide showed up well after the published initial meeting time. When I booked the tour, I was clear that I was travelling with my mobility-challenged mother, but we were dropped off a considerable distance from the entrance to the Vatican and had to walk, then when we were finished we had to walk some distance to where we were being picked up. The transportation was quite late, so we had to stand and wait as there were no chairs and no place to sit.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

betty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a miscommunication problem between the driver who picked us up from the port and drop us off by the side of the Vatican without telling us where to meet the guide. The guide arrived 15 minutes later that it was told to us by phone, and we couldn't get in touch with anyone. But after that the tour was incredible, the guide was very knowledgeable and took us every where explaining to us about the beautiful works of art inside the museums. We recommend this tour, but ask that you use drivers that can communicate with the people to prevent this problems

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Skip-the-Line Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour in Rome

Neal C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

This was fine. More than anything, for us it was an easy way to get from the ship to the airport. If it were to be our only tour of Rome, and we only had a half day to see the sites, it is way too rushed by necessity and one would be better advised to pick one of these sites and be more relaxed about it.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Terry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The gentleman was on time waiting for us at the port. He got us there on time. Very good service.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

jkimmoses

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We got off the cruise ship early 7:30 a.m. and had to wait a bit since our driver wasn't supposed to meet us until 8:30. As it turned out he was there early. He was there with holding a sign with our name on it and thankfully, a friend from the cruise spotted the sign and told us where the driver was waiting. We were on our way to the airport soon afterwards. The driver apologized that he didn't speak much English but that didn't present any problem. We told him our flight info and he knew which terminal to go. Smooth ride all the way. Took less than an hour. Highly recommend. Great hassle-free experience!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

On time and very courteous. Enjoy the hour ride to the Port.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Elizabeth M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour was fantastic. Our guide was waiting for us at our port and was extremely knowledgable about the city, where to go, what to see and how best to avoid the lines. In fact he even secured last minute tickets for us to get into the coliseum and walked us to the front of the line right into the arena. Five Stars and well worth the expense...which was fairly priced for two people!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Independent Rome Day Trip

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The driver was on time picking us up at the port, the trip to Rome airport was fast and the driver was very friendly.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Car Service was on time and the ride to the port was smooth.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Fred C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent transfer. The driver was right on time and very courteous. Compared to my shared transfer from the airport in Rome to our hotel, it was really a delight.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

gigeorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were extremely pleased that we booked through Viator. We would have never located our hotel otherwise!
We thought it was pricey until we found out the rates taxis were charging at the port. So it was a wise decision to resort to Viator once again!

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

aunt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Because there was 4 people in our group we decided to book a private van and driver to meet us at the port for our visit to Rome - Patrick met us at the port and it was a dreadful morning rain very heavy - Patrick quickly got us seated in the van and for the next 1-1/2 hrs he gave a consise history of the city -when we arrived he took us straight to a coffee bar close to the colosseum - he then took us to the ticket office - arranged to meet us after at a certain point - as it was still raining he arranged with his office tickets for the Vatican Museums/'Sistine Chapel - he took us to see all the major sites which we couldn't have covered otherwise - so a big thank you to Patrick who was very knowledgeable about everything and made sure we saw as much as we possibly could on such a very wet day - he was total gentleman and most helpful to 4 ladies 2 youngish 2 oldish!! - he certainly knows his city and it's history - i would certainly recommend a private car to a party of 4

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Independent Rome Day Trip

tomaxima

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our driver was early , which was great, and assisted with getting the bags in the car. Although the driver knew little English, he was able to point out some key landmarks once we got to Rome. The car was fantastic, and was a nice relaxing way to get to Rome. The only reason I did not give five stars is due to the fact that when I called the number to confirm we were at the port, a very rude gentleman questioned why I was calling.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Central Rome

itzel

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Rome, I was waiting so much for this day, but was just ok . I dont really know what happen but did not move me. We are catholic and a very religious couple but. I thing I need to book this tour with my church it felt very cold, eventhough we had the opportunity to do a confession, it just felt like a tour point . For us the Vatican means so much more it was cold an just business. Thanks Viator at least we got a good guide and skip the line.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

Brenton P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Quick, efficient transfer. Driver was on time early even, polite, and got us to the port in a safe and timely fashion. Vehicle was comfortable to fit 5 people with bags.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

yossi05 Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent,

The driver arrived ahead of time, the car black Mercedes was seamlessly clean and cozy.
The journey to Civitavecchia was fast and efficient.
The driver was very polite and helpful.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our drivers were waiting for us as soon as we came out of the customs area, even though we'd given them an approximate time of arrival given the uncertainty of time required for clearing customs. We were taken straight to the port with a friendly and courteous driver.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our driver arrived promptly to pick us up at the Cruise Terminal. He found us easily by displaying our name and drove us to the airport in good time.

Doing what: Rome Shared Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Fiumicino Airport

belle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our driver was AMAZING ! he was there before time and waited for us. He made the driver to the port wonderful. Very nice and polite. Highly recommend

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Joost K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Johnny was waiting for us after we cleared customs. He introduced himself to all members of our party, then we followed him to the van for our trip to Civitavecchia. The van was clean and Johnny was very courteous. He dropped us off at our hotel.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Rome Fiumicino Airport to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

Rome Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Pick-up at the airport was on time and easy. Trip to the hotel was timely and uneventful. Only complaint was that the driver was so anxious to get to his van, which was some walking distance from the terminal, that we nearly lost him on 2 separate occasions.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Central Rome to Civitavecchia Cruise Port

belle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The driver was a little late did not really speak English but made it the airport with plenty of time.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Private Transfer: Civitavecchia Cruise Port to Rome Fiumicino Airport

Susan L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This was really disappointing - the worst of our tour experience on this trip. It was poorly organized, chaotic, and very insensitive to the needs of group that had folks with canes. It was the equivalent of a bad bus ride from the port, being dumped in far from the destination with no useful information. Only redeeming feature was that we did skip the line for the Vatican, but without guidance we should have been told to see the Basilica first. By the time we got to it, the line was impossible.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

John C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This was our worst experience of our cruise. The driver picked us up from the cruise ship. In the van, we were mixed with people who had booked a different tour. So, when we got to the Vatican, we had to wait 20 extra minutes at a stop near the Vatican while we waited on the tour guide for the other group. When our driver finally took us to the Vatican to buy tickets, he didn't give us any information about what to expect. He just handed us the tickets and said to be outside at 3:15pm. He didn't explain anything about getting the audio guide, where to start the tour, hints about where to eat, or anything. Most importantly, he did not tell us that we could get to St. Peter's Basilica from the Sistine Chapel. So, when we got to the Sistine Chapel, we did not know there was an entrance into St. Peter's from this location. We simply followed the crowd on the rest of the tour, which took us back to the front of the Museum. When we got outside and asked a guard agout St. Peter's, he said it was a long walk around and the line would be over an hour. We missed St. Peter's, because we didn't have time to see it and then get back to meet the driver. So, we did not go to St. Peter's and was waiting on your driver at 3:15pm as he instructed. Unfortunately, your driver and van did not show up until 4pm, 45 minutes late. I asked the guide who met us and he said there was traffic. What? You plan tours every day at the Vatican and you couldn't anticipate traffic? This was completely unacceptable. This was basically a wasted day, as seeing St. Peter's was our 1 priority.

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Rome Day Trip with Skip-the-Line Vatican Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message