Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 173 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This guide was fantastic! He took the time to explained the painting in the Sistine Chapel before we actually saw them. He also informed us that although the painting on the ceilings looked three dimension they were actually flat and that the artists used shadows to make that affect.
This was an awe inspiring tour. Raphael's Rooms were breath taking. The guide was so informative and knowledgeable. We also toured St Peter's Basilica and knowing that the Pope had just held service there is something that I will never forget! There is a lot of walking as well as going up a lot of steps but it is so worth it. You can't come to Roman and not take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour may appear expensive but is throughly worth the money. The organisation was good meeting up with the guide was no problem. Even though we started at 08:00 there was a long queue both for the museum and St Peter's Basilica, we by-passed both of these. Our guide's degree included work in the Vatican Museum so her knowlege was extensive and she communicated this in an interesting way. Throughout the tour our guide ensured that we were getting the most from the tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

After we saw the Pope during a Wednesday morning mass (tickets reserved thru Viator), we booked the tour of the Vatican Museums. We chose the afternoon tour which commenced at 230 PM (our morning tour ended at about 1230PM). So, we had two hours to wait and so we decided to eat the Cafe Vaticano which was the designated Cafe where we are supposed to meet our guide (at bottom opt steps beside Cafe). The Cafe is right in front of the Museum but, beware, it was very expensive. For my wife and I, we paid about 90 Euros for lunch which was spaghetti and chicken with small ice cream for dessert! But we are not reviewing the cafe, so I will continue on with this great tour. Our guide was very good and they give you headsets so u can follow her through the many hallways. The Sistine Chapel is at the very end of the tour, and for that you need to have complete silence without the guide so she explained to us about the cailing paintings before we entered the Sistine Chapel.
The treasures in the Vatican are amazing and seemingly endless. My favorite was the ceiling of the Map Room.
Also, because I had a big backpack for the tour, I was asked to leave it at baggage claim. Unfortunately, the Museum closes at 6 PM and so I had to claim my bag later at about 7 PM when the bags are delivered to the back of the Vatican. This was interesting because I talked with the 2 Swiss guards at the side of the Vatican and they instructed me to pass by the "back" of the Vatican where there was no one else. I was able to see a part of Vatican which I think not so many people see, lol - thanks to my big backpack.
This tour ends with you entering St Peter's Basilica on your own (after guide explained what points should be seen), and it was truly great. Make sure you do not miss the Pieta statue at the side of the church.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Peter was an excellent, interesting, well informed and entertaining guide through the Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. Highly recommend the 'skip the line' tours like this one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour guide! The Vatican, Sistine and St Peter's Basilica was out of this world. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Claudio our guide was very good and passionate about the art and frescos that we saw. The Vatican Museum is huge so don't expect to see it all or spend much time in each gallery. Sistine chapel and St Peter's Basilica were spectacular even given the limited viewing time. When in Rome so this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were in Rome Aug 2014. The line ups to almost any thing is long. One of the main benefits of booking a tour is the ability to skip these long (and I mean LONG) line ups which is often in the sun. St Peter's Basilica is just simply on those MUST SEE places in Rome. There is nothing as spectacular as this church. We also walked up the 300 + steps and 1 short elevator ride to the top of the dome. You get some pretty spectacular views of the Vatican Colonnade and the surrounding outside areas. Also you are able to see the mosaics in the dome up close which is worth the price of this tour. You get such a better perspective of the art, mosaics and the size of this place by going up the dome. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We wanted a tour to get the most of our short time at the Vatican and the Museum and also St Peter's Basilica as it's very easy to skim through and not get to know much. I was surprised how much Egyptian stuff was in the museum. Our guide Carlotta was excellent and really made the difference, she was passionate and gave exactly the right level of detail for us. We only booked 2 days before.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The only way to tour the Vatican - at least in the high season - is to skip the line, which was hundreds of metres and thousands of people on the hot day when we visited. The benefits of a knowledgeable and helpful guide can also not be overstated: there is so much to see and to learn. We thought the Vatican museums, the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica - and especially our guide, Patricia - were fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour and so glad we opted for the small-group, skip-the-line tour. No waiting on long lines. Our tour guide was Nicola, and he was very knowledgeable and passionate about Rome's history. He brought to life emperors and artists, and there wasn't a dull moment. He truly loved his subject. Despite the crowds, we never felt rushed and he never lost sight of us. The Sistine Chapel was amazing as was St Peter's Basilica. The Vatican Museum had amazing artwork, murals and ceilings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

WOW. Visiting Rome and not tour St Peter's Basilica, will be a pity. It does not matter what faith one have or follow. You feel something different once you enter the Basilica. The history is there and alive. We could not have completed the visit in Italy, unless one embrace the tour of The Vatican. Charles and Evelyn . Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A comprehensive and interesting tour. Tour guide David had an easy and efficient manner, but kept us all moving along in a very crowded environment. He provided interesting insights and his overview (beforehand) of Michelangelo's work and the Sistine Chapel were most valuable. St Peter's Basilica was awesome in its scope and quite overwhelming in size.
We were late arriving for our 09:00 tour and we were (fortunately) accommodated on a 10:00 tour. Be warned that if you are relying on the Metro underground to get to the tour, it is very, very crowded in peak hour (we had to wait for a second train) and you need to allow about 15 min for the walk from the station to reach the meeting point. Check your Viator instructions carefully to locate the meeting point which, once found, works very well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was wonderful to beat the queue and enter the Vatican Museum as one of the first groups. Our guide was very knowledgeable, indeed passionate, about Michaelangelo and the Sistine Chapel. She was very engaging and brought all the stories to life. She knew exactly which more unusual , extremely interesting things to point out during the tour. I would have liked a few minutes during the tour to be able to take a few photographs before being taken to the next stopping point. In fact, it was lovely to be left inside St Peter's Basilica at the end of the tour so that we could spend a little more time looking round and taking photographs


photographing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour company is horrible. No communications. They never contacted me regarding St Peter's Basilica's scheduled close on the originate date of the tour. We heard from another tourist. The tour was awesome! Marina, our tour guide was fantastic. She's extremely knowledgeable, polite and she's a people person. Definitely an asset to her tour company.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Its a dream come true visiting the Vatican for me. Seeing the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica is amazing, beyond words can explain. To get the full experience, you must get Skip the Line tickets. Our tour guide was a pleasant lady and very helpful. Thanks Viator for making this experience magical!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message