Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

frtofaln

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend seeing the Sistine Chapel and St.Peter's. Well worth the price

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

BoyetN

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best means to skip the long line going inside the Vatican museum. Will save you at least 2 hours than sweating it out in the sun, given that we went there at the start of summer. Our guide Manuela was highly knowledgeable and was very entertaining all throughout the 2 hour tour. Highly recommend this booking. Peace of advice, take this tour as your last stop in Rome so you would appreciate all the beautiful churches in Rome culminating with the St Peters Cathedral.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Saffron A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide Lindey was very interesting, she explained the history and the context of the museums, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters in great detail but managed to maintain the energy levels throughout a three hour tour. Thoroughly recommend it, but you will need a beer afterwards.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Gerald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour leader was excellent and had a great amount of knowledge about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica, and St. Peter's Square! Was delightful and Skip-the-line was great, as we did not have to contend with large crowds!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

maggieb50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guided by a lovely Roman man named Peter and driven by kind Andrea, our Tuscany experience was amazing in spite of the rain! The meal and wine far surpassed what we expected!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

bc1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Skipping the line was our motivation for this tour since you do not really know how good you tour guide will be. Liaci our guide is a Art History major who was extremely knowledgeable about the ins and outs of the Vatican and Sistine Chapel. I would take another tour with her as guide in a minute. Her ability to keep the tour together and working efficiently was outstanding.
She has all the tight stuff to make any tour a outstanding experience.
The Sistine Chapel and St Peters are absolutely awe-inspiring. Do not miss this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

traceycollar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide, gave lots of information and made it very interesting. No waiting in queues. Would highly recommend- best way to visit the Vatican. View from St Peters is outstanding and well worth the climb. Good value for money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Vernon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Dabrielle, was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable, passionate and kind. Our tour was for St.Peter's also but that day it was closed until 12 so she could not stay with us. Not her fault. We went into St.Peter's on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Darrell K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide to was great and well versed in the history of the Vatican. She made it interesting and entertaining. The tour was about the right length of time get a very good overview of the Vatican and St. Peter's. If it we any longer you could go into information overload. We took our two teenagers on the tour and they loved it as well

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Lrturner80

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Our guide was an art historian and could give us excellent commentary as we visited the Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. We are glad that we purchased the skip the line tour as it allowed us to do another tour in the afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mmswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great general tour if you want to fit the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's into a half day. I don't know why anyone would ever wait in line for tickets or do a self guided tour. It was definitely worth the money to do a guided tour and skip the lines. Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Vania H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Valery was an amazing well informed tour guide. Loved that part. Really well structured tour and sharp fellow. Lovely style with people.

The St. Peter and #39;s portion of the tour started very late and ultimately was a waste of money compared to other tours of the basilica I have had in the past.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Justin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our first visit to Vatican City. I booked the tickets online before our trip. We did the first tour in the morning to avoid some of the crowds. We didn't have any problem finding the tour meeting place. Our guide Catalina spoke great English. She had good stories to tell about St Peter's Basilica. We went to the top of the dome. Be aware that to get to the top of the dome there are lots of narrow stairs. I think that it is worth the climbing you get to see the mosiacs up close and the view from the very top is fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Joan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour of St Peters Bascillica was great. Both tour guides where friendly and full of great information. My time in Rome was limited to a Saturday visit, I was
Scheduled on the 830 am tour, the crowds weren and #39;t bad to start but greatly increased as the morning progressed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Chris D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and quite friendly. This tour is worth it if just to skip the line, which already looked massive as we entered before the Vatican even opened. St. Peter and #39;s Basilica was just phenomenal and surpassed all expectations. Be sure to go inside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a definite MUST! Our guide was informative, funny, detailed, her knowledge and passion really showed. Very accommodating and caring. The Vatican museums were breathtaking. worth it to take the tour. St. Peter and #39;s Basilica stole the show... Absolutely extraordinary! I would definitely recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Karen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Skipping the major lines entry was terrific. The tour guide was charming and seemed very knowledgeable, while covering a lot of territory. Only odd thing was having the tour end at entrance to the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's, with no idea where we were in relation to where we began. Finding our way out of the complex to capture transportation back to center city was a bit challenging.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

adamllowery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

AMAZING!!! Our tour guide Julia was the best! She made this tour everything it was, we learned so much and she was very punctial with the time, which was a big deal as we needed to go to the port which was an hour away. We had time to spare. Julia really loves Rome and Vatican City and it shows with her passion. It was an amazing tour, probably the best one we had on our trip! The Vatican and St. Peters are just.... no words. You MUST see this and this tour is the way to do it. If you can, ask for Julia to be your guide. You will fall in love with Rome because her love for Rome comes through every word she says.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Walter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The skip-the-line tour led by Sara N, a PhD in archaeology, was wonderful. Sara worked hard to get us up close to the fascinating and beautiful wonders found in the Vatican. Her knowledge and insight made the tour so enjoyable. We walked past long lines, saving hours of waiting to enter. The headsets allowed us to hear her perfectly, no matter how big the crowd was around us. She was engaging and entertaining, and we really feel like we saw many of the highlights at the Vatican Museum. We climbed the St. Peter's Basilica Dome after the tour and the view was worth the climb! We also walked through the lower level containing many of the former popes' tombs. We highly recommend taking this tour!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

katscox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and excellent tour guide. We saw all the main highlights of the Vatican museum and the Sistine Chapel. Our tour guide was extensively knowledgeable about the history of the church as well as all the art work. She was able to knowingly answer questions that came up and keep the group interested. We were on our own inside St. Peter's Basilica but she gave us enough information before entering that made our visit complete!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jrw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour, we started at 8:00 AM so we missed the long lines inside and it gave our guide more time to tell us the chapel, St Peters and the wonderful sculptures. Raphael's paintings were superb and of course the Sistine Chapel ceiling..OMG. This is a tour everyone should take and I strongly recommend you take the early one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

kl.pasishnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Emma was very good with us and showing us the vatican and St. Peter's Basilica. We were happy we took the tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Gail R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely superb tour .. a definitely wow not to be missed tour. Our tour guide Elena was so so so lovely and friendly, her extensive knowledge was excellent. She went out of her way to make this a completely unforgettable tour. Loved absolutely every minute. Thank you so so much Elena. The Raffaello Rooms are simply stunning. St Peter's is absolutely beautiful. Sistine Chapel will make your head spin when you think of what Michael Angelo went through to paint it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was one of the best I've ever done! Laura, our guide, was amazing. She had wonderful anecdotes about the beautiful treasures within the museum and the Vatican. I had been to St. Peter's before, but never to the Vatican museums and it was so good. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Laura E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely worth it to go early in the morning, before the crowds get too crazy! Lindy, our tour guide, was fantastic! Extremely knowledgeable and funny. She covered all the important stuff, and dug in on other exhibits we had never heard of. We didn't even go into St. Peter's as it was Wednesday and the pope was speaking, but we still felt that we had had our money's worth and more!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message