Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a wonderful tour this was. Our Vatican guide was knowledgeable and passionate and to see areas of the Vatican without crowds, was a real privilege. When we came out and saw the lines of people waiting 3-4 hours, in the heat, we realised what a good decision we had made. At the end of the tour, if you would like to stay in St Peter's Basilica for longer, that is possible. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Nicholas was a great tour guide. So knowledgable about the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's Basilica. Especially liked that he pointed out things to look for before we went in. It was so crowded that day that if he tried to speak to us inside, it would have been lost. Enjoyed every minute!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was very enjoyable, with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide who made a big difference to the enjoyment of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. As the tour name says, it really was skip the line which was great, because even though we went on the 9am tour there was already a very long line for those without an advanced ticket. We even got individual entrance tickets to keep as keepsakes. If you go without a guide, you will be astounded by the beauty and history of the Vatican City, but if you go with this tour you will enjoy it 100 more!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a fantastic tour guide Angela, her knowledge and obvious experience of providing tours was truly apparent! Our time visiting St Peter's Basilica in particular was great, and if you really want to see the history behind Rome, then a tour with Angela is definitely the way to do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic tour! I have toured the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica before but came away from this one with so much more information. Our guide Tiffany was outstanding and packed so much energy and entertainment into her commentary. Make sure to spend plenty of time in the Basilica when the tour finishes and to see the Crypts and climb the Dome if you have the legs. The view from the top is awesome. A great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I had been to Vatican about 25 years ago on my own, but it was a lot better with a tour guide who could show you some of the important things at the site and give you some good background. We really enjoyed the tour even though we could not see the entire St Peter's Basilica since there was an event taking place there. Other basilicas were also very nice and all of tour guides were very nice and knowledgeable. This was a GREAT tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We are very glad that we booked this tour. David, our guide, was knowledgeable and entertaining. We had a full three hours in all but St Peter's Basilica and gained entrance to areas general admission tickets holders did not have access to. Once the tour concluded we were able to enjoy St Peter's Basilica at leisure. Everything was amazing!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing. We found the meeting place very easily. Nickola the guide was excellent- telling us interesting facts all the way around the museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica- the time passed by so quickly. Once the tour was over we had some free time of our own in St Peter's which was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide Marta was excellent. She provided a comprehensive overview of the history, religion, politics and art associated with the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica. We were able to skip the lines with this tour - and considering there was a 2 hour wait for the unticketed entry by 8.30 am, this was a huge benefit. Definitely a value for money tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour led by Peter who gave a very comprehensive and, at times, with many entertaining quips about Michaelangelo et all. Not so many funnies about the Roman Emperors though. The fact that there are around 3 million exhibits in the Vatican museum necessitated a selection being chosen but nevertheless an extremely interesting experience. As someone who does not have a particular interest in art and finds much of it vague and remote this was the perfect antidote. The extensive knowledge of our guide ensured that. The exhibits on show were simply stunning and visiting St Peter's basilica was quite an experience. One useful tip: if you can go out of the summer months then do. We did not have to "skip the queue" and, although still quite busy in early December you could still see the floor of the Sistine Chapel! A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Dario's knowledge about and passion for Vatican City, the museums, and St Peter's Basilica really made this tour quite special.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Raphael Rooms and St Peter's Basilica was truly amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed by both myself and my partner and an eye-opener of the history of the church. Our tour guide was brilliant, with an extensive knowledge and was very friendly too. A definite recommendation for anybody visiting Rome. We will certainly be going back in the not too distant future.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, would recommend to anyone visiting Rome for the first time. Our tour guide Sabrina was very knowledgable and we got to see the best bits of the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica during this trip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jeremy A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This may have been a skip the line tour, but the place was still absolutely packed because there are so many skip the line tours all operating at the same time. However, the crowds faded into insignificance under the leadership provided by the best tour guide I have ever come across, Zev. From the start he created a wonderful rapport with every member of the group, and then throughout the tour never rushed and provided us with the most wonderful and logically constructed history of the site, and then the Vatican, since BC. All the way he pre-warned us of directional changes and possible hazards in his calm voice that enabled us to navigate through the crowds with comparative ease. His descriptions of the paintings in the Sistine Chapel before we entered gave real meaning and understanding to what we saw. His consideration to others was noticeable in that in every crowded room in which we stopped to receive his excellent descriptions, he would drop his group flag and point with his hand, while all the other tour leaders pointed with their flags, interfering with the views of others. We ended the tour with a much better understanding of the Vatican and its history, and many of the Popes, along with a better appreciation of the amazing buildings and their art, not the least being the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. A phenomenal tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Did this tour 27.10.2014, well worth it!! You are crazy not to sign up for a skip the line tour to get into the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica as people can wait in those lines for up to 2 hours or more!! With this tour you get to skip the lines as well as have a personal guide take you through the Vatican with lots of knowledge. Our guide was from City Wonder Tours, I think her name was Sharon? she was fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a terrific way to skip the lines, get fabulous views of the city from the Cupola and enjoy St Peter's Basilica. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and our party of 2 got great value.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tiffany, our tour guide, was a wealth of interesting information, with an engaging and often dry sense of humour. Starting 'before the crowds' was brilliant as the number of tours going through when we did was already busy enough. It was wonderful to walk through the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica as Tiffany brought it to life with the many and varied facts and stories. Seeing the queue as we left the Vatican affirmed our choice to start early and go with a guide, as to try it on your own would have been too confusing and no-where near as enlightening. A wonderful tour and highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! tour guide very knowledgeable. The tour of the was great, skipping the very long lines and with all sorts of information and history about the museum and St Peter's Basilica. The afternoon part visiting the other 3 major basilicas is a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is worth it just to skip the really long lines. Our tour guide was Alessandro and he was great. I'm not Catholic and was a little worried that this tour might be religion overload for me but it wasn't at all. His background is in Art History and you can tell. He really knows his stuff. The museum is spectacular and the Sistine Chapel took my breath away. I can't even find words to describe it. One of my favorite parts of the museum is the room dedicated to the Virgin Mary. It's beautiful! The second half of the tour takes you into St Peter's Basilica and it's huge. The guide took us around and showed us the highlights. Once the tour is done they leave you in the basilica to look around some more if you want. After this I went into the square and took some pictures. I really enjoyed the tour and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Laura was a fantastic guide and taught us so much about the paintings and the stories they told. We really enjoyed talking with her and learning all that we did. If you haven't seen the Vatican or St Peter's Basilica, this is a great tour to take. We skipped the very long line waiting for admission and walked right in. It was very crowded the day we were there so it was nice having our small private group so we could move in and out of the crowd and could always hear what Laura was saying. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip mainly due to the excellent guide, DARIO whose passionate enthusiasm for the task and in depth knowledge of his subject matter made the place come alive. His command of the English language was superb. We later discovered that he was initially a language scholar. Dario was most efficient, making sure we all had headsets which worked, had ample time to use the rest rooms, buy water and take photos where appropriate. The tour itself needs no further recommendation from me. Suffice to say, it is an absolute must on a first time visit to Rome. It was my second visit to the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica and I thought I knew as much as I needed to. I was wrong. DARIO was a mine of information and answered all our questions with ease and intelligence. I learned far more this time around. I would highly recommend this tour and urge people to ask for DARIO as their guide if possible. I hope he gets to read this review.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely the best tour we've ever had: from the new-fangled headsets which meant we heard every word guide Nicola said, to the fascinating insight we were given, on how paintings are really mosaics, on how the Colosseum was partially dismantled to build other buildings and metal sculptures melted down so only four remain in the whole city; on the Holy Wall opened every 25 years at St Peter's, on how the Vatican is the world's greenest country etc etc. So much fact given in a very interesting way. The walk was 3 hours but never overwhelming. The crowds were handled beautifully by Nicola and his little yellow flag. We never felt lost. The Vatican, St Peter's Basilica and the square are tremendous. We ran out of hyperbole. Well worth the extra cost to skip the line - it was so easy to get in the Vatican and straight into the Basilica. Congratulations and a big thank you to Enjoy Rome and Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This guide was fantastic! He took the time to explained the painting in the Sistine Chapel before we actually saw them. He also informed us that although the painting on the ceilings looked three dimension they were actually flat and that the artists used shadows to make that affect.
This was an awe inspiring tour. Raphael's Rooms were breath taking. The guide was so informative and knowledgeable. We also toured St Peter's Basilica and knowing that the Pope had just held service there is something that I will never forget! There is a lot of walking as well as going up a lot of steps but it is so worth it. You can't come to Roman and not take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour may appear expensive but is throughly worth the money. The organisation was good meeting up with the guide was no problem. Even though we started at 08:00 there was a long queue both for the museum and St Peter's Basilica, we by-passed both of these. Our guide's degree included work in the Vatican Museum so her knowlege was extensive and she communicated this in an interesting way. Throughout the tour our guide ensured that we were getting the most from the tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

After we saw the Pope during a Wednesday morning mass (tickets reserved thru Viator), we booked the tour of the Vatican Museums. We chose the afternoon tour which commenced at 230 PM (our morning tour ended at about 1230PM). So, we had two hours to wait and so we decided to eat the Cafe Vaticano which was the designated Cafe where we are supposed to meet our guide (at bottom opt steps beside Cafe). The Cafe is right in front of the Museum but, beware, it was very expensive. For my wife and I, we paid about 90 Euros for lunch which was spaghetti and chicken with small ice cream for dessert! But we are not reviewing the cafe, so I will continue on with this great tour. Our guide was very good and they give you headsets so u can follow her through the many hallways. The Sistine Chapel is at the very end of the tour, and for that you need to have complete silence without the guide so she explained to us about the cailing paintings before we entered the Sistine Chapel.
The treasures in the Vatican are amazing and seemingly endless. My favorite was the ceiling of the Map Room.
Also, because I had a big backpack for the tour, I was asked to leave it at baggage claim. Unfortunately, the Museum closes at 6 PM and so I had to claim my bag later at about 7 PM when the bags are delivered to the back of the Vatican. This was interesting because I talked with the 2 Swiss guards at the side of the Vatican and they instructed me to pass by the "back" of the Vatican where there was no one else. I was able to see a part of Vatican which I think not so many people see, lol - thanks to my big backpack.
This tour ends with you entering St Peter's Basilica on your own (after guide explained what points should be seen), and it was truly great. Make sure you do not miss the Pieta statue at the side of the church.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message