Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erika K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Definitely don't go it alone! Our tour guide Sara was wonderful, so smart, easy going, and led us through the museums, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Cathedral. It was interesting and made it so easy single out the key points.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Dick United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had very good guides for both the inside of St. Peter's and the Dome. I would note that the walk the dome is somewhat challenging and people who do not do well in closed in spaces should avoid it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Nicola F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very professional and knowledgable tour guide. Unfortunately St Peters Basilica was closed but the tour was still worth doing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Agnes L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best to get a guided tour for St. Peter's Basilica to fully appreciate the history and the important details of the Basilica.

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica Guided Tour

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide, Laura, was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Highlight was St. Peter's church and Square. Lots of waking and stairs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Paul E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent trip that kept us entertained and interested as we went around. The guide, Gio, was very knowledgeable and knew her subject. As the Pope was holding an audience we didn't get to St Peters but had a longer visit to the museums and saw the Basilica later. Well worth the money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great! Definitely worth the money as there was a very large line to get in. The history and seeing the Sistine Chapel was very interesting. In addition, the grounds were amazing to view. The tour guide was very informative about Vatican City and answered all of our questions about Vatican City.

The only con I had is that there were quite a number of tour groups that went and it wasn't peak season - just approaching it. This made many hallways very crowded.

I will make this clear for future goers: If you book this on any religious holiday i.e. Easter, Christmas, you WILL miss St. Peter's Basilica. I knew this well before my trip since I went over the Easter weekend. However, I didn't mind it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Tina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, guide was incredibly knowledgeable with a great engaging communication style. Would highly recommend. We missed out on St Peters Basilica as there was a papal audience so that was disappointing but not the fault of Viator !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jared M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. We were able to see the highlights of the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's through this experience. The lines without this Skip the Line tour are unbelievably long! Don't chance it and spend your vacation in these lines. Book this tour and you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved Rome and took a high speed train in from Milan to do this tour. Thankfully there were plenty of tour guides along the way to help us reach our tour in time as it is located quite a distant from the metro station at the steps of the Vatican Museum. The only issue we had was with our Guide who kept talking and ran our first tour by an hour and half so that we almost missed our second tour at the Coliseum. We only had 5 minutes in the Sistine Chapel but spent hours in the other rooms which was a bit disappointing. Other tours kept passing us by while our guide yakked on about every picture. Eventually we handed back our radios and went off to explore St Peter's by ourselves since we were running short of time. St Peter's was most impressive and the highlight of the tour in my opinion. Definitely worth buying as tickets are sold out and lines are super long but we walked right inside immediately. Even though there are crowds there is plenty of space to move around inside and outside St Peters. Well worth the wait!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Joanne C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful. Stefanie is an excellent guide. Informative and attentive. Her pace was well thought out. Being inside the Museum early was key for true enjoyment and ample time to appreciate the collections. One thing to realize is papal audiences on Wednesdays means no access to St Peters with tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

russell.shrader

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful, wonderful! Niccola was great - he had so much knowledge of the Vatican museums, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's. Be prepared to be blown away! The skip-the-line benefit is the best --- completely worth the money if for no other reason! But there is so much more. Don't miss this opportunity to learn about St. Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Melissa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband, in-laws and I all did the Vatican tour with Sara N. Sara was absolutely the best tour guide. She was smart, fun, patient, and engaging. Her knowledge of the paintings and history that tied into everything the Vatican and St. Peter's offered was unmatched. I would highly recommend this tour when you go to Rome. It covers everything the Vatican offers site wise and the tour guides give you so much of the rich history to go along with it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Mrs JC F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such an great day. The Sistine Chapel and St Peters Bascilica are so overwhelming. Our guide was Julia, she was so nice and friendly and explained everything as we went round. She had so much knowledge and was so interesting. So glad we had a guide you cannot possibly find out all the information if you went round by yourself. This is a day myself and my family will never forget.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Carla T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Eleanora was excellent. She was very knowledgable about the history of the Vatican and all those involved in the artwork, architecture and history we were absorbing. The tour involves quite a bit of walking, but was well worth the tired legs and aching feet at the end of it.

Note: We took our tour Wednesday afternoon and were not able to tour St. Peter's Basilica due to mass being held at that time, but we were able to enter on our own and walk around. I think the experience would have been better with a guide in the Basilica, but all in all it was a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I wouldn't want to see the Vatican on any other tour - getting in early was the best choice that we could have made! We attended on a Wednesday which is also the day that the Pope speaks just outside of St. Peter's so I would avoid that day if possible as they close St. Peter's until 1:00. The Pieta was very emotional, just incredible.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Jane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour and so glad we booked in advance due to the long queues and amount of people coming in. We went off peak season although close to Easter and it was packed thousands a day visit so be prepared for a busy day. We walked up the steps at St Peters, which was hard work but well worth the view at the top. Great guide with loads of knowledge and just very helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lucy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Brilliant tour! Unfortunately we didn and #39;t get to go into St. Peter and #39;s basilica but our guide was really informative and we learnt a lot liked that we got to queue too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

helen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Brilliant tour! Having Guiseppi our guide to show us around was fantastic. The Vatican museum is very crowded, having a guide to explain what we were seeing, point out the highlights and walk us through was wonderful. Our children of 10 and 14 really enjoyed it, the tour was just the right length for them. So much to take in, we were amazed by the scale of St Peters and the beauty of the art. So glad to be able to skip the huge que and the touts. Loved the headsets so that we could always hear our guides voice. Would not have wanted to visit any other way!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Sabrina was our tour guide from CityWonders and she was incredible!! So knowledgable about the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter and #39;s! We took tours in Rome and Florence with City Wonders as well and Sabrina was the best tour guide of them all!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour through Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel finishing in St Peter's. Our guide was wonderful - she was very knowledgeable and understanding of everyone's queries. Jumping the queues was definitely worth it!

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Louis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding tour! Easy to find meeting point thanks to detailed instructions from tour provider, Vox Mundi, quick security check with virtually no waiting in line, then a nearly 1.5 hour tour of the Basilica in a group of only 4! by a friendly and extremely knowledgeable guide a nice Romanian lady, can't remember her name although I believe it began with an A. She spoke excellent English and helped us to understand the long and rich history of the site, the Catholic church, and the current basilica new St. Peter's, as well as enlightening us with regard to all of the incredible art and architecture. After the basilica tour, since my mom and I were the only two who'd signed up for the mosaic studio visit, we had a private tour! We were led out of the church and into the heart of Vatican City all of a sudden, there were no throngs of tourists, felt like we were entering behind the scenes by our very kind and personable guide, Valéry. A couple minutes walk took us to the workshop, right next to where Pope Francis lives!, where Valéry gave us a thorough explanation in good English of the workings of this amazing artistic enterprise that creates breathtaking mosaic paintings to be given by the pope as gifts to world leaders and also sold to collectors, in addition to their main role of restoring all of the mosaics in St. Peter's, showing us all of the materials used, examples of different styles of finished pieces, and taking us around to view the half-dozen or so craftsmen as they did their incredible and incredibly painstaking work. Truly fascinating to see them work at all different stages of the process. Felt privileged to have witnessed these artists/artisans carrying on these centuries old traditions. Both parts of the tour were remarkable, and are highly recommended to lovers of art and history, and especially to those who've already visited the Vatican once before as we had and who want something more in-depth and unique. Many thanks!

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Vatican Mosaic Studio

Stephanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great job by Nicolina, our tour guide. great explanations of the beautiful artwork and history. one can't help but be in awe of all that can be seen here at Vatican City, St. Peter's Basilica and the Sistine Chapel

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

JOANNE M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Gio was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable that we could not imagine doing this tour without her. Her commentary brought the tour to life and the museums and St Peters were spectacular.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Jillianthetravelller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had the most amazing, dedicated, passionate guide (I forget his name, sorry) but he and #39;d be the most passionate guide probably! This flowed through to us, being thoroughly absorbed in his explanations!
So much to see and take in! St Peter and #39;s at the end was absolutely beautiful! Brilliant tour-a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message