• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a really fantastic and very informative tour of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. The Staff were all extremely helpful and were kind enough to re-schedule our tour since we arrived late for the original timings. I would like to say a big thank from my fiancée and I.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful tour, our tour guide David kept us upbeat for the entire 3 hour tour, we got to see alot without feeling too overwhelmed, you would never find your way through the museum without the tour guide it was huge! Sistine Chapel was amazing to see, and of course st Peter's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was an excellent tour from start to finish and the highlight of our 23 days in Italy. Our guide Maria spoke English well and was extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of The Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. I would highly recommend this tour and would book future tours with Viator when the opportunity arises.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Guide was a lady born and brought up in Rome with a degree in Art History which meant that she had stacks of expert knowledge on the art and artists that have contributed over the centuries to the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. She was enthusiastic and entertaining and happy to answer questions on top of the various prepared talks with pictures that she presented during the tour. She was also content to let the tour run over time - with our permission. We were very pleased with the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic tour. The only thing was that it was Valentines day and the Pope was blessing 25,000 couples so at the time of our tour St Peter's Basilica was unattainable. However the guide gave us additional rooms at the Museum and guided us to the Basilica after the tour so we could visit. She did not attend this, but it didn't detract from it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is the way to visit the Vatican! Manuela, our guide, was so knowledgeable and her explanations of the stories behind the artwork, with Raphael and Michaelangelo really brought the artwork to life. St Peter's Basilica was fantastic. If we return to Rome we would probably do a tour again as there was so much to take in. Brilliant

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide Irene was very knowledgable and kept everything moving smoothly. I never knew there was so much to see in the Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's Basilica was awe inspiring. Well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic trip. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. When the tour was over the wait to get into St Peter's Basilica was over 3 hours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I loved this tour. I found the Sistine Chapel, the Museum and St Peter's Basilica amazing. It is hard to put it into words. They all have to be seen to be believed. So much art in all 3 and the sheer size of St Peter's Basilica is jaw dropping.
I visited on a Saturday. I assume that week days would not be as crowded.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour of Sistine Chapel, Raphael's rooms and St Peter's Basilica. Our tour guide Annalisa was friendly, knowledgeable and truly showed an interest in her tour group. Booking a small tour group is the best way to see anything. Having been to Rome before on our own, it was nice to know the history and stories of all we viewed.
Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour and again our tour guide was very descriptive and knowledgeable, the Vatican is very beautiful and certainly the tour was a valuable one but does not cover everything but what you see is breath taking and an experience that should not be missed. However it was not Dark Rome via Viator and was a different company and after a struggle to find the small place, we found we had to pay a further payment as the tickets were not included in the price only the cost of the tour guide. Which was a rip off as we found another couple on one of our other tours and they had been with Dark Rome all the way through and with them the tickets were included in the cost. However it did not dampen our enjoyment of the sheer beauty that was in the Vatican, museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

An excellent, stand out tour - - our guide (Alfredo I think) was excellent - knowledgable and passionate about his subject. We paid extra for the early, small group tour which is well worth it - no queues or fuss. St Peter's Basilica is breath taking - you don't realise the scale of the main dome until you check out the people on the upper levels (looking ant like) - well worth the effort to climb up (or take lift). Museums and Sistine Chapel all well worth the visit - so much to see for those interested in art and culture spanning previous three millenia

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I did the early-morning skip-the-line Vatican Tour with breakfast and it was fabulous!!

Susanna was superb and had great art-history knowledge. She even spent about 10 minutes after the tour with me to advise on sites to visit en route to my hotel - very kind :)

I highly recommend this tour as breakfast in the serenity of the Pine Cone Courtyard, with a view of St Peter's Basilica dome, is a marvelous way to start the day! While there are other 'early-morning' tours around you, there are significantly less people than later in the day - evidenced by the immense queue you will see in St Peter's Square!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour guide Shannon was lovely and so very knowledgeable!
We enjoyed every moment of our tour and learned a lot.
It was an amazing tour of the Vatican Museums. She educated us on the Sistine Chapel where we went in on our own because there is no talking. Once done in there she walked us to the St Peter's Basilica where she would discuss once again and send us on our way. It was all wonderful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an excellent tour operated by a tour guide who had an extraordinary amount of knowledge on the Vatican, the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's rooms and St Peter's basilica. I would happily take this tour again on my next visit to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message