Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is worth it just to skip the really long lines. Our tour guide was Alessandro and he was great. I'm not Catholic and was a little worried that this tour might be religion overload for me but it wasn't at all. His background is in Art History and you can tell. He really knows his stuff. The museum is spectacular and the Sistine Chapel took my breath away. I can't even find words to describe it. One of my favorite parts of the museum is the room dedicated to the Virgin Mary. It's beautiful! The second half of the tour takes you into St Peter's Basilica and it's huge. The guide took us around and showed us the highlights. Once the tour is done they leave you in the basilica to look around some more if you want. After this I went into the square and took some pictures. I really enjoyed the tour and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Laura was a fantastic guide and taught us so much about the paintings and the stories they told. We really enjoyed talking with her and learning all that we did. If you haven't seen the Vatican or St Peter's Basilica, this is a great tour to take. We skipped the very long line waiting for admission and walked right in. It was very crowded the day we were there so it was nice having our small private group so we could move in and out of the crowd and could always hear what Laura was saying. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip mainly due to the excellent guide, DARIO whose passionate enthusiasm for the task and in depth knowledge of his subject matter made the place come alive. His command of the English language was superb. We later discovered that he was initially a language scholar. Dario was most efficient, making sure we all had headsets which worked, had ample time to use the rest rooms, buy water and take photos where appropriate. The tour itself needs no further recommendation from me. Suffice to say, it is an absolute must on a first time visit to Rome. It was my second visit to the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica and I thought I knew as much as I needed to. I was wrong. DARIO was a mine of information and answered all our questions with ease and intelligence. I learned far more this time around. I would highly recommend this tour and urge people to ask for DARIO as their guide if possible. I hope he gets to read this review.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely the best tour we've ever had: from the new-fangled headsets which meant we heard every word guide Nicola said, to the fascinating insight we were given, on how paintings are really mosaics, on how the Colosseum was partially dismantled to build other buildings and metal sculptures melted down so only four remain in the whole city; on the Holy Wall opened every 25 years at St Peter's, on how the Vatican is the world's greenest country etc etc. So much fact given in a very interesting way. The walk was 3 hours but never overwhelming. The crowds were handled beautifully by Nicola and his little yellow flag. We never felt lost. The Vatican, St Peter's Basilica and the square are tremendous. We ran out of hyperbole. Well worth the extra cost to skip the line - it was so easy to get in the Vatican and straight into the Basilica. Congratulations and a big thank you to Enjoy Rome and Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This guide was fantastic! He took the time to explained the painting in the Sistine Chapel before we actually saw them. He also informed us that although the painting on the ceilings looked three dimension they were actually flat and that the artists used shadows to make that affect.
This was an awe inspiring tour. Raphael's Rooms were breath taking. The guide was so informative and knowledgeable. We also toured St Peter's Basilica and knowing that the Pope had just held service there is something that I will never forget! There is a lot of walking as well as going up a lot of steps but it is so worth it. You can't come to Roman and not take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour may appear expensive but is throughly worth the money. The organisation was good meeting up with the guide was no problem. Even though we started at 08:00 there was a long queue both for the museum and St Peter's Basilica, we by-passed both of these. Our guide's degree included work in the Vatican Museum so her knowlege was extensive and she communicated this in an interesting way. Throughout the tour our guide ensured that we were getting the most from the tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

After we saw the Pope during a Wednesday morning mass (tickets reserved thru Viator), we booked the tour of the Vatican Museums. We chose the afternoon tour which commenced at 230 PM (our morning tour ended at about 1230PM). So, we had two hours to wait and so we decided to eat the Cafe Vaticano which was the designated Cafe where we are supposed to meet our guide (at bottom opt steps beside Cafe). The Cafe is right in front of the Museum but, beware, it was very expensive. For my wife and I, we paid about 90 Euros for lunch which was spaghetti and chicken with small ice cream for dessert! But we are not reviewing the cafe, so I will continue on with this great tour. Our guide was very good and they give you headsets so u can follow her through the many hallways. The Sistine Chapel is at the very end of the tour, and for that you need to have complete silence without the guide so she explained to us about the cailing paintings before we entered the Sistine Chapel.
The treasures in the Vatican are amazing and seemingly endless. My favorite was the ceiling of the Map Room.
Also, because I had a big backpack for the tour, I was asked to leave it at baggage claim. Unfortunately, the Museum closes at 6 PM and so I had to claim my bag later at about 7 PM when the bags are delivered to the back of the Vatican. This was interesting because I talked with the 2 Swiss guards at the side of the Vatican and they instructed me to pass by the "back" of the Vatican where there was no one else. I was able to see a part of Vatican which I think not so many people see, lol - thanks to my big backpack.
This tour ends with you entering St Peter's Basilica on your own (after guide explained what points should be seen), and it was truly great. Make sure you do not miss the Pieta statue at the side of the church.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Peter was an excellent, interesting, well informed and entertaining guide through the Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. Highly recommend the 'skip the line' tours like this one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour guide! The Vatican, Sistine and St Peter's Basilica was out of this world. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Claudio our guide was very good and passionate about the art and frescos that we saw. The Vatican Museum is huge so don't expect to see it all or spend much time in each gallery. Sistine chapel and St Peter's Basilica were spectacular even given the limited viewing time. When in Rome so this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were in Rome Aug 2014. The line ups to almost any thing is long. One of the main benefits of booking a tour is the ability to skip these long (and I mean LONG) line ups which is often in the sun. St Peter's Basilica is just simply on those MUST SEE places in Rome. There is nothing as spectacular as this church. We also walked up the 300 + steps and 1 short elevator ride to the top of the dome. You get some pretty spectacular views of the Vatican Colonnade and the surrounding outside areas. Also you are able to see the mosaics in the dome up close which is worth the price of this tour. You get such a better perspective of the art, mosaics and the size of this place by going up the dome. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We wanted a tour to get the most of our short time at the Vatican and the Museum and also St Peter's Basilica as it's very easy to skim through and not get to know much. I was surprised how much Egyptian stuff was in the museum. Our guide Carlotta was excellent and really made the difference, she was passionate and gave exactly the right level of detail for us. We only booked 2 days before.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The only way to tour the Vatican - at least in the high season - is to skip the line, which was hundreds of metres and thousands of people on the hot day when we visited. The benefits of a knowledgeable and helpful guide can also not be overstated: there is so much to see and to learn. We thought the Vatican museums, the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica - and especially our guide, Patricia - were fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour and so glad we opted for the small-group, skip-the-line tour. No waiting on long lines. Our tour guide was Nicola, and he was very knowledgeable and passionate about Rome's history. He brought to life emperors and artists, and there wasn't a dull moment. He truly loved his subject. Despite the crowds, we never felt rushed and he never lost sight of us. The Sistine Chapel was amazing as was St Peter's Basilica. The Vatican Museum had amazing artwork, murals and ceilings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

WOW. Visiting Rome and not tour St Peter's Basilica, will be a pity. It does not matter what faith one have or follow. You feel something different once you enter the Basilica. The history is there and alive. We could not have completed the visit in Italy, unless one embrace the tour of The Vatican. Charles and Evelyn . Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message