• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The only way to tour the Vatican - at least in the high season - is to skip the line, which was hundreds of metres and thousands of people on the hot day when we visited. The benefits of a knowledgeable and helpful guide can also not be overstated: there is so much to see and to learn. We thought the Vatican museums, the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica - and especially our guide, Patricia - were fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour and so glad we opted for the small-group, skip-the-line tour. No waiting on long lines. Our tour guide was Nicola, and he was very knowledgeable and passionate about Rome's history. He brought to life emperors and artists, and there wasn't a dull moment. He truly loved his subject. Despite the crowds, we never felt rushed and he never lost sight of us. The Sistine Chapel was amazing as was St Peter's Basilica. The Vatican Museum had amazing artwork, murals and ceilings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

WOW. Visiting Rome and not tour St Peter's Basilica, will be a pity. It does not matter what faith one have or follow. You feel something different once you enter the Basilica. The history is there and alive. We could not have completed the visit in Italy, unless one embrace the tour of The Vatican. Charles and Evelyn . Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A comprehensive and interesting tour. Tour guide David had an easy and efficient manner, but kept us all moving along in a very crowded environment. He provided interesting insights and his overview (beforehand) of Michelangelo's work and the Sistine Chapel were most valuable. St Peter's Basilica was awesome in its scope and quite overwhelming in size.
We were late arriving for our 09:00 tour and we were (fortunately) accommodated on a 10:00 tour. Be warned that if you are relying on the Metro underground to get to the tour, it is very, very crowded in peak hour (we had to wait for a second train) and you need to allow about 15 min for the walk from the station to reach the meeting point. Check your Viator instructions carefully to locate the meeting point which, once found, works very well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was wonderful to beat the queue and enter the Vatican Museum as one of the first groups. Our guide was very knowledgeable, indeed passionate, about Michaelangelo and the Sistine Chapel. She was very engaging and brought all the stories to life. She knew exactly which more unusual , extremely interesting things to point out during the tour. I would have liked a few minutes during the tour to be able to take a few photographs before being taken to the next stopping point. In fact, it was lovely to be left inside St Peter's Basilica at the end of the tour so that we could spend a little more time looking round and taking photographs


photographing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour company is horrible. No communications. They never contacted me regarding St Peter's Basilica's scheduled close on the originate date of the tour. We heard from another tourist. The tour was awesome! Marina, our tour guide was fantastic. She's extremely knowledgeable, polite and she's a people person. Definitely an asset to her tour company.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Its a dream come true visiting the Vatican for me. Seeing the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica is amazing, beyond words can explain. To get the full experience, you must get Skip the Line tickets. Our tour guide was a pleasant lady and very helpful. Thanks Viator for making this experience magical!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a really fantastic and very informative tour of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. The Staff were all extremely helpful and were kind enough to re-schedule our tour since we arrived late for the original timings. I would like to say a big thank from my fiancée and I.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful tour, our tour guide David kept us upbeat for the entire 3 hour tour, we got to see alot without feeling too overwhelmed, you would never find your way through the museum without the tour guide it was huge! Sistine Chapel was amazing to see, and of course st Peter's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was an excellent tour from start to finish and the highlight of our 23 days in Italy. Our guide Maria spoke English well and was extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of The Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. I would highly recommend this tour and would book future tours with Viator when the opportunity arises.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Guide was a lady born and brought up in Rome with a degree in Art History which meant that she had stacks of expert knowledge on the art and artists that have contributed over the centuries to the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. She was enthusiastic and entertaining and happy to answer questions on top of the various prepared talks with pictures that she presented during the tour. She was also content to let the tour run over time - with our permission. We were very pleased with the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic tour. The only thing was that it was Valentines day and the Pope was blessing 25,000 couples so at the time of our tour St Peter's Basilica was unattainable. However the guide gave us additional rooms at the Museum and guided us to the Basilica after the tour so we could visit. She did not attend this, but it didn't detract from it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is the way to visit the Vatican! Manuela, our guide, was so knowledgeable and her explanations of the stories behind the artwork, with Raphael and Michaelangelo really brought the artwork to life. St Peter's Basilica was fantastic. If we return to Rome we would probably do a tour again as there was so much to take in. Brilliant

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide Irene was very knowledgable and kept everything moving smoothly. I never knew there was so much to see in the Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's Basilica was awe inspiring. Well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic trip. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. When the tour was over the wait to get into St Peter's Basilica was over 3 hours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message