Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 238 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larry W G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and responded to our questions as we went along. Because we booked on a Wednesday, we were unable to go into St Peter's Basilica until the Pope finished his audience in St Peter's Square. It made for a longer visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Sylvia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was fantastic to visit this museum and there is so much to see. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant and definitely recommend to have a guide. It can get overcrowded so the morning tours with a guide are highly recommended especially in Rome. St Peter's Basilica was great and then my husband and I continued on our own and climbed to the dome which was the best. All in all a memorable experience at the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Sharon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour guide, very informative and helpful. An absolute must if you want the best out of St Peter's Basilica, particularly if you don't want to stand in the long queues. I would def' book again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

Ellen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful guide for our tour. She was knowledgeable, energetic and very friendly. Couldn't have had a better tour! We thought she was a life long citizen of Rome with all the intimate knowledge that she had. But she told us she only moved there ten years ago from Romania. Congratulations to her for all she's learned, and now taught us, about the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica!

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

Theresa Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was AMAZING!!! Our tour guide Dimitri brought the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica to life his knowledge was extensive. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

So many times have been here but with no explanation. We thoroughly enjoyed our guides tour explaining about St Peter's Basilica. And then enjoyed the 320 steps climbing to the Top with the views of the gardens and Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

SarahMain91 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We went on the 3pm tour on the 17/09/15, the tour guide was excellent she was really informative and engaging, she spoke with real passion. The Vactican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica were all breathtaking, the only downfall was how busy the venues were with multiple tours and tourists about at times it was very frustrating and difficult to take everything in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

metalcow_69

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good, worth doing the early tour as it got busier later. St Peter's Basilica was my favourite as the sculptures in there were amazing. We did make the mistake of buying are breakfast at the Café that's by the meeting place and got charged €28 for a tea, coffee and 2 muffins.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Debby United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour with convenient ticket access to the Vatican museums. You can't miss the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. They are stunning to view in person, and the tour guide provided great information about all of the sites. Her archaeological and historical background clearly came through in her commentary, which we appreciated a lot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sharman A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a really nice tour guide who was brimming with facts and amazing stories about the Vatican, the Sistine a Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. She did a fantastic job of guiding us through a very very busy and very very hot Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

mini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our first day in Italy we did the skip the line Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. So glad we booked this tour we sailed by the incredibly long lines and right into the venues. Our tour guide was personable and spoke fluent English. Our guide moved at a relaxed speed and was so knowledgeable. We were in awe of the beauty and history. I would recommend Viator for any one looking for a reasonably priced tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Duke United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a must if you want to see the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica without standing in line for hours. This tour took us too areas in the Vatican Museums where upon my previous visits without a tour, I was not provided access. It was nice to have our guide explain to us what we were looking at. Being in a small group was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Shannon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

After seeing the queue we could have ended up waiting in this ticket was well worth while! Meeting point is very easy to find, just make sure you're outside the entrance to the museums not st Peter's Basilica just follow the walls to the Vatican around the right side of the basilica. We walked straight in, no queuing at all. We choose the option without a tour guide, the museums have lots of information plaques next to each exhibit so didn't find this a problem and there are audio guides you can hire once inside. Definitely recommend this is you're going peak season like we did and do not wish to be waiting in 2/3 hour long queues in the midday heat it was almost 40 degrees when we were there!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Johnson Chai Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome! The tour guide I think her name is Barbara is the BEST and very professional. She is very passionate about her work and the subject matters so much so we were so much into her zone whenever she shares information to us. Don't forget to get to the top of the dome optional - great view to look at St Peter's Basilica but be reminded of the many, many steps literally. Highlight of our tour !!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Our guide, Gabriella, had a deep knowledge of art history and a great personality to go with it. He made our tour of the Vatican Museums and St Peter's Basilica one of the highlights of our vacation. I highly recommend this tour. It's a great value.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Anne P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. English speaking Guide very informative and knowledgable. Lots of walking in this tour but worth it -the Museum was amazing, the Sistine Chapel magnificent and St Peter's Basilica magnificent. Definitely use skip the line for any attractions -the main ticket lines are horrendous!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lene V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was sensational and made even more so by our guide Natalia.Her knowledge of Vatican City was incredible. She shared enough of her knowledge for us to take in but not to overload us. The private tour just the 2 of us was fantastic. The skip the line let us walk straight through the entrance. It also allowed us to skip passed larger slow moving groups and bypass many of the crowds. At the end of this tour you are at the doors of St Peter's bypassing the huge queues waiting to get in here too. It was a joy to wonder through St Peter's Basilica with our new knowledge. I couldn't recommend this tour highly enough. If your holiday in Rome has one indulgence let it be this tour. It unlocked a lot of the symbolism throughout Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Colby R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Anna, was very knowledgeable about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's Basilica. We enjoyed her tour and would do it again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic tour by Sarah N. Very well organised and well worth the money. Tour guide could not have been better - organised, helpful, so enthusiastic, very knowledgeable, friendly, very good spoken English. Absolutely loved every minute of this tour - St Peter's Basilica and Sistine Chapel are both breath-taking. Can't wait to go back to tour other parts of the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

phyllis.reid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Shannon was very knowledgeable about the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Room and St Peter's Basilica although St. Peter's was closed due to a mass on Thursday. we visited during holy week Shannon brought pictures and showed us the pictures before entering the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. Shannon provided us with information on St. Peter's so that after our tour we were able to visit on our own via a secret access from the Sistine Chapel and see the beauty of this Basilica. When our tour finished we were astounded to see the length of the line-ups just to get into St Peter's. Taking the tour allowed us to get the explanations and to ask questions in a small group setting without spending hours waiting in line for only a part of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Samuel Edgar S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our excellent guide Barbara gave us an excellent tour of the museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. Barbara's knowledge of the Vatican is unsurpassed and the 3 hour tour was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Heather R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a wonderful tour this was. Our Vatican guide was knowledgeable and passionate and to see areas of the Vatican without crowds, was a real privilege. When we came out and saw the lines of people waiting 3-4 hours, in the heat, we realised what a good decision we had made. At the end of the tour, if you would like to stay in St Peter's Basilica for longer, that is possible. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

alcstone001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Nicholas was a great tour guide. So knowledgable about the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's Basilica. Especially liked that he pointed out things to look for before we went in. It was so crowded that day that if he tried to speak to us inside, it would have been lost. Enjoyed every minute!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

terencewong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was very enjoyable, with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide who made a big difference to the enjoyment of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. As the tour name says, it really was skip the line which was great, because even though we went on the 9am tour there was already a very long line for those without an advanced ticket. We even got individual entrance tickets to keep as keepsakes. If you go without a guide, you will be astounded by the beauty and history of the Vatican City, but if you go with this tour you will enjoy it 100 more!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sohan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a fantastic tour guide Angela, her knowledge and obvious experience of providing tours was truly apparent! Our time visiting St Peter's Basilica in particular was great, and if you really want to see the history behind Rome, then a tour with Angela is definitely the way to do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message