Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stuart P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First trip to Rome. Guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us loads of information. Had plenty of time in Sistine chapel and St Peters Bascilla. Small group of approx. 20 so all able to keep together. Has whetted our appetite to learn more about Italy's artists and history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

St. Peter's is beautiful and you will want to hang around for hours. The Sistine Chapel ceiling is worth seeing, but the crowds are loud and unruly. The Vatican museums need more time to enjoy, but they closed early so we were rushed through. Our guide was excellent and the small tour size is well worth the price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Made travelling around Rome so easy with the hop on hop off bus and the public transport. The skip the line for the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica saved us so much time so we had more time to enjoy Rome. Also skipped the lines at the other places we visited as well. Excellent value for money and an easy way to visit Rome

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Edward J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Dorianna was excellent. She was knowledgeable and interesting about the Vatican Museums and all they have to offer. Although we could not visit St. Peter's with her because it was closed due to a papal audience that morning, she did share some information on the basilica and told us how to see it once it was opened to the public.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Barbara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, so much history. Was disappointed we didn't get to go to St. Peters Basillica but understand that it is beyond the control of the tour company if something else is going on there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was very long and one can get museumed out. It is worth it however just to not have to wait on any long lines! You see the Vatican Museums, The Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basillica! Definitely a good deal

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Vaduva C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was very nice tour. The lady was great and she provided us special feeling bout the tour. I would definitely recommend it. We passed the line to go inside Vatican Museums. The Sistine Chapel is a special experience. I seen it second time and I may say I enjoyed it again even more. Going inside St. Peter's cathedral with a guide is also very useful. The guide was really very nice and gaves us a nice and unforgettable experience. Congratulation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Christine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had the most caring, knowledgeable, accessible and interesting guide, Patricia. We did get to the front of the line as promised and there was no waiting. The Sistine Chapel was crowded but oh so beautiful and St. Peter's is splendid and Michelangelo's Pieta just breathtaking. I would recommend this tour without hesitation

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A fabulous tour with a great host. St Peter's Basilica was an amazing building, I was totally overwhelmed by the tapestries, art work and the actual construction. To think this was built thousands of years ago without the tools we have today and it is still standing and in immaculate condition.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Michael R. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We absolutely loved our tour of St. Peter's, the museums and Raphael's Rooms and the Sistine Chapel! Organization was excellent we had no problem locating and checking in with the Viator group, and experienced no issues getting through security, receiving our tickets or even working in comfort breaks. The quiet boxes worked well we had no problem hearing our tour guide Emma or Ema. She was very knowledgeable about the art, the history of the place, items of particular interest, and, well, everything! She spoke excellent English we had absolutely no trouble understanding her unlike a different tour experience we had. Emma allowed sufficient time for photos and our questions, and was just a wealth of knowledge. We give her very high marks indeed, and would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Erika K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Definitely don't go it alone! Our tour guide Sara was wonderful, so smart, easy going, and led us through the museums, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Cathedral. It was interesting and made it so easy single out the key points.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Dick United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had very good guides for both the inside of St. Peter's and the Dome. I would note that the walk the dome is somewhat challenging and people who do not do well in closed in spaces should avoid it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Nicola F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very professional and knowledgable tour guide. Unfortunately St Peters Basilica was closed but the tour was still worth doing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Agnes L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best to get a guided tour for St. Peter's Basilica to fully appreciate the history and the important details of the Basilica.

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica Guided Tour

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide, Laura, was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Highlight was St. Peter's church and Square. Lots of waking and stairs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Paul E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent trip that kept us entertained and interested as we went around. The guide, Gio, was very knowledgeable and knew her subject. As the Pope was holding an audience we didn't get to St Peters but had a longer visit to the museums and saw the Basilica later. Well worth the money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great! Definitely worth the money as there was a very large line to get in. The history and seeing the Sistine Chapel was very interesting. In addition, the grounds were amazing to view. The tour guide was very informative about Vatican City and answered all of our questions about Vatican City.

The only con I had is that there were quite a number of tour groups that went and it wasn't peak season - just approaching it. This made many hallways very crowded.

I will make this clear for future goers: If you book this on any religious holiday i.e. Easter, Christmas, you WILL miss St. Peter's Basilica. I knew this well before my trip since I went over the Easter weekend. However, I didn't mind it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Tina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, guide was incredibly knowledgeable with a great engaging communication style. Would highly recommend. We missed out on St Peters Basilica as there was a papal audience so that was disappointing but not the fault of Viator !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jared M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. We were able to see the highlights of the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's through this experience. The lines without this Skip the Line tour are unbelievably long! Don't chance it and spend your vacation in these lines. Book this tour and you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved Rome and took a high speed train in from Milan to do this tour. Thankfully there were plenty of tour guides along the way to help us reach our tour in time as it is located quite a distant from the metro station at the steps of the Vatican Museum. The only issue we had was with our Guide who kept talking and ran our first tour by an hour and half so that we almost missed our second tour at the Coliseum. We only had 5 minutes in the Sistine Chapel but spent hours in the other rooms which was a bit disappointing. Other tours kept passing us by while our guide yakked on about every picture. Eventually we handed back our radios and went off to explore St Peter's by ourselves since we were running short of time. St Peter's was most impressive and the highlight of the tour in my opinion. Definitely worth buying as tickets are sold out and lines are super long but we walked right inside immediately. Even though there are crowds there is plenty of space to move around inside and outside St Peters. Well worth the wait!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Joanne C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful. Stefanie is an excellent guide. Informative and attentive. Her pace was well thought out. Being inside the Museum early was key for true enjoyment and ample time to appreciate the collections. One thing to realize is papal audiences on Wednesdays means no access to St Peters with tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

russell.shrader

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful, wonderful! Niccola was great - he had so much knowledge of the Vatican museums, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's. Be prepared to be blown away! The skip-the-line benefit is the best --- completely worth the money if for no other reason! But there is so much more. Don't miss this opportunity to learn about St. Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Melissa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband, in-laws and I all did the Vatican tour with Sara N. Sara was absolutely the best tour guide. She was smart, fun, patient, and engaging. Her knowledge of the paintings and history that tied into everything the Vatican and St. Peter's offered was unmatched. I would highly recommend this tour when you go to Rome. It covers everything the Vatican offers site wise and the tour guides give you so much of the rich history to go along with it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Mrs JC F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such an great day. The Sistine Chapel and St Peters Bascilica are so overwhelming. Our guide was Julia, she was so nice and friendly and explained everything as we went round. She had so much knowledge and was so interesting. So glad we had a guide you cannot possibly find out all the information if you went round by yourself. This is a day myself and my family will never forget.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Carla T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Eleanora was excellent. She was very knowledgable about the history of the Vatican and all those involved in the artwork, architecture and history we were absorbing. The tour involves quite a bit of walking, but was well worth the tired legs and aching feet at the end of it.

Note: We took our tour Wednesday afternoon and were not able to tour St. Peter's Basilica due to mass being held at that time, but we were able to enter on our own and walk around. I think the experience would have been better with a guide in the Basilica, but all in all it was a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message