Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Basilica

St Peter's Basilica was built between 1506 and 1590, when the dome was finally completed. It is on the site of the tomb of St. Peter; his relics were finally found and authenticated in the middle of the 20th century. Before the current grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 199 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic tour! I have toured the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica before but came away from this one with so much more information. Our guide Tiffany was outstanding and packed so much energy and entertainment into her commentary. Make sure to spend plenty of time in the Basilica when the tour finishes and to see the Crypts and climb the Dome if you have the legs. The view from the top is awesome. A great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I had been to Vatican about 25 years ago on my own, but it was a lot better with a tour guide who could show you some of the important things at the site and give you some good background. We really enjoyed the tour even though we could not see the entire St Peter's Basilica since there was an event taking place there. Other basilicas were also very nice and all of tour guides were very nice and knowledgeable. This was a GREAT tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We are very glad that we booked this tour. David, our guide, was knowledgeable and entertaining. We had a full three hours in all but St Peter's Basilica and gained entrance to areas general admission tickets holders did not have access to. Once the tour concluded we were able to enjoy St Peter's Basilica at leisure. Everything was amazing!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing. We found the meeting place very easily. Nickola the guide was excellent- telling us interesting facts all the way around the museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica- the time passed by so quickly. Once the tour was over we had some free time of our own in St Peter's which was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide Marta was excellent. She provided a comprehensive overview of the history, religion, politics and art associated with the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica. We were able to skip the lines with this tour - and considering there was a 2 hour wait for the unticketed entry by 8.30 am, this was a huge benefit. Definitely a value for money tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour led by Peter who gave a very comprehensive and, at times, with many entertaining quips about Michaelangelo et all. Not so many funnies about the Roman Emperors though. The fact that there are around 3 million exhibits in the Vatican museum necessitated a selection being chosen but nevertheless an extremely interesting experience. As someone who does not have a particular interest in art and finds much of it vague and remote this was the perfect antidote. The extensive knowledge of our guide ensured that. The exhibits on show were simply stunning and visiting St Peter's basilica was quite an experience. One useful tip: if you can go out of the summer months then do. We did not have to "skip the queue" and, although still quite busy in early December you could still see the floor of the Sistine Chapel! A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Dario's knowledge about and passion for Vatican City, the museums, and St Peter's Basilica really made this tour quite special.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Raphael Rooms and St Peter's Basilica was truly amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed by both myself and my partner and an eye-opener of the history of the church. Our tour guide was brilliant, with an extensive knowledge and was very friendly too. A definite recommendation for anybody visiting Rome. We will certainly be going back in the not too distant future.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, would recommend to anyone visiting Rome for the first time. Our tour guide Sabrina was very knowledgable and we got to see the best bits of the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica during this trip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jeremy A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This may have been a skip the line tour, but the place was still absolutely packed because there are so many skip the line tours all operating at the same time. However, the crowds faded into insignificance under the leadership provided by the best tour guide I have ever come across, Zev. From the start he created a wonderful rapport with every member of the group, and then throughout the tour never rushed and provided us with the most wonderful and logically constructed history of the site, and then the Vatican, since BC. All the way he pre-warned us of directional changes and possible hazards in his calm voice that enabled us to navigate through the crowds with comparative ease. His descriptions of the paintings in the Sistine Chapel before we entered gave real meaning and understanding to what we saw. His consideration to others was noticeable in that in every crowded room in which we stopped to receive his excellent descriptions, he would drop his group flag and point with his hand, while all the other tour leaders pointed with their flags, interfering with the views of others. We ended the tour with a much better understanding of the Vatican and its history, and many of the Popes, along with a better appreciation of the amazing buildings and their art, not the least being the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. A phenomenal tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Did this tour 27.10.2014, well worth it!! You are crazy not to sign up for a skip the line tour to get into the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica as people can wait in those lines for up to 2 hours or more!! With this tour you get to skip the lines as well as have a personal guide take you through the Vatican with lots of knowledge. Our guide was from City Wonder Tours, I think her name was Sharon? she was fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a terrific way to skip the lines, get fabulous views of the city from the Cupola and enjoy St Peter's Basilica. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and our party of 2 got great value.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tiffany, our tour guide, was a wealth of interesting information, with an engaging and often dry sense of humour. Starting 'before the crowds' was brilliant as the number of tours going through when we did was already busy enough. It was wonderful to walk through the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica as Tiffany brought it to life with the many and varied facts and stories. Seeing the queue as we left the Vatican affirmed our choice to start early and go with a guide, as to try it on your own would have been too confusing and no-where near as enlightening. A wonderful tour and highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! tour guide very knowledgeable. The tour of the was great, skipping the very long lines and with all sorts of information and history about the museum and St Peter's Basilica. The afternoon part visiting the other 3 major basilicas is a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is worth it just to skip the really long lines. Our tour guide was Alessandro and he was great. I'm not Catholic and was a little worried that this tour might be religion overload for me but it wasn't at all. His background is in Art History and you can tell. He really knows his stuff. The museum is spectacular and the Sistine Chapel took my breath away. I can't even find words to describe it. One of my favorite parts of the museum is the room dedicated to the Virgin Mary. It's beautiful! The second half of the tour takes you into St Peter's Basilica and it's huge. The guide took us around and showed us the highlights. Once the tour is done they leave you in the basilica to look around some more if you want. After this I went into the square and took some pictures. I really enjoyed the tour and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message