• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Square

St. Peter's Square (Piazza San Pietro) is the grand colonnaded area in front of St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. A visually imposing entry to this great church, the semi-circular colonnades on either side designed by the Roman Baroque sculptor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was fabulous! He gave us a wealth of information we could not have found on our own. The only true disappointment is the method in which you are "cattled" into the square for seating. You would think that a more streamlined method of seating would be implemented for seeing the Pope. It truly is like being at a rock concert and everyone trying to stand in the front row! People pushing and standing in front of you. That part was disappointing.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

It was nothing more than "uncontrolled chaos" NOTHING like what we expected. There were probably 50,000 people there, we arrived 3 hours prior to Pope Francis making his appearance in order to get seats which weren't good. When he started making his way out into St. Peters Square everyone stood up and pushed their was to get a view so it was pointless to have seats. After Pope Francis made his way around the audience and was seated my husband and I left unable to even enjoy it!!! We found it to be a COMPLETE waste of time and money.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great tour and an Wonderful Guide...even though we were unable to tour St Peter's Basillica we did see a museum that is not often shown on the daily tours. Also we were thrilled just to stand in St Peter's Square and to see where the Pope greets his people. Our tour of the Vatican grounds and museums was just amazing.. Thank you so much...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Guide was very informative and knowledgeable.
Other than taking place on Christmas day, there was no Christmas theme to the tour. It would have been nice to know that the tour was ending at St. Peter's Square (since public transportation was limited on the holiday). Lots of walking, so a few other members bailed early. We left our tour after Navona

Doing what: Rome Christmas Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time in Rome. The Vatican Museum including the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's room, St Peter's square tour was excellent. Our tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable about the history and events. I would highly recommend this to anyone who are planning on visiting Rome for the first time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour is great if you are a historian, a practicing Christian or just someone who loves paintings and architecture - or any combination of the bunch. You get the entire Vatican experience - from the Museum gates with Michelangelo and Raphael guarding atop the gate - to St. Peters Basilica to thousands of works of art, to the Pope's apartment which is now open... to St. Peters square. You will want more even after an exhausting journey through this tiniest of countries. A quick note to those who are reading this 2 or 3 months before traveling to Rome - look into the Necropolis tour that is only available straight through the Vatican itself. Not only would you get to the see the tombs of the popes but the place that was discovered only a few years ago to be the last resting place of St. Peter - the first Pope - himself. I am kicking myself now but I am glad I got to do this spectacular tour. And yes- you do skip the line - which is great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent program! I signed up before leaving home and got my passes electronically. Finding your tour guides in St Peters Square was very easy. Guide was excellent, got us in to the seating area quickly and gave a wonderful presentation on Papal Audiences. I highly recommend your service!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Johnny picked us up in the cruise port. He asked us what we want to do and see in Rome. So being it a one day tour and our first time we asked his recommendations. First he brought us to the Vatican Museum. Very fortunately that we arrived early as there were no lines at all. We got in very easil and fast to the tickets place. Then we tour the Museum and of course the Sistine Chapel. After that we had an small lunch as we suggested since we have limited time. Johnny took us to a little pizza place. It was ok. The he took us to famous Trevi Fountain and Novana Square. He was very informative and give us overview of each places and some history. He was funny too! We also went to the He then brought us to the Coliseum. We told him that we want to walk inside the coliseum, he just made a phone call and got us a no wait in line tickets. We had a good 1-2 hours to tour the Coliseum before going back to the cruise ship. We had a great time on this tour and Johnny made it happen. I wish to thank you again Johnny and hope we can visit Rome again since I threw 1 coin in the Trevi fountain. :-)

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Independent Rome Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

As with all of our Viator tours during out 2 week trip to Italy, this one was excellent. Raphaela was excellent at distilling the important things to see in what can be an overwhelming experience. The one issue we had was that we booked this tour for a Wednesday morning when St. Peter's Basilica is closed due to the Pope's presence in St. Peter's Square. Howeverf, Raphaela advised us how to spend some time taking a break in the cafeteria (which was much needed by the time we finished the Sistine Chapel). After any hour break, we were able to make our way back to the Sistine Chapel and go directly into the Basilica and St. Peter's Square. Altogether and remarkable experience and a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We would strongly recommend this tour. The service was prompt and well organized. The price paid was worth having someone help us navigate the crowds, find us seats that were very close to where the Pope was passing, very close to the barriers set up as well as close enough to the stage that we could see the Pope as well as the other speakers on the stage. We thoroughly enjoyed the guide's enthusiastic presentation about the history of St. Peter's Basilica, St. Peter's Square, Vatican City, the Sistine Chapel and all the historical figures involved. Despite the very large crowd, the tour was a very positive experience.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the best way to see the Vatican. We were met on time, our guide was extremely knowledgeable, and we did not have to wait in long lines. Suggest that you don't take a back-pack into the museum as it has to be checked, and at the end of the tour you have to walk from the exit at St Peter's square all the way around to the museum entrance to retrieve it. The walk is longer than you think.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a great tour if you are in the Vatican City on Wednesdays when Pope Frances comes to St. Peter's Square. Keep in mind it's not a "small audience." Due to the new Pope's popularity, St. Peter's was full, our guide informed us that the Square holds about 70,000 people. With the tickets, you are guaranteed a seat, but you may not be close to the stage. However, with that said, our group was only about 10 people, which was good. Our guide made a great effort to get us into seats that were close to the route that Pope Francis traverses, although we were not close to the square. There are hundreds of groups like this, so be prepared for throngs of people. You will need to be prepared to get to St. Peter's Square by 7:30 am. Viator does a great job instructing you where to go when first arriving. You will be assigned your guide and as soon as the gates open, the guide "ran" to get us the best seats she could. She holds up a flag, so it was easy to locate her. We were then provided with Vatican history facts, which was very interesting. Just prior to the Pope appearing, the guide will leave the tour group. From then on, you are in your seats and hopefully lucky enough to see the Pope ride by. This takes quite a while. Then the Pope goes up to the stage. There are big screens set up in the Square, so if you are not close to the stage, you can watch the screens. He provides his message in Italian, and then it is summarized in about 12 different languages. The entire event lasts about 3 1/2-4 hours.

If you want to see the Pope, I highly recommend this tour. You can still be present in St. Peter's Square for free, however, you will be standing and very far away, even to see the big screens and you may not be close enough to his route through the Square.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Anna was very friendly and knowledgeable, and very adept at getting us to our seats on a day when even she thought the size of the crowd seemed exceptional. Once she had got us to our seats she then gave us a very interesting talk about the history of The Vatican and Popes. The experience of the Papal Audience was something we will never forget. The enthusiasm of the crowd when Pope Francis came into the Square was heart-warming and from our seats he passed us within about four metres. We would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Such a benefit having an experienced guide to help you through the crazy entrance into the square, but more importantly, to help you find the best seats. Whilst it is nice to be 'up the front' for the Audience proper, being back a little is fine - given the video screens and speakers. The real thrill, and this is where the 'best' seats come into their own, is being positioned well when the Pope drives through the square. I was no more than 3 metres from the Pope, thanks too our guide. A great day, and great commentary from our guide as we waited for the Audience to begin.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent tour! The tour guide was very passionate and knowledgeable! Hint: I felt rushed inside of the Sistine Chapel - it is crowded. Take your time and don't let anyone rush you through. NO photos allowed!
Another hint: do NOT book it on Wednesday's and/or a day where the Pope will be having mass in St. Peter's Square, because they close the tour to this area. We had to go back to St. Peter's the next day and pay for an additional tour to see the inside of the Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message