Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Square

St. Peter's Square (Piazza San Pietro) is the grand colonnaded area in front of St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. A visually imposing entry to this great church, the semi-circular colonnades on either side designed by the Roman Baroque sculptor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edward T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect way to miss the crowds, get good seats and learn about St Peters Square. Our tour guide was organized, professional and informative. Great value for the money!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Kimberly

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

My husband and I were really disappointed with the tour. This was our honeymoon and we were very excited about our tour. I do believe our guide was very knowledgeable and had a passion for her job. However she was too short with customers and became very frustrated and took it out on everyone due to folks leaving her tour. Our tour included St Peters unless it was closed, and for our time it was not. It dragged out too long on the other parts especially outside staring at pictures and I believe that contributed to guest leaving and going on there own. We stayed right with our guide as did many customers. Any time someone asked a question she was very rude how she answered. One poor man kept asking about the square which had she kept on track he would have made. Another one asked about passport stamps, which were available on Sunday during Mass, she should have known that instead of acting like she had never heard that. We were very insistent on getting to St Peters because it was open and basically had to give her our head sets and sprint with minimal direction from her after the sistine chapel, but thank goodness we made it to the square and st peters. I feel bad for the folks that probably did not even know where to go. In my opinion your organization did not provide everything that was advertised especially since nothing was closed during our time slot. We have used you before and had not experienced this type of service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Dorothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to get a close up view of the Pope during his drive around the square in the Pope mobile. Francesca was wonderful in herding us into a prime location. Be aware that late comers from other groups will try to elbow in front of you when the time comes. Be prepared to stand your ground!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Phyllis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was great, but don't go on Wednesday, as we did. The Pope has an audience in St. Peter's Square on that day, so you spend more time at the Vatican. By the time you get to the Sistine Chapel, it is open to the public. So much for the private, quiet experience in the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Gail C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

All ran very smoothly and we were quickly through security and seated in the square. Our guide gave us lots of valuable information before the Pope arrived and arranged for us to have a good position near the fence.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Carole H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Unfortunately I can't rate this tour, as we never found the group. We underestimated the travel time, at an extremely busy time of day...Rome was heading to work! Completely missed the time at the meeting point, so group had left without us. Phoned the local contact number, but they were unable to reunite us with the group. They did offer us an option to have a credit on another tour, but as our week was already planned, we had no time to fit one in. We were able to enter St Peters Square and see the Papal Audience, but with no guide and being non Catholic, had no real idea what it was all about. I'm sure it would have had more meaning, if we could have understood what was going on!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Heather J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent way to get in front of the crowds. There was a queue of about an hour and we just waltzed past. It wasn't so easy to find the place we should go to near the brown booth on the left arm of the square, but if you allow fifteen minutes time in advance, you should be fine.

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica Guided Tour

Catherine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Claudia was our guide and found us excellent seats!
She was a perfect guide, keeping an eye on the group and making sure we stayed together and alleviated the fears of an older member of the group who that she might be left behind.
Our seats were extremely close to Pope Francis as he made his way through the square and being on a corner got to see him come by two times! Claudia's talk about the history of the Vatican and St. Peter's was clear, relevant and helpful.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

kevinrchisholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a wonderful time and we really believe it was the best way to see the Vatican.
Our guide was very knowledgeable in all respects.

The only thing we missed was the Pope himself ,but being he was in Afica at the time I think that would have been tough to deliver.

I have been to to Rome over 15 times and viewed the Vatican from the square only and this was truly amazing..

Sincerely

Kevin Chisholm

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable, and guided us through all the art at a pace that was perfect, given all there was to see. If you want to see the Vatican but don't want to spend 5 hours to do it, this is the tour for you. Also, the skip the line was no joke. We went on a Wednesday when the Pope was actually speaking in the square, so by the time we were leaving there was a line that wrapped around the square. Looked like people would be waiting hours to get into the museum and Basillica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Gina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was truly a once in a lifetime experience. Our guide knew exactly where to place us in the so that we would be very close to the pope as he circulated around the square. She provided detailed information on St. Peter's, the square and the history of the papal selection process. I would absolutely recommend this experience.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Barbara J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We only decided to take this tour after we heard stories about the waiting line. So glad we did! Our guide for the basilica shared with us that she likes to highlight specialties of the Basilica that cannot be commonly found in all the guide books. Smart.

Our dome guide, Amil, was both knowledgeable and energetic. Be sure the dome part of your tour! The view of the Basilica from inside the drum is exciting -- you are surrounded by walls of mosaics and can view the inside of the dome. Once on top of the dome, you view St. Peter's square, surrounding buildings, gardens and all of Rome! from high up..Stunning views.

The only complaint is that it took a long time for the tour guides to get our groups organized. We had to state and re-state our names and type of tour multiple times to several different guides before we were able to start the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My wife and I did the tour on Sept 18th. Our guide was Francessco. His English is good and easy to understand. We started in the Vatican Museums. Our guide was very informative and knowledgable. Rapheal's rooms were great, and the ability to get up close was awesome. The Sistine Chapel was the highlight as expected and our guide gave us good tips to avoid being moved on by the security guys. St Peters Basilica and square were also great attractions, but seemed to suffer in comparison to the Sistine Chapel. Skip the Line tickets are a must for this tour as the lines were already very long at opening time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Kim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Although the tickets are free for the Papal Audience it is well worth the money to purchase this tour. We were seated in the second row of the second section in St.Peter's Square. The Pope passes just in front of the section in the Popemobile. We were lucky and he stopped just in front of us to wave. Highlight of our vacation and maybe our lifetime.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Maureen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lara was our tour guide and was absolutely incredible! She was super knowledgeable and very interesting. We felt like we got more than our money's worth with this tour. Since the pope was having a session on Wednesday in St. Peter's Square the Vatican Museums were nearly empty and it made for a very unique and special tour to have so much time and piece and quiet in the museum. I would definitely recommend doing this tour on a Wednesday morning if possible!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

missjen129

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A little chaotic as there was so many people coming into the square. Our guide was good. Very knowledgeable and was able to get us good seats. We had a great view of the Pope as he drove by.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Mike M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We did not have the tour we paid for. We met our guide in the square but we were immediately brought thru security and assigned a guide who brought us through st Peter's. We did not have a tour of st Peter's square and the square was not even mentioned on the tour. Our tour guide, Emil, did a wonderful job of st Peter's basilica, but since we did not have the tour we paid for we can only give 3 star rating

Doing what: No Wait Access: St Peter's Basilica Guided Tour

ahinkebe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Definitely get a ticket to skip the line!! We went on a Monday morning and the line was wrapped around the Vatican walls at 9:30. Our tour guide, Patricia, was great-- she was very knowledgeable. We also went back to St. Peter's Square at night during our trip and saw a mass going on, which was incredible! Beautiful at day and night.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

mrgeorgelawlor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had Claudia...She was an art/history major. She was excellent. There were a lot of tours, but it seems to be pretty organized chaos. The next day we went to St Peter's square and the line was over into the second colonnades on the opposite side of the square......Well worth the price to skip

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Prema C India

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour was worth the money spent and gave us a lot of insight on the museums, chapel and st. peters.
We did not have to wait anywhere and got enough time to spend inside the chapel and also we ended the tour in the square so got to spend a lot of time there. The tour was in groups of 20 and the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Helen M Chapman C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent considering the huge huge crowds and hot day. Missed out on St Peters because of the Pope's return but saw him in the square later greeting the crowds. Very good commentary.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Stuart B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

On the day of the tour, we were thrilled to walk past the line that stretched around St Peter's Square to the front of the line where very courteous staff helped check us in and take us to the entry. Mercedes was our guide for St. Peter's. She was easy to understand, demonstrated she loved what she's doing, was entertaining and informative. She was also very willing to answer questions. We were off then to the top of the Cupola with Amil. We booked several tours and had many guides, but Amil was best by far. We loved her straight forward approach - - very entertaining and informative, easy to understand and offered personal insight and experiences. We felt as though we had met an old friend for a stroll around the Cupola. She was amazing!!! I would definitely try to arrange for Amil and Mercedes for English tours if possible. Well worth the cost and great tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

trottmic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best breakfast we had in Italy and was great to be inside the museum before it opens to the public. During the busy season, which is when we went, it gets too crowded to enjoy the museum and be able to see everything. We had plenty of time to leisurely see everything without being elbowed. After the tour you can continue to explore on your own. We started to do this but it was so packed we couldn't even keep our kids together to get through rooms so we didn't stay. Also the wait to get into the Vatican was wrapped around the entire square. Would have taken FOREVER to get inside. Considering the security checks I would say the line was several hours long in the hot sun. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Rosemarie P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Museum was great. So was our tour guide. Did not get to see inside St. Peter because of event tour did warn that this may happen. That was ok because the Pope was having a free concert with Celine Dion and Bocelli in the square when we can out of the tour. Bonus!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Dianne P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour was misleading in that it is only the general audience on the square that anyone can attend - for free. And if you are there early enough, get the same seating I paid for. Not worth it

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message