Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Square

St. Peter's Square (Piazza San Pietro) is the grand colonnaded area in front of St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. A visually imposing entry to this great church, the semi-circular colonnades on either side designed by the Roman Baroque sculptor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour experience was amazing. Our guide Rachel was exceptional. We really enjoyed getting up early, getting to the Vatican before daylight and starting our day with breakfast inside the Vatican square. No crowds.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

SUPER WORTH IT!!! Teresa our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, she gave us a very complete explanation and history on St. Peter's square and its construction. She also added great recommendations on other places to visit around Rome.
Teresa was key for us to be at the right spot! We got to see the Pope very close twice!!! Definitely a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic! The Square was filling up rapidly with people, but our Guide had our seats available to us "up close" and told us exactly where the Pope would be going, etc. Stev was Great - knew his papal history well also. This is a "don't miss" tour... and don't try to do it without Viator!!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very informative with lots of history both of the Vatican and the Catholic Church in general. As someone with no background in this area she made the experience very educational and worthwhile! She was also very helpful in getting us seats very near to where Pope Frances drove by in the Popemobile. We were literally only a few feet from him. Well worth the money! The only issue- it was a little difficult to find our meeting point because the square is so large. A map would be very helpful.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

looking at the line of people waiting was our first clue that we had made a good decision! This was further driven home when we met Shannon, our friendly and informative guide. Under her tutelage, we were able to see and get so much more from our experience! She was awesome and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Vatican Museums with her. She had us prepared for our time in the Sistine chapel as well and being able to move through to St, Peters was great! And doing this on a Wed when a papal audience was going on in the square means it was less crowded! Great and highly recommended experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

MaryAnna shepherded us to the perfect spot, the photo to the left could be the very one we took! What could otherwise have been a long 3 hour wait for the audience flew by in what seemed like a brief flash, yet a period of time packed full of insights about St. Peter's Square, the Vatican, Rome writ large, not to mention the Pontiff himself! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, truly 5 stars, our guide spoke elegantly with emotion and knowledge about the presentation. Our seats where wonderful only three rows back in the center of the square and so close to the Pope as he passed in his 'popemobile.' We recommend this tour for anyone and everyone who wants to experience the relevance and mystique of the vatican and her precious diety. We captured firsthand such a monumental event made possible by Viator.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Malcolm P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour , Very well organized the guides meet you at the corner of the square and guide you into st peters basilica to meet your guide , We had the lovely paula who was very informative around the basilica and pointed out many facts that normally you would walk past normally. After a short interval we met Joseph our second guide for the tour of the cupola , You start in a lift to the roof area which itself is amazing walking around the dome and then onto the outside roof area . The cupola view is outstanding after the climb but well worth it !! , After your viewing take the stairs down back to the roof for a drink in the cafe . Brilliant

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Skip-the-Line St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Wow not sure where to start. Meeting point was easy to find and guide was good. Getting into Saint Peters square is quite an experience in chaos. Be ready to get somewhat crushed in all the humanity and the crowds. It's a long morning that we were not really prepared for. You need to be ready for a lack of restrooms and food or water for 4 hours or more. The guide leaves right as the ceremony starts. Get as close to the rails as possible if you want to really see the Holy Father. Overall I'm glad we went for the experience, but not sure we would do it again.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide, Dario, was extremely knowledgeable about all the art we saw and was an excellent source of information on the Vatican and its museums. Unfortunately we did not get to see St Peters square or St Peters Basilica as both had been closed without any specific explanation. This was disappointing for all of us in the tour group but the company running the tours has made good on their promise to refund some of the money we paid for this tour. I would definitely recommend using Viator and their contracted providers in Rome and Florence for your city tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding treasures to see and remember, unforgettable.
Ways to improve: "skipping the line" needs to save time on pre-tour registration too, there was a long line to show you reservation to one person, then to find and join the guide,then wait for late-comers, then group introductions.... another 15 minutes of booked 3 hours. Followed by at least 30 minutes of "preparation" in the entry hall, in the inner yard. It needs to be more organized:
in fact we were inside the Museums for only about 2 hours. Everything the guide covered was outstanding, thank you!
Because the guide DID NOT tell us about "one-way" traffic at St.Peter's Basilica, I left the area to send cards from the post office, and was not allowed to go back; had to go all over the square, wait in a huge line to see St.Peter's. I am happy I did it, but the arrangement with your agency did not meet my expectations.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Federica was an excellent guide with a wealth of knowledge of the Vatican. The microphone and ear piece system is an excellent method of communication in very crowded and noisy rooms.
We do not give 5 stars as we felt very cheated that we did not get into St Peter's Basillica, and we are still waiting to see if Viator will give us the refund promised by the tour guide. When we tried to visit the Basillica on own the next day, the queue was impossibly long round the whole of St Peter's square and our travel itinery did not allow us to wait in the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I am not sure that an individual just buying a ticket could possibly see and comprehend all that is viewable in Vatican City - the Vatican Museums, St Peters Square, the Basilica, Sistine Chapel, etc. Hearing the history of the places/artifacts through our guide Alex was what made being in St Peters so special. The tour is leisurely paced and just being able to skip the lines makes it so worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great and worth doing. The Vatican museums were incredible and the Sistine Chapel was breathtaking. Was very disappointed that St Peters Square was closed due to a street parade/Pope being there. We didn't get to see the square from the top either which was disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a very positive experience. Having seen the incredibly long lines in the Square, we retreated and paid the money to skip the line the next day. It does what it says on the tin, with the added benefit of a nicely pitched 50 minute tour of the inside of the basilica. To get a fifth star, it would need to come good on the promise to provide a tour or even commentary of the square - we were just shepherded in silence through the colonnade to security and then handed over to the different language guides in the basilica. That worked well, but it wasn't exactly what was described. I'd still recommend it though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message