Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Square

St. Peter's Square (Piazza San Pietro) is the grand colonnaded area in front of St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. A visually imposing entry to this great church, the semi-circular colonnades on either side designed by the Roman Baroque sculptor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Booking the tour was the only way to guaranty us a seat for the Pope's Wed audience. This audience occurred while many tourists still in Rome during Easter season, so it was a very large audience in St Peter's Square. Guide got us excellent seats to get photo's of the Pope as he rode around the masses in the Square in his Pope-mobile. Guide gave us lots of interesting Papal history while we waited for the Pope to arrive. Was one of the highlights of our trip to Rome this year.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was good and gave us very good relevant explanation of events regarding the office of the Pope and the Pope himself. However I was very disappointed with our position in the square,not up close enough to the white barriers. My 84 year old mother could hardly see the Pope. The reson we went to Rome was because she requsted to see Pope Francis.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I will never know as we never could find the tour guide. We were asked to meet her at St. Peters Square that is HUGE with hundred of people and dozens of tour guides with groups. We asked every one of them until it was the time of our tour. Big disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend booking a 'skip the line' tour before arriving in Rome to avoid the queues and the pushy tour reps in the square. The meeting point for this tour was easy to find and our group departed on time. As we made our way through the Vatican, our friendly and knowledgeable guide provided interesting and frequently humorous commentary, before leaving us at the Sistine Chapel where we could spend as long as we wished before existing through the basilica. My compliments to the local operator for an enjoyable afternoon and to Viator for the easy booking procedure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

very easy skip the line, good guide, she was really helpful and informative. so we really enjoyed every part of our tour, beautiful sistine chapel, main square, and amazing corridors and maps hall.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was informative and flew by. I accidentally booked the tour for the following day (when I would no longer be in Rome) and they were helpful in accommodating me. We were unable to see st peters square and church together but were warned about that because it was a Wednesday=popes mass.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Do not do this tour on a Wednesday morning!! The pope was giving an audience in the square, apparently a pretty regular occurrence. This meant that, although we managed to get into the basilica after 1pm we had no guided tour of St Peter's and no commentary in the Sistine Chapel, despite the fact that there seemed to be plenty of tour guides doing exactly that. Our guide, Sarah, did a good job under difficult conditions - very, very crowded museum rooms where the headsets did not work well, cutting in and out on a regular basis making it difficult to follow.
This was all the more disappointing having had the best ever tour the previous afternoon on the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

dianemaguire
United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This tour was terrible. A complete waste of money. I would have been better off buying a ticket from the Vatican. It is cheaper and their audio guides are very well done. The crowds made the whole experience awful. The noise and congestion in the Sistine Chapel made me wish I had simply looked at good photos of the ceiling. It was not pleasant at all. Plus the Basilica was closed and there was no offer to provide a discount. I paid 15 euros the next day for a skip the line audio tour of the Basilica from the Vatican tour place on the right hand corner of the square and it was wonderful. I highly recommend using this alternative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Everyone wants to see the Sistine Chapel but the crowds are just awful. You really cannot see much and you are pushed and shoved throughout the tour. It is not the tour company's fault but we would never do it again. The Cathedral is a bit different, because of the size, so it is worthwhile. The square, of course, is breathtaking.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A view of the Basilica sanctuary and St. Peters Square that you rarely get. The guides were very good, but too rushed. Slow down and let us take more photos.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We took this tour during the Christmas holidays, and even though nearly every square inch of the Vatican Museum was PACKED with tourists, our guide managed our group well and kept us moving. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave interesting background and context on virtually everything we saw. She was energetic and positive in spirit. There is SO much to see at the Vatican, I highly recommend using a tour guide. Also, the line outside to gain admission was several blocks long, and going in via the "skip the line" tour was a great advantage. Great value!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

First of all the price of the tour would have been totally worth it just to skip that line which looped from one side of St. Peter's Square to the other and then out of sight, but the tour was interesting and informative. I truly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Thank you is was great ..thankfully we had your telephone number .. But you may mention at informations in the square .. where your meeting point is .. As she was going to send us on a wild goose chase 10 mins away .. You were great will use you again .

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Our guide was very informative and told us a lot about St. Peter's square and the Vatican. I was impressed by this as we had done the Vatican tour the day before and she was still able to provide info we hadn't heard. The guide was able to get us seats at the outer edge where the Pope passed by us a few times. That was really great, however, this meant we were far back from the stage. A trade-off I guess. The tour was worth it for the guide, the good pics I got when the Pope passed by and the ease of getting tickets via the tour. Given that it was off season though, we easily could have done this without the tour and still had really good seats but it would have been more of a hassle. So for us, it was worth it.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was by far the highlight of my trip to Rome and it is without a doubt due to City Wonders Tour Guide, Tiffany, from Indiana! She was absolutely amazing! She got my group seats in the second row on the left side of the audience and close to the aisle which gave us a clear, close up view of the Pope three times. First, when he entered the square near the guard station in the Pope Mobile, then when he rode past the front of the audience, and then a third time when he rode past the left side of the audience prior to beginning his address. We were clearly placed in the ideal location. Prior to the Pope coming out we had to wait approximately an hour and a half and that is when Tiffany's friendly, charismatic personality shone along with her unbelievable knowledge of Ancient History, Christianity, and Catholicism. I felt as if I learned more from her in an hour and a half than I learned in my semester long college course. I was actually slightly disappointed that she had to stop her presentation for the Pipe to come out. Of course, I got over it the moment I saw the Pope. I would highly recommend this tour and if possible, be sure to request Tiffany from Indiana!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The Papal audience was a once in a life time experience. Our guide met us at the prearranged point. The directions to getting to the point were accurate. We of course were one of many people and we were grouped in to smaller groups as we proceeded to the area that we sat. Our guide was great at getting us to a great place to sit. She gave us a oral history of St. Peter's square and a brief history of the Vatican. We had headsets so that we could hear her very clearly. We found her very helpful and interesting, however with all tour groups there are some members of the group that are not as respectful to the guide. That would be the only negative aspect of this tour. It did rain so come prepared for all weather elements.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

This is not a "tour" but just a meeting with a guide who will assist you in getting into St Peter's Square to get a good seat. Be prepared to meet your guide very early who will explain that he will break into the line of pilgrims who are already lined up to get in. ( There is no admission to enter the square to see the Pope, it's free, but you would have to get your ticket a day ahead. So, this " tour" provides that for you.) Once it's time for the police to begin letting people into the square, your guide will lead you into the crowd and tell you to try to stick to him like glue. The police will stop you and look inside your bags (you are allowed a small bag) . The guide waits for all in the tour group to get through the police but then it's time to literally run with him to get a seat on the barricade. We were able to be seated right on the barricade which meant the Pope would pass right in front of us in the Popemobile. So, this was a good thing. After we were seated, our guide told us a little bit about the Square and St.Peter's. At aprox 9 a.m. the Pope arrived and our guide left us. The Pope passed right in front of us so we had a great seat. People behind us pressed in on us standing on our chairs to try to get a better view. Once the Pope is on the main stage and ready to speak, everyone sits back down. The Pope will speak in Italian and then other clergy will repeat what he said one at a time in different languages. The Pope comes down into the area where special needs people are and he stops to kiss and bless them. He is very open to the crowd at all times. What you are paying for on this tour is a person who knows how to get you through the crowd to get a good seat. It's pretty chaotic so I thought it was probably worth it to get a good seat. Be prepared to run and to be in the midst of pushing crowds.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rachel is an outstanding tour guide. She had to modify the tour slightly because the Pope was making an appearance in St.Peter's Square. However, I liked what she presented. She spoke clearly with easily understood English, was very informative about things I didn't know (this is our 3rd Vatican Tour) and was just a delightful person. Two Thumbs up for an excellent tour/presentation. Recommend highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were impressed by all the tours run by City Wonders and this was no exception. The Papal Audience is a very confusing event and, if you've not done it before, I would highly recommend doing it this way. Our guide led us into the square and she ran to the area in the front of the second section and reserved our seats. We were located in the first row directly behind the wooden barrier along the road the "Pope-Mobile" would take. He actually passed within five feet of us twice on his ride into the square. Our guide gave us a lot of information about the audience so we knew exactly what to expect. Would definitely use this service again.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

For the faithful and religious this is a must see if you are in Rome on Wednesday. Check the web to see if the Pope is in town during your visit and if the tour times match your availability. I read some reviews complaining about the price, seats, and initial part of the experience. Yes, the tickets are free, you can get them on your own but it is a process and requires a lot of pre planning and some running around the day before, Tuesday. The price was well worth the saved efforts as we were on tours the Tuesday needed to get the tickets, and dealing with the church embassies to request the tickets in the first place. Yes, if you can get tickets on your own, and get in line at 6:30am exactly you will be able to get better seats and if you know the route of the Pope Mobile through St Peter's Square you can get there too, again this requires a lot of hassle and time to do which we didn't have time for. Our guide was very informative, funny, and helpful. She got us good seats with a decent view and I was able to get a frame filling picture of the Pope Francis from his Pope Mobile and a 200mm lens. In the summer this will be a very very hot visit. In October it was still hot but not too bad. Security check was not too bad but you MUST go to the bathroom prior to getting inside as the line inside are too long and far from the seats, it took my wife 35 min to go and get back and she almost missed the beginning. I was happy with the tour as I was able to plan the rest of our Rome tours into this without worrying about getting into lines or on waiting lists at the American Catholic church site on Tuesday and avoiding the mad dash for seats when the square is opened. It is general admission and there are no seat reservations for anyone, except the area for married couples.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this experience greatly exceeded our expectations. the tour was organized by city wonders and was very well organized in a pretty chaotic environment. the meeting spot was well marked and easy to find. our guide, filomena, is the best! she knew exactly what she was doing and how to strategize our entrance to get the best seats. she succeeded in getting us 2nd row seats so that when Pope Francis rode through the audience, we were mere feet from him. and we got to see him twice! she also entertained us with her vast knowledge of the event, the history of st. peter's square and the basilica, as well as the vatican museums. i can not say enough great things about city wonders but especially filomena. i highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Papal Audience was unbelievable! Our guide (I think her name is Tanya) provided such good information on St Peters Square, the Pope, and the Vatican as a whole. Most important of all, she guided us to a place where we had the best view of Pope Francis when he went around on the pope mobile!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Once in a life? Can you imagine being at one meter of Papa Francesco touring around you in St Peter's square? I've been there, Yes!
Thanks Viator and CityWondres Tours.
Augusto

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent. Exactly as stated. Met as described and straight inside, going past a mass of queueing people. Why don't they use the Net?

Extremely informative guide. She really knew her stuff. I hadn't realised just how extensive the museums were. Much walking and climbing steps so you have to be a bit fit. Not for the infirm or even wheelchair uses - thought it lopoked like special arrangements could be made for wheel chair users. Not sure. Didn't see any in themuseums but did in the Sistine Chapel. And how great is that!!. Also bypassed more queues by going direct into the Basillica. And again. How fantastic that was.

On the Sunday before the tour we were blessed by the Pope in the Square!! Bit busy on Sunday, not so bad on Monday!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Amazing and great. Tour guide went on way too long about a pine cone statue in the square which was not great. Also went on to long about the paintings in the chapel. Less talk and more looking would be great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message