Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Square

St. Peter's Square (Piazza San Pietro) is the grand colonnaded area in front of St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. A visually imposing entry to this great church, the semi-circular colonnades on either side designed by the Roman Baroque sculptor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rachel is an outstanding tour guide. She had to modify the tour slightly because the Pope was making an appearance in St.Peter's Square. However, I liked what she presented. She spoke clearly with easily understood English, was very informative about things I didn't know (this is our 3rd Vatican Tour) and was just a delightful person. Two Thumbs up for an excellent tour/presentation. Recommend highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were impressed by all the tours run by City Wonders and this was no exception. The Papal Audience is a very confusing event and, if you've not done it before, I would highly recommend doing it this way. Our guide led us into the square and she ran to the area in the front of the second section and reserved our seats. We were located in the first row directly behind the wooden barrier along the road the "Pope-Mobile" would take. He actually passed within five feet of us twice on his ride into the square. Our guide gave us a lot of information about the audience so we knew exactly what to expect. Would definitely use this service again.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

For the faithful and religious this is a must see if you are in Rome on Wednesday. Check the web to see if the Pope is in town during your visit and if the tour times match your availability. I read some reviews complaining about the price, seats, and initial part of the experience. Yes, the tickets are free, you can get them on your own but it is a process and requires a lot of pre planning and some running around the day before, Tuesday. The price was well worth the saved efforts as we were on tours the Tuesday needed to get the tickets, and dealing with the church embassies to request the tickets in the first place. Yes, if you can get tickets on your own, and get in line at 6:30am exactly you will be able to get better seats and if you know the route of the Pope Mobile through St Peter's Square you can get there too, again this requires a lot of hassle and time to do which we didn't have time for. Our guide was very informative, funny, and helpful. She got us good seats with a decent view and I was able to get a frame filling picture of the Pope Francis from his Pope Mobile and a 200mm lens. In the summer this will be a very very hot visit. In October it was still hot but not too bad. Security check was not too bad but you MUST go to the bathroom prior to getting inside as the line inside are too long and far from the seats, it took my wife 35 min to go and get back and she almost missed the beginning. I was happy with the tour as I was able to plan the rest of our Rome tours into this without worrying about getting into lines or on waiting lists at the American Catholic church site on Tuesday and avoiding the mad dash for seats when the square is opened. It is general admission and there are no seat reservations for anyone, except the area for married couples.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this experience greatly exceeded our expectations. the tour was organized by city wonders and was very well organized in a pretty chaotic environment. the meeting spot was well marked and easy to find. our guide, filomena, is the best! she knew exactly what she was doing and how to strategize our entrance to get the best seats. she succeeded in getting us 2nd row seats so that when Pope Francis rode through the audience, we were mere feet from him. and we got to see him twice! she also entertained us with her vast knowledge of the event, the history of st. peter's square and the basilica, as well as the vatican museums. i can not say enough great things about city wonders but especially filomena. i highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Papal Audience was unbelievable! Our guide (I think her name is Tanya) provided such good information on St Peters Square, the Pope, and the Vatican as a whole. Most important of all, she guided us to a place where we had the best view of Pope Francis when he went around on the pope mobile!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Amazing and great. Tour guide went on way too long about a pine cone statue in the square which was not great. Also went on to long about the paintings in the chapel. Less talk and more looking would be great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Tickets to the event are free. Get your own ahead of time and position yourself in front of the entrance to St. Peter's Square by 7:30PM. When the gates open, act like a Rroman and push and shove and run like hell to the front of the square in front on the raised, covered platform. Position yourself as close to the front and as close to the barriers around the seats as you can. Remember, in Rome, there are no rules and no courtesy. Once, the Papal audience commences, people will stand on chairs and push and shove and rush to the barriers to get as close to the Pope as possible . Your knowledgeable and experienced guide will have you seated approximately 30-35 minutes after the gates first open and positioned about 300 yards away from where the Pope speaks. You are better able to maneuver on your own rather than in a group of 20-25 people. Just get as close to the front and a barrier as possible. If you leave an inch between you and the barrier, 24 Italians will squeeze in front of you and climb on each others shoulders.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the highlight of my visit to Rome. My guide Sylvia was so well informed and could communicate so well it just made the whole tour so memorable. The climb up was not that bad at all. We started at 8 30am thus the crowds weren't that big until towards the end of the tour. The feeling of standing on top of St Peter's overlooking the square is just amazing. If you are not scared of heights this is truly worth it .

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We were told when we called about these tickets that they were reserved seats, and when we got into the square we were told by our guide to run as soon as we get pass the entrance guards and grab as many seats as possible. Although we wound up with good seats to see the Pope go by, we were all the way in the back couldn't see anything else. I think our guide could have explained things about the square and the guards . She asked if anyone had questions, but I don't believe the group knew what questions to ask and she needed to tell us things on her own.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour experience was amazing. Our guide Rachel was exceptional. We really enjoyed getting up early, getting to the Vatican before daylight and starting our day with breakfast inside the Vatican square. No crowds.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

SUPER WORTH IT!!! Teresa our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, she gave us a very complete explanation and history on St. Peter's square and its construction. She also added great recommendations on other places to visit around Rome.
Teresa was key for us to be at the right spot! We got to see the Pope very close twice!!! Definitely a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic! The Square was filling up rapidly with people, but our Guide had our seats available to us "up close" and told us exactly where the Pope would be going, etc. Stev was Great - knew his papal history well also. This is a "don't miss" tour... and don't try to do it without Viator!!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very informative with lots of history both of the Vatican and the Catholic Church in general. As someone with no background in this area she made the experience very educational and worthwhile! She was also very helpful in getting us seats very near to where Pope Frances drove by in the Popemobile. We were literally only a few feet from him. Well worth the money! The only issue- it was a little difficult to find our meeting point because the square is so large. A map would be very helpful.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

looking at the line of people waiting was our first clue that we had made a good decision! This was further driven home when we met Shannon, our friendly and informative guide. Under her tutelage, we were able to see and get so much more from our experience! She was awesome and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Vatican Museums with her. She had us prepared for our time in the Sistine chapel as well and being able to move through to St, Peters was great! And doing this on a Wed when a papal audience was going on in the square means it was less crowded! Great and highly recommended experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

MaryAnna shepherded us to the perfect spot, the photo to the left could be the very one we took! What could otherwise have been a long 3 hour wait for the audience flew by in what seemed like a brief flash, yet a period of time packed full of insights about St. Peter's Square, the Vatican, Rome writ large, not to mention the Pontiff himself! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message