Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Square

St. Peter's Square (Piazza San Pietro) is the grand colonnaded area in front of St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. A visually imposing entry to this great church, the semi-circular colonnades on either side designed by the Roman Baroque sculptor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

SUPER WORTH IT!!! Teresa our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, she gave us a very complete explanation and history on St. Peter's square and its construction. She also added great recommendations on other places to visit around Rome.
Teresa was key for us to be at the right spot! We got to see the Pope very close twice!!! Definitely a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic! The Square was filling up rapidly with people, but our Guide had our seats available to us "up close" and told us exactly where the Pope would be going, etc. Stev was Great - knew his papal history well also. This is a "don't miss" tour... and don't try to do it without Viator!!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, truly 5 stars, our guide spoke elegantly with emotion and knowledge about the presentation. Our seats where wonderful only three rows back in the center of the square and so close to the Pope as he passed in his 'popemobile.' We recommend this tour for anyone and everyone who wants to experience the relevance and mystique of the vatican and her precious diety. We captured firsthand such a monumental event made possible by Viator.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Malcolm P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour , Very well organized the guides meet you at the corner of the square and guide you into st peters basilica to meet your guide , We had the lovely paula who was very informative around the basilica and pointed out many facts that normally you would walk past normally. After a short interval we met Joseph our second guide for the tour of the cupola , You start in a lift to the roof area which itself is amazing walking around the dome and then onto the outside roof area . The cupola view is outstanding after the climb but well worth it !! , After your viewing take the stairs down back to the roof for a drink in the cafe . Brilliant

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Skip-the-Line St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Wow not sure where to start. Meeting point was easy to find and guide was good. Getting into Saint Peters square is quite an experience in chaos. Be ready to get somewhat crushed in all the humanity and the crowds. It's a long morning that we were not really prepared for. You need to be ready for a lack of restrooms and food or water for 4 hours or more. The guide leaves right as the ceremony starts. Get as close to the rails as possible if you want to really see the Holy Father. Overall I'm glad we went for the experience, but not sure we would do it again.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide, Dario, was extremely knowledgeable about all the art we saw and was an excellent source of information on the Vatican and its museums. Unfortunately we did not get to see St Peters square or St Peters Basilica as both had been closed without any specific explanation. This was disappointing for all of us in the tour group but the company running the tours has made good on their promise to refund some of the money we paid for this tour. I would definitely recommend using Viator and their contracted providers in Rome and Florence for your city tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding treasures to see and remember, unforgettable.
Ways to improve: "skipping the line" needs to save time on pre-tour registration too, there was a long line to show you reservation to one person, then to find and join the guide,then wait for late-comers, then group introductions.... another 15 minutes of booked 3 hours. Followed by at least 30 minutes of "preparation" in the entry hall, in the inner yard. It needs to be more organized:
in fact we were inside the Museums for only about 2 hours. Everything the guide covered was outstanding, thank you!
Because the guide DID NOT tell us about "one-way" traffic at St.Peter's Basilica, I left the area to send cards from the post office, and was not allowed to go back; had to go all over the square, wait in a huge line to see St.Peter's. I am happy I did it, but the arrangement with your agency did not meet my expectations.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Federica was an excellent guide with a wealth of knowledge of the Vatican. The microphone and ear piece system is an excellent method of communication in very crowded and noisy rooms.
We do not give 5 stars as we felt very cheated that we did not get into St Peter's Basillica, and we are still waiting to see if Viator will give us the refund promised by the tour guide. When we tried to visit the Basillica on own the next day, the queue was impossibly long round the whole of St Peter's square and our travel itinery did not allow us to wait in the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I am not sure that an individual just buying a ticket could possibly see and comprehend all that is viewable in Vatican City - the Vatican Museums, St Peters Square, the Basilica, Sistine Chapel, etc. Hearing the history of the places/artifacts through our guide Alex was what made being in St Peters so special. The tour is leisurely paced and just being able to skip the lines makes it so worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great and worth doing. The Vatican museums were incredible and the Sistine Chapel was breathtaking. Was very disappointed that St Peters Square was closed due to a street parade/Pope being there. We didn't get to see the square from the top either which was disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a very positive experience. Having seen the incredibly long lines in the Square, we retreated and paid the money to skip the line the next day. It does what it says on the tin, with the added benefit of a nicely pitched 50 minute tour of the inside of the basilica. To get a fifth star, it would need to come good on the promise to provide a tour or even commentary of the square - we were just shepherded in silence through the colonnade to security and then handed over to the different language guides in the basilica. That worked well, but it wasn't exactly what was described. I'd still recommend it though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Shannon was very knowledgeable about the places visited on the tour, though seemed to like the sound of her own voice at times! The tour was to our liking, we are not religious or overly interested in art so the pace was good, though if you would like to spend more time looking around the museum in particular, then it's probably best to go on your own or go on a more in depth tour. Skipping the queues was a huge bonus, we were told the queue for St Peter's alone would have been 2 hours. At the end of the tour we were able to spend more time in St Peter's so we went into the crypt and paid €7 to go up the dome where you get a great view of the square and city, it was a great experience but not one for those who are claustrophobic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour of St Peter's was not included in our tour due to a mass being held in the Basilica that day. Our guide, David, gave us the full 3 hours but this meant there was a lot of standing and talking about the Sistine Chapel when we were outside and could see nothing of the chapel. The tour of the museums was fine but very crowded. Hard to see much in any detail. The tour broke up as we entered the Sistine Chapel so we did not have much context as we looked around. Our tour ended at 13:00 and St Peter's was reopening at 13:00 but we were not told that we could use our tour pass to use the tour entrance to St Peter's. We found our way to St Peter's Square and waited in line for nearly three hours to get into St Peter's. This took a lot of the pleasure out of the visit to the Vatican. Other tour leaders to whom we talked and guards at the Basilica said we could have used the tour tickets to use the tour exit from the Sistine Chapel and the tour entrance to the Basilica. Not waiting in the lines was one of the primary reasons we purchased the tour tickets so we really wish that David had known we could have used the tour entrance and had told us that before our tour ended at the Sistine Chapel. Very frustrating.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I thought this tour booked us into a seat in an indoor venue. It got us a seat (with thousands of others) in St. Peter's square, for which there is no admission charge. I also thought that this might have gotten us into a shorter security line. Wrong! We were thrust into the line with the masses. Our tour guide did give us some good (but not excellent) commentary while we sat for about two hours waiting for the Pope to arrive. Our tour guide told us where to sit to be near the barricade where the Pope would ride along. Her info on this was very good. This tour did not include getting us into St. Peter's Basiica.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

By the time the tour guide assembled the tour group, the line to enter the square was very long...there was no "skip the line" privileges. We showed up a half hour earlier, and had we got in line then, we would have been much better off in finding a seat close to the Pope's pathway, without the need for the guide! The guide did not give us much useful information, save stuff regarding the Vatican museum, where we already toured several days earlier.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message