Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

St Peter's Square

St. Peter's Square (Piazza San Pietro) is the grand colonnaded area in front of St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. A visually imposing entry to this great church, the semi-circular colonnades on either side designed by the Roman Baroque sculptor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent considering the huge huge crowds and hot day. Missed out on St Peters because of the Pope's return but saw him in the square later greeting the crowds. Very good commentary.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Museum was great. So was our tour guide. Did not get to see inside St. Peter because of event tour did warn that this may happen. That was ok because the Pope was having a free concert with Celine Dion and Bocelli in the square when we can out of the tour. Bonus!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour was misleading in that it is only the general audience on the square that anyone can attend - for free. And if you are there early enough, get the same seating I paid for. Not worth it

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

It was pretty expensive for the Non-Tour we received. The lady just walked us in and took us to seats and then left. We didn't even tip her. The day we went there weren't even people in the square behind the seats-so we could have gotten the seats we got on our own without paying the huge fee we paid to you. Seeing as getting in to see the Pope is Free.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Dissapointed, we are at the very end of the plaza/square , didnt see glimpse of Pope. Our guide made us wait for the whole group after reaching the security which delayed us finding a prime spot.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Caos! Very disorganized, the group was totally disappointing, we arrived very early and yet we never made it in on time to sit, when we arrived at the entrance the square was totally empty, the guide took us to the wrong entrance so by the time she figured this out more then half of the crowd was already inside, a total waste of our money, we could have just gotten free tickets and eventually sit down on our own, We learned from our mistake, we never bout another tour for any other of the attractions and were able to see all of Rome on our time better than with a tour, very bad planning!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is almost worth the money just to avoid waiting for hours worth of lines, but I really enjoyed the tour guide as well. Would avoid Vatican tours on Wednesdays. The Pope has a morning mass and there were over 200,000 people in St. Peter's square, and you also couldn't view St. Peter's in the morning.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If we had not signed up ahead of time for this tour I would probably still bein line ! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and easy to understand. She made moving through an overwhelming place pleasant. Worth every penny. The location to meet could be a little more specific as it is not out front of St Peters but around back at Vatican museum entrance. We just asked questions though and did arrive there ok. It's 10 minute walk from st peters square though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You can, if you want, get tickets for these Wednesday morning events for free - but I preferred to arrange this so the guide could give us some background and find the group good seats, which she did: we were next to the route the pope-mobile took, so got to see the pope twice - once in each direction. The day we were there was the 34th anniversary of the attempted murder of Pope John Paul II so security was tight and twitchy, and the gates opened early and the police shut off the square I think usually the guided tour would be longer. But I was very happy with this and got great photos of the Pope.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We totally enjoyed the tour. Our guide, Sara Napolitani, who has a doctorate in archeology was incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The whole complex is amazing and overwhelming. We, unfortunately, went on a Wednesday when the Pope addresses the people in St. Peter's square and the basilica

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The only challenge was actually finding the person from the travel agency to get the tickets from. In the voucher, it did not state an exact location where the point person can be found, so we had to roam the whole right side of St. Peter's Square. Moreover, the voucher stated that the person will be holding a sign with our names on it. Well, that sign was glaringly absent. We had to ask around before we were able to locate the point person from the agency.

Once you register though, everything was smooth. We bypassed the long queue and was able to enjoy a leisurely visit inside St. Peter's Basilica. We took an audio tour so we were not restricted by tour guides and such.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

YOU CAN GET THE TICKETS FOR THE AUDIENCE FOR FREE. THE GUIDE WAS NICE BUT IS INFORMATION YOU CAN GET EASILY BY INTERNET. IF YOU ARRIVE EARLY TO THE SQUARE, WILL FIND GOOD SEATS FOR SEE THE POPE. THE AUDIENCE IS AMAZING AND COMPLETELY RECOMMENDED.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Very long tour of uninteresting facts about Vatican museum. Please note this tour does NOT include St peters basilica, square and only 5 mins of the Sistine chapel, the remaining 2hr 55 mins was in the Vatican museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Booking the tour was the only way to guaranty us a seat for the Pope's Wed audience. This audience occurred while many tourists still in Rome during Easter season, so it was a very large audience in St Peter's Square. Guide got us excellent seats to get photo's of the Pope as he rode around the masses in the Square in his Pope-mobile. Guide gave us lots of interesting Papal history while we waited for the Pope to arrive. Was one of the highlights of our trip to Rome this year.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent! Our tour guide, Atonella, got us the best seats to see Pope Francis enter St. Peter Square. My daughter and I were less than 15 feet from him as he turned to bless us. Very emotional. Also, Antonella shared her wealth of knowledge. She was amazing!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was good and gave us very good relevant explanation of events regarding the office of the Pope and the Pope himself. However I was very disappointed with our position in the square,not up close enough to the white barriers. My 84 year old mother could hardly see the Pope. The reson we went to Rome was because she requsted to see Pope Francis.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I will never know as we never could find the tour guide. We were asked to meet her at St. Peters Square that is HUGE with hundred of people and dozens of tour guides with groups. We asked every one of them until it was the time of our tour. Big disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend booking a 'skip the line' tour before arriving in Rome to avoid the queues and the pushy tour reps in the square. The meeting point for this tour was easy to find and our group departed on time. As we made our way through the Vatican, our friendly and knowledgeable guide provided interesting and frequently humorous commentary, before leaving us at the Sistine Chapel where we could spend as long as we wished before existing through the basilica. My compliments to the local operator for an enjoyable afternoon and to Viator for the easy booking procedure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

very easy skip the line, good guide, she was really helpful and informative. so we really enjoyed every part of our tour, beautiful sistine chapel, main square, and amazing corridors and maps hall.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was informative and flew by. I accidentally booked the tour for the following day (when I would no longer be in Rome) and they were helpful in accommodating me. We were unable to see st peters square and church together but were warned about that because it was a Wednesday=popes mass.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Do not do this tour on a Wednesday morning!! The pope was giving an audience in the square, apparently a pretty regular occurrence. This meant that, although we managed to get into the basilica after 1pm we had no guided tour of St Peter's and no commentary in the Sistine Chapel, despite the fact that there seemed to be plenty of tour guides doing exactly that. Our guide, Sarah, did a good job under difficult conditions - very, very crowded museum rooms where the headsets did not work well, cutting in and out on a regular basis making it difficult to follow.
This was all the more disappointing having had the best ever tour the previous afternoon on the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

dianemaguire
United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This tour was terrible. A complete waste of money. I would have been better off buying a ticket from the Vatican. It is cheaper and their audio guides are very well done. The crowds made the whole experience awful. The noise and congestion in the Sistine Chapel made me wish I had simply looked at good photos of the ceiling. It was not pleasant at all. Plus the Basilica was closed and there was no offer to provide a discount. I paid 15 euros the next day for a skip the line audio tour of the Basilica from the Vatican tour place on the right hand corner of the square and it was wonderful. I highly recommend using this alternative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Everyone wants to see the Sistine Chapel but the crowds are just awful. You really cannot see much and you are pushed and shoved throughout the tour. It is not the tour company's fault but we would never do it again. The Cathedral is a bit different, because of the size, so it is worthwhile. The square, of course, is breathtaking.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A view of the Basilica sanctuary and St. Peters Square that you rarely get. The guides were very good, but too rushed. Slow down and let us take more photos.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We took this tour during the Christmas holidays, and even though nearly every square inch of the Vatican Museum was PACKED with tourists, our guide managed our group well and kept us moving. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave interesting background and context on virtually everything we saw. She was energetic and positive in spirit. There is SO much to see at the Vatican, I highly recommend using a tour guide. Also, the line outside to gain admission was several blocks long, and going in via the "skip the line" tour was a great advantage. Great value!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message