The Testaccio neighborhood is one of the old districts of Rome. It sits along the eastern bank of the Tiber River to the south of the city center, and in Ancient Roman times it was the equivalent of the city’s shipyards. Many goods were brought ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 633 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent Tour Guide Domenico. He was so funny and the best tour guide I have had. Loved all the food and couldn't get enough even though I felt like I was going to burst I was so full. Overall fantastic and highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Aileen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Just go and do it. Wonderful guide. Wonderful information on the area as well as the food. Food was plentiful and everything I had hoped for. Bring your appetite.

Doing what: Off the Beaten Path: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour in Testaccio

Krystin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a blast. We learned so much and tried a lot of different foods. Emma was a phenomenal guide. Highly recommend doing this when you first arrive in Rome because the tips they tell you will be great to use during the rest of your trip.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Rocky M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended. Everyone was nice especially the tour guide.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a wonderful and informative tour with a great funny guide. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the highlight of our Rome stay! Emma was knowledgable gave a great sampling of the Testaccio neighborhood.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Wouter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great tour with a very friendly guide that showed us some food and parts of Rome we otherwise would have never experienced. For sure something you should do when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Phyllis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Emma, was amazing. She was full of history and information. The food was to die for. My tip: Don't eat before you go. It's a full meal a bite at a time you don't want to be too full to miss a single, terrific bite.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Alison L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really good interesting enjoyable and yummy tour. Thank you to Emma for being a great guide.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Margaret-Hope M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great variety, everything was delicious and fresh. Huge portions: I had to bring food home in a doggie bag. Our guides Arturo and Dominico were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Best guides ever :

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great few hours. Emma was a lovely girl who gave us great history. The tour took in wonderful food options and everybody was stuffed full at the end! It seems expensive when you are booking, but nobody was complaining about the ,only at the end. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Indiana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous! Gigi was great and had excellent provider contacts that fed us interesting and delicious food. We loved the history and traditions of the shops and the people in the market. They all seemed to love Gigi, which is not a hard thing to do given her personality and joy de vivre. We also loved the relaxed pace of the tour. Thank you Gigi.

Judy and Indiana

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour that I have already recommended to a friend! Friendly knowledgeable guide, wonderful food!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

karen.viles2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My daughters and I loved this tour with our guide Domenico! It was off the beaten path and Domenico led us through quaint shops where we felt so welcome. The food at the shops and the market were amazing! We loved the stop at the cemetery, too. Thank you, Domenico, for making it the best day we had in Italy.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Tracy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Rome Food Walking Tour was one of the best experiences that we've had while visiting Rome. Our guide, Domenico, was absolutely outstanding. He was very knowledgeable with local cuisine, history of Rome and the city's traditions. We made a number of stops at different shops, restaurants and a local market. Tried various food samples and dishes that we would not have tried otherwise. We were looking for an authentic Roman experience, and this tour definitely delivered on what we were looking for. We were glad that we signed up for the tour at the beginning of our stay in Rome. This gave us an opportunity to re-visit many of the shops and restaurants that Domenico introduced us to. Great tour! We would definitely recommend signing up, if you are considering it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Todd T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Food with a little history. This was the most enjoyable tour. Our guide Casey was fun, knowledgeable and accommodating. The food selections and places we went could not have been any better. I am not one to take tours much, but I would go again on this. We went back to three of the places to eat.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Teri V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly enjoyed, but do not eat before-lots of food to try!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Teri V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such an interesting way to learn about Italian food and some of the history of Rome. Eric was a great guide!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Valarie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

So great! Beth and her trainee were so amazing! They educated us so well!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Carrie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful food tour of the Testaccio neighborhood - 9 stops at shops and market stalls, no other tourists, really felt like we were shopping like locals. My 12 year old son enjoyed it too. The guide, Domenico, was fantastic, funny and engaging, keeping the group of 12 entertained and informed throughout. The group was really interesting, from New Zealand, Israel, and the US, and the perfect size to stay together and not overcrowd the stops. The food is generous and we ended the 4 hour tour with a final stop at a gelato shop, full and happy. One of the highlights of our trip to Rome!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Jack S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

stepania was great as a guide! Had plenty of shops we stopped at and yummy food. Great small neighborhood. Off the beaten track. I would go again.....

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

CHRISTOPHER H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic food tour four and a half hours of glorious food and wine. Emma our guide certainly knew the area as well as history of the food. She presented the whole tour at a pace that was suitable for all. We all enjoyed the tour and learnt a great deal about Italian food and its culture. Highly recommended tour -thank you Emma.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Catherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was fabulous!! Emma was such a wonderful guide. It has been the highlight of my trip to Rome.
I have never visited this district before and everything about it was terrific. I loved the whole experience.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Olly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A GREAT way to see Rome, taste amazing Italian food and meet fun characters along the way! Highly recommended

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

smcaninley1289

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was AMAZING! It was so much more than I thought it would be! Anna did an amazing job! The food was beyond delicious and the people at the shops were so friendly. I thought we would have just a small nibble of each thing but you eat so much! I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message