• USD ($)
  • English
The Testaccio neighborhood is one of the old districts of Rome. It sits along the eastern bank of the Tiber River to the south of the city center, and in Ancient Roman times it was the equivalent of the city’s shipyards. Many goods were brought ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 292 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a highlight of our trip. Highly recommend this tour. Alex our guide was excellent and showed us around Rome and to places where we never would have gone. The Fiat was also fun and everyone wanted to take photos of it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great time. Our guide was wonderful. Forgot her name. She was tall. From America. Married an Italian man. I learned so much. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was such a great way to find local places to eat! Our guide Vincente was great. We ended up with a group of about 12 people. We were given a list of places in the city plus a map of the tour. The food was delicious! We left the tour stuffed. The variety of things we ate was great. After the tour we went back to a couple of the places and then ended up at dinner in the restaurant and gelato at the same place on the tour. What I really liked was that these were all local places. The tourists were no where to be found. Especially liked the visit to the cemetery. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent, informative , well organised,a real experience would really recommend

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a fantastic evening. As the crazy, daytime traffic had died down, we moved around Rome quite easily, with frequent stops where we got out to enjoy the view and take photos. Our drivers, Virginia and Paolo, were most competent at getting us around and responsive to our requests as to what to see. Paolo, in particular, is a passionate Roman who more than knows his stuff and tells it well. We could have listened to him all night. Virginia is charming, but does not speak much English, which is a pity. All in all, a great adventure.

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed the tour , great experience and well worth the money.
Beau, our tour guide was great, made it a really good day.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really felt like we were part of a neighbourhood and that the Guide was sharing her own experiences with us. The food and experiences were awesome and so was the little extra historical knowledge. We had a great time and would highly recommend it. We would do it again!!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the probably the best tour we took on our honeymoon. The guides were great, and you tour an area that is outside the normal tourist stops. Plenty of food, including a full lunch with wine, and all of it was delicious. It was really nice to interact with some of the locals and see the other side of Rome while there. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful tour guide, Alessandra. She was cheerful, informative and courteous. Highly recommend this food tour. Well Worth it. We ate for four hours. Yes, four hours and squeezed in the gelato, cause its super good. All the food was super good and you can really experience the locals who sell their delicious products.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was our favorite adventure - no question about it. The guide, Alexandra, was superb (personable, funny, intelligent, highly knowledgeable about the area, the people, and the food). We had four hours of fun, sampling wonderful food and - more importantly - getting to know the people who made it in Testaccio. They were rightly proud to show off their products to a group (and we had excellent people in it, too) which wanted to learn and experiece everything possible. From Volpetti's deli to Gelateria Giolitti (where we learned the insider secrets of authentic gelato) we had a mavelous time. We can't recommend this tour high enough; when we finished, we felt more Roman. Thank you, Alexandra.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Prepare to eat many delicious foods...and to learn about the neighborhood and Italy. Be prepared to walk but it's easy walking and with the frequent stops to the delicious delights it is not too bad. Make sure you save room for the last couple stops...they are the best. I highly recommend this tour. I'd do it again.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best tour ever, Doug our tour Guide was brilliant and the locals were so friendly. We were taken to a wide range of places and given lots to try. The samples they gave us were very generous, you won't need lunch! It was also nice to hear some local history. If we had any criticism, it would have been nice to have had time to walk around the Market and buy some local produce. If you are going to Rome YOU MUST do this tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great tour through Testaccio in Rome, trying really delicious produce and meeting authentic shopkeepers. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

jayne d
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Bo was a fantastic leader who made the tour really interesting. She took time to get to know the 12 people on the tour and had a great rapport with the owners of the businesses we visited, lots of banter and good fun. The food samples were plentiful and you had the opportunity to buy things at a couple of places to take home. Would thoroughly recommend this tour, not too much walking, interesting commentary and facts, great food and left having really enjoyed our tour. Thanks for a great experience, bo.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. Smaller group. Even though a walking tour it was well paced and lots of rest stops. Dominic was excellent. Remembered all our names

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message