The Testaccio neighborhood is one of the old districts of Rome. It sits along the eastern bank of the Tiber River to the south of the city center, and in Ancient Roman times it was the equivalent of the city’s shipyards. Many goods were brought ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 462 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

guide was great
The choices of locations we visited where very tasty

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a wonderful tour, very informative and very tasty and traditional food, guide Dominico was excellent!!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Domenico was fun, informative and attentive to all who were lucky enough to be in his group.
All venues provided excellent food and hospitality.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Love this tour, and learned a lot about the foods of Rome and Italy. The guide Domenico, I think was his name was the perfect guide. He kept things light and fun.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an excellent tour. I highly recommend getting to know the Testaccio area of Rome and there is no better way to get to know this up and coming neighborhood. Our guide Dominico was an absolute gem. I now know how to order pizza by weight, what real roman cuisine is and is not. I will never forget my gelato bill of rights. Dominico is really good at getting everyone involved in the tour and because if this we were all quite comfortable sitting down to a great roman lunch together at the end of the tour. Plan on going back to the shops and the market after the tour you will want to do some shopping. Great fun, great people, and excellent food.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide GiGI was wonderful, and tour was informative and FILLING! Nice easy walk through a section of Rome not crowded with tourists except us hahaha.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was everything I thought it would be and more. Gigi, our tour guide, was informative and accommodating. She taught us about the food and the people. The food was amazing and there was plenty of it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyed our Rome walking food tour. Doug was informative , fun and helpful.
Great food option and variety. Highly recommend it. Rob and Sue Barossa South Australia

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an exceptional tour. Well worth the money. Our guide Sabastinana was terrific!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The directions to the place were a bit confusing, but we asked a cabby to help and he got us there without issue. Once there we met up with our guide, Gigi, who was a NY'er living in Rome. She was adorable and extremely informative. Hit up some of the best spots we went to while in Rome and she will take you through the Testaccio region of the city, which is a hidden gem because its not on the local tourist map. We stopped at Volpetti Piu, a small joint just around the corner from where we met up. Now there are 5300 pizza spots in Rome and this is considered 3 in the whole city. Gigi explained the history of the place and made sure to break down what we were eating and why it was considered to be so sought after. Through out the day we stopped at many different shops and eateries and learned about why each place helped shape the roman culinary history. i suggest it just for the pizza and the history lesson on gelato alone, never mind all the other great places we stopped at and sampled. Highly rocommend this tour to anyone and would go back to Rome and do this all over again. Gigi rocks and I would definitely suggest asking for her if there is an option!!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent for foodies, in a somewhat out of the way neighborhood - and as a card carrying foodie, a most enjoyable way of spending a cold and rainy Rome morning.
We had the pleasure of two guides Kate and Jasmie and 4 hours of food, markets and history.
We'll definitely do the Trastevere food tour - the next time we're in Rome.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very informative, enjoyable and most of all -Tasty!!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Absolutely fantastic, Dominico was a great tour guide - very knowledgeable and he made it very interesting with his delivery. A nice bunch of people in the tour group was a bonus. The food itself is incredible, I went back to the district at the end of my holiday to retry some. Definitely recommend this tour, I'd go as far as saying this could be a life changer as it has given me new expectations when it comes to food.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Took this tour shortly after arriving in Rome. Dominico was an awesome guide. And the food...yum. Great introduction to the city.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was my favorite thing we did while in Rome. It was off the beaten path and we really were able to learn about the Rome food scene, and try some delectable bites. Our guide was fantastic, I would recommend this tour to any foodie!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message