The Testaccio neighborhood is one of the old districts of Rome. It sits along the eastern bank of the Tiber River to the south of the city center, and in Ancient Roman times it was the equivalent of the city’s shipyards. Many goods were brought ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 419 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and tour guide!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a great tour! Domenico was fabulous. He walked us around town to some great shops and restaurants. He's like a celebrity in this part of town, he knows everyone! Would definitely recommend this tour but would recommend taking it at the beginning of your stay in Rome to get the scoop on the best places to eat. it's a little off the beaten path but so worth it. It's very close to the Metro. Lots of walking, lots of tasty samples and
lots of interesting information. Would be nice to have a bit of free time in the market it was wasn't a big deal we made a trip back to the market another day for a bit of shopping and some pizza!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Make sure you have a completely empty stomach before this tour. Guide was great, the walk was nice in between tastings. Visiting the cemetery was nice, and all the food was good, especially the suppli!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The was awesome. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Domenico was a brilliant guide, with wonderful knowledge and a great sense of humour. Food was amazing. Loved it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I recommend doing this tour at the start of your holiday. Alexandra, our tour guide, was so knowledgeable and friendly.
My three children loved this tour. We learnt about the difference between real and fake gelato, types of cheeses and cold meats, places to eat around Rome. Loved it all!!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Rome Food Walking Tour was better than we expected. This tour was suggested by a mother and daughter we met in Venice, I'm so glad we randomly ran into them!

My husband I and I wanted to experience Rome in a different way. We wanted to do more than visit the Colosseum or Vatican City, we wanted to see the quaint neighborhoods or the hidden gems of the city and this tour offers just that! When asked at the end of the tour what was our favorite part it was impossible to pick just one. I would highly highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome. Ask for Emma too! Emma truly made this tour amazing! She had so many interesting facts, personal experiences and was such a pleasure to be around! We couldn't have asked for a more personable tour guide. We spend almost 2 weeks in Italy and this tour is in our top 3 favorite memories! Not to mention everything we ate was DELICIOUS. One personal suggestion would be to go hungry because you are fed a lot of incredible food and you will want to finish every last crumb!

Thanks to Emma and all the amazing family owned shops we visited, we will most definitely be back in the future!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This excursion was above and beyond my expectations !! Our guide Alex was a delight with enough knowledge about Rome. it's history and food to please everyone . I've been to Rome many times and just wish we had done this special trip previously.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING and a MUST for your first time in Rome!!! Dominico, our foodie tour guide for the day was easy going, knowledgeable and very prepared. This entire tour, navigating through the "locals" neighborhood was so eye opening and something off the beaten path you would never think of doing on your own. This tour was very personalized and felt as if you were catered to in every aspect. We tried just about every possible custom of Rome... pizza, desert, gelato, their version of fat food, home-made pasta, wine, and more. We ventured through the local market and learned and watched the preparation of cannoli. Tasted the BEST bruchetta I have ever had in my life! My children, ages 9 and 6 were engaged the entire time as well! If you are on the fence to arrange this tour... you will not be disappointed! A MUST!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Gigi, our guide was great. She explained the Testaccio area and history. The food was outstanding. We couldn't believe there was so much to taste and try. We sampled from the local market, many shops and pasta at a restaurant. This is well worth it and lots of fun.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous tour with Alexander who took us to places off the beaten track that we would never have found on our own. His stories of what he showed us were interesting and informative and we highly recommend the tour and Alexander to anyone who wants to see the "real Rome".
Keith and Jenny

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved it, loved it! It was a really great way to see the city. We did the night time tour which was very pretty. Our guide, Georgio, was super and generous in sharing his knowledge. Clearly proud of Rome and all it has to offer - quite right too. It seems a pricey treat but we both thought it was the highlight of our weekend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I loved this tour and the guide, Tiana, was fantastic. Even after a half dozen trips to Rome, I still learned a lot with this tour. The area and food are the heart of Roman culture. Also, even though we were just tasting food, I was stuffed by the end of the trip. I definitely felt like I got a good value and a great experience!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide, Gigi, provided an outstanding experience on this tour. The food was yummy, the history of the neighbourhood provided more insights and the additional cultural stops allowed for space between tastings.. The little food tour map with a listing of recommended restaurants/eateries around the area is very helpful. We have recommended this activity to many others.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was great, not only did we learn about the food we had some interesting history and information, took us to a part of Rome that we would not have visited, the six of us really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Truly different tour with some fascinating insights into Italian food. Tastings always left you wanting more but you'll finish this trip full! Highly recommended with a fun guide (Donato) whose personality made the experience special and memorable. Great value for money!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message