The Testaccio neighborhood is one of the old districts of Rome. It sits along the eastern bank of the Tiber River to the south of the city center, and in Ancient Roman times it was the equivalent of the city’s shipyards. Many goods were brought ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 650 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was Sarah. She was extremely knowledgeable and had a great personality. She answered all of our questions and took us to amazing locations to eat! Definitely one of our favorite tours in Rome! Highly recommend that you do this!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Lorelei J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time on this tour. The places we went to for the food tastings were unique and delicious. Our tour guides, Francesco y Lucas, were very nice young men with great personalities. The easygoing atmosphere of the group made the experience even better. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to taste authentic Roman cuisine.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Lena L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Die Foodtour durch Testaccio war ein unvergessliches Erlebnis! Sehr lecker, sehr inspirierend und sehr empfehlenswert. Anna ist ein so lieber und kompetenter Mensch! Wir haben es sehr genossen. Herzlichen Dank!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Edelweiss P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I loved this tour! The group was small, the 9 food stops we made were delicious, the guide was personable and informative. You won't need breakfast or lunch you will be full. Testaccio is a very interesting neighborhood. We actually went back there on our own on another day. Take this tour you'll love it! Edel- from Louisiana, USA

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent tour with an excellent guide. Valentina not only knew the history but also all the locals.
We were never rushed always offered more if wanted. We spent a glorious few hours money well spent.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely the BEST food tour in Roma! It is outside the city center, but so easy to get to the meeting point via the metro. We toured in the Testaccio neighborhood of Rome, quaint and ever so friendly. The food was divine and Holly , our guide, was so much fun! We will never forget the tiramisu , buffalo mozzarella, pizza, pasta, vinegar, truffles, suppli, meats and cheeses, wine and gelato!! You MUST book this tour! I wish I had more stars to rate it!

Doing what: Off the Beaten Path: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour in Testaccio

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Bethany's enthusiasm and energy were contagious. It was fun to see a different side of Rome, a lived-in working-class neighborhood. And the food, of course, was wonderful!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

kendrajones

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. We went to out of the way places we never would have found or known about on our own. There was an emphasis on authenticity and tradition to Roman food culture, which made us feel like we were living vicariously as Romans for a day. Do this tour!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was awesome! I would highly recommend it! You get to visit so many different little places and get a sample of Italy!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Jeff L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great!!!True authentic food great stops our guide was very knowledgable of Italian culture and history.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Off the Beaten Path: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour in Testaccio

Dannielle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour of all, our guide was excellent and we got to try so much different food. Lovely walk through the foodie area of Rome and also visited pyramid and cemetery while a bit different was a lovely peaceful break from the bustle of Rome busy streets.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Steve S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour our guide Domenico was very knowledgeable and gave us history, culture and the language. We had 10 stops for food and it was all fabulous really enjoyed the experience and a great way to understand how the food and the city evolved

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Sandi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sebastian led us on a wonderful food tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

annie.giraudou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Chiara was our tour guide and she grew up in the neighbourhood we visited which made the visit all the more personal. We ate, then ate and ate some more. Everything was delicious and we even got a little history of this typical area of Rome. Loved that it was so authentic with no crowd! Will be trying some recipes and looking for some products now that I am back home. Only comment is that yes there is a lot of walking which was no problem but also a lot of just standing around which is a killer for my back.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Arthur was our guide and we had a fabulous time. He was a wealth of knowledge and we all had lots of laughs. Was also great with history mixed in with the food, but the food was the best part :

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Blanca United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this tour! It was our favorite of our trip! We've been to Rome a few times already and we wanted to do something a bit different and get off the beaten track, and this tour really achieved this. We had lots of really nice food tastings, and really enjoyed trying various kinds of food. Our guide was very engaging and funny, and brought up the group together. Great experience, would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Chez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent Tour Guide Domenico. He was so funny and the best tour guide I have had. Loved all the food and couldn't get enough even though I felt like I was going to burst I was so full. Overall fantastic and highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Aileen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Just go and do it. Wonderful guide. Wonderful information on the area as well as the food. Food was plentiful and everything I had hoped for. Bring your appetite.

Doing what: Off the Beaten Path: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour in Testaccio

Krystin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a blast. We learned so much and tried a lot of different foods. Emma was a phenomenal guide. Highly recommend doing this when you first arrive in Rome because the tips they tell you will be great to use during the rest of your trip.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Rocky M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended. Everyone was nice especially the tour guide.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a wonderful and informative tour with a great funny guide. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the highlight of our Rome stay! Emma was knowledgable gave a great sampling of the Testaccio neighborhood.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Wouter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great tour with a very friendly guide that showed us some food and parts of Rome we otherwise would have never experienced. For sure something you should do when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Phyllis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Emma, was amazing. She was full of history and information. The food was to die for. My tip: Don't eat before you go. It's a full meal a bite at a time you don't want to be too full to miss a single, terrific bite.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Alison L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really good interesting enjoyable and yummy tour. Thank you to Emma for being a great guide.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message