The Tiber is the third-longest river in Italy, rising in the Apennine mountains and ending at the sea at Ostia, once the port of Ancient Rome. It is 252 miles (406 km) long. The story goes that the infants Romulus and Remus were abandoned on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leda
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a beautiful night in Rome and we were having dinner sailing on the Tiber! The food was very good and the service excellent. We would highly recommend anyone to take this tour and get familiar with the banks of the river where there are restaurants and other attractions.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

Stephenrog
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This was a really lovely evening, great meal, good service. Excellent cruise up and down the Tiber spending time across the river to give all guests view of St Peters and Castel Sant Angelo. Additional to that some lovely singing and a great group of other guests all together. Really great evening that we felt was good value and well organised.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Incredible cruise! The Tiber River is much more beautiful at night! Food was actually very good! On board drinks were not overpriced.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

A peaceful tour on the Tiber. They even catered to my husband's allergy to onions.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tiber cruise was very nice experience, the top of the boat was crowded and not organized for seating, food was cold and wine was just OK. The sights were amazing and the recorded commentary was good.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tiber cruise was very nice experience, the top of the boat was crowded and not organized for seating, food was cold and wine was just OK. The sights were amazing and the recorded commentary was good.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

the tour was very family oriented. the music was enthusiastic and fun. the
food was plentiful and, although the Tiber is not the Seine, it was still very enjoyable and recommendable.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable experience and the food was lovely. Just a pity the Tiber isn't such a nice river.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I loved this cruise. Don't miss the reflection of the Castel Sant Angelo as you descend the stairs to board the ship. It's very beautiful at night. The food was very good and the cruise was an appropriate length. It's not always easy to see the big sights as the Tiber is pretty deep within the walls around the river, but it was special due to the caring staff on board and the charming live music. I will never forget the performance of Volare and Arrivederci Roma,l as they are now two songs we will remember from our trip to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Beautiful setting on the Tiber River, not too many photo opportunities once the cruise got underway. The food was good, the entertainment was fun with a piano accordion player and singing waiter it was a pretty full on night. Did I enjoy it absolutely (probably due to the company and bubbly drinks) would I do it again, no I wouldn't.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

We had a lovely time. Wine, music and song, in Rome, on the Tiber. Couldn't get much better!

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

Colin M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

See Rome from a different viewpoint - the River Tiber. If advance notice is given when booking, dietary requests are well respected, and my wife, who is a vegetarian with an allergy to peppers, was given a different menu which excluded meat, fish and peppers.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I would like to have dinner on the top deck so you can see the stiles. The food was very good and music , service and food were excellent. It was. Supposed to be a two and half cruiser, but only lasted less than two hours. I would like to have more narration of the sights along the Tiber River.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

You get what you pay for. The cruise was down the Tiber river, on one side you have popup shops and dining locations and on the other you have graffiti and homeless people. You are better off walking the river from above in order to better see the scenery. Zero interaction with staff as the tour is a tape playback. The food portion of the tour was sitting on the table for us as soon as we got on. It was very cold pizza.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Terrible trip in every way - a total dissapointment and an absolute waste of money. The food was awfull as was the old boat. The trip down the awful river Tiber just presented views of very high stone embankments covered in graffiti. River trips we have taken in France, Hungary, England and America were fantastic. The Tiber trip was disgraceful.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

BATTERSBY666
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Do not go on this tour - it is a waste of time and money!

I had expected it to be like the dinner cruise on the Seine in Paris, but it is nothing like it. The boat is tiny and on this occasion it was overcrowded and noisy. The only way you could get to your seat was by pulling the table out completely. There was no way you could get in and out, once you were sat down, you were stuck!

The food was mediocre. Most of it was just warm, not hot and the main course was swimming in oil - we did not like this dish at all. But the worst thing about the trip was that there is nothing to see! The Tiber is a small river and low down with high walls. Other than the Castle Sant Angelo and the Bridge of Angels, there were no other sights you could see from the river! We sailed down quite a way and then turned around to return, but then we just went around in circles around this area with the dome of St Peters occasionally coming in to view. Waste of time!

The staff were very pleasant and worked very hard, the only good thing about this excursion.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Brave attempt from the boat tour owners but nothing to see on the Tiber river except homeless tents and graffiti.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Giving this tour 1 star because the boat didn't sink. The boarding situation is very second rate, the broadcast system is loud abd blaring making the journey quite uncomfortable if sitting near the front. Going down below to get away from the noise means you don't see anything other than the Tiber river banks. There was no notification that the advertised canapes and welcoming cocktail was to be collected from below. As it was, there was no coctail, the canapes were squares of cold pizza, and the wine was a small bottle between two people. So the fact our canapes were pilfered by others, didn't really matter. Lovely young staff member made up some sandwiches, which was appreciated. The crew are doing their best with customer service, but the product is unprofessional and seems cheap. Couldn't stand doing the full cruise and requested to disembark at Isola Tiburtina. For a beautiful city like Rome and the volume of tourists, it is a shame that this is the quality of the river cruise.This event needs serious rebranding and revamping.

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

Siobhan L
Ireland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

We booked 3 tours with Viator and this was definitely the most disappointing. I booked it as it was my birthday and the way it was described made me think I was in for a treat : 2.5-hour dinner or wine cruise on the Tiber River in Rome ;Savor a welcome cocktail with assorted canapés- this was basically orange juice with a bit of fizzy wine ; Enjoy unobstructed nighttime views of top Rome attractions such as St Peter’s Basilica and Castel Sant’Angelo- St Peters is not visible from the River! Only the Castel was visible unobstructed and as we sailed up and downstream there were no announcement made to indicate anything of interest. I did notice a couple of other building s but unfortunately did not know what these were.
Listen to live musical entertainment while onboard the boat - the music was grand, in fact the accordian player was very good ! He was cheerful and in between playing a few classics like ce sera sera, he sang along to a Karoke machine. Upgrade to include a gourmet 4-course dinner - it was definitely not an upgrade ( those who had wine seemed to get a decent plate of ham and cheese) and there was no menu to make a selection. Everyone got the same 4 courses which were all mediocre to poor and we left feeling hungry! Desert was fresh fruit and when I tried to explain that my husband has an allegery to fruit and would like an alternative, all I got was a blank stare and the fruit disappeared ! They managed to pack 51 people into the boat and for £50 each made quite a lot of money! However they did not seem to invest this back into the boat which was poorly kept and decorated with plywood and plastic roses !

Doing what: Rome Tiber River Night Cruise with Dinner or Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message