Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 746 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JoAnne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Unfortunately, it rained the entire day - but this was still a highlight of our trip to Italy. The guide, Ariana, was amazing. Trained in archaeology, she was able to give us great information on Hadrian's Villa. She had actually done some work on the site. The tour of Villa d'Este was also wonderful, Ariana was patient when we wanted to stop and take pictures. The bus was comfortable: everything ran on time in spite of the rain. We would definitely take another tour with this company.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice trip. Both sites beautiful. Lots of steps at Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Krista G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day trip out of the city of Rome to the Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'Este. Our guide, Felix, was outstanding- knowledgeable and funny. I will say that this tour requires a lot of walking and significant climbs up and down. We had several in our group who were not able or prepared for the level of activity and held back our group somewhat. Villa D'Este is magical- bring your cameras!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lumar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was another pleasant surprise. Not originally something we had planned, but so glad we did it. The gardens and fountains at Villa D'Este are amazing. We were in time to hear the fountain sing. It's just so awesome that in an age with no technology what they accomplished. Hadrian's Villa is still being excavated and it is also a wonderful experience. So much history and beauty. The gardens there are lovely as is the fountain.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It started as a cloudy and rainy day, but it did not matter, we had a great guide that led us through the ruins with great information! The sun finally came out when we got to Tivoli Gardens, it did not matter though because even clouds could not take the stunning views away from this beautiful property. My daughter said, if I was a fountain or a butterfly, I would want to live here. We are a family of 5 and we all enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

gestaudt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Antonio brought Hadrian's Villa to life for us. I was not prepared for how extensive the villa grounds are. Antonio was able to answer all my botany questions, and pointed out the important sites. It was amazing to see olive trees and cypress trees that were more than 1000 years old.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Jodie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was a fabulous day out at Tivoli. Very well organised and so worth visiting Hadrians Villa and Villa D and #39;Este. The waterfalls and gardens at Villa D and #39;Este were absolutely stunning and the guide was full of knowledge with all the history at Hadrians Villa. Really enjoyed the full day trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

J S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was fantastic. Alfredo was our guide and was excellent. The bus trip to Tivoli was 40mins away from Rome and the town is a lovely welcome break from the city. Lots of choice for food for the hour-long lunch break in the town. Fantastic, well worth the money. Lots of walking though!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alfredo was an excellent guide and took very attentive care. Highly recommend this tour if you're going to Tivoli

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a stimulating easy-paced trip by coach from Rome to Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Our guide understood both his material and how much to tell us. There was a time and place for lunch. The tour company contacted us very late, by email, with information about the departure point. We could easily have missed this.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Janet M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was a bit hard to find the starting point for this tour but once we did ask went smoothly. The guide had an excellent knowledge of archaeology, her field of study. However, it would have been good to spend more of the tour time at Villa D and #39;Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

natalie s

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Villa d'Este is gorgeous, must see. Beautiful and memorable place. Hadrian's Villa was an interesting site, worth the trip. Good combination, even in the rain.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Marco P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good overview of both Hadrian's Villa and Villa dEste in about 6 hours by a tour guide who was quite knowledgeable and time efficient. He seemed to have done this tour quite often so at times it seemed like he was bored which rubbed off on me. Would I recommend the tour? Yes.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Carol L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good trip. Alfredo was hugely knowledgeable about the archaeology and history of both places and was friendly and very approachable. His passion for his subject was very evident. Perhaps the Viator description needed to prepare people for the amount of walking at Hadrian's Villa, simply because of the size of the site and the steepness at Tivoli - just so there were no disappointed participants and to ensure they knew the walk, with inclines, to and from the coach was mandatory.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

PAUL O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was actually quite good although they really should allow an extra 45 minutes or so for some free time at Hadrian's Villa and some more free time at Villa d'Este. it is a very nice change from central Rome.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

John C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Villa d'Este is amazing. Alfredo was a brilliant guide. Very personable, nothing was too much trouble.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Annette G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We were organized for this tour, with our map ready to be at the Enjoy Rome Office, at Via Marghera 8a, at the appointed time. On the evening before our tour, I happened to check our emails and found an email from Enjoy Rome, sent that day, informing us that they had moved to Via Tommaso Grossi 10. These two locations are quite a distance apart. I find it difficult to believe that they could not have informed us earlier just lucky that I checked the emails again a very poor effort from Enjoy Rome.

A very enjoyable day trip. Our guide was lovely, but seemed very nervous and unsure of herself.

Hadrians Villa was very interesting.

Our lunch, a very simple meal of pasta and tomato sauce, took a very long time to prepare and serve. This was valuable time wasted, time we could have better spent at Villa dEste.

The garden at Villa dEste was spectacular. One of the highlights of our trip to Italy!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Janet A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed it, could have walked more at Hadrains Villa

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Christine F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Beautiful places. However, the long road up the hill @ Villa Adriana was challenging and not for everyone. Also, our tour guide spoke more French than English, was a little abrupt, and was leading the group down the street before some of us were out of the bus making it difficult to catch up and stay enthusiastic. I would recommend with reservations regarding the guide and the physical demands.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Christopher C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We took 4 day tours on our recent trip to Rome. This was easily the weakest. The trip is well worth the time. Hadrian's Villa is great. The foundations Villa D'Este are amazing. But the tour was an hour late getting started. The guides were adequate at best. And their main concern seemed to be getting back to Rome to beat the traffic. If there is an alternative.....take it.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Jena C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Totally frustrated and disappointed with the way this tour was conducted! The guide was walking at such a speed that we were chasing after him all the time. No time to take photos or stop to take a breath! His aim is to finish asap and finish the tour 20 minutes earlier! We could not catch up with him and lost in Hadrian's Villa. He did not do a headcount when leaving the Villa as any professional guide would do. We waited for him for 15 minutes at the exit gate and then has to go to the carpark to look for the coach. He was 'looking' for us as he claimed when he was actually sitting inside the coach! At Tivoli gardens when people asked him to slow down he was still walking so quickly and even after climbing over 100 steps we did not have time to catch our breath! The gardens and fountains are so beautiful and we should have enjoyed this tour had it not be spoiled by such a person!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Steve W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The two museums were closed in Hadrian's Villa due it was a national holiday. We were not informed of this in advance. Villa d'Este was wonderful.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Kory Z

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We would not recommend this tour group to others and would not consider using them again. Although our guide was knowledgable and cognizant of the limitations of some of the members of our larger group, she ended up selling us all on the idea of having lunch at the only place she will eat in Tivoli. We were told in passing that we could eat anywhere we wanted but she would not recommend any other place. Lunch was not included in our package and we had about an hour in Tivoli to eat before resuming the tour. Prior to us arriving at this particular restaurant, the guide had told us we would have anything as options on the menu of this establishment. When we arrived we found a nu,be rot tables set for us and we're met by the owner or at least the manager. We all sat and we're not offered menus. We were told we would be having lasagne. Several of our group were mot happy with this and a few were reluctantly offered chicken with potatoes. All the entrees arrived within a minute. It was apparent that they had all been pre-plated. The food was dry, luke-warm and unappetizing. Salads arrived after the main course. No salad dressing was offered and the lettuce was browning and wilted. This was the worst mean we had in our trip to Rome but this was only the beginning of the meal fiasco. At the end of the meal we were informed that it was cash only. This should have been disclosed ahead of time. Seeing that we do not travel with much cash and prefer cards due to exchange rates we did not have adequate cash to pay for the meal. We were given our total and then personally walked to the ATM machine by the restaurant owner. There were a number of people ahead of us so this transaction required some time. She returned to check on us just as the cash was being delivered from the ATM. Our 34 Euro meal was now 46 Euros. Our guide was no where to be found and we were left to deal with this mess and pay up, jointhe tour 15 minutes late.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Hector V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Disappointing day trip. Tour guide was almost impossible to understand, plus he was uninformed and rude to a couple of the people who asked questions. It felt rushed and disorganized. I would recommend that anyone wishing to go to Tivoli take a bus and go on their own!

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Gregory Thomas L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I think my tour could have been better for the following reasons:
1.        Although the paperwork I received stated 230PM as the starting time, Green Line Tours told me the day before to be at the bus at 200PM. Apparently, they did not inform the tour guide, who arrived at 225PM.
2.        The tour guide had problems with English and with the Anglo Saxon culture. He twice used terms when giving us instructions as to where to meet the bus and where we were being taken afterwards that, fortunately, were cleared up by persistent tourists. As far as the Anglo Saxon culture is concerned, he was rude. It was if we were begging Green Line Tours to take our money.
3.        The Hadrian Villa is always depicted with the pool surrounded by statuary and the small island, surrounded by an equally small moat. The tour guide stopped about 20 meters short of this and started back. I thought he had his own agenda and followed for a few minutes, then asked him if we would visit it. He replied NO but I could go on my own but gruffly stated DONT BE LATE FOR THE BUS!! We had 15 minutes. I ran back, snapped a couple of quick photos of the pool NO island/moat to be seen and ran back to the bus.
4.        At Villa dEste he explained two frescoes and then told us we were on our own and to be back at the bus at the appointed time. NO tour. Finito.
Next time Ill take the train, walk and pay for the tickets at the gate. This wasnt worth 66.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message