Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 721 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Farshid T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour with good experienced guide.Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa are a must see when visiting Rome.I wish I could stay longer especially around beautiful pools in both places.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very good tour with lots of good information from our tour guides. Both the Villa's of Hadrian and d'Este were well worth the short 45 minute ride outside of Rome. The 100 fountains at the Villa d'Este were truly beautiful. I highly recommend this half day tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

aliciavee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day at these two villas. Not only is it worthwhile to get out of the city for a day, the grounds are
remarkable and add a completely engaging insight to the lives of the noblemen. Buy your tickets as early as you can as the pricing increases as the date approaches. even months out. Recommended..

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

vdiorio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Guides friendly and knowledgeable and suggested great places for lunch! Good timing: saw much and didn't feel rushed! Good job!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

pamandter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

ENJOYED very much...RAINED in TIVOLI....

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Peter R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing tour. Made even better by our wonderful guide Arianna who brought the whole story of Hadrians Villa alive and was very informative and great fun. Villa d'Este was beautiful and again Arianna was a great guide giving us plenty of information. I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour as a must do if you are going to Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Anne

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A wonderful exploration of Hadrian's villa and the famous Tivoli gardens and fountains. Just be aware that there is a lot of walking on uneven ground and steps. A reasonable degree of fitness and mobility is necessary to make this trip enjoyable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Shirley F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Interesting tours of 2 villas in the Rome countryside - both very different from each other. Our guide was knowledgeable and let us have ample time to enjoy the beauty of the villas and gave us the background of their building and use. The Villa D'Este was fabulous and she described the various garden areas well. We had plenty of time to take photos even though they don't do the facility justice.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

David S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Tour started late, guides were slow and late at each stop, the tour ended almost an hour late making us late for our next appointment. Allow plenty of time. The villa's were fantastic destinations.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Todd D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It poured down rain and yet our guide was wonderful and kept people's spirits up. It was a good tour and the gardens at Villa d'Este are truly beautiful. It was a long day but well worth the trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Tsutomu U

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The guide was fantastic. Villa d'Este was awesome! The hundreds of fountains were amazing. I wish we had more free time at Hadrian's Villa because it is a huge area. Overall, I really enjoyed the tour within the limited time.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Sara United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Ive been to Rome four times and this was the first time Ive felt like I had seen enough previously to make the trip to Villa DEste and Hadrians Villa. I had done a ton of research, and I ultimately decided that this tour was the most straightforward way to make this happen. Our tour guide was pretty difficult to understand, but the villas themselves were absolutely incredible. If you have any interest in engineering, architecture or design the mosaic tile work was incredible!, this tour will leave your mind reeling. The bus ride from Rome was quick and easy, and we were deposited at Hadrians Villa for a few hours before moving on to Tivoli and Villa DEste. We had a little less than an hour for lunch which was just enough time to warm up it was cool and drizzly that afternoon before heading to Villa DEste. Villa DEste was absolutely beautiful despite the rain, and I could just imagine how incredible it must have been to live there and wander the gardens.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Fiona N

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

In Rome for the sixth time, decided to look further a field. So off to Hadrian's Villa, the tour guide while very friendly, told us very little actual history and hurried us around the villa not even stopping at the pool, which by the way was beautiful as we found out when we left the tour for 10 mins. However, stunning settings and plenty to take in. Villa d'Este stunning location, sublime gardens and fabulous water features, steep climbs but we'll worth it. Loved every minute. Treat yourself and take the tour, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Murray P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Not so much. Hadrian's Villa was too perfunctory and Villa D'Este was closed. We got E8 back but still disappointing.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Neil R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Absolute waste of time and money. Less than an hour rushed around guides chosen parts of Hadrian's Villa which covers 120 Hectares. I'd looked at the villa on the internet and knew there should have been some very special areas to see but not even mentioned by the guide. Just 1 hour given to explore Villa D'Este, need I say more. Guide struggled having 4 languages to contend with. Not even a toilet or refreshment break. Felt completely ripped off and although my previous days tour was excellent not sure I would recommend or use Viator to book again after such a poor experience with this tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Jean G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I already told you why this trip was so terrible. The guide did a poor job in what he showed us and in his language ability. Villa d' Este was closed. The provided give us back 8 Euros for fees not used.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

FARAH N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing place really fascinating. Villa d'este is really sth one has to see at least once in their lifetime. The combination of nature and art in this place is like nothing I have ever seen. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ehsan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We experienced a great day in both villa's.we had a good tour leader , who knows alot about the sites, and manage group with old and handicapped me people very well.We left Rome on time and came back on time . Hadrian's villa is a great ancient site, and villa d'este is like a heaven on the earth.We didn't want to leave villa d'este in afternoon.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour. I booked it to see Hadrian's Villa, but I fell in love with Villa d'Este and Tivoli instead!! My only complaint was not having enough time in Tivoli as it was easily the most beautiful place I've ever been in my life. I could have spent a day there easily. The fountains and gardens were stunningly beautiful. We also loved Hadrian's Villa - it was a marvel. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and patient. We also had time to break off from the group and explore the gardens. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Jules J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide on this bus tour was Patricia.She was a terrific and very knowledgable guide. We booked this tour because unlike 95 of the other tours, this one not only visits hadrian's Villla and Villa d'Este gardens but also actually tours inside the villa. At the end we were given a s,all amount of free time which was just enough to dash inside the church next door with a some frescoes for a quick look.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent guide. Highlighted the extravagances of Rome. Hadrian's villa interesting. An enjoyable day. Only negative wS having to find a taxi to get back to our hotel. Our rating would be a 41/2.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great and convenient way to see two very important and different villas and grounds. For anyone interested in history, beauty or architecture, this tour is a must. Our guide, Lara, was extremely knowledgeable, attentive, clear and organised. Don't hesitate to book this tour!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Janine R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The weather was beautiful and we were a nice sizes group of 16. The guide was nice but there was no enthusiasm for the tour and information was definitely lacking on the coach. At lunch time everyone got off the coach not having been told that we needed to take everything for the afternoon tour, so we wasted more time getting on/off. Eventually we only had one hour at Villa D
d'Este and I though we would have at least 1.5 hrs if not 2.
I was extremely disappointed as these are two lovely places to visit - and I live in Rome!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Peter W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The 2 stars are fully awarded to Villa D'Este and Hadrian's Villa which were remarkable. The highlight of the day was definitely the gardens of Villa D'Este which were breathtakingly beautiful and extravagant.
I recommend wearing comfortable walking shoes as there is a fair bit of walking which isn't advertised.
The reason I only award 2 stars is unfortunately due to our older female tour guide who was grumpy and really quite rude. A couple of group members asked her a genuine question about a villa during one stage of the tour and I spotted her rolling her eyes at them after they walked away.
She had a thick accent and although she did speak a lot about the places, we had a hard time hearing due to both the accent and static through the ear pieces.
After the Hadrian villa tour everyone was getting hungry because it was lunch time and she told people they could grab a water and sandwich if they wish to at the shop. A couple of group members then lined up to buy a water and then next minute she stared yelling at them from a distance to hurry up because we were leaving - she could've politely walked up to them go tell them instead of rudely yelling across from the other side - especially after she just told them they had time to buy something on the go.
This is just luck of the draw as our friend did this exact tour the day before us and she had a lovely male tour guide who catered to everyone's needs.
We enjoyed Tivoli but the guide certainly left a sour taste in our mouths and made us wish we just did it on our own!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Gina Marie United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The places we visited were beautiful and I really enjoyed seeing them in person. They are definitely worth visiting. This tour provides an overview of the 2 places, however the tour itself was lackluster. Our tour guide spoke with a heavy accent and was sometimes hard to understand. We had a large group 30 people and one guide. There were no audio systems provided, so at times we missed out on hearing the guide's spiel of what it is we're looking at. Our guide walked us around Hadrian's Villa and gave us roughly 15 min of free time before he left us, which was basically the length of time it took to walk swiftly back to the bus, therefore, we didn't have much time to ourselves to take photos or look any further. At Villa d'Este, our guide gave us instructions on how to exit the villa and get back to the bus, but they were incorrect. I strongly feel that with proper organization and logistics, this could have been managed better and prevented many people returning late to the bus due to losing track of time or getting lost.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message