Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 503 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you love history then this is definitely worth it. Hadrians villa and Villa d'Este are in such good condition considering and our guide Vivianna had worked on the ruins of Hadrian's villa so she was very knowledgable and helpful. There is a little bit of walking but nothing terrible. Loved it!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

ample time to walk around and take pictures in villa d'este, but low season tour cannot see the water organ functioning... nice walk in hadrian's villa.

our driver Giovanni and our tour guide Katylene (apologies if i spelt her name wrongly) are great.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Viviana Carbonara was great, she was very informative about Hadrians villa and Villa D'este plus she gave us good time in the city of Tivoli to explore and eat lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

on a very wet day we were warmed by the spirit and enthusiasm of our guide and a real chance to see Hadrians villa without throngs of tourists. At lunch we were advised that the fountains at Villa destre were not working due to the excessive rain. Despite this we had a great visit and the guide and driver took us back a different route to see spectacular waterfalls. We had a really good day...and appreciated the willingness of the Tour company to make it happen with only 6 people booked and in terrible weather. Will be back in the sun and will choose same tour company.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

George M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I enjoyed the trip, but feel I could have done this one on my own at half the price and actually seen much more. This trip was spun out to the point where most people in the group were getting bored (11 people in the group) The guide talked endlessly about everything. We even stopped at his favorite olive tree to talk about it . We walked around at a snails pace and then stood at each point for ages. We were given no free time to wonder about. I was at Hardian's villa for over two hours but feel that I missed out seeing more of the huge place. I wanted postcards from the shop but was rushed onto the bus . In the second Villa we wanted to wonder around as everything was going far too slowly for us, but we were told to stay in the group, Even though it was a small place . Same routine as before , walking as slow as possible and talking about every single thing we came across. Spun out . Finally we were told we had 15 minutes free time, but realised it was around 15 minutes to climb back up to the meeting point, Again no time given to buy cards or gifts from the little shop. This trip was expensive and I feel I could have done this on my own at half the price and seen much more. Free time to wonder around a place should be given if some of the people want it and the people who don't want to wonder around can stay at the guides side.
This trip is to expensive not to allow individuals freedom to experience these fantastic villas.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A very enjoyable day trip, were luck to be with a good group of travellers. Hadrian's Villa was nothing like I imagined it was BETTER - Same with Villa d'Este, I had no idea what it would be like and it was beautiful. I never seen so many waterfalls or fountains.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

MatiNacho
Costa Rica

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Both sites are very beautiful and impressive. Hadrian's Villa is a huge, however you only get to see part of it because there's not enough time.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Whilst the actual places were great to see, the walk from the lower car park at Hadrians villa up the hill is VERY difficult for old people or people with injuries. The walk goes up a road and there is plenty of bus size parking at the top so it would have been far better to be able to get off the bus at the top. This would also provide for more time at the actual site to look around.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent, could have spent more time at Hadrian's Villa as it is so vast.
Villa d'Este was well worth the visit and the water gardens were breathtaking.
The guide was knowledgeable and friendly.
Overall excellent trip and highly recommended.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour stared on time and it was such a pleasure to take a break from Rome and go to Tivoli. I forgot the name of our tour guide, but she was fantastic. She is clearly very passionate about the history on the sights that we visited. On our arrival back in a Rome, she arranged with the driver to drop us off at Termini, which was far more convenient than having to walk from the official drop off point.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Touring the town of Tivoli, Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este gave us a chance to see more than the usual "Top 10 Tourist Attractions of Rome!" The Villas are incredible, especially the gardens with all of the fountains. I was also especially impressed by our very knowledgeable and linguistically talented guide who provided explanations to our multi-linguistic group in English, Spanish and French. The view of Rome from the hilltop Villas and the short ride through the countryside were new views that enhanced this my third visit to Rome.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I am a Hadrian fan so seeing his Tivoli villa was awesome, but must say Villa d'Este was an unexpected surprise what a great half day tour. Luckily for us the weather was beautiful and absolutely no crowd to deal with at either location. A win, win!!

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Unexpected surprise. My expectations were far exceeded with this day trip. Hadrian's villa was pretty much as expected. The tour leader was very knowledgeable and the visit to the ruins was lengthy. The visit to Tivoli and Villa d'Este were unexpected surprises. The town was very quaint and full of good eating places. Villa d'Este was beautiful. You just couldn't take enough pictures and take in one great view after another. This day trip is just long enough also. I will mention the walking and step climbing is somewhat strenuous.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was entertaining and informative. Viviana, the guide, knew her stuff and was easily understood. The bus trip to/from Tivoli was relaxing with heaps of room for tour participants.

The only reason why I did not give this tour 5 stars was ......
We noticed several of the tour participants found the up-hill (entry) section at Hadrian's Villa and getting back to the top at Ville d'Este a struggle. I did not notice a difficulty warning attached to this tour. May be there should be (or be more prominent).

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

All ran very smoothly on a beautiful day of warm sunshine. Our guide was Viviana who was very informed and pleasant. A great day out. A little bit more time at the Villa d'Este would have been nice, that's all.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message