Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 504 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic and Awesome. Villa d'Este in particular is a "Must Do".
Tour office easy to locate near the Terminal Station. Bus air conditioned and very comfortable. Plenty of Time given for lunch in Tivoli. Very good guide who spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent excursion which I'd highly recommend. Hadrian's Villa was interesting as an archaeological site, but it was Villa D'Este that really stole the show. This place is absolutely magnificent and really something you have to see to believe. Its like a trip back in time to a magical garden equipped with beautiful sculptures, fountains, and amazing views. I only wished we'd been given more time to spend there. The only downside to this tour was that the bus we rode out on was in need of some maintenance as it bounced a lot over every bump in the road, myself and a few other passengers felt quite queasy by the time we arrived.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour. I didn't know how well preserved Hadrian's Villa was but the highlight was clearly Villa d'Este. Amazing and the guide was very good. This should be on everyone's Rome vacation.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This wonderful little tour started at Hadrian's Villa, which was fascinating and our guide was so knowledgeable, she made it even more interesting.
After Hadrian's Villa we moved to Tivoli and Villa d'Este which was literally stunning!! Fabulous day (2.30 to about 7pm) out from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We loved it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had been in Rome for 5 days and this was a wonderful escape from the heat and craziness of the city. The office was easy to find, very close to the Roma Termini train station. Our guide, Lara (Croft Tomb Raider...haha....she had a great sense of humor) was very informative and entertaining. It only took about 35 minutes to get to Hadrian's Villa and it was so much cooler up there; very pleasant after the sauna that Rome was. Loved, loved, loved Villa d'Este with all the beautiful fountains. I would recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Tour guide Arianna is a very personable and knowledgeable archaeologist who gave us fabulous insights into the history and original construction of the ruins that we were viewing at the site of Hadrian's villa. This is a huge site, but there was ample time to explore and take photos. Lots of great explanations of the frescoes and history at Villa d'Este also. The completely gravity fed fountains at Villa d'Este were fabulous to see, and most still functioning after 400 years. Arianna expertly timed the tour so that we had a chance to see the organ fountain play - it's only twice a day so it's easy to miss it. The tour bus was modern and comfortably air conditioned, with a good audio system so that we could easily hear the guide's presentation. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great to go to a quiet area outside of central Rome. I love ancient Roman history so I really enjoyed seeing Hadrian's Villa and imagining what it looked like in its heyday. Villa d'Este was absolutely gorgeous! The fountains were amazing and should be on everyone's checklist of places to see. Our guide was very knowledgeable and recommended a great restaurant for lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

MLR D
Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour gave us wonderful insights into both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Very enjoyable.Good transport, driver and guide. Punctual too!

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day began with a short drive into the Tiburtine Hills a few miles from Rome where we began our tour at the vast complex that was once Emperor Hadrian's Villa. The area is truly awe-inspiring and although you have to bear in mind that it was at its peak well over a millennia ago, our guides' knowledge and understanding of all the historical facts painted us a vivid picture of this, at times, unfathomable site. This first part of the tour somehow set the scene and fast forwarded us to another age, where inspiration, excess and visions of grandeur still played an important part in the development of what we would term as the ultimate 'Pleasure Garden.'

If you have ever dreamed of the most perfect Renaissance garden, perched high above a rolling green valley, with cascading waterfalls, sparkling fountains and columns of bright crystal clear water shooting into the bluest of skies, then The Villa d'Este is the place to be! Overwhelming, breath-taking, mesmerizing are just a few of the many adjectives I can use to describe this magical place. Our guide submersed us into a world of wonder and intrigue, laying before us all the historical facts that helped bring this place alive. A green oasis on a hot day, I came away refreshed and rejuvenated as though I'd dipped my toes into the fountain of Youth and vowed to return again one day to this small piece of paradise.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hadrian's villa was much more extensive and interesting than we imagined. Villa d'este was AMAZING with over 300 fountains and beautiful gardens and buildings. Great tour guide!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Hadrian's Villa was not exceptional, and the tour guide did not provide a lot of interesting information. I would give that a 1 star, but the Villa d'Este was breathtaking and more than made up for it. If I were to return I would skip Hadrian's Villa and go back to the Villa d'Este. You have to see it to understand its magnificence.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Enjoyed the trip to Hadrians Villa, but was disappointed that we only saw half of the site before being hustled off.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was excellent, the guide "Alfredo" was very good. Timing is just about right - 2hours at Hadrian's Villa, lunch 1 hour, then a further 2 hours at Ville D'Este/Tivoli Gardens.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Priscilla was excellent. Both Hadrian's Villa and the fountains at Villa d'Este were well worth the day to visit. Both beautiful and educational.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was great and very informative at both sites. Hadrians villa was a really interesting site but the highlight for me was villa d'este. It was absolutely stunning and I wish we could have stayed longer

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message