• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 485 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was great and very informative at both sites. Hadrians villa was a really interesting site but the highlight for me was villa d'este. It was absolutely stunning and I wish we could have stayed longer

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was actually good. There was very bad weather during most of the day, so they did the best they could. I do wish there was more time to explore the two sights, so much to see and not enough time. We had the best time exploring the d'Este gardens and fountains. I would recommend going to see these sights.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this day trip despite the heavy rain which cut short our seeing some of the Villa D'Este.
The gardens are just beautiful with all their fountains.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tivoli gardens was definitely the highlight of the tour. 500+ fountains that are beautiful and designed to operate naturally without a pump are worth the trip. Hadrian's villa is also fabulous to see and about the size of Pompeii, so there is plenty to see. Guide was not very good.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The guide was fantastic but we had only about 1.5 get at Hadrian's Villa. Which means we got to see only about 1/10 of it so that was frustrating. Great ruins with lots still standing so I'd totally recommend the full day tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our tour was good particularly Hadrian's Villa. We would have liked a little more time in Villa d'este.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Disappointed in the experience with the tour. The tour guide was flat and really offered little additional info over what we could have done on our own in touring these two sites. Enjoyed walking thru Villa d'Este while experience at Hadrian's villa was not what we expected and not on par with many of the other historical sites in Italy.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tivoli gardens are one of the earths most beautiful places and our guide Larissa made it even better. Jill miller

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable tour to two amazing sites. Fredo the guide was very knowledgable, very warm and very generous with his time and explanations. Villa d'Este is jaw-droppingly gorgeous. I would have like to spend the whole day there. Hadrian's Villa is quite remarkable. Both sites really need to be seen with a guide as they both are very big and full of many things with their own amazing history. We had an hour for lunch in Tivoli, which was enough time to have a fantastic lunch in one of the trattorias recommended by our guide. Both sites are close to Rome so the trip is short. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour to Tivoli and both villas!
The guide Mikela was great!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding experience! Our tour guide was highly knowledgeable about the sites and their history, professional and so very amiable. Unfortunately, I do not recall his name but do recall that he is a teacher of history at one of the local secondary schools. My one caveat is for those with ambulatory issues as there is a lot of walking along very uneven surfaces at Hadrian’s Villa as well as a lengthy incline in order to reach the villa from the parking lot. My one suggestion to the agency would be to offer drop off service at the top of the hill ( we noted other busses providing this service ) for those with difficulty in making the climb. Villa Estes offered beautiful gardens, panoramic vista points and historic art; however, the same issues apply for those with ambulatory limitations. There are elevators available at this venue.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed the tour, Lara was very good in communicating the time frame of the era of the ruins and Villa.
Her understanding of the construction and lives of the people was enriching and quite fascinating. Many thanks!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fantastic day. Our guide Alfredo was excellent, there was no question he was asked that he did not know the answer too. Hadrian's villa was good, but for me as I had seen it on tv Villa de Este was amazing and did not disappoint. We really enjoyed our day abbiamo.
Thank you

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful guide, intelligent, funny and very well informed. Wonderful tour outside the Roman furnace. I enjoyed the morning at villa Adriana, but would have liked to spend even more time in the garden of villa d'Este and its wonderful fountains.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved it! Hadrian's Villa was so impressive and the gardens of Villa d'Este with their fountains were just gorgeous. Our guide, Priscilla, was excellent with great knowledge, very dry sense of humour and highly organised. As Australians we are so impressed by the antiquity of the things we see in Europe and these two sites were very impressive and awe inspiring really.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message