Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 522 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Villa d'Este was gorgeous, it's definitely worth a visit!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

There was so much to see at Villa d'Este. We could have spent more time there, which turned out to be more interesting than the Hadrian's Villa.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was superb, most definitely - a must to see, gives you completely different perspective on Rome, and architecture of Rome. Knowledgeable tour guide, friendly and gorgeous views. Tivoli is a beautiful town. Villa Hadtian and Villa d'Este were one the highlights for us. Recommended.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We went there on a Sunday, which was excellent. Got a small group and no traffic jams on the road. Both sites were not crowded. The guide Alfredo was very nice, calm and knowledgable. Villa Hadrian was a very interesting site to visit. Villa dEste was beautiful and tranquil. Highly recommended as a breakout from crowded Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Only a short distance from central Rome, I found this a wonderful and easy day trip. Combing a tour of Hadrian's Villa with a tour of the beautiful gardens of Villa d'Este kept the day fresh and interesting and avoided 'ruin overload'. When we stopped for lunch our guide recommended local cafes the cafe near the entrance to Villa d'Este makes their own delicious pasta and is well priced Our tour guide was friendly and passionate about history which made the day interesting and though this tour requires a fair amount of walking, the pace was easy with no difficult terrain to traverse. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and have no hesitation recommending it to others.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out, the Villa d'Esta gardens were amazing, one of the highlights of our trip to Rome, highly recommend this tour !!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very interesting day visiting Hadrians Villa and Villa d'Este . I loved the gardens and fountains at the latter a pleasant change from relics. Our guide was very good and made the day exceptional.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This 1900 year old villa of Hadrian is a must for those who are interested in the history of Rome. Hadrian was perhaps the richest man in the world to own a villa such as this. And Villa d'Estes is gorgeous to say the least. The cardinal who built this was an admirer of Hadrian, and he recreated it in a very small way. Both these attractions are absolutely a must for tourists. Our guide was well informed and she knew what she was talking about. Go for it!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had a whole review written but viator decided to eat it because I wasn't logged in or something ridiculous like that.
This is a fabulous tour. The only negative thing that I have to say is that the directions to the meeting point could be much, much better. We almost missed the tour because of that. If it hadn't been for a delay in hotel pickup for some other guests than we would have missed it.
One of the best things about this tour was the tour guide. I wish I could remember her name. She is supremely gifted with languages. On our tour there were English, Spanish and French speakers. She gave the tour in all three languages. My dad and I were both very impressed.
Another great thing about the tour is that it takes away the major hassle of trying to figure out how to get to both locations on ones own. It can be done but the potential for wrong turns and lost time is quite high.
The star of the tour was most definitely Hadrian's Villa. My dad and I could have easily spent a couple more hours there but that's just because it's right up our alley. This tour nicely balances a short guided tour portion with free time for exploration and shopping. The shopping is primarily in the little shops right outside Villa d'Este in Tivoli.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Villa D Este was beautiful. It was one of the most beautiful places we saw it Italy. Hadrians villa was cool too but not quite as beautiful. The tour guide was very friendly and the transportation to the villas was nice and clean. It was rainy and cold out on our tour but we still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A very competent and friendly tour leader by the name of Ariana gave us very interesting information on Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. It was a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Two wonderful sites to visit, both very contrasting. The four hour trip from Rome was convenient as we were short of time, but only left 1 hour for touring each villa...this seemed a little rushed. A longer trip might be more enjoyable depending on your schedule.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We have enjoyed the visits to the two villas, as well as the presentations of the guide throughout the excursion

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The villa is magnificent and well preserved. The history is also quite interesting. Caveat: it is a steep hill to walk up to get to the villa. After that, it is wonderful.
Villa d'Este is a lovely place but the garden is four or five levels so the walk up after going down is a challenge. They are quite lovely.
The drive through the hills and around the lake is beautiful.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Our tour guide was not especially well informed and did not seem very enthusiastic about the tour or the things we were seeing. It was all very rushed, and maybe a half day is not enough, but I am not sure as I do not know what we missed. If you are a fan of Roman ruins and Hadrian and gardens, this is a good tour, I guess.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message