Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 496 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent, could have spent more time at Hadrian's Villa as it is so vast.
Villa d'Este was well worth the visit and the water gardens were breathtaking.
The guide was knowledgeable and friendly.
Overall excellent trip and highly recommended.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour stared on time and it was such a pleasure to take a break from Rome and go to Tivoli. I forgot the name of our tour guide, but she was fantastic. She is clearly very passionate about the history on the sights that we visited. On our arrival back in a Rome, she arranged with the driver to drop us off at Termini, which was far more convenient than having to walk from the official drop off point.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Touring the town of Tivoli, Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este gave us a chance to see more than the usual "Top 10 Tourist Attractions of Rome!" The Villas are incredible, especially the gardens with all of the fountains. I was also especially impressed by our very knowledgeable and linguistically talented guide who provided explanations to our multi-linguistic group in English, Spanish and French. The view of Rome from the hilltop Villas and the short ride through the countryside were new views that enhanced this my third visit to Rome.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Unexpected surprise. My expectations were far exceeded with this day trip. Hadrian's villa was pretty much as expected. The tour leader was very knowledgeable and the visit to the ruins was lengthy. The visit to Tivoli and Villa d'Este were unexpected surprises. The town was very quaint and full of good eating places. Villa d'Este was beautiful. You just couldn't take enough pictures and take in one great view after another. This day trip is just long enough also. I will mention the walking and step climbing is somewhat strenuous.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was entertaining and informative. Viviana, the guide, knew her stuff and was easily understood. The bus trip to/from Tivoli was relaxing with heaps of room for tour participants.

The only reason why I did not give this tour 5 stars was ......
We noticed several of the tour participants found the up-hill (entry) section at Hadrian's Villa and getting back to the top at Ville d'Este a struggle. I did not notice a difficulty warning attached to this tour. May be there should be (or be more prominent).

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

All ran very smoothly on a beautiful day of warm sunshine. Our guide was Viviana who was very informed and pleasant. A great day out. A little bit more time at the Villa d'Este would have been nice, that's all.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

very interesting and informative.
Villa d'Este beautiful and a good time of year to see it.
A different trip for those who would like to get out of the city for a few hours.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very well organized and informative. Our guide Felix was proficient and took us to the main areas we needed to visit in both sites. I would have spent some more time in Tivoli and Villa d'Este. I understood the tour was ending at 17:30 but we returned to Rome at 16:30. Both Villas are a must see for anyone interested in the Roman Empire and the baroque and renaissance architecture. The fountains at Villa d'Este are magnificent.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was good, but not spectacular for me. The guide, Margarita, was wonderful. She had 3 languages other than her own on our bus and she deftly managed all 3. Villa d'Este was beautiful. Hadrian's Villa was impressive and would have

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really good trip, the only thing I would advise is that considering both sites, Hadrians villa and Villa d'Este are both significantly large areas to view, the half day trip is not long enough to fully appreciate the attractions of both sites. The hotel pick up, seemed like a good idea, however after confirming attendance for the trip (24 hours earlier), with the operator (Green Line Tours), I was informed pick up time was given as 6.45am, actual pick up time was 7.10am and we did not leave the city centre until 8.00am (would advise if you were staying close enough to GLT office to make your own way there to save wasted time!). Guide was very good, multi lingual and informative

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We did this tour and we had another wonderful guide, This was a very comprehensive tour of both Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este and the water gardens. We got to see everything we had hoped to see and even had time for a delightful lunch on our own in the lovely town of Tivoli. My only suggestion would be to have the tour company pick up at the hotel in the morning as another tour company did........as it would save an expensive cab fare.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

WOW! Hadrian's Villa is breathtaking in its sheer size, and Villa d'Este in its beauty and layout. We both have mobility issues, but Valentino made sure we saw everything (we were determined to once we saw the sites), and it was well worth the effort.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful day out. Seeing the d'Este Villa was a dream come true. Absolutely splendid. Hadrian's Villa also splendid in a more distant way. It lasted just about the right amount of time for us to see everything. Our guide Rosella (Scarlett) was incredibly knowledgeable and sensitive to the needs of the members of the group. In fact on her recommendation I am now immersed in reading Hadrian's Memoirs. This is a highly recommended day trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

One of the outstanding events of our stay in Rome. The tour company meeting point for this day trip is near the Termini and easy to find. The tour bus is modern and comfortable with all the bells and whistles and a good audio system. The very best aspect of the trip was our guide, Signorina Carbonara (Vivianna) a fully credentialed archaeologist, with a perfect command of English, who was cheerful and energetic and responsive to endless questions. She also possesses pinpoint timing and got us through two major sites and Lunch without ever.seeming to be rushing or "herding" us. We arrived at the precise moment to hear the water-powered organ perform at Villa d'Este and arrived back in Rome at the designated time. Our group was congenial and the two sites not to be missed.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A visit to two significant sites - one Roman, one Renaisance - in beautiful Tivoli just outside Roma. The ruins of Hadrian's palace complex are vast but are indeed ruins. The d'Este villa and its famous fountained gardens are in great shape.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message