Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 519 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about it, both destinations were well worth seeing. Great tour guide. Villa D'Este was stunning with all the fountains. I enjoyed Hadrian's villa more than Pompeii, great insight into how they must have lived. Only downside was the couple who went missing which kept the rest of the tour waiting on the bus for 30 minutes, extremely bad manners and not even a sorry.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent tour and my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We took a similar tour several years ago but the guide only gave us the option of Villa D'Este OR Hadrian's villa so we opted for the former, despite the tour being advertised as visiting both sites. I was somewhat worried that this would be the same case this year but no, Catherine and her Spanish speaking colleague showed us around Villa Adriana with plenty of historical detail and time to enjoy the surroundings and to take photographs before transporting us to Villa D'Este where she showed us the '100 Fountains' and we were then free to wander around the villa and the beautiful gardens for an hour before returning to the coach for the 30 minute journey back to Rome. At no time did we feel rushed and we even managed to fit in an excellent panini and ice cream at the small restaurant in the square outside Villa D'Este. A good end to a good day... Our return drop off point left us a short taxi ride from our hotel - we felt like treating ourselves rather than take the metro and walk! I can certainly recommend this trip but be aware that the walk up from the car park at Hadrian's Villa is a steady but reasonable incline so those with heart or chest conditions may need several stops, but the effort is certainly worth it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you're looking for a good day trip from Rome, look no further. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the tour of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este - the guide's english was great and he was very knowledgeable of the history of the sites, which were a good escape from Rome's chaos.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour took us out of the city into the sweet village of Tivoli. We very much enjoyed this guided tour, away from the crowds of Rome, which helped these ruins come alive. Especially appreciated walking on these grounds, seeing what remains, and what is missing. Some of the loot from Hadrian's Villa was visible when we toured the Vatican. Personally, my wish would be for Pope Francis to return the statues, etc to their rightful place, where they can be more fully enjoyed by the people.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, very knowledgeable guide, Villa was a delight to see.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Leanne l
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a lovely afternoon in Tivoli - knowledgable tour guide - fantastic fountains - definately worth it

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant! Our guide, Michela, was lovely and very knowledgeable - a true expert in her field.
The contrast between the two villas made for a fab tour. Villa d'Este's garden is beautiful.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Excellent trip - bang on time, knowledgeable guide. Hadrian's villa was good; but Tivoli gardens were fantastic.Really enjoyed the trip on the whole.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The visit to both villas was very interesting. Well organised and with a meal break at midday.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Serena fantastic tour guide and the villas and gardens majestic and eye-catching. No negative comments whatsoever!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed both Villa d'Este and Hadrian,s Villa = the history is interesting and the Villa in particular spectacular. Our guide shared much interesting information that brought the two sites to life. I would recommend this tour if you have been to Rome before and experienced that city - if not I would stick within Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed this trip, especially Hadrian's Villa. Kathleen our guide was good. The gardens at Villa d'Este are lovely on a hot Rome day. Lots of walking though. To get to Hadrians Villa is approx 1km walk up hill (not stairs), d'Este has lots of stairs. The buildings are opulent.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A little more history at the villa, and more areas to walk around would have been nice, but it was very cool. The Villa d'Este is unparalleled and a must see. I can't believe that place actually exists

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our guide was delightful, knowledgeable and entertaining "BUT" she was obliged to repeat everything in French because four people needed the translation. Being French myself I respected their request but it was a very hot day and the tour of "Hadrian's Villa" dragged on too long. Villa d'Este was different.
After a bit of history, we were allowed plenty of time to explore the grounds before returning to Rome..

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

We did not have sufficient time to see the excellent exhibition at Hadrian's Villa. The tour guide did not pace the group effectively to ensure that sufficient time was available.
The tour guide, Kathleen, could not advise on the system used to channel the water to the 300 fountains at Villa D'Este. It was disappointing that the guide seemed to have a relatively shallow knowledge base. Overall I thought that the value adding by Viatour was limited and that therefore the cost of the tour was disproportionate to what was provided.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message