Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 694 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mickey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a fabulous day in Tivoli.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a fabulous tour and we would highly recommend it to anyone. Shame that there wasn't any information on viatour about the Maritime Theatre at Hadrians' Villa being completely closed off due to renovation totally understand this, but it should be publicised, we've done this tour before so have seen it, but i can't imagine how disappointing it would be to go all that way and not see what it the main attraction at the site. Apart from that fantastic tour with a great tour guide.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Splendid villas, worthwhile all the walking ups and downs. If you are not a hiking person, you will feel walking too much!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

chrisn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I took the trip at end of November and it was excellent. Villa d'Este is very impressive, the fountains are very nice, there is much to see. The trip starts with the tour of 1st floor of the palace, followed by the visit to the gardens where there is multitude of fountains. It is very picturesque tour of the Villa. The 2nd visit at Villa Adriana is also very impressive. Our tour was moving at very slow pace, so some of us went and saw the whole Villa - the main tour just stopped at main attractions. Really very memorable event, very good tour guide.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

David J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour itself was fine however the organisation wasn't great with the coach turning up 40 minutes late to take us to the Villas.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Tak-Fai C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este were great, but the trip is less so. It started with 2 persons in our group went missing when we walked up the hill from the gate. The group spent half an hour waiting while the guide went looking for them. Then we went through Handrian's Villa in a hurry, only to find out that our bus had broken down. So we waited for a replacement bus for an hour by the gate. At least nothing went wrong with the Villa d'Este part of the tour and the traffic wasn't too bad.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ali Hayri O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This tour it means ''Half Day'' for Villa d'este e Villa Adriana in total 2 hours are extemely short.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Joe Luis United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Skip this Tour, do Villa d'Este on your own if you can. Tour guides were not good on this one and not enough time was given to explore on your own. Don't spend your money or waste your time with this!

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Charles L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip with excellent tour guide. Hadrian's Villa great to be able to walk amongst ruins. Tivoli Gardens worth seeing such beautiful fountains and gardens, both hidden treasures out side of Rome, well worth the visit.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

janetzim7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide was interesting and had a great sense of the history of the area and a great sense of humor. We were driven in a very comfortable private limousine from Rome and back. Our only wish was that we could have spent a little more time at the Villa D'Este gardens.

Doing what: Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'Este Half Day Tour

fontaine_pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day, the tour guide was informative. Loved the fountains and villa.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent Tour guide was extremely informative Villa d'esme was magnificent the fountains are incredible highly recommended

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Stuart P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very good day out of the city. Less than an hour by bus and you can enjoy two contrasting attractions. Hadrian's Villa is a large complex of ruined buildings and some interesting garden features with quite a few Turtles swimming in the pools! As top for lunch in Tivoli, a small town compared to Rome, with a good choice of places to eat, then we went to Villa d'Este, where the big disappointment was the fountains were not working due to the heavy rain and flooding, a week before our visit, which affected the amount of silt in the river. Apparently we were very unlucky as this rarely happens, so we will just have to plan another trip and go back. It is quite a climb down and back up to the Villa, but if you take your time, you can appreciate the garden more and it is an ideal way to work off some of the Italian food you are bound to enjoy on your holiday!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful time. The weather was perfect and we could fully appreciate the magnificence of Hadrian's Villa and the amazing scenery at Villa d'Este.
Larissa who was our tour guide was most informative, helpful and courteous.
Highly recommend this tour
Chandrasekaran

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

bobbin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour surpassed my expectations our guide ROssela was a mine of information and the gardens at the VIlla D'Este were better than anything I have ever seen it was a great day out.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Judith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The address of the local tour company, is shown as 8A Via Marghera and one would expect their office to be across from the addresses on the opposite side of the street, say s 5, 7, 9, but instead, totally confused almost missing the tour as a result, it was located across from 47. Is this an example of when in Rome, do as the Romans do? Strange to most of us from other parts of the Western World.

Our female tour guide was excellent, knowledgeable, articulate and had great English.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Two simply amazing villas and so totally different - the tours were very well organised and the tour leader was a mine of information - obviously loved her job. We learnt such an enormous amount of extremely interesting historical data.
Thank you very much. - Have recommended this trip to our friends.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

JONATHAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our trip to Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este at Tivoli was outstanding and our guide, Margetta, was a delight - relaxed, friendly, full of knowledge and enthusiasm, and with a clear delight in sharing her knowledge about these two fascinating sites.
Everything ran without a hitch and we were blessed with glorious sunny weather, too! We arrived at Hadrian's Villa ahead of the day's visitors and it felt as if we had the place to ourselves. Margetta lead us around all the major sites of interest at a comfortable pace, explaining many historical and architectural details, and pointing out some architectural features we'd be seeing again at Villa d'Este.
After a most enjoyable 1-hr lunch break in Tivoli, we entered Villa d'Este and were totally enthralled by the beautifully decorated halls and rooms, augmented by Margetta's excellent commentary.
Our time in the gardens was outstanding - Margetta's skill and experience showed up by the fact that we arrived at the Fountain of the Organ just minutes before it played great excitement! and, later, we reached the western end of the terrace of The Hundred Fountains at the perfect time to see the late-afternoon sunlight shining along its length. Magic!
Overall, it was a 'must-do' tour, brilliantly-well lead by an outstanding guide, Margetta. Unforgettable and highly recommended!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable coach trip. Remains of Hadrians Villa the unexpected highlight but gardens and fountains at Villa D,Este also amazing. Tour guide originally from Denmark, spoke perfect English and was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Rose Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Marchetta was a wonderful, knowledegable guide that linked both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Roman Empire vs Renaissance. Definitely a must!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

James M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Guide was excellent but due to time allotted, had to move too fast. Would have liked more time at Hadrians villa. Otherwise good tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Aubrey W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Only one fountain was working the day we were there due to the heavy rains the day before. Hadrian's Villa was the highlight of the tour. Could have spent more time there instead of looking at non-functioning fountains.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

William T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Hadrian's villa ruins were historically interesting.Villa D'Este was spectacular but had to many steps to climb.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Nita

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This trip was exactly as promised. We boarded the bus at the meeting spot not far from Termini Station. The ride was about 35 minutes in a comfortable coach bus. Our guide was a friendly and very informative young woman who is an archaeologist. She had lots of information to share with us. Our first stop was Hadrian's Villa - a fascinating excavation of the villa built by Roman Emperor Hadrian in the 2nd and 3rd centuries - there are lots of amazing structures and beautiful mosaics. The highlight was the long pool surrounded by beautiful statues.
After this first tour, we drove a few minutes to the town of Tivoli where we were able to choose among the several restaurants right near the entrance to the Villa D'Este. We would have liked about 15 minutes more for lunch - our waitress got the order wrong so we were quite rushed to finish eating.
Our tour of the Villa D'Este was equally informative and then we were given quite a while to explore the gardens on our own. Unfortunately for us, the fountains were not working due to heavy rains which had stirred up too much sediment in the Tibor, from where the water comes, so that was disappointing but the tour company had no control over that.
All in all, it was a lovely day. The only mild complaint I would have is that we felt rushed through everything and we ended up getting back about 25 minutes early to Rome, so they could have given us a bit more time for lunch, for exploring and for purchasing some souvenirs. Some people managed to make quick purchases but I am a browser so I needed more time. I would also suggest that you ask ahead of time if the fountains are working and if not, choose another day to take this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Gray P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Driver had zero English, guide at Villa d'Este was adequate, not great. Overall, we'd do it again.

Doing what: Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'Este Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message