• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 433 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was an excellent tour , relaxing , just 1 hour from Rome; very interesting and impressive Hadrian's Villa
and beautiful gardens at Villa d'Este; we had a very good guide, Michaela,she gave us interesting informations in a very good english.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Don't miss this trip to these beautiful unique sites. Villa d'Este 's fountains and grounds are fantastic.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The guide spent too much time talking about things that were irrelevant to the tour,she was entertaining but it meant that we only had limited time available to spend in Villa D’este so that I was not able to enjoy it fully.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Hadrian's Villa was unexpectedly huge you definitely need a guide otherwise you will end up wandering aimlessly around. Tivoli was absolutely breathtaking our guide Alfredo was friendly, approachable, had lots of knowledge and the tour was well paced, not rushed and highly enjoyable

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved this tour, our guide Alfredo was awesome! Villa d'Este was stunning and the town of Tivoli was very lovely.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was a wonderful experience is spite of the weather.It rained all the time and the fountains in Villa D'Este weren't on.Our guide,Priscilla was great!Lena

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The sites themselves (Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'Este) are magnificent, and it being the second week in March, they were not overcrowded so it was pleasant to walk around and really look at things. The bus was comfortable and timely; there were no problems with getting out to the sites, etc. But the best of all was our guide, Elisabetta. She is extremely knowledgeable and went into exact technical details about everything that we saw. Her talk actually answered many questions I have had for a long time about specific issues -- e.g., how to tell the difference between restored and original portions of ancient constructions, how rooms were actually used, architectural influences, ancient geography and landscape, etc. I appreciated her intelligence and scholarship. When I take a tour, I want to learn things about the places I see -- and Elisabetta taught me a lot.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Sara was OUTSTANDING as she "knew her history" as well as being great communicating rest breaks and pacing up/down levels at both Villas. Nice humor and speaking style were pleasant and friendly. We would ask for her again next time in Rome! And the audio headsets worked very well. "Molto bene!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent trip , the afternoon at Villa d'Este was brilliant the gardens and fountains are amazing. Our guide...im sorry whose name I cant remember! was first class and very knowledgable which made the tour very interesting...well worth going on this trip

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It happened to rain the day of our tour, so be sure to bring an umbrella if there is rain in the forecast. Thankfully, we were almost done at Hadrian's Villa before it started and it had cleared up by the time we started the tour of Villa d'Este. It was interesting to learn about the relationship between the two villas despite their separation in time. Villa d'Este was nice, but is probably much nicer in spring. Also, it seemed like it was due some maintenance...like cleaning the moss/algae/gunk off some of the statues and fountains. Certainly would have made my pictures turn out prettier. Also, the restaurant recommended by the guide in Tivoli was pricey...maybe more so than many of the places I had been in Rome...and it was ok, but I could have gone for something cheaper.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

good day out. Everything went according to plan. Courier was good and times allowed at each place was fine. Would recommend the tour to anyone who wants to see Hadrian s Villa and Villa D'este

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Fabulous trip!!! Have wanted to see Villa d'Este for my whole life. Our tour guide, Elizabetha, was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. Because her area of study is archeology that was the focus of her guided tour. An historian would have had a completely different agenda. We had plenty of free time and were given information to satisfy hungry minds. It was a really fantastic day! thank you!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a fantastic time on this tour. The very small group size (6) meant we were able to easily interact with each other and the guide and ask questions when needed. Larissa was an excellent guide and made the tour very interesting. She had a thorough knowledge of the area and history and a clear love and passion for her job. The two estates were amazing, the gardens were beautiful and the view to Rome from the top of Villa D'Este was breathtaking. The town of Tivoli was lovely and peaceful and the fresh, hand made pasta we enjoyed at a local Tivoli cafe for lunch was the best pasta we have eaten. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a great tour. The guide speaks good english and showed good knowledge about the history of Villa d´Este and Hadrian´s Villa, two places totally diferent e amazing. They didn´t pick you at the hotel. When you book, they sent you the agency´s adress and you have to go there. But I recommend.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Loved this day trip to Tivoli. The day was rainy but we had umbrellas. You are outside most of the day, so wear comfortable walking shoes and wear a coat if it's chilly or rainy. I wouldn't recommend this tour for small kids. Lots of stairs, lots of walking, but well worth it! The ruins at Hadrian's Villa were very interesting. Our archeologist guide, Elizabetha, did a fantastic job describing and explaining things. The highlight, however, was the visit to Villa d'Este. Oh my goodness. The water falls and landscaping and fountains were spectacular! For lunch we ate at a restaurant called Trattoria de Falcon. Excellent food!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message