Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 505 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Only a short distance from central Rome, I found this a wonderful and easy day trip. Combing a tour of Hadrian's Villa with a tour of the beautiful gardens of Villa d'Este kept the day fresh and interesting and avoided 'ruin overload'. When we stopped for lunch our guide recommended local cafes the cafe near the entrance to Villa d'Este makes their own delicious pasta and is well priced Our tour guide was friendly and passionate about history which made the day interesting and though this tour requires a fair amount of walking, the pace was easy with no difficult terrain to traverse. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and have no hesitation recommending it to others.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you love history then this is definitely worth it. Hadrians villa and Villa d'Este are in such good condition considering and our guide Vivianna had worked on the ruins of Hadrian's villa so she was very knowledgable and helpful. There is a little bit of walking but nothing terrible. Loved it!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Expedition started off with being picked up, which is nice, except we were only 2 blocks away from the meetup spot so not really necessary. D'Este is very beautiful and worth seeing. Hadrian's is definitely in worse shape, A lot of the buildings are destroyed but still worth the trip. Our guide was ok... she spoke in such a nonchalant way I couldn't tell if she was just filling in time or actually cared. I think it was a bit of a hard balance between giving us enough time to explore ourselves, and getting info from the tour guide, felt a bit rushed on both parts.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

ample time to walk around and take pictures in villa d'este, but low season tour cannot see the water organ functioning... nice walk in hadrian's villa.

our driver Giovanni and our tour guide Katylene (apologies if i spelt her name wrongly) are great.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Ótima opção para conhecer as atrações do Tivoli, ja que a logística para ir sozinho não é simples... Tanto a Villa d'Este como a de Hadrian são imperdíveis e bastante desconhecidas pelos turistas que normalmente não conseguem organizar a agenda para incluir o passeio na agenda... Mas vale a pena... Nossa guia foi ótima e super conhecedora dos sites

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Viviana Carbonara was great, she was very informative about Hadrians villa and Villa D'este plus she gave us good time in the city of Tivoli to explore and eat lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

on a very wet day we were warmed by the spirit and enthusiasm of our guide and a real chance to see Hadrians villa without throngs of tourists. At lunch we were advised that the fountains at Villa destre were not working due to the excessive rain. Despite this we had a great visit and the guide and driver took us back a different route to see spectacular waterfalls. We had a really good day...and appreciated the willingness of the Tour company to make it happen with only 6 people booked and in terrible weather. Will be back in the sun and will choose same tour company.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

George M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I enjoyed the trip, but feel I could have done this one on my own at half the price and actually seen much more. This trip was spun out to the point where most people in the group were getting bored (11 people in the group) The guide talked endlessly about everything. We even stopped at his favorite olive tree to talk about it . We walked around at a snails pace and then stood at each point for ages. We were given no free time to wonder about. I was at Hardian's villa for over two hours but feel that I missed out seeing more of the huge place. I wanted postcards from the shop but was rushed onto the bus . In the second Villa we wanted to wonder around as everything was going far too slowly for us, but we were told to stay in the group, Even though it was a small place . Same routine as before , walking as slow as possible and talking about every single thing we came across. Spun out . Finally we were told we had 15 minutes free time, but realised it was around 15 minutes to climb back up to the meeting point, Again no time given to buy cards or gifts from the little shop. This trip was expensive and I feel I could have done this on my own at half the price and seen much more. Free time to wonder around a place should be given if some of the people want it and the people who don't want to wonder around can stay at the guides side.
This trip is to expensive not to allow individuals freedom to experience these fantastic villas.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A very enjoyable day trip, were luck to be with a good group of travellers. Hadrian's Villa was nothing like I imagined it was BETTER - Same with Villa d'Este, I had no idea what it would be like and it was beautiful. I never seen so many waterfalls or fountains.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

MatiNacho
Costa Rica

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Both sites are very beautiful and impressive. Hadrian's Villa is a huge, however you only get to see part of it because there's not enough time.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Whilst the actual places were great to see, the walk from the lower car park at Hadrians villa up the hill is VERY difficult for old people or people with injuries. The walk goes up a road and there is plenty of bus size parking at the top so it would have been far better to be able to get off the bus at the top. This would also provide for more time at the actual site to look around.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent, could have spent more time at Hadrian's Villa as it is so vast.
Villa d'Este was well worth the visit and the water gardens were breathtaking.
The guide was knowledgeable and friendly.
Overall excellent trip and highly recommended.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour stared on time and it was such a pleasure to take a break from Rome and go to Tivoli. I forgot the name of our tour guide, but she was fantastic. She is clearly very passionate about the history on the sights that we visited. On our arrival back in a Rome, she arranged with the driver to drop us off at Termini, which was far more convenient than having to walk from the official drop off point.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Touring the town of Tivoli, Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este gave us a chance to see more than the usual "Top 10 Tourist Attractions of Rome!" The Villas are incredible, especially the gardens with all of the fountains. I was also especially impressed by our very knowledgeable and linguistically talented guide who provided explanations to our multi-linguistic group in English, Spanish and French. The view of Rome from the hilltop Villas and the short ride through the countryside were new views that enhanced this my third visit to Rome.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I am a Hadrian fan so seeing his Tivoli villa was awesome, but must say Villa d'Este was an unexpected surprise what a great half day tour. Luckily for us the weather was beautiful and absolutely no crowd to deal with at either location. A win, win!!

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message