Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 513 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about it, both destinations were well worth seeing. Great tour guide. Villa D'Este was stunning with all the fountains. I enjoyed Hadrian's villa more than Pompeii, great insight into how they must have lived. Only downside was the couple who went missing which kept the rest of the tour waiting on the bus for 30 minutes, extremely bad manners and not even a sorry.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent tour and my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We took a similar tour several years ago but the guide only gave us the option of Villa D'Este OR Hadrian's villa so we opted for the former, despite the tour being advertised as visiting both sites. I was somewhat worried that this would be the same case this year but no, Catherine and her Spanish speaking colleague showed us around Villa Adriana with plenty of historical detail and time to enjoy the surroundings and to take photographs before transporting us to Villa D'Este where she showed us the '100 Fountains' and we were then free to wander around the villa and the beautiful gardens for an hour before returning to the coach for the 30 minute journey back to Rome. At no time did we feel rushed and we even managed to fit in an excellent panini and ice cream at the small restaurant in the square outside Villa D'Este. A good end to a good day... Our return drop off point left us a short taxi ride from our hotel - we felt like treating ourselves rather than take the metro and walk! I can certainly recommend this trip but be aware that the walk up from the car park at Hadrian's Villa is a steady but reasonable incline so those with heart or chest conditions may need several stops, but the effort is certainly worth it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, very knowledgeable guide, Villa was a delight to see.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Excellent trip - bang on time, knowledgeable guide. Hadrian's villa was good; but Tivoli gardens were fantastic.Really enjoyed the trip on the whole.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The visit to both villas was very interesting. Well organised and with a meal break at midday.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Serena fantastic tour guide and the villas and gardens majestic and eye-catching. No negative comments whatsoever!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed both Villa d'Este and Hadrian,s Villa = the history is interesting and the Villa in particular spectacular. Our guide shared much interesting information that brought the two sites to life. I would recommend this tour if you have been to Rome before and experienced that city - if not I would stick within Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our guide was delightful, knowledgeable and entertaining "BUT" she was obliged to repeat everything in French because four people needed the translation. Being French myself I respected their request but it was a very hot day and the tour of "Hadrian's Villa" dragged on too long. Villa d'Este was different.
After a bit of history, we were allowed plenty of time to explore the grounds before returning to Rome..

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

We did not have sufficient time to see the excellent exhibition at Hadrian's Villa. The tour guide did not pace the group effectively to ensure that sufficient time was available.
The tour guide, Kathleen, could not advise on the system used to channel the water to the 300 fountains at Villa D'Este. It was disappointing that the guide seemed to have a relatively shallow knowledge base. Overall I thought that the value adding by Viatour was limited and that therefore the cost of the tour was disproportionate to what was provided.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic and Awesome. Villa d'Este in particular is a "Must Do".
Tour office easy to locate near the Terminal Station. Bus air conditioned and very comfortable. Plenty of Time given for lunch in Tivoli. Very good guide who spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent excursion which I'd highly recommend. Hadrian's Villa was interesting as an archaeological site, but it was Villa D'Este that really stole the show. This place is absolutely magnificent and really something you have to see to believe. Its like a trip back in time to a magical garden equipped with beautiful sculptures, fountains, and amazing views. I only wished we'd been given more time to spend there. The only downside to this tour was that the bus we rode out on was in need of some maintenance as it bounced a lot over every bump in the road, myself and a few other passengers felt quite queasy by the time we arrived.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour. I didn't know how well preserved Hadrian's Villa was but the highlight was clearly Villa d'Este. Amazing and the guide was very good. This should be on everyone's Rome vacation.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This wonderful little tour started at Hadrian's Villa, which was fascinating and our guide was so knowledgeable, she made it even more interesting.
After Hadrian's Villa we moved to Tivoli and Villa d'Este which was literally stunning!! Fabulous day (2.30 to about 7pm) out from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We loved it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had been in Rome for 5 days and this was a wonderful escape from the heat and craziness of the city. The office was easy to find, very close to the Roma Termini train station. Our guide, Lara (Croft Tomb Raider...haha....she had a great sense of humor) was very informative and entertaining. It only took about 35 minutes to get to Hadrian's Villa and it was so much cooler up there; very pleasant after the sauna that Rome was. Loved, loved, loved Villa d'Este with all the beautiful fountains. I would recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Tour guide Arianna is a very personable and knowledgeable archaeologist who gave us fabulous insights into the history and original construction of the ruins that we were viewing at the site of Hadrian's villa. This is a huge site, but there was ample time to explore and take photos. Lots of great explanations of the frescoes and history at Villa d'Este also. The completely gravity fed fountains at Villa d'Este were fabulous to see, and most still functioning after 400 years. Arianna expertly timed the tour so that we had a chance to see the organ fountain play - it's only twice a day so it's easy to miss it. The tour bus was modern and comfortably air conditioned, with a good audio system so that we could easily hear the guide's presentation. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message