Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 602 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really excellent tour. Alfreddo our guide was really nice, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. We were in a small group and taken in an air conditioned coach, this was really handy as it was about 32-25 C in Rome. He gave an excellent commentary. Hadrian's villa was amazing. Nothing prepares you for the shear scale of the place. The town of Tivoli was quiet and the people were nice. Had some excellent pizza at the restaurant in front of Villa D'este. The Villa was amazing, so many fountains and water features. The gardens and architecture were amazing. Alfreddo was really informative and had a great time. A must see.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing low cost tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. The Tivoli part of the trip was more ruins, but the Hadrian's Villa was amazing with the scenery and the fountains. There were restrooms at the sites and the guide gives us enough time for picture taking. All in all, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone. You will enjoy it.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a really nice tour and a nice, quiet day trip away from the frenzy of Rome. Our tour guide, Viviana, was very knowledgeable about the sites and very friendly. My particilar favorite was the Villa d'Este with all it's incredible fountains and gardens. So beautiful!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tivoli is gorgeous! I enjoyed Hadria's Villa, particularly the Egyptian inspired area. The Villa d'Este is enchanting! The. Water features are amazingly beautiful. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour with a very entertaining and knowledgeable guide. Just the right pace for the less mobile to be able to keep up, without holding up the younger element. Visiting the Villa Adriana first allowed us to see the progression from one era to another. Highly informative without being too intense.
Would have been nice to have just a little longer in Tivoli but it made the perfect wind down at the end of a busy week sightseeing.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very pleasant day in Tivoli. It was great to escape the heat of Rome and see some greenery.
Hadrians castle was amazing well worth the walk around the ruins of this great estate. Villa d'Este was beautiful, I have never seen so much clear running water and fountains in the one place. A lovely afternoon.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was really good. The Guides are very good and the Villa de Este and the Hadrian's Villa are very pretty.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

SassyEstar
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Elisabetta was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English and both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Esta. Transport was very comfortable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful places to visit! Excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable of the history. The day was super hot and humid, but overall a very good trip into Tivoli!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour of Villa d'Este and the beautifull gardens and fountains in Hadrian's Villa. Our tour guide Francesco was great and had so much patience with all the members of the tour. We had some older people that had difficulty with the steps and he arranged for a cart to drive them around. We highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Rome!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ruth
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely day visiting Hadrian's Villa and Tivoli Gardens. Our tour guide was lovely and very informative. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. I have been to Rome before and wanted to do something I hadn't already done so I booked this tour. I am so glad I did. I loved seeing Hadrian's Villa and learn about his reign and his life. But the Villa D'Este was the pinnacle of this tour. The gardens are so beautiful. The English Speaking guide was brilliant, funny and very knowledgeable. A great day away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Worth doing.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide was a very nice lady and was very knowledgable of the areas we visited. The only criticism I have would be that it seemed the tourist:guide ratio was a little too great. I would estimate there were around 40-50 people on the tour with one tour guide and no earpiece/microphone setup offered. Many times we would get to places and you couldn't hear her speak or you would get there after she had already completed her talk and she wouldn't repeat herself. I'm sure that there would have been more content in the tours of both places if there had been earpieces so that you could hear her better. All that aside, both sites were wonderful places to visit and I would highly recommend this tour even if the communication was not improved in any way. Villa d'Este is truly a sight to behold, paradise is the only way I could describe it...would have loved to spend more time there. Hadrian's Villa was also nice and you really only get to see a sliver of it on the tour, if you have done research into this villa and want more time there, I would recommend looking into the all day tivoli tour because it appears you get more time there on that tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide. Hadrian's Willa was interesting but it was the Villa d'Este gardens which was the highlight of the tour. Just plain gorgeous and well worth the trip. My only quibble with the tour is that they surprised pick us up from the hotel without any contact from us. Sort of odd. They were about an hour early too. Otherwise though it was a great tour well worth a venture from Rome center.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The oppressive heat made the tour of Hadrian's Villa really tough. It's an interesting place with an interesting story and worthy of so much more than finding the next patch of shade and water fountain.
Villa d'Este was beautiful! All the fountains and gardens cooled the grounds and made exploring really pleasant. It's a short guided tour though, so you might want to read up on the history to really understand what you're seeing and why it's there.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful experience, especially Villa d'Este - it was an absolutely beautiful day to check out the fountains and gardens. What a view!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Trip is suitable for seniors too; Especially like villa d'este and would have been great if we could spend additional 30 minutes there; pick up and drop off service is great

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Better than what I remembered 50 years ago! The only draw back was the heat 38 deg. C but at Villa d'Este the air was fresher.

Worth the tripp!

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was well organized and informative. I would prefer more time at Tivoli. I have been several times and it was my sister's first visit, the heat was incredible walking around Hadrian's Villa but it was so informative.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Paul S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Hadrian's Villa is a very interesting site, it covers quite a large area and is well maintained. Villa d'Este was beautiful and I could not get enough photos of the gardens / fountains. If you like photography this is one for you. You need to have comfortable footwear and don't wander too far from the guide. The coach was very comfortable and the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Large group, felt rushed thru lunch and Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Unfortunately, not much to see at Hadrian's Villa. Second half at the Villa d'Este was nice, and saved this tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

chasitymeyers
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Hadrian's villa is ruins which are worth seeing once. I wouldn't do it again. However, Villa d'Este was absolutely beautiful. I understand why they left part of the tour last.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour was just that...ok. It would have been so much better to spend MORE time at Villa d'Este with the water gardens and significantly LESS time with the ruins in the heat. We had only about an hour to see the gardens which was not enough. Felt rushed thru at the end.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Villa d'Este is spectacular! Unfortunately Luigi,our tour guide, decided to speak mainly French on the English speaking tour. There were exactly 2 french speaking people out of the whole bus load of people, so I can imagine they enjoyed it a lot but unfortunately for the rest of the group the tour was a total flop. We just as well could have go on our own and saved a lot of money because the tour guide was not available to 99 of the group.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message