Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 579 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing low cost tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. The Tivoli part of the trip was more ruins, but the Hadrian's Villa was amazing with the scenery and the fountains. There were restrooms at the sites and the guide gives us enough time for picture taking. All in all, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone. You will enjoy it.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide was a very nice lady and was very knowledgable of the areas we visited. The only criticism I have would be that it seemed the tourist:guide ratio was a little too great. I would estimate there were around 40-50 people on the tour with one tour guide and no earpiece/microphone setup offered. Many times we would get to places and you couldn't hear her speak or you would get there after she had already completed her talk and she wouldn't repeat herself. I'm sure that there would have been more content in the tours of both places if there had been earpieces so that you could hear her better. All that aside, both sites were wonderful places to visit and I would highly recommend this tour even if the communication was not improved in any way. Villa d'Este is truly a sight to behold, paradise is the only way I could describe it...would have loved to spend more time there. Hadrian's Villa was also nice and you really only get to see a sliver of it on the tour, if you have done research into this villa and want more time there, I would recommend looking into the all day tivoli tour because it appears you get more time there on that tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Arianna was an excellent guide, knowledgeable, clear, enthusiastic, and with a manner that was warm and open to questions. She made the two Tivoli sites come to life!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend take this trip. Both the villas are amazing and we have passed a wonderful day. Our guide was great!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely knowledgable and entertaining guide. Villa d'Este was a highlight of the entire vacation.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The visits to Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'este were highlights of our trip, particularly the latter. The tour guide was a trained archaeologist and a mine of information.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a lovely day on this tour. We caught a cab to the start the tour from the Pantheon and it cost around 12 euros. Our guide was Felix and he was very good. Without him as a guide Hadrians Villa would have had no meaning to us. The Tivoli gardens were so beautiful, we are so glad we took this tour as public transport would have been very hard and we would have missed out on having our own guide. We have been to Rome before so this was a great option for us to go somewhere different.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is definitely a must see tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the sites, their history and their decline, as well as the key players in the construction/destruction of the sites. Villa D'Este just takes your breath away, and Villa Adriano was magnificent.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What made this your a stand out was our guide Ariana, her expert knowledge of Archaeology really brought Hadrians Villa to life for us. Villa D'Este was magnificent in the sunshine with the fountains absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our family of 4 took this day trip while vacationing in Italy in May. We had a wonderful time. Booking on-line was easy and we were lucky to book only a few days ahead of the tour. Our tour guide, Ariana, was amazing. So vibrant and knowledgeable. She brought Hadrian's Villa to life for us. Villa d'Este was simply breathtaking. The trip was one of the highlights of our vacation and we would highly recommend this tour while you are in Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an easy was to see Hadrian's Villa and Villa d Este. We took a cab about 10 euros from Spanish Steps, with tip to the Viator office near Termini. Once the group was assembled, we walked about a block to the bus. The guide was knowledgeable, explained things well, and was aware of the pace of the group. It was a rainy day and Hadrian's Villa ruins is all outside. Wear shoes for mud and bring rain gear, it you go on a rainy day. We had lunch on our own before entering Villa d Este. Entry was timed so that we could hear the organ in the garden. House is restored and the gardens are lovely. We had some time to explore the gardens on our own. We arrived back in Rome just a little late bad traffic because of the rain. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour. OUr guide, Maria?, was so informative and energetic. I felt like we really got to see both of these places really well, including the water organ actually playing at Villad'Este.
We had a brand new bus which was extremely comfortable for our small group of 30. We ate at a nice little restaurant which broke the day up nicely. I would highly recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Viviana was very knowledgrable and was a pleasure to have as a guide for both Hadrain's Villa and Villa D'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were so many wonderful things to see with this tour we would not have seen on our own. Villa d'Este has got to be one of the most beautiful places! The tour was very convenient and comfortable! Don't forget your walking shoes!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Ville d'Este is very beautiful. There is not much left of Villa Adrianico as it was looted by the Goths and the other barbarous hoards. It was a very good day with a good guide. The traffic on the Sunday was lighter than during the week, so it is a good time to go, although this time there was a bicycle race in progress so there was a short delay.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour packed so much in I would recommend it and also take it again.there is so much to see and guide was great knew his information and made it so enjoyable. The villa was incredible and then gardens in afternoon was breathtaking. So glad we took the tour and place was easy to find .

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this tour! The guide was excellent and spoke very good English and both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Esta in particular were beautiful. As both sites are outside of Rome they were much quieter then other sites. Well worth the money for the tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour of Hadrian's and Villa dEste. Plenty of time to see Hadrian's Villa and would like more time to cover all to see at Villa dEste. Mobile audios were one of the best we have used on large group tours. Very knowledgeable guide. Not a long trip from Rome to the villas and recommend this day tour if in Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the tour very much!Both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este was unforgettably beautiful and special.
The tour was well planned and organized.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Alfreddo provided a good level of information both on the bus and at the villas. We also had plenty of time to enjoy both villas. The free time in Tivoli was sufficient to visit one of the good places for lunch, or to view the town. The two villas are completely different and equally worth visiting. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the top 2 tours we went on our Europe trip. Great guide. Short bus rides. Well paced walks. Very interesting information about the Hadrian's Villa complex and Hadrian and life in the times and the uses of the various parts of the complex. Villa d'Este gardens were delightful and very pretty- much better in my view than Boboli gardens. A lot of water and fountains and statues. We forgot a water bottle and hats, both of which are very useful on this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The first part was the Hadrian villa ruins. It was v informative and our guide too was good. The villa D'este was gorgeous and the trip was really amazing...loved it..

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Both are great villas to visit; both in beautiful settings. Guides extremely helpful; bus comfortable and clean.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, the Villa d'este fountains were well worth the trip, it was splendid. It would have been nice to have had some more time there. The villa was very interesting also, the guides were very informative, we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very nice tour of Hadrian's Villa. Tivoli Gardens was beautiful, but would have liked more tome to see Tivoli.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message