Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 514 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was superb, most definitely - a must to see, gives you completely different perspective on Rome, and architecture of Rome. Knowledgeable tour guide, friendly and gorgeous views. Tivoli is a beautiful town. Villa Hadtian and Villa d'Este were one the highlights for us. Recommended.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We went there on a Sunday, which was excellent. Got a small group and no traffic jams on the road. Both sites were not crowded. The guide Alfredo was very nice, calm and knowledgable. Villa Hadrian was a very interesting site to visit. Villa dEste was beautiful and tranquil. Highly recommended as a breakout from crowded Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Only a short distance from central Rome, I found this a wonderful and easy day trip. Combing a tour of Hadrian's Villa with a tour of the beautiful gardens of Villa d'Este kept the day fresh and interesting and avoided 'ruin overload'. When we stopped for lunch our guide recommended local cafes the cafe near the entrance to Villa d'Este makes their own delicious pasta and is well priced Our tour guide was friendly and passionate about history which made the day interesting and though this tour requires a fair amount of walking, the pace was easy with no difficult terrain to traverse. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and have no hesitation recommending it to others.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out, the Villa d'Esta gardens were amazing, one of the highlights of our trip to Rome, highly recommend this tour !!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This 1900 year old villa of Hadrian is a must for those who are interested in the history of Rome. Hadrian was perhaps the richest man in the world to own a villa such as this. And Villa d'Estes is gorgeous to say the least. The cardinal who built this was an admirer of Hadrian, and he recreated it in a very small way. Both these attractions are absolutely a must for tourists. Our guide was well informed and she knew what she was talking about. Go for it!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Villa D Este was beautiful. It was one of the most beautiful places we saw it Italy. Hadrians villa was cool too but not quite as beautiful. The tour guide was very friendly and the transportation to the villas was nice and clean. It was rainy and cold out on our tour but we still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A very competent and friendly tour leader by the name of Ariana gave us very interesting information on Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. It was a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Two wonderful sites to visit, both very contrasting. The four hour trip from Rome was convenient as we were short of time, but only left 1 hour for touring each villa...this seemed a little rushed. A longer trip might be more enjoyable depending on your schedule.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I was underwhelmed with this half day trip. Here is why:
1 We didn't spend much time in Hadrian's Villa, we only able to explore probably 30-40 of it.
2 The guide was knowledgable, but I think she could have done better by providing a bit more information/explanation. or maybe there is nothing to talk about?
3 We spent around 60-90 mins for travel and 120-150 mins total on the sites Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este together This is probably just what I have paid for anyway

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This tour was ok but that is about it. The trip to Hadrian's Villa is going to leave you wanting a whole lot more. You literally feel like you walk in, and walk out while not getting anything of great value. The trip to Villa d'Este was nice. It was nice though because of all of the fountains so I would suggest doing this in the late spring and warmer months. I would not do this again.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you love history then this is definitely worth it. Hadrians villa and Villa d'Este are in such good condition considering and our guide Vivianna had worked on the ruins of Hadrian's villa so she was very knowledgable and helpful. There is a little bit of walking but nothing terrible. Loved it!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Expedition started off with being picked up, which is nice, except we were only 2 blocks away from the meetup spot so not really necessary. D'Este is very beautiful and worth seeing. Hadrian's is definitely in worse shape, A lot of the buildings are destroyed but still worth the trip. Our guide was ok... she spoke in such a nonchalant way I couldn't tell if she was just filling in time or actually cared. I think it was a bit of a hard balance between giving us enough time to explore ourselves, and getting info from the tour guide, felt a bit rushed on both parts.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

ample time to walk around and take pictures in villa d'este, but low season tour cannot see the water organ functioning... nice walk in hadrian's villa.

our driver Giovanni and our tour guide Katylene (apologies if i spelt her name wrongly) are great.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Viviana Carbonara was great, she was very informative about Hadrians villa and Villa D'este plus she gave us good time in the city of Tivoli to explore and eat lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

on a very wet day we were warmed by the spirit and enthusiasm of our guide and a real chance to see Hadrians villa without throngs of tourists. At lunch we were advised that the fountains at Villa destre were not working due to the excessive rain. Despite this we had a great visit and the guide and driver took us back a different route to see spectacular waterfalls. We had a really good day...and appreciated the willingness of the Tour company to make it happen with only 6 people booked and in terrible weather. Will be back in the sun and will choose same tour company.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message