• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 492 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was excellent, the guide "Alfredo" was very good. Timing is just about right - 2hours at Hadrian's Villa, lunch 1 hour, then a further 2 hours at Ville D'Este/Tivoli Gardens.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Priscilla was excellent. Both Hadrian's Villa and the fountains at Villa d'Este were well worth the day to visit. Both beautiful and educational.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was great and very informative at both sites. Hadrians villa was a really interesting site but the highlight for me was villa d'este. It was absolutely stunning and I wish we could have stayed longer

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Priscilla our guide was amazing! Hadrians Villa, especially the banquet room, is worth the price of admission alone. The water organ, dragon fountain, and little Rome at D'Este Villa made for a great afternoon. Was great to see meaningful ruins without being surrounded by hordes of people.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was actually good. There was very bad weather during most of the day, so they did the best they could. I do wish there was more time to explore the two sights, so much to see and not enough time. We had the best time exploring the d'Este gardens and fountains. I would recommend going to see these sights.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this day trip despite the heavy rain which cut short our seeing some of the Villa D'Este.
The gardens are just beautiful with all their fountains.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tivoli gardens was definitely the highlight of the tour. 500+ fountains that are beautiful and designed to operate naturally without a pump are worth the trip. Hadrian's villa is also fabulous to see and about the size of Pompeii, so there is plenty to see. Guide was not very good.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This trip was a great day trip. The only thing that was not good was the torrential rainfall at Hadrians Villa. Our director was very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. My wife enjoyed the Villa de'Este gardens especially. Long day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The guide was fantastic but we had only about 1.5 get at Hadrian's Villa. Which means we got to see only about 1/10 of it so that was frustrating. Great ruins with lots still standing so I'd totally recommend the full day tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our tour was good particularly Hadrian's Villa. We would have liked a little more time in Villa d'este.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Hi,
The Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Estes was great, especially the fountains. What we did not like was being picked up at our hotel which was good , but then being dropped off in the middle of the city, having to get a cab during rush hour to return to our hotel.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Disappointed in the experience with the tour. The tour guide was flat and really offered little additional info over what we could have done on our own in touring these two sites. Enjoyed walking thru Villa d'Este while experience at Hadrian's villa was not what we expected and not on par with many of the other historical sites in Italy.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Honestly, we expected more from the tour. The guides were very friendly and helpful; however, the tour is too short: after explaining about the palaces at length, we had exactly 16 minutes to tour by our own in Tivoli gardens (which was out main destination) and then get back all the way to the bus parking place (which takes alone 10 minutes). It was over-priced for the time it offered. In addition, we compared what we paid through online booking with other people from other countries in the same bus with us, and they all paid less while booking online through the same site! We don't know the reason for this discrepancy. Not a good value for money at all.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tivoli gardens are one of the earths most beautiful places and our guide Larissa made it even better. Jill miller

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message