Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 529 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I have been traveling around Europe for a month and a half so far and still have a couple weeks left before I go home. I was going to wait until I returned home before reviewing any tours I booked but even now sitting on the tour bus returning to Rome I feel compelled to share how great this tour was. I took the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. The trip itself was very nice, if you like history about Hadrian, maybe you should make your own trip out there and really take your time on the site but it was more than enough for me. THE absolute best part of this tour was the lovely tour guide Marketa. She is a wealth of knowledge, she's passionate and it shows, she's funny and really really just took a fine tour to a beautiful place and made it special. I didn't speak a lot with her but I heard her mention she was an art historian. All in all I would say book this tour regardless but if you really want information, request Marketa.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Adrian's Villa is a ruin of a magnificent estate and you can only marvel at the immensity and granduer of what was, Villa dEste is a photographers dream. The day we were there, there was glorious sunshine and all the fountains were working and flowers in bloom. Sure there's walking upstairs and down stairs but take it easy.
Our guides were considerate and informative. Beautiful.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful day tour, and not too long either, visiting Hadrian's Villa I have always wanted to go there!, then a break for lunch, then a tour of Villa D'Este and the glorious gardens of Tivoli in the afternoon. Our tour guide Vivienne Carbonara ? was highly knowledgeable and informative. Only one downside: we had no time with the scale model of Hadrian's Villa as other groups got there first - but so be it... Otherwise this was a highly enjoyable tour and a great chance to escape the elbowing crowds of the hubbub of Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a last minute booking but the company office was easy to find, we got on our bus and off we went. It's a surprisingly short journey to Tivoli from Rome, and Tivoli itself is very pretty. Hadrian's Villa is amazing but the icing on the cake is Villa D'Este. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and I could have spent all day there with no problem. It was a very, very hot day but there was lots of shade in the gardens and so many fountains that you could hear water flowing everywhere. We were split into two small groups which was good. Our guide Marcetta was excellent and had so much information about both buildings. You have to go down quite a way to the gardens and one or two of our party decided to stay at the top as the climb back up again was quite steep. However, the Villa d'Este itself is lovely and well worth further investigation. I liked the fact that the trip is in two halves, first you go to Hadrian's Villa which is a ruin but a very interesting one, then you get a lunch break at own expense in Tivoli itself. About an hour is plenty of time to grab a sandwich or a quick plate of pasta. Then the Villa D'Este. It made the trip a lot easier having that break in the middle. I would highly recommend this trip. We loved it.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Villa d'Este was gorgeous, it's definitely worth a visit!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent and Gorgeous!
Highly Recommend to visit the Villa d'Este, but like previous tour, they spend more time at the wrong place!
Less Ruins of Hadrian's Villa and more the the amazing fountains of Villa d'Este!

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The Villa d'Este and Tivoli gardens are beautiful. The only drawback to the tour guide was the fact that he was giving us info in both English and Spanish and it was a little distracting. We did not get as much history as we would have liked. Hadrian's villa was fine, the Egyptian gardens were fascinating.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

There was so much to see at Villa d'Este. We could have spent more time there, which turned out to be more interesting than the Hadrian's Villa.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Horacio C
Argentina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It wasn't worth missing a day touring the city of Rome for this trip. In Villa d'Este, the best place to sightsee, we weren't allowed enough time to walk around and admire the beautiful fountains. Besides, one of the guides kept making offensive political comments about many of the visitors' countries, which was absolutely irrelevant. Not recommended.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was superb, most definitely - a must to see, gives you completely different perspective on Rome, and architecture of Rome. Knowledgeable tour guide, friendly and gorgeous views. Tivoli is a beautiful town. Villa Hadtian and Villa d'Este were one the highlights for us. Recommended.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We went there on a Sunday, which was excellent. Got a small group and no traffic jams on the road. Both sites were not crowded. The guide Alfredo was very nice, calm and knowledgable. Villa Hadrian was a very interesting site to visit. Villa dEste was beautiful and tranquil. Highly recommended as a breakout from crowded Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Only a short distance from central Rome, I found this a wonderful and easy day trip. Combing a tour of Hadrian's Villa with a tour of the beautiful gardens of Villa d'Este kept the day fresh and interesting and avoided 'ruin overload'. When we stopped for lunch our guide recommended local cafes the cafe near the entrance to Villa d'Este makes their own delicious pasta and is well priced Our tour guide was friendly and passionate about history which made the day interesting and though this tour requires a fair amount of walking, the pace was easy with no difficult terrain to traverse. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and have no hesitation recommending it to others.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out, the Villa d'Esta gardens were amazing, one of the highlights of our trip to Rome, highly recommend this tour !!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very interesting day visiting Hadrians Villa and Villa d'Este . I loved the gardens and fountains at the latter a pleasant change from relics. Our guide was very good and made the day exceptional.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This 1900 year old villa of Hadrian is a must for those who are interested in the history of Rome. Hadrian was perhaps the richest man in the world to own a villa such as this. And Villa d'Estes is gorgeous to say the least. The cardinal who built this was an admirer of Hadrian, and he recreated it in a very small way. Both these attractions are absolutely a must for tourists. Our guide was well informed and she knew what she was talking about. Go for it!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had a whole review written but viator decided to eat it because I wasn't logged in or something ridiculous like that.
This is a fabulous tour. The only negative thing that I have to say is that the directions to the meeting point could be much, much better. We almost missed the tour because of that. If it hadn't been for a delay in hotel pickup for some other guests than we would have missed it.
One of the best things about this tour was the tour guide. I wish I could remember her name. She is supremely gifted with languages. On our tour there were English, Spanish and French speakers. She gave the tour in all three languages. My dad and I were both very impressed.
Another great thing about the tour is that it takes away the major hassle of trying to figure out how to get to both locations on ones own. It can be done but the potential for wrong turns and lost time is quite high.
The star of the tour was most definitely Hadrian's Villa. My dad and I could have easily spent a couple more hours there but that's just because it's right up our alley. This tour nicely balances a short guided tour portion with free time for exploration and shopping. The shopping is primarily in the little shops right outside Villa d'Este in Tivoli.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Villa D Este was beautiful. It was one of the most beautiful places we saw it Italy. Hadrians villa was cool too but not quite as beautiful. The tour guide was very friendly and the transportation to the villas was nice and clean. It was rainy and cold out on our tour but we still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A very competent and friendly tour leader by the name of Ariana gave us very interesting information on Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. It was a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Two wonderful sites to visit, both very contrasting. The four hour trip from Rome was convenient as we were short of time, but only left 1 hour for touring each villa...this seemed a little rushed. A longer trip might be more enjoyable depending on your schedule.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We have enjoyed the visits to the two villas, as well as the presentations of the guide throughout the excursion

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The villa is magnificent and well preserved. The history is also quite interesting. Caveat: it is a steep hill to walk up to get to the villa. After that, it is wonderful.
Villa d'Este is a lovely place but the garden is four or five levels so the walk up after going down is a challenge. They are quite lovely.
The drive through the hills and around the lake is beautiful.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Our tour guide was not especially well informed and did not seem very enthusiastic about the tour or the things we were seeing. It was all very rushed, and maybe a half day is not enough, but I am not sure as I do not know what we missed. If you are a fan of Roman ruins and Hadrian and gardens, this is a good tour, I guess.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The Villa d'Este was beautiful and cooling. The guide was just so-so and a little difficult to understand due to her accent.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I was underwhelmed with this half day trip. Here is why:
1 We didn't spend much time in Hadrian's Villa, we only able to explore probably 30-40 of it.
2 The guide was knowledgable, but I think she could have done better by providing a bit more information/explanation. or maybe there is nothing to talk about?
3 We spent around 60-90 mins for travel and 120-150 mins total on the sites Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este together This is probably just what I have paid for anyway

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This tour was ok but that is about it. The trip to Hadrian's Villa is going to leave you wanting a whole lot more. You literally feel like you walk in, and walk out while not getting anything of great value. The trip to Villa d'Este was nice. It was nice though because of all of the fountains so I would suggest doing this in the late spring and warmer months. I would not do this again.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message