Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 496 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent excursion which I'd highly recommend. Hadrian's Villa was interesting as an archaeological site, but it was Villa D'Este that really stole the show. This place is absolutely magnificent and really something you have to see to believe. Its like a trip back in time to a magical garden equipped with beautiful sculptures, fountains, and amazing views. I only wished we'd been given more time to spend there. The only downside to this tour was that the bus we rode out on was in need of some maintenance as it bounced a lot over every bump in the road, myself and a few other passengers felt quite queasy by the time we arrived.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour. I didn't know how well preserved Hadrian's Villa was but the highlight was clearly Villa d'Este. Amazing and the guide was very good. This should be on everyone's Rome vacation.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This wonderful little tour started at Hadrian's Villa, which was fascinating and our guide was so knowledgeable, she made it even more interesting.
After Hadrian's Villa we moved to Tivoli and Villa d'Este which was literally stunning!! Fabulous day (2.30 to about 7pm) out from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We loved it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Hadrian's Villa was not exceptional, and the tour guide did not provide a lot of interesting information. I would give that a 1 star, but the Villa d'Este was breathtaking and more than made up for it. If I were to return I would skip Hadrian's Villa and go back to the Villa d'Este. You have to see it to understand its magnificence.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was excellent, the guide "Alfredo" was very good. Timing is just about right - 2hours at Hadrian's Villa, lunch 1 hour, then a further 2 hours at Ville D'Este/Tivoli Gardens.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Priscilla was excellent. Both Hadrian's Villa and the fountains at Villa d'Este were well worth the day to visit. Both beautiful and educational.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was great and very informative at both sites. Hadrians villa was a really interesting site but the highlight for me was villa d'este. It was absolutely stunning and I wish we could have stayed longer

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Priscilla our guide was amazing! Hadrians Villa, especially the banquet room, is worth the price of admission alone. The water organ, dragon fountain, and little Rome at D'Este Villa made for a great afternoon. Was great to see meaningful ruins without being surrounded by hordes of people.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was actually good. There was very bad weather during most of the day, so they did the best they could. I do wish there was more time to explore the two sights, so much to see and not enough time. We had the best time exploring the d'Este gardens and fountains. I would recommend going to see these sights.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this day trip despite the heavy rain which cut short our seeing some of the Villa D'Este.
The gardens are just beautiful with all their fountains.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tivoli gardens was definitely the highlight of the tour. 500+ fountains that are beautiful and designed to operate naturally without a pump are worth the trip. Hadrian's villa is also fabulous to see and about the size of Pompeii, so there is plenty to see. Guide was not very good.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This trip was a great day trip. The only thing that was not good was the torrential rainfall at Hadrians Villa. Our director was very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting. My wife enjoyed the Villa de'Este gardens especially. Long day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The guide was fantastic but we had only about 1.5 get at Hadrian's Villa. Which means we got to see only about 1/10 of it so that was frustrating. Great ruins with lots still standing so I'd totally recommend the full day tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our tour was good particularly Hadrian's Villa. We would have liked a little more time in Villa d'este.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message