Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 486 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We did this tour and we had another wonderful guide, This was a very comprehensive tour of both Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este and the water gardens. We got to see everything we had hoped to see and even had time for a delightful lunch on our own in the lovely town of Tivoli. My only suggestion would be to have the tour company pick up at the hotel in the morning as another tour company did........as it would save an expensive cab fare.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

WOW! Hadrian's Villa is breathtaking in its sheer size, and Villa d'Este in its beauty and layout. We both have mobility issues, but Valentino made sure we saw everything (we were determined to once we saw the sites), and it was well worth the effort.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful day out. Seeing the d'Este Villa was a dream come true. Absolutely splendid. Hadrian's Villa also splendid in a more distant way. It lasted just about the right amount of time for us to see everything. Our guide Rosella (Scarlett) was incredibly knowledgeable and sensitive to the needs of the members of the group. In fact on her recommendation I am now immersed in reading Hadrian's Memoirs. This is a highly recommended day trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

One of the outstanding events of our stay in Rome. The tour company meeting point for this day trip is near the Termini and easy to find. The tour bus is modern and comfortable with all the bells and whistles and a good audio system. The very best aspect of the trip was our guide, Signorina Carbonara (Vivianna) a fully credentialed archaeologist, with a perfect command of English, who was cheerful and energetic and responsive to endless questions. She also possesses pinpoint timing and got us through two major sites and Lunch without ever.seeming to be rushing or "herding" us. We arrived at the precise moment to hear the water-powered organ perform at Villa d'Este and arrived back in Rome at the designated time. Our group was congenial and the two sites not to be missed.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A visit to two significant sites - one Roman, one Renaisance - in beautiful Tivoli just outside Roma. The ruins of Hadrian's palace complex are vast but are indeed ruins. The d'Este villa and its famous fountained gardens are in great shape.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

If you are looking for something to do outside of Rome, this is a nice day tour that is not too far away by bus. Our first stop was Hadrian's Villa, a sprawling ruin. If you like ruins, this is the place for you. Our tour guide was very good at explaining everything we were looking at and helped us understand how life must have been at this place 2000 years ago. Very interesting. Next stop was Villa d'este and Tivoli gardens. Not much was in bloom in October but it's beautiful nonetheless with the hundreds of fountains and overlooks. Both stops have uphill walking and hundreds of stairs so keep that in mind when booking this tour. I recommend it but it can be very difficult walking.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Even though the tour guide was not too efficient enjoyed the beautiful Villa d'Este with its myriad of fountains and beautiful gardens. The remains of Hadrian's Villa were also very interesting and despite a light rain enjoyed everything.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day and a wonderful guide - Alfredo. This was a 7 hour tour to Hadrian's Villa and to Villa d'Este. We normally would steer away from group tours, but were glad that we went on this one - very comfortable, nice people, and glorious sites. Anyone who has several days in Rome should include a visit to these sites, filled with history and beauty. The day was run at a comfortable pace, with a break midday for lunch in the lovely hillside town of Tivoli. Best of all our guide, Alfredo, was so knowledgeable and patient to answer any and all questions. Definitely a 5 star tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything was great, the proposal at Villa D'Este went perfect and was a gorgeous view!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful day out. A well organised day so you do the hardest walking in the morning and visit the tranquil Villa D'Este in the afternoon. Our guide for the day, Felix, was knowledgeable and interesting. One small downside is that the tour office was a bit hard to find and better directions would have been helpful.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Two MUST see 1/2 day trips while in Rome. The gardens and fountains at Villq d'Este are beautiful and well worth seeing. The ruins at Hadrian's Villa, considering that they are almost 2000 yeaar old, are in fairly good condition. Since it is an hour from Rome, the villa, unlike much of the ruins in the Roman forum, were not used as a quarry for later buildings so are still recognizable. The villa is not just a house. Hadrian build a mini Rome, complete with two baths, temples, a formal meeting hall to recieve important guests, fountains,pools, moats.and many, many other buildings. In Pompeii and Ostia Antica, you see how the people lived. This is how an EMPEROR lived. The tour guides were excellent. Definitely take this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful trip. It is not too far from Rome and well worth the visit. Hadrian's villa was informative and the gardens of Villa D'este were amazing. The information given was interesting and the pasta at the restaurant nearest to the villa D'este entrance was fantastic.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fabulous day! The morning was long but very interesting and the Villa d'Este topped our 5 week holiday. Fabulous and not just for garden lovers. Not for those that struggle with walking any distance or steps though, particularly Hadrian's palace- no seats available for those that needed them. I think it should be noted in the tour information that a medium to good level of fitness is required

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide and wonderful sights to see. The gardens at Villa d' Este were fantastic!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you have an extra day in Rome, I will highly recommend this trip.
The villas are beautiful, show casing the engineering marvelous of Roman Empire.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message