Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Tivoli - Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este

Villa d'Este, in the town of Tivoli east of Rome, is a beautiful garden and palace complex that's listed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. The villa was built in 1560 and was the vision of Cardinal Ippolito II d'Este (who narrowly failed to become a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 705 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

FARAH N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing place really fascinating. Villa d'este is really sth one has to see at least once in their lifetime. The combination of nature and art in this place is like nothing I have ever seen. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ehsan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We experienced a great day in both villa's.we had a good tour leader , who knows alot about the sites, and manage group with old and handicapped me people very well.We left Rome on time and came back on time . Hadrian's villa is a great ancient site, and villa d'este is like a heaven on the earth.We didn't want to leave villa d'este in afternoon.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour. I booked it to see Hadrian's Villa, but I fell in love with Villa d'Este and Tivoli instead!! My only complaint was not having enough time in Tivoli as it was easily the most beautiful place I've ever been in my life. I could have spent a day there easily. The fountains and gardens were stunningly beautiful. We also loved Hadrian's Villa - it was a marvel. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and patient. We also had time to break off from the group and explore the gardens. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Jules J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide on this bus tour was Patricia.She was a terrific and very knowledgable guide. We booked this tour because unlike 95 of the other tours, this one not only visits hadrian's Villla and Villa d'Este gardens but also actually tours inside the villa. At the end we were given a s,all amount of free time which was just enough to dash inside the church next door with a some frescoes for a quick look.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent guide. Highlighted the extravagances of Rome. Hadrian's villa interesting. An enjoyable day. Only negative wS having to find a taxi to get back to our hotel. Our rating would be a 41/2.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great and convenient way to see two very important and different villas and grounds. For anyone interested in history, beauty or architecture, this tour is a must. Our guide, Lara, was extremely knowledgeable, attentive, clear and organised. Don't hesitate to book this tour!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Janine R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The weather was beautiful and we were a nice sizes group of 16. The guide was nice but there was no enthusiasm for the tour and information was definitely lacking on the coach. At lunch time everyone got off the coach not having been told that we needed to take everything for the afternoon tour, so we wasted more time getting on/off. Eventually we only had one hour at Villa D
d'Este and I though we would have at least 1.5 hrs if not 2.
I was extremely disappointed as these are two lovely places to visit - and I live in Rome!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Peter W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The 2 stars are fully awarded to Villa D'Este and Hadrian's Villa which were remarkable. The highlight of the day was definitely the gardens of Villa D'Este which were breathtakingly beautiful and extravagant.
I recommend wearing comfortable walking shoes as there is a fair bit of walking which isn't advertised.
The reason I only award 2 stars is unfortunately due to our older female tour guide who was grumpy and really quite rude. A couple of group members asked her a genuine question about a villa during one stage of the tour and I spotted her rolling her eyes at them after they walked away.
She had a thick accent and although she did speak a lot about the places, we had a hard time hearing due to both the accent and static through the ear pieces.
After the Hadrian villa tour everyone was getting hungry because it was lunch time and she told people they could grab a water and sandwich if they wish to at the shop. A couple of group members then lined up to buy a water and then next minute she stared yelling at them from a distance to hurry up because we were leaving - she could've politely walked up to them go tell them instead of rudely yelling across from the other side - especially after she just told them they had time to buy something on the go.
This is just luck of the draw as our friend did this exact tour the day before us and she had a lovely male tour guide who catered to everyone's needs.
We enjoyed Tivoli but the guide certainly left a sour taste in our mouths and made us wish we just did it on our own!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Gina Marie United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The places we visited were beautiful and I really enjoyed seeing them in person. They are definitely worth visiting. This tour provides an overview of the 2 places, however the tour itself was lackluster. Our tour guide spoke with a heavy accent and was sometimes hard to understand. We had a large group 30 people and one guide. There were no audio systems provided, so at times we missed out on hearing the guide's spiel of what it is we're looking at. Our guide walked us around Hadrian's Villa and gave us roughly 15 min of free time before he left us, which was basically the length of time it took to walk swiftly back to the bus, therefore, we didn't have much time to ourselves to take photos or look any further. At Villa d'Este, our guide gave us instructions on how to exit the villa and get back to the bus, but they were incorrect. I strongly feel that with proper organization and logistics, this could have been managed better and prevented many people returning late to the bus due to losing track of time or getting lost.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Julie D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

The visit to Hadrian's villa was not appropriate for me as there was a lot of walking at a fast speed involved . I have difficulties walking and use to sticks. I couldn't follow the guide so I waited at the entrance whilst everyone else went on. My friend who was travelling with me went on the tour but found it difficulty and she did not get to see what she had specifically come to see. The villa d'este also was not appropriate due to all the steps. A waste of money.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Frances J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our Tivoli Day trip from Rome was excellent. Our guide Arianna was both knowlegeable and fun to be with. I would recommend this trip to anyone and you definitely need the whole day to see and appreciate both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

sweetchild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Best tour we took on our trip to Rome! Our guide, Ariana, really brought these 2 places to life. She gave the perfect mix of historical and architectural information and we never felt rushed in either placeas we did on a few other tours. Even the place she recommended for lunch was delicious. As far as the sites were concerned, we enjoyed walking around Hadrian's Villa and seeing the ruins of what was once an enormous palace. And pictures do not do Villa d'Este justice. My friend even refers to it as her 'happy place.' We cannot recommend this tour enough! Thank you, Ariana!!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic and a great guid. There were only 9 of us and Villa d'Este was like a private shoeing. Our guide spoke Enlish, French, Spanish and then Italian to the driver. Our 9 were from Chile, Argentina, France, England, Israel and USA.. Just simply a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

John P S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Hadrians villa if you enjoy learning about roman history is a must

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Danielle W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour!! Villa d'Este is simply breathtaking. The tour was nice and relaxed with lots of information. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

dimple.bhandia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Lovely trip. Worth the time and the effort to visit the two villas which were outstanding.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Mickey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a fabulous day in Tivoli.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a fabulous tour and we would highly recommend it to anyone. Shame that there wasn't any information on viatour about the Maritime Theatre at Hadrians' Villa being completely closed off due to renovation totally understand this, but it should be publicised, we've done this tour before so have seen it, but i can't imagine how disappointing it would be to go all that way and not see what it the main attraction at the site. Apart from that fantastic tour with a great tour guide.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Splendid villas, worthwhile all the walking ups and downs. If you are not a hiking person, you will feel walking too much!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

chrisn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I took the trip at end of November and it was excellent. Villa d'Este is very impressive, the fountains are very nice, there is much to see. The trip starts with the tour of 1st floor of the palace, followed by the visit to the gardens where there is multitude of fountains. It is very picturesque tour of the Villa. The 2nd visit at Villa Adriana is also very impressive. Our tour was moving at very slow pace, so some of us went and saw the whole Villa - the main tour just stopped at main attractions. Really very memorable event, very good tour guide.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

David J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour itself was fine however the organisation wasn't great with the coach turning up 40 minutes late to take us to the Villas.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Tak-Fai C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este were great, but the trip is less so. It started with 2 persons in our group went missing when we walked up the hill from the gate. The group spent half an hour waiting while the guide went looking for them. Then we went through Handrian's Villa in a hurry, only to find out that our bus had broken down. So we waited for a replacement bus for an hour by the gate. At least nothing went wrong with the Villa d'Este part of the tour and the traffic wasn't too bad.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ali Hayri O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This tour it means ''Half Day'' for Villa d'este e Villa Adriana in total 2 hours are extemely short.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Joe Luis United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Skip this Tour, do Villa d'Este on your own if you can. Tour guides were not good on this one and not enough time was given to explore on your own. Don't spend your money or waste your time with this!

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Charles L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip with excellent tour guide. Hadrian's Villa great to be able to walk amongst ruins. Tivoli Gardens worth seeing such beautiful fountains and gardens, both hidden treasures out side of Rome, well worth the visit.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message