The Trastevere neighborhood of Rome is one of the city’s oldest districts; walking through its cobbled streets during the day you’re apt to forget the busy Roman streets and crowds outside the Colosseum. In the Trastevere, you’d be forgiven for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1041 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Valeria was an excellent guide and we really enjoyed it!!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had so much fun on this tour! Hilarious guide, and a wonderful experience that I will never forget. You should however do this tour on one of your first days in case you see something you want to see in daylight as well.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Guide Valeria was very informative and knowledgeable. Valeria was passionate about food and its history and that reflected in her excellent tour. Couldnt fault it. Plenty of tasting opportunities and lots to see and do.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour highlights areas of the city you may not normally wander into on your own. Our tour guide Janette was great. She had a depth of knowledge and presented it in an interesting upbeat manner. She had as much enthusiasm at 6PM as she did at 9PM.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was pretty fun! It was our first night in and we suffered a bit from jet lag so this was the perfect tour. We had a wonderful dinner, one of the best of our trip. My daughter is Vegan and they had no issue accommodating her dietary needs. We then checked out the Trevi fountain, took a bus ride around to check out Rome at night beautiful, and then ended with a short stroll through trastevere, a trendy neighborhood with shops and restaurants. Our guide was kind and very helpful explaining many details about the city. The tour bus was comfortable and air conditioned which was great because it was mid-August. I would recommend this tour for a relaxed low key evening.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide and fun tour!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So much fun! So much food and so much information! Great tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would highly recommend this tour as it allowed us to get away from the tourist
hotspots, try some delicious local food, and explore some of the local neighbourhoods.
Our local guide Federica was excellent. She kept things both interesting and fun
and it was great to see the pride she took in her home city and food.
We also got to experience her favorite pasta - with only peccorino and pepper -
which was delicious! This tour and gave me an insight into both the local life and
food in Rome that I othewise would not have experienced. Definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a small group and an amazing tour. So much history and our tour guide was AMAZING! She was so knowledgeable. It was great to have our small group and be able to ask questions and get so much of the side street of Rome. I had my 7 year old and 17 year old both loved the tour and the tour guide. Great for all ages, don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My 14 year old son and I loved this tour! I can't speak highly enough about this company
Fantastico!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of fun, yummy food, the gal who runs this business really cares, A

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Apollo
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent Tour. It was nice to see the various sites around Rome at night...and we had an excellent Italian meal.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Federica was a tremendous tour guide -- instantly befriending us at our easy to find rendezvous spot and then taking excellent care to teach us about the various stops/history on our tour. We did the late afternoon tour which meant that the Campo de' Fiori Market was just wrapping up. But as it was so hot we more than welcomed darting in and out of fabulous shops and eateries, some cool because of AC, others refreshing because we were in a subterranean dining room. We kicked off the tasting and tales at the Ruggeri Campo de' Fiori shop: beautiful meats, cheeses and family stories. We then went onto several other stops -- all with food samples -- including a bakery which had the best wine donuts we've ever purchased, a restaurant in the Jewish Ghetto, a gelato shop and most memorably, Sette Oche in Altalena, Ristorante/Pizzeria , Reclamavano la Cena, the restaurant which serves Rome's signature Tonnarelli Cacio E Pepe -- also Federica's favorite pasta dish! The motto on the server's t-shirts: Make food not war was an excellent indicator of how serious this establishment is about creating authentic dishes yet still promoting a fun celebration of tradition. It was a tremendous tour with no need to have a meal until well into the next day. Federica was delightful and engaging and took care that the members of our small and very nice group knew how to get back to everyone's respective hotels. She followed up with all in a foodie email communique sharing links to recipes and recommendations for further places to go visit. Highly recommend doing this on your very first day in Rome... it won't disappoint you and will help orient you to the city and where to go, especially with thoughtful Federica's guidance.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Jeanette was amazing and so knowledgable! Great, small group of 6 people, and we learned all about the best places to eat, etc not just about the history. Would never have known about any of this had i not taken the tour. Super easy to get to on the bus from the Termini if you don't take a taxi. Just don't forget to pay before you get on the bus. A sweet nun paid for me since I don't know you needed to do this. Perfect at night because it was getting cooler at that time. This may have been my favorite tour of my whole trip.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

There were only 4 of us on this tour - an American couple and ourselves. The guide was very personable and thoughtful to our needs in the high temperatures. In addition to visiting the Trastevere etc. the chance to learn something off the food of the area and to sample well our several stops did amount to a meal in total rather than just sampling the food were a a real treat. I would highly recommend this tour and you get fed to boot.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Mary B.
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Terrific! Our guide Andrea and his co-guide jacqueline? were wonderful. The food selection, starting with the sour cherry crostada, fried artichoke, ravioli, gelato, etc. was remarkable. It's the first thing we mention when asked about our trip. We had our family of four, plus our guides, so the experience was personal, and flexible to allow a brief detour into an historical church.

Doing what: Small Group: Trastevere Food Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Note: I originally booked this tour through Viator.com and the service was fulfilled by a local Segway company..

We took the Trastevere tour and had a great time. Our guide, Quentin, was friendly and very knowledgable about the area. I'm glad we did this by Segway because climbing up the hill in the heat would have been exhausting, and we would have missed out on the incredible view of the city. It ended up just being the two of us with our guide, so we were able to stop and go as we pleased. Quentin took us to sights on both sides of the river and even recommended a great restaurant for lunch.

I highly recommend a Segway tour near the beginning of your trip. You can cover a lot of ground easily and figure out what you want to go to again later.

Doing what: Rome Trastevere Tour by Segway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a fantastic tour. We saw Rome from a differente perspective. Our guide Riccardo was amazing. The best thing we did in Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was lovely and a great way to see the city all lit up at night, our tour guide, knew her stuff and told us lots about the history of the city, we walked to trevi fountain which allthough is being cleaned still looked beautiful. The meal we had was really good also

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was awesome. One of my highlights of Rome. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about food as well as Roman history. A must do experience in Rome!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Marcello gave us a fabulous tour. Dinner was excellent, and the hotel pickup/dropoff made this super-convenient for our first night in Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely first rate. A highly enjoyable way to spend a morning in Rome. Three hours of small tastings of the local fare culminating in a delicious light lunch.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message