The Trevi Fountain is one of the most famous and most beloved sights in Rome. A huge Baroque flurry (85-by-65 feet or 25-by-20 meters) where water spills from rocks under the feet of Neptune, Triton and sea-horses into a large pool, it's always ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Unfortunately we could not see the Trevi Fountain in all it's splendor due to restoration. However, our guide was really good as he even took us to additional places that were not included in the tour providing us with much more insights of Rome.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This package of tours is an excellent choice, and was overall, the highlight of our trip. The first tour compromises of an easy going walk through the old part of Rome, with stops at the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, and Piazza Navona. The tour guide provided a good amount of information, and it was easy to understand her. The group size was adequate. The second tour compromises of a Skip the Line tour of the Colosseum. However, prior to the Colosseum, the group is led to a small basilica just near the Colosseum. While this basilica is nice, I would have rather had more time to explore the Colosseum, and the area surrounding it. The tour inside the Colosseum was great, but a bit more time to explore the Colosseum area would have been nice. We decided to skip the third tour, the Rome Night Tour, as we were far too tired to even consider going on it, and due to the fact that it is necessary to wake up around 5 or 6AM in order to be well rested to go on the Capri Trip, which starts around 7:45AM. The Capri Trip was easily our favorite of this package. The Capri Trip was very well organized, and all tour guides were a pleasure to have due to their personality, being clear and easy to understand, and the amount of great information they provided. The boat ride to Capri is average, but in order to exit the boat more quickly, sit in the back of the boat the seats closest to where you enter the boat in Naples. Lunch is included on this tour, so it is better to avoid buying a large meal at the stop the bus makes around one hour into the trip, or anywhere in Capri in order to take advantage of this included lunch. One of the best parts of the Capri Trip was the chair lift ride 10 euros per person to the top of Anacapri. Once at the top, you are treated to an unbelievable view of the Gulf of Naples, and the Tyrrhenian Sea. While it would be great to have an extra hour to explore Capri, the bus brings you to your hotel past dark, between 9:15PM - 10:00PM.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including Three Rome City Tours and Capri Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Interesting, felt she spent too long giving us a history lesson instead of just explaining the basics and then leaving it open to questions. Unfortunately the Trevi Fountain is undergoing major repair and wont be completed until October

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was an OK introduction to the city. Guides provided information in 5 ?? languages which meant they were talking almost constantly... but only understandable 20 of the time. Tour was pretty quick through the key sites...then we made stops at 2 less than key sites and the bus had to park a pretty good distance from the square...which was troublesome for those with walking difficulties. One of those walks was to Trevi Fountain...which was CLOSED for renovation. The walk through the streets and past shops and cafes was interesting, but the big site of the fountain was a waste.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Some of the attractions are beautifully lit up. But with just 2 stops it does not allow for you to soak in the beauty of Rome at night. Need more stops especially since Trevi fountain is closed till November.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Rome iluminated,Trastetevere , Trevi fountain grat trip

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

Gaucho
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This tour was ok. We were looking for an overview of the city and wanted something relaxing, as we had been walking all day touring the Vatican and climbing the dome there, and our kids were too exhausted to walk much more. In that regard, the tour satisfied. It picked us up at our hotel and took us all around the city in a clean, relaxing coach. Problem is that Rome -- unlike London or Paris -- is not particularly well-lit at night. So, although we did cover a lot of ground, much of the highlights with the exception of the Vatican and the Collosseum were difficult to view from the bus. We made two stops -- at the Trevi Fountain and the Piazza Novonna, which were quite nice although the fountain is under construction and behind plexi-glass right now. Other problem is that this tour, although in English, is also in French, Spanish, Italian, and German. So the guide speaks very quickly. Frankly, I would have much preferred and English only tour that provided more information in a manner that was less rushed. Overall, this tour was ok, but not great.

I have heard that the Segway tours of Rome at night are excellent, and I would probably recommend that option -- instead of the bus tour -- for those who want to see Rome after dark. Otherwise, an open-top, hop-on/hop-off bus tour during the day might be better. But look for an English ONLY tour guide.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This was alright. They hardly stopped at places for you to enjoy them. We drove by the Colosseum, but didn't stop for us to even get a picture. Kind of a disappointment. Went to the Trevi Fountain, overall this tour was a disappointment, even for the price.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the tour, the restaurant was also very good (just a shame there wasn't a third choice of starter and Main course). Our guide (Not sure of her name now, could have been Sandy) was great and also our driver. The walking time was just about right. Only a shame the Trevi fountain can't be viewed fully at the moment but we understand repairs do need to be made to get it back running to its full beauty again. Just means we need to return to Rome in the future to look at it again another time.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We were not happy about the tour as it was quite dark in the evening, we were not allowed to step out to see the attraction, we were given split of 20mins and 30mins to see Trevi Fountain that was closed for renovation, and just because some other people had booked dinner along with it the next time. We were given just 20mins to walk down to see Trevi Fountain, have our dinner and return back to the bus, which was too little and we ended up starving and having our dinner very late after the tour. However, the guide 'Marta' was good.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

The leader spoke very quickly, in a high pitched voice with an accent that made her difficult to understand. The restaurant meal was "EH !!!", the Trevi Fountain was closed for repairs, and the "view" of Rome at night was meaningless as we passed by the meaningful components at 20 to 25 miles per hour.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent! This was a great tour that started with wine and apertivo then a leisure stroll through the major sights of rome all lighted up, sadly the trevi fountain was under repair. We ended at the colosseum and our guide stefano from city wonders was exceptional.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was ok,lots of walking fast trying to catch up with the guide,food good and plenty but the Trevi fountain was dry because of renovation so I threw my coin for good luck in some kind of a bathtub,I liked it overall(I sound like Rick Steves with this review)

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Van picked us up at our hotel on time. Nice people joined our tour. Disappointing Trevi Fountain was
closed for repairs (how often do you get to Rome to see it, anyway???). Dinner was good at the
restaurant they took us to. The Illuminated bus tour was very good.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

This was a very poor tour. The Trevi fountain was under construction (should have substituted something else!) , The Coliseum was poorly lit and we only drove by the Vatican (Needed to get out of the bus for photos here!). The night club area near the river was a waste. Crowded and busy, it was hard to see anything and felt close and uncomfortable. You need to redo this.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

For me, this tour was just ok. Didn't stop the bus enough and was hard to take pictures with the glare from the windows.I was one of the lucky ones who happen to sit on the right side of the bus. Those who sat on the left could hardly see anything. All sights were seen from the right. I know this is short 2 hour tour but the most disappointing for me is that the bus did not stop at the Colleseum. Bus just drove right past it without stopping as with many other sights.There was so much to see but I think do to the short length of the tour it made it impossible to spend enough time at each spot. There were only two stops. One at the Trevi Fountain (which was under construction-which we knew ahead of time) and Piazza Novana which was beautiful. This tour was ok but would recommend taking a day tour with more time to really get a chance to appreciate all the beauty and architecture of all that there is to see. Also, pick up from hotel doesn't necessarily mean drop off. Depending on where your hotel is located you will be dropped off as close as possible. As for me my hotel was located up a very long and narrow hill which the large bus coming home could not fit on the street. We were dropped off under the bridge and had an extremely lengthy walk up to our hotel at 10.45pm on our first night in Rome. Was a little scary not knowing the area well. Guide was well informed and sweet. Only problem is that she spoke 3 languages so by the time she got back to English some of the sights were already passed.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The tour guide was very nice. The bus was comfortable. I really didn't feel that I learned much on this tour. It is a bilingual tour so you really only get half as much info as you might on another tour. On the bus I was on they had one explanation in Italian then English etc. You only get off the bus at Trevi fountain. It would be much better to get off at a few locations with a nice explanation of each. Next time I will find something else.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! Many thanks to Dario - our tour guide! We had fantastic time and met some new friends during the tour. Keep in mind that many fountains including the Trevi fountain are under the restoration. nevertheless we had a lot more to see and enjoy!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent introduction to Rome. We did this the evening we arrived and it was lovely. Our guide was informative and friendly. Dinner was great. We walked a bit and then got on a bus and went to a different area of Rome so we saw a lot including what we saw from the bus. The arts area on the river, the Trevi Fountain which is in scaffolding but was still something wonderful to see along with much history along the way. I Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoyed my night time tour of central Rome and parts of the Vatican. Pretty hard at first trying to find the restautant to meet for the tour and meal. I was able to spend the evening with 4 other people and they were very nice and some seasoned travelers as well. Rome at night looked incredible, people everywhere visiting all the sites, cafe's were packed and just was a great evening. Our tour guide was a really nice young lady, knew her material about everything she was showing up inside and out! The down side was Trevi Fountain was under construction like I knew prior to booking this excursion. But overall, I think whoever books this night tour will enjoy themselves and get a good feel and appreciation for Rome and all it's rich history and wonderful sites you go on for the three hours your on it. Can't miss time on this tour!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was nice to see the buildings lit up, but I was basically disappointed. I couldn't hear the tour guide very well. The Trevi Fountain is being worked on, so why couldn't the tour go to another area?

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The Trevi Fountain was under construction and we didn't get reimbursed. It was boring and long in the sweltering heat. You could skip this tour.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was very average and not professionally run at all. The dinner at the restaurant they take you too was very average. I am not a fussy eater and eat anything, but the food was very poor and you could tell it had been frozen and reheated.. I would not recommend this tour. We didn't see many of the illuminations at all, and I got a much better experience on the hop on hop off bus tour! Showed us some party area of Rome, drove past the colloseum, and saw the trevi fountain and that was about it. I wouldn't call that seeing the illuminations! No real history given of Rome, no information about buildings or what we were seeing. When you go to sign in for the tour the office is unprofessional, very unfriendly and they didn't seem to know what they were doing. The hop on hop off bus was much better value and had better information given through the audio guide. I wasn't the only one on the tour feeling this way. The worst thing about the whole tour was It said that there was hotel drop off on the tour, and we very specifically gave address and hotel many times. They said "here is your hotel". I said to them "this doesn't look anywhere near our hotel that I've given you" he then said "Yes it's just up that street there".. and where they dropped us off was NO WHERE NEAR our hotel at all.. Luckily we had our map with us, and turns out they dropped us off on the other side of Rome in some dark alleyway and we had to get a cab back to our hotel - cost nearly 20 euro! Very very unimpressed. Would never use that tour company again!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

with the Trevi fountain under construction, it would have been more enjoyable to stop at another spot (possibly the Collosum) for photos.

In addition two language tours on buses don't work. The voice just becomes a blurr, and its not enjoyable.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

KimJim
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a fantastic meal. The tour guide was exceptional. We were a little disappointed that the Trevi fountain was all covered up but I guess they must try and maintain the masterpieces of art.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message