The Trevi Fountain is one of the most famous and most beloved sights in Rome. A huge Baroque flurry (85 by 65 feet or 25 by 20 meters) where water spills from rocks under the feet of Neptune, Triton and sea-horses into a large pool, it's always ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was very average and not professionally run at all. The dinner at the restaurant they take you too was very average. I am not a fussy eater and eat anything, but the food was very poor and you could tell it had been frozen and reheated.. I would not recommend this tour. We didn't see many of the illuminations at all, and I got a much better experience on the hop on hop off bus tour! Showed us some party area of Rome, drove past the colloseum, and saw the trevi fountain and that was about it. I wouldn't call that seeing the illuminations! No real history given of Rome, no information about buildings or what we were seeing. When you go to sign in for the tour the office is unprofessional, very unfriendly and they didn't seem to know what they were doing. The hop on hop off bus was much better value and had better information given through the audio guide. I wasn't the only one on the tour feeling this way. The worst thing about the whole tour was It said that there was hotel drop off on the tour, and we very specifically gave address and hotel many times. They said "here is your hotel". I said to them "this doesn't look anywhere near our hotel that I've given you" he then said "Yes it's just up that street there".. and where they dropped us off was NO WHERE NEAR our hotel at all.. Luckily we had our map with us, and turns out they dropped us off on the other side of Rome in some dark alleyway and we had to get a cab back to our hotel - cost nearly 20 euro! Very very unimpressed. Would never use that tour company again!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

KimJim
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a fantastic meal. The tour guide was exceptional. We were a little disappointed that the Trevi fountain was all covered up but I guess they must try and maintain the masterpieces of art.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Sharron H
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

While I enjoyed this tour, I have to admit I was quite disappointed in it. We did the bus 'by night' tour at the start of our holiday, and then did a walking 'by night' tour at the end, and I would definitely recommend the walking tour rather than the bus tour. While the tour itself was pleasant enough - our guide was really nice and helpful, the coach was comfortable and nicely air-conditioned - the highlights of the tour were when we actually got off the bus and walked for a while (at the Trevi Fountain, which is currently being renovated, and the lovely Piazza Navona). The rest of the tour felt rushed, whizzing us past sights where we would have liked to get off the bus and take some pictures (especially at the Vatican). The quality of the PA system in the bus also left a lot to be desired, so we couldn't always catch what our guide was saying, and even though the tour was advertised as an English language tour, she was having to repeat what she was saying in five different languages, which was a little bit irritating. (Presumably there weren't enough bookings to justify an English-only tour.) The American tourists behind us were clearly bored, having snuck some booze on board, so it became increasingly more difficult to hear the tour guide over their conversation, which gradually increased in volume as the tour went on.
While this was a nice way to cover a lot of sights in a short time and in an effortless fashion, I would probably suggest you might get more out of a walking tour if you have the energy!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was great, getting to see the Pantheon, and all sorts of other awesome places. They didn't let us walk over the Trevi fountain as was promised (due to closure) however.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This tour was not worth it. I would have liked to at least have an opportunity to take a photograph of the lovely buildings and sites. Also I feel we should have been warned that the Trevi fountain was under construction. It was very dissapointing to finaly get there and the fountain was under construction. We could have skipped this part. The bus ride is exactly that. A bus that drives pass all the sites, slowing down but still moving. It makes taking photos very difficult espcially in the evening with the glare of the lights in the bus windows.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Did not enjoy this tour at all. Tour guide was italian and was translating into both german and english in our earpieces. After a while stopped listening as very strong accent made it difficult to understand the english version and tired of having to continuously listen when talking changed from german to english. Nothing to actually do with tour or guide but it was very disappointing to discover the Trevi Fountain out of action.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I was disappointed as the trevi fountain was empty and being updated/restored. This was something I hoped to see but ..... Tour guide a little difficult to understand only through language barrier....other way was enjoyable. Pantheon was as amazing as it looked in its pictures

Lorenzo the head tour guide at the meeting point (breaking people in to their respective groups), was fantastic, funny, well organised and had a fabulous English speaking ability. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our lady guide, can't recall her name, was outstanding....doing at least four different languages! The Trevi Fountain was under renovation and not lit that evening, , but can't prevent that.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Trevi fountain and the fountain at Spanish steps are being restored and so that was a big disappointment and a slow start to the tour. Pantheon and piazza navona are worth visiting. Tour guide was great, but the tour lacks a bit due to restoration work on two key sites.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I found this rather rushed. We were taken to all the places listed but it was a drive by. Most of our pictures were from the bus. We got off the bus for the Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona. Unfortunately while we were there the Trevi Fountain was covered in scaffolding and will be until at least the end of 2015 so I'm told. The guide was not the greatest.....or maybe I was just too tired having arrived the morning and having flown all night long.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tour was Ok, The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke good English. The tour itself was very basic. I was hoping to hop off to get some night shots of Rome, which wasn't the case.
Trevi Fountain is closed so that was pointless, but overall got a decent feel of the City.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The lady pretty patient when she taught us how to use the segway. She was very attentive while we were driving and made it very interesting. Groups are smaller than listed here (might have been a slow day). The videos and audio clips they played weren't that interesting and the tour guide seemed disengaged at those times. Overall the tour was beautiful, except all the big parts were being renovated (trevi fountain and spanish steps) and we were not told of this earlier when we were booking. It is not worth the price of the full tour due to those uncontrollable factors.

Doing what: Rome Night Segway Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Because I was in Rome several days without my husband, I was able to take tours of Rome that he was not able to take. I wanted him to be able to see some of Rome’s amazing sights too, so we signed up for this tour. The entire tour is on a bus. While we were provided some substance about the sights we passed, there was an odd commercial skew. The names and locations of designer products were mentioned repeatedly. But while we drove by the Colosseum and St. Peter’s Basilica, the bus did not stop to allow us to take pictures. And the bus did not go by the Pantheon at all, let alone stop there. Though all these buildings were closed, the buildings were well-lit and there were many tourists around these sights taking photos. Instead, we only got off the bus to see the Trevi Fountain (which was under construction) and to see the fountains in Piazza Navona. There was comparatively little sight-seeing value in stopping at these locations. So why did we stop there? Because, in order to get to the fountains, we had to walk by dozens of eateries and souvenir shops. It was quite clear to me that the sole purpose of the Rome by Night tour is to provide patrons for the commercial establishments in these locations. I would not be surprised if the tour operators get kickbacks from those establishments. Unless this is all you want to see of Rome, do not waste your money on this tour. If at all possible, take another tour instead. Viator’s Ancient Rome and Vatican tours (with City Wonders) were great. Even the hop-on-hop-off bus tour was a lot better than this one.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did the combined morning/afternoon tours of Colosseum Tour with Roman Forum and Palatine Hill in the morning, and Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain in the afternoon. It's a long day, so be sure you are up for it. With limited time in Rome, this was a wonderful day where we saw and experienced as much of Rome as possible in one day (we did the Vatican Tour the day before). Both our guides were excellent.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent. We went back to the Pantheon to see the art works a bit closer. Very disappointed that the Trevi Fountain and the fountain at the Spanish steps were under repair.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message