The Trevi Fountain is one of the most famous and most beloved sights in Rome. A huge Baroque flurry (85-by-65 feet or 25-by-20 meters) where water spills from rocks under the feet of Neptune, Triton and sea-horses into a large pool, it's always ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Dinner was great. We were disappointed in the tour since we thought the famous Rome sights would include sights around the Trevi Fountain, including the Spanish Steps and Pantheon. I had planned on seeing these on this tour. I would have preferred walking I this area instead of riding on a bus to another very crowded area and walking. The pickup and return from our hotel was good, but we were have preferred more walking and less riding.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was pretty fun! It was our first night in and we suffered a bit from jet lag so this was the perfect tour. We had a wonderful dinner, one of the best of our trip. My daughter is Vegan and they had no issue accommodating her dietary needs. We then checked out the Trevi fountain, took a bus ride around to check out Rome at night beautiful, and then ended with a short stroll through trastevere, a trendy neighborhood with shops and restaurants. Our guide was kind and very helpful explaining many details about the city. The tour bus was comfortable and air conditioned which was great because it was mid-August. I would recommend this tour for a relaxed low key evening.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This tour did show every monumental building of Rome, a lot of time was allocated for the Trevi Fountain, however it was under construction. The tour guide was very informative and knew a great detail about Rome. The only downside was that the tour took too long and we ended up back at our hotel, just before midnight.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was lovely and a great way to see the city all lit up at night, our tour guide, knew her stuff and told us lots about the history of the city, we walked to trevi fountain which allthough is being cleaned still looked beautiful. The meal we had was really good also

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We totally enjoyed our walking tour of the Spanish Steps.Trevi Fountain area...and the underground part of it was totally fascinating! Trevi, of course, is under reconstruction, so that was a great disappointment. Tour guide was great!

Doing what: Best Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain Underground Small-Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Trevi Fountain was under construction, pantheon was closed, what do you think?

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was not really what we expected. There seemed to be more time spent walking than there was on the bus. Also, the guide seemed to want us to remain in the square where she ended the tour, and urged us to walk back to our hotels from there because it was such a beautiful night Had we wanted to walk we wouldn't have booked a bus tour! Some of the people on the tour were not able to walk and had to remain near the bus while the rest of us went to see the Fountain of Trevi. We did return to our hotel on the bus and were pleased that we were taken right to the door.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Unfortunately we could not see the Trevi Fountain in all it's splendor due to restoration. However, our guide was really good as he even took us to additional places that were not included in the tour providing us with much more insights of Rome.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This package of tours is an excellent choice, and was overall, the highlight of our trip. The first tour compromises of an easy going walk through the old part of Rome, with stops at the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, and Piazza Navona. The tour guide provided a good amount of information, and it was easy to understand her. The group size was adequate. The second tour compromises of a Skip the Line tour of the Colosseum. However, prior to the Colosseum, the group is led to a small basilica just near the Colosseum. While this basilica is nice, I would have rather had more time to explore the Colosseum, and the area surrounding it. The tour inside the Colosseum was great, but a bit more time to explore the Colosseum area would have been nice. We decided to skip the third tour, the Rome Night Tour, as we were far too tired to even consider going on it, and due to the fact that it is necessary to wake up around 5 or 6AM in order to be well rested to go on the Capri Trip, which starts around 7:45AM. The Capri Trip was easily our favorite of this package. The Capri Trip was very well organized, and all tour guides were a pleasure to have due to their personality, being clear and easy to understand, and the amount of great information they provided. The boat ride to Capri is average, but in order to exit the boat more quickly, sit in the back of the boat the seats closest to where you enter the boat in Naples. Lunch is included on this tour, so it is better to avoid buying a large meal at the stop the bus makes around one hour into the trip, or anywhere in Capri in order to take advantage of this included lunch. One of the best parts of the Capri Trip was the chair lift ride 10 euros per person to the top of Anacapri. Once at the top, you are treated to an unbelievable view of the Gulf of Naples, and the Tyrrhenian Sea. While it would be great to have an extra hour to explore Capri, the bus brings you to your hotel past dark, between 9:15PM - 10:00PM.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including Three Rome City Tours and Capri Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Interesting, felt she spent too long giving us a history lesson instead of just explaining the basics and then leaving it open to questions. Unfortunately the Trevi Fountain is undergoing major repair and wont be completed until October

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was an OK introduction to the city. Guides provided information in 5 ?? languages which meant they were talking almost constantly... but only understandable 20 of the time. Tour was pretty quick through the key sites...then we made stops at 2 less than key sites and the bus had to park a pretty good distance from the square...which was troublesome for those with walking difficulties. One of those walks was to Trevi Fountain...which was CLOSED for renovation. The walk through the streets and past shops and cafes was interesting, but the big site of the fountain was a waste.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Rome iluminated,Trastetevere , Trevi fountain grat trip

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

Gaucho
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This tour was ok. We were looking for an overview of the city and wanted something relaxing, as we had been walking all day touring the Vatican and climbing the dome there, and our kids were too exhausted to walk much more. In that regard, the tour satisfied. It picked us up at our hotel and took us all around the city in a clean, relaxing coach. Problem is that Rome -- unlike London or Paris -- is not particularly well-lit at night. So, although we did cover a lot of ground, much of the highlights with the exception of the Vatican and the Collosseum were difficult to view from the bus. We made two stops -- at the Trevi Fountain and the Piazza Novonna, which were quite nice although the fountain is under construction and behind plexi-glass right now. Other problem is that this tour, although in English, is also in French, Spanish, Italian, and German. So the guide speaks very quickly. Frankly, I would have much preferred and English only tour that provided more information in a manner that was less rushed. Overall, this tour was ok, but not great.

I have heard that the Segway tours of Rome at night are excellent, and I would probably recommend that option -- instead of the bus tour -- for those who want to see Rome after dark. Otherwise, an open-top, hop-on/hop-off bus tour during the day might be better. But look for an English ONLY tour guide.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the tour, the restaurant was also very good (just a shame there wasn't a third choice of starter and Main course). Our guide (Not sure of her name now, could have been Sandy) was great and also our driver. The walking time was just about right. Only a shame the Trevi fountain can't be viewed fully at the moment but we understand repairs do need to be made to get it back running to its full beauty again. Just means we need to return to Rome in the future to look at it again another time.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent! This was a great tour that started with wine and apertivo then a leisure stroll through the major sights of rome all lighted up, sadly the trevi fountain was under repair. We ended at the colosseum and our guide stefano from city wonders was exceptional.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was ok,lots of walking fast trying to catch up with the guide,food good and plenty but the Trevi fountain was dry because of renovation so I threw my coin for good luck in some kind of a bathtub,I liked it overall(I sound like Rick Steves with this review)

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Van picked us up at our hotel on time. Nice people joined our tour. Disappointing Trevi Fountain was
closed for repairs (how often do you get to Rome to see it, anyway???). Dinner was good at the
restaurant they took us to. The Illuminated bus tour was very good.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! Many thanks to Dario - our tour guide! We had fantastic time and met some new friends during the tour. Keep in mind that many fountains including the Trevi fountain are under the restoration. nevertheless we had a lot more to see and enjoy!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent introduction to Rome. We did this the evening we arrived and it was lovely. Our guide was informative and friendly. Dinner was great. We walked a bit and then got on a bus and went to a different area of Rome so we saw a lot including what we saw from the bus. The arts area on the river, the Trevi Fountain which is in scaffolding but was still something wonderful to see along with much history along the way. I Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoyed my night time tour of central Rome and parts of the Vatican. Pretty hard at first trying to find the restautant to meet for the tour and meal. I was able to spend the evening with 4 other people and they were very nice and some seasoned travelers as well. Rome at night looked incredible, people everywhere visiting all the sites, cafe's were packed and just was a great evening. Our tour guide was a really nice young lady, knew her material about everything she was showing up inside and out! The down side was Trevi Fountain was under construction like I knew prior to booking this excursion. But overall, I think whoever books this night tour will enjoy themselves and get a good feel and appreciation for Rome and all it's rich history and wonderful sites you go on for the three hours your on it. Can't miss time on this tour!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was nice to see the buildings lit up, but I was basically disappointed. I couldn't hear the tour guide very well. The Trevi Fountain is being worked on, so why couldn't the tour go to another area?

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

KimJim
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a fantastic meal. The tour guide was exceptional. We were a little disappointed that the Trevi fountain was all covered up but I guess they must try and maintain the masterpieces of art.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Sharron H
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

While I enjoyed this tour, I have to admit I was quite disappointed in it. We did the bus 'by night' tour at the start of our holiday, and then did a walking 'by night' tour at the end, and I would definitely recommend the walking tour rather than the bus tour. While the tour itself was pleasant enough - our guide was really nice and helpful, the coach was comfortable and nicely air-conditioned - the highlights of the tour were when we actually got off the bus and walked for a while (at the Trevi Fountain, which is currently being renovated, and the lovely Piazza Navona). The rest of the tour felt rushed, whizzing us past sights where we would have liked to get off the bus and take some pictures (especially at the Vatican). The quality of the PA system in the bus also left a lot to be desired, so we couldn't always catch what our guide was saying, and even though the tour was advertised as an English language tour, she was having to repeat what she was saying in five different languages, which was a little bit irritating. (Presumably there weren't enough bookings to justify an English-only tour.) The American tourists behind us were clearly bored, having snuck some booze on board, so it became increasingly more difficult to hear the tour guide over their conversation, which gradually increased in volume as the tour went on.
While this was a nice way to cover a lot of sights in a short time and in an effortless fashion, I would probably suggest you might get more out of a walking tour if you have the energy!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was great, getting to see the Pantheon, and all sorts of other awesome places. They didn't let us walk over the Trevi fountain as was promised (due to closure) however.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I was disappointed as the trevi fountain was empty and being updated/restored. This was something I hoped to see but ..... Tour guide a little difficult to understand only through language barrier....other way was enjoyable. Pantheon was as amazing as it looked in its pictures

Lorenzo the head tour guide at the meeting point (breaking people in to their respective groups), was fantastic, funny, well organised and had a fabulous English speaking ability. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message