The Trevi Fountain is one of the most famous and most beloved sights in Rome. A huge Baroque flurry (85-by-65 feet or 25-by-20 meters) where water spills from rocks under the feet of Neptune, Triton and sea-horses into a large pool, it's always ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Don't take this tour. It is a big bus tour with several groups all speaking different languages. First of all, the tour was late because they had no available bus. When it finally did start (35 minutes late), the multiple language tour guides were in such a hurry we could not make sense out of what was going on. By the time the guide speaking your language started talking, often the sight being described was already 3 blocks behind. When we did stop (at Trevi Fountain) the instructions for meeting up with the bus were so vague, we almost missed the bus. At least one other couple did not make it back and the bus left without them (again because we were running so late they couldn't wait). We did not get to the Vatican at all (the main reason we wanted to take the night tour) and the sites we did see were gone in a snap. We felt really hurried the whole time and would NOT recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

The leader spoke very quickly, in a high pitched voice with an accent that made her difficult to understand. The restaurant meal was "EH !!!", the Trevi Fountain was closed for repairs, and the "view" of Rome at night was meaningless as we passed by the meaningful components at 20 to 25 miles per hour.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent! This was a great tour that started with wine and apertivo then a leisure stroll through the major sights of rome all lighted up, sadly the trevi fountain was under repair. We ended at the colosseum and our guide stefano from city wonders was exceptional.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was ok,lots of walking fast trying to catch up with the guide,food good and plenty but the Trevi fountain was dry because of renovation so I threw my coin for good luck in some kind of a bathtub,I liked it overall(I sound like Rick Steves with this review)

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Van picked us up at our hotel on time. Nice people joined our tour. Disappointing Trevi Fountain was
closed for repairs (how often do you get to Rome to see it, anyway???). Dinner was good at the
restaurant they took us to. The Illuminated bus tour was very good.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

This was a very poor tour. The Trevi fountain was under construction (should have substituted something else!) , The Coliseum was poorly lit and we only drove by the Vatican (Needed to get out of the bus for photos here!). The night club area near the river was a waste. Crowded and busy, it was hard to see anything and felt close and uncomfortable. You need to redo this.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

For me, this tour was just ok. Didn't stop the bus enough and was hard to take pictures with the glare from the windows.I was one of the lucky ones who happen to sit on the right side of the bus. Those who sat on the left could hardly see anything. All sights were seen from the right. I know this is short 2 hour tour but the most disappointing for me is that the bus did not stop at the Colleseum. Bus just drove right past it without stopping as with many other sights.There was so much to see but I think do to the short length of the tour it made it impossible to spend enough time at each spot. There were only two stops. One at the Trevi Fountain (which was under construction-which we knew ahead of time) and Piazza Novana which was beautiful. This tour was ok but would recommend taking a day tour with more time to really get a chance to appreciate all the beauty and architecture of all that there is to see. Also, pick up from hotel doesn't necessarily mean drop off. Depending on where your hotel is located you will be dropped off as close as possible. As for me my hotel was located up a very long and narrow hill which the large bus coming home could not fit on the street. We were dropped off under the bridge and had an extremely lengthy walk up to our hotel at 10.45pm on our first night in Rome. Was a little scary not knowing the area well. Guide was well informed and sweet. Only problem is that she spoke 3 languages so by the time she got back to English some of the sights were already passed.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The tour guide was very nice. The bus was comfortable. I really didn't feel that I learned much on this tour. It is a bilingual tour so you really only get half as much info as you might on another tour. On the bus I was on they had one explanation in Italian then English etc. You only get off the bus at Trevi fountain. It would be much better to get off at a few locations with a nice explanation of each. Next time I will find something else.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Poor quality bus, with a bad sound system. It was difficult to hear the guide, and there was even an argument (quite childish) between two groups regarding keeping quiet. We never encountered such bad system in other tours. The guide also didnt seem interested in creating any "magic" around the buildings, and the tour could have been much better, as the buildings look very nice in the night light. Bus should also stop at Vatican (especially since there is nothing to see at Trevi fountain while it is being restored).

I would not go again on this tour.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! Many thanks to Dario - our tour guide! We had fantastic time and met some new friends during the tour. Keep in mind that many fountains including the Trevi fountain are under the restoration. nevertheless we had a lot more to see and enjoy!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent introduction to Rome. We did this the evening we arrived and it was lovely. Our guide was informative and friendly. Dinner was great. We walked a bit and then got on a bus and went to a different area of Rome so we saw a lot including what we saw from the bus. The arts area on the river, the Trevi Fountain which is in scaffolding but was still something wonderful to see along with much history along the way. I Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoyed my night time tour of central Rome and parts of the Vatican. Pretty hard at first trying to find the restautant to meet for the tour and meal. I was able to spend the evening with 4 other people and they were very nice and some seasoned travelers as well. Rome at night looked incredible, people everywhere visiting all the sites, cafe's were packed and just was a great evening. Our tour guide was a really nice young lady, knew her material about everything she was showing up inside and out! The down side was Trevi Fountain was under construction like I knew prior to booking this excursion. But overall, I think whoever books this night tour will enjoy themselves and get a good feel and appreciation for Rome and all it's rich history and wonderful sites you go on for the three hours your on it. Can't miss time on this tour!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was nice to see the buildings lit up, but I was basically disappointed. I couldn't hear the tour guide very well. The Trevi Fountain is being worked on, so why couldn't the tour go to another area?

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The Trevi Fountain was under construction and we didn't get reimbursed. It was boring and long in the sweltering heat. You could skip this tour.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was very average and not professionally run at all. The dinner at the restaurant they take you too was very average. I am not a fussy eater and eat anything, but the food was very poor and you could tell it had been frozen and reheated.. I would not recommend this tour. We didn't see many of the illuminations at all, and I got a much better experience on the hop on hop off bus tour! Showed us some party area of Rome, drove past the colloseum, and saw the trevi fountain and that was about it. I wouldn't call that seeing the illuminations! No real history given of Rome, no information about buildings or what we were seeing. When you go to sign in for the tour the office is unprofessional, very unfriendly and they didn't seem to know what they were doing. The hop on hop off bus was much better value and had better information given through the audio guide. I wasn't the only one on the tour feeling this way. The worst thing about the whole tour was It said that there was hotel drop off on the tour, and we very specifically gave address and hotel many times. They said "here is your hotel". I said to them "this doesn't look anywhere near our hotel that I've given you" he then said "Yes it's just up that street there".. and where they dropped us off was NO WHERE NEAR our hotel at all.. Luckily we had our map with us, and turns out they dropped us off on the other side of Rome in some dark alleyway and we had to get a cab back to our hotel - cost nearly 20 euro! Very very unimpressed. Would never use that tour company again!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message