Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Vatican City

Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8958 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janice D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had read someone's previous review about taking the early access and that it was well worth the price difference and he was absolutely correct. It's worth it to get up early and go because I had taken the later tour another time. Huge difference in the number of people in the Vatican museums and in the Sistine Chapel. By the time we got to the Basilica it didn't make any difference it was really crowded. In the later tour I got separated from my group and wasn't sure how I would ever find them because there were so many people. I finally got back in range of my guides voice, and in the Sistine Chapel you are shoulder to shoulder with what seems like thousands of people. The fewer people really enhances your experience

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Jill L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ideal way to see the Vatican Museums. We had a very good guide who led us through the crowds and kept us together and informed. With earpieces, we could hear the information even if we weren't just next to her. It is very crowded but the tour is the best way to do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Rebecca A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Valentina was the petfect tour guide at the Vatican. She pointed out so many interesting paintings and their history. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

srg1564

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fabulous tour, and our tour guide, Allisandra not sure how to spell her name was the BEST tour guide we've ever had. She was highly educated, extremely charming and personable, and well prepared. She did an exceptional job. I hope these accolades are shared with her. I highly recommend requesting her as your tour guide to Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

donna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very well done tour with lots of information. Nothing to do with the guide, but the Vatican was extremely crowded and it was hard to keep together even as a small group. If you have crowd issues, the Vatican is not for you.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

peter.davidson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

lots of walking. very informative. Easy and cost effective way to see the Vatican. No need to pay for a private tour. But also no way to do this on your own. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour guide, Gio, brought order from a chaotic environment. The sheer numbers of people streaming into Vatican City are amazing! Gio worked hard to keep our group together and told us wonderful stories about what we were seeing. On my own, I would not have had nearly as rich an experience touring St. Peter's, Sistine Chapel, and Vatican Museums.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Amanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved our guide Giovanni Big Momma G! Very informative tour. Even with the sheer number of people in the Vatican, our guide kept us together and moving quickly but with plenty of time in the Sistine Chapel. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Natasha Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide. Definite must do if visiting the Vatican since lines are really long

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Oleg N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth the money. When you see a long line outside Vatican Museum you are glad to know that you don't have to be in it. My advise, dress appropriately. It is really hot in the museum and 16th chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kate K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alexandra was a wonderful guide. Because of her, we enjoyed our Vatican visit far more than we thought we would. She's extremely knowledgeable - I heard other guides during the tour and they didn't compare to Alexandra.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Harold H S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best tours we had while in Italy. The Vatican City is an amazing place and the history is incredible. A must do for any tourist to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable and interesting. We are so grateful we booked this tour. The Vatican Museum tour was one of the highlights of our trip. We would have been frustrated if we tried to visit on our own. We did need information about how to go back through to view sections again.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Teres S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Francesca was a great guide! She was very knowledgeable, we couldn't imagine touring the Vatican Museum, St. Peter's Basilica and the Sistine Chapel without a tour. We recommend this one!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Skip the Line was the best way to go to get into the Vatican and for a 1st trip there. However, would suggest not leaving when the tour is complete and wandering around even more. There were halls and halls of art that we did not even get to glance at because of the time. Simply amazing. We were slightly confused and almost missed the afternoon part of the tour which took us on a bus to see 3 additional churches. Those were just as fascinating as St Peters Santa Maria Majore and St Pauls were 2 of the 3.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Vatican was great. The tour guide was amazing. Friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Dave M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The vatican museum, St Peters and the sistine chapel are amazing and are required viewing for anyone visiting Rome. The tour started on time and our guide did a great job in navigating us through the hoards of people. Along the way she stopped at the most important pieces of art and architecture all while explaining thoroughly the history and importance of the pieces. Thank so much for the great time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Matilda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with Alexandra! She was so full appreciation for the history that her city and the Vatican hold. Her knowledge of history, art and religion completed her ability to offer the most amazing tour. Thank you Alexandra! After spending many hundreds of Euros on a previous private tour guide and walking away with a terrible feeling for the Vatican, you offered a much different perspective that was far more pleasant and enjoyable. And many hundreds less expensive. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

slinder_01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very well organized tour just as advertised. Our guide was obviously well versed in the history of the Vatican and entertaining as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

kerrie.bull

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Livia our tour guide was amazing. Her passion for the history of the Vatican and the artworks there was inspirational. The whole tour itself was brilliant even in the crowds and the very hot Roman day. Thoroughly recommend the tour company- City Wonders-organised professional and made our visit so worthwhile

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Halina was excellent! She was very knowledgeable about all of the artwork and history associated with the Vatican. We learned so much! We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Sheila L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was well worth the money. We had an amazing tour guide. He was very informative and very nice. We met our group first thing in the morning and there was already a long line up by the Vatican Museum entrance. Skipping the line was definitely worth it! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Charlotte B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was great to be able to skip the lines. Our guide knew a lot about The Sistine Chapel the Vatican and everything on the tour,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

darren r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Always willing and eager to answer any questions. Very composed and calm in the madness of a Saturday afternoon tour of the Vatican. .....

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Katarina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Oscar was my fantastic tour guide. It was wonderful to learn so much about Vatican art . Would highly recommend any tour that Oscar is guiding.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message