Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Vatican City

Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8708 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Alex was the perfect guide! He was so knowledgable and yet knew when to add a bit of humor . I felt as if we had way more than a taste of the Vatican! The tour company was very accommodating also. I had made a mistake in our travel plans and they easily rescheduled our tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It was amazing to be in the Vatican with our small group to see the Bramante tower and other rooms that are not available to the general public. The half hour we spent with just our small group after hours in the Sistine Chapel was worth the price of admission. When we were in corridors with the general public, it was easy to appreciate the time we were able to spend in the private areas with only our small group.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Jill C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rosa was a wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide who taught us much about Michelangelo and the history of the Vatican. Her expertise was much appreciated!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Lady 67

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent tour. Sylvia our guide was excellent. It was very crowded, but she kept us all together. She was very knowledgeable about everything on the tour. She was kind, polite and patient. She spoke very good English. We were all imperesed with her vast knowledge of the paintings, statues, history, the basilica, she was very knowledgeable on everything in Vatican City, She was very good at making sure she didn't loose anyone. . It was very crowded when we were there in May, I can't Imagine what it would be like in the summer months. Even though we had skip the line passes, we still had to wait in some lines, but once we got closer to the entrance, we were able to by pass a lot of other tours, and that was great. Our guide was very polite even when a tour guide from another group was not so polite. I would do this tour again, Viator you gave us great information before we got there and where to meet the City wonders guides, it all worked perfectly, I was really impresed on how everything went so smoothly. Sylvia you were an excellent guide. Thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

St. Peter's is beautiful and you will want to hang around for hours. The Sistine Chapel ceiling is worth seeing, but the crowds are loud and unruly. The Vatican museums need more time to enjoy, but they closed early so we were rushed through. Our guide was excellent and the small tour size is well worth the price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Megan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were in the Vatican in under 20 minutes. Worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour. Sirianna was very informative and provided interesting details during the tour. If you are visiting Rome and want to the Vatican this is the way to do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Deliana I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a two part tour, the first part was the vatican and it was Amazing. The sistine chapel is a must see and the basillica of saint peter was Amazing as well. The tour guide was great and very knowlegable. The second part was three other basillicas around rome, A different tour guide and he knew alot about the sturctures and artwork inside. We loved this tour. It was very must well Worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Csongor V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Seeing the queue in front of the museum, I would definitely recommend anyone using this service if cannot book time online. Vatican Museums is hugely busy. The agents were very helpful, it was easy to find them based on the instructions. The process was smooth and we were in the museum no time. We got the audio guides inside separately and enjoyed the museum on our own pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Franklin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour of the Vatican Museums, The Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica is a must for any first time visitor to Rome. Our guide, Serafina, was informative, personable and a pleasure to become acquainted with. Being in a private group only improved the experience as there was no waiting for stragglers and one on one conversation always brings out little tidbits one would never get with a group.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

sarawalsh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day. Doriana was just incredible with all her knowledge of the Vatican. She Made it a very enjoyable day for us with memories to last a lifetime.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Catherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I've taken this tour twice, in June 2013 and May 2016. Both times it was great. The Vatican is very crowded, so it's a huge benefit to skip the line. This tour is a small group max 12 so you can interact with the tour guide and get lots of great information. On this latest tour, Flemina was very knowledgeable and friendly. She kept us moving but made sure we did not miss a thing. Great job!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Eddie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was excellent. very informative, and knowledgeable. This was our 1st visit to the Vatican. He made the experience one will will not soon forget.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Neil U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First thing to understand that this is one of most highly visited places in the world, and it will be crowded! However, our tour guide did an excellent job, and the tour was extensive. I have been there several times before and am quite knowledgeable on the Vatican and I still learned something from our tour guide, she was passionate, considerate and thorough. I would recommend this service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Frederick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was excellent! We met the guide on the steps he took us directly in he got our tickets and we were on our won, Perfect! I got to see the most famous sights in the Vatican ON MY OWN. When I took a guided tour of the Vatican, the guide took us to the courtyard with the pinecone and the map room and talked forever. On that guided tour I never saw the highlights of the museum's collection, no Raphael transfiguration, no Apollo Belvedere, no Belvedere Torso, no Laocoon sculpture, no Carravagio. This time I saw all that on my own. It was excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Rodric M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a highlight of our trip to Rome. We knew we made the right choice as we approached the Vatican museums and saw the line to get in snake back around for blocks. We met our guide Barbara who did a wonderful job, she walked us though all those lines right in. Make no mistake the museums and St. Peters are full of people, but the guided tour made it much easier and interesting, honestly it would be a challenge to navigate it all on your own. In the afternoon we met our guide Pia, who is truly a gem. She escorted us to the basilicas outside the Vatican. City Wonders is fortunate to have a guide of Pia's caliber, she was not only knowledgeable, but very engaging. This tour is worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Paula, is a fantastic guide to the vatican museum and its treasure trove of art and splendor. Her knowledge, enthusiasm and love for all things Vatican was the highlight of the morning. You will be glad you purchased a skip the line tour when you see the line queueing up at 8 AM!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Bernie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great and the tour leader was very well informed. She answered all questions without hesitation and when the tour ended she left us on the steps of the Vatican so we could do whatever we wanted. 5 stars.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Edward J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Dorianna was excellent. She was knowledgeable and interesting about the Vatican Museums and all they have to offer. Although we could not visit St. Peter's with her because it was closed due to a papal audience that morning, she did share some information on the basilica and told us how to see it once it was opened to the public.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Tina M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was great and it helped to have a knowledgeable guide at the Vatican museum to take you through the best exhibits, especially if you are short on time. The only bad thing was how crowded the museum and Sistine Chapel were on our afternoon tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jeffrey S K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A highlight of our Italy trip was taking this tour. Easy access to the Vatican, the grounds, museums, and Sistine Chapel. Our guide did a great job with the history of the Vatican and it's artwork. The Vatican can get crowded, so be sure to use this tour for the access and the explanation of the art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

AprilSMalone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing! It was long enough to see all the things we wanted to see. Our group was very small, only 13, so our tour guide was able to to make it a more personable experience. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Rome, as well as the Vatican. We would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were very happy we took this tour, would have been completely lost with out it. Katerina did an excellent job explaining the different areas of the Vatican, and navigating us through. We were able to walk right into the main security checkpoint and were inside within 5 minutes. The line outside wrapped around the Vatican for several blocks. It was well worth the money and glad we did it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Stephen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

LOVED THE VATICAN!!! Great little country, museum, and basilicas. If religion is not enough to make you want to go there, the art work is amazing. Tapestries, frescos, and sculptures, all amazing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Louis I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was great and Stephanie, our guide was brilliant. Despite having too many visitors in the Vatican museum, she managed to move smoothly from one room to another. Well done and thanks again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message