Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7983 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was fantastic! He did a great job of keeping track of all of us and was funny and knowledgable. His English was perfect and we felt very lucky to have found this tour because it was the key to our successful visit to the Vatican. We brought three children ranging from 7-13 years old and he was wonderful with them as well. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and daughter had one of the best experiences of our life.
Our guide Laura was brilliant as we had the rare and amazing privilege of seeing private rooms at the Vatican and then a wonderful experience of having our group only in the Sistine Chapel.
Just a brilliant tour and could not recommend more highly.
Regards Daryl

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was great. We were able to see and learn so much that day with her. We saw all of the major treasures at the Vatican in a pretty short time. Unfortunately these spots were jammed with other tourists on the day of our visit so conditions were not great. If we return to Italy again, it will NOT be in August...too hot and too crowded. Otherwise I would highly endorse this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Vatican gardens are beautiful. Despite our guide having issues with her headset and we were unable to hear her at times it was still a very enjoyable walk through the gardens. We were given time for a lunch break before heading through the Sistine Chapel and Bascilica. I would definitely recommend this walk to other garden enthusiasts

Doing what: Vatican Gardens and Vatican Museums Tour

Debby
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour with convenient ticket access to the Vatican museums. You can't miss the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. They are stunning to view in person, and the tour guide provided great information about all of the sites. Her archaeological and historical background clearly came through in her commentary, which we appreciated a lot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I definitely recommend doing this. The line at the Vatican is extremely long we got in and my husband and I were able to do our own tour. It was a blast!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the best purchase ever! Everything was as described. Our guide, Patricia, was fantastic! We walked by the enormous lines and got in to see the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, etc. all in three hours. The guide even gave us time to use the restrooms and get something to drink. I highly recommend you purchasing this if you are visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Given how busy the Vatican was, it sure was nice to skip through the lines. Our guide was very knowledgeable and managed to keep the group together even with the large crowds. I learned a lot and saw a lot. A great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide Sara was really informative and also very passionate about her job.
The tour went for about 3hours and we didn't feel rushed and could ask questions along the way.
Highly recommend for a good historic understanding of the Vatican and the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The artwork and sculptures in the Vatican Museum are breathtaking such amazing works of art. As we walked with our guide to get in the museum, I couldn't believe the line waiting to purchase tickets and get in no way would I have waited in that line. This purchase is a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My guide was lovely I just can't remember her name, but she was pregnant! Her knowledge of the Vatican, rooms and St Peters was thorough and in depth. Her narration was light, easy to understand and entertaining. The tour was an easy walk and I got to see everything I wanted to, and more. My highlight was St Peters and the crypts of many of the previous Popes. I was disappointed with the lack of respect some tourists showed, especially when asked for quiet in the Sistine Chapel, so we could all enjoy the majestic priceless treasures to be seen. Security staff needed to be in more control in that area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing guide, great energy that she kept throughout despite a blistering hot day and record numbers of visitors at the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Possibly the highlight of our Italian holiday! If you intend to see the Vatican, the Sistene and St Peters then this is the way to do it. Great breakfast in a beautiful setting then the tour with an amazingly well qualified and informed guide.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our extremely patient and informative guide safely steered us through an extremely busy Vatican City. We learnt many interesting facts and it is plain to see that our guide was very knowledgeable about her subject.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very organized and through. Our guide was very knowledgeable.
This is the only way to see the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was exceptional. She showed us all the interesting small things to give the Vatican meaning. Well worth it. A Must-do when in Rome. You can walk for hours in the Vatican and not know what you are looking at. This tour summarizes it all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent way to view the Vatican museums and the Sistine Chapel

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My first visit to the Vatican, a remarkable experience. This tour made a real difference. In 3.5 hours, to see so much with a wonderful knowledgable guide enabled us to accomplish so much in a very short time. breakfast was in the 'Pineapple Courtyard' outside. Beautiful. Early, quick easy access, skips the lines thru security. Visited the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters Basilica. Only in Rome for 2 days, so made excellent use of limited time.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a really nice tour guide who was brimming with facts and amazing stories about the Vatican, the Sistine a Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. She did a fantastic job of guiding us through a very very busy and very very hot Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We absolutely loved our tour of the Vatican. Francesca, our guide was very knowledgeable, interesting, funny, and charming. We learned all the little details about Michelangelo and some really interesting facts about the Vatican that you typically wouldn't get. We really enjoyed our tour - one of our favorite things we did in Italy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative tour of the Vatican. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Rome. We had a very knowledgeable and witty tour guide cannot remember her name at the moment which added to the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best breakfast we had in Italy and was great to be inside the museum before it opens to the public. During the busy season, which is when we went, it gets too crowded to enjoy the museum and be able to see everything. We had plenty of time to leisurely see everything without being elbowed. After the tour you can continue to explore on your own. We started to do this but it was so packed we couldn't even keep our kids together to get through rooms so we didn't stay. Also the wait to get into the Vatican was wrapped around the entire square. Would have taken FOREVER to get inside. Considering the security checks I would say the line was several hours long in the hot sun. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable, we missed all of the crowds and had an excellent breakfast. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone doing a first trip to the Vatican - it is totally worth the early start.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Oh my goodness to be in the vatican and no queue it was a very smooth tour with an excellent guide Maurice especially the breathtaking cistine chapel and basilica but a lot of the amazing art and sculpture were explained and to see pope John Paul II tomb was very touching
I would just like to say be aware the instructions on were to meet were very clear and it states bottom of steps opposite the museum which are at the back of the vatican so follow the wall around the back not the front steps, just in case that may not be clear i would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This experience was AMAZING!!!! our tour guide the pregnant one was beautiful, knowledgeable and had the most wonderful story telling ability, which made you want to know more and her stories made you feel the characters in all the art work come to life, she was absolutely fantastic and have spoken of our VIP Breakfast at the Vatican many times over. To see the Vatican without the thousands of people first thing in the morning was brilliant the photos we were able to take unencumbered by people getting in the way of the photo was priceless. The Vatican tour is one that I have and will continue to recommend to anyone considering visiting Rome, thank you Walkabout and to our wonderful tour guide for an ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EXPERIENCE 11/10 TO YOU FOR A WELL THOUGHT OUT TOUR.
SINA, GRACE AND SHIRLEY AUSTRALIA

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message