Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best introductory tour I could ask for! Our guide, Paula, was personable and knowledgeable, and she did a great job balancing keeping us moving while allowing us to linger on occasion. With such a huge challenge to tour Vatican City, this tour helped me see all the "must sees" and concluded in an area and at a time that allowed me to explore my personal interest points during the afternoon. Perfetto!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great guides....very organized, and so wonderful to see all the beauty and learn so much of the history of Vatican City! Excellent tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

When you arrive at Vatican City and you see the long lines winding around the front you'll be glad you booked a skip the line tour in advance. The tour guide was very informative, we unfortunately had an annoying American couple that kept interrupting as the guide was speaking. The pictures you see of St Peters church doesn't do it justice you have to see it just to see how grand it really is!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definitely do a 'Skip the Line' tour !! Know that the tour contains a wealth of information and sights. There are many people that will tour with you. Our guide was wonderful. Vatican City was interesting to see and opulent in its content.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing and breathtaking experience. Feel blessed to have participated in the Vatican City Tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide David was an excellent person. His narration of the past and present of the vatican city was simply the best. Time was sufficient and the best part was skipping the long line. Even after the 4 hour tour, you can stay in the St. Peter's basilica for more time or go to the top of the dome. In a nutshell, it was excellent, could not be better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour, impossible to do without a guide explaining everything you see along the alway! Fabulous, our guide was Patricia who was great and clearly knowledgeable about the Vatican City and Rome itself!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you travel to the Vatican city by either Green or Red bus tour which is by far the best way as you get a tour of Rome first and the hop on/off could be ideal if you have time, but beware and factor in Rome traffic but from Termini station about 3/4hr covers it, and there is a long walk around the Vatican wall to the entry point from the drop off point so take that into consideration when going for the start time, especially if you are a slow walker. Book on line either for a self guide, or a guided tour (which I would not recommend as there is so much to see, understand, and take in) it is also it is easy to get lost within. If you just turn up the queues can be a long and arduous wait so take a sun umbrella if hot and sunny. We found the pm tours better as there were less casual visitors around, so less queuing, do your homework before you go to make the most of your time, and be aware of the beggars, they are in your face and persistent, I strongly recommend you DON'T give as they will swarm you and follow you everywhere until you enter a place where thy cannot follow, and that doesn't include a toilet if they can get in they will. Have a great time and enjoy the experience as we did. Thank you Viator. H. Powell

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We arrived in Rome on the Friday and were booked on our tour on Saturday so having never been to Rome before we decided to have a walk to see where we had to meet our group in the morning so we weren't in a panic (we were booked on the 9am tour), we were glad we did because the meeting point is round the back at the entrance to the museums and not the entrance to the Vatican City at the front, this was well explained on the confirmation but we didn't realise how far away the 'back' actually was! We arrived at about 8:15 to have a coffee before we went in at the Cafe Vaticana, it was very expensive 14e for a tea and a coffee!

We headed down the steps in plenty of time to book in and were assigned to Manwella (sorry if that's spelt incorrectly), we went in through the museums, through to the Sistine Chapel and ending up at St. Peter's.

Manwella was an excellent guide, ensuring the group stayed together, checking our ear pieces were working correctly and finding the best spots for us to stand where we could see and hear her perfectly. You could tell that Manwella wasn't just reading from a script and it felt like she was very passionate about the sculptures and fesco's within the Vatican, having a guide made our visit to the Vatican City 100% better, as before we would have enjoyed seeing the Sistine chapel, actually understanding the paintings and looking at the small details Manwella pointed out to us gave it a whole new dimension.

If you're going to go the the Vatican City, go on a tour and we highly recommend Viator, skip the queue and get a great insight into what you are going to see, couldn't imagine doing it any other way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was definitely worth the cost and then some. I was somewhat skeptical of both getting up that early and the price per person, but my wife convinced me to do it. It was quick and easy to cab to the entrance for the early arrival. We had Rachel -- who was by far the best of all the tour guides we had on our 17-day trip through Italy. She was superb and even recommended other places we might visit on our final day in Rome the next day.

The breakfast was great -- "American" style which is a nice break from eating croissants every day. It is hard to explain how cool it is to be alone inside the Vatican city walls with no one but employees. We were essentially the only 15 people in the Vatican museum for our entire time there. Rachel did a wonderful job of pointing out interesting things in a huge museum that would otherwise be unbelievably overwhelming. Although there were other people present during our time in the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's, they do a great job of getting you all the info you need before hand and showing you the stuff.

Wonderful tour and we would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great way to explore the Vatican City. The highlights of this tour seemed to grasp the totality of the Vatican experience without being overwhelmed. No lines, no fuss, no stress. Great tour and guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If this is something that you want to see - I most certainly encourage you to book a tour - the lines are VERY long and start forming at least 2 hours before the ticket sales start. 23,000 people a day!!! - so our guide, David, informed us. This is a must do tour when in Rome. Words cannot express the impressiveness of Vatican City. Our tour guide, David, was a joy to listen to. He provided us with the history of the art work and sculptures. He spoke with great knowledge, confidence and humour. I recommend this tour and David.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A really informative tour that covers so much in just one day! It makes you appreciate just how much there is to see in the Vatican City and this tour aims to give you the best range of experiences along the way. Angela was a fantastic guide for the AM and the two Becky's were a great team in the PM

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Davide was awesome. He kept the tour interesting and informative. I was very happy with how the tour went and I would reccommend it to anyone who wants to see everything that Vatican city has to offer. It was well worth the money and made the experience one of a kind.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Rachel was excellent. I visited vatican city nearly 6-7 years ago with a different tour group and didn't enjoy it, however this time around I absolutely loved it. Our guide was so enthusiastic and friendly - it really made the whole tour experience very pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message