Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 207 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Oh yes you must buy a tour and skip the line. The queue went on for miles and took anything between 3 - 4 hours to reach the start! Lovely guide very knowledgeable. Tour lasted over 4 hours but that was due to the high volume, on the day we went 45,000 people went through Vatican City just on the one same day. Amazing sculpture, artwork and atmosphere. A must see in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Dario's knowledge about and passion for Vatican City, the museums, and St Peter's Basilica really made this tour quite special.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved everything about it! The timing was perfect. My guide had perfect English and was great at explaining everything. The whole of Vatican City is beautiful, but a guide was definitely needed for explanations. And, the tour met near a cafe with fresh oj and coffee, so that was a nice plus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great tour of the The Vatican City, we did the three hour walking tour.
Visiting several museums the Sistine chapel and St Peters Basilica
Our guide Emanuela was very knowledgeable and friendly, her English was excellent, the best guide we have had.
We had head sets to listen to Emanuela she was able to explain the works of art in great detail.
The Sistine Chapel gets very crowded.
St Peters Basilica is amazing.
Well worth booking ahead to avoid the long queue.
Good place to eat after tour is Satiricus on Via del Corridori.just down from the Vatican

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour! Got to see a lot for what we paid for and loved how they provided you with headphones to wear so the guide could communicate with everyone and you wouldn't miss hearing the history. We had a break in between the 2 tours to have lunch and take in Vatican City!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was WONDERFUL! Our tour guide, Francesa, was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and personable. You could tell right away that Francesca hadn't just memorized the minimal facts for each segment of the tour; her inside-out knowledge of the history of the Roman Catholic Church, Vatican City, and Rome was phenomenal. Skipping the line saved hours, and was well worth the extra money. A for-sure 5 out of 5 stars!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best introductory tour I could ask for! Our guide, Paula, was personable and knowledgeable, and she did a great job balancing keeping us moving while allowing us to linger on occasion. With such a huge challenge to tour Vatican City, this tour helped me see all the "must sees" and concluded in an area and at a time that allowed me to explore my personal interest points during the afternoon. Perfetto!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great guides....very organized, and so wonderful to see all the beauty and learn so much of the history of Vatican City! Excellent tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

When you arrive at Vatican City and you see the long lines winding around the front you'll be glad you booked a skip the line tour in advance. The tour guide was very informative, we unfortunately had an annoying American couple that kept interrupting as the guide was speaking. The pictures you see of St Peters church doesn't do it justice you have to see it just to see how grand it really is!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definitely do a 'Skip the Line' tour !! Know that the tour contains a wealth of information and sights. There are many people that will tour with you. Our guide was wonderful. Vatican City was interesting to see and opulent in its content.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing and breathtaking experience. Feel blessed to have participated in the Vatican City Tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide David was an excellent person. His narration of the past and present of the vatican city was simply the best. Time was sufficient and the best part was skipping the long line. Even after the 4 hour tour, you can stay in the St. Peter's basilica for more time or go to the top of the dome. In a nutshell, it was excellent, could not be better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour, impossible to do without a guide explaining everything you see along the alway! Fabulous, our guide was Patricia who was great and clearly knowledgeable about the Vatican City and Rome itself!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you travel to the Vatican city by either Green or Red bus tour which is by far the best way as you get a tour of Rome first and the hop on/off could be ideal if you have time, but beware and factor in Rome traffic but from Termini station about 3/4hr covers it, and there is a long walk around the Vatican wall to the entry point from the drop off point so take that into consideration when going for the start time, especially if you are a slow walker. Book on line either for a self guide, or a guided tour (which I would not recommend as there is so much to see, understand, and take in) it is also it is easy to get lost within. If you just turn up the queues can be a long and arduous wait so take a sun umbrella if hot and sunny. We found the pm tours better as there were less casual visitors around, so less queuing, do your homework before you go to make the most of your time, and be aware of the beggars, they are in your face and persistent, I strongly recommend you DON'T give as they will swarm you and follow you everywhere until you enter a place where thy cannot follow, and that doesn't include a toilet if they can get in they will. Have a great time and enjoy the experience as we did. Thank you Viator. H. Powell

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We arrived in Rome on the Friday and were booked on our tour on Saturday so having never been to Rome before we decided to have a walk to see where we had to meet our group in the morning so we weren't in a panic (we were booked on the 9am tour), we were glad we did because the meeting point is round the back at the entrance to the museums and not the entrance to the Vatican City at the front, this was well explained on the confirmation but we didn't realise how far away the 'back' actually was! We arrived at about 8:15 to have a coffee before we went in at the Cafe Vaticana, it was very expensive 14e for a tea and a coffee!

We headed down the steps in plenty of time to book in and were assigned to Manwella (sorry if that's spelt incorrectly), we went in through the museums, through to the Sistine Chapel and ending up at St. Peter's.

Manwella was an excellent guide, ensuring the group stayed together, checking our ear pieces were working correctly and finding the best spots for us to stand where we could see and hear her perfectly. You could tell that Manwella wasn't just reading from a script and it felt like she was very passionate about the sculptures and fesco's within the Vatican, having a guide made our visit to the Vatican City 100% better, as before we would have enjoyed seeing the Sistine chapel, actually understanding the paintings and looking at the small details Manwella pointed out to us gave it a whole new dimension.

If you're going to go the the Vatican City, go on a tour and we highly recommend Viator, skip the queue and get a great insight into what you are going to see, couldn't imagine doing it any other way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message