Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was definitely worth the cost and then some. I was somewhat skeptical of both getting up that early and the price per person, but my wife convinced me to do it. It was quick and easy to cab to the entrance for the early arrival. We had Rachel -- who was by far the best of all the tour guides we had on our 17-day trip through Italy. She was superb and even recommended other places we might visit on our final day in Rome the next day.

The breakfast was great -- "American" style which is a nice break from eating croissants every day. It is hard to explain how cool it is to be alone inside the Vatican city walls with no one but employees. We were essentially the only 15 people in the Vatican museum for our entire time there. Rachel did a wonderful job of pointing out interesting things in a huge museum that would otherwise be unbelievably overwhelming. Although there were other people present during our time in the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's, they do a great job of getting you all the info you need before hand and showing you the stuff.

Wonderful tour and we would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great way to explore the Vatican City. The highlights of this tour seemed to grasp the totality of the Vatican experience without being overwhelmed. No lines, no fuss, no stress. Great tour and guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If this is something that you want to see - I most certainly encourage you to book a tour - the lines are VERY long and start forming at least 2 hours before the ticket sales start. 23,000 people a day!!! - so our guide, David, informed us. This is a must do tour when in Rome. Words cannot express the impressiveness of Vatican City. Our tour guide, David, was a joy to listen to. He provided us with the history of the art work and sculptures. He spoke with great knowledge, confidence and humour. I recommend this tour and David.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A really informative tour that covers so much in just one day! It makes you appreciate just how much there is to see in the Vatican City and this tour aims to give you the best range of experiences along the way. Angela was a fantastic guide for the AM and the two Becky's were a great team in the PM

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Davide was awesome. He kept the tour interesting and informative. I was very happy with how the tour went and I would reccommend it to anyone who wants to see everything that Vatican city has to offer. It was well worth the money and made the experience one of a kind.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Rachel was excellent. I visited vatican city nearly 6-7 years ago with a different tour group and didn't enjoy it, however this time around I absolutely loved it. Our guide was so enthusiastic and friendly - it really made the whole tour experience very pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. I would recommend it highly to anyone going to Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was very helpful and knowledgable. Unless you're extremely well versed in all things Vatican City i recommend having someone explain it all to you, she knew the smallest details that would take me forever to have memorized and understood prior to our visit!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was worth every penny. The guide was wonderful, very knowledgeable, and the time was well organized. I felt I made maximum use of the tour time and was happy I could remain in the Basilica without going through a line. I would be happy to recommend this to anyone who is visiting Vatican City for the first time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thank you, Marta, our wonderful guide. who made this tour lively and informative. Marta brought the history alive which a guide book cannot do. We felt the little details Marta gave about the paintings and artists was what added that extra something to our visit to the Vatican City.
I would highly recommend a tour booking, We was able to skip the queues and passed through security quickly and with this tour no extra costs on the day. We only had a few days in Rome and didn't want to waste any time queuing.
Directions to the meeting point was correct and google maps helped with the directions from the metro line, which was about 8 minutes away.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wouldn't visit Vatican City without signing up for this tour! You definitely skip the extremely long lines and start your tour right on time. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and conveyed a true interest in the history, art and religion of the Vatican. A must do if you are visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This three hour tour was a great introduction to Vatican City. By booking online before leaving Australia and printing out our booking confirmation all we had to do was catch the metro to Vatican City and meet the guides on the steps. Our guide provided us with headsets and took care of our ticketing and entry details. Our guide provided us with a wonderful informative description of what we would see before entering the Sistine Chapel. On completing our tour we paid four euro each (cash only accepted) and climbed to the top of St Peters, which is well worth it. Don't be put of by the line it moves quite quickly. Three hours is plenty as it is very crowded and gets quite hot and you can spend as long as you like in St Peters as it is at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Marie was wonderful! She taught us so much and made our experience everything we hoped it would be. Skip the line is the only way to go. The lines are a mile long -- literally! My one suggestion would be to leave any bags/backpacks at your hotel. Just bring your camera. We had to check our bag and then walk halfway around Vatican City to retrieve it after the tour. This is obviously a must see if you're in Rome and it lived up to our expectations!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guides was very informative and passionate about the Vatican City. He knew every little detail and could explain things in great detail. You learn about things verses just seeing them. Take this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a wonderful 'introduction" to Vatican City. There is too much to see to suggest this is a tour of everything, but it covers all the highlights extremely well. Our guide was well-informed, organized, and insightful, and greatly contributed to my family's (all 6 adults) enjoyment of Rome. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message