Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. I would recommend it highly to anyone going to Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was very helpful and knowledgable. Unless you're extremely well versed in all things Vatican City i recommend having someone explain it all to you, she knew the smallest details that would take me forever to have memorized and understood prior to our visit!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was worth every penny. The guide was wonderful, very knowledgeable, and the time was well organized. I felt I made maximum use of the tour time and was happy I could remain in the Basilica without going through a line. I would be happy to recommend this to anyone who is visiting Vatican City for the first time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thank you, Marta, our wonderful guide. who made this tour lively and informative. Marta brought the history alive which a guide book cannot do. We felt the little details Marta gave about the paintings and artists was what added that extra something to our visit to the Vatican City.
I would highly recommend a tour booking, We was able to skip the queues and passed through security quickly and with this tour no extra costs on the day. We only had a few days in Rome and didn't want to waste any time queuing.
Directions to the meeting point was correct and google maps helped with the directions from the metro line, which was about 8 minutes away.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wouldn't visit Vatican City without signing up for this tour! You definitely skip the extremely long lines and start your tour right on time. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and conveyed a true interest in the history, art and religion of the Vatican. A must do if you are visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This three hour tour was a great introduction to Vatican City. By booking online before leaving Australia and printing out our booking confirmation all we had to do was catch the metro to Vatican City and meet the guides on the steps. Our guide provided us with headsets and took care of our ticketing and entry details. Our guide provided us with a wonderful informative description of what we would see before entering the Sistine Chapel. On completing our tour we paid four euro each (cash only accepted) and climbed to the top of St Peters, which is well worth it. Don't be put of by the line it moves quite quickly. Three hours is plenty as it is very crowded and gets quite hot and you can spend as long as you like in St Peters as it is at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Marie was wonderful! She taught us so much and made our experience everything we hoped it would be. Skip the line is the only way to go. The lines are a mile long -- literally! My one suggestion would be to leave any bags/backpacks at your hotel. Just bring your camera. We had to check our bag and then walk halfway around Vatican City to retrieve it after the tour. This is obviously a must see if you're in Rome and it lived up to our expectations!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guides was very informative and passionate about the Vatican City. He knew every little detail and could explain things in great detail. You learn about things verses just seeing them. Take this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a wonderful 'introduction" to Vatican City. There is too much to see to suggest this is a tour of everything, but it covers all the highlights extremely well. Our guide was well-informed, organized, and insightful, and greatly contributed to my family's (all 6 adults) enjoyment of Rome. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

our guide was a religious studies major and loved to frequent Vatican City. he made the tour very fun and informational

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was such a great tour; our tour guide David made the entire 3 hours so interesting and pointed out so many fun little things...he absolutely made the tour as great as it was! Vatican City is fabulous, everything was gorgeous and had so much history behind it. 100% recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was very professional and knowledgeable. The tour really enhanced our visit and made the most of our time in Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This in an incredible day in Rome. Hits all the highlights of a Vatican City, then moves offsite and includes the most important basilicas in a Rome. Skip the line access...AWESOME !!! Do not understate the importance of not waiting in season... The queues were long and hot !!! Not with this tour !!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great tour! Our guide was wonderful, full of knowledge and passion about the Vatican City. It is a must-see while in Rome. The tour guide made this a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Well worth the money! Our guide, Suzanna, was very friendly and extremely knowledgable. We did not have to wait in one line, and believe me they were huge, even for people with advanced tickets. Viator was very organized from the moment we met and I highly recommend them if you want a quality tour in Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message