Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 290 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wow the Vatican city has won my heart and I am so glad that I booked this tour!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Having a tour at Vatican City is a must-have just to skip the line! The GA line is very, very long. Marketa was a great guide making sure to keep our large group together throughout the entire Vatican tour, which is a very crowded place. She provided a lot of insight which made the already magnificent Vatican City that much more interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was sensational and made even more so by our guide Natalia.Her knowledge of Vatican City was incredible. She shared enough of her knowledge for us to take in but not to overload us. The private tour just the 2 of us was fantastic. The skip the line let us walk straight through the entrance. It also allowed us to skip passed larger slow moving groups and bypass many of the crowds. At the end of this tour you are at the doors of St Peter's bypassing the huge queues waiting to get in here too. It was a joy to wonder through St Peter's Basilica with our new knowledge. I couldn't recommend this tour highly enough. If your holiday in Rome has one indulgence let it be this tour. It unlocked a lot of the symbolism throughout Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

best tour of our three week trip. our two guides were outstanding and we saw so many awesome things the four Basilica's were amazing and worth the second part of your day. plan to come back and see more of Vatican City in a few years and really spend some time in St. peter's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! Marta was very informative about the art of Raphael's room, the museum, and much of the history behind Vatican City. Being able to cut the lines was a plus and the size of the tour was perfect. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely take the tour again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide Francesca was very friendly and informative, highly enjoyable tour of Vatican City. Definitely worth paying extra for skip the line when we saw the queue outside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was great, she added in small details that I found very interesting. Also well worth the pricey to be able to see what Vatican City has to offer!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a long day but you get a lot from it. Do NOT do Vatican City without a skip the line tour. These guides were the best we had of the trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fantastic way to see the Vatican City. Tour guide was reaaly good and there wasn't anything he didn't know about the Vatican. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide was awesome and truly made the experience! Vatican City seemed like a maze and the lines were endless so the skip the line and guided tour made the trip easy and enjoyable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was very enjoyable, with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide who made a big difference to the enjoyment of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. As the tour name says, it really was skip the line which was great, because even though we went on the 9am tour there was already a very long line for those without an advanced ticket. We even got individual entrance tickets to keep as keepsakes. If you go without a guide, you will be astounded by the beauty and history of the Vatican City, but if you go with this tour you will enjoy it 100 more!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great way to see everything including churches that are part of the Vatican but outside of Vatican City.
Morning and afternoon tour guides were both good.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was spectacular! Sev was so knowledgeable. We were privileged to have such a talented guide!
We enjoyed and were overwhelmed by the history and beauty of Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a great tour! We booked this tour before we arrived in Rome and it was my first time using Viator. Luckily, our confirmation email provided accurate details on where to meet our tour guide once we got to Vatican City. Our guide was Manuela and she was very nice and extremely knowledgeable. The tour lasted 3 hours and included the Vatican museums and St. Peter's Basilica. Both were so neat! So much history and so many beautiful sculptures and paintings. It was great to book this small group tour because we were allowed to start our tour before they open the place up to everyone else. We also skipped the entry lines which can sometimes take 3 hours to get through, we heard! I would definitely recommend this to friends!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were so glad we booked this tour,it was worth the money spend over and over! The guide Peter is a walking talking handbook and knows everthing about the Vatican City,thank you very very much!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour, was so much better than just wondering around.
There is so much to see and our guide gave us plenty of information and plenty of time to look at everything. Because there is so much to see, i would recommend this tour to ensure you get to see the main sites within Vatican City with history and detail behind everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was exceptional, thanks to the tour guide - Analisa - who was the best we have had in Rome and Europe in general. We would highly recommend her to all visitors who want a great experience at Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was excellent! Our tour guide, Susanna, did a wonderful job of explaining the history behind the pieces of artwork in the Vatican museums as well as within the Basilica. She was extremely knowledgeable and very helpful giving us tips sightseeing after our tour. I highly recommend this tour to anybody visiting Vatican city for the first time. We were able to easily bypass the long lines into the Museums and the Basilica. We would have waited for hours otherwise!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

MatiNacho
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide was excellent, she explained all the important things in great detail. The tour itself is very good, hitting all the highlights in Vatican City that we were interested in.

Doing what: Skip the Line Vatican Museums Walking Tour with Spanish-Speaking Guide: Sistine Chapel and St Peters Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Oh yes you must buy a tour and skip the line. The queue went on for miles and took anything between 3 - 4 hours to reach the start! Lovely guide very knowledgeable. Tour lasted over 4 hours but that was due to the high volume, on the day we went 45,000 people went through Vatican City just on the one same day. Amazing sculpture, artwork and atmosphere. A must see in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Dario's knowledge about and passion for Vatican City, the museums, and St Peter's Basilica really made this tour quite special.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved everything about it! The timing was perfect. My guide had perfect English and was great at explaining everything. The whole of Vatican City is beautiful, but a guide was definitely needed for explanations. And, the tour met near a cafe with fresh oj and coffee, so that was a nice plus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great tour of the The Vatican City, we did the three hour walking tour.
Visiting several museums the Sistine chapel and St Peters Basilica
Our guide Emanuela was very knowledgeable and friendly, her English was excellent, the best guide we have had.
We had head sets to listen to Emanuela she was able to explain the works of art in great detail.
The Sistine Chapel gets very crowded.
St Peters Basilica is amazing.
Well worth booking ahead to avoid the long queue.
Good place to eat after tour is Satiricus on Via del Corridori.just down from the Vatican

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour! Got to see a lot for what we paid for and loved how they provided you with headphones to wear so the guide could communicate with everyone and you wouldn't miss hearing the history. We had a break in between the 2 tours to have lunch and take in Vatican City!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was WONDERFUL! Our tour guide, Francesa, was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and personable. You could tell right away that Francesca hadn't just memorized the minimal facts for each segment of the tour; her inside-out knowledge of the history of the Roman Catholic Church, Vatican City, and Rome was phenomenal. Skipping the line saved hours, and was well worth the extra money. A for-sure 5 out of 5 stars!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message