• USD ($)
  • English
Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Marie was wonderful! She taught us so much and made our experience everything we hoped it would be. Skip the line is the only way to go. The lines are a mile long -- literally! My one suggestion would be to leave any bags/backpacks at your hotel. Just bring your camera. We had to check our bag and then walk halfway around Vatican City to retrieve it after the tour. This is obviously a must see if you're in Rome and it lived up to our expectations!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guides was very informative and passionate about the Vatican City. He knew every little detail and could explain things in great detail. You learn about things verses just seeing them. Take this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a wonderful 'introduction" to Vatican City. There is too much to see to suggest this is a tour of everything, but it covers all the highlights extremely well. Our guide was well-informed, organized, and insightful, and greatly contributed to my family's (all 6 adults) enjoyment of Rome. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

our guide was a religious studies major and loved to frequent Vatican City. he made the tour very fun and informational

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was such a great tour; our tour guide David made the entire 3 hours so interesting and pointed out so many fun little things...he absolutely made the tour as great as it was! Vatican City is fabulous, everything was gorgeous and had so much history behind it. 100% recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was very professional and knowledgeable. The tour really enhanced our visit and made the most of our time in Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This in an incredible day in Rome. Hits all the highlights of a Vatican City, then moves offsite and includes the most important basilicas in a Rome. Skip the line access...AWESOME !!! Do not understate the importance of not waiting in season... The queues were long and hot !!! Not with this tour !!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great tour! Our guide was wonderful, full of knowledge and passion about the Vatican City. It is a must-see while in Rome. The tour guide made this a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Well worth the money! Our guide, Suzanna, was very friendly and extremely knowledgable. We did not have to wait in one line, and believe me they were huge, even for people with advanced tickets. Viator was very organized from the moment we met and I highly recommend them if you want a quality tour in Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour guide was Anna - she was fabulous. Her enthusiasm and knowledge of the Vatican City, its history, artwork and architecture was hugely contagious. The best three hours you could spend in Rome. Thank you Anna.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

pharmerfoo
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I can't brag enough bout this trip to the Vatican City.

This is a "must" when you visit Vatican City.

The licensed tour guide is very knowledgable and most importantly, skipping the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I am not sure that an individual just buying a ticket could possibly see and comprehend all that is viewable in Vatican City - the Vatican Museums, St Peters Square, the Basilica, Sistine Chapel, etc. Hearing the history of the places/artifacts through our guide Alex was what made being in St Peters so special. The tour is leisurely paced and just being able to skip the lines makes it so worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We visited Rome two weeks ago (April 2014) and had a very enjoyable experience with our guide through Viator. I'm sorry that I can't remember her name, but she was just fantastic. This is a three hour tour. I was impressed with this organization right off the bat. Their meeting place was easy to find and the guides were all easy to identify. They quickly assemble our group of 20 and the other 20 went with another guide. At first, I was a little concerned about the size of the group, but with the headsets that are provided, I never felt lost in the shuffle.
Vatican City is very crowded. It's just the way it is. But if you are fortunate enough to have a superior guide like we had, you won't "feel" the crowd. She kept us moving and gave us a few rest periods, too - where we would sit and listen to her and kind of take in the whole experience.
Our guide was not only well versed on the Vatican City, it's history and the the art, but she was passionate about the subject. She was open to all kinds of questions.
I really appreciated that she took so much time to review the Sistine Chapel before we entered the space.By having such a comprehensive overview, I was truly able to appreciate the "Story" and the efforts of Michelangelo. Know ahead of time that there is no talking or photography in the Sistine Chapel.
I also appreciated that she was respectful of our time and our experience. Quite often (everywhere in Italy), you'll find rude tourists who talk too loud and aren't mindful of the space that they are in. Our guide had no reservations about asking people outside of our group to please keep their voices down.
I would highly recommend Viator and their guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was brilliant! You would not want to miss this, Our guide, Sev, was fantastic, he was really enthusiastic and knew so much! The Vatican city itself would be very hard to absorb anything without having a guide to explain stories etc. We unfortunately didn't get to see St Peters Basilica as it was closed, but the tour was so worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Definitely if you want to visit the Vatican this tour is a must. There is so much to see and there are some many visitors around the Vatican this is the perfect hassle free way to get a quick overview of the Vatican. Rachel, our tour guide was professional and friendly throughout, her enthusiasm and her in-depth knowledge of the Vatican was evident, this made it an unforgettable experience. There is so much to see in one visit, this was the ideal way to get a little glimpse and understanding of the Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message