Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Vatican City

Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8529 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nirmal S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was fantastic, demonstrated full availability , education and knowledge in the Vatican arts.
I had the best experience possible .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Alexandru M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Everything was amazing. Our guide Shannon was very passionate about art and she gave as plenty of interesting details about the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was excellent. She provided great history of the Vatican. We enjoyed every minute. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Keith H J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide paced our Vatican tour just right... time to see the outside museum, time to see the inside galleries, time to see the Sistine Chapel, and time for St. Peter's Basilica. She described everything knowledgeably, and with enough detail to understand the significance of each item. I loved it all!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide Luciana made the tour so interesting and informative. We have been to the Vatican before but we learned so much more from her. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

jo.waxman57 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide, Alecia, was truly knowledgeable about all things Vatican! We received an amazing tour and would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting an in-depth visit to the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Jason S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a fantastic way to see the Vatican City and hear about the art and history. Loved it !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Andy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic tour with a great guide who brought the whole experience to life. the Vatican museums were amazing and I spent time looking at things I never would have because the tour guide was so passionate and engaging. A great few hours and worth every penny,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Robert Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an exceptional value with a knowledgeable guide who vividly shared the stories behind the scenes throughout the Vatican. Would highly recommend that visitors take the early morning, small group tour before the inevitable crowds arrive. Providing a handing reference map would help guests understand the relationships between the various components of the tour. Thanks to all for a wonderful morning tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

alexandrachirsch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour is an absolute must if you want to see the Vatican which you must!! The tour guide is incredibly knowledgeable and thorough with the amount is sites we saw and information provided. Its definitely worth the money as it lasts about 5 hours and you see just about everything. Make sure to wear good walking shoes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

nada t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Rachel was incredibly knowledgeable and funny at the same time. Great experience and learned a lot. Ended up spending an extra 3 hours at the Vatican even following the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour and Rachel our tour guide was truly amazing, She brought the Vatican to life, explaining all questions, She was very professional and gave a very enlightened tour. It was a very pleasant tour due in large part due to her in depth knowledge. Please pass along mine and my Girlfriend appreciation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Angela Tea Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly recommend to anyone who is new or repeat visitor to the Vatican museums. Learnt a fair bit from Martha, our excellent guide! Be prepared to walk non-stop, though time passed quickly as you admired the great works. Although it was Low season, it was still crowded and do book in advance.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Annette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

AWESOME TOUR!!! Worth the price - we were a group of 6 with a private tour guide, Alessandro or Alex and he was great! So informational and the art history lesson he gave us will last a lifetime. The Sistine Chapel is Breathtaking! Vatican City/Country is worth the visit, I look forward to going back one day!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic - we were able to customize our tour based on what we really wanted to see. Our tour guide was kind and accommodating. It was a VERY busy day at the Vatican that day but we still had a good time and an amazing experience. I would highly recommend the private tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

nygurl102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our Vatican tour was awesome. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Ellaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour is worthy of 6 stars! The tour guide was so knowledgeable and patient - she went overtime so that the group could see all sights of the Vatican. The Vatican is a must see for all who visit Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Di

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Worth every single penny. We were most impressed with our guide - Lyndy. She was very enthusiastic and made the Vatican come to life for us. To be able to see it all, without standing in a queue...priceless!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

logandi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was so engaging, and bought the history of the Vatican to life! Passionate and wonderfully informative! Thanks for a spectacular day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Andrea A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was amazing! We had Sev as our tour guide and I cannot say enough great things. Not only was Sev knowledgeable and funny, he kept the tour interesting for the entire 3 hours. I really felt like I got the most out of visiting Vatican City and am beyond happy we went with a guided tour. I recommend this tour to anyone who is very interested OR slightly weary. 100 worth it!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

koha Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Shannon was fantastic and this was a great well paced tour from beginning to end with ample time to do your own exploration of the Basilica at the end of the guided tour. We were a group of 6 aged from 16 to 75 and the tour pace and commentary worked for us all. There was minimal waiting and the pace of walking and commentary was comfortable. Shannon was really informative and passionate about all aspects of the tour. Really enjoyed the tour and would do another tour with Shannon. The Vatican was sensational as was the Sistine chapel and the Basilica. You could spend an incredible amount of time wandering around but the tour kept you on track with a reasonable pace. There is a fair amount of walking but its pretty flat walking, mainly inside with a few flights of stairs, but not too many. There is a couple of security checkpoints along the way so best to travel light. Skipping the line is perfect as even in early January there were lines first thing and apparently you can wait for hours to gain regular entry so the Skip the line option is great to maximize your time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Kyrakoel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful and educational! Our guide Sarah N. was very well informed and clearly passionate about the history and wonder of Vatican City. It was an intimate experience even though there were several of us on the tour. Awesome experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our Dutch guide knew a lot about art and was anxious to transmit her knowledge in an interesting and memorable way. Her photos and anecdotes facilitated this process, making the visit to the Vatican much more enjoyable than an individual visit would have been.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

incredible and awesome. if you want to do vatican and cistene chapel this is the one to do. worth every penny. if you get to the meeting place early, go down the stairs to get some coffee. 6:30 is early but they will find you. only about 10 people per guide so very personal. only negative, if you can't do stairs then this isn't for you. i managed by going up one at a time. cistine chapel is accessible

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message