Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7829 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous tour and guide. The tour allowed us to skip lines, see a number of parts of the Vatican Museum closed to the public, and be in other parts when it was relatively quiet as opposed to the throngs of people doing the public tours. Our guide was a PhD who had worked in the Vatican and knew it inside out. Great job and well worth doing this way. Mamma Mia!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour. It was great to get access to the Vatican before the hoards of people descended on it and to skip the queues. We would really recommend it and the breakfast was delicious and varied, well worth getting up early for! Emma our guide was full of enthusiasm, energy and was extremely informative. We learnt a lot from her and she made it a really enjoyable tour that we would say is a must if you are going to Rome. Emma and Mark

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Of all the fast passes we used on this trip, our guide Margetta I may have gotten this wrong was the best of the lot and they all set quite a high standard! I think I just simply love her great wit and she really shared so many interesting facts about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica with a great deal of passion! This with the Colosseum is the best choices we made in Rome as it clearly illustrates the vast change experienced in the City's culture over time! Loved every minute!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best thing we did in rome. Susanna the guide was lovely-informative and friendly.this is my 3rd time to vatican museum over 30 years and was the best.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sabrina was amazing. The tour of the Vatican was worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was very knowledgable, friendly, engaging and helpful in surfing the huge crowds at the Vatican. We would have regretted going on our own. The Vatician tour interesting and the Cistine a chapel beautiful beyond description.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Well worth the money. There's no way to see it all or figure out what to see with the crowds, unless you have a good tour. All the guides with this tour group seem to be good: ours, Rozella sp? was outstanding. Her English was excellent, and she seemed to really understand and know what she was talking about- she wasn't just repeating a script. She exhibited tremendous patience and tact with a large family group where the kids couldn't/wouldn't keep up the other family of four and my teenaged daughters and I still got a great experience because of her skills in managing people and her knowledge of the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome! We loved every minute of this very informative and fun tour. We particularly loved being in the Vatican before the crowds and we were able to enjoy a delicious breakfast out side on the grounds in the beautiful morning. Our tour guide was Nicholas and I have to say he was one of the best. He understood how the Vatican worked was very informative. We enjoyed his knowledge on everything Vatican. We would definitely recommend this tour, in fact, I wouldn't go see the Vatican any other way any more. Thanks!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Organized trip without having to stand in lines for hours. Would recommend if you want to visit the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

David was our tour guide and was so knowledgeable and fascinating to listen to. He provided us with a wealth of information about the Vatican including a recommendation for a book at the book shop per our request. We were impressed and highly recommend him!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was terrific! Our Guide was very knowledgeable and gave us great information on the history of the Vatican. The length of the tour was perfect.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It's the best way to see the Vatican museums. Having time to see the Sistine Chapel in a totally private environment, and having each part explained, was in and of itself worth the tour. Highly recommended that you take this tour, but be sure to wear the most comfortable shoes you can, and be well rested, its a long tour, and by the end, the whole group was exhausted. It's nice at the end to be able to sit and stare up at Michelangelo's greatest creations.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a brilliant tour. Our guide Davide was just amazing. I have been to the Vatican before and enjoyed the experience so much so that I decided to go again this trip. What made this one better? Our guide for a start. Davide's knowledge gave us great insight into the history of the building, the Art, the restoration and so much more. And this man has a wicked sense of humour - we laughed often. Great tour, great guide, great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Emma made this tour amazing, her commentary and guidance through the maze of the Vatican was great. I would recommend doing this tour to get the most from your experience in the Vatican, the history and stories bring it all to life. Highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic way to get through the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and the Basilica. The guide was full of interesting knowledge. So many people about, can't imagine doing this visit without a guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour - enabled us to see some highlights of the Vatican museum before heading onto St Peter's. Our tour guide was a qualified art historian - so it was particularly interesting for us to have some context and explanation about the Sistine Chapel prior to entering so that we knew some things to look out for. Likewise it was great to get some commentary as we moved through the Vatican museum - including the Raphael's rooms.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a really good tour, however it does get extremely busy and if visiting in the summer months as we didbeginning of July it can get quite uncomfortable with the heat. Our tour guide,Alberto,was brilliant. His knowledge was outstanding. Try to do this tour as early as possible as the crowds can be a little overwhelming. A must see when in Rome. Give yourself plenty of time to tour the basilica at the end of the tour as there is so much to see there and make sure you take a bottle of water as the café in the Vatican gets very busy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing tour. Great tour guide. Would recommend to anyone planning on visiting the Vatican. Queue jump was the best.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Truly enjoyed our Vatican City Tour... It's worth it just to skip the line! I loved being in a small group. Our guide was very knowledgeable, clear, and thorough! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My teen daughter and I really enjoyed this tour! Unfortunately there were longer than normal lines because of feast days prior to our arrival. Our guide maintained a positive attitude and entertained us with many facts about the history of the Vatican and the Popes while we waited. Thank goodness we had skip-the-line entry. It was worth every penny. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the artwork and took the time to explain details of the Sistine Chapel before we entered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Dario was wonderful and memorable. It was really challenging to give a tour considering how hot and crowded it was in the Vatican Museum that day but he did a great job! This was my second time touring the Vatican Museum and St. Peter's Basilica. It was definately enhanced by Dario. He has a gift for making things seem even more awe inspiring than you originally thought.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a terrific time. Our tour of the Vatican etc. was great and so was our guide from Wonder tours David.
It was over the top and more than 5 stars.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour and a highlight of our visit to Rome. The breakfast was delicious and generous within the amazing environment of the Vatican courtyard. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful and we learnt and saw a lot. However, at no time did we feel rushed. Definitely worth the early start!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved our Vatican tour. I cannot remember the lady that gave us the tour but she was pregnant at that time. Thank you so much for the detailed tour, you were awesome!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Vatican is a must see if you like art, history and architecture. The crowds are large particularly in the summer. Our tour group was the right size and our tour group leader was an incredibly qualified art history expert. She was passionate and knowledgeable. What else is there to say - its the Vatican and this is the way to do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message