Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7956 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Oh my goodness to be in the vatican and no queue it was a very smooth tour with an excellent guide Maurice especially the breathtaking cistine chapel and basilica but a lot of the amazing art and sculpture were explained and to see pope John Paul II tomb was very touching
I would just like to say be aware the instructions on were to meet were very clear and it states bottom of steps opposite the museum which are at the back of the vatican so follow the wall around the back not the front steps, just in case that may not be clear i would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This experience was AMAZING!!!! our tour guide the pregnant one was beautiful, knowledgeable and had the most wonderful story telling ability, which made you want to know more and her stories made you feel the characters in all the art work come to life, she was absolutely fantastic and have spoken of our VIP Breakfast at the Vatican many times over. To see the Vatican without the thousands of people first thing in the morning was brilliant the photos we were able to take unencumbered by people getting in the way of the photo was priceless. The Vatican tour is one that I have and will continue to recommend to anyone considering visiting Rome, thank you Walkabout and to our wonderful tour guide for an ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EXPERIENCE 11/10 TO YOU FOR A WELL THOUGHT OUT TOUR.
SINA, GRACE AND SHIRLEY AUSTRALIA

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

When we saw the line ups waiting to get into the Vatican we were so happy to skip the line. Our guide Ella was wonderful and extremely knowledgable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We visited on a Thursday morning and there were shoulder to shoulder crowds. We were the only English speaking booked for that time so my husband and I had our own personal tour guide, Stephania. She was able to skirt us around crowds and take short cuts making our tour more efficient. She was very knowledgable about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peters. She did a great job and we were thrilled to have the private tour experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So glad we took this tour. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and fed us information that made the experience all the more enjoyable. To see the amazing artifacts and historical beauty of the Vatican Museum, the amazing Sistine Chapel and the incredibly beautiful St. Peter's Basilica completed our European vacation in the perfect way.
If you want to see the Vatican do this tour. Skipping the queues, quite simply, saved us hours and the guide made it perfect with the information she had about everything we saw. 10/10 Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guide who gave us insight into the sights we saw within the vatican. Skipping the line probally saved us 3-4 hours but having someone talking about what we were seeing was worth the price of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour with a fantastic guide. It is amazing what we saw in 3 hours. There is no other way to see the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

we would never have seen or learnt so much if it were not for our guide. Yes the vatican is busy so you should expect that but we didn't wait around and saw some beautiful sights and all the key areas. afternoon tour was full of unexpected treasures, the churches were often empty and impressed with the knowledge of our guide. plenty of time to walk around, take pictures and just marvel and the scale of some of these churches. would definitely recommend viator well organised, great staff and got exactly what I expected

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great way to see the Vatican highlights I couldn't imagine waiting in all the long lines in the heat. Oscar, our guide, was terrific. Only negatives none of which is the tour's or Oscar's fault: too many tourists as though we didn't add to the problem!, too much to see in the Museums and Cathedral now we know for sure where all the money goes!, and too hot Rome in August what did we expect?. The Sistine Chapel was indeed a highlight.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Skipping any line to see anything is a great idea. Having your own private guide to bring you to what you want to see is the only way to see The Vatican. Our guide Maria was fabulous. She met us on time, procured our tickets and off we went, no time wasted. She took the time to ask us what we were interested in seeing. We advised her we were having a private tour the next day of the Secret Rooms and Sistine Chapel and she was delighted, now knowing what she could show us so as not to waste time doubling up. Maria was lovely, intelligent, an Art Historian, and no question asked went unanswered. She knew where to stand to view the art and attractions, and told wonderful side stories and tales of past popes, sculptors and artists. We ended up with enough time to walk to St. Peters, and again, she excelled. She seemed to know the security personnel and was able to bring one to the best exact location to take pictures. stars and worth every dime!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you can afford one expensive tour, this is the one to choose. Everything the tour description promised happened, and that is a rare treat! Our group was 10 people. We had an amazing woman I am so bad with names I apologize who shared her passion for the art and sculptures, never rushing us and telling wonderful stories. We were escorted during our tour by a burly security guard who did have the keys for the Secret Rooms and the rooms were amazing! We had The Bramante Staircase to ourselves and the views from on top of The Vatican were amazing.
But to be able to walch the general public exiting The Sistine Chapel watch the security sweep the area and to have the doors opened to just us for over 30 minutes is a once in a lifetime experience!!! She explained so many of the frescoes, and being able to just walk around freely and marvel at will at the magnificence of this sacred space was worth the chunk of not change...Take this tour. I am very picky and almost did not go for this tour due to the cost. But in this case...You get much more than you pay for.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very informative! Only wished we had more time to spend in the Vatican. Definitely worthwhile. You might want to add another hour to the tour in order that guests can have more of an opportunity to learn and see more of the Vatican. Some friends didn't do this tour and spent 3 hours waiting to get inside. When the tour is over you have time to explore St. Peter's on your own and climb or take the elevator up to the copula.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Getting in the Vatican, earlier than the general public, was the best experience. The breakfast was very good. Our tour guide from Ireland, was so informative, and made it all so interesting. We really saw more without the crowds, it was worth getting up very early for this tour. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful tour of the Vatican and skip the line is a must. Our tour guide Shannon was very knowledgeable and friendly making our tour interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

No waiting in line to get in and the guide was super-knowledgeable. She was an art history student and knew so much about the different frescos, sculptures, and architecture. If you're going to the Vatican you should definitely do this guided tour. She gave us time to reflect in the Sistine Chapel and it ended in the Basilica so you had all the time you wanted to wander around after she was done with the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Guide was very informative about the history of Vatican City. Gave lots of information regarding the different sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Rome, Italy. The tour guide was personable and knowledgeable. My husband and I had a memorable experience and appreciated what we saw because we were provided the history. I was also glad to bypass the very long queue to get into the Vatican. I would highly recommend this tour. I really wished I remembered the name of our tour guide I liked her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I had a great time with the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's. Thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

ONLY way to see the Vatican. Our tour guide was fantastic and engaging.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Although it was a very busy day at the Vatican, Felix was a very fun, energetic, and knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

poitras
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a lovely tour with Barbara of the Vatican museums and St. Peter's basilica. It was so nice to not have to stand in the queue and to learn so much of the history of the Vatican and the artwork. There was so much more there than I had expected. Highly recommend this..yes you pay a premium but when you see the 4 hour queue, well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our Sistine Chapel Private viewing and tour of the Vatican's Secret rooms with Shannon was remarkable.
Shannon was incredibly knowledgeable and so pleasant to be with, she provided a spectacular experience
for all. Her tour exceeded our expectations, I will definitely book a viator tour in the future. Many thanks Shannon for providing an amazing experience for us!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fabulous way to view the highlights of the Vatican. Small group and early morning time was key to make the experience more personal and avoid the crowds. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Pay attention to instructions on where the tour is to meet, however. The designated meeting point is in front of the Vatican Museum and NOT in front of St. Peter's Square.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour of the Vatican. Got inside quickly and the tour guide was informative

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rome in August is simply hell in terms of tourist attractions and the lines that lead into them. My father and I were extremely happy to have booked this skip the line tour particularly after seeing the Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel line and the massive St. Peter's line that stretched around the whole square.

In terms of the tour itself, I myself am a tour guide who has been known to by quite judge-y of other guides in the past, but our guide Max was great. His knowledge was exceptional and the way he expressed it was entertaining. He also possessed that typical tour guide humour, so expect a couple of cheesy jokes!

My father and I had a great time on the tour and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to skip the ridiculous lines and/or who would like to know more about what they are looking at.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message