• USD ($)
  • English
Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Definitely if you want to visit the Vatican this tour is a must. There is so much to see and there are some many visitors around the Vatican this is the perfect hassle free way to get a quick overview of the Vatican. Rachel, our tour guide was professional and friendly throughout, her enthusiasm and her in-depth knowledge of the Vatican was evident, this made it an unforgettable experience. There is so much to see in one visit, this was the ideal way to get a little glimpse and understanding of the Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this tour. The morning session at the Vatican city was great. Suzanne was an amazing tour leader. She was informative, attentive and very cheerful. My husband and I loved 'skipping the line' going to the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel. The afternoon tour was also very pleasant, my favorite is going to Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore which is beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour! The guide was great! This tour is a must when in Rome. We got to see the best of Vatican City and went in 1 hour before general admission so we got to see things without people crawling all over us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We found this particular tour thoroughly enjoyable and extremely interesting. Our tour guide who was a young American girl, can't remember her name, was amazing and so knowledgeable about all to do with the Vatican city and the history. This is the second time I have done this tour whilst visiting Rome and the second time around certainly didn't disappoint.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

what a beautiful place to visit.. I am so happy i was able to do this trip and take this tour. Our tour guide was amazing he knew everything about the Vatican City. I walked out of there with so much knowledge and history. I will defiantly return again one day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I would recommend this tour anytime! Vatican City is overwhelming with all the crowds and so much to see. The tour is organized well and our tour guide was great! I would have gotten lost in there and would have had no clue what I'm looking at!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide Sabrina was very knowledgable and quite precise on history, directions and safety. I would highly recommend this tour to those planning to visit Vatican City. Sabrina kept us focused and was truly a Gem! Lov ,love , loved this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Igor was our tour guide and he was the best I have ever had. He should be an Art History professor; so much knowledge about everything. Not just the art, everything about Vatican City. 4 hours long and I could have gone longer. Simply awesome! Thanks Igor!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our family of four adults had a superb time in Rome. The apartment we rented was just two minutes from the Piazza Navona to our east and the piazzas Campo de Fiori and Farnese to our west and a convenient taxi rank was just below our apartment. The Vatican City was only a 15 minute walk away. We saw all the normal tourist sites, but were glad we booked entry to them on-line ahead of the holiday; it saved us an enormous amount of time. Dining Al Fresco all day was also a real treat, with the waiters at all the different eating places, welcoming, warm and willing to help. I've never experienced this type of service anywhere else in the world. It was a pleasure to dine out. Holidaying in Rome was a delight and pleasure and we'll be going back, even though we didn't throw coins in the Trevi Fountain. If you want an experience greater than a ride on an amusement park big dipper, go for a taxi ride, you'll come out of it whiter than snow. The apartment we rented was very comfortable and I'd choose it again, but I hope that by then the owners will have update the out of date toilet facilities. To top it all off we had an unexpected visit to a grand opera concert of well known arias given by superb professionals. ROME - I wish I was back there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

AWESOME TOUR! We made a last minute decision to go to Rome from Florence! We wanted to visit Vatican City but we knew we didn't have a lot of time! We booked this tour the day before we arrived, took a taxi from the train station to The Vatican City location we were directed to and when we got to the area, the line up was miles long!!! YIKES! We went to the location on our voucher, met our tour guide (very fluent in English) and we literally walked right in!!! Our tour guide was amazing, she had tapestries with pictures of some of the incredible art we were about to see and she explained all the stories about them...it totally made us realize what we were about to see ( in the Sistine Chapel, no talking, no photographs allowed) if we didn't hear her stories, we would have missed out on the AWESOMENESS of what we envisioned! ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL, HEART WARMING AND VERY SPIRITUAL! This tour is worth every dollar, and when the tour is over, you can still stay in Vatican City at your leisure! THANKS VIATOR FOR MAKING OUR EUROPEAN VACATION AMAZING!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Natasha our guide was fantastic!!! We learned so much. This was a must have tour for anyone that visits vatican city!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting and the guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the Vatican City. My husband and daughter enjoyed the tour as well and even though there were so many people there it was still a great organized tour to be on and no waiting in lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had an excellent guide who spoke English very clearly and who was very knowledgeable. Although Vatican City was extremely crowded our tour group was small enough that we were able to hear and see everything we wanted to and avoiding some of the extremely long wait lines was well worth the cost of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour guide amazingly. Quick no wait and so informative well worth the money thank you so much this is the way to see the Vatican City

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide a joy to be with - she was friendly and informative. Vatican City should not be missed if visiting Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message