Vatican City is a separate sovereign state within Rome, created in 1929 and run by the Pope (who is the supreme monarch!). The official population is a little over 800 and it covers an area of 110 acres (44 hectares). Within the walls of the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7810 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic way to get through the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and the Basilica. The guide was full of interesting knowledge. So many people about, can't imagine doing this visit without a guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour - enabled us to see some highlights of the Vatican museum before heading onto St Peter's. Our tour guide was a qualified art historian - so it was particularly interesting for us to have some context and explanation about the Sistine Chapel prior to entering so that we knew some things to look out for. Likewise it was great to get some commentary as we moved through the Vatican museum - including the Raphael's rooms.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a really good tour, however it does get extremely busy and if visiting in the summer months as we didbeginning of July it can get quite uncomfortable with the heat. Our tour guide,Alberto,was brilliant. His knowledge was outstanding. Try to do this tour as early as possible as the crowds can be a little overwhelming. A must see when in Rome. Give yourself plenty of time to tour the basilica at the end of the tour as there is so much to see there and make sure you take a bottle of water as the café in the Vatican gets very busy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing tour. Great tour guide. Would recommend to anyone planning on visiting the Vatican. Queue jump was the best.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Truly enjoyed our Vatican City Tour... It's worth it just to skip the line! I loved being in a small group. Our guide was very knowledgeable, clear, and thorough! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My teen daughter and I really enjoyed this tour! Unfortunately there were longer than normal lines because of feast days prior to our arrival. Our guide maintained a positive attitude and entertained us with many facts about the history of the Vatican and the Popes while we waited. Thank goodness we had skip-the-line entry. It was worth every penny. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the artwork and took the time to explain details of the Sistine Chapel before we entered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Dario was wonderful and memorable. It was really challenging to give a tour considering how hot and crowded it was in the Vatican Museum that day but he did a great job! This was my second time touring the Vatican Museum and St. Peter's Basilica. It was definately enhanced by Dario. He has a gift for making things seem even more awe inspiring than you originally thought.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a terrific time. Our tour of the Vatican etc. was great and so was our guide from Wonder tours David.
It was over the top and more than 5 stars.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour and a highlight of our visit to Rome. The breakfast was delicious and generous within the amazing environment of the Vatican courtyard. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful and we learnt and saw a lot. However, at no time did we feel rushed. Definitely worth the early start!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved our Vatican tour. I cannot remember the lady that gave us the tour but she was pregnant at that time. Thank you so much for the detailed tour, you were awesome!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Vatican is a must see if you like art, history and architecture. The crowds are large particularly in the summer. Our tour group was the right size and our tour group leader was an incredibly qualified art history expert. She was passionate and knowledgeable. What else is there to say - its the Vatican and this is the way to do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Vatican and all the Basilicas we visisted were awesome! The Vatican had a lot...I repeat...a lot of people and our tour guide did a great job keeping her group together. Visiting the Basilicas in the aftertoon was a nice relaxing 'cool down' after the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

After seeing the queue we could have ended up waiting in this ticket was well worth while! Meeting point is very easy to find, just make sure you're outside the entrance to the museums not st Peter's Basilica just follow the walls to the Vatican around the right side of the basilica. We walked straight in, no queuing at all. We choose the option without a tour guide, the museums have lots of information plaques next to each exhibit so didn't find this a problem and there are audio guides you can hire once inside. Definitely recommend this is you're going peak season like we did and do not wish to be waiting in 2/3 hour long queues in the midday heat it was almost 40 degrees when we were there!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Without doubt the best way to see the best of Vatican City. We visited during the first week of July, were temperatures were in the mid 90's. I felt happy not to stand in line with such heat and humidity. It was really hot, however, our guide Marta was first class, had amazing knowledge of everything we were seeing and made it interesting. This is the way to see the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We visted Vatican 20th June 2015 our Guide was David he was very informative and funny also made us laugh.
We enjoyed our tour nearly got to see the pope. Beautiful place amazing paintings best tour we had in Rome. You cannot visit rome without going on an Vatican tour. Plus good to book inadvance as the queues are hugh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thank to our fabulous tour Guide 'Dave'. He spoke clearly and was so well informed about the Vatican. He took care to point out points of interest from the home countries of everyone in our group. His commentary was interesting, lively, funny and extremely informative. Absolutely first class he brought every painting alive for me and I truly learnt so much. Thank you David and Viator for a absolutely first class tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was outstanding and extremely knowledgable about the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had the most amazing tour guide, Maria Rosaria, who took us expertly through the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. She was so knowledgeable and friendly, and made everything very accessible. Seeing these parts of the Vatican in a group of only 12 people - before most of the crowds came in - was incredible. We had to get up very early to make this work, but it was well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We arrived that morning to meet with our Viator guide. We were actually shocked to see the length of the ques to get tickets for the Vatican. We were hoping we wouldn't have to join as it was literally a mile long. We met with the city wonders tour guide at the pre arranged meeting point. Alice / Alex was her name. We were given a communication device and headset so we could hear her as we went with her on the tour. The reason I'm writing this review is because I really wanted people to know how good it was. Alice was absolutely excellent, her knowledge and communication skills were second to none. Very pleasant with us all. The tour itself lasted roughly 3 hours and I must say it was the best tour I had ever been on. I cant recommend the Viator tours highly enough. The next day we went on the Colosseum tour and it was as we expected. Excellent !!!
Sue and Ray Murphy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This small group tour is well worth the small investment and makes for an easy, informed and well organized tour of the Vatican. The tour guide added quite a bit of extra information that was very insightful and added to the experience. This is the only way to tour the awe inspiring Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Visiting the Vatican was an exceptional experience. Being able to skip lines allowed us more time to actually see the incredible sights, and I only wish we would have had more time to enjoy all the fine artwork on display. Both of our guides were extremely knowledgeable and answered questions without hesitation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great overview of the art and history of the Vatican Museum! I only wish there had been more time spent at the Sistine Chapel. A break somehow in the middle of the tour would be helpful too, as it is hot and crowded in the summer!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Elizabeth H
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My 12 yr old was really engaged the whole tour! We all loved it and learned a lot. Our lovely tour guide was so interesting. She had multiple degrees in architecture and art history so it was a real education which made our tour so much more interesting! And although there was miles and miles of lines we did seem to get into the Vatican very quickly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour leader, Zev, is an archaeology professor at the University of Rome. Let's just say I want him on my trivia team when it comes to all things Vatican related. Also, our tour was on time, which is not common in Italy as we found on other tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We knew we made the right decision to take this tour when we saw the half-mile or so line outside the Vatican waiting for tickets. Once inside, our guide Luciana made it highly educational and entertaining despite the overwhelming throngs of people. It was a bit long 3 hours for our 9-yr-old, but worth every minute.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message