The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8901 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Betty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect organization! All worked out very well and we had easy access into the Musei Vaticano by skipping the lines. Our guide Gio was a true catholic with profound knowledge of art and history and gave us a passionate and very charming tour, trying her best to avoid the crowds which was not easy considerung the masses of visitors.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Nicholas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding. The tour guide had a PHD in Archaeology and was extremely knowledgeable about the museum and the Vatican. The after hours in the Sistine Chapel was worth the tour alone. I did this and the breakfast tour and this one was far better since the museum and the Sistine Chapel were both pretty empty at night.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

annie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great tour informative and full of history the sculptures, paintings and relics were amazing. The guides were so informative in all aspects of the history of the Vatican and Basilica's

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour, well worth it! The morning was spent at the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's Basilica, and seeing the lines, we were very happy to skip them! Our tour guy whose name we forgot, very sorry! was incredibly knowledgeable and knew all the interesting bits of history trivia. In the afternoon, Rebecca took us around in a bus to see the 3 Papal Basilicas outside the Vatican St. Paul Outside the Walls, St. John the Lateran, and St. Mary Major. Being an art historian, Rebecca knew every detail of these masterpieces, the art, and the artists who made them. She made the history come to life and made it truly enjoyable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Edward T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What an amazing way to experience Vatican City and the Vatican Museums. Our guide Lynde was an amazing host and engaged and informed us during the 5 hour tour. We started with an excellent breakfast and then got on a bus that toured Vatican City and all the places you normally do not get to see!!
We moved on to the Vatican Museum and bypassed all the crowds getting in. We learned so much listening to our guide throughout the visit.
Money well spent. I give it my highest rating as it made our visit to the Vatican very special!!!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Peter M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent tour. Well worth the money. Excellent guide. Great value for money. No hesitation in recommending this tour. Allows quick access to the Vatican, which is essential given the number of visitors and there were plenty in April 2016.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Debbie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Laura was an excellent guide. Very knowledgeable and glad to answer any questions we had. The Vatican and Sistine Chapel are spectacular and a must see for any traveller to Rome. If you have the choice book the early morning tour as you get to go in before the general public so you get to see more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Even though it was pouring rain, Rachel was outstanding. Eating breakfast at the Vatican was really nice. Food tasty, plentiful and all very pleasant. Back scenes tour of Vatican Museum outstanding, she knew so many interesting facts and stories. Rachel made it all come alive for us. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent logistics and personal service! The tour guide, Olivia, was very kind and informative. She made the tour very effortless for me and others in the group. I highly recommend this small group tour as the way to see the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour owing in great part to our knowledgeable and friendly tour guide Alfredo. He offered a wealth of knowledge and historical perspective throughout our 3 hour tour. When we saw the lines waiting to enter the Vatican, we knew we made the right decision to book with Viator. We skipped the lines and got a head start on our tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Calvin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Got us thru the Vatican much faster

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Deanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is the only way to see the Vatican. If not for the skip the line aspect, you'd never get to see all that you want. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of information. The Gallery of Maps is my favorite -- that ceiling!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic way to see the Vatican. Very knowledgable guide Patrizia, took us slowly to accomodate all on the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Stephanie was a great guide and really knew her stuff about the Vatican. The skip the lines option and guided tour really made the tour. She really set our expectations and followed through on everything. Stephanie was very personable and I would recommend a tour with her to others.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Latham W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing opportunity. The breakfast was wonderful and the setting beyond our expectations, which were high. The museum tours were also quite informative and interesting. The only downside was that there wasn't much time for the Sistine Chapel, and when we finally arrived--around 10:30 AM--it was quite packed. This was our second Vatican tour, the first in 1970. We saw so much more this time. It was a worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

vdiorio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

GREAT TOUR! Well worth the money! Felt a bit rushed but if you want to skip lines and get a crash course of the Vatican, this is the way to go

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Dawn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This a perfect tour. We had time to see as much as possible. Our guide was amazing and informative. With respect to where we were, she still had a sense of humor. The skip the line part was absolutely worth it. I couldn't imagine seeing the Vatican without a guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

sheena.ellis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great early morning breakfast in the Vatican courtyard followed by a very informative tour of the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel before the tourist hordes arrived. Special thanks to our excellent guide, Rachael, who was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. Her explanations gave us a real insight into the immense history of the Vatican. This tour is a must do!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Paul N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Long tour and very comprehensive. Good guide but she was hard to understand especially with the poor audio system. The Vatican was very crowded so if you don't like crowds, skip this one.
Be careful of your belongings! I was robbed of my IPhone when going through the security line. The phone was taken off the x-ray machine either by a security guard or another tourist, The security people and police would do nothing even though they had full video surveillance of the area available.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

noriko c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I enjoyed it even if too many people in the Vatican Museums.
It is so nice to skip the line even if we have to wait for the staff buy the tickets about 7 minutes then, we scan the ticket and enter the Museums and we are free to go anywhere we like.
I recommend this tickets to people who want to visit the Museums, otherwise, we have to wait for a long time to just buy a ticket!! The thousands tourists there!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

jlblum78

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Just on its own, this tour was great. But it was made absolutely fantastic by our tour guide, Dorianna speling?! Here's why she and the tour were so fantastic...
1 She was unbelievably knowledgeable about the Vatican, the various pieces of work, etc.
2 She was personable, funny, and witty. She was appropriate and well timed with her jokes.
3 She was a great story teller/narrator, which helped keep me interested, captivated, and not bored.
4 She has, what I think, is one of the coolest degrees/jobs around....she's a full blown archaeologist!! I mean, that's a super cool awesome job! And, because she's a female archeologist, I think it makes her even cooler and a great role model for young girls.
5 She was very passionate about art, the artists, the history, etc, and you could tell she cared about/loved it.
6 Her English was exceptional and very easy to understand.
7 The Bramante Staircase was a great thing to see. It has awesome views of the city.
8 Because of how you access the Bramante Staircase, other people not in our tour group saw us entering and thought the area was being open to the public. So when they tried to follow us in, they were turned away. Although it may make me a bit of a jerk, I appreciated the exclusivity that the extra money this particular tour afforded me, and thus felt it was money well spent.
9 The group size was good.
10 If she saw someone taking flash photos, she would immediately ask them to turn off the flash. It's a huge pet peeve of mine when people do that, because it can ruin the artwork.
11 A few people tried to join our tour. She told them they needed to move along, as we had paid money for the guided tour.

The one thing I would suggest to anyone going to the Vatican is to goo as early in the morning as possible...the later it gets, the more packed it gets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Extended Art Tour Including Bramante Staircase

Claire D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Francesca was so knowledgable and passionate about the Vatican museums it really brought it alive for us. The museums were fascinating and as its so busy we felt we would have missed a lot without her, we learnt so much. As for the Sistine Chapel -wow!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sara, our tour guide, was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable! Our tour started early which gave us a chance to see the Vatican and other places before the crowd got too bad. The start of the tour was very easy to find from the company's emailed info when we booked.Would highly recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

ELLEN A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Nichola/Nicholai was exceptional in his knowledge and passionate in his delivery of the history of the Vatican tour We very much enjoyed the whole experience The scottish Ladies

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Phyllis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was great, but don't go on Wednesday, as we did. The Pope has an audience in St. Peter's Square on that day, so you spend more time at the Vatican. By the time you get to the Sistine Chapel, it is open to the public. So much for the private, quiet experience in the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message