The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Oleg N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth the money. When you see a long line outside Vatican Museum you are glad to know that you don't have to be in it. My advise, dress appropriately. It is really hot in the museum and 16th chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kate K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alexandra was a wonderful guide. Because of her, we enjoyed our Vatican visit far more than we thought we would. She's extremely knowledgeable - I heard other guides during the tour and they didn't compare to Alexandra.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Harold H S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best tours we had while in Italy. The Vatican City is an amazing place and the history is incredible. A must do for any tourist to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable and interesting. We are so grateful we booked this tour. The Vatican Museum tour was one of the highlights of our trip. We would have been frustrated if we tried to visit on our own. We did need information about how to go back through to view sections again.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Teres S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Francesca was a great guide! She was very knowledgeable, we couldn't imagine touring the Vatican Museum, St. Peter's Basilica and the Sistine Chapel without a tour. We recommend this one!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Skip the Line was the best way to go to get into the Vatican and for a 1st trip there. However, would suggest not leaving when the tour is complete and wandering around even more. There were halls and halls of art that we did not even get to glance at because of the time. Simply amazing. We were slightly confused and almost missed the afternoon part of the tour which took us on a bus to see 3 additional churches. Those were just as fascinating as St Peters Santa Maria Majore and St Pauls were 2 of the 3.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Vatican was great. The tour guide was amazing. Friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Dave M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The vatican museum, St Peters and the sistine chapel are amazing and are required viewing for anyone visiting Rome. The tour started on time and our guide did a great job in navigating us through the hoards of people. Along the way she stopped at the most important pieces of art and architecture all while explaining thoroughly the history and importance of the pieces. Thank so much for the great time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Matilda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with Alexandra! She was so full appreciation for the history that her city and the Vatican hold. Her knowledge of history, art and religion completed her ability to offer the most amazing tour. Thank you Alexandra! After spending many hundreds of Euros on a previous private tour guide and walking away with a terrible feeling for the Vatican, you offered a much different perspective that was far more pleasant and enjoyable. And many hundreds less expensive. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

slinder_01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very well organized tour just as advertised. Our guide was obviously well versed in the history of the Vatican and entertaining as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

kerrie.bull

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Livia our tour guide was amazing. Her passion for the history of the Vatican and the artworks there was inspirational. The whole tour itself was brilliant even in the crowds and the very hot Roman day. Thoroughly recommend the tour company- City Wonders-organised professional and made our visit so worthwhile

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Christine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Halina was excellent! She was very knowledgeable about all of the artwork and history associated with the Vatican. We learned so much! We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Sheila L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was well worth the money. We had an amazing tour guide. He was very informative and very nice. We met our group first thing in the morning and there was already a long line up by the Vatican Museum entrance. Skipping the line was definitely worth it! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Charlotte B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was great to be able to skip the lines. Our guide knew a lot about The Sistine Chapel the Vatican and everything on the tour,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

darren r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Always willing and eager to answer any questions. Very composed and calm in the madness of a Saturday afternoon tour of the Vatican. .....

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Katarina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Oscar was my fantastic tour guide. It was wonderful to learn so much about Vatican art . Would highly recommend any tour that Oscar is guiding.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Merri O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can and #39;t recommend this tour enough. A great way to see the Vatican. The breakfast buffet was good. Our tour included a trip around the garden which was a highlight. Tiffani our guide was very informative and had a lot of knowledge about the Sistine Chapel and #39;s paintings. The pace was good.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this is worth the money -- our group of 15 was literally the first to walk into the Sistine Chapel at 8 am -- other small groups followed, but still only a couple hundred people filled that huge space for the first hour before crowds began to stream in at 9 am. I sat quietly for an hour just drinking in the beautiful ceiling, Last Judgement and 15th-c frescoes. Magical! if you care about the Vatican Museums, this was difficult -- they are poorly marked for navigating -- I bought an audio tour to find my way around and I still missed the entire art gallery. Read up on the Museums in a guidebook before coming, as the Vatican doesn't make it easy to figure out what is where - they are more concerned with crowd control.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

we did 'skip the line' this wasn't early access -- we entered at 9 with lots of other people. our guide Lucia was terrific. Pope Francis had declared an audience in St Peter's that day, so we had to skip it but she compensated with much detail on highlights of the Vatican Museums.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Brad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was very well organised with a very knowledgeable guide who was anle to provide an excellent insight into the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and the Basilica of St Peters.
The tour group was small enough that you were able to hear all the commentary and the guide was very well organised with a wealth of printed material that he was able to use to illustrate much of the history.
The museums, chapel and cathedral were absolutely amazing. The 'skip the line ' element of the tour worked well and facilitated entry.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

netia s United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Jeremie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was incredible and our guide Sara Napolitini( hope I spelled it right) was fantastic. Had so much information to share and we enjoyed it thoroughly. We even scheduled another tour with her at the Vatican when we finish our trip around the northern region. Couldn and #39;t say enough! Grazie:)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Melesther425

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So informative. Absolute best way to see the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ritesh K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great. The guide Lindy (I think that and #39;s her name) was really good, very knowledgable and a great communicator. She explained everything in detail and it was very informative. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants a detailed visit of the Vatican. Breakfast was great!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

jeanne h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Vatican garden tour was a nice touch! Our guide was so knowledgeable. She brought the Vatican to life

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message