The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8985 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

keith l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our 4 day visit to Rome was excellent and made a lot easier with the Omnia Card and Roma Pass which allows queue skipping essential ingredient for Rome and free access to the hop on/off buses which are really good. The Vatican is breath-taking but without the queue skipping facility it would be hard work as the lines for bag checking were enormous. The sights are truly worth seeing and the little restaurants in the side streets and small piazzas are worth exploring. Great trip.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Nolan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Serafina was our tour guide on the Vatican tour. She was a marvellous guide, very warm, very informative. She was very clear in her speech and full of knowledge, which she passed on to us very professionally. I would like to thank her personally and thank you as a company for the high quality of the tour.
Nolan and Judie Clark

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Todd D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is the ONLY way to see the Sistine Chapel. No crowds, no noise, no rush, able to view it and respect it for the art and beauty as it was meant to be. In addition we had the ability to view several things that are not on the normal public tours in the Vatican Museums. Our guide Shannon was wonderful! A wealth of knowledge, friendly, and it was obvious that she enjoys this tour very much as well. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Matthew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

this tour was great . the guide was exceptional. she really had the heart and soul of the entire Vatican experience. She got us in before the vacitan closed due to a Papal address. she was great. I would rate this tour top notch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

susie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is well worth doing for the Vatican Museums, a must, really. Allesandra was an exceptionally knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Julia was terrific. She had extensive knowledge of the Vatican. She continually did a head count to ensure we did not lose anyone. This was a major concern since it was so crowded. There was ample time to take pictures.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Alex was the perfect guide! He was so knowledgable and yet knew when to add a bit of humor . I felt as if we had way more than a taste of the Vatican! The tour company was very accommodating also. I had made a mistake in our travel plans and they easily rescheduled our tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It was amazing to be in the Vatican with our small group to see the Bramante tower and other rooms that are not available to the general public. The half hour we spent with just our small group after hours in the Sistine Chapel was worth the price of admission. When we were in corridors with the general public, it was easy to appreciate the time we were able to spend in the private areas with only our small group.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Jill C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rosa was a wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide who taught us much about Michelangelo and the history of the Vatican. Her expertise was much appreciated!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Lady 67

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent tour. Sylvia our guide was excellent. It was very crowded, but she kept us all together. She was very knowledgeable about everything on the tour. She was kind, polite and patient. She spoke very good English. We were all imperesed with her vast knowledge of the paintings, statues, history, the basilica, she was very knowledgeable on everything in Vatican City, She was very good at making sure she didn't loose anyone. . It was very crowded when we were there in May, I can't Imagine what it would be like in the summer months. Even though we had skip the line passes, we still had to wait in some lines, but once we got closer to the entrance, we were able to by pass a lot of other tours, and that was great. Our guide was very polite even when a tour guide from another group was not so polite. I would do this tour again, Viator you gave us great information before we got there and where to meet the City wonders guides, it all worked perfectly, I was really impresed on how everything went so smoothly. Sylvia you were an excellent guide. Thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

St. Peter's is beautiful and you will want to hang around for hours. The Sistine Chapel ceiling is worth seeing, but the crowds are loud and unruly. The Vatican museums need more time to enjoy, but they closed early so we were rushed through. Our guide was excellent and the small tour size is well worth the price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Megan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were in the Vatican in under 20 minutes. Worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour. Sirianna was very informative and provided interesting details during the tour. If you are visiting Rome and want to the Vatican this is the way to do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Deliana I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a two part tour, the first part was the vatican and it was Amazing. The sistine chapel is a must see and the basillica of saint peter was Amazing as well. The tour guide was great and very knowlegable. The second part was three other basillicas around rome, A different tour guide and he knew alot about the sturctures and artwork inside. We loved this tour. It was very must well Worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Csongor V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Seeing the queue in front of the museum, I would definitely recommend anyone using this service if cannot book time online. Vatican Museums is hugely busy. The agents were very helpful, it was easy to find them based on the instructions. The process was smooth and we were in the museum no time. We got the audio guides inside separately and enjoyed the museum on our own pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Franklin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour of the Vatican Museums, The Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica is a must for any first time visitor to Rome. Our guide, Serafina, was informative, personable and a pleasure to become acquainted with. Being in a private group only improved the experience as there was no waiting for stragglers and one on one conversation always brings out little tidbits one would never get with a group.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

sarawalsh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day. Doriana was just incredible with all her knowledge of the Vatican. She Made it a very enjoyable day for us with memories to last a lifetime.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Catherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I've taken this tour twice, in June 2013 and May 2016. Both times it was great. The Vatican is very crowded, so it's a huge benefit to skip the line. This tour is a small group max 12 so you can interact with the tour guide and get lots of great information. On this latest tour, Flemina was very knowledgeable and friendly. She kept us moving but made sure we did not miss a thing. Great job!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Made travelling around Rome so easy with the hop on hop off bus and the public transport. The skip the line for the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica saved us so much time so we had more time to enjoy Rome. Also skipped the lines at the other places we visited as well. Excellent value for money and an easy way to visit Rome

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Eddie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was excellent. very informative, and knowledgeable. This was our 1st visit to the Vatican. He made the experience one will will not soon forget.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Neil U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First thing to understand that this is one of most highly visited places in the world, and it will be crowded! However, our tour guide did an excellent job, and the tour was extensive. I have been there several times before and am quite knowledgeable on the Vatican and I still learned something from our tour guide, she was passionate, considerate and thorough. I would recommend this service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Frederick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was excellent! We met the guide on the steps he took us directly in he got our tickets and we were on our won, Perfect! I got to see the most famous sights in the Vatican ON MY OWN. When I took a guided tour of the Vatican, the guide took us to the courtyard with the pinecone and the map room and talked forever. On that guided tour I never saw the highlights of the museum's collection, no Raphael transfiguration, no Apollo Belvedere, no Belvedere Torso, no Laocoon sculpture, no Carravagio. This time I saw all that on my own. It was excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Rodric M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a highlight of our trip to Rome. We knew we made the right choice as we approached the Vatican museums and saw the line to get in snake back around for blocks. We met our guide Barbara who did a wonderful job, she walked us though all those lines right in. Make no mistake the museums and St. Peters are full of people, but the guided tour made it much easier and interesting, honestly it would be a challenge to navigate it all on your own. In the afternoon we met our guide Pia, who is truly a gem. She escorted us to the basilicas outside the Vatican. City Wonders is fortunate to have a guide of Pia's caliber, she was not only knowledgeable, but very engaging. This tour is worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Paula, is a fantastic guide to the vatican museum and its treasure trove of art and splendor. Her knowledge, enthusiasm and love for all things Vatican was the highlight of the morning. You will be glad you purchased a skip the line tour when you see the line queueing up at 8 AM!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Bernie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great and the tour leader was very well informed. She answered all questions without hesitation and when the tour ended she left us on the steps of the Vatican so we could do whatever we wanted. 5 stars.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message