The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing. Pope Julius II (1443 - 1513) began collecting sculpture during the Renaissance and, ever since, most popes have taken an active interest in art and in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 382 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was so nice to skip the line on this excellent tour of the Vatican Museums. Even showing up early, there was quite a line, so it was nice to have priority tickets. Our tour guide was excellent, shw was very knowledgeable and kind. When I left, I felt I truly understood the connections between the Vatican, art and the socio-political movements of Rome and the Holy See.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Claudio our guide was very good and passionate about the art and frescos that we saw. The Vatican Museum is huge so don't expect to see it all or spend much time in each gallery. Sistine chapel and St Peter's Basilica were spectacular even given the limited viewing time. When in Rome so this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If this is something that you want to see - I most certainly encourage you to book a tour - the lines are VERY long and start forming at least 2 hours before the ticket sales start. 23,000 people a day!!! - so our guide, David, informed us. This is a must do tour when in Rome. Words cannot express the impressiveness of Vatican City. Our tour guide, David, was a joy to listen to. He provided us with the history of the art work and sculptures. He spoke with great knowledge, confidence and humour. I recommend this tour and David.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked this tour as a family of 4 (2 teenagers 16 and 13). I was hesitant given the cost of this tour. But it is as all the other reviews before me have said, this is well worth the money. We were in Rome August 2014 and the lines and people at all of the various sites are massive and at times suffocating. This tour allowed us to see the Vatican Museum as a very small group (12) and we were for I would say 80 % of the tour in places just to ourselves. Our group had to be escorted the entire time by a Vatican staff because only he had the keys to unlock the various doors to the rooms no one else was allowed in. We saw rooms which were not open to the rest of the public and had the time to admire the incredible art completely to ourselves without having the jostle 200 people in front of us. But the best part is having the Sistine Chapel completely to ourselves. I kid you not. Our entire tour group of 12 plus our guide and the Vatican escort. That was it in the Sistine Chapel for about 40 minutes. We were able to hear our guide tell us the stories of the various panels and then just sit or walk around the entire chapel on our own. This is well worth every cent you pay. Our guide (a gentleman who I think his name is Tiber) was engaging, knowledgable and clearly loved the history of the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel). Thank you Tiber and Viator for organizing this tour. It truly was a highlight for us and we will never forget it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were in Rome Aug 2014. The line ups to almost any thing is long. One of the main benefits of booking a tour is the ability to skip these long (and I mean LONG) line ups which is often in the sun. St Peter's Basilica is just simply on those MUST SEE places in Rome. There is nothing as spectacular as this church. We also walked up the 300 + steps and 1 short elevator ride to the top of the dome. You get some pretty spectacular views of the Vatican Colonnade and the surrounding outside areas. Also you are able to see the mosaics in the dome up close which is worth the price of this tour. You get such a better perspective of the art, mosaics and the size of this place by going up the dome. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including views from the Top of the Cupola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic! Paula was the best tour guide I could have imagined. She was personable and friendly and made the tour that much better with her own personal anecdotes that she included. She also had a vast knowledge of the history of Rome and the Vatican and imparted that to all of us. I recommend the tour and Paula especially.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We absolutely loved the tour, our tour guide was Dario he was fantastic I could not have asked for a better guide. Dario spoke perfect english, was very attentive and courteous to the group, amazed by his knowledgeable about the Vatican, Sistine, Basilica, Art, Statues and History. Dario brought books for props to show the group specific items in paintings to look for when we got into the Sistine Chapel. It was perfect and nice to know what you were seeing. After the tour Dario gave information visiting the tombs, walking the 537 stairs to the top of the Cupola and other sites to not to miss in Rome. What we were lucky enough to see was overwhelming and amazing, Dario brought everything into perspective and made our day perfect.

We took the Colosseum tour on Saturday and asked for Dario he was not working that tour that day, wish he was.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic and worth the money to skip the ridiculous line to enter the Vatican museum. In addition to being calm and friendly, our guide (Alfredo) had an amazing knowledge of Vatican and Italian history. This tour is a great history, art, and architecture tour to take prior to the Ghost and mystery or Dark Heart of Rome tour. All of those amazing works of art and human accomplishment had to be paid for somehow.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thank you, Marta, our wonderful guide. who made this tour lively and informative. Marta brought the history alive which a guide book cannot do. We felt the little details Marta gave about the paintings and artists was what added that extra something to our visit to the Vatican City.
I would highly recommend a tour booking, We was able to skip the queues and passed through security quickly and with this tour no extra costs on the day. We only had a few days in Rome and didn't want to waste any time queuing.
Directions to the meeting point was correct and google maps helped with the directions from the metro line, which was about 8 minutes away.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wouldn't visit Vatican City without signing up for this tour! You definitely skip the extremely long lines and start your tour right on time. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and conveyed a true interest in the history, art and religion of the Vatican. A must do if you are visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Rome. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun. The size of the lines here are unbelievable and so this "skip the line" tour was a smart choice.

The amount of items in the Vatican is amazing. I had information overload after about 2 hours. BUT our guide had a planned stop in an air-conditioned corner where our feet could recover and we could rest just before going into the Sistine chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We went to Rome as part of our honeymoon and pre booked this trip prior to arriving. Would highly recommend other people doing this purely just to skip the enormous crowds! The Vatican tour was amazing as was our tour guide David. What a great guy! Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was great. Our guide had a degree in art history in addition to being a certified tour guide (which is a difficult certification to obtain in Italy). We appreciated her knowledge and passion for this beautiful place. I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Rome to take this tour. If you are not in with a tour group you have to wait in line for hours in the sun and then walk shoulder to shoulder with thousands of other people through the museums. Even skipping the line the crowds are unbearable. With this tour we often were the only people in the hallways. We could get good pictures, and appreciate the art. Also, our guide was excellent. Previously I had toured the museums but on this tour we went through the Pope's apartments. They are no longer furnished, but the walls and the stories are stunning. The disadvantage to the night time tour is that you don't get to skip the cue for St. Peters (go around 5:00 and you'll get right in) and a second disadvantage is that the Sistine Chapel is dimly lit so it was harder to appreciate. There is nothing in the world like the Vatican. I'm confident that this tour is the best way to see it.

Doing what: Friday Night Vatican Museums Tour Including Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour and so glad we opted for the small-group, skip-the-line tour. No waiting on long lines. Our tour guide was Nicola, and he was very knowledgeable and passionate about Rome's history. He brought to life emperors and artists, and there wasn't a dull moment. He truly loved his subject. Despite the crowds, we never felt rushed and he never lost sight of us. The Sistine Chapel was amazing as was St Peter's Basilica. The Vatican Museum had amazing artwork, murals and ceilings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour. Unique. The four people who were members of the group were all experienced travellers who had been to Rome and the Vatican before. We all thought this was the best. We enjoyed the breakfast. It was so nice not to be rushed through the Museum and to be able to see the magnificent art and sculptures.The Sistene Chapel was the best. We had time to sit, stand or move around comfortably and enjoy every aspect of the chapel. No crowds, no rush and no standing in line. A very worthwhile use of time and and money. I would recommend this to friends going to Rome and I would take the tour again myself when in Rome another time.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message