The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can view the Vatican's own incredible collection while touring the so-called Vatican Museums. This huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 422 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So many tourists in Rome from Easter that is tour was the only sane and timely way to get into the Sistine Chapel - which is always worth a visit our third time in there. Basilica was unexpectedly closed by the Pope on the day of this tour which didn't bother us as we went to Masses in the Basilica and did a self tours during the next few days after this tour. Guide was outstanding with the knowledge of the architecture, art work, and history of the Vatican buildings. Definitely worth the price of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is worth every dime! It is worth it for the skip the line, it is unbelievable how early people get up to get in line to enter the Vatican Museum and how long the line becomes in such a short time...and this was our experience in March which isn't even during tourist season! Our guide was very knowledgeable and even took us to some other rooms not usually on the tour to help us explain and better understand what we were going to see in the Sistine Chapel. The meeting point was easy to find and we covered so many parts of the Vatican on this tour. I would take this tour again when we go back to Rome, there is so much to see in the Vatican that I can see going several times.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the numerous things inside the Vatican. There was no problem hearing due to the microphone relay system. We started off in the Museum, and were treated to the neat staircase which we got to walk up and see a view of the city of Rome from the top. Our tour guide even recommended and pointed out a place for lunch after the tour Island Pizza which was convenient and had great food. After spending a majority of the time in the Museums and seeing amazing artwork, artifacts, etc, we were herded yep, just like sheep into the Sistine Chapel. It gave off the feeling like being a sardine in an extremely tight tin can, but that's what happens when thousands of people want to all be inside such a small space. I was disappointed to learn that we couldn't take pictures nor video inside the Sistine Chapel, but we did spend about twenty or twenty-five minutes inside so we had plenty of time for viewing. After that we were lead down a neat hallway and staircase that was specifically for group tours, which was nice as it felt nearly empty. Upon exiting the hallway we were at the square in front of the basilica. Our tour was suppose to then go into the basilica, but unfortunately we were there on a day when the basilica was closed early. This is something outside of the tour companies control, but it did still suck. We ended up returning to the basilica another day but we could hear many tour guides talking about stuff and really regretted missing out on the knowledge.

Highlights:
Amazing artwork Raphael's rooms were fantastic and I personally loved the map room/hallway
Stunning statues
Impressive exclusive access to the Bramante Staircase
Great knowledgeable tour guide
Microphone relay system from tour guide to you no issues whatsoever hearing all the details
Covered nearly everything we wanted to see

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Extended Art Tour Including Bramante Staircase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a great tour! We booked this tour before we arrived in Rome and it was my first time using Viator. Luckily, our confirmation email provided accurate details on where to meet our tour guide once we got to Vatican City. Our guide was Manuela and she was very nice and extremely knowledgeable. The tour lasted 3 hours and included the Vatican museums and St. Peter's Basilica. Both were so neat! So much history and so many beautiful sculptures and paintings. It was great to book this small group tour because we were allowed to start our tour before they open the place up to everyone else. We also skipped the entry lines which can sometimes take 3 hours to get through, we heard! I would definitely recommend this to friends!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend booking a 'skip the line' tour before arriving in Rome to avoid the queues and the pushy tour reps in the square. The meeting point for this tour was easy to find and our group departed on time. As we made our way through the Vatican, our friendly and knowledgeable guide provided interesting and frequently humorous commentary, before leaving us at the Sistine Chapel where we could spend as long as we wished before existing through the basilica. My compliments to the local operator for an enjoyable afternoon and to Viator for the easy booking procedure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were so glad that we took this tour. There were 4 of us, all seniors aged 68-79. We were able to get the 8am start time and it was a blessing to us. The weather was cool and rainy, but we went right in. The guide was wonderful, so knowledgeable. Of course the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums and St. Peter Basilica were the highlight of our stay in Rome. EXCELLENT

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour started promptly at 08.00 am, so an early start was necessary. Our guide, Daniela, was exceptionally knowledgeable and her enthusiasm infectious. Our trip to Rome was in late January, which is an ideal time of the year to do a tour such as this as there are far fewer people in the Vatican Museums than at peak times of the year. This enables you to take in far more at a far slower pace than would otherwise be possible. The tour last around three hours which gives you enough time to see all the major attractions. All in all a fantastic tour which I would place squarely in the has to be done zone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

David, our tour guide, was fabulous! He was very knowledgable about everything to do with Rome, the Vatican and art history. He took time to answer questions and was easy to listen to and understand. The 3 hours goes by very quickly and isn't nearly enough time to be able to take it all in!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tiffany our tour guide was abolutely superb!
We had a difficult start to our morning, but from the moment we joined her our day brightened.
She kept us engaged, amused and educated during the entire tour.
Her extensive knowledge of the museums, artworks, and the historical, sociopolitical and cultural contexts, was extremely helpful in appreciating the works but it was her passion that transformed the tour into something beyond special. My daughter and I both felt very enriched.
I took the Vatican museums tour with another tour guide when I was in last in Rome, some 3 years ago. All I can say is that Tiffany was incomparably better - in a class of her own! Highly, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Vatican is amazing ! Our English speaker Guide, Manuella, is really mastering the history of Rome especially Vatican. If you listen carefully to her, you can get the information that is not written in the history book. She is very patient and she can tell the story of every single picture or object. Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Room and Basilica are fantastic. Michael Angelo and Raphael are genius artist. This tour is strongly recommend for those who would like to know the history of Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful tour! I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Rome. We had an extremely knowledgeable guide who led s though rom after room of priceless art, centuries of history and beautiful architecture. It was well worth the money we spent and allowed us to skip the public line into the Vatican and go right in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Oh yes you must buy a tour and skip the line. The queue went on for miles and took anything between 3 - 4 hours to reach the start! Lovely guide very knowledgeable. Tour lasted over 4 hours but that was due to the high volume, on the day we went 45,000 people went through Vatican City just on the one same day. Amazing sculpture, artwork and atmosphere. A must see in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Raphael Rooms and St Peter's Basilica was truly amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed by both myself and my partner and an eye-opener of the history of the church. Our tour guide was brilliant, with an extensive knowledge and was very friendly too. A definite recommendation for anybody visiting Rome. We will certainly be going back in the not too distant future.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the best guide. I have forgotten her name but she is american with an art degree. She married a man from Rome. Her detail time on the Sistine chapel was amazing. I got so much more out of this Vatican tour then a prior visit. Gp with zViator. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable tour, the guide was informative and entertaining and enhanced the experience significantly.
Also thanks to Viator for delaying the start of the tour, realising we would be late arriving at the Vatican as a result of the travel chaos in Rome that morning.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This exceeded our expectations by miles -- yes we had to gather about two hours before the event was scheduled to start but...we got into section 1...the tour guide kept us entertained with a history of Rome and the Vatican... we ended up only feet away from the Pope in his Pope-mobile...we could see both live and the video displays perfectly...we could hear everything clearly...the exit was very quick and orderly -- just perfect. Thank you VIATOR!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Daniella our guide was excellent ,our early start at 8:15 meant we were ahead of the crowds .we had a fascinating tour of the Vatican museum ,the Raphael rooms ,a very good preparatory talk before entering the Sistine chapel and 20 minutes inside ,it was busy but not too crowded.Finishing with St Peter's Basillica . Daniella was very knowledgable and amusing ,a delightful guide.We thouroughly enjoyed our tour and would recommend Viator to visitors to Rome. When we booked our tour ,I did this on the phone ,the Viator staff were very helpful and knew about what they were selling.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The morning Vatican Museums tour excellent. Our guide Sara was knowledgable, interesting, informative and so enthusiastic. We learnt so much from her. After a break for lunch, we met our guide Anna, again excellent, for the tour of The Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, Basilica of St. Paul outside the walls and Basilica of Saint John Lateran and the Shrine of the Holy Stairs. We were taken to each of the three Basilicas by coach through the streets and traffic of Rome, which provided an opportunity to see and learn about some other points of interest. Just be warned that the afternoon trip ends at Santa Maggiore Basiilica not at the entrance to the Vatican Museums, where it begins . Not a problem though as Anna provided guidance on how to use the Metro,to get back to the Vatican, which provided us with yet another experience. We have used Viator before and the company always sources excellent tours, provides great value, excellent guides and never disappoints. This tour was particularly well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was our first time visiting Rome and the Vatican museums. There were lots of people but apparently it's much less crowded in the evening than during the day. Our tour guide made the tour very interesting with lots of stories behind the art. There's way more in the museums than you can see in 3 hours, but this tour hits many of the highlights and gives you time to enjoy the Sistine Chapel at the end. Worth staying up late for.

Doing what: Friday Night Vatican Museums Tour Including Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

First of all, you have to skip the line! We were amazed at how many people were in Rome and the Vatican on the 13th of October! Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and answered any and all questions. She was patient with the crowded situation and gave very interesting information about the buildings, history, art, tapestries, etc. The buildings (Vatican, St. Peter's, Sistine Chapel, etc.) were amazing and our guide helped us navigate and informed us how to get down to the tombs, etc. An excellent tour with an excellent guide. Obviously a must see when in Rome. Well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent and our favorite tour while in Rome for a week. It was well worth the early morning and taxi ride to the meetup area. Our tour started at the bottom of the steps from where the taxi dropped us off. There were 2 groups at this time but it never seemed crowded or rushed during the breakfast portion. You have to go through security at the Vatican so be aware and keep metal items in your bags to speed things along. The breakfast was lite but ample and filling. The espresso was excellent and spending sunrise in the garden, watching the sun illuminate the gardens was spectacular.

The tour itself was excellent but a bit rushed. By the time we got to the tapestries other tour groups were rushing past ours. We got to see many fine art works from sculptures, tapestries, and paintings to the famous frescoes and freezes of the Vatican Museum. For most of the tour cameras are fine, just no flash, but remember NO CAMERAS in the Sistine Chapel! We witnessed a kid trying to be sly and sneak a picture and the guards quickly rush him and make him show them the pictures and delete them off the camera. They never touched him or took his property but they were forceful and diligent in enforcing the policy so please head it. There are plenty of postcards and books with professional photos of the frescoes available.

Our tour ended in St Peter's Basilica which was amazing. Our guide explained the major parts of the Chapels inside the basilica and highlighted recommended places to visit after the tour. Unfortunately it was very crowded at this time and my wife got separated near the middle of the basilica part of the tour. The tour guide did what she could short of stopping the tour and searching for her (another couple got lost as well and were with her). We found them at the entrance/exit area and their headphones all were broken so they could not hear our guide calling for them. The end of the tour is really crowded so please pay attention.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I have been to the Vatican Museum several time in the past; however, the evening tour was everything promised and more. To see the Courtyard of the Pine cone and the dome of the Cathedral lit up at night was breathtaking. The rooms were not as crowded, especially the Sistine Chapel. Our guide was very knowledgeable and steered us to areas that were not crowded, yet were filled with incredible art and sculpture. During the two hour tour and "free time" I had more than enough time to see some of the rooms I have been unable to visit in the past. I would recommend this tour to any visitor to Rome.

Doing what: Friday Night Vatican Museums Tour Including Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Ok I just wrote the review of the Vatican in the space for the Borghese gallery tour. BUT we took both tours and loved them equally. Well-organized, with excellent tour guides. Stefanie led us through the amazing art of the Borghese Gallery, and Maria through the Vatican - both were outstanding and well worth the money and time. Try NOT to do both in the same day, as some folks did. Do one one day and the other the next - perfect way to see and appreciate both and have the rest of your days to see Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you travel to the Vatican city by either Green or Red bus tour which is by far the best way as you get a tour of Rome first and the hop on/off could be ideal if you have time, but beware and factor in Rome traffic but from Termini station about 3/4hr covers it, and there is a long walk around the Vatican wall to the entry point from the drop off point so take that into consideration when going for the start time, especially if you are a slow walker. Book on line either for a self guide, or a guided tour (which I would not recommend as there is so much to see, understand, and take in) it is also it is easy to get lost within. If you just turn up the queues can be a long and arduous wait so take a sun umbrella if hot and sunny. We found the pm tours better as there were less casual visitors around, so less queuing, do your homework before you go to make the most of your time, and be aware of the beggars, they are in your face and persistent, I strongly recommend you DON'T give as they will swarm you and follow you everywhere until you enter a place where thy cannot follow, and that doesn't include a toilet if they can get in they will. Have a great time and enjoy the experience as we did. Thank you Viator. H. Powell

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our "Vatican Day" in Rome started with the Pope's audience in the morning and the incredible experience continued in the afternoon with the tour of the Vatican Museums. Doriana was informative and friendly, showing a true passion for the subject matter. Additionally she was pretty adept at shooing away the various venders hawking various trinkets while we were staging for our trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message