The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can view the Vatican's own incredible collection while touring the so-called Vatican Museums. This huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 448 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This experience was AMAZING!!!! our tour guide the pregnant one was beautiful, knowledgeable and had the most wonderful story telling ability, which made you want to know more and her stories made you feel the characters in all the art work come to life, she was absolutely fantastic and have spoken of our VIP Breakfast at the Vatican many times over. To see the Vatican without the thousands of people first thing in the morning was brilliant the photos we were able to take unencumbered by people getting in the way of the photo was priceless. The Vatican tour is one that I have and will continue to recommend to anyone considering visiting Rome, thank you Walkabout and to our wonderful tour guide for an ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EXPERIENCE 11/10 TO YOU FOR A WELL THOUGHT OUT TOUR.
SINA, GRACE AND SHIRLEY AUSTRALIA

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rome in August is simply hell in terms of tourist attractions and the lines that lead into them. My father and I were extremely happy to have booked this skip the line tour particularly after seeing the Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel line and the massive St. Peter's line that stretched around the whole square.

In terms of the tour itself, I myself am a tour guide who has been known to by quite judge-y of other guides in the past, but our guide Max was great. His knowledge was exceptional and the way he expressed it was entertaining. He also possessed that typical tour guide humour, so expect a couple of cheesy jokes!

My father and I had a great time on the tour and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to skip the ridiculous lines and/or who would like to know more about what they are looking at.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour and a highlight of our visit to Rome. The breakfast was delicious and generous within the amazing environment of the Vatican courtyard. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful and we learnt and saw a lot. However, at no time did we feel rushed. Definitely worth the early start!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We visted Vatican 20th June 2015 our Guide was David he was very informative and funny also made us laugh.
We enjoyed our tour nearly got to see the pope. Beautiful place amazing paintings best tour we had in Rome. You cannot visit rome without going on an Vatican tour. Plus good to book inadvance as the queues are hugh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the absolute highlight of our trip to Rome--my kid's favorite. Shannon was wonderful--very warm, accommodating, knowledgeable and professional. We learned so many things from her that we didn't know! We did the VIP tour of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and Secret Rooms, which are parts of the Vatican that the rest of the public are not seeing. One of the secret rooms was a tiny chapel just outside of a former bedroom of the Pope that is still used once or twice a year by the Pope for prayer. Our group was small 15 people, and we ended the tour with a private, after hours viewing of the Sistine Chapel. Normally it's wall to wall people when tourists visit, so this was amazing. We had the entire place to ourselves for about 30 minutes, and our escort was kind and allowed us to take photos see attached. Shannon told us many funny stories, esp. about Michaelangelo, the Popes and the other artists. This is an expensive tour, but worth every penny. Cannot recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Blanch is fabulous--we highly recommend this private tour with the local company/Viator. We were in Rome with my 70 year old mom who has had knee surgeries and my 6 year old kid who refuses to walk over two miles daily. I was really worried about the Vatican tour. Our Louvre experience was poor when were in Paris. My mom had a wheel chair there but my husband kept lifting it over 100s of steps so she decided that she would do the Vatican without the wheelchair. I was nervous but fortunately it was a private tour and Blanch seemed very accommodating. She initially changed the time of the tour from morning to evening but it turned out to be more pleasant as there was not AC in the museum. Fortunately, to our surprise the elevators were functionally and my mom did not have to climb more than one little staircase. She walked slowly but Blanch was very patient and my 6 year old kid quickly bonded with her, holding her finger through the tour. The tour itself was fantastic and the Sistine Chapel was practically empty. We all stayed there for over 40 minutes and we found a place to sit down on the side benches--enjoying the beautiful ceiling and walls. Later Blanch waited for us and found a taxi that would take us back to our hotel--at that time of the day --taxi was not easy to find.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Maria Rossaria (spelling) made this tour for us, she was so passionate and engaging, my wife and I were so impressed. The 8.10am tour was well organised and informative, giving a good overall history of the vatican and the artists of Rome. We would recommend this tour and Maria!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Peter was excellent - he was very knowledgable about all the art work in the Vatican Museum and in the Sistine Chapel and he made the tour very interesting. He gave us 20 mins in the Sistine Chapel and he advised us what to look out for and how to make the most of our time there. The tour surpassed all our expectations and we would highly recommend it to others. After the tour finished I climbed to the top of the dome in St Peters and it was well worth the effort. It was one of the highlights of our stay in Rome .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can't imagine doing this without a guided tour. Our guide, David was great. We toured ancient Rome with him the day before. He is extremely knowledgeable and his knowledge of art history made this a great experience. Skipping the lines and having a guide in the Vatican Museum is essential. Great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a rainy day in Rome, but Viator does a very nice job of organizing the meeting location amidst the craziness of the Vatican area. Michaela was our tour guide, and she was very friendly and knowledgeable. An excellent guide. A word of warning for those who take this tour and it happens to be a rainy day. If you take one of those long umbrellas, you will need to check that in at a coat check area adjacent to the entry, then after the tour is over at St. Peter's Basilica, go all the way around the perimeter of the museum and pick up that umbrella at the same location - it's a long walk! One that you don't want to make after a long walking tour. Advice - take a folding umbrella that you can pack away in your very small backpack, which you can carry with you.

Otherwise, an amazing tour of the museum and the Basilica. Thought the Sistine Chapel was a bit of a letdown - amazing masterpiece of art and the circumstances surrounding its completion, but staring up at a ceiling while squished into a rectangular room like herded cattle, while the guards are telling you to be quiet in 4 languages...a bit odd.

But a great experience overall.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is highly advisable to book such a tour as the lines are impressive. And we were there off-season!
The guide a young native american in love with art and married in Rome fed us with the right amount of info without becoming boring or annoying but keeping everything interesting. And she knew what to point so we did not get lost into ...the vast amount of history covered by this tour.
We might come back by ourselves to see everything again at a slower pace but for a first encounter with Vatican, we think we did the right choice by taking the skip the line tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is highly advisable to book such a tour as the lines are impressive. And we were there off-season!
The guide a young american in love with art and married in Rome fed us with the right amount of info without becoming boring or annoying but keeping everything interesting. And she knew what to point so we did not get lost into ...the vast amount of history covered by this tour.
We might come back by ourselves to see everything again at a slower pace but for a first encounter with Vatican, we think we did the right choice by taking the skip the line tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a definite good move! There is no cost to attend the Pope's weekly blessing, however trying to get a seat with thousands of people in attendance is very difficult. The best way to go is to book this type of tour. Our guide, Francesca, was fabulous! She got us seats that were literally right next to the road that the Pope uses to enter the plaza. While waiting for the blessing to start, she gave us so much information on the history of the Vatican and made this once in a lifetime event so easy and comfortable. A definite must when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So many tourists in Rome from Easter that is tour was the only sane and timely way to get into the Sistine Chapel - which is always worth a visit our third time in there. Basilica was unexpectedly closed by the Pope on the day of this tour which didn't bother us as we went to Masses in the Basilica and did a self tours during the next few days after this tour. Guide was outstanding with the knowledge of the architecture, art work, and history of the Vatican buildings. Definitely worth the price of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is worth every dime! It is worth it for the skip the line, it is unbelievable how early people get up to get in line to enter the Vatican Museum and how long the line becomes in such a short time...and this was our experience in March which isn't even during tourist season! Our guide was very knowledgeable and even took us to some other rooms not usually on the tour to help us explain and better understand what we were going to see in the Sistine Chapel. The meeting point was easy to find and we covered so many parts of the Vatican on this tour. I would take this tour again when we go back to Rome, there is so much to see in the Vatican that I can see going several times.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the numerous things inside the Vatican. There was no problem hearing due to the microphone relay system. We started off in the Museum, and were treated to the neat staircase which we got to walk up and see a view of the city of Rome from the top. Our tour guide even recommended and pointed out a place for lunch after the tour Island Pizza which was convenient and had great food. After spending a majority of the time in the Museums and seeing amazing artwork, artifacts, etc, we were herded yep, just like sheep into the Sistine Chapel. It gave off the feeling like being a sardine in an extremely tight tin can, but that's what happens when thousands of people want to all be inside such a small space. I was disappointed to learn that we couldn't take pictures nor video inside the Sistine Chapel, but we did spend about twenty or twenty-five minutes inside so we had plenty of time for viewing. After that we were lead down a neat hallway and staircase that was specifically for group tours, which was nice as it felt nearly empty. Upon exiting the hallway we were at the square in front of the basilica. Our tour was suppose to then go into the basilica, but unfortunately we were there on a day when the basilica was closed early. This is something outside of the tour companies control, but it did still suck. We ended up returning to the basilica another day but we could hear many tour guides talking about stuff and really regretted missing out on the knowledge.

Highlights:
Amazing artwork Raphael's rooms were fantastic and I personally loved the map room/hallway
Stunning statues
Impressive exclusive access to the Bramante Staircase
Great knowledgeable tour guide
Microphone relay system from tour guide to you no issues whatsoever hearing all the details
Covered nearly everything we wanted to see

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Extended Art Tour Including Bramante Staircase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a great tour! We booked this tour before we arrived in Rome and it was my first time using Viator. Luckily, our confirmation email provided accurate details on where to meet our tour guide once we got to Vatican City. Our guide was Manuela and she was very nice and extremely knowledgeable. The tour lasted 3 hours and included the Vatican museums and St. Peter's Basilica. Both were so neat! So much history and so many beautiful sculptures and paintings. It was great to book this small group tour because we were allowed to start our tour before they open the place up to everyone else. We also skipped the entry lines which can sometimes take 3 hours to get through, we heard! I would definitely recommend this to friends!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend booking a 'skip the line' tour before arriving in Rome to avoid the queues and the pushy tour reps in the square. The meeting point for this tour was easy to find and our group departed on time. As we made our way through the Vatican, our friendly and knowledgeable guide provided interesting and frequently humorous commentary, before leaving us at the Sistine Chapel where we could spend as long as we wished before existing through the basilica. My compliments to the local operator for an enjoyable afternoon and to Viator for the easy booking procedure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were so glad that we took this tour. There were 4 of us, all seniors aged 68-79. We were able to get the 8am start time and it was a blessing to us. The weather was cool and rainy, but we went right in. The guide was wonderful, so knowledgeable. Of course the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums and St. Peter Basilica were the highlight of our stay in Rome. EXCELLENT

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour started promptly at 08.00 am, so an early start was necessary. Our guide, Daniela, was exceptionally knowledgeable and her enthusiasm infectious. Our trip to Rome was in late January, which is an ideal time of the year to do a tour such as this as there are far fewer people in the Vatican Museums than at peak times of the year. This enables you to take in far more at a far slower pace than would otherwise be possible. The tour last around three hours which gives you enough time to see all the major attractions. All in all a fantastic tour which I would place squarely in the has to be done zone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

David, our tour guide, was fabulous! He was very knowledgable about everything to do with Rome, the Vatican and art history. He took time to answer questions and was easy to listen to and understand. The 3 hours goes by very quickly and isn't nearly enough time to be able to take it all in!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tiffany our tour guide was abolutely superb!
We had a difficult start to our morning, but from the moment we joined her our day brightened.
She kept us engaged, amused and educated during the entire tour.
Her extensive knowledge of the museums, artworks, and the historical, sociopolitical and cultural contexts, was extremely helpful in appreciating the works but it was her passion that transformed the tour into something beyond special. My daughter and I both felt very enriched.
I took the Vatican museums tour with another tour guide when I was in last in Rome, some 3 years ago. All I can say is that Tiffany was incomparably better - in a class of her own! Highly, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Vatican is amazing ! Our English speaker Guide, Manuella, is really mastering the history of Rome especially Vatican. If you listen carefully to her, you can get the information that is not written in the history book. She is very patient and she can tell the story of every single picture or object. Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Room and Basilica are fantastic. Michael Angelo and Raphael are genius artist. This tour is strongly recommend for those who would like to know the history of Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful tour! I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Rome. We had an extremely knowledgeable guide who led s though rom after room of priceless art, centuries of history and beautiful architecture. It was well worth the money we spent and allowed us to skip the public line into the Vatican and go right in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Oh yes you must buy a tour and skip the line. The queue went on for miles and took anything between 3 - 4 hours to reach the start! Lovely guide very knowledgeable. Tour lasted over 4 hours but that was due to the high volume, on the day we went 45,000 people went through Vatican City just on the one same day. Amazing sculpture, artwork and atmosphere. A must see in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message