The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can tour the Vatican museums to view the sovereign state's own incredible collection. The huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8878 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

noriko c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I enjoyed it even if too many people in the Vatican Museums.
It is so nice to skip the line even if we have to wait for the staff buy the tickets about 7 minutes then, we scan the ticket and enter the Museums and we are free to go anywhere we like.
I recommend this tickets to people who want to visit the Museums, otherwise, we have to wait for a long time to just buy a ticket!! The thousands tourists there!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

jlblum78

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Just on its own, this tour was great. But it was made absolutely fantastic by our tour guide, Dorianna speling?! Here's why she and the tour were so fantastic...
1 She was unbelievably knowledgeable about the Vatican, the various pieces of work, etc.
2 She was personable, funny, and witty. She was appropriate and well timed with her jokes.
3 She was a great story teller/narrator, which helped keep me interested, captivated, and not bored.
4 She has, what I think, is one of the coolest degrees/jobs around....she's a full blown archaeologist!! I mean, that's a super cool awesome job! And, because she's a female archeologist, I think it makes her even cooler and a great role model for young girls.
5 She was very passionate about art, the artists, the history, etc, and you could tell she cared about/loved it.
6 Her English was exceptional and very easy to understand.
7 The Bramante Staircase was a great thing to see. It has awesome views of the city.
8 Because of how you access the Bramante Staircase, other people not in our tour group saw us entering and thought the area was being open to the public. So when they tried to follow us in, they were turned away. Although it may make me a bit of a jerk, I appreciated the exclusivity that the extra money this particular tour afforded me, and thus felt it was money well spent.
9 The group size was good.
10 If she saw someone taking flash photos, she would immediately ask them to turn off the flash. It's a huge pet peeve of mine when people do that, because it can ruin the artwork.
11 A few people tried to join our tour. She told them they needed to move along, as we had paid money for the guided tour.

The one thing I would suggest to anyone going to the Vatican is to goo as early in the morning as possible...the later it gets, the more packed it gets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Extended Art Tour Including Bramante Staircase

Claire D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Francesca was so knowledgable and passionate about the Vatican museums it really brought it alive for us. The museums were fascinating and as its so busy we felt we would have missed a lot without her, we learnt so much. As for the Sistine Chapel -wow!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sara, our tour guide, was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable! Our tour started early which gave us a chance to see the Vatican and other places before the crowd got too bad. The start of the tour was very easy to find from the company's emailed info when we booked.Would highly recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

ELLEN A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Nichola/Nicholai was exceptional in his knowledge and passionate in his delivery of the history of the Vatican tour We very much enjoyed the whole experience The scottish Ladies

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Phyllis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was great, but don't go on Wednesday, as we did. The Pope has an audience in St. Peter's Square on that day, so you spend more time at the Vatican. By the time you get to the Sistine Chapel, it is open to the public. So much for the private, quiet experience in the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

rosie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A unique and wonderful experience visiting St Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museum.
Excellent tour guides

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Joydeep Das United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect tour to explore the ever crowded Vatican City..The tour guide was very professional and in summary it was an way to explore the various attractions i.e. the Museum, Sistine Chapel and St.Peters.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Denise N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were very pleased with our decision to book this tour. The Vatican is so vast and is utter chaos in terms of the number of visitors that you really do need a guide to get through it. We got so much more out of our visit with an experienced guide than we could have had we attempted it on our own. Our guide, Helena, was wonderful and got us to all the highlights without ever seeming rushed. Beware of the birds on the steps of the museum, I got baptized just before we met the tour! Apparently, it happens quite frequently!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Maggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really informative tour of the Vatican with fun background information. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lawrence B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the most efficient way to see the Vatican. You are able to communicate effectively with the guide in a small group in spite of the fact that there is no getting around the crowds in the museums and St Peter's Basilica. We were able to walk through the 4 Holy Doors in Rome in this Year of Mercy as a part of this tour. A wonderful experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

ALEX M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide GiGi was fantastic, the whole tour was informative ans worth every penny. Getting up early was worth it to have breakfast in the Vatican and to view most of it without crowds

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Vicente O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well organised and very motivated staff. In the morning Gloria did not save efforts in showing us all she knew about the Vatican. In the afternoon it was a pleasure having Antonella who had to deal with difficult situations but managed to of the miracle.
Thank you.
VicenteNieves

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sarah was our guide.
Our group of 4 thought she gave us an excellent tour of the Vatican, very well informed. Thoroughly enjoyed.
Only down side was crowds of people.
Would I go again, absolutely well worth the money, we cant recommend this tour highly enough. if you get the chance go for it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting tour, with a lovely lady, who had a great depth of knowledge of the Vatican. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful experience just not long enough to absorb the wonderful treasures inside the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Jo U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Giovanna or G is wonderful! Highly recommend her if you want indepth information about the Vatican and Rome. She was also quick enough to get our group seated near the front of the stage. Thank you G!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Sue Francis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent tour with an excellent guide - Barbara. Although an early start the Vatican was still very busy so well worth joining a small group.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

patrick s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

our tour of Vatican was very good really enjoyed it our guide Seriana was very interesting and helpful

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lucus M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sara was a great tour guide! She directed us skillfully through all the hustle and bustle of a busy day at the Vatican! She really knew her stuff, very friendly and informative. We learned a lot and had a great experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great! Definitely worth the money as there was a very large line to get in. The history and seeing the Sistine Chapel was very interesting. In addition, the grounds were amazing to view. The tour guide was very informative about Vatican City and answered all of our questions about Vatican City.

The only con I had is that there were quite a number of tour groups that went and it wasn't peak season - just approaching it. This made many hallways very crowded.

I will make this clear for future goers: If you book this on any religious holiday i.e. Easter, Christmas, you WILL miss St. Peter's Basilica. I knew this well before my trip since I went over the Easter weekend. However, I didn't mind it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jamie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, guide was extremely knowledgeable about all of Vatican. Helped bring the different statues and paintings to life and gave you a glimpse of the backstory of the different things. Would definitely recommend the early tours as the security lines get overwhelming as the day goes on.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Fiona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed the tour immensely, Maria was extremely knowledgeable and also very funny. She told us a lot about the history of the artworks and of the artists too.The sights in the Vatican are incredible, not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and an amazing Tour Guide. This is a must-take tour as the lines for the Vatican were hours long since it is a jubilee year. Our tour guide was a blonde gal from America with an Art History degree who had married an Italian after studying in Italy. Her depth of knowledge on all things in the vatican museum was astounding. This was a once in a lifetime opportunity to see the vatican and our guide made the experience that much better. She kept us on schedule, ensured we all got in close to see the best artifacts, gave us great details on each exhibit, and even gave us recommendations on what to do outside of the vatican and around Rome. I would have taken this tour to see the Sistine Chapel ceiling alone it was so amazing! One of the best tours of my trip for sure!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message