The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can view the Vatican's own incredible collection while touring the so-called Vatican Museums. This huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 463 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nigel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sarah was our lovely quirky guide. From start to finish she kept us all informed about the vast array of artefacts on our route through the Vatican Museums. Nothing was a problem for her. She spoke to all with a very fresh and informative air of considerable knowledge. The Pope prevented us from entering the Basilica by going on a walk. The Basilica was closed but Sarah went the extra mile by telling us to wait a while after her tour was finished and then we would get in. She could have cut the tour short, but not Sarah she took us into the Pinacoteca to admire the work of Raphael and Leonardo da Vincis St Jerome. A 5 Star Tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

daejah04

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The first part of the tour was The Vatican our tour guide Francesca was not together. She lost a section of group after the Sistine Chapel because she wasn't clear where we should meet. In further problems she told us the 2nd half of our tour was at 2:30 when it was at 2. So we missed the second half. But the local tour company did go above and beyond and got us on the 2nd half of our tour the next day.

For the second half of the tour. Our tour guide Peter was amazing and extremely knowledgeable, I wanted to spend sometime with him after to pick his brain about the history and religion of the city. I learned so much about the churches in Rome. His wit and humor made the tour such a lovely experience. The churches were gorgeous.

I'm giving the rating a 5 because the local tour company did go above and beyond to get us on the next tour and our tour guide Peter was so amazing he deserves a 5 star rating.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Cindy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Although I am unable to remember our tour guide's name she was wonderful. She explained everything in detail and made the Vatican visit the most enjoyable excursion. If we didn't have a guide, we would not have understood how each piece of artwork, rugs, statues etc. related to religion and history. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome as it was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

colburn17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Sara is AWESOME! Loved listening to her commentary about the art, people and history of the Vatican. She is very knowledgeable. This was my first tour in Rome and I was surprised by the professionalism and knowledge of the guide. Unfortunately we were unable to see St Peter'sWeds tour, but she gave us information on how and when to see St. Peter's later in the day. This tour is a quick overview of the Vatican museums, would like to have had more time to just peruse the museums, but that would take too long. All in all it was wonderful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Gary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a GREAT way to start a vacation. A super breakfast at the Vatican before anyone else is there. A Superior guide that knew all the ins and out of getting around both the Vatican and Rome. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone!!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Patrick A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an incredibly excellent experience. We had Catherine, an Art Historian, take us through the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's Basilica. In the afternoon, we had another awesome tour guide who took us through the Major Basilica's and the Holy Staircase. This was a great tour experience and really capped our visit to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is one of the best tours in Rome. I had previously done a tour of the Vatican museum and the Sistine Chapel with St Peter's added on at the end. I wanted a more in depth look of the basilica and this was the perfect tour. We started in the Vatican Mosaic Studio which is next to the residence of the Pope! where the director of the studio gave us the entire tour. You are given special access to a behind the scene view of how artists work on and restore the mosaics in the basilica. The intricacy and artistry of their current and ongoing work was amazing to see up close. Later on my friend and I marveled that we were taken to an area of Vatican City where very few tourists go. It also gave us a special appreciation for the art work that we viewed later in the church. After this is completed about an hour then you meet with your guide to St Peter's. We appreciated the small private tour as we could take our time and enjoy at our leisure. Our guide was Mercedes. She was friendly, very informative, and allowed us to ask as many questions as we wanted. She has a good knowledge of the history, special sites in the Basilica and stories to go along with the history.
We finished our tour with a skip the line elevator ride up to the dome where Mercedes again spent time pointing out special areas that we would have missed on our own. The last part of the tour involves a climb up 320 steps to the very top. It's an arduous climb but she allowed us to take a rest when needed and I never felt rushed. It's very doable and the view from the top phenomenal! Mercedes again spent time with a very detailed tour from the top pointing out special areas of Vatican City and other areas of Rome. She even knew where the best pictures were and made sure we had these done before leaving. All in all a great day!

Doing what: Vatican Private Tour of St Peter's Basilica including the Cupola and Vatican Mosaic Studio

Anna Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Vatican VIP Experience was the highlight of our visit to Rome. Starting with the wonderful breakfast, small group tour and the expertise of our guide David made this a phenomenal experience -- one which we will always remember. Thank David and Viatour.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Ramona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

First, you must understand what you're getting into with this tour. You're getting access to one of the most crowded locations in Rome. The Vatican has thousands of tourists visiting it every day, and its impossible to see everything at a leisurely pace. When we toured the Vatican itself, our guide took us to every location described on this tour. You get to see everything, but there's a price to pay. You can't just stand in each room and take your time seeing all of the beautiful artwork, maps, and tapestries you're constantly moving, and there's little time for questions. Once you get on the tour, however, you understand why. Every room is crammed full of tourists, and is a claustrophobic sufferer's worst nightmare. Our guide ushered us through each room at a brisk pace, giving us many facts and details about each room, but moved on after a certain amount of time.

Now, that sounds like a bad deal, but there's so much to see you could spend the whole day looking at each room in the Vatican archives. Considering the amount of material to cover, our guide did an excellent job of showing us everything while giving us enough time to eat lunch and making it to the Basilica tour without rushing for time. This might sound like a bad deal if you want to spend an hour in each room, but trust me when I say it's worth it. You see absolutely everything you'd want to see. The only downside is if you want to ask the guide a million questions about each exhibit, because that's just not possible if you want to see the Vatican in one day.

And you will do a lot of walking, no joke. My husband got a blister on his foot from all the walking on this tour, but it was worth it. The Vatican has so much to see, and the basilicas are beautiful.

What makes this tour worth the money as well is you're skipping the insane line to get in the building. You do not want to wait in that line at any cost. Do this tour. You'll be glad you did.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

serafina h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This experience was AMAZING!!!! our tour guide the pregnant one was beautiful, knowledgeable and had the most wonderful story telling ability, which made you want to know more and her stories made you feel the characters in all the art work come to life, she was absolutely fantastic and have spoken of our VIP Breakfast at the Vatican many times over. To see the Vatican without the thousands of people first thing in the morning was brilliant the photos we were able to take unencumbered by people getting in the way of the photo was priceless. The Vatican tour is one that I have and will continue to recommend to anyone considering visiting Rome, thank you Walkabout and to our wonderful tour guide for an ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EXPERIENCE 11/10 TO YOU FOR A WELL THOUGHT OUT TOUR.
SINA, GRACE AND SHIRLEY AUSTRALIA

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Liam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rome in August is simply hell in terms of tourist attractions and the lines that lead into them. My father and I were extremely happy to have booked this skip the line tour particularly after seeing the Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel line and the massive St. Peter's line that stretched around the whole square.

In terms of the tour itself, I myself am a tour guide who has been known to by quite judge-y of other guides in the past, but our guide Max was great. His knowledge was exceptional and the way he expressed it was entertaining. He also possessed that typical tour guide humour, so expect a couple of cheesy jokes!

My father and I had a great time on the tour and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to skip the ridiculous lines and/or who would like to know more about what they are looking at.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour and a highlight of our visit to Rome. The breakfast was delicious and generous within the amazing environment of the Vatican courtyard. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful and we learnt and saw a lot. However, at no time did we feel rushed. Definitely worth the early start!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

Joanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We visted Vatican 20th June 2015 our Guide was David he was very informative and funny also made us laugh.
We enjoyed our tour nearly got to see the pope. Beautiful place amazing paintings best tour we had in Rome. You cannot visit rome without going on an Vatican tour. Plus good to book inadvance as the queues are hugh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Barry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the absolute highlight of our trip to Rome--my kid's favorite. Shannon was wonderful--very warm, accommodating, knowledgeable and professional. We learned so many things from her that we didn't know! We did the VIP tour of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and Secret Rooms, which are parts of the Vatican that the rest of the public are not seeing. One of the secret rooms was a tiny chapel just outside of a former bedroom of the Pope that is still used once or twice a year by the Pope for prayer. Our group was small 15 people, and we ended the tour with a private, after hours viewing of the Sistine Chapel. Normally it's wall to wall people when tourists visit, so this was amazing. We had the entire place to ourselves for about 30 minutes, and our escort was kind and allowed us to take photos see attached. Shannon told us many funny stories, esp. about Michaelangelo, the Popes and the other artists. This is an expensive tour, but worth every penny. Cannot recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Pradeep S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Blanch is fabulous--we highly recommend this private tour with the local company/Viator. We were in Rome with my 70 year old mom who has had knee surgeries and my 6 year old kid who refuses to walk over two miles daily. I was really worried about the Vatican tour. Our Louvre experience was poor when were in Paris. My mom had a wheel chair there but my husband kept lifting it over 100s of steps so she decided that she would do the Vatican without the wheelchair. I was nervous but fortunately it was a private tour and Blanch seemed very accommodating. She initially changed the time of the tour from morning to evening but it turned out to be more pleasant as there was not AC in the museum. Fortunately, to our surprise the elevators were functionally and my mom did not have to climb more than one little staircase. She walked slowly but Blanch was very patient and my 6 year old kid quickly bonded with her, holding her finger through the tour. The tour itself was fantastic and the Sistine Chapel was practically empty. We all stayed there for over 40 minutes and we found a place to sit down on the side benches--enjoying the beautiful ceiling and walls. Later Blanch waited for us and found a taxi that would take us back to our hotel--at that time of the day --taxi was not easy to find.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Maria Rossaria (spelling) made this tour for us, she was so passionate and engaging, my wife and I were so impressed. The 8.10am tour was well organised and informative, giving a good overall history of the vatican and the artists of Rome. We would recommend this tour and Maria!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

adelineperrett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Peter was excellent - he was very knowledgable about all the art work in the Vatican Museum and in the Sistine Chapel and he made the tour very interesting. He gave us 20 mins in the Sistine Chapel and he advised us what to look out for and how to make the most of our time there. The tour surpassed all our expectations and we would highly recommend it to others. After the tour finished I climbed to the top of the dome in St Peters and it was well worth the effort. It was one of the highlights of our stay in Rome .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can't imagine doing this without a guided tour. Our guide, David was great. We toured ancient Rome with him the day before. He is extremely knowledgeable and his knowledge of art history made this a great experience. Skipping the lines and having a guide in the Vatican Museum is essential. Great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

westwoodwon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a rainy day in Rome, but Viator does a very nice job of organizing the meeting location amidst the craziness of the Vatican area. Michaela was our tour guide, and she was very friendly and knowledgeable. An excellent guide. A word of warning for those who take this tour and it happens to be a rainy day. If you take one of those long umbrellas, you will need to check that in at a coat check area adjacent to the entry, then after the tour is over at St. Peter's Basilica, go all the way around the perimeter of the museum and pick up that umbrella at the same location - it's a long walk! One that you don't want to make after a long walking tour. Advice - take a folding umbrella that you can pack away in your very small backpack, which you can carry with you.

Otherwise, an amazing tour of the museum and the Basilica. Thought the Sistine Chapel was a bit of a letdown - amazing masterpiece of art and the circumstances surrounding its completion, but staring up at a ceiling while squished into a rectangular room like herded cattle, while the guards are telling you to be quiet in 4 languages...a bit odd.

But a great experience overall.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Nicolae D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is highly advisable to book such a tour as the lines are impressive. And we were there off-season!
The guide a young native american in love with art and married in Rome fed us with the right amount of info without becoming boring or annoying but keeping everything interesting. And she knew what to point so we did not get lost into ...the vast amount of history covered by this tour.
We might come back by ourselves to see everything again at a slower pace but for a first encounter with Vatican, we think we did the right choice by taking the skip the line tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Nicolae D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is highly advisable to book such a tour as the lines are impressive. And we were there off-season!
The guide a young american in love with art and married in Rome fed us with the right amount of info without becoming boring or annoying but keeping everything interesting. And she knew what to point so we did not get lost into ...the vast amount of history covered by this tour.
We might come back by ourselves to see everything again at a slower pace but for a first encounter with Vatican, we think we did the right choice by taking the skip the line tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Deborah D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a definite good move! There is no cost to attend the Pope's weekly blessing, however trying to get a seat with thousands of people in attendance is very difficult. The best way to go is to book this type of tour. Our guide, Francesca, was fabulous! She got us seats that were literally right next to the road that the Pope uses to enter the plaza. While waiting for the blessing to start, she gave us so much information on the history of the Vatican and made this once in a lifetime event so easy and comfortable. A definite must when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Jon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So many tourists in Rome from Easter that is tour was the only sane and timely way to get into the Sistine Chapel - which is always worth a visit our third time in there. Basilica was unexpectedly closed by the Pope on the day of this tour which didn't bother us as we went to Masses in the Basilica and did a self tours during the next few days after this tour. Guide was outstanding with the knowledge of the architecture, art work, and history of the Vatican buildings. Definitely worth the price of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Cecile R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is worth every dime! It is worth it for the skip the line, it is unbelievable how early people get up to get in line to enter the Vatican Museum and how long the line becomes in such a short time...and this was our experience in March which isn't even during tourist season! Our guide was very knowledgeable and even took us to some other rooms not usually on the tour to help us explain and better understand what we were going to see in the Sistine Chapel. The meeting point was easy to find and we covered so many parts of the Vatican on this tour. I would take this tour again when we go back to Rome, there is so much to see in the Vatican that I can see going several times.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

noid55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the numerous things inside the Vatican. There was no problem hearing due to the microphone relay system. We started off in the Museum, and were treated to the neat staircase which we got to walk up and see a view of the city of Rome from the top. Our tour guide even recommended and pointed out a place for lunch after the tour Island Pizza which was convenient and had great food. After spending a majority of the time in the Museums and seeing amazing artwork, artifacts, etc, we were herded yep, just like sheep into the Sistine Chapel. It gave off the feeling like being a sardine in an extremely tight tin can, but that's what happens when thousands of people want to all be inside such a small space. I was disappointed to learn that we couldn't take pictures nor video inside the Sistine Chapel, but we did spend about twenty or twenty-five minutes inside so we had plenty of time for viewing. After that we were lead down a neat hallway and staircase that was specifically for group tours, which was nice as it felt nearly empty. Upon exiting the hallway we were at the square in front of the basilica. Our tour was suppose to then go into the basilica, but unfortunately we were there on a day when the basilica was closed early. This is something outside of the tour companies control, but it did still suck. We ended up returning to the basilica another day but we could hear many tour guides talking about stuff and really regretted missing out on the knowledge.

Highlights:
Amazing artwork Raphael's rooms were fantastic and I personally loved the map room/hallway
Stunning statues
Impressive exclusive access to the Bramante Staircase
Great knowledgeable tour guide
Microphone relay system from tour guide to you no issues whatsoever hearing all the details
Covered nearly everything we wanted to see

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Extended Art Tour Including Bramante Staircase

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message