The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing, and today visitors can view the Vatican's own incredible collection while touring the so-called Vatican Museums. This huge complex of galleries ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 419 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the numerous things inside the Vatican. There was no problem hearing due to the microphone relay system. We started off in the Museum, and were treated to the neat staircase which we got to walk up and see a view of the city of Rome from the top. Our tour guide even recommended and pointed out a place for lunch after the tour Island Pizza which was convenient and had great food. After spending a majority of the time in the Museums and seeing amazing artwork, artifacts, etc, we were herded yep, just like sheep into the Sistine Chapel. It gave off the feeling like being a sardine in an extremely tight tin can, but that's what happens when thousands of people want to all be inside such a small space. I was disappointed to learn that we couldn't take pictures nor video inside the Sistine Chapel, but we did spend about twenty or twenty-five minutes inside so we had plenty of time for viewing. After that we were lead down a neat hallway and staircase that was specifically for group tours, which was nice as it felt nearly empty. Upon exiting the hallway we were at the square in front of the basilica. Our tour was suppose to then go into the basilica, but unfortunately we were there on a day when the basilica was closed early. This is something outside of the tour companies control, but it did still suck. We ended up returning to the basilica another day but we could hear many tour guides talking about stuff and really regretted missing out on the knowledge.

Highlights:
Amazing artwork Raphael's rooms were fantastic and I personally loved the map room/hallway
Stunning statues
Impressive exclusive access to the Bramante Staircase
Great knowledgeable tour guide
Microphone relay system from tour guide to you no issues whatsoever hearing all the details
Covered nearly everything we wanted to see

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Extended Art Tour Including Bramante Staircase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a great tour! We booked this tour before we arrived in Rome and it was my first time using Viator. Luckily, our confirmation email provided accurate details on where to meet our tour guide once we got to Vatican City. Our guide was Manuela and she was very nice and extremely knowledgeable. The tour lasted 3 hours and included the Vatican museums and St. Peter's Basilica. Both were so neat! So much history and so many beautiful sculptures and paintings. It was great to book this small group tour because we were allowed to start our tour before they open the place up to everyone else. We also skipped the entry lines which can sometimes take 3 hours to get through, we heard! I would definitely recommend this to friends!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend booking a 'skip the line' tour before arriving in Rome to avoid the queues and the pushy tour reps in the square. The meeting point for this tour was easy to find and our group departed on time. As we made our way through the Vatican, our friendly and knowledgeable guide provided interesting and frequently humorous commentary, before leaving us at the Sistine Chapel where we could spend as long as we wished before existing through the basilica. My compliments to the local operator for an enjoyable afternoon and to Viator for the easy booking procedure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were so glad that we took this tour. There were 4 of us, all seniors aged 68-79. We were able to get the 8am start time and it was a blessing to us. The weather was cool and rainy, but we went right in. The guide was wonderful, so knowledgeable. Of course the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums and St. Peter Basilica were the highlight of our stay in Rome. EXCELLENT

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour started promptly at 08.00 am, so an early start was necessary. Our guide, Daniela, was exceptionally knowledgeable and her enthusiasm infectious. Our trip to Rome was in late January, which is an ideal time of the year to do a tour such as this as there are far fewer people in the Vatican Museums than at peak times of the year. This enables you to take in far more at a far slower pace than would otherwise be possible. The tour last around three hours which gives you enough time to see all the major attractions. All in all a fantastic tour which I would place squarely in the has to be done zone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

David, our tour guide, was fabulous! He was very knowledgable about everything to do with Rome, the Vatican and art history. He took time to answer questions and was easy to listen to and understand. The 3 hours goes by very quickly and isn't nearly enough time to be able to take it all in!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tiffany our tour guide was abolutely superb!
We had a difficult start to our morning, but from the moment we joined her our day brightened.
She kept us engaged, amused and educated during the entire tour.
Her extensive knowledge of the museums, artworks, and the historical, sociopolitical and cultural contexts, was extremely helpful in appreciating the works but it was her passion that transformed the tour into something beyond special. My daughter and I both felt very enriched.
I took the Vatican museums tour with another tour guide when I was in last in Rome, some 3 years ago. All I can say is that Tiffany was incomparably better - in a class of her own! Highly, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Vatican is amazing ! Our English speaker Guide, Manuella, is really mastering the history of Rome especially Vatican. If you listen carefully to her, you can get the information that is not written in the history book. She is very patient and she can tell the story of every single picture or object. Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Room and Basilica are fantastic. Michael Angelo and Raphael are genius artist. This tour is strongly recommend for those who would like to know the history of Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful tour! I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Rome. We had an extremely knowledgeable guide who led s though rom after room of priceless art, centuries of history and beautiful architecture. It was well worth the money we spent and allowed us to skip the public line into the Vatican and go right in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Oh yes you must buy a tour and skip the line. The queue went on for miles and took anything between 3 - 4 hours to reach the start! Lovely guide very knowledgeable. Tour lasted over 4 hours but that was due to the high volume, on the day we went 45,000 people went through Vatican City just on the one same day. Amazing sculpture, artwork and atmosphere. A must see in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Raphael Rooms and St Peter's Basilica was truly amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed by both myself and my partner and an eye-opener of the history of the church. Our tour guide was brilliant, with an extensive knowledge and was very friendly too. A definite recommendation for anybody visiting Rome. We will certainly be going back in the not too distant future.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the best guide. I have forgotten her name but she is american with an art degree. She married a man from Rome. Her detail time on the Sistine chapel was amazing. I got so much more out of this Vatican tour then a prior visit. Gp with zViator. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable tour, the guide was informative and entertaining and enhanced the experience significantly.
Also thanks to Viator for delaying the start of the tour, realising we would be late arriving at the Vatican as a result of the travel chaos in Rome that morning.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This exceeded our expectations by miles -- yes we had to gather about two hours before the event was scheduled to start but...we got into section 1...the tour guide kept us entertained with a history of Rome and the Vatican... we ended up only feet away from the Pope in his Pope-mobile...we could see both live and the video displays perfectly...we could hear everything clearly...the exit was very quick and orderly -- just perfect. Thank you VIATOR!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Daniella our guide was excellent ,our early start at 8:15 meant we were ahead of the crowds .we had a fascinating tour of the Vatican museum ,the Raphael rooms ,a very good preparatory talk before entering the Sistine chapel and 20 minutes inside ,it was busy but not too crowded.Finishing with St Peter's Basillica . Daniella was very knowledgable and amusing ,a delightful guide.We thouroughly enjoyed our tour and would recommend Viator to visitors to Rome. When we booked our tour ,I did this on the phone ,the Viator staff were very helpful and knew about what they were selling.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message