• USD ($)
  • English
The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing. Pope Julius II (1443 - 1513) began collecting sculpture during the Renaissance and, ever since, most popes have taken an active interest in art and in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 366 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Rome. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun. The size of the lines here are unbelievable and so this "skip the line" tour was a smart choice.

The amount of items in the Vatican is amazing. I had information overload after about 2 hours. BUT our guide had a planned stop in an air-conditioned corner where our feet could recover and we could rest just before going into the Sistine chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We went to Rome as part of our honeymoon and pre booked this trip prior to arriving. Would highly recommend other people doing this purely just to skip the enormous crowds! The Vatican tour was amazing as was our tour guide David. What a great guy! Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was great. Our guide had a degree in art history in addition to being a certified tour guide (which is a difficult certification to obtain in Italy). We appreciated her knowledge and passion for this beautiful place. I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Rome to take this tour. If you are not in with a tour group you have to wait in line for hours in the sun and then walk shoulder to shoulder with thousands of other people through the museums. Even skipping the line the crowds are unbearable. With this tour we often were the only people in the hallways. We could get good pictures, and appreciate the art. Also, our guide was excellent. Previously I had toured the museums but on this tour we went through the Pope's apartments. They are no longer furnished, but the walls and the stories are stunning. The disadvantage to the night time tour is that you don't get to skip the cue for St. Peters (go around 5:00 and you'll get right in) and a second disadvantage is that the Sistine Chapel is dimly lit so it was harder to appreciate. There is nothing in the world like the Vatican. I'm confident that this tour is the best way to see it.

Doing what: Friday Night Vatican Museums Tour Including Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour and so glad we opted for the small-group, skip-the-line tour. No waiting on long lines. Our tour guide was Nicola, and he was very knowledgeable and passionate about Rome's history. He brought to life emperors and artists, and there wasn't a dull moment. He truly loved his subject. Despite the crowds, we never felt rushed and he never lost sight of us. The Sistine Chapel was amazing as was St Peter's Basilica. The Vatican Museum had amazing artwork, murals and ceilings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour. Unique. The four people who were members of the group were all experienced travellers who had been to Rome and the Vatican before. We all thought this was the best. We enjoyed the breakfast. It was so nice not to be rushed through the Museum and to be able to see the magnificent art and sculptures.The Sistene Chapel was the best. We had time to sit, stand or move around comfortably and enjoy every aspect of the chapel. No crowds, no rush and no standing in line. A very worthwhile use of time and and money. I would recommend this to friends going to Rome and I would take the tour again myself when in Rome another time.

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was great. She has an art degree and studied in Rome and London. My wife was the first tourist into the Vatican the day of our tour!

Doing what: Vatican VIP Experience: Exclusive Breakfast at the Vatican with Early Access to Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We are SO pleased we booked this tour. Our group of 14 people was the first in through the doors of the Vatican and we walked straight to the Sistine Chapel. Our guide told us what we were looking at on the way but we did not stop. We were the only ones in the chapel for about fifteen minutes. It was an amazing feeling and an awesome sight of course. After about 30 mins our guide left us and we wandered around for a couple of hours. When we went back through the chapel again to get to the church the chapel was completely full of people and it was not nearly as special. We needed to be back at our hotel at midday to meet our guide to go on a cruise departing from Rome so only had the morning for this tour. Even though we have done so much since that day we still remark how special it was to be the only ones in the chapel. So amazing. An absolute must when in Rome.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was terrific - very knowledgable and distinguished many important pieces for us. The Vatican museum can be overwhelming just by the sheer volume of art, so having a guide was very helpful. By the way, the Pope frequently gives Mass on Wednesdays. The advertisement for the tour advises of this. We were only in Rome for one day, a Wednesday, and there must have been 30,000 people there for Mass. As a result, not only was St. Peter's closed until 2 pm, but the line was still huge at 5 pm. So if you want St. Peter's do not go on Wednesday.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Sabrina our tour guide was a walking book if knowledge. I learned so much on that tour and really saw the connection between old Rome and new Rome. The artwork and artifacts were so so impressive. I highly recommend that if you are going to see the Vatican you go via a great tour like this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Skip the line is definitely recommended as when we visited (Saturday) the Vatican was very busy. The organisation of the tour was good and the guide informative but don't forget that you have to pay a separate entrance fee for the museums (23 euro) and a further fee (5 euro) to take the 550 steps to the top of St Peter's. The views from the top, however, are worth the climb - just !!!
The Sistine Chapel was impressive but, in fairness, there are equally good if not better works of art within Rome itself and my advice would be to plan sufficient time in your stay to seek these out. Top tips (apart from the usual sites) would be Santa Maria Maggiore and Basilica San Clemente.
Would certainly use Viator again when next visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour guide was Anna - she was fabulous. Her enthusiasm and knowledge of the Vatican City, its history, artwork and architecture was hugely contagious. The best three hours you could spend in Rome. Thank you Anna.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Was a great tour and the guide (an Alabama girl who studied about the Vatican while in college) was incredible! We’ve done this tour maybe a half-dozen times before and she was the best guide ever! We didn’t get to see the Basilica as it was the Pope’s Wednesday morning mass. If you do it Wednesday, take the afternoon tour. Because of this, the guide took us into some special areas (Pinoteca) and spent extra time explaining the history of other areas. We even got a sneak-peak into the former Popes’ bed chambers. We contracted to see the Basilica with a different company who gave us a great 1-hour tour on a different day. You must do a Skip-the-Line if you ever want to maximize your time in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Meeting place was easy to find and well organized. Please note: this is not a guided tour, however you are met by a guide, for us-Tiberius, who was very informative. He gave us as much history and background as he could for the time he was given. The guides basically are there to meet you, usher you into the museum and show you the way to the Sistine Chapel and there they leave you and you are able to spend as much time as you like in the Sistine Chapel and then you can wander through the Vatican Museum at your own pace, which for us, was perfect. You are basically paying to get in early before all of the crowds. The doors to the Vatican Museum if you are on a tour open at 0830am and for the general public at 0900. With this tour you are in the Sistine Chapel by 0820am. I believe there are only 3 tour companies who have early access like this. We walked through near empty halls of the museum en route to the chapel and then spent about 45 minutes in a near empty and silent Sistine Chapel, sitting, observing, meditating. Even though other tours and general public are in by 830-9 it takes them time to get to the Chapel. It was wonderful experiencing it this way. Once out of the chapel we had another 30-60 min before the crowds really started pouring in. By 11am the halls were filled to the brim. I could hardly stand it. I realized how lucky and wonderful it was to be in there early. A totally different experience. I am not an overly religious person, but we were in Rome touring around and I hate crowds and long lines. I recommend spending the extra money to do this. When we walked outside the lines were wrapped around the entire building, one guard told us 3-4 hour waits. Again note, this is not really a guided tour, you are guided into the building and then left off, but for us this was perfect as we could see the things we really wanted to focus on and were able to go at our own pace. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour of the Vatican was by far the best of all 8 tours we went on in Italy. Our tour guide, David, was super knowledgeable about how the paintings were made; who the painters, sculptors, and weavers were; what they were like as people; who the popes or dignitaries were who commissioned the various pieces of art; what motivated the dignitaries to commission such a piece; who the models were for the pieces, and the events of the times and history that shaped all the factors behind each piece. And all these explanations were done by David with humor and theatrical gestures so it was extremely memorable. When we return to Rome, we are going to request David for all our tours. We want our grandchildren to see Rome built from the ground up through time with David's words. "Paint a vivid picture of history and they'll remember.", is what my parents always said. And David makes all of history come alive. Please tell him "Thank You" for us. Out of 8 tour guides, he took the prize for BEST!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was our second visit to Rome but with different people. We used Viatour Vatican deal the previous time and were very pleased. But this time we opted for the garden tour and were fabulously impressed!!

It was such a fabulous tour with a very knowlegdeable guide.

I would highly recomend this to anyone. My partner is not even remotely interested in gardens but even he was impressed.

I know the price is a bit more than just the museum tour but we got to see a lot of different things that were shut off from ordinary visitors and seeing as it was the week before easter and extremely busy this was lovely.

5* again from us and we will use you on future trips.

Doing what: Vatican Gardens and Vatican Museums Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message