• USD ($)
  • English
The popes were among the very first royalty to open their vast art collections to public viewing. Pope Julius II (1443 - 1513) began collecting sculpture during the Renaissance and, ever since, most popes have taken an active interest in art and in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Rome and the Vatican are synonymous and your tour was special. I was punctual and the fact that we opted for a smaller group was wise as we received special attention. Our guide was tremendous and gave us a thorough appreciation especially of the art work which came to light before our eyes. Thanks to Viator our overall trip was a real success.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Ausmwo
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We took this tour on our last day in Rome before returning to Australia after three and half years in the US. It was a wonderful way to finish up. Our tour guide, Tiffany, was superb being very knowledgable and engaging. She was able to explain the story of the Vatican and its art with history and bring it alive with anecdotes. I would unreservedly recommend the tour, especially if Tiffany is the guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was amazing and so was the guide. At first I wasn't sure. They didn't have my family listed on the list for that day, but they called and got it fixed. I guess it was because my family bought the tickets so long in advance. Also it had rained with thunder/lightning early in the morning and was afraid that they were not going to do the tour of the gardens. The garden tour I think was the best part. She went the backward way of the other tours so we didn't have to deal with a lot of people. It was so beautiful then and not everything was in full bloom yet. Guide led us to a spot in the Vatican with an amazing view of Rome, then she helped us skip the lines to the museums and the Sistine Chapel. I think we spend too long in the Sistine Chapel, but just enough time in the museums. I can't remember our guide's name, but she explained everything perfectly (not too much information, but enough to understand the history). She left no time for shopping, but I wouldn't want to carry anything around during the tour.

Doing what: Vatican Gardens and Vatican Museums Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The only downside from this tour was the crowd at the vatican. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the museum was beautiful. One of my favorite parts of our rome stay.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

While the day started with overcast skies and the possibility of rain, our rainbow was this wonderful trip of the Vatican Museums. Our guide Ms. Shanon's knowledge of the subject and the history of Rome is absolutely commendable and which is what made this tour a MEMORABLE one.
We hope visit Rome again one day.........

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was an excellent tour. I clearly benefited by skipping the long queues for the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel, but what really made the tour worthwhile was the very knowledgeable and interesting commentary from our tour guide Marta. She really enhanced our understanding of the art we were viewing, which frankly was essential for the Sistine Chapel visit. Marta also went "the extra mile" by giving some great suggestions for other things to see on my Rome visit, some of which I didn't know about from the usual guide books. I really appreciated this as it made my holiday more interesting. Many thanks Marta and I wish you every success in your guiding career!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The morning tour with Tiffany in the Vatican museum, st Peters basilica and the Sistine chapel was amazing. Tiffany our guide, was the best guide anyone could have asked for. She was both kind and friendly as well as very knowledgeable about the art, the history and the religious implications of each room we entered. She was even kind enough to provide advice about other tours and to take a photo of me in the Vatican. The tour group was small which allowed out guide to get to know each of us at least a little and she knew all 13 people (15 had signed up but two disappeared early in the tour) by home town

In the afternoon, I was equally impressed with the tour around the other three main basilicas of Rome. This tour involved less walking and instead involved a narrated tour from the bus discussing the features of Rome as we passed them and the history of each church as we a approached it. Lindy, our guide was also very entertaining and knowledgeable and showed us each of the three beautiful churches and descended them in depth.

At the end of this tour, I felt both privileged and humbled to have been part of such a wonderful experience. Thank you to both tour guides and to the tour organisers for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was AWESOME. The highlight of our time in Rome. The meeting point was easy to find and our tour guide immediately made us feel welcome. She knew exactly where we should sit and kept us fully entertained with the history of the Vatican, facts and stories. A wonderful guide!! The Pope came right next to us, it was incredible. I would absolute recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour could get SIX stars !! We took the 3:00 pm tour . There were alot less people in the museum and our tour guide Shannon , ( an american girl ) was FANTASTIC !! We were a small group of 18 people including two babies , who behaved beautifully . Shannon started off by putting us at ease by telling us that the history of art was her " life" and therefore the more questions we asked the better !!
If there is ONE criticism I could make ,is that we could have spent more time in the section of the Vatican's modern art collection . I will go back to Rome and I will definitely book this tour again , and REALLY hope that Shannon is still around !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was our first trip to Rome. A colleague with a passion for the city recommended this specific Viator tour to us so we booked in advance of our city break - amazingly easy to do online with clear booking forms, easy payment and prompt responses. When we arrived at the start rendezvous we were each issued with radio receiver and a tiny earphone so we could hear our guide even though we might be briefly separated by the crowds. And crowds there were! There must have been several hundred people queueing to enter the Vatican but, just as advertised, we skipped the line without any delay. Our guide, Igor, a native Roman in spite of his Russian-sounding name, was friendly, enthusiastic, polite and informative. He swept us along, through four hours of the the most beautiful and fascinating scenery, architecture, painting and sculpture, providing brilliant explanations, charming stories and answering our many questions. For a small city the Vatican is a big place and as we must have walked many kilometres our comfortable footwear was essential! Even if you don't like doing guided tours, this one is a 'must'!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Guide was a lady born and brought up in Rome with a degree in Art History which meant that she had stacks of expert knowledge on the art and artists that have contributed over the centuries to the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. She was enthusiastic and entertaining and happy to answer questions on top of the various prepared talks with pictures that she presented during the tour. She was also content to let the tour run over time - with our permission. We were very pleased with the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Not only the highlight of my trip to Rome but possibly the highlight of my life! Our guide hustled our group right to an edge explaining that the side seats are the best because the Pope drives around in a jeep. You are closer if you are on an edge. She then gave an interesting explanation of the Vatican, the Basilica etc. The time we were waiting for the Pope flew by. She also recommended side trips to see in Rome that are off the beaten path. Then at 9:30 Pope Francis appeared with his entourage in the jeep. He was so smiley. I could hardly take pictures my hands were shaking and I had so many tears in my eyes! It was a very moving emotional experience! I highly recommend booking this tour!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is the way to visit the Vatican! Manuela, our guide, was so knowledgeable and her explanations of the stories behind the artwork, with Raphael and Michaelangelo really brought the artwork to life. St Peter's Basilica was fantastic. If we return to Rome we would probably do a tour again as there was so much to take in. Brilliant

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We found this particular tour thoroughly enjoyable and extremely interesting. Our tour guide who was a young American girl, can't remember her name, was amazing and so knowledgeable about all to do with the Vatican city and the history. This is the second time I have done this tour whilst visiting Rome and the second time around certainly didn't disappoint.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Vatican tour was everything I hoped it would be. The Viator guide Francesca was fantastic, waiting for me as I am disabled, whilst still imparting snippets from an obvious wealth of knowledge. She made the history come alive, I was indeed impressed and would recommend this tour to all travelling to Rome

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message