• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Via Appia and the Aurelian Wall

The Appian Way (Via Appia), an important Imperial Roman road dating from the 4th century BC, was built to quickly move supplies and Roman soldiers to strategic points of the Roman Empire. The Appian Way was the first and most important Roman road, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Since returning from Rome, I've been describing my bike tour of the Appian Way and recommending Topbike Rental and Tours to everyone. Frederico is a fantastic, knowledgeable, and personable guide who made the ride a great, memorable, and WAY cool experience.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a fantastic trip. I was initially worried that the intense heat would make 6 hours of cycling hard work, but I was very pleasantly surprised. We were split into two groups (two families of four in ours) and our guide supplied us with bottled water and helmets. After an introduction to our bikes and safety issues we were off. We head out of the city (passing the Coliseum) heading for the Appian Way. Our guide stopped traffic for us and also stopped regularly to allow us to refill our water bottles and tell us about the area. Catacombs were amazing and a great place to chill (literally) as the temperature is so much cooler underground, then we were off down the Appian Way heading for the Roman Viaduct - spectacular. Our final stopping point was a delightful farm in the countryside (yes it does exist) on the outskirts of Rome, where we enjoyed farm made cheese, bread and wine. This was a fantastic opportunity to have a good chat with the rest of our group. I would certainly recommend this trip and would look at doing one of their other trips when I'm in Rome again.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a fantastic experience where you will travel along ancient roads and paths that would be too difficult to find on your own. Our tour guide was wonderful, full of information about the region, both currently and historically. It was all so interesting. The wine and cheese were appreciated towards the end. On Sundays, the Appian Way is closed to traffic, so a pleasant and safe 6 hour bike ride.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastico! Simone was an outstanding guide with a wealth of historic knowledge! The trip was an easy 6 hours with just a few climbs, but with the quality of mountain bike provided, not all that difficult. The catacombs, Appian Way, aquaducts, and sheep farm were definitely a day my wife and I will remember for the rest of our lives. We wish there was a longer day trip to go even farther down Via Appia Antica! Everywhere we went and viewed was a picture postcard! Grazie mille Simone!!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great tour. It is an excellent tour that takes you along the Appian Way, Catacombs, and Roman countryside/ruins. This tour lets you see much more of the Appian Way than you would see walking on your own or on a bus tour. You ride out of lively Rome and into the outskirts of the city. The tour takes you along a route that allows you to see and learn about the history of ancient Rome. When you reach the Appian Way and ride through Rome's parks to see the ruins and aqueducts, it feels like you are in the Roman countryside, but in reality you are only miles from the Colosseum and Forum, (which you will pass by on the way back to the bike store). There is plenty of time for photo breaks and to drink water from Rome's multiple fountains along the route. There is also a nice pit stop for wine and cheese. I highly recommend the 6 hour tour that goes to the catacombs. It is well worth it. If you are looking for a great experience and do not mind the excercise (it is not that strenuous), and are also seeking a tour that goes beyond the lifeless bus tours, this is for you.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour offered us a pleasant half day away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. It was nice to see a bit of the Roman countryside and to experience some very important pieces of Roman history. We were fascinated by the aqueducts and our tour guide did a great job of explaining the significance of these structures. We also enjoyed seeing the ancient Appian Way and the catacombs. If you have an extra day in Rome and are looking for a little slower pace, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was perhaps the highlight of my trip to Italy. I have been to Rome 5 times and this is the first time I have done a bike tour or have seen the Appian Way. It was not only an amazing tour due to the archaeological wonders, but was one of the most beautiful areas of Rome I have ever seen. A must.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an incredible experience for sure! I have no previous biking experience, but I was still able to really enjoy the beautiful 6 hour tour of the Appia and the Catacombs. The sights were beautiful and our guide, Emanuele, was very fun and knowledgeable. I really liked the aperitive towards the end that allowed us to converse and really get to know each other. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic tour with a fantastic guide, Georgia. Small group, premium access over other groups on entry. Extremely interesting guide and amazing attraction. Walking the original Appian Way and viewing the aquaducts was an added bonus. Best tour we went on. Thanks Georgia

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We did the 6hr tour and it was the best part of our Rome trip by far. My only regret is that we didn't do the other two available bike tours as well. If I had it to do all over again I would start with the Rome City Bike Tour, then do the Panoramic Bike Tour, and then the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Tour...maybe twice! It was that good, and so worth the money. The quality of the bikes provided was outstanding which made the ride very smooth, but for the cobblestones! We lucked out on a day with perfect weather. The views at Aquaduct Park are phenomenal, it was just gorgeous. I would probably not bring smaller children along or adults not in decent shape since it is 30km, but it really was broken up nicely by the guided stops, so don't let the length keep you from this experience. My son's and I met such nice people on our tour, and our guide was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and easy to understand. While waiting for our tour to begin we spoke to other guides returning from tours and they all seem really great. I think you cannot go wrong with this group. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was the highlight of highlights on a wonderful week in Rome. The night before there was the mother of all thunderstorms over the city. The result was that when we Brits checked in at Top Bikes Rome we found that everyone else had cried off. We had our guide Riccardo to ourselves. The ride through the city was much easier than we anticipated as Riccardo made good use of crossings, lanes, the odd cycle way and parks. The Appian Way was great - with sites of ancient aristocratic estates with, in the case of Maxentius, a private version of the 'Circus Maximus'. What really took my breath away was cycling under a bridge to see the ruins of an amazing aqueduct which took water into the ancient city from distant hills. The riding is leisurely, only 20 miles in 6 hours. There are stops for visits to Catacombs and to enjoy wine and cheese at a C15 farm. The bikes were very good - of a higher standard than our own.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an amazing experience - 6 hours of the appian way, catacombs, and the aqueducts. The parks surrounding Rome and beautiful and gave us a prespective we otherwise wouldnot have had. The stop for pecorino cheese and wine at the sheep farm was over the top. A wonderful tour

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fabulous tour! Bruno was the best! He told the most interesting and informational stories. Biking along the ancient Appian Way was an amazing experience and the aqueduct park blew us away. We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

Hans W
Denmark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This trip with Simone as our guide was definitely one of the highlights of the 1 week long trip. We have been to Rome many times, but have never done a bike trip in Rome and Simone managed to make the trip very fun and interesting. He is knowledgeable and at the same time has a great sense of humor and succeeded in making everyone feel comfortable even though it was slowed down with having our two children and my parents of 75 and 78 on the trip and it was raining part of the day. SUPER!!! This is a MUST-DO kind of thing. The only thing we may suggest is that Viator should probably make it clear that this is a very streneous trip and should not be advised for children below 12 and elderly folks who are not in good shape and used to biking. before getting to Via Appia and biking home you do get into some pretty heavy traffic areas and this is too dangerous for younger children and the length of the trip is long (we were on the 6 hour one, which due to weather ended up being 7½ hours). Simone, however, was fabulous!! Hans W, Denmark

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Gladiator school was everything my three sons hoped for and more. Their lanestra (gladiator instructor) was engaging and had them captivated from the get-go. It also didn't hurt that they had him all to themselves, as there was no one else booked at that time. We rented bikes and cycled the Appian Way for an hour and had a glass of cold beer before heading back to the school for the last hour to watch the boys, now trained warriors, bash each others' brains out with Roman weaponry. As the lanestra said: "Sometimes the best blood spilled is the blood between brothers."

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message