• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Via Appia and the Aurelian Wall

The Appian Way (Via Appia), an important Imperial Roman road dating from the 4th century BC, was built to quickly move supplies and Roman soldiers to strategic points of the Roman Empire. The Appian Way was the first and most important Roman road, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of the catacombs, the Appian way, .and whats left of the viaducts was very informative. Jeanette, our guide, was simply wonderful. She was well versed on the subjects, and quite funny in the right places. I would highly recommend this tour, and keep in mind, its a bit longer time wise than stated

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of my trip to Rome! It was wonderful to spend a beautiful spring day exploring this area that is just outside of Rome yet feels like a different world. I've been to Rome multiple times but never explored the countryside before and wanted to try something different. The catacombs were fascinating, the aqueduct was impressive, and I particularly liked the walk along the ancient Appian Way, where we saw some of the original stone paving. The group was small and intimate, and our guide Inger was fantastic; she was friendly and full of knowledge and made the day special. Highly recommended for those that want to see a different side of Rome and catch a glimpse of the spectacular countryside!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent trip was lovely to walk along the appian way and we even saw a tomb, the catacombs were very interesting can't believe how close they were to Rome, would recommend this tour

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Appian Way bike tour was absolutely fantastic. The best experience of our whole trip. Emmanuel, our guide, was knowledgeable and enthusiatic. It was wonderful to experience the 'open air museum' as Emmanuel descibed it. Thanks again, Darren and Sian

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable and interesting tour of the Catacombs, Appian Way and aqueduct.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Since returning from Rome, I've been describing my bike tour of the Appian Way and recommending Topbike Rental and Tours to everyone. Frederico is a fantastic, knowledgeable, and personable guide who made the ride a great, memorable, and WAY cool experience.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a fantastic trip. I was initially worried that the intense heat would make 6 hours of cycling hard work, but I was very pleasantly surprised. We were split into two groups (two families of four in ours) and our guide supplied us with bottled water and helmets. After an introduction to our bikes and safety issues we were off. We head out of the city (passing the Coliseum) heading for the Appian Way. Our guide stopped traffic for us and also stopped regularly to allow us to refill our water bottles and tell us about the area. Catacombs were amazing and a great place to chill (literally) as the temperature is so much cooler underground, then we were off down the Appian Way heading for the Roman Viaduct - spectacular. Our final stopping point was a delightful farm in the countryside (yes it does exist) on the outskirts of Rome, where we enjoyed farm made cheese, bread and wine. This was a fantastic opportunity to have a good chat with the rest of our group. I would certainly recommend this trip and would look at doing one of their other trips when I'm in Rome again.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a fantastic experience where you will travel along ancient roads and paths that would be too difficult to find on your own. Our tour guide was wonderful, full of information about the region, both currently and historically. It was all so interesting. The wine and cheese were appreciated towards the end. On Sundays, the Appian Way is closed to traffic, so a pleasant and safe 6 hour bike ride.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastico! Simone was an outstanding guide with a wealth of historic knowledge! The trip was an easy 6 hours with just a few climbs, but with the quality of mountain bike provided, not all that difficult. The catacombs, Appian Way, aquaducts, and sheep farm were definitely a day my wife and I will remember for the rest of our lives. We wish there was a longer day trip to go even farther down Via Appia Antica! Everywhere we went and viewed was a picture postcard! Grazie mille Simone!!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great tour. It is an excellent tour that takes you along the Appian Way, Catacombs, and Roman countryside/ruins. This tour lets you see much more of the Appian Way than you would see walking on your own or on a bus tour. You ride out of lively Rome and into the outskirts of the city. The tour takes you along a route that allows you to see and learn about the history of ancient Rome. When you reach the Appian Way and ride through Rome's parks to see the ruins and aqueducts, it feels like you are in the Roman countryside, but in reality you are only miles from the Colosseum and Forum, (which you will pass by on the way back to the bike store). There is plenty of time for photo breaks and to drink water from Rome's multiple fountains along the route. There is also a nice pit stop for wine and cheese. I highly recommend the 6 hour tour that goes to the catacombs. It is well worth it. If you are looking for a great experience and do not mind the excercise (it is not that strenuous), and are also seeking a tour that goes beyond the lifeless bus tours, this is for you.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour offered us a pleasant half day away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. It was nice to see a bit of the Roman countryside and to experience some very important pieces of Roman history. We were fascinated by the aqueducts and our tour guide did a great job of explaining the significance of these structures. We also enjoyed seeing the ancient Appian Way and the catacombs. If you have an extra day in Rome and are looking for a little slower pace, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was perhaps the highlight of my trip to Italy. I have been to Rome 5 times and this is the first time I have done a bike tour or have seen the Appian Way. It was not only an amazing tour due to the archaeological wonders, but was one of the most beautiful areas of Rome I have ever seen. A must.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an incredible experience for sure! I have no previous biking experience, but I was still able to really enjoy the beautiful 6 hour tour of the Appia and the Catacombs. The sights were beautiful and our guide, Emanuele, was very fun and knowledgeable. I really liked the aperitive towards the end that allowed us to converse and really get to know each other. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic tour with a fantastic guide, Georgia. Small group, premium access over other groups on entry. Extremely interesting guide and amazing attraction. Walking the original Appian Way and viewing the aquaducts was an added bonus. Best tour we went on. Thanks Georgia

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We did the 6hr tour and it was the best part of our Rome trip by far. My only regret is that we didn't do the other two available bike tours as well. If I had it to do all over again I would start with the Rome City Bike Tour, then do the Panoramic Bike Tour, and then the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Tour...maybe twice! It was that good, and so worth the money. The quality of the bikes provided was outstanding which made the ride very smooth, but for the cobblestones! We lucked out on a day with perfect weather. The views at Aquaduct Park are phenomenal, it was just gorgeous. I would probably not bring smaller children along or adults not in decent shape since it is 30km, but it really was broken up nicely by the guided stops, so don't let the length keep you from this experience. My son's and I met such nice people on our tour, and our guide was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and easy to understand. While waiting for our tour to begin we spoke to other guides returning from tours and they all seem really great. I think you cannot go wrong with this group. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message