They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 304 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip the guides where amazing there knowledge and enthusiasm was first class. Well worth the day away from Rome

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We found that the Rome Card and the Omnia Vatican Card was great value for money and we really enjoyed our holiday in Rome. The Hop-On-Hop-Off bus was a great asset, it got us around and about and were able to visit everywhere we wanted.
We will definitely return to Rome again in the future, as there is still so much more too see.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful time. We'd been waiting many years to see Pompeii and can now tick it off our bucket list. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, had a sense of humour and made our day very worthwhile. We took the hotel upgrade in Sorrento and had a fabulous experience. Our room and the food seemed 5 star. The view beyond gorgeous.
Due to choppy seas we didn't see the Blue Grotto in Capri. The island was over crowded and unless you want to spend your time shopping, I would recommend giving Capri a pass. Our guide there was wonderful in every possible way.
My daughter was feeling very ill on the bus ride back to Rome and the bus driver and our guide were both warm and compassionate and made the drive as good as possible.
We would definitely use Viator Tours the next time we are in Italy.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was awesome! Our guide was fabulous. My 7 year old daughter was captivated throughout the entire tour. I was slightly worried that she would lose interest, but not a chance. Interactive games and fun was injected into this simplfied version of Rome 'back in the day'. Perfect for us adults too. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was amazing and the guides are very knowledgeable. A great one-day trip option from Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic and Syriana? was a great tour guide. The older chap that walked us around Pompeii was also fabulous and very interesting to listen to. There was just an ideal level of walking and we weren't too stuffed by the end. What an amazing place and we are so glad we finished our trip to Rome with a bang. I would like to also say that making this booking from our apartment in Rome two days before the trip was very simple. The booking process and meeting info that comes via email was very easy and ofcourse the e vouchers cause who has a printer on holidays?. all good from here. thanks ruth and robert from Melbourne

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting tour but was annoyed that Viator did not notice that I double booked the afternoon tour with the Best of Rome afternoon walking tour on the same day. My mistake, but I think Viator should have let me know.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highlight of our time in Rome and worth every cent paid for this VIP tour. Seth (tour guide) was very knowledgable and the opportunity to visit several rooms not normally open to the public was fantastic. The mask room and the Nicoli chapel were particularly great. The time in the Sistern Chapel without crowds was wonderful. We went back without a tour a couple of days later - no where near as good with huge crowds and limited views of the items we were interested in revisiting. This tour is HIGHLY recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would give this 10 stars of possible! Probably the best part of our 8 day trip to Rome! I would absolutely recommend the upgrade! The upgrade hotel is beautiful!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a brilliant tour. The 3 hour coach journey from Rome was really pleasant and didn't seem to be that long. Our tour guides, Eleanor and Robert were just superb. Robert was an archaeologist and was very knowledgeable, and funny with it! It was like having a history lesson every step of the way, and we really enjoyed that aspect. There was so much interesting information shared throughout the day and we absolutely loved it. It was a long day, about 13 hours, but well worth every minute. Pompeii is just an amazing place and should not be missed. Thank you Robert and Eleanor, we will never forget this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent tour and my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We took a similar tour several years ago but the guide only gave us the option of Villa D'Este OR Hadrian's villa so we opted for the former, despite the tour being advertised as visiting both sites. I was somewhat worried that this would be the same case this year but no, Catherine and her Spanish speaking colleague showed us around Villa Adriana with plenty of historical detail and time to enjoy the surroundings and to take photographs before transporting us to Villa D'Este where she showed us the '100 Fountains' and we were then free to wander around the villa and the beautiful gardens for an hour before returning to the coach for the 30 minute journey back to Rome. At no time did we feel rushed and we even managed to fit in an excellent panini and ice cream at the small restaurant in the square outside Villa D'Este. A good end to a good day... Our return drop off point left us a short taxi ride from our hotel - we felt like treating ourselves rather than take the metro and walk! I can certainly recommend this trip but be aware that the walk up from the car park at Hadrian's Villa is a steady but reasonable incline so those with heart or chest conditions may need several stops, but the effort is certainly worth it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an excellent tour and beautiful day! Our tour guide was an archaeologist and was so knowledgeable and passionate about ancient Rome. Loved it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Nice tour. Very pleasant guide. Pace was good, especially since this was the second tour of the day. It was nice to see and feel the quieter areas of Rome at dusk and in the early evening. The Jewish Ghetto was quite interesting. Check out the kosher Gelato. Getting to hear evening vespers in the two churches we visited was a very pleasing respite.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is not cheap, especially for a family of 4, and so expectations wereset high. Other reviews have, in my opinion, been fairly accurate. The trip itself is a no brainer - 2 world class sites although I would have been disappointed if poor weather had forced a cancellation of Vesuvius in favour of an extended visit to Pompeii (not a bad plan B but Vesuvius is after all 50% of the rationale for the trip), albeit of course no reflection of the operators. I have seen some criticism of the restaurant used for the lunchtime stop however I have no criticism. They are catering for coach loads and so it is a little fast-foodish however the quality of the Pizza (a fast-food!) was very high so no complaints from us. Daniel and Mel (our guides) were superb and incredibly knowledgeable, not just about the destination, but all things Rome. Both knew the right balance between sharing knowledge and useful info (especially as a means of making a long coach trip pass quickly) and letting us sleep! The comfort break stop at Cassino (same place on the way there and on the way back) was also pleasant especially for those partial to caffeine and, on the way back, a limoncello taster, albeit the proprietors would be well advised to keep the toilets cleaner than they were. According to the ladies these had deteriorated materially during the course of the day. In terms of logistics and organisation - both first class and would definitely use the company again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great! Robert and Mel gave us a lot of information throughout the drive to Pompeii! The guide at Pompeii was very interactive and made the entire tour very memorable! I would highly recommend this tour as a 1-day getaway from Rome! I only wish we would have had a chance to stop at Naples :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message