They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great card to take stress out of travelling around Rome for 3days. Skip the lines are a must for Vatican and colleseum which these cards give. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great card to take stress out of travelling around Rome for 3days. Skip the lines are a must for Vatican and colleseum which these cards give. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I have wanted to go to Florence for years having been to Rome and Milan several times. This tour was a great overview of the city and made you realize that you need more then just a few hours to see it. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and made the day enjoyable. If only you could make the tour 1 hour longer to allow people time to shop, get a gelato, etc that would make it better. The short time we had available was divided between seeing the church and looking at a few shops. I would recommend the tour to anyone who wants an overview of Florence. Being at a hotel on the far side of town we had a great night tour of Rome on the way back...an added benefit :)

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a must if you plan to be in Rome 2-3 days! The skip the line feature alone came in handy for saving us multiple hours of waiting in line. The cards were easy to use and gave us immediate access to so many places around Rome. Additionally, the access to public transportation was a great value. Our use of the hop-on-hop off bus was limited and I would say it is the weakest part of this package, but still useful.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The half day walking tour of the Vatican City was superb. The guide was brilliant and it was clearly evident that she loved her job. This tour is a must do while in Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it! Despite many trips to Rome, I still learned new stories. Our guide was delightful...full of excitement and laughter. My 13 year old granddaughter now wants to take her friends on the tour in the future. It was one of her favorites...and she picked out Madonnelle all over the city the next few days! Thanks for a very fun evening!

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and i went on the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome in June 2014. We had the most amazing time. The group was easy to meet in Piazza del Popolo and the air conditioned tour bus was not parked far away (no bathroom on the bus). It is about a 3 hour drive to Mt. Vesuvius where we started our tour with a hike to the top - takes about 25 minutes - pretty steep incline but absolutely doable - i would recommend wearing sneakers though as the trail is a lot of tiny crushed pebbles - can be slippery. You do stop about 1.5 hours into the trip for a bathroom break where you can also buy food. Our tour guide, Massimo, was amazing. He talked to us on the way to Mt. Vesuvious about lots of fun facts, stories, and myths about Rome and Pompeii - really interesting and animated story teller - made the bus ride go fast. Pompeii is only a 25min drive from Mt. Vesuvius. You get lunch first (really good personal pizzas) and then tour the city ruins - pretty amazing stuff. Tour guides in Pompeii vary in how good they are, but that is outside of Viator's control as they do not provide the tour guides in the city of Pompeii. Overall we had a great day trip to Pompeii and would definitely recommend the trip to others - request Massimo as your tour guide if possible :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I both agreed there was no better way to not just see the sites but to get around the area of Rome where all these landmarks reside. We learned about Rome's history from the tour guide who was as entertaining and knowledgeable a person as you can find and enjoyed knowing the short cuts to get from one spot to another so we could come back after the tour and revisit the spots we took note of as we walked and talked. The only issue we had other than Rome is a tough place to get around in was the crowds were so large in most of the landmarks that if you stopped to snap a picture you noticed you started losing communication through the headsets quickly and getting back within range sometimes took some effort because you were usually stuck behind a crowd. It didn't hamper the tour at all. Just made you aware to keep up or tune out. I'd definitely would recommend the Half-Day walking tour. Don't solo it. Romes not a user friendly place.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I think this is the best way to see Pompeii from Rome in one day. The busride was relaxing, and you will get informations about the places you pass by, such as the Montecassino.
The climb of the summit of Vesuvio was great, so was the pizza we had.
I would have liked to enter Napoli, but I guess that is not possible to combine with Vesuvio and Pompeii in only one day.
The guide in Pompeii was really good and funny. So was the guides on the bus, and they handled everything very professional - even when a lady fell and broke her leg on the way down from Vesuvio, and had to go to the hospital.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely trip - Pompeii tour was very informative and we had time to shop and have a coffee afterwards - (the best place to purchase Limoncello Liquor). Lunch was outside in a lovely restaurant with local food. The motel in Sorrento was beautiful and the restaurant we dined alone with full range on the menu and overlooking the bay - a stunning view. In Capri we took the boat into the Blue Grotto, went up the hill on the chairlift to see the amazing views. We had the last day to ourselves to wander around Sorrento or take a local bus down to the Amalfi Coast. On our return to Rome we were supposed to have a Motel drop-off, however we were left stranded with all our bags, some 3-5 km from our motel and were told it was just 100 meters walk around the corner. This spoiled up to that day a very good trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an amazing trip. It takes the entire day but is totally worth your time. The bus you take is comfortable/air conditioned. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was incredible. It's about a 40 minute walk to the top with amazing views of the Bay of Naples. The guided tour of Pompeii was also incredible. This was one of my favorite tours that we did while staying in Rome. Our guides, Geo and Daniel, were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great. Bus was comfortable, guides were good, pizza was good as well (was skeptical, but turned out better than planned). I didn't want to do shopping for souveniers, but I know others did, and the only place we really had time to do that was at a pit stop in Casino. The place had everything but just felt a bit too touristy. Pompeii and Vesuvios was a great experience, but doing a day trip was a lot of travelling for the amount of experience you get. In hindsight, I would have sacrificed a night or two in Rome and stayed in Naples.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We are SO pleased we booked this tour. Our group of 14 people was the first in through the doors of the Vatican and we walked straight to the Sistine Chapel. Our guide told us what we were looking at on the way but we did not stop. We were the only ones in the chapel for about fifteen minutes. It was an amazing feeling and an awesome sight of course. After about 30 mins our guide left us and we wandered around for a couple of hours. When we went back through the chapel again to get to the church the chapel was completely full of people and it was not nearly as special. We needed to be back at our hotel at midday to meet our guide to go on a cruise departing from Rome so only had the morning for this tour. Even though we have done so much since that day we still remark how special it was to be the only ones in the chapel. So amazing. An absolute must when in Rome.

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Probably the highlite of my Rome trip. Our small group of 15 were the last ones for the day to see the Sistine Chapel. So instead of 150 people going thru, we had a small intimate group. Once again a delightful guide.
I completely forgot to buy a book about Michaelangelo and Raphael. At the end of my 3 weeks in Italy,
one of my 3 suicases was full of souveniers; and still room for more stuff.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

James B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I took this tour and boy are we glad we did. It was a long day with an early start but our tour guide Robert was excellent, extremely knowledgable but made sure it wasn't boring. The lunch supplied was excellent with 3 different types of pizza available with beer, wine or soft drinks. The local guide at Pompeii Lina was also excellent and made the stroll around Pompeii great fun filled with useful facts and information. Our driver Mary Elena did a sterling job all day getting us safely up the very treacherous roads up Mount Vesuvius and getting us safely back to Rome in good time. The whole day was a great experience and worth every penny!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message