They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 225 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

keith l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our 4 day visit to Rome was excellent and made a lot easier with the Omnia Card and Roma Pass which allows queue skipping essential ingredient for Rome and free access to the hop on/off buses which are really good. The Vatican is breath-taking but without the queue skipping facility it would be hard work as the lines for bag checking were enormous. The sights are truly worth seeing and the little restaurants in the side streets and small piazzas are worth exploring. Great trip.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Lady 67

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The people on the Roma hop on hop off tour were very friendly, and they announced their stops. We took a different hop on hop off tour the first day and they never said anything, you had to make sure you knew what stop you got on and how many stops you had before the one you were getting off it was the green line. The Roma hop on hop off was also very considerate, it was raining, and they did everything they could to keep the seats on top dry for their passengers. They were on time. I would recommend to everyone to take the complete loop first so you can see all of Rome and decide what all you want to see. It was great seeing the city on top of the bus. The hop on hop off bus tour Roma also has a good website to tell you all the stops and what you will see there and they also give you a map when you first get on as well. The only problem with the tour buses is they don't start until 9:00 a.m. and if you have tours before that you have to find a different way of getting there and they stop early evening, so you don't get a night ride, which would have been nice. I would highly recommend the Roma hop on hop off bus tours.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Stephanie c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I have been to Rome on 3 separate occasions and never have decided to go inside until now. Please do not hesitate to book this tour. It was fabulous! My guide was great and funny and made it easy to understand with pictures of the inside chapel so we could see the details. I totally recommend getting the skip the line tour since thousands of people come here every day! I will be back to do the tour again when I go back to Rome. I would love to climb the dome...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Mrs Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a little problem with my booking paperwork when I got on the bus. However, the girl who sold tickets on the bus was extremely helpful and dealt with it quickly and efficiently. The bus was fantastic. We were only in Rome for a short 2 day trip and this made it possible for us to see all of the main attractions.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

gocaesars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great day as far as weather and learned a lot about the coliseum as well as Rome. Unfortunately we did this tour on the same day as the Rome marathon so we were not able to get to all parts of the city very easy. Our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Bruce N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked for a 48 hour period, in effect covering three days. We did a recce trip round the circuit to check out what we wanted to see and then round again to hop off view the Colosseum and Forum and then on to the Vatican Museum. The following day we timed our journey to attend the Audience with the Pope at the Vatican and to see the Travi monument. The buses were regular, the staff incredibly helpful and bilingual, and a good view from the top of the bus. Driving in Rome is something different but our bus drivers drove carefully and with consideration for the passengers. A 5 rating well earned!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Maggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! The guide was informative and knew a lot of information about each of the locations. A great way to fit most of Rome into one day. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Heather P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The ladies at the Vatican where you pick up this card helped me out so much. I had forgotten my paper and we worked it out to get the tour. Now, since I arrived very late they rebooked me for the Vatican on the following Monday. I am so thankful. This is worth the month and the time to get. I had mastered the Metro in no time Thank you to the city of Rome for clarity in the stations andjust awesome time at the Vatican.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

marsh1106

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Best way to see Rome in a day!!!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were in Italy for 10 days, only two in Rome. SO glad we did this. Our guide was really knowledgeable and talked about everything and answered ALL of our questions. Without him, we would have been wandering around trying to figure out what we were looking at. My son, age 15, REALLY enjoyed it too...very interactive rather than just looking at things. While I initially balked at the price, it was the best investment! Many thanks from a Connecticut, USA family.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Melanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

After a long night and early morning with flights back from Cairo, we only about half a day to see the main sights around Rome. This was a good way to just cruise around on a wet day, catching the bus from the stop behind the Colosseum, hop off where we wanted to, walk and take pictures around Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, etc, have a coffee stop, do some shopping, then get back on the bus for the rest of the loop! :

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Trevor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The best way to see all the magnificent sites of Rome. The ability to hop on and off provides you with the option of seeing all the cites and then choosing the one that you want to see in more detail. I would chose the option of multiple day pass, its an excellent value.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Alice N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nicholas was an excellent tour guide. Knowledgable and really kept us engaged. Our tour was in the rain and with our 16 and 23 year old sons. Worth the money since we only had 2 days in Rome!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Kenna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

HopOn HopOff tours are the best way to see any city. It's a great way to get the lay of the land and give you the opportunity to see all the tourist attractions. We took this tour the day we arrived in Rome. We were able to see everything and then map out where we wanted to get off and take a closer look. We always do the HOHO tours when we get to a new city. It's the best way to see all the great sites.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Laurie Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was pretty fantastic. The best way to see Rome. So happy my bestie and I did the Hop-On Hop-Off sightseeing tour. We rode it the two days that we were there and by the end of the first day, we knew pretty much the lay of the land and weren't afraid to get off and walk the streets of Rome. I highly recommend it. We also upgraded to Skip the Line I recommend that also!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Timmy King Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We opted for the 3 day All-Inclusive Ticket Including Entrance to the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel and I can honestly say it was worth every cent of the price.

The buses ran regularly and they were plentiful and the earphones worked perfect and they gave a fascinating account of this wonderful city. The staff were also helpful and efficient and the bus had covered all the important stops around Rome.

I can't stress enough the benefits and advantages of the inclusion of the skip the line queuing as it was definitely worth the price to save wasting hours queuing up when that time can be put to use exploring the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel and it also included skipping the lines at the Colosseum and Roman Forum also.

A tip for outside the Colosseum though, when the men dressed in the Gladiator suits kindly offer to take photos on your camera or phone,please beware as its a con to get 20 off you whilst they hold on to your phone or camera until you pay a fee. Obviously this is nothing to do with Viator as its just a tip for those that may get off at the Colosseum.

I would highly recommend this package and those who do opt for it will not be disappointed. A fantastic package in a fantastic city.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Chris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a highlight of our short stay in Rome. We had a wonderful group of people for our tour. The cellar of this restaurant is very interesting, with some ruins visible. Our tour guide Martina was awesome! Friendly, interesting and knowledgeable. The food and wine were excellent! We tried to go to the restaurant for lunch the next day but unfortunately they are only open for dinner.

Doing what: Rome Luxury Wine and Dinner Experience in a Private Cellar by the Pantheon

kbolton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a better city tour than some. It took us past all the classic sites in Rome. The day was beautiful, so the top of the bus was always full! They could easily run buses more frequently and fill them at every stop. The buses run late enough that we got some good evening pictures of buildings and sites lighted for night as well. The bus stops were easy to find and staff very pleasant to interact with.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Michael N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the highlight of the tours we took while in Italy. Not only did we get to see a lot of what the typical larger group tours saw, but we we shown so much more!!! Our guide in a professor there in Rome and he was absolutely amazing! His knowledge and storytelling outstanding! Not only did we get to see so many things not open to the public, but then to walk into the Sistine Chapel and have time alone to sit and admire the works was the best. They don't allow you to take photos while in the Sistine Chapal, but it's ok because you could never do it justice in an image anyway. Plus you can take photos every where else. I would do this again in a heartbeat!!! So glad we were able to do this. I suggest doing this tour on a Tuesday evening if possible and then going to the Papal Audience Wednesday morning.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Sugie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely fantastic time. This 3 day pass made it much easier to get around, there is not enough time to do all in Rome will be returning next fall to continue and will be purchasing the pass again to continue seeing the fantastic sights.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Adrian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The first day we turned up the provider MyRome had one of the two guides call in sick. Due to numbers, my family of 5 was turned away. Luckily we were in Rome for a week and were able to rebook at that time on a day that suited us. The tour guide we had was excellent. She had an excellent knowledge of the architecture, archeology her area of study and also of the history of the many sites we visited. She was very patient with my younger children 11 and 13 and answered their many questions with humour, clarity and in a way that kept them engaged. Based on the calibre of the tour guide we had, I have given the half-day tour of Rome 5 stars.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for money, we took advantage of the hop on hop off bus over the 3 days, and the jump the queue at the Vatican and St Peters was a must for anyone considering this type of visit to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Stacy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Went to the Colliseum at 4:30 and then took the last pick up from there. The tour was amazing to do during the last run of the day, a whole different experience as Rome gets ready for the night life.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

DIANE N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great bargain. We used the tickets for the 3 days we visited Rome. The local providers were
very helpful and polite.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Kristen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great half-day tour hitting many of the major sites in Rome. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and kept everyone's attention throughout. We had some rain but it didn't put a damper on our day. We'd definitely recommend this tour for anyone looking for a nice walk and some in depth details on Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message