They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 219 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

marsh1106

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Best way to see Rome in a day!!!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were in Italy for 10 days, only two in Rome. SO glad we did this. Our guide was really knowledgeable and talked about everything and answered ALL of our questions. Without him, we would have been wandering around trying to figure out what we were looking at. My son, age 15, REALLY enjoyed it too...very interactive rather than just looking at things. While I initially balked at the price, it was the best investment! Many thanks from a Connecticut, USA family.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Melanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

After a long night and early morning with flights back from Cairo, we only about half a day to see the main sights around Rome. This was a good way to just cruise around on a wet day, catching the bus from the stop behind the Colosseum, hop off where we wanted to, walk and take pictures around Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, etc, have a coffee stop, do some shopping, then get back on the bus for the rest of the loop! :

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Trevor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The best way to see all the magnificent sites of Rome. The ability to hop on and off provides you with the option of seeing all the cites and then choosing the one that you want to see in more detail. I would chose the option of multiple day pass, its an excellent value.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Alice N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nicholas was an excellent tour guide. Knowledgable and really kept us engaged. Our tour was in the rain and with our 16 and 23 year old sons. Worth the money since we only had 2 days in Rome!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Kenna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

HopOn HopOff tours are the best way to see any city. It's a great way to get the lay of the land and give you the opportunity to see all the tourist attractions. We took this tour the day we arrived in Rome. We were able to see everything and then map out where we wanted to get off and take a closer look. We always do the HOHO tours when we get to a new city. It's the best way to see all the great sites.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Laurie Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was pretty fantastic. The best way to see Rome. So happy my bestie and I did the Hop-On Hop-Off sightseeing tour. We rode it the two days that we were there and by the end of the first day, we knew pretty much the lay of the land and weren't afraid to get off and walk the streets of Rome. I highly recommend it. We also upgraded to Skip the Line I recommend that also!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Timmy King Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We opted for the 3 day All-Inclusive Ticket Including Entrance to the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel and I can honestly say it was worth every cent of the price.

The buses ran regularly and they were plentiful and the earphones worked perfect and they gave a fascinating account of this wonderful city. The staff were also helpful and efficient and the bus had covered all the important stops around Rome.

I can't stress enough the benefits and advantages of the inclusion of the skip the line queuing as it was definitely worth the price to save wasting hours queuing up when that time can be put to use exploring the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel and it also included skipping the lines at the Colosseum and Roman Forum also.

A tip for outside the Colosseum though, when the men dressed in the Gladiator suits kindly offer to take photos on your camera or phone,please beware as its a con to get 20 off you whilst they hold on to your phone or camera until you pay a fee. Obviously this is nothing to do with Viator as its just a tip for those that may get off at the Colosseum.

I would highly recommend this package and those who do opt for it will not be disappointed. A fantastic package in a fantastic city.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Chris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a highlight of our short stay in Rome. We had a wonderful group of people for our tour. The cellar of this restaurant is very interesting, with some ruins visible. Our tour guide Martina was awesome! Friendly, interesting and knowledgeable. The food and wine were excellent! We tried to go to the restaurant for lunch the next day but unfortunately they are only open for dinner.

Doing what: Rome Luxury Wine and Dinner Experience in a Private Cellar by the Pantheon

kbolton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a better city tour than some. It took us past all the classic sites in Rome. The day was beautiful, so the top of the bus was always full! They could easily run buses more frequently and fill them at every stop. The buses run late enough that we got some good evening pictures of buildings and sites lighted for night as well. The bus stops were easy to find and staff very pleasant to interact with.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Michael N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the highlight of the tours we took while in Italy. Not only did we get to see a lot of what the typical larger group tours saw, but we we shown so much more!!! Our guide in a professor there in Rome and he was absolutely amazing! His knowledge and storytelling outstanding! Not only did we get to see so many things not open to the public, but then to walk into the Sistine Chapel and have time alone to sit and admire the works was the best. They don't allow you to take photos while in the Sistine Chapal, but it's ok because you could never do it justice in an image anyway. Plus you can take photos every where else. I would do this again in a heartbeat!!! So glad we were able to do this. I suggest doing this tour on a Tuesday evening if possible and then going to the Papal Audience Wednesday morning.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Sugie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely fantastic time. This 3 day pass made it much easier to get around, there is not enough time to do all in Rome will be returning next fall to continue and will be purchasing the pass again to continue seeing the fantastic sights.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Adrian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The first day we turned up the provider MyRome had one of the two guides call in sick. Due to numbers, my family of 5 was turned away. Luckily we were in Rome for a week and were able to rebook at that time on a day that suited us. The tour guide we had was excellent. She had an excellent knowledge of the architecture, archeology her area of study and also of the history of the many sites we visited. She was very patient with my younger children 11 and 13 and answered their many questions with humour, clarity and in a way that kept them engaged. Based on the calibre of the tour guide we had, I have given the half-day tour of Rome 5 stars.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for money, we took advantage of the hop on hop off bus over the 3 days, and the jump the queue at the Vatican and St Peters was a must for anyone considering this type of visit to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Stacy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Went to the Colliseum at 4:30 and then took the last pick up from there. The tour was amazing to do during the last run of the day, a whole different experience as Rome gets ready for the night life.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

DIANE N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great bargain. We used the tickets for the 3 days we visited Rome. The local providers were
very helpful and polite.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Kristen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great half-day tour hitting many of the major sites in Rome. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and kept everyone's attention throughout. We had some rain but it didn't put a damper on our day. We'd definitely recommend this tour for anyone looking for a nice walk and some in depth details on Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Derek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic, extremely crowded inside the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel, friends say that Rome is now packed 365 days of the year gone are peak and low seasons, so book your tours accordingly to skip the lines. We have visited Rome a few times and this was the first time we had to miss the climb to the Basilica, much to the disappointment of our teenage children, line just ridiculous.

Doing what: Vatican Gardens and Vatican Museums Tour

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent hop on hop off bus tour gives a good insight into Rome. Used the bus on several days.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! A good tool to get the lay of the land and to use as transportation to the sites you want to see. Spent 3 days in Rome and used the bus multiple times.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Rachel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A perfect way to see the main sights of Rome in comfort and at any time of the day. The only improvement I'd suggest is that the buses run in opposite directions rather than clockwise only as it can make journey time (eg to Vatican City from Termini) longer than necessary

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

EDGARDO S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This 3 day pass that combines The Vatican and the top 10 areas of Rome which is a must buy for travelers interested in a V.I.P. experience. The pass allows you to save countless hours of waiting in queue for all the major attractions of the capital of Italia and everything within Vatican City! The pass also offers you access to all the Metro buses and trains. Moreover, you can enjoy one of the many yellow hop on/hop off buses, with 5 language translation, to see all of what Rome has to enjoy. In addition, the pass gives you discounts at private museums such as Davinci's. Please don't go to Rome without The Omnia pass !

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Heather D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Guide was a historian who was from Rome so she knew loads of information. Very sensitive to our comfort on a scorching hot day and as per other reviews she kept us in the shade as much as possible and provided us with lots of water stops from the copious number of water fountains on tour. Would recommend this tour and Viator for booking. Skipped the lines always and groups were small enough to allow us to stay close to guide

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Victoria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The pass was great for our few days in the city, we made the most of the hop on hop off open bus tour getting on and off at various stop allowing us to get round true city with ease. The card also allowed us to use the metro for the three days allowing us to get into and out of the city with ease, such a simple system. Using the card for the attractions, not only got us entry but allowed us to skip the three hour queuing to get inside both the basilica and the coliseum. I would highly recommend this to anyone knowing that they are visiting Rome to see the sites, and to make the most of the transport included.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Kate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were not sure about this tour as the reviews appeared mixed. First off...We found the food at The Hotel Forumn to be very good. Yes, the restaurant is a bit dated but that only added to the charm for us. We had a view of the forumn from our table and we were able to have our own table, not forced to sit with others we did not know on the tour.
What a lovely way to start a tour! The waiters were super attentive, and as it started to get dark and dinner and dessert, was over btw I am gluten free and they served a fabulous gluten free pasta we took a brief walk to The Forumn. There were about 16 people in our tour and that was not too many. There was no line, and with a full moon rising we entered the Colosseum. This was our first night in Rome and what a fabulous way to begin!!! The Colosseum at night is NOT brightly lit. It is just right to give you the wonderful feel that you are walking on sacred ground. I wish I could recall the name of the young lady leading the tour...She was simply delightful and told the compelling story and history of The Colosseum. The underground access was amazing. We chatted later in the week with tourists who had just visited the Colosseum during the day and it was hot and very crowded. We maybe saw one other tour group ahead of us but it was timed to make you feel like we were there by ourselves. There is quite a bit of walking but if one asks, there are elevators and the Viator tour guides go above and beyond to accomodate one's needs We were not rushed at all. Just be prepared to do a bit of walking and to have to look for a taxi after. There is no taxi line at the exit. Make sure to ask your guide where to pick up a cab, a bunch of us got lost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message