• USD ($)
  • English
They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

OMG!!! This tour would have to be the BEST VALUE for money and the best money I've ever spent. The Tour Guide was amazing; knowledgeable, witty, informative, smart, friendly etc etc. If you have a spare day in Rome, do this tour - you'll NEVER regret it!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous day trip from Rome. The guides were fabulous - very, very knowledgable and also very funny. Although the day was a little overcast we still had an enjoyable hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius. However the highlight of the day was Pompeii! We could have stayed there the whole day looking around the place. Our guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. Great value for money and highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great day trip from Rome to Pompeii/Mount Vesuvius. We were staying within walking distance of the Piazza di Popolo where we met our guide Anna and boarded the bus. The ride went quickly with Anna dn Ettore giving great background on the area and the sites wew were about to enjoy. A half-way break in Cassino was welcome. The tour of Pompeii was one of the best parts of our Italy trip, though a little rushed and quite crowded. I would have enjoyed another hour or so to explore the ruins. After a delicious pizza lunch, we headed over to the volcano. The hike to the top was well worth it. An awesome view of the Bay of Naples. The ride home was quick. All in all a freat day trip. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed every minute of the tour. We only had three days to spend in Rome, and the tour was one of the highlights. I can strongly recommend it, even if one has more time than we did to spend in this fascinating city.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Day trip to Vesuvius is a long day from Rome but well worth it. Our Tour Guides Louise and Massimo were fantastic, they gave us time to chill in the morning until we stopped for coffee then on the second part of the bus journey they took us through background to what we were going to see and also the areas we were travelling through. They were both very informative and very funny. Our first stop was Mount Vesuvius, this is a good trek up to the top but worth it. Then we went for dinner which was quickly served and we had good options of pizza and drinks to choose from, and the guides were good to point out that extra drinks here were expensive. then we went a short drive to Pompeii, on this tour we had a local guide as well as Louise, his name was Willie and he was sooo funny, one of the most entertaining tour guides we have ever had, he kept a smile on our face all the way round, however still giving us a very good insight into the story of Pompeii.

I would highly recommend this tour, the guides were fantastic, they made the day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My only complaint was the tour guide was not firm enough with people who totally ignored the "report back" time. Every time one couple just refused to be on time - sometimes keeping us waiting for 15-20 minutes. After about the 3rd warning - everyone else on the tour was frustrated and upset that our time was being wasted. Yet, it still continued all day long. 2 warnings and you get left. If everyone else can be prompt then those that are not prompt get left behind!!!!!' Other than that one complaint, it was an excellent day trip from Rome. The restaurant that we ate lunch at was delicious. The bus tour guide and the city tour guide both very knowledgeable -- just not tough enough on the time issues.

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great card to take stress out of travelling around Rome for 3days. Skip the lines are a must for Vatican and colleseum which these cards give. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great card to take stress out of travelling around Rome for 3days. Skip the lines are a must for Vatican and colleseum which these cards give. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I have wanted to go to Florence for years having been to Rome and Milan several times. This tour was a great overview of the city and made you realize that you need more then just a few hours to see it. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and made the day enjoyable. If only you could make the tour 1 hour longer to allow people time to shop, get a gelato, etc that would make it better. The short time we had available was divided between seeing the church and looking at a few shops. I would recommend the tour to anyone who wants an overview of Florence. Being at a hotel on the far side of town we had a great night tour of Rome on the way back...an added benefit :)

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a must if you plan to be in Rome 2-3 days! The skip the line feature alone came in handy for saving us multiple hours of waiting in line. The cards were easy to use and gave us immediate access to so many places around Rome. Additionally, the access to public transportation was a great value. Our use of the hop-on-hop off bus was limited and I would say it is the weakest part of this package, but still useful.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The half day walking tour of the Vatican City was superb. The guide was brilliant and it was clearly evident that she loved her job. This tour is a must do while in Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it! Despite many trips to Rome, I still learned new stories. Our guide was delightful...full of excitement and laughter. My 13 year old granddaughter now wants to take her friends on the tour in the future. It was one of her favorites...and she picked out Madonnelle all over the city the next few days! Thanks for a very fun evening!

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and i went on the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome in June 2014. We had the most amazing time. The group was easy to meet in Piazza del Popolo and the air conditioned tour bus was not parked far away (no bathroom on the bus). It is about a 3 hour drive to Mt. Vesuvius where we started our tour with a hike to the top - takes about 25 minutes - pretty steep incline but absolutely doable - i would recommend wearing sneakers though as the trail is a lot of tiny crushed pebbles - can be slippery. You do stop about 1.5 hours into the trip for a bathroom break where you can also buy food. Our tour guide, Massimo, was amazing. He talked to us on the way to Mt. Vesuvious about lots of fun facts, stories, and myths about Rome and Pompeii - really interesting and animated story teller - made the bus ride go fast. Pompeii is only a 25min drive from Mt. Vesuvius. You get lunch first (really good personal pizzas) and then tour the city ruins - pretty amazing stuff. Tour guides in Pompeii vary in how good they are, but that is outside of Viator's control as they do not provide the tour guides in the city of Pompeii. Overall we had a great day trip to Pompeii and would definitely recommend the trip to others - request Massimo as your tour guide if possible :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I both agreed there was no better way to not just see the sites but to get around the area of Rome where all these landmarks reside. We learned about Rome's history from the tour guide who was as entertaining and knowledgeable a person as you can find and enjoyed knowing the short cuts to get from one spot to another so we could come back after the tour and revisit the spots we took note of as we walked and talked. The only issue we had other than Rome is a tough place to get around in was the crowds were so large in most of the landmarks that if you stopped to snap a picture you noticed you started losing communication through the headsets quickly and getting back within range sometimes took some effort because you were usually stuck behind a crowd. It didn't hamper the tour at all. Just made you aware to keep up or tune out. I'd definitely would recommend the Half-Day walking tour. Don't solo it. Romes not a user friendly place.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I think this is the best way to see Pompeii from Rome in one day. The busride was relaxing, and you will get informations about the places you pass by, such as the Montecassino.
The climb of the summit of Vesuvio was great, so was the pizza we had.
I would have liked to enter Napoli, but I guess that is not possible to combine with Vesuvio and Pompeii in only one day.
The guide in Pompeii was really good and funny. So was the guides on the bus, and they handled everything very professional - even when a lady fell and broke her leg on the way down from Vesuvio, and had to go to the hospital.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message