They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 295 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a brilliant tour. The 3 hour coach journey from Rome was really pleasant and didn't seem to be that long. Our tour guides, Eleanor and Robert were just superb. Robert was an archaeologist and was very knowledgeable, and funny with it! It was like having a history lesson every step of the way, and we really enjoyed that aspect. There was so much interesting information shared throughout the day and we absolutely loved it. It was a long day, about 13 hours, but well worth every minute. Pompeii is just an amazing place and should not be missed. Thank you Robert and Eleanor, we will never forget this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent tour and my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We took a similar tour several years ago but the guide only gave us the option of Villa D'Este OR Hadrian's villa so we opted for the former, despite the tour being advertised as visiting both sites. I was somewhat worried that this would be the same case this year but no, Catherine and her Spanish speaking colleague showed us around Villa Adriana with plenty of historical detail and time to enjoy the surroundings and to take photographs before transporting us to Villa D'Este where she showed us the '100 Fountains' and we were then free to wander around the villa and the beautiful gardens for an hour before returning to the coach for the 30 minute journey back to Rome. At no time did we feel rushed and we even managed to fit in an excellent panini and ice cream at the small restaurant in the square outside Villa D'Este. A good end to a good day... Our return drop off point left us a short taxi ride from our hotel - we felt like treating ourselves rather than take the metro and walk! I can certainly recommend this trip but be aware that the walk up from the car park at Hadrian's Villa is a steady but reasonable incline so those with heart or chest conditions may need several stops, but the effort is certainly worth it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an excellent tour and beautiful day! Our tour guide was an archaeologist and was so knowledgeable and passionate about ancient Rome. Loved it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Nice tour. Very pleasant guide. Pace was good, especially since this was the second tour of the day. It was nice to see and feel the quieter areas of Rome at dusk and in the early evening. The Jewish Ghetto was quite interesting. Check out the kosher Gelato. Getting to hear evening vespers in the two churches we visited was a very pleasing respite.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is not cheap, especially for a family of 4, and so expectations wereset high. Other reviews have, in my opinion, been fairly accurate. The trip itself is a no brainer - 2 world class sites although I would have been disappointed if poor weather had forced a cancellation of Vesuvius in favour of an extended visit to Pompeii (not a bad plan B but Vesuvius is after all 50% of the rationale for the trip), albeit of course no reflection of the operators. I have seen some criticism of the restaurant used for the lunchtime stop however I have no criticism. They are catering for coach loads and so it is a little fast-foodish however the quality of the Pizza (a fast-food!) was very high so no complaints from us. Daniel and Mel (our guides) were superb and incredibly knowledgeable, not just about the destination, but all things Rome. Both knew the right balance between sharing knowledge and useful info (especially as a means of making a long coach trip pass quickly) and letting us sleep! The comfort break stop at Cassino (same place on the way there and on the way back) was also pleasant especially for those partial to caffeine and, on the way back, a limoncello taster, albeit the proprietors would be well advised to keep the toilets cleaner than they were. According to the ladies these had deteriorated materially during the course of the day. In terms of logistics and organisation - both first class and would definitely use the company again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great! Robert and Mel gave us a lot of information throughout the drive to Pompeii! The guide at Pompeii was very interactive and made the entire tour very memorable! I would highly recommend this tour as a 1-day getaway from Rome! I only wish we would have had a chance to stop at Naples :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a much better trip than I imagined. It is a long day, but you get to experience Naples Pizza, walk up Mt. Vesuvius, and tour around Pompeii. Sarah and Robert were a great tag team. Robert provided extensive geologic background and the history of the surrounding area, while Sarah provided us with some very interesting and funny details about the food. It was an outstanding trip, and I could not have learned as much traveling on my own. Thank you, thank you. A side note: there are a few trips advertised for Pompeii, but it is worth paying the extra to eat lunch in Naples and walk up the mountian. Also, maybe you want to wear some sturdy shoes for the mountain. . Truly amazing! A must see if you are going to Rome for a few days.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such an amazing day and one not to be missed when in Rome. It was a long day (left 07.30am and returned around 8pm) but the guides Mike and Etera (Sorry lost paper on which I wrote you name!) made it brilliant - they were so informative and just so funny - it was a great tour. Massimo the driver is so skilful. We got to the top of Vesuvius and got post cards stamped. The walk up is a bit steep but not really like climbing a mountain as path is wide and hand rail all the way. We really recommend this tour. Pompei is something else - the local guide was also great. Having gone to other sights in Rome ourselves it was good to have a day that was all organised (so well) for us and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the afternoon tour, after a 16 hour plane connection to Rome, on a hot sunny day with tour guide Marianna? Not sure of her correct name and spelling. She was efficient, and gave so much knowledge to keep us (2 grandparents with a 17 year old grandson) interested and asking questions. I can't imagine waiting in line, and walking through the museum and the chapel and basilica without a guide to give so much knowledge. We only had 4 full days in Rome, and wanted to make the most of our time, which is why we did this tour the day we arrived.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This wonderful little tour started at Hadrian's Villa, which was fascinating and our guide was so knowledgeable, she made it even more interesting.
After Hadrian's Villa we moved to Tivoli and Villa d'Este which was literally stunning!! Fabulous day (2.30 to about 7pm) out from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We loved it.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

​​
Much better than I thought it was going to be! This is definitely a must see if you're in Rome for a couple days. Plan for 4-5 hours including this 3 hour walking tour. I just thought it a big church, it turns out to be a MASSIVE church.

Things to keep in Mind:

Cover up: The basilica has a dress code so make sure you follow it. If you don't you can't go into the Sistine Chapel or the Basilica. You need to cover your shoulders and you need need shorts or a dress that covers you're knees.

HIKE TO THE TOP OF THE DOME: This is a MUST if you have the energy. It's 5 euro to walk the 500+ steps to the top. 7 euro to take an elevator half way and walk the rest. Amazing views of Rome - highest point in Rome so you can see the entire city on a nice day.

READ THE FINE PRINT: I booked it not realizing that we also had to purchase tickets into the Vatican. 23 euro per person so the whole experience ended up costing about $175. I'm cheap so if I would have known before hand, I probably wouldn't have done it. I'm so glad I didn't though since the whole experience was amazing!

The tour was a full 3 hours. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went smoothly on this tour, even the weather played along giving us a clear view after our climb to the top of Vesuvius. Our tour guides Daniel and Ettore were very entertaining and informative making the long bus trip pass quickly. With the new parking shemozzle on the Vesuvius access road, making this trip on our own would have been confusing, frustrating and difficult whereas our trusty guides had us out of the gridlocked bus and on up the path in no time. Ettore's colourful commentary on the situation was a hilarious highlight of the day rivalled only by his dissertation on early Roman toilet habits.

Although we'd spent the previous week on the Amalfi coast we made the decision to do Pompeii from Rome as taking public transport from where we were staying involved both bus and train travel and deciphering timetables and connections etc. We're so glad we did as the day trip was an efficient and excellent use of time and we otherwise wouldn't have climbed Vesuvius and visited Pompeii on the same day thus missing one or the other.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 day Italy Trip was an excellent value. Sorrento and Capri were so beautiful and Pompeii was very interesting. The stop in Naples was unnecessary as we simply passed by points of interest. Our guide of Pompeii was very knowledgeable. Sacha was an excellent guide and made our time in Capri extra special. Although we weren't able to see the Blue Grotto, due to weather, we did buy tickets for the chair lift in Anacapri and the views were amazing. Two negatives were that the tour company tried to switch our hotels which was very upsetting and stressful. When I booked with Viator I already had reservations in one of the top hotels in Sorrento. I only decided to switch to the Viator trip because you assured me that I would be placed in one of the hotels listed in the description of the trip. I did a lot of research on the hotels and felt comfortable giving up my reservation for one of the hotels offered with the 3 Day Trip. Then when I called the day before out tour left to confirm the hotel placement,the tour company told me that I was being placed in a different hotel and that there was nothing that they could do. Luckily after much discussion, they placed me in the original hotel that was listed, however, this situation was unacceptable and stressful in the middle of our vacation. I must say that the Hotel Capidomonte was absolutely wonderful. The service, meals and views from our rooms were first class. The only other problem, which should be addressed, is that the tour guide (forgot her name) that transitioned us from Pompeii to Sorrento recommended a private tour of Amalfi and said that she would be available by phone to help us make arrangements. We did call her and never received a return phone call. (We weren't the only ones with this experience.) Luckily, our hotel recommended a driver and we had a wonderful day. I should also mention that the guide from Sorrento back to Rome (also forgot her name) was excellent-so interested in each guest.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This guide was amazing. His knowledge of Italy, Rome and Pompeii was fantastic. He was very entertaining and had a great sense of humor (and he will tell you, a sexy voice). Pompeii is not to be missed. The climb to the top of Mt. Vesuvius was spectacular and everyone made it up and back. We had a great day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message