They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 297 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worked out really well. The guides and driver helped make the day. It was a 13 hour round trip but well worth it and not too much. We had 2 hours or so round Pompeii which was OK to see the main parts and more than get the feel of the place. You could spend a whole day there but considering the trip was from Rome and included Vesuvius it was a good agenda.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

In both cases, the Half-Day Walking Tours well exceeded our expectations, and we would highly recommend them to anyone considering visiting Rome. First-class guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Highlight of my holiday in Rome. Fully recommended for those who love history, adventure, new experience and great lunch. It was 2 courses menu in one of local own family restaurant with wine and coffee. Atmosphere was priceless. Thanks to our tour leader Arthur

Doing what: Segway tour of Appian Way in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Cooking With Nona class was so much fun! After a long day of touring the Vatican we were able to relax with our wonderful hosts, Emma and Anatella. We were very "hands on" in preparing our meal, rolling our dough and making noodles for fettuccine, preparing sauce, meatballs and tiramisu!! Lots of laughter and enjoying meeting new friends. The class size was small (seven of us) which made it all the more intimate. Thank you for the highlight of our time in Rome. I do need to say that the instructions for finding the apartment was not complete on our confirmation. We found the address but we were missing the information on which apartment to go to. Thankfully, a couple helped us find the right place. Other than that we had a wonderful time with really delicious food. Thank you Anatella, you are delightful!!

Doing what: Experience Italy: Cooking Class and Dinner with Nonna

Gilad
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a really good day trip from Rome. Our tour guide Christina was very nice and informative. It's a whole day with lunch, great value for price. Orvieto and Assisi are lovely italian surprises.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome tour from start to finish! We learned a great deal about the history, food/wine, people and geography of the area from our two professional tour guides Stefanie and Hector - Grazie! On site at Pompeii, Giorgio proudly echoed his Family roots as assistants to the archaeologists throughout the restorations. We really enjoyed the walk-through with him and this historical tour. All three guides have a wonderful sense of humour! Hector had us rolling in the bus aisles with his tips on crossing the streets in Rome, paying taxi fare/the drivers and ownership of our dinner table til we ask for the bill/how to ask for the bill if ignored. All could relate to what he was saying. Hilarious!

The pizza for lunch at Tiberious (included with tour) was frankly the best we ate while in Italy. It served us well for the Vesuvius climb! Grazie Antonnio for the amazing drive along some single lane hairpin curves up and down the mountain to the starting point of the climb. Phew! Spectacular view of the crater and the Gulf of Naples! Could even see the distant island of Capri.

It is a full day (7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.) and we highly recommend this tour!

Ted and Monique
Ottawa, Canada

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did this tour the first day we arrived in Rome. It was a great way to get yourself oriented to the city and see and hear about so many of the historic sites. Our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The staff at The Vatican office are fantastic. We used the hop on hop off bus constantly for the 3 days. You can hear all about the history of Rome and you are told which stop to get off at to see each site. There is also a wonderful guide and map and a Pass for transport. You get to see St Peter's, The Vatican and Sistene Chapel and bypass the endless queues. We used the Pass card to see The Colosseum and Pantheon. We went straight into The Colosseum as there is a quick queue for the Roma pass customers.
We stayed outside Rome, but all you really need is a hotel in the centre of Rome and the Omnia and Rome card. That way you can hop on and off the bus to each site and wander around Rome in the evening and enjoy the atmosphere and the sites. Would recommend the Omnia and Rome card to everyone. Well worth the money and the staff will help you with any query.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip the guides where amazing there knowledge and enthusiasm was first class. Well worth the day away from Rome

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We found that the Rome Card and the Omnia Vatican Card was great value for money and we really enjoyed our holiday in Rome. The Hop-On-Hop-Off bus was a great asset, it got us around and about and were able to visit everywhere we wanted.
We will definitely return to Rome again in the future, as there is still so much more too see.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was awesome! Our guide was fabulous. My 7 year old daughter was captivated throughout the entire tour. I was slightly worried that she would lose interest, but not a chance. Interactive games and fun was injected into this simplfied version of Rome 'back in the day'. Perfect for us adults too. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was amazing and the guides are very knowledgeable. A great one-day trip option from Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic and Syriana? was a great tour guide. The older chap that walked us around Pompeii was also fabulous and very interesting to listen to. There was just an ideal level of walking and we weren't too stuffed by the end. What an amazing place and we are so glad we finished our trip to Rome with a bang. I would like to also say that making this booking from our apartment in Rome two days before the trip was very simple. The booking process and meeting info that comes via email was very easy and ofcourse the e vouchers cause who has a printer on holidays?. all good from here. thanks ruth and robert from Melbourne

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting tour but was annoyed that Viator did not notice that I double booked the afternoon tour with the Best of Rome afternoon walking tour on the same day. My mistake, but I think Viator should have let me know.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message