• USD ($)
  • English
They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was amazing and so was the guide. At first I wasn't sure. They didn't have my family listed on the list for that day, but they called and got it fixed. I guess it was because my family bought the tickets so long in advance. Also it had rained with thunder/lightning early in the morning and was afraid that they were not going to do the tour of the gardens. The garden tour I think was the best part. She went the backward way of the other tours so we didn't have to deal with a lot of people. It was so beautiful then and not everything was in full bloom yet. Guide led us to a spot in the Vatican with an amazing view of Rome, then she helped us skip the lines to the museums and the Sistine Chapel. I think we spend too long in the Sistine Chapel, but just enough time in the museums. I can't remember our guide's name, but she explained everything perfectly (not too much information, but enough to understand the history). She left no time for shopping, but I wouldn't want to carry anything around during the tour.

Doing what: Vatican Gardens and Vatican Museums Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great value for our money. It let us explore many places in Rome and had the full use of public transportation. Being able to ride the Christiana Rome open air bus was a highlight for the students and we used it every day.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Enjoy Rome was easy to find when we got off the train. We checked in and we were given radio/headsets to hear the guide with. Then our guide took us on a short walk to the Vatican. We skipped the long line of people waiting and through security was very quick. Our guide was very knowledgeable of everything and spoke good English. Because the Vatican is huge and lots to see, I think it was best to have a guide. She pointed out the most interesting/important items but skipped the rest and was able to navigate very well through all the people! If we wouldn't have had the tour, I think we would have been at the Vatican all day, as it can be very overwhelming. You also have the option at the end of the tour to climb the steps of St Peters or leave the Vatican. However to climb the steps was a long line so we decided to skip it and see some more of Rome. Highly recommend this tour. Just keep in mind, the price doesn't include the tickets to the Vatican so this is paid when you get to Enjoy Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I really enjoyed my day trip to Pompeii from Rome! The guides were very friendly and helpful, the food at the restaurant was delicious, and our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowledgeable and hilarious. However, you do not get to spend much time in any one spot, so be prepared to walk quickly! We were constantly being corralled by our guides because we needed to move on to the next destination. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolute highlight of my holiday! Not only were we in a incredible surrounding but we had the most fantastic tour guide Enzo (excuse the spelling) who shared all his brilliant knowledge about Pompeii in a fabulously entertaining dialogue all throughout the tour of the city. It made the tour one hundred times more fascinating to understand what it was you were looking at, along with all the hilarious tidbits thrown in. Sarah our group leader was wonderful in arranging the day for the group. She too made the tour extra special by sharing intriguing facts about the areas we were driving from, through and to - an added delight as our bus journey was near 3 hours long. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting a fun and fantastically informative day around this area, with the bonus of seeing some breathtaking scenery and history of course! Would not hesitate to sign up for more trips run by Dark Rome Tours/City Wonders, worth very cent! Thank you!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We went during our christmas vacation. A long day, with 3 hours on the bus each way! But, thanks to our guides the time on the bus went fast. Seriana and Robert gave relevant information and "history lessons" on Rome and the landscape as we went along. Lunch and coffestops were fitted in nicely. As for Pompeii, it is crowded (even more so during the summer). Our guide, and the "radio in your ear" gave us good information. The museum in Naples completed the tour in a good way.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Perfect for a great first taste of Florence. The hotel pick up was wonderful. Our hotel was not originally on list for pick up, but when front desk called to reconfirm . They did agree for pick up with accurate timing. Since first full day in Rome this was greatly appreciated. We were a mature couple with our grown son and thoroughly enjoy every aspect of tour. The countryside in late November was beautiful and will take the Tuscany tour next time. We had very nice breaks to get coffee and pastries or snacks going and coming, and of course just when needed. Our guide was great, knowledgable, sweet and took great care of our only Russian speaking member. Really enjoyed our lunch, food very good, and celebrated 60th anniversary of a couple and birthday of another member. Yes, you cannot see all the artwork and museums, but you do see the original David and The Accademia museum. The tour ending with a nice leather shop was great, got great souvenirs. The weather was unseasonably cold, and getting there and back in a nice clean heated bus, versus a crowded speed train was a plus. Well executed tour. Will recommend.

Doing what: Florence Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Well worth it, excellent guide from Rome made the whole day enjoyable and the distance seem shorter.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a full day trip with lunch. The tour was very comprehensive, and the guide- Stefano- gave us interesting information about the area. Would definitely recommend this tour to others....great time in the countryside outside of Rome, and the lunch at Podere Bella was delicious, and the location charming and quaint. Beautiful country areas.
All in all, I found that for all the 4 Viatours I booked for Rome, all lived up to and exceeded e xpectations.
It uses fine, professional tour companies in Rome. I found no fault whatsoever in any I had taken, and have been educated by each tour and it's guides. And I booked all 4 tours (for 4 diff days) in just one phone call! Thanks Viatour, and all the tour companies!!

Doing what: Assisi Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The drive down to Pompeii was excellent our two guides were witty and knowledgeable. The bus was clean and modern and stopped halfway for a comfort break. At Pompeii the special guide there was also humorous and knew his stuff and made us feel that we were a special party. Although my wife and I had visited before our two grandsons (ages 16 and 13) were spellbound and it was great to see it again through their eyes.
Lunch at the Pizza restaurant was basic but good and just enough to give us energy for the next part, the ascent of Vesuvius.
My wife and I had also done this ascent, thirty years ago, and now both aged over 70 we were a little more apprehensive about our capabilities. The guides gave everyone some encouragement and said that the first 500m were the most strenuous, which we found to be true. But trusting in their advice we found the rest of the walk very easy and completed it to the top. Spectacular views greeted us their and a sense of achievement. It was also a great pleasure to see that our grandsons really enjoyed the whole experience.
On the bus trip back to Rome our guides let us have some quiet which we appreciated as we had so much information already given to us over the long day.
We arrived back on time so that we able to freshen up before dinner when reminisced over the wonderful trip that we had made.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excursion to Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este was fantastic. Both sites are very interesting and are worth a visit. On top of it, we were blessed with a beautiful sunny day ideal for sightseeing.

My only frustration is that Viator site indicates that the tour operator provides free hotel pickup for that tour. We called Viator prior to booking and the rep confirmed that we would be picked up at our hotel before the tour. Two days after booking, we received an email stating that hotel pick up was not available and we would need to reach the meeting point in Rome City Centre on our own. The service provider confirmed to us in Rome that they never provide hotel pick up for that tour.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great tour, although I thought I had paid for just a Roman forum and Colosseum tour, (as did some of the other people on my tour) so had seen many of the sights already. It was a long time on your feet but our guide was great, and had many stories. I would recommend this as a tour to do on day one in Rome to help you get your bearings of the city.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A wonderful half-day trip. Hadrian's Villa meant nothing to me until I got there, but it's really interesting. The gardens at Villa d'Este met all my expectatiions. A 'must do' while in Rome.

Doing what: Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message