They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were not sure about this tour as the reviews appeared mixed. First off...We found the food at The Hotel Forumn to be very good. Yes, the restaurant is a bit dated but that only added to the charm for us. We had a view of the forumn from our table and we were able to have our own table, not forced to sit with others we did not know on the tour.
What a lovely way to start a tour! The waiters were super attentive, and as it started to get dark and dinner and dessert, was over btw I am gluten free and they served a fabulous gluten free pasta we took a brief walk to The Forumn. There were about 16 people in our tour and that was not too many. There was no line, and with a full moon rising we entered the Colosseum. This was our first night in Rome and what a fabulous way to begin!!! The Colosseum at night is NOT brightly lit. It is just right to give you the wonderful feel that you are walking on sacred ground. I wish I could recall the name of the young lady leading the tour...She was simply delightful and told the compelling story and history of The Colosseum. The underground access was amazing. We chatted later in the week with tourists who had just visited the Colosseum during the day and it was hot and very crowded. We maybe saw one other tour group ahead of us but it was timed to make you feel like we were there by ourselves. There is quite a bit of walking but if one asks, there are elevators and the Viator tour guides go above and beyond to accomodate one's needs We were not rushed at all. Just be prepared to do a bit of walking and to have to look for a taxi after. There is no taxi line at the exit. Make sure to ask your guide where to pick up a cab, a bunch of us got lost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Auriana is a gem: fun, quick-witted, full of knowledge, and incredibly helpful. It was hot day, but Auriana made the whole excursion extremely pleasant and entertaining. She was able to package her wealth of knowledge regarding ancient Rome into some easy-to-understand lessons. She's a great storyteller.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really useful.
If you are staying in Rome for a minimum of 3 Days then you should take this. You can use the Roma Pass to Travel in and Around Rome. Just a Tip if you are gong to collect the card from the ORP office in front of St. Peters Square remember they have two offices, one if for the tours and one is for the Roma Omnia Pass Collection .

Few tips.

Sometimes it is better to use the public transport to reach the main places quicker.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Apollo
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I used this bus for two days to see many sites around Rome. I stayed at a hotel near Termini Station
and was able to board the bus each morning at its first stop, near the hotel. The commentary is available in eight languages which you access with the provided headset. One of the cheapest methods to see Rome, and you can stay at the sites as long as you want, then board the bus again when you are ready.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see Rome or any other city you visit. Always get as many day passes as you can. It becomes the best deal and it is one of the best modes of transportation.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely amazing, our guide was spectacular, our best day in Rome by far.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a must do to get your bearings around Rome. We took this the first day we were in Rome. Gave us a feel for were things were and what we might want to take the time to explore further. When we saw the lines for a few places we asked ourselves if we needed to go inside.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

VERY VERY USEFULL. Everyone who goes to Rome for a week should take this card. You can use the rome card for the first 3 days and the omnia card for the 4th, 5th and 6th day. So you are able to travel for 'free' trough Rome. Skip the line tickets are very good. There was a queue of 2,5 hours and it was super to skip that line at the st peters basilic.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were very pleased with the hop on hop off bus in Rome. It was an extremely hot day of 38 and
for us walking around seeing the sights was just out of the question. This bus tour meant we could
see all the sights and enjoy a nice breeze on the bus. It appears the price we paid was pretty good here too.
Totally recommend this.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the best way to know Rome and the most important sites!. Tour was well operated and the route definitely lets you move around the city easily. Totally recomended to anyone visiting Rome. On high demand days the tour runs until 10pm, which was an unexpected PLUS.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were in Rome on an exceptionally busy day a Saturday in the height of vacation season. We were on the 8:00 a.m. tour, which turned out to be a huge advantage, because we beat the lines! I highly recommend the early tour, for this reason. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable about everything she showed us, and she was able to answer all of our questions. This tour supplied headsets and a microphone for the tour guide, which meant we could hear everything easily. We saw everything we wanted, and we were able to stay in St. Peter's and wander around on our own afterwards. We also climbed the steps to the top on our own, and beat the lines because we were there so early in the day. An unforgettable, wonderful experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a SERIOUS walking tour -- we put on a lot of miles on a hot Roman summer day. But it was well worth it! The sights we saw are spectacular. Our guide was fabulous -- an archaeologist from Rome who was eager to tell us the inside stories about what we were seeing. An unforgettable experience! Bonus: we had headsets and a microphone for the tour guide, so we were able to hear everything she said.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Omnia Vatican Card and Rome Card is definitely a MUST-HAVE when travelling to Rome for 3-5 days. Such a bargain and my husband and I were super glad we purchased it. As a young couple we wanted to do almost everything and go everywhere in Rome but also not spend too much, so this product was the perfect purchase for us and it was well worth it. We got to skip the ridiculously long queues and got access to lot of places with our cards as well as tour guides.... Trip was very fun and educational and Rome was amazing.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Worth every penny. I used the tour bus for all 3 days and was easy to get around. The transport for the metro was also useful as I used this every day. The skip the line is also worth it. Would recommend if planning a trip to Rome and the Vatican and do not wish to spend hours in the queues!

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome way to start your day in Rome. Hop on this bus and enjoy the sights. It will help you deside where you really want to go

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great way to end our trip to Rome. We intentionally booked this tour the day our cruise ship disembarked. The guide was fantastic and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the best way to see Rome in 2 days. Adding the skip the line for the Colosuem and the Vatican Museum was the best thing. Easy to find where to exchange the skip the line vouchers and adding the Vatican Garden mini bus tour for 5.00 euros was the smartest decision.
I would recommend this to anyone who has a limited amount of time in Rome.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were in Rome for three days, so bought the 72 hour tickets. Definitely worth it. After taking the whole loop the first day we used the bus several times just to drag our sorry selves back to our hotel, which was just two short blocks from you Termini stop. Yes, highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

As posted to TripAdvisor today...

We booked the Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour with a tour company through Viator. We were especially lucky to have Sergio as our tour guide, and doubly lucky because my wife and I were the only ones taking the tour on that particular Saturday. Sergio was the best guide we had in Italy, out of five or so tours ranging from Pompeii to Venice to Rome. He was engaging, EXTREMELY knowledgeable, and patient and kind to my wife as she needed to stop occasionally. He brought a bag full of helpful visual aids in the form of maps and picture books, including some with overlays so we could see what the ruins looked like in ancient times. Sergio ended up spending almost an hour extra with us!

The Colosseum Underground tour was a don't miss experience. It was quite an experience to be able to go into the bowels of the stadium, and from there to the upper reaches... all places reserved for small group tours, and not the masses. A representative from the Colosseum had to accompany us, unlocking various gates to let us into these less-traveled places. We got to see and hear from Sergio about some very unique characteristics of the Colosseum, like the many trapdoors and pulleys used to bring up wild animals from the holding cells below the main floor.

We were a bit tired by the time we started the climb to the Palatine Hill on the Ancient Rome part of the tour, and pretty wiped out for the last downhill leg to the Roman Forum. Palatine Hill was nice in part because of the gentle breezes cooling us off. There were several vantage points providing interesting views, including the site of the former Circus Maximus although it's mostly just a large open area now. Sergio's interest and enthusiasm remained unflagging throughout the tour, and we came away with a new appreciation for ancient Rome.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a really good way to see the main sights of Rome, and great that you can get off to have a closer look at something and then hop back on. We saw the Trevi Fountain, the Mouth of Truth and the Spanish Steps by hopping on and off. One of my favourite days of our holiday. Excellent!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We used them for my family's 5 days Rome vacation. All our Vatican and Coliseum tour and also our hop on / hop off tickets were arranged through them. Had no issues or drama. It is a booking agency but I had the peace of mind of organizing my requirements 2 to 3 months ahead of time.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beyond my expectations. Inspite of Rome city metro and bus strike that day managed to get a very early train to the rendezvous to join viator guide. A young well travelled Roman - multi-lingual who was delightful. Only 11 people in the group, and he was thoughtful to each one of us and gave the most amazing amount of information, and cleverly built up the info before we reached the chapel. Highly recommended..... 5 stars!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely recommend this if you are heading to Rome for more than a day. Sure, you CAN walk Rome, but after a few days trekking 25,000 steps a day, this service is ideal to hop between attractions. We opted for the 48 hour pass and used it on a number of occasions as it stops at 7 or 8 key sights. You also see stuff you wouldn't see from street level, and there is a lot to see!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We've done the hop on/hop off tours in many cities. This is definitely the way to go when you need/want to see a lot in a limited amount of time, or you have time but want to explore sights at your leisure. We did this for 4 days in Rome and only on one day were tensions a little high because it was very hot and there were stops where more people wanted to get on the bus than there were seats available.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I were in Italy this past February for our honeymoon. It was great that we went during the off season, because Rome still had a lot of tourists during this time. We spent 2 days in every city we visited, and we made sure to get a walking tour on our first days. This half-day walking tour of Ancient Rome was a great! We covered a lot of ground, and got to see the main attractions in Ancient Rome. This was also great because we got to skip the long line at the Colosseum - and you will want to skip that line...especially if you plan on going during the peak seasons. Also, our tour guide Nicola was very friendly and informative! Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message