There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Relaxing and enjoyable. Great day trip. Gardens amazing

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the highlight of my Rome experience! The guide was Fantastic! This is must see place. Beyond my expectations of being wonderful.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful day tour, and not too long either, visiting Hadrian's Villa I have always wanted to go there!, then a break for lunch, then a tour of Villa D'Este and the glorious gardens of Tivoli in the afternoon. Our tour guide Vivienne Carbonara ? was highly knowledgeable and informative. Only one downside: we had no time with the scale model of Hadrian's Villa as other groups got there first - but so be it... Otherwise this was a highly enjoyable tour and a great chance to escape the elbowing crowds of the hubbub of Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a last minute booking but the company office was easy to find, we got on our bus and off we went. It's a surprisingly short journey to Tivoli from Rome, and Tivoli itself is very pretty. Hadrian's Villa is amazing but the icing on the cake is Villa D'Este. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and I could have spent all day there with no problem. It was a very, very hot day but there was lots of shade in the gardens and so many fountains that you could hear water flowing everywhere. We were split into two small groups which was good. Our guide Marcetta was excellent and had so much information about both buildings. You have to go down quite a way to the gardens and one or two of our party decided to stay at the top as the climb back up again was quite steep. However, the Villa d'Este itself is lovely and well worth further investigation. I liked the fact that the trip is in two halves, first you go to Hadrian's Villa which is a ruin but a very interesting one, then you get a lunch break at own expense in Tivoli itself. About an hour is plenty of time to grab a sandwich or a quick plate of pasta. Then the Villa D'Este. It made the trip a lot easier having that break in the middle. I would highly recommend this trip. We loved it.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very efficient and painless way to see Pompeii.
Rather than take the guided tour (which requires an up charge), we'd downloaded an audio guide. We wished we'd taken the tour. We spent a lot of time being lost, while the folks who took the tour, loved it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent service,especially through a wonderful guide

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic. Tour guide was one of the best we have ever had - passionate, knowledgable, attentive and took her time to take care of all the individual needs of the group members.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Excellent guide. Jeanette shared her knowledge of art and history in the most interesting way possible. Thank you.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pompeii was amazing. Yes, it was a long drive from Rome, but it was worth every minute of it. We had a guide on the bus to Pompeii, she was helpful, however, she talked on the cell phone almost the whole trip from Rome to Pompeii. It became somehow annoying because she was quite loud. I understand her job was to ensure we get there safely and hand us over to the local guide, but...
BTW, the local guide was fantastic, his name is Francesco, I have made remarks on Tripadviser...

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was amazing!!!! Informative she was an archaeologist, good english and amazing locations!!!!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was fantastic. We had an American as a tour guide. She knew a lot of interesting facts about everything we saw and was charming and joked around a bit about the history making it really interesting.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I have been traveling around Europe for a month and a half so far and still have a couple weeks left before I go home. I was going to wait until I returned home before reviewing any tours I booked but even now sitting on the tour bus returning to Rome I feel compelled to share how great this tour was. I took the Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa. The trip itself was very nice, if you like history about Hadrian, maybe you should make your own trip out there and really take your time on the site but it was more than enough for me. THE absolute best part of this tour was the lovely tour guide Marketa. She is a wealth of knowledge, she's passionate and it shows, she's funny and really really just took a fine tour to a beautiful place and made it special. I didn't speak a lot with her but I heard her mention she was an art historian. All in all I would say book this tour regardless but if you really want information, request Marketa.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, very prepared and knowledgeable tour guide.

I would have preferred a spanish spoken tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Adrian's Villa is a ruin of a magnificent estate and you can only marvel at the immensity and granduer of what was, Villa dEste is a photographers dream. The day we were there, there was glorious sunshine and all the fountains were working and flowers in bloom. Sure there's walking upstairs and down stairs but take it easy.
Our guides were considerate and informative. Beautiful.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A wonderful experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history. Fun and informative!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Plenty of time was allocated for both sites and we were not rushed. The guide was excellent and informative. It made for a very pleasant day trip out of Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very interesting day visiting Hadrians Villa and Villa d'Este . I loved the gardens and fountains at the latter a pleasant change from relics. Our guide was very good and made the day exceptional.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour and the guide was great! Could have done without the ruins but the fountains were amazing

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This 1900 year old villa of Hadrian is a must for those who are interested in the history of Rome. Hadrian was perhaps the richest man in the world to own a villa such as this. And Villa d'Estes is gorgeous to say the least. The cardinal who built this was an admirer of Hadrian, and he recreated it in a very small way. Both these attractions are absolutely a must for tourists. Our guide was well informed and she knew what she was talking about. Go for it!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip was excellent. We had a large wonderful tour bus for only 6 of us. Our English speaking guide, Michala, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The weather was perfect. I would not hesitate to book another tour with Viator for future travels.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour Guide Elizabetha was great. Very knowledgeable and enjoyed her work. Gave many Sid stories that made Tour very enjoyable. Great Tour!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out, the Villa d'Esta gardens were amazing, one of the highlights of our trip to Rome, highly recommend this tour !!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message