There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1411 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent in what we saw and tour guide was knowledgeable ,considerate, and personable. Would do it again.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

we had a great relaxing drive down from Rome and a great day. Patricia our tour hostess was excellent. Vincenzo our guide through the ruins was very knowledgeable and clear and very entertaining! recommend the guided tour

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful tour! Had so much fun on this trip, our guide was so passionate and could answer all of our questions. This trip is deifnitely worth it!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The bus was comfortable, and the tour guide and driver were both friendly and thorough. Pompeii is a bit overwhelming to tour on your own in a half day, but they give you enough guidance to make the trip worth your while. I highly recommend this for people who are comfortable traveling independently and who don't mind not seeing all of Pompeii during their trip. Take a book with you it's a long enough drive!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous,amazing tour guide,amazing place ,Villa d'Este is a paradise,place of incredible beauty,unforgettable! Thank you !

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved our guide Alfredo.My 12 year old granddaughter and I consider Villa d'Este one of the highlights of our three week tour of Italy.
Thank you

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a wonderful tour. The guide was knowledgeable and friednly. The bus trip was comfortable. Overall excellent

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was pleasant and knowledgeable about the history of early Christian practices, the engineering of the Appian Way and Aquaduct system. Truly a pleasant experience and recommended. Mercifully, the tour bus was air conditioned, and the driver was excellent.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour, small bus, few people, nice guide... everything went smoothly and calmly.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took this excursion to see Hadrian's Villa, but the real treat was Villa d'Este! The pace of the day is perfect. Transportation was very comfortable. We had a great guide, Adrianna. I highly recommend this day, but caution that is a walking tour once you arrive at the two sights.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good guide, interesting day, learned a lot. Good bus, on time, no hassles...all good.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Would do again. Get the guided option. Our English speaking guide was knowledgeable and personable. Patricia our tour escort was punctual, precise and professional. She was always smiling on a very hot day. If you want a positive stress free trip to Pompeii from Rome this is it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Jeanette was our tour guide! Fantastic is all I can say. She raved about on Trip Advisor and boy were they right. From start to finish she was funny, fully of really interesting facts and knew everybody's name. I went on my own with 2 LA film producers and a lovely family of 4 from Washington. It was a great trip and the crypts were incredible really incredible.
I would advise anyone to go on it. There was very little walking but lots to see and take photos of. I would give it 10/10 if I could.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Another great halfday tour. Our tour guide was phenominal. She was very knowledgable and memorized all the names of the people in our approx 20 people group. She even found a way to incorporate everyone's jobs and lives and related to centuries ago. Extremely good information.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Sent you a review one week ago, cant see anything yet. The same last year - nothing appeared with my review - which both last year and this year were very positiv, since we were very satisfied. Kind regards from
Booking Reference Number: VIATOR550136418 - Alf Groenvold and wife Anne-Marie.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A really enjoyable tour interesting to see inside the Catacombs and the original Appian way we had a great tour guide who gave us plenty of information about Roman life and death. All in all a good trip.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide (Alfredo) and amazing places!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic day. I can highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really excellent tour. Alfreddo our guide was really nice, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. We were in a small group and taken in an air conditioned coach, this was really handy as it was about 32-25 C in Rome. He gave an excellent commentary. Hadrian's villa was amazing. Nothing prepares you for the shear scale of the place. The town of Tivoli was quiet and the people were nice. Had some excellent pizza at the restaurant in front of Villa D'este. The Villa was amazing, so many fountains and water features. The gardens and architecture were amazing. Alfreddo was really informative and had a great time. A must see.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What really made this tour awesome was our tour guide, Janet. She was remarkable she made sure to remember all our names and included us in the history story that she was telling us. She was not only extremely knowledgable about all aspects of the tour but had a great sense of humour. We had some dominant personalities on our tour and she handled them with such class. One of the best guides we have ever come across. Thank you Janet.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. I have been to Rome before and wanted to do something I hadn't already done so I booked this tour. I am so glad I did. I loved seeing Hadrian's Villa and learn about his reign and his life. But the Villa D'Este was the pinnacle of this tour. The gardens are so beautiful. The English Speaking guide was brilliant, funny and very knowledgeable. A great day away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Worth doing.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Splendid tour guide, an young American expat who studied Italian history and now lives in Rome. Entertaining and fun throughout. Not much walking as such but nice to get out of the hot city and see some different things.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Ruth
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely day visiting Hadrian's Villa and Tivoli Gardens. Our tour guide was lovely and very informative. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour of Villa d'Este and the beautifull gardens and fountains in Hadrian's Villa. Our tour guide Francesco was great and had so much patience with all the members of the tour. We had some older people that had difficulty with the steps and he arranged for a cart to drive them around. We highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Rome!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

SassyEstar
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Elisabetta was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English and both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Esta. Transport was very comfortable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message