There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1021 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best tour I had in Rome. This is a must see for everyone. Two UNESCO sites in one trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ingar (?) was the guide for this tour and delightful. Fortunately this was a very small group (8) so practically a private one. I loved it. Not too long and our guide was knowledge and cheerful. It was a beautiful day and I can't wait to come back!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about it, both destinations were well worth seeing. Great tour guide. Villa D'Este was stunning with all the fountains. I enjoyed Hadrian's villa more than Pompeii, great insight into how they must have lived. Only downside was the couple who went missing which kept the rest of the tour waiting on the bus for 30 minutes, extremely bad manners and not even a sorry.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hadrian's villa was much more extensive and interesting than we imagined. Villa d'este was AMAZING with over 300 fountains and beautiful gardens and buildings. Great tour guide!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day began with a short drive into the Tiburtine Hills a few miles from Rome where we began our tour at the vast complex that was once Emperor Hadrian's Villa. The area is truly awe-inspiring and although you have to bear in mind that it was at its peak well over a millennia ago, our guides' knowledge and understanding of all the historical facts painted us a vivid picture of this, at times, unfathomable site. This first part of the tour somehow set the scene and fast forwarded us to another age, where inspiration, excess and visions of grandeur still played an important part in the development of what we would term as the ultimate 'Pleasure Garden.'

If you have ever dreamed of the most perfect Renaissance garden, perched high above a rolling green valley, with cascading waterfalls, sparkling fountains and columns of bright crystal clear water shooting into the bluest of skies, then The Villa d'Este is the place to be! Overwhelming, breath-taking, mesmerizing are just a few of the many adjectives I can use to describe this magical place. Our guide submersed us into a world of wonder and intrigue, laying before us all the historical facts that helped bring this place alive. A green oasis on a hot day, I came away refreshed and rejuvenated as though I'd dipped my toes into the fountain of Youth and vowed to return again one day to this small piece of paradise.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our wonderful guide, Alfredo, made this tour. His knowledge of archeology and the history of these sites/sights enhanced the beauty and our appreciation of what we were seeing. This trip was well worth the cost and I would recommend him as your tour guide. If you have an interest in history and archeology, he knows what he is talking about, makes it interesting and shares his love of these sites. The transportation was comfortable in terms of the bus and the temperature control since Rome was experiencing a heat wave during our visit. This was a thoroughly enjoyable day and excursion. You will not regret the trip.
Dennis and Kathleen, PA

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a real highlight of my trip to Italy. I absolutely loved it. Gio was a fantastic hostess and Tiziana (sp??) a highly informative guide. I highly recommend to do the upgrade and take the tour, it really was worth the extra for the additional information and history. What a spectacular place to visit. Fantastic stop off for breakfast and on the way home. Just do it. Unreal!!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bus left promptly. Good mid way stop. Booked the tour if Pompeii with the travel tour organised by viator. Well worth it as it is difficult to see the best sites independently in two hours. Good places to eat just outside the site. Prompt return journey. All in all well worth the visit.
Excellent.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had been in Rome for 5 days and this was a wonderful escape from the heat and craziness of the city. The office was easy to find, very close to the Roma Termini train station. Our guide, Lara (Croft Tomb Raider...haha....she had a great sense of humor) was very informative and entertaining. It only took about 35 minutes to get to Hadrian's Villa and it was so much cooler up there; very pleasant after the sauna that Rome was. Loved, loved, loved Villa d'Este with all the beautiful fountains. I would recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Tour guide Arianna is a very personable and knowledgeable archaeologist who gave us fabulous insights into the history and original construction of the ruins that we were viewing at the site of Hadrian's villa. This is a huge site, but there was ample time to explore and take photos. Lots of great explanations of the frescoes and history at Villa d'Este also. The completely gravity fed fountains at Villa d'Este were fabulous to see, and most still functioning after 400 years. Arianna expertly timed the tour so that we had a chance to see the organ fountain play - it's only twice a day so it's easy to miss it. The tour bus was modern and comfortably air conditioned, with a good audio system so that we could easily hear the guide's presentation. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip would definitely recommend it. Very good coach and tour guide (Inger). We stopped on the way out and return at a service area and the food and drinks were reasonably priced for a service area.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Two excellent sites and a great way to spend a day outside of Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was wonderful - great personality and very knowledgeable. Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message