There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1032 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Trip was amazing the fountains beautiful. It was hard for some in the group. Lots of stairs and sloping walk ways.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A wonderful day with a very good guide, Alfredo. Highly recommend

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide Alberto was wonderful!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and both locations were fantastic in their own ways. A very well organised trip which should not be missed.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant! Our guide, Michela, was lovely and very knowledgeable - a true expert in her field.
The contrast between the two villas made for a fab tour. Villa d'Este's garden is beautiful.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a MUST SEE for everyone who visit in Rome. The view is amazing and especially the interesting history behinds it.
Although I am not recommended to do this tour on August because of the high temperature and the hit in Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you're looking for a good day trip from Rome, look no further. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the tour of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este - the guide's english was great and he was very knowledgeable of the history of the sites, which were a good escape from Rome's chaos.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was really good. Was worth the 3 hours on the bus there and back!! Would highly recommend! !

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Favourite day of my holiday. This trip was amazing! Meeting point was easy to find, and the bus journey was comfortable. Gia our guide was very entertaining and gave us plenty of tips for Pompeii and Rome. We upgraded to a 2 hour guided tour and are so glad we did. we underestimated just how big Pompeii is so it allowed us to see all the "must see's" and also gave us plenty of time to explore on our own after.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best tour I had in Rome. This is a must see for everyone. Two UNESCO sites in one trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ingar (?) was the guide for this tour and delightful. Fortunately this was a very small group (8) so practically a private one. I loved it. Not too long and our guide was knowledge and cheerful. It was a beautiful day and I can't wait to come back!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about it, both destinations were well worth seeing. Great tour guide. Villa D'Este was stunning with all the fountains. I enjoyed Hadrian's villa more than Pompeii, great insight into how they must have lived. Only downside was the couple who went missing which kept the rest of the tour waiting on the bus for 30 minutes, extremely bad manners and not even a sorry.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hadrian's villa was much more extensive and interesting than we imagined. Villa d'este was AMAZING with over 300 fountains and beautiful gardens and buildings. Great tour guide!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The day began with a short drive into the Tiburtine Hills a few miles from Rome where we began our tour at the vast complex that was once Emperor Hadrian's Villa. The area is truly awe-inspiring and although you have to bear in mind that it was at its peak well over a millennia ago, our guides' knowledge and understanding of all the historical facts painted us a vivid picture of this, at times, unfathomable site. This first part of the tour somehow set the scene and fast forwarded us to another age, where inspiration, excess and visions of grandeur still played an important part in the development of what we would term as the ultimate 'Pleasure Garden.'

If you have ever dreamed of the most perfect Renaissance garden, perched high above a rolling green valley, with cascading waterfalls, sparkling fountains and columns of bright crystal clear water shooting into the bluest of skies, then The Villa d'Este is the place to be! Overwhelming, breath-taking, mesmerizing are just a few of the many adjectives I can use to describe this magical place. Our guide submersed us into a world of wonder and intrigue, laying before us all the historical facts that helped bring this place alive. A green oasis on a hot day, I came away refreshed and rejuvenated as though I'd dipped my toes into the fountain of Youth and vowed to return again one day to this small piece of paradise.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message