There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1091 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed the tour and thought there was about the right amount of time at each place - both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este are amazing and well worth a visit - and our guide Alfredo was knowledgeable about the history of each villa and the people associated with them, which really added to the experience for me. Between Villa visits there is a stop for lunch. I recommend walking back up the road a bit from Villa d'Este as the places there are cheaper. Also I agree with what others have said about a guide to the fitness level required, as some people began complaining - but my 69 year old friend found it manageable (just!!).

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Visiting Villa D'Este has been my dream for almost 40 years. I wasn't disappointed. In fact, the gardens are even more spectacular when experienced in person. The design of all the fountains and witnessing the mastery of hydraulics is sheer brilliance. Our guide, Alfredo, was extremely knowledgable and personable. This was most evident when touring Hadrian's Villa. Alfredo is a professional archaeologist turned tour guide. You can imagine our delight receiving such scholarly and in-depth commentary on all the buildings, open spaces, and water features in the villa. The vast scale of the villa is only surpassed by the imagination of the polished marble (long since removed) that once adorned all surfaces. The remaining columns and Roman sculptures provided a hint of the opulence that surrounded a Roman emperor. The coach was modern and comfortable and the journey to Tivoli provided a glimpse into the countryside. Overall a most educational and enjoyable day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide and wonderful sights to see. The gardens at Villa d' Este were fantastic!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you have an extra day in Rome, I will highly recommend this trip.
The villas are beautiful, show casing the engineering marvelous of Roman Empire.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific - enjoyed every minute - guide Alfredo was excellent. If in Rome this is a must!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fabulous day! The morning was long but very interesting and the Villa d'Este topped our 5 week holiday. Fabulous and not just for garden lovers. Not for those that struggle with walking any distance or steps though, particularly Hadrian's palace- no seats available for those that needed them. I think it should be noted in the tour information that a medium to good level of fitness is required

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip. Felix was a great guide. Kept us moving without being exhausting and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip, fantastic guide!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If your going from rome then this is the best way no hassle driving and the guide was very good

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

About 20 people on this tour and our guide, Jeanette involved all by remembering names and occupations. Her knowledge on Rome's history was first class and her experience in the catacombes enabled us to get out alive. A first class tour guide. The tour also involved viewing oid The Appian Way and the ancient aquaduct. Both these were minor in comparison to the catacombs but nonetheless important to ancient Rome history.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour- excellent tour guide and fascinating sites

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Two MUST see 1/2 day trips while in Rome. The gardens and fountains at Villq d'Este are beautiful and well worth seeing. The ruins at Hadrian's Villa, considering that they are almost 2000 yeaar old, are in fairly good condition. Since it is an hour from Rome, the villa, unlike much of the ruins in the Roman forum, were not used as a quarry for later buildings so are still recognizable. The villa is not just a house. Hadrian build a mini Rome, complete with two baths, temples, a formal meeting hall to recieve important guests, fountains,pools, moats.and many, many other buildings. In Pompeii and Ostia Antica, you see how the people lived. This is how an EMPEROR lived. The tour guides were excellent. Definitely take this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day and a wonderful guide - Alfredo. This was a 7 hour tour to Hadrian's Villa and to Villa d'Este. We normally would steer away from group tours, but were glad that we went on this one - very comfortable, nice people, and glorious sites. Anyone who has several days in Rome should include a visit to these sites, filled with history and beauty. The day was run at a comfortable pace, with a break midday for lunch in the lovely hillside town of Tivoli. Best of all our guide, Alfredo, was so knowledgeable and patient to answer any and all questions. Definitely a 5 star tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Maree
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great! Tour guide was very knowledgable . Highly recommend.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Ce fût une façon facile de faire la visite des deux sites exceptionnels. Aucune préoccupation de se véhiculer entre les deux sites. Il ne faut pas manquer de voir l'un et l'autre. Les commentaires de notre guide étaient adéquats. Notre journée a été merveilleuse.
Merci Viator.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message