There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1536 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well worth the time and an easy day trip from Rome. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable, easy going. We loved both sites for very different reasons.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Deidre R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was wonderful. There were only 13 people on the tour so not too many people to move around. Tour Guide was fantastic. He was previously an archeologist and so his knowledge of the ruins was amazing. He was very interesting to listen to. Not too far from Rome so a great day out that wasn't too tiring.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Yelena U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful place to visit. even it was rain it did. To prevent us from seeing places and enjoy them. guide was very nice and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Romeo Gonzalez R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was definitely worth it! When in Rome, do take out of town trips. This tour is definitely a must!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Romeo Gonzalez R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was definitely worth it! When in Rome, do take out of town trips. This tour is definitely a must!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Mickey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a fabulous day in Tivoli.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Splendid villas, worthwhile all the walking ups and downs. If you are not a hiking person, you will feel walking too much!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Marcella D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

If you are looking for a relaxing and interesting tour away from the crowds in Rome, this is it. We had a lovely day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a fabulous tour and we would highly recommend it to anyone. Shame that there wasn't any information on viatour about the Maritime Theatre at Hadrians' Villa being completely closed off due to renovation totally understand this, but it should be publicised, we've done this tour before so have seen it, but i can't imagine how disappointing it would be to go all that way and not see what it the main attraction at the site. Apart from that fantastic tour with a great tour guide.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a fabulous tour! We've been to Rome many times but never done this tour before, you get to see a completely different side of Rome, just outside the City. Tour guide was fantastic, extremely knowledgeable, we had a great time.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Claude a G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a great joy to finally see what I had read about so often. Victor made it happen so easily.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Joyce T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour. Guide was excellent. We learned so much about the catacombs. Also saw a golf course along the aqaducts.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Rose Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Marchetta was a wonderful, knowledegable guide that linked both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Roman Empire vs Renaissance. Definitely a must!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

MG B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was good and interacted very well. One fact she got wrong was the age of Olive trees. They can be 1000's of years old and she said 100 years

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Gustavo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

very knowledgeable and pleasant guide. well prepared, friendly and shared her knowledge with enthusiasm and conviction. Handled unruly and inconsiderate members of our group with patience and respect.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable coach trip. Remains of Hadrians Villa the unexpected highlight but gardens and fountains at Villa D,Este also amazing. Tour guide originally from Denmark, spoke perfect English and was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Eli F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was Rossella, she was informative, friendly and good fun. The tour was very well organized, we left punctually and every phase of the day was well structured, enjoyable and relaxed with good information about all aspects of the sights and history. I would highly recommend this tour, thoroughly enjoyable,a very positive experience.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

jpiane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip! Guide was outstanding!
Only issue was finding the local office for pickup.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

J J Semple S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well planned supported by charming and well informed guide who emgaged our attention throughout the tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It rained the entire day but the guide in the bus was wonderful and our English guide at Pompeii was vibrant and knowledgable

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

JONATHAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our trip to Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este at Tivoli was outstanding and our guide, Margetta, was a delight - relaxed, friendly, full of knowledge and enthusiasm, and with a clear delight in sharing her knowledge about these two fascinating sites.
Everything ran without a hitch and we were blessed with glorious sunny weather, too! We arrived at Hadrian's Villa ahead of the day's visitors and it felt as if we had the place to ourselves. Margetta lead us around all the major sites of interest at a comfortable pace, explaining many historical and architectural details, and pointing out some architectural features we'd be seeing again at Villa d'Este.
After a most enjoyable 1-hr lunch break in Tivoli, we entered Villa d'Este and were totally enthralled by the beautifully decorated halls and rooms, augmented by Margetta's excellent commentary.
Our time in the gardens was outstanding - Margetta's skill and experience showed up by the fact that we arrived at the Fountain of the Organ just minutes before it played great excitement! and, later, we reached the western end of the terrace of The Hundred Fountains at the perfect time to see the late-afternoon sunlight shining along its length. Magic!
Overall, it was a 'must-do' tour, brilliantly-well lead by an outstanding guide, Margetta. Unforgettable and highly recommended!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

lucia m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was great and Jeanette our tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

fontaine_pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day, the tour guide was informative. Loved the fountains and villa.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Erich H A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was excellent with plenty of knowledge about the sites
And all around history of Rome she is a credit to your organization
the Emperor

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message