There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1340 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour but the guide did not take us to the place i wanted to see

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to see Pompeii at your own pace. It was nice to just be driven there in an air-conditioned bus and back. It was a long day, but worth it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the top 2 tours we went on our Europe trip. Great guide. Short bus rides. Well paced walks. Very interesting information about the Hadrian's Villa complex and Hadrian and life in the times and the uses of the various parts of the complex. Villa d'Este gardens were delightful and very pretty- much better in my view than Boboli gardens. A lot of water and fountains and statues. We forgot a water bottle and hats, both of which are very useful on this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ariana was an excellent guide - personable, engaging, entertaining, informative - all important for a wonderful tour.
Bethel and Bill, San Francisco

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was perfect, the bus, bus driver, coordinator and tour guide!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Alfreddo provided a good level of information both on the bus and at the villas. We also had plenty of time to enjoy both villas. The free time in Tivoli was sufficient to visit one of the good places for lunch, or to view the town. The two villas are completely different and equally worth visiting. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of our favorite trips while in Italy! We thoroughly enjoyed Pompeii. The shuttle bus was so comfortable and roomy, the leader on the bus was funny, happy and knowledgeable and made the bus trip fun. Our tour guide in Pompeii was just great and gave us so much info, all while being jovial and funny. We loved this trip so much!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended visit. Great visit of catacombs as well as as via appia and the viaduct in the Roman countryside. A welcome escape from the city. Lovely guide Inger gave a perfect overview with just the right amount of information about the history of the places. 3 hour visit was just right for a whistle stop tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this tour! The guide was excellent and spoke very good English and both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Esta in particular were beautiful. As both sites are outside of Rome they were much quieter then other sites. Well worth the money for the tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great... Transport was very nice and air-condition bus. Guide very knowledgeable and funny. I would highly highly recommend .it was so beautiful and they made everything easy.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really nice to see wonderful gardens. Well organized and Felix was great!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Rosella was very informative and knowledgeable. We had a wonderful day trip and would recommed it

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour packed so much in I would recommend it and also take it again.there is so much to see and guide was great knew his information and made it so enjoyable. The villa was incredible and then gardens in afternoon was breathtaking. So glad we took the tour and place was easy to find .

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were very happy with our tour: both Patricia on the bus and Vincenzo our guide at Pompeii. Both had great humour and charm, we had lovely day. We left knowing so much more than when we arrived.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a wonderful day and the guide gave great information.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide at the ruins was very, very good. Very informative and personable. Good bus driver

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was VERY IMPRESSED with our tour guide, Jeanette. She actually was the highlight of this tour. Honestly, it was cool to see the Catacombs and Roman Countryside, but she brought it to life. Honestly, the Catacombs have nothing to really look at except the empty areas where the bodies used to be buried. Jeanette brought the whole tour to life by relating life back then to life right now. She memorized everyone's names and got to know each one of us individually and then incorporated all of us into her stories. She was engaging to the tour group from the minute we started to the very end. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED IF YOU HAVE JEANETTE AS YOUR TOUR GUIDE!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were so many wonderful things to see with this tour we would not have seen on our own. Villa d'Este has got to be one of the most beautiful places! The tour was very convenient and comfortable! Don't forget your walking shoes!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour of Hadrian's and Villa dEste. Plenty of time to see Hadrian's Villa and would like more time to cover all to see at Villa dEste. Mobile audios were one of the best we have used on large group tours. Very knowledgeable guide. Not a long trip from Rome to the villas and recommend this day tour if in Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous day with great guide Margarette. Thankyou

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Town of Tivol is charming an the gardens are beautiful

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message