There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1378 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What really made this tour awesome was our tour guide, Janet. She was remarkable she made sure to remember all our names and included us in the history story that she was telling us. She was not only extremely knowledgable about all aspects of the tour but had a great sense of humour. We had some dominant personalities on our tour and she handled them with such class. One of the best guides we have ever come across. Thank you Janet.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. I have been to Rome before and wanted to do something I hadn't already done so I booked this tour. I am so glad I did. I loved seeing Hadrian's Villa and learn about his reign and his life. But the Villa D'Este was the pinnacle of this tour. The gardens are so beautiful. The English Speaking guide was brilliant, funny and very knowledgeable. A great day away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Worth doing.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Splendid tour guide, an young American expat who studied Italian history and now lives in Rome. Entertaining and fun throughout. Not much walking as such but nice to get out of the hot city and see some different things.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Ruth
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely day visiting Hadrian's Villa and Tivoli Gardens. Our tour guide was lovely and very informative. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour of Villa d'Este and the beautifull gardens and fountains in Hadrian's Villa. Our tour guide Francesco was great and had so much patience with all the members of the tour. We had some older people that had difficulty with the steps and he arranged for a cart to drive them around. We highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Rome!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

SassyEstar
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Elisabetta was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English and both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Esta. Transport was very comfortable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We liked everything about this day trip. The company seemed very well organized and the staff very friendly.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was great-- there were 12 of us in the group and she got to know all of our names. Her commentaries about the catacombs were very insightful.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had Jeannette as our guide on the tour. I thought that the tour was one of the best tours in Rome I had on this visit. The history of catacombs is fascinating and Jeannette made it even more interesting by actively engaging the group in the discussions and making the history come alive. I like the coupling of the dark underground catacombs part with the sun-filled short field trip to the countryside and Appian Road as well as a comfort of an air-conditioned bus on a hot summer day. My teenage children also enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour with a very entertaining and knowledgeable guide. Just the right pace for the less mobile to be able to keep up, without holding up the younger element. Visiting the Villa Adriana first allowed us to see the progression from one era to another. Highly informative without being too intense.
Would have been nice to have just a little longer in Tivoli but it made the perfect wind down at the end of a busy week sightseeing.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Not only were the tour guides really friendly but I was travelling alone and made some great friends on the tour that day. They are the only tour that only goes to Pompeii from Rome, and they really let you make the most of the time you have to explore Pompeii. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful places to visit! Excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable of the history. The day was super hot and humid, but overall a very good trip into Tivoli!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you like ruins, you'll love it! If you like views from the top of a hill, you'll love it and if you love water features and gardens, you'll love it! Bit of everything for everyone on this tour!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip and great organization. We loved the ruins and had a great time

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide was so energetic, funny, and informative. The catacombs were very interesting and the aquaducts were beyond words...amazing! Although the history of the Appian Way is extraordinary, the original stones from the Appian Way are few, so it was a little disappointing. I expected to see a whole road of original stones, but there were only a few. I would still highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day with 4 hours to visit Pompeii which was plenty of time. The host and bus driver were polite and provided us with information as necessary. It was nice to not have to worry about making our way there and back on public transport, and the bus was nice and air conditioned.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Janet our tour guide was great! Very knowledgeable and animated. She learned all our names and provided us with great information in a way we could easily relate to. We took a nice bus with a/c. Could've used a little more time at each stop, but still enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a really nice tour and a nice, quiet day trip away from the frenzy of Rome. Our tour guide, Viviana, was very knowledgeable about the sites and very friendly. My particilar favorite was the Villa d'Este with all it's incredible fountains and gardens. So beautiful!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent Tour. Well organized. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative.
Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tivoli is gorgeous! I enjoyed Hadria's Villa, particularly the Egyptian inspired area. The Villa d'Este is enchanting! The. Water features are amazingly beautiful. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good mix of bus and walking. Very informative and entertaining guide.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing low cost tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. The Tivoli part of the trip was more ruins, but the Hadrian's Villa was amazing with the scenery and the fountains. There were restrooms at the sites and the guide gives us enough time for picture taking. All in all, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone. You will enjoy it.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour but the guide did not take us to the place i wanted to see

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to see Pompeii at your own pace. It was nice to just be driven there in an air-conditioned bus and back. It was a long day, but worth it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message