There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A visit to two significant sites - one Roman, one Renaisance - in beautiful Tivoli just outside Roma. The ruins of Hadrian's palace complex are vast but are indeed ruins. The d'Este villa and its famous fountained gardens are in great shape.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent. Both guide on bus and giving tour were very passionate about their work.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a must tour! The catacombs are incredible. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided so much history which added to the richness of this day. We also stopped at an ancient Roman aqua duct which we would not have found or understood without this trip. The only way to better this tour would be to make it a full day allowing more time to explore the Appian Way. This was a perfect way to end our stay in Rome.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful day out. Seeing the d'Este Villa was a dream come true. Absolutely splendid. Hadrian's Villa also splendid in a more distant way. It lasted just about the right amount of time for us to see everything. Our guide Rosella (Scarlett) was incredibly knowledgeable and sensitive to the needs of the members of the group. In fact on her recommendation I am now immersed in reading Hadrian's Memoirs. This is a highly recommended day trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good day tour. Our guide Viviana was a lovely and very knowledgeable guide who is a trained archeologist which helped our understanding of the sites very much. Well organised, highly recommended.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

One of the outstanding events of our stay in Rome. The tour company meeting point for this day trip is near the Termini and easy to find. The tour bus is modern and comfortable with all the bells and whistles and a good audio system. The very best aspect of the trip was our guide, Signorina Carbonara (Vivianna) a fully credentialed archaeologist, with a perfect command of English, who was cheerful and energetic and responsive to endless questions. She also possesses pinpoint timing and got us through two major sites and Lunch without ever.seeming to be rushing or "herding" us. We arrived at the precise moment to hear the water-powered organ perform at Villa d'Este and arrived back in Rome at the designated time. Our group was congenial and the two sites not to be missed.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Patricia was great. Very friendly!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We did this tour and we had another wonderful guide, This was a very comprehensive tour of both Hadrian's Villa and the Villa d'Este and the water gardens. We got to see everything we had hoped to see and even had time for a delightful lunch on our own in the lovely town of Tivoli. My only suggestion would be to have the tour company pick up at the hotel in the morning as another tour company did........as it would save an expensive cab fare.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

WOW! Hadrian's Villa is breathtaking in its sheer size, and Villa d'Este in its beauty and layout. We both have mobility issues, but Valentino made sure we saw everything (we were determined to once we saw the sites), and it was well worth the effort.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our travel director Elizabeth was the best, "To have her as part of your team your business can only reach new heights" It was a highlight to our visit to Italy. To all future visitors make sure you don't miss this tour. Thanks again Elizabeth. Love Tony and Tina Cape Town

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was the highlight of our week in Rome. These two sites are fabulous examples of the culture of both Ancient Rome and the Renaissance. All in one day's outing! Well organised and led by a knowledgeable and charming guide.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing trip. The guide was a delight and very informative. this was a very pleasant trip all around. Very greatful for the this oppertunity to visit this site with the expertise provided by our guides.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Tivoli Day Trip was everything we had hoped for and more. Our guide Alfredo was extremely knowledgeable and shared his insights in a clear and interesting way. The tour of Hadrian's Villa gave us a glimpse into Roman life (or at least that of the uppermost class) at the height of the empire, and in the Villa d'Este the gardens and fountains were breathtakingly beautiful. Without Alfredo's commentary, however, what we saw would have meant little to us. The pace of the tours was just right, not rushed, but also not too slow. It was a highly worthwhile and enjoyable day in every way!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed Pompeii very much by listening to a Rick Steeve's audio download. The bus ride there was a nice inexpensive way to do a side trip from Rome, We enjoyed our tour guide who gave us some useful information to and from Pompeii.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message