Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2947 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Out of several tours, I really think this was my favorite tour and my favorite guide. Our guide's name was Sev. Sev is a professor of Archeology at the University. Before you decide that sounds dull and bland, it was anything BUT! Sev is smart and filled with information that he imparts in a very humorous and interesting way. He was excited about his subject matter and that made me excited about it , as well. I learned more about the Sistine Chapel and the artist than I ever expected. I highly recommend this tour guide and the tour company.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing tour of the Vatican. Our guide had all sorts of quirky unusual stories to tell which we really appreciated. She was very knowledgable and kept us going at a really good pace. We got a bit side tracked in the Raphael rooms and so had to rush through the modern art areas just before the Sistine Chapel which was a shame as we would have liked to been able to see them. But our guide was fabulous. I would totally recommend this tour. We would not ahve gotten the same appreciation of things if we had gone on our own. Expecially since it was so busy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Another excellent tour. We blew through the line and were touring within minutes of arrival. With the line-up for tickets being over an hour long wait this benefit was well worth it. Our guide provided much need background on the art in the Vatican. Our time in the Sistine Chapel was not rushed at all. Love it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really informative tour and our tour guide was really knowledgable and enthusiastic. Thankfully it didn't seem too busy for a change and I was able to hear her commentary. Well worth paying to get some expert guidance, especially about the Sistine chapel and some of the Vatican treasures. I would never have known what I was looking at otherwise!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It definitely was helpful and almost necessary to have the skip the line tickets. We visited in May and the Vatican was extremely crowded. I heard the wait was about 3 hours. It would have been nice to get in the Basilica without a line. We were not aware that we were only getting in the museum with these tickets. There were some in my party who thought the crowds were over-whelming and needed to leave the museum quickly. It was good that the Sistine Chapel was at the end and they were able to see it briefly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The experience in the Vatican and Sistine Chapel was incredible. The guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant. A little crowded but that was expected because the whole world wants to see this place. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative guide of the vatican museum and sistine chapel

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour! Anna was an amazing guide and very knowledgable. She was courteous the entire time and kept everyone together. She even went beyond and had printouts of the Sistine Chapel, with which she provided a thorough explanation of the scenes as well as Michelangelo's technique!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Valentina was sweet and knew her stuff. The only thing is she did not go in the Sistine Chapel with the group, so after....a lot of us, it seems, lost her in sight. Too bad.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Shannon our guide was personable, very knowledgable and a delight. The tour was nice and so great to get out of the crowds! The time in the Sistine Chapel was a treat - again no crowds! Another highlight was the time in the Raphael rooms. The tour is pricey but worth it. Big thumbs up!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well, what can I say.......it's the Vatican. It was GREAT! The sights are wonderful, and the Sistine Chapel is incredible. We kept moving, and our tour guide was great. When you see the lines waiting to get in, you understand that this is the only way to go. I couldn't imagine standing in those long lines! Excellent tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The time between when the bus would get to Rome and the time we had to be at the meeting point for the Vatican Tour was very tight. It was made much worse because a member of our tour had a medical emergency just as we arrived in Rome. Once we had him taken care of and the group was walked to it's meeting place later in the day... we were almost too late to meet the Vatican Tour. SURPRISE! They waited and did not have any problems with the lateness thankfully. The tour itself was FANTASTIC. We had a very knowledgeable guide and were well taken care of. Seeing the Sistine Chapel, by itself, is worth the entire cruise.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a great. You definitely need a skip the line as the line to get in is insane. It got all the spots we wanted to see in our short time we had in Rome. This is a good tour if you have limited time. Ours was 3 hrs and we saw all the highlights ie Sistine Chapel, St Peters. Our tour guide Sarafina was terrific. It was so busy that day and she was able to keep us all together. She was patient, kind and very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was terrific! Sara was our tour guide and was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peters Basilica. You have to meet with the group at the tour office and that takes a little map navigation, but once found, it's location is convenient to the Vatican. We went to the Coliseum on our own first. A better option for us would have been to find a tour that combined both the Coliseum and then bussed to the Vatican/Sistine Chapel/St Peters.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

5000 STARS!!!!! WOW!!!! This was one of the most incredible tours my wife and I have ever taken. Yes, it was expensive, but you definitely get you money's worth plus memories and insights that are truly priceless. Our tour guide, David, was a walking encyclopedia of Vatican knowledge and a comedian all wrapped up into one. He made the tour both fun and highly educational. From the visits to hidden recesses of the vatican to the intimate and priceless time in the Sistine Chapel with only our small group, I can only encourage you to take this tour above and beyond any other tour in Rome. Truly exceptional and outstanding.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Anne P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. English speaking Guide very informative and knowledgable. Lots of walking in this tour but worth it -the Museum was amazing, the Sistine Chapel magnificent and St Peter's Basilica magnificent. Definitely use skip the line for any attractions -the main ticket lines are horrendous!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Peter was excellent - he was very knowledgable about all the art work in the Vatican Museum and in the Sistine Chapel and he made the tour very interesting. He gave us 20 mins in the Sistine Chapel and he advised us what to look out for and how to make the most of our time there. The tour surpassed all our expectations and we would highly recommend it to others. After the tour finished I climbed to the top of the dome in St Peters and it was well worth the effort. It was one of the highlights of our stay in Rome .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly amazing tour and worth the extra money. We were able to visit areas others do not see. In addition, the extra time in the Sistine chapel with the tour guide being able to share information was incredible. David, our guide, was funny and informative. Saw so many details and visual illusions we would have missed without his information. Great tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Knowledgeable, enjoyable tour guide who shared some of the history of Michelangelo's work that we would have missed if we tried to tour the Vatican without a guide. Well worth the time and money to go on half day tours in a group and explore Rome on our own the rest of the time. With 3 days in Rome, we did this tour one day, a 1/2 day Colosseum/Ancient Rome tour another day, and on our own exploring the rest of the time which felt like a good balance of time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Skipping the line was crucial. For those who didn't pre-arrange, e crowd was very large.

The Vatican was amazing. The tour guide was excellent and had a good sense of humor. Only dragged a bit just prior to the Sistine Chapel. Otherwise it was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was a very education art historian which was extremely helpful because the tour of the Vatican and Sistine Chapel was over whelming. I can't imagine visiting the museum without a tour guide. Unfortunately, it was so crowded with tourist on the day of our tour, the crowd made the experience somewhat unpleasant. Minus the crowd, it was excellent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great.. Laura really knew her stuff.. just stunning in the Sistine Chapel and the Basilica..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing and the only way to see the Vatican museums, Sistine chapel and St Peter's. Excellent tour guide who truly new her stuff, Catherine was brilliant, thank you. Very organised, no queuing and perfect timing in every room.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I cried in the Sistine Chapel! Our guide was great, kept us moving, took us through Raphael's Rooms, very knowledgeable and obviously very interested in teaching us! Loved it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Mark
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful experience with an extremely knowledgeable guide Shannon. Getting to spend 30 minutes in the Sistine Chapel with just our small group of 14 was the highlight and something we will never ever forget - not cheap but well worth it

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message