Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3064 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debby
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour with convenient ticket access to the Vatican museums. You can't miss the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica. They are stunning to view in person, and the tour guide provided great information about all of the sites. Her archaeological and historical background clearly came through in her commentary, which we appreciated a lot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the best purchase ever! Everything was as described. Our guide, Patricia, was fantastic! We walked by the enormous lines and got in to see the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, etc. all in three hours. The guide even gave us time to use the restrooms and get something to drink. I highly recommend you purchasing this if you are visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My guide was lovely I just can't remember her name, but she was pregnant! Her knowledge of the Vatican, rooms and St Peters was thorough and in depth. Her narration was light, easy to understand and entertaining. The tour was an easy walk and I got to see everything I wanted to, and more. My highlight was St Peters and the crypts of many of the previous Popes. I was disappointed with the lack of respect some tourists showed, especially when asked for quiet in the Sistine Chapel, so we could all enjoy the majestic priceless treasures to be seen. Security staff needed to be in more control in that area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent way to view the Vatican museums and the Sistine Chapel

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. As promised it got us past the incredibly long lines and allowed us to spend time in the Raffaello rooms and the Sistine Chapel, as well as St. Peter's itself. Francese was a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. Of course, we only saw a fraction of what was available in the museum but the time we did have was used well. We also had the privilege of seeing the director of the museum which, from Francese's reaction, was rather like taking a tour of the White House and bumping into the President. That she knew him by sight was a tribute to her very deep knowledge of the art and architecture which she shared with us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We absolutely loved our tour of the Vatican. Francesca, our guide was very knowledgeable, interesting, funny, and charming. We learned all the little details about Michelangelo and some really interesting facts about the Vatican that you typically wouldn't get. We really enjoyed our tour - one of our favorite things we did in Italy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We visited on a Thursday morning and there were shoulder to shoulder crowds. We were the only English speaking booked for that time so my husband and I had our own personal tour guide, Stephania. She was able to skirt us around crowds and take short cuts making our tour more efficient. She was very knowledgable about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peters. She did a great job and we were thrilled to have the private tour experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So glad we took this tour. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and fed us information that made the experience all the more enjoyable. To see the amazing artifacts and historical beauty of the Vatican Museum, the amazing Sistine Chapel and the incredibly beautiful St. Peter's Basilica completed our European vacation in the perfect way.
If you want to see the Vatican do this tour. Skipping the queues, quite simply, saved us hours and the guide made it perfect with the information she had about everything we saw. 10/10 Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great way to see the Vatican highlights I couldn't imagine waiting in all the long lines in the heat. Oscar, our guide, was terrific. Only negatives none of which is the tour's or Oscar's fault: too many tourists as though we didn't add to the problem!, too much to see in the Museums and Cathedral now we know for sure where all the money goes!, and too hot Rome in August what did we expect?. The Sistine Chapel was indeed a highlight.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Skipping any line to see anything is a great idea. Having your own private guide to bring you to what you want to see is the only way to see The Vatican. Our guide Maria was fabulous. She met us on time, procured our tickets and off we went, no time wasted. She took the time to ask us what we were interested in seeing. We advised her we were having a private tour the next day of the Secret Rooms and Sistine Chapel and she was delighted, now knowing what she could show us so as not to waste time doubling up. Maria was lovely, intelligent, an Art Historian, and no question asked went unanswered. She knew where to stand to view the art and attractions, and told wonderful side stories and tales of past popes, sculptors and artists. We ended up with enough time to walk to St. Peters, and again, she excelled. She seemed to know the security personnel and was able to bring one to the best exact location to take pictures. stars and worth every dime!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you can afford one expensive tour, this is the one to choose. Everything the tour description promised happened, and that is a rare treat! Our group was 10 people. We had an amazing woman I am so bad with names I apologize who shared her passion for the art and sculptures, never rushing us and telling wonderful stories. We were escorted during our tour by a burly security guard who did have the keys for the Secret Rooms and the rooms were amazing! We had The Bramante Staircase to ourselves and the views from on top of The Vatican were amazing.
But to be able to walch the general public exiting The Sistine Chapel watch the security sweep the area and to have the doors opened to just us for over 30 minutes is a once in a lifetime experience!!! She explained so many of the frescoes, and being able to just walk around freely and marvel at will at the magnificence of this sacred space was worth the chunk of not change...Take this tour. I am very picky and almost did not go for this tour due to the cost. But in this case...You get much more than you pay for.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best tour that we took - mother and teenage daughter. We really liked the museum portion and the time in the sistine chapel was beautiful. The tour guide - Sev - was very good. The other members of the tour were respectful and everyone had a chance for quiet meditation in the chapel. The paintings look like they were made last week and not 500 years ago.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

No waiting in line to get in and the guide was super-knowledgeable. She was an art history student and knew so much about the different frescos, sculptures, and architecture. If you're going to the Vatican you should definitely do this guided tour. She gave us time to reflect in the Sistine Chapel and it ended in the Basilica so you had all the time you wanted to wander around after she was done with the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I had a great time with the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's. Thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our Sistine Chapel Private viewing and tour of the Vatican's Secret rooms with Shannon was remarkable.
Shannon was incredibly knowledgeable and so pleasant to be with, she provided a spectacular experience
for all. Her tour exceeded our expectations, I will definitely book a viator tour in the future. Many thanks Shannon for providing an amazing experience for us!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rome in August is simply hell in terms of tourist attractions and the lines that lead into them. My father and I were extremely happy to have booked this skip the line tour particularly after seeing the Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel line and the massive St. Peter's line that stretched around the whole square.

In terms of the tour itself, I myself am a tour guide who has been known to by quite judge-y of other guides in the past, but our guide Max was great. His knowledge was exceptional and the way he expressed it was entertaining. He also possessed that typical tour guide humour, so expect a couple of cheesy jokes!

My father and I had a great time on the tour and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to skip the ridiculous lines and/or who would like to know more about what they are looking at.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the museum, the art works, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. The only problem with the tour was the awful heat and the crowded venue on the day before the Feast of the Assumption.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour! We met our tour guide outside the Vatican and seemlessly entered the museum without waiting in any lines. We were traveling in August so the crowds were enormous and the heat was intense, booking this tour made our trip so much more enjoyable. The confusion created by the crowds would have made ithis site difficult to navigate without a guide. Our guide was a wonderful compasionate woman with a great sense of humor and a wealth of knowledge. We only wish we could have spent a little more time in the Sistine Chapel and we did have a bit of trouble with our headsets, which our guide tried to remedy. Over all great experience, so glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Vatican tour with Viator was amazing! Paola not sure of spelling - but she was outstanding!! She was THE BEST tour guide we had the entire time we were in Europe. She was very informative and made the tour fun - even though we were roasting!!! There was so much to see and so much history. if you get a chance to take this tour DO NOT MISS IT! And most definitely go with Viator and skip the line. There were people outside the Vatican at 8am and already had a 2 hour wait in the hot sun. It was extremely hot and humid and there is no air conditioning so be prepared - bring water!!! Also make sure you dress appropriately as you will be required to have shoulders and knees covered to enter the Sistine Chapel - I wish everyone could have Paola as their tour guide. We just loved her. Thank you Paola - we will always have special memories thanks to you!!! we were the group with mom, daughters and granddaughter - we spent a little extra time with you in the snack room - you're the best!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Vincenzo, was outstanding. He was so knowledgeable, not only about what was in his regular script, but about the answers to the many questions that members of our group had. I learned so much more about the Sistine Chapel and Michaelangelo than I would have if I had simply shuffled through the tourist line and gawked upward, unseeing, like everybody else, secretly wondering what the big deal was. Because of tour we learned what the big deal was, and why the chapel and several other treasures in the museum is so special and unique.

Be aware that this is a fast-moving tour. One member of our group who was dawdling and taking pictures got left behind and couldn't find us, which was not the guide's fault. You can always come back and spend more time later at the things you didn't get to see in as much depth as you would like.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Visited here on 10/8/15 and our Tour Guide was Davide who proved to be not only highly knowledgeable but also animated and engaging. He made the story behind the painting of the Sistine Chapel truly come alive.

An absolute must for anyone visiting the eternal city!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Simona, was excellent. She kept the group moving ahead of the gathering crowd and made the experience so much more than it would have been had we gone through alone. We had 20 minutes to just marvel at the Sistine Chapel before entering the Basillica, which was perfect. She pointed out so many things that we just would have missed! The group was small 11 and that was great. It was well worth the money to go in earlier and have an experienced guide and I would recommend this to anyone. It may seem like it is expensive but, if you take the walk up to the top of the dome at the end of your tour and look to see those lines that wrap around the piaza 5 deep in August, you will know it is money well spent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour had to be my favorite. The Vatican is just so amazing. The art! The art! It's unreal. They say if you look at every piece art for 30sec. you'll be there for 6 months. All the pictures you have seen do not do any justice. in fact anything need to see in Italy, the pictures just do not do any of it justice. What really made this tour was our tour guide. She was so knowledgeable. It made it so fun to learn the little things. like the feud between Michelangelo and Raphael. You have to do this tour. It is so beautiful. The knowledge of the tour guide is just great, it make all the difference.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide Barbara was fantastic. She was very sweet and very informative. Since you are not allowed to speak in the Sistine Chapel, she gave us a very informative talk before we entered which explained the importance of many of the frescos. She had a ton of close up laminated images of the particular Frescos so we could all see in detail and learn about it before we went in. All of the other tour guide groups were all crowded around two small posters that were up instead. She was very thorough and very prepared. Awesome tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Cannot say enough about this tour! Our guide was great. The museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peters. Very organized even though the place is crazy busy. Very hot while we there but worth the dehydration. Women need to cover their shoulders when inside and adult men need to wear long pants. No cameras inside Sistine and they are strict! Have fun and take it all in:

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message