Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3299 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ashwin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Interesting tour with 5 stars for our guide Damiano. The tour is very well organized. Not the fault of the tour agency, but I wanted a more biblical understanding of the Vatican and was surprised that there was so little in the Vatican about this and rather a lot about artists like Michelangelo and so on. The trip to the sistine chapel was the best highlight for me. May I didnt appreciate the art because I am not an artistic person. So if you are into art then this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Keith H J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide paced our Vatican tour just right... time to see the outside museum, time to see the inside galleries, time to see the Sistine Chapel, and time for St. Peter's Basilica. She described everything knowledgeably, and with enough detail to understand the significance of each item. I loved it all!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

annette.smith47

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were fortunate that there were only 5 people booked on our tour, and the other 3 didn't turn up, so we had a very personalised tour. Our tour guide Vivianne was so knowledgeable and informative that it was a wonderful tour for all of the 3 hours. Especially appreciated being able to spend so much time in the Sistine Chapel. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Annette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

AWESOME TOUR!!! Worth the price - we were a group of 6 with a private tour guide, Alessandro or Alex and he was great! So informational and the art history lesson he gave us will last a lifetime. The Sistine Chapel is Breathtaking! Vatican City/Country is worth the visit, I look forward to going back one day!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

koha Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Shannon was fantastic and this was a great well paced tour from beginning to end with ample time to do your own exploration of the Basilica at the end of the guided tour. We were a group of 6 aged from 16 to 75 and the tour pace and commentary worked for us all. There was minimal waiting and the pace of walking and commentary was comfortable. Shannon was really informative and passionate about all aspects of the tour. Really enjoyed the tour and would do another tour with Shannon. The Vatican was sensational as was the Sistine chapel and the Basilica. You could spend an incredible amount of time wandering around but the tour kept you on track with a reasonable pace. There is a fair amount of walking but its pretty flat walking, mainly inside with a few flights of stairs, but not too many. There is a couple of security checkpoints along the way so best to travel light. Skipping the line is perfect as even in early January there were lines first thing and apparently you can wait for hours to gain regular entry so the Skip the line option is great to maximize your time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Juleschap Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent tour, with the highlight being the Sistine Chapel. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was an amazing experience. Be able to appreciate SIstine Chapel in a small group is an incredible experience. Have been to SIstine Chapel over five times. This was no comparison. The guide was knowledgeable and very professional. Thumbs up for sure. Would do this one all over again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Judith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guide was outstanding in her extensive knowledge and her presentation and rapport with the group. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Rome. The art works and tapestries are amazing and the Sistine Chapel unparalleled, all much more appreciated because of the commentary of the tour guide. Finishing in St Peters where we could explore further the wonders of this basilica was worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Mick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All I can say is WOW! This was worth every penny. To be able to walk into the Sistine Chapel with 7 other people and be able to take pictures makes this worth it. We also got to visit an old apartment of a former pope and Leonardo da Vinci's apartment. This is definitely worth doing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

GAURAVJIT S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed the experience. Our guide was quite knowledgeable and we really liked her explanation of Michelangelo's paintings at the Sistine Chapel. Our tour also included Raphael's rooms which was definitely a bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Vatican area was very, very crowded and we were very grateful that we had the Skip the Line tour. We were in a group of about 20 people with a guide who was very knowledgeable about every thing that we saw. Seeing all of the treasures and the amazing art work was wonderful and being able to learn some of the background was helpful. The time we spent in the Sistine Chapel had to be quiet but it was very, very crowded in there. Our guide spent time at the end of the tour guiding people to good restaurants and other things to see. It was money well spent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Tracy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Vatican is amazing. There are so so so many people that I thought this skip-the-line tour was worth it. You cannot bring water or food in, and you go through security like you're at the airport, so leave certain things at the hotel. There are certain pieces you can't photo, especially the Sistine Chapel, they will literally yell at you for snapping a picture. Lindy was super and very quirky- we really enjoyed her tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Peter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The trip was better than I'd hoped. Our guide, Laura, was great. There were twelve of us in the group and we did get access to a lot of interesting spaces that wouldn't ordinarily be accessible.

The main event, of course, was the Sistine Chapel and yes, we were there alone except for one guard. I think we had it to ourselves for 45 minutes. It was a great value!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Joanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our Tour to the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's was an experience which we will remember with beautiful memories. The tour was well organised, while the Tour Leader, Francesca Romana was very knowledgeable and made the tour very interesting.

We would not hesitate to take up another tour with Viator on our next holiday.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

V P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow, the absolute best in my opinion of tours in Rome! Choosing this way to see the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Museum and St Peters Basilica was amazing, you absolutely have to do a guided tour in order to get the full benefit of knowledge and skipping the line up is the only way to go.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Vaanathi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had an amazing, amazing guide! His explanations of the Sistine chapel Ceiling and the Altar by Michealangelo is something I will never forget.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Christine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Superb tour....don't miss this one! Sublime art, breathtaking ceilings, not just the Sistine Chapel, just amazing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

RayCal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour guide. Very knowledgeable. Needed more time in the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Brian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed our tour of the Vatican so much with our wonderful tour guide Francesca. She was extremely knowledgeable and provided great information and stories about each of the buildings, rooms, and art pieces on the tour. It is remarkable that she could cover such a great deal of information and present it in a manner that we still remember a week after the tour. We were especially happy with her overview of the Sistine Chapel which made our visit there exceptional. Her friendly manner and great Italian accent added to our complete satisfaction with the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Celia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great introduction into the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. It was perfect for us as we did not have a lot of time left in Rome and just had to visit Vatican City. Dorella was a wonderful guide with great enthusiasm, knowledge and sense of humor while navigating us through the tour. Would love to return one day to fully explore and take time to absorb the beauty and culture of this special place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lauren B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing! The tour guides were very knowledgeable and had lots of information to share. We didn't get to spend much time in the contemporary rooms of the Vatican, which was disappointing as we missed getting to see artwork by artists such as Salvador Dali. I extremely enjoyed seeing the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Overall, it was an amazing experience!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Lynne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I'm still have chill bumps from being in the Sistine Chapel practically by ourselves.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Ami J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very knowledgable and she made it very seamless to pass through the crowds. I am glad we chose this because the line to get in was about a mile long. We walked right into the Vatican and I would recommend doing this to anyone planning to go here. The Sistine Chapel was absolutely amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

alexasiroy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We bought this ticket for a Wednesday morning when the Pope was giving his Papal message. If seeing the pope is your thing, DO NOT BUY this for wednesday morning, get tickets for seats for his mass/audience.

If you don't mind missing the pope, going to the Vatican museum during the Papal audience is an excellent idea as it is not crowded. You don't feel rushed or elbow to elbow with the other tourists as you all make your way to the Sistine Chapel. We arrived at the Sistine Chapel around 12 and our guide told us to go back to the cafeteria, have a coffee, and wait until they open the access from the Sistine Chapel to St. Peter's Basilica. Though the vatican attendants did not like us walking back towards the Sistine Chapel entrance, we just said we needed to use the toilet and they let us go. Around 12:30 they opened the door and we were able to go right into the basilica without having to go through security again. Also, the basilica doors just opened as well and there were very few people in the basilica.

Overall, it was a great tour! We didn't get a tour of the Basilica due to the Papal Mass, but I think we received a more in depth Vatican Museum tour and so it worked out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Martine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being in the Sistine Chapel alone was well worth the price we paid. We went into rooms in the Vatican off limits to the public and got to see all of the highlighted items and places without spendin the entire day trying to discover what to do ad where to go

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message