Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3403 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Todd D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is the ONLY way to see the Sistine Chapel. No crowds, no noise, no rush, able to view it and respect it for the art and beauty as it was meant to be. In addition we had the ability to view several things that are not on the normal public tours in the Vatican Museums. Our guide Shannon was wonderful! A wealth of knowledge, friendly, and it was obvious that she enjoys this tour very much as well. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Kim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Emma was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable! She did a great job of explaining the art we saw throughout the museum and the basilica. I'm glad we went on this tour because I think it would have been tricky to navigate the entire museum on our own... it seemed liked a labyrinth. A very crowded labyrinth. The collections of the museum are phenomenal... I wish we had more time to take a closer look... particularly at the modern collection. I had no idea they still collect modern and contemporary art! We literally walked through these galleries on our way to the Sistine Chapel so did not get to spend any time here at all, which was a disappointment. Even 10 minutes to explore would have been great. Overall this was a fantastic tour and hit all of the highlights that we wanted to see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It was amazing to be in the Vatican with our small group to see the Bramante tower and other rooms that are not available to the general public. The half hour we spent with just our small group after hours in the Sistine Chapel was worth the price of admission. When we were in corridors with the general public, it was easy to appreciate the time we were able to spend in the private areas with only our small group.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Jill C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Rosa was a wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide who taught us much about Michelangelo and the history of the Vatican. Her expertise was much appreciated!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

St. Peter's is beautiful and you will want to hang around for hours. The Sistine Chapel ceiling is worth seeing, but the crowds are loud and unruly. The Vatican museums need more time to enjoy, but they closed early so we were rushed through. Our guide was excellent and the small tour size is well worth the price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Deliana I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a two part tour, the first part was the vatican and it was Amazing. The sistine chapel is a must see and the basillica of saint peter was Amazing as well. The tour guide was great and very knowlegable. The second part was three other basillicas around rome, A different tour guide and he knew alot about the sturctures and artwork inside. We loved this tour. It was very must well Worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Franklin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour of the Vatican Museums, The Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica is a must for any first time visitor to Rome. Our guide, Serafina, was informative, personable and a pleasure to become acquainted with. Being in a private group only improved the experience as there was no waiting for stragglers and one on one conversation always brings out little tidbits one would never get with a group.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an excellent guide who help us through the crowds by always letting us know where she was moving. She gave us such good information, that by the time I got to the Sistine Chapel where she could not talk to us, I was able to appreciate and understand much of what I could see on the ceiling.
She was knowledgeable and the tour was amazing - so glad I took this one!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Nita T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. I'm so glad we decided to do this tour. I/we learned so much. Perhaps putting the Sistine Chapel in the middle of the tour would be good. We were all somewhat tired by the end and I don't think I got as much out of this wonderful place as I might had I been less tired.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sherri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing experience! Sev was an awesome guide. Loved the personal time and attention and ability to have a private experience in the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Tina M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was great and it helped to have a knowledgeable guide at the Vatican museum to take you through the best exhibits, especially if you are short on time. The only bad thing was how crowded the museum and Sistine Chapel were on our afternoon tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jeffrey S K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A highlight of our Italy trip was taking this tour. Easy access to the Vatican, the grounds, museums, and Sistine Chapel. Our guide did a great job with the history of the Vatican and it's artwork. The Vatican can get crowded, so be sure to use this tour for the access and the explanation of the art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour Davide was our guide he was great very informative but not boring. It and #39;s worth the price of the tour just to skip the public line which was huge and in the heat you don and #39;t want to be stuck in that. SISTINE Chapel was amazing only thing I would say is if you don and #39;t like crowds avoid.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

LINDA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was WONDERFUL! The tour guide you assigned to our group made everything come alive, and made all the things we saw at the Vatican much more interesting. She told us what to look for in each area, and when we were unable to speak in the Sistine Chapel, each thing she had told to watch for, was all there in vivid detail! I highly recommend this tour. We went past all the lines, and immediately began our tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Tammy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

OMG!!! Worth every cent... This was without a doubt the highlight of my trip to Italy. First if all, our tour guide, Shannon, was amazing. She's clearly very knowledgable about the Vatican and the artwork, but made the tour extremely entertaining with inside scoop stories about the art/artists. The access to the private rooms, balcony, and Raphael rooms without a crowd was awesome, but the private access to the Sistine Chapel was priceless. Being in the Chapel for 1/2 hour without a crowd really gives you enough time to take in everything,

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour, the tour guide was very informative, friendly and helpful, as per any of the tours that are booked be sure to be at the location about 15 mins before the tour starts so that you can be allocated to your group, the museums were breath-taking and the Sistine Chapel is a very special place indeed, you'll love this tour when you choose to partake, five stars, go for it you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Wendy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Ian Sutton, was a wealth of knowledge and shared interesting and intimate information. We were guided through all main attractions and points of interest were well interpreted. There is just too much to take in and one would need months to absorb the rich architecture and art that adorns the Vatican Museum, St Peter's Basilica and Sistine Chapel. A highly recommended option for anyone that wants to visit Vatican Museum for the first time. We recommend the private tour option, as our guide moved at our pace and was willing to allow us to dwell in certain sections for as long as we wished to. An experience we will never forget!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

isandweg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We chose this option to be able to see the museums in our own pace. The guides were present at the appointed place and time. Getting passed the entrance of the museums is a bit disorganized, but this is the result of the great amounts of people entering the museums, even in the skip the line routes. Once this is passed, you receive a map guide and you are free to go.
Later we learnt that there is a new tour option, early in the morning that will allow you enjoy the Sistine Chapel before the crowds come in. When I return, I will definitely book that one!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Dear all,
Our Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including the Sistine Chapel was beyond compare.
Our guide Sara, was an extremely energetic, informative, and precise person.
Sara was a qualified archeologist of three years plus, and was able to make the tour most informative and colourful.
Should we find ourselves going back to Rome we would surely use the experience of Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was very long and one can get museumed out. It is worth it however just to not have to wait on any long lines! You see the Vatican Museums, The Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basillica! Definitely a good deal

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Keshia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide was informative and allowed ample time to view everything, including the Sistine Chapel. The tour also moved at a good pace meaning you can take a few pictures without losing the group completely. The lines were very long and slow moving so it was a very good way to see everything inside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were here in February this year and yes it was very busy then! Great tour great guide, great place but be prepared to wait.. and dont forget to go to the Tombs underneath the Vatican..amazing again!
be mindful too there are a lot of Chinese here and they take photos of EVERYTHING, including the Sistine Chapel where it is banned..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

April T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good tour with just about the right amount of time passing through the sights. We went early and were in front of many of the crowds. Sistine Chapel was wonderful. The guards were aggressive about keeping people silent and not taking photos. One gentleman was escorted out for taking a picture not from our group. Start, finish and route were well paced and we enjoyed the day excursion.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

April T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good tour with just about the right amount of time passing through the sights. We went early and were in front of many of the crowds. Sistine Chapel was wonderful. The guards were aggressive about keeping people silent and not taking photos. One gentleman was escorted out for taking a picture not from our group. Start, finish and route were well paced and we enjoyed the day excursion.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

April T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good tour with just about the right amount of time passing through the sights. We went early and were in front of many of the crowds. Sistine Chapel was wonderful. The guards were agressive about keeping people silent and not taking photos. One gentleman was escorted out for taking a picture not from our group. Start, finish and route were well paced and we enjoyed the day excursion.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message