Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An unbelievable experience. Our guide Irena (sorry if I don't have the name exactly right) was so knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. The artwork of Raphael and Michelangelo brought tears to my eyes. An absolute miracle. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful tour experience. Tiffany is knowledgeable, articulate, entertaining, and personable. Her anecdotes were not only interesting and pithy, but also communicated insight into a complex and extraordinary historical moment, the late 15th and early 16th centuries between the contributions of Raphael and Michelangelo and those of Bernini later in the late 16th century. Social, political, artistic, architectural and intellectual history made alive and vivid through her tour. Trying to attach a photo of the knobby ceiling of the Borgia pope's bedroom, a minor highlight of the tour since we enjoyed the "Borgias" television series with Jeremy Irons, also one of Tiffany discussing the Coliseum, and another of lunch at one of the restaurants that she recommended on Via de Geus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Loved this tour. Our guide, Paul, was extremely knowledgeable and informative. I read one review criticizing the tour because of the pre- tour presentation on the history and details on what we were about to see. I strongly disagree. Paul's explanation of Michelangelo's aprroach to and feelings about the Sistine a Chapel work was fascinating, and contributed to our enjoyment and understanding of the actual ceiling. I strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The meeting point was very clear and easy to find. The group was limited to 20 people which was good considering the size of the Sistine Chapel and the need to be able to hear our tour guide (Igor) clearly.
Overall the tour was very informative however we would have liked more time hearing about and walking around the Basilica rather than spending more time in the Vatican Museums. Unfortunately the authorities only allow you to stay in the Sistine Chapel for 20 minutes and there isn't much room to stand and take it all in. But we were grateful to be on a tour for easy access regardless.
Igor had already briefed us on the history of Michelangelo's creation prior so we had the information before we arrived which helped.
Igor was very patient and we really enjoyed our tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide we had for our tour was a delightful young woman with a degree in archaeology from Dublin. Her enthusiasm for, and knowledge of, the art and history of the vatican made this a wonderful experience. The tour group does enter the Vatican Museum around 8:10 AM, ahead of the general public opening of 9:00 AM. Immediately after entering the museum the tour group attends a special presentation about the Sistine Chapel, which is very informative and helpful. Later, once you are inside the Chapel, no talking is allowed so the guide is not allowed to explain any of the magnificent frescoes by Michelangelo while the group is in the Chapel. On the other hand, this special presentation extends beyond 9:00 AM, thus, by the time the group begins its tour into the museum the general public has already entered and the rooms and corridors are packed wall to wall with people. This was the only disappointment we would express about this tour package. We thought our group would be well inside the museum before the doors opened to the general public. We still believe this tour is a very good value, because of the expertise of the tour guide and the guide's ability to move the group efficiently through the entire tour without being delayed by the crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Fen Y
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome tour! Our guide Angela was fantastic! She had great understanding of the history, art and was very animated in her descriptions. We really appreciated her detailed explanations of Michelangelo's art inside the Sistine chapel.
Plus, the skip the line part was great!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour. Our guide was so informative and truly has a passion for what she does. (I don't remeber her name but she's an archeologist). The lines were so long but we never waited for anything so it is definitely worth doing this tour. The highlight was her wonderful explanation of Michelangelo and his paintings of the Sistine Chapel before we went inside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

With Alessandro as a tour guide, exceptionally knowledgeable this anthropologist is a luxury for a visitor like me, nice, dynamic, incredible interesting visiting to the most precious treasures of the Vatican. Ah... Sistine Chapel, Rafael, Michelangelo, Leonardo Da Vinci, Apollonius, the Gallery of Maps, Rosselli, Perugino, Ghirlandaio, Emotion + Emotion + Ecstasies!!!
I will do the visit again.
Congratulations Viator and CityWonders tours!
Augusto

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was fantastic - very informative, especially regarding Michelangelo!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding guide - very knowledgable about Michelangelo and Rafael and the art history and told a compelling story not only on the art history but also the associated politics and societal context of the works in the Vatican museums. And the née avoided all the lines...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour we'll run tour director Darius was excellent in his description of Vatican Museum, even if you did not enjoy art you lived it by the time he finished describing each painting each fresco, you felt like you could just see Michelangelo, and Raphael were there describing. Helped that Darius was good to look at also. Meeting point well described and easy to find give this tour 10points

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lisa was very knowledgable and we were fascinated with her stories about Michelangelo, Raphael and the various Popes. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Unbelievable! Guide was amazing- very knowledgeable and interesting. Tour allowed us to actually sit against the wall in the Sistine Chapel and gaze at Michelangelo's masterpiece. A must do tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Shannon was our tour guide and she did an awesome job on the tour. She is an art history major which added a lot of valuable insights to the tour. She presented things in a way that provided a lot of information without being boring or too technical. Her insights into Michelangelo's painting of the Sistine Chapel and the anecdotes about his dealings with the Pope at that time were humorous and enlightening. The tour was very comprehensive and I really felt I got to see everything and did not feel rushed. The small group size is really great too since it allows for better interaction with the guide and allows you to move along easier. The headsets are a great way to ensure you get to hear everything the guide says even if you want to linger a moment longer for that last photo op or appreciative view of something before moving on. I would highly recommend this tour and really appreciated Shannon's knowledge and presentation that made it enjoyable and informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was excellent and our tour guide, Rosella, was very, very good. I really did not know my Vatican history very well and learned a lot from this tour. Her description of the Sistine Chapel was very educational and she included a lot of little anecdotes about the personalities of Michelangelo and the Vatican personnel of that time period that were both amusing and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message