Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3349 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erika K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Definitely don't go it alone! Our tour guide Sara was wonderful, so smart, easy going, and led us through the museums, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Cathedral. It was interesting and made it so easy single out the key points.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Claire D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Francesca was so knowledgable and passionate about the Vatican museums it really brought it alive for us. The museums were fascinating and as its so busy we felt we would have missed a lot without her, we learnt so much. As for the Sistine Chapel -wow!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Joydeep Das United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect tour to explore the ever crowded Vatican City..The tour guide was very professional and in summary it was an way to explore the various attractions i.e. the Museum, Sistine Chapel and St.Peters.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the best tours we've ever been on, and I've been on a number of them with this company. Sev was brilliant at providing us the history and context, and kept the pace doable for all. Having the private time in the Sistine Chapel was icing on an already amazing cake -- a perfect tour in every way! Spend the money on this tour, you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great! Definitely worth the money as there was a very large line to get in. The history and seeing the Sistine Chapel was very interesting. In addition, the grounds were amazing to view. The tour guide was very informative about Vatican City and answered all of our questions about Vatican City.

The only con I had is that there were quite a number of tour groups that went and it wasn't peak season - just approaching it. This made many hallways very crowded.

I will make this clear for future goers: If you book this on any religious holiday i.e. Easter, Christmas, you WILL miss St. Peter's Basilica. I knew this well before my trip since I went over the Easter weekend. However, I didn't mind it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and an amazing Tour Guide. This is a must-take tour as the lines for the Vatican were hours long since it is a jubilee year. Our tour guide was a blonde gal from America with an Art History degree who had married an Italian after studying in Italy. Her depth of knowledge on all things in the vatican museum was astounding. This was a once in a lifetime opportunity to see the vatican and our guide made the experience that much better. She kept us on schedule, ensured we all got in close to see the best artifacts, gave us great details on each exhibit, and even gave us recommendations on what to do outside of the vatican and around Rome. I would have taken this tour to see the Sistine Chapel ceiling alone it was so amazing! One of the best tours of my trip for sure!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

prateek g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide named Nikola--Had a great knowledge ,Explanation was quick and easy to grasp ,Not at all boring/monotonous with good sense of humour at times.
Small group,Audio sets were good and audible.
though we missed Sistine chapel as it was closed and should have been informed earlier ,So please check and tap on your dates and get true value for your Money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Barbara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Although we went at a REALLY busy time of year week of Easter the tour guide did a good job of showing us highlights and trying to get us moved through the museum without feeling rushed even though we had to skip several rooms. The Sistine Chapel was amazing as was St Peter's Basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Martin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow, absolutely amazing! The early start is a must as it gets very busy as the tour goes on. The guide was so good and her knowledge excellent. The Sistine Chapel was awe inspiring even if the guards telling everyone to be quite was the noisiest thing!. Would do it again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great tour from a v.v. knowledgable guide. We skipped the hug queues and went straight in. The tour last over three hours and made sense of all the history, the art, the meanings, wow!
The signs say no shorts in the Sistine chapel, but no one seemed to follow this rule, apart from me wearing jeans in 25 degree heat!
Definitely recommend this, a mind blowing tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

deb.larson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our favorite tour - our guide Laura was amazing. We enjoyed immensely seeing some rooms that are not usually open to the public, the lack of crowds during the regular tour and he highlight about one half hour in the Sistine Chapel with only our tour about 20 people and our guide. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved Rome and took a high speed train in from Milan to do this tour. Thankfully there were plenty of tour guides along the way to help us reach our tour in time as it is located quite a distant from the metro station at the steps of the Vatican Museum. The only issue we had was with our Guide who kept talking and ran our first tour by an hour and half so that we almost missed our second tour at the Coliseum. We only had 5 minutes in the Sistine Chapel but spent hours in the other rooms which was a bit disappointing. Other tours kept passing us by while our guide yakked on about every picture. Eventually we handed back our radios and went off to explore St Peter's by ourselves since we were running short of time. St Peter's was most impressive and the highlight of the tour in my opinion. Definitely worth buying as tickets are sold out and lines are super long but we walked right inside immediately. Even though there are crowds there is plenty of space to move around inside and outside St Peters. Well worth the wait!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A fantastic tour worth every penny. I can honestly say that we enjoyed every minute of the 3 hours. Such an amazing location, rich in history, art and culture. Our tour guide, Serafina was simply excellent. She explained everything in great detail with such passion and integrity and her patience is second to none. Her explanation about the Sistine Chapel was fantastic. She is a true professional and we couldn't recommend her highly enough. So pleased we were able to join her again for our second tour in Rome. Five star tour for sure! Julie and Andrew, Bath, UK.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

russell.shrader

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful, wonderful! Niccola was great - he had so much knowledge of the Vatican museums, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's. Be prepared to be blown away! The skip-the-line benefit is the best --- completely worth the money if for no other reason! But there is so much more. Don't miss this opportunity to learn about St. Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a tremendous tour. Our tour guide Viviane? was extremely knowledgeable, well spoken, and made the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica come to life. We learned so much from her. There is so much to see on this tour it's nice to have an expert walk with you and give the history or add significance to all that you're seeing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Susanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

this was a great tour. skip the line was very effective as we were inside the museum in no time. our tour guide was very knowledgeable and as an art historian could provide a lot of interesting details about architecture and paintings. we really liked her lively description of Michelangelos work. she was very happy to answer any of our questions and we learned a lot during this tour. would highly recommend it

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was really well done...The tour got us into the sistine chapel immediately to avoid a closing for a papal ceremony. It was fantastic to get in without the crowds....wonderful experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Mrs JC F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such an great day. The Sistine Chapel and St Peters Bascilica are so overwhelming. Our guide was Julia, she was so nice and friendly and explained everything as we went round. She had so much knowledge and was so interesting. So glad we had a guide you cannot possibly find out all the information if you went round by yourself. This is a day myself and my family will never forget.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Elsie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was overwhelming. I am so glad I experienced this once in a life time event. The whole tour was so informative, educational and the tour guide Georgia we had was very knowledgeable. It was quite difficult to wrap my mind on such beautiful art and collections. Since photo taking was not allowed inside the Sistine Chapel, we were hoping we could find and purchase the poster of the Sistine Chapel ceiling. Inside the Basilica is beyond words. Greatness!!! Glad we did this tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I actually missed the tour that I booked because I was dropped at the wrong location. I was able to get the tour rescheduled by talking with the local tour office. The young lady made sure I found my way to where the tour guides were located and rescheduled me for the next tour. Our group was about 12 people, and our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer everyones questions. I really enjoyed this tour the artwork was amazing in the Vatican Museum. We were fortunate to have a Priest present when we made it to the Sistine Chapel and received a prayer. The tears welled up in my eyes as I was overwhelmed with the significance and majesty of it all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Sabrina was our tour guide from CityWonders and she was incredible!! So knowledgable about the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter and #39;s! We took tours in Rome and Florence with City Wonders as well and Sabrina was the best tour guide of them all!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sarah E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent and well worth booking, after getting through security with our guide we went through the gardens and saw some magnificent sights, well worth seeing, so glad we made it to the Sistine chapel, though our necks ached the day after, it was well worth it. Our guide Laura spoke very good English indeed and had a wealth of knowledge, it was great that she pointed out so many things we would have not otherwise noticed. Talking to other people who did Vatican on their Roma trip by the time they got to the Sistine Chapel they had had enough, so did not see the most important and fabulous bit of the trip - amazing! in fact the whole Roma experience in itself was AMAZING. Defo recommend booking the skip the line at the Vatican, we visited the Saturday before Easter 2016. Although a lot of the tour was more of a 'shuffle' through rather than a walk through it was still well worth the visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

H B B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The leaders were really excellent at organising the group and getting us into the Vatican museum, deftly bypassing all the queues so it took as little time as possible to start our exploration of the museums. We thoroughly enjoyed all the rooms and then spent about half an hour marvelling at the Sistine chapel, it was lovely to progress through the museums at our own pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

David Kok Sin Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Sev, our guide or shall we call him a curator, was amazing. This is my second time to the Sistine Chapel but I learned so many things that I had missed previously. Sev is knowledgeable, humorous and approachable. The tour is quite fast paced, but you get the sense that with Sev, you see all the crucial important stuff. Definitely give this a try.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Stephanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great job by Nicolina, our tour guide. great explanations of the beautiful artwork and history. one can't help but be in awe of all that can be seen here at Vatican City, St. Peter's Basilica and the Sistine Chapel

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message