Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2999 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is expensive -- no doubt -- but it is worth the money. Excellent guide and incredible access. The first part of the tour is amazing -- seeing things that others don't, which means no crowds around you while doing so. Our guide kept things very well-paced and was a wealth of knowledge. In addition to special access, we saw many rooms as the museum was closing which meant that guards were ushering other visitors out just as we were arriving -- giving us private access to them as well. We were let into the Sistine Chapel just as it was closing -- we entered from the front of the Chapel and were held to the corner behind a rope while guards ushered last visitors out the back entrance. When they were gone, we were left alone in the Chapel with our guide. Surreal. Because he could talk not possible during normal hours he could explain things in incredible detail that brought the Chapel to life. It was an incredible experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It's the best way to see the Vatican museums. Having time to see the Sistine Chapel in a totally private environment, and having each part explained, was in and of itself worth the tour. Highly recommended that you take this tour, but be sure to wear the most comfortable shoes you can, and be well rested, its a long tour, and by the end, the whole group was exhausted. It's nice at the end to be able to sit and stare up at Michelangelo's greatest creations.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

chasitymeyers
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lucina was fantastic! My 7 and 9 year olds have lasting impressions of this tour. Her attention to detail is right on and in air conditioned comfort Sistine Chapel overview before you enter. She kept us to a pace that perfect. I would ask for her again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic way to get through the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and the Basilica. The guide was full of interesting knowledge. So many people about, can't imagine doing this visit without a guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour - enabled us to see some highlights of the Vatican museum before heading onto St Peter's. Our tour guide was a qualified art historian - so it was particularly interesting for us to have some context and explanation about the Sistine Chapel prior to entering so that we knew some things to look out for. Likewise it was great to get some commentary as we moved through the Vatican museum - including the Raphael's rooms.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Lisa W
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

OUTSTANDING TOUR!! This small group private rooms and after hours Sistine Chapel is so with it! Our guide, Shannon was outstanding, kept the pace well and knew how to tell the information to kept your interest and not feel over whelmed. The private tour of the Sistine Chapel was great. 15 people only in the room without the huge crowds really let's you see it and enjoy. Very worth it! Trytoget Shannon as your guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was awesome to be in the Sistine Chapel with only our guide and the other guests. This alone was worth the price of the tour! Also enjoyed the Pope's private chapel. Our guide was fantastic and so knowledgable about art that it made it a pleasure - even for my 11 and 12 year olds!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My teen daughter and I really enjoyed this tour! Unfortunately there were longer than normal lines because of feast days prior to our arrival. Our guide maintained a positive attitude and entertained us with many facts about the history of the Vatican and the Popes while we waited. Thank goodness we had skip-the-line entry. It was worth every penny. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the artwork and took the time to explain details of the Sistine Chapel before we entered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was lovely! She had a very animated way of describing the Sistine Chapel. She made sure to give all members of the group information. She was very knowledgeable and patient it was very hot. She seemed to enjoy her job and took pride in doing it well. She answered all questions with a lot of detail and was very thorough. It was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Was really impressed with the knowledge of our tour guide davide. He expertly navigated yes threw the crowds and gave us a lot of historic information and an extremely good overview of the Sistine chapel, prior to walking through it. This was an excellent tour and again our guide was an expert!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had the most amazing tour guide, Maria Rosaria, who took us expertly through the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. She was so knowledgeable and friendly, and made everything very accessible. Seeing these parts of the Vatican in a group of only 12 people - before most of the crowds came in - was incredible. We had to get up very early to make this work, but it was well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great overview of the art and history of the Vatican Museum! I only wish there had been more time spent at the Sistine Chapel. A break somehow in the middle of the tour would be helpful too, as it is hot and crowded in the summer!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a fantastic tour! Even though we had been in St. Peter's Basilica before, this tour was terrific. The tour includes the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museums. Our guide was very knowledgeable, answered our questions, skipped the line and got right in! We were first in Vatican City in the early 90's. We have been there several times since and tried to stand in line to tour the Basilica. We gave up each time. I am so happy that I booked this tour in advance and it was even more than I had expected. Book a tour - you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sarah, our guide was very knowledgable. She had a knack for stopping the group in quiet areas where it was easier to hear her and where we were well positioned to see the amazing artwork. We definitely have a better appreciation for Rafael and enjoyed the anecdotes regarding his relationship with Michelangelo. The Sistine Chapel was beautiful, but St. Peter's was beyond description. An amazing day. Thank you Sarah.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

OSCAR our tour guide did an amazing job. He was exceptionally knowledgeable throughout our tour of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, and the St. Peter's Bascilica. We enjoyed this tour very much and would recommend it for other tourists in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A VERY good tour--highly recommended! The tour started early, so the crowds weren't as bad in the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel. Our guide Dario was very knowledgeable and really made the tour a great experience. Thanks very much!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Franscesca was fantastic...very knowledgable and got us through the mega crowds inside the Sistine chapel very skilfully. I would definitely recommend doing this tour as the lines were very long and it was hot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the absolute highlight of our trip to Rome--my kid's favorite. Shannon was wonderful--very warm, accommodating, knowledgeable and professional. We learned so many things from her that we didn't know! We did the VIP tour of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and Secret Rooms, which are parts of the Vatican that the rest of the public are not seeing. One of the secret rooms was a tiny chapel just outside of a former bedroom of the Pope that is still used once or twice a year by the Pope for prayer. Our group was small 15 people, and we ended the tour with a private, after hours viewing of the Sistine Chapel. Normally it's wall to wall people when tourists visit, so this was amazing. We had the entire place to ourselves for about 30 minutes, and our escort was kind and allowed us to take photos see attached. Shannon told us many funny stories, esp. about Michaelangelo, the Popes and the other artists. This is an expensive tour, but worth every penny. Cannot recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were 3 adults and 5 teenagers. The tour was everything stated. Our guide Shannon was extremely knowledgable, pleasant and very interesting. Our group ranged in age from 13 to 72 and everyone thought the tour was fantastic! Unbelievable access and it was incredible to be in the Sistine Chapel with only 15 people. Amazing!! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We booked this tour because it was not part of our private tour of the sistine chapel and we did not want to miss the Basilica. It was a perfect addition to our Vatican Tours. It was amazing to skip the lines and get right in. It was very crowded and hot the day we went and the ability to get right in was awesome. The tour did include an excellent guide who was very knowledgable. At the end, we added the tour of the dome at the end. It is a tricky walk, difficult for some folks, but the view was amazing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour started at around 3:30 PM after passing the crowd into the Museum, going through screening, taking care of some requirements, and going to the bathroom :- It ended at around 6:30 PM. It was a good 3 hour tour, which I am so sad it is only 3 hours. Hehehe. There are just so much to see, to learn, and to absorb in the Musei Vaticani that I do not think 3 hours is enough. I want moooreeee...

We did visit all the secret rooms mentioned in the description of this tour, which were only allowed for certain groups. Our guide was Sev if I spell and pronounce his name correctly, and he is very very resourceful and knowledgeable. He can tell you the stories of almost everything you see in the Museum or what you want to know about Vatican.

We did have the Sistine Chapel for ourselves since we got there when the Museum is about to close. It was a good 15 - 20 minutes in there, only the 15 of us, seeing the frescoes drawn, painted by Michelangelo dressing the entire ceiling of the Chapel. I don't know about the others, but at least I saw them with my eyes popped up and my jaws dropped.

Please make sure you arrive on time for the tour. Otherwise you will definitely lose your money. You can bring umbrellas inside actually, but the small one that you can fold and put into your bag. The big ones are not recommended since you have to store them in the locker. You can also bring your medium size backpack, as long as it is not bulky or too big.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This Vatican tour Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museum and St. Peters was well worth the expense! A small group with expert guide who was very passionate about the Vaticans history and treasures. We started early and the museum was still very crowded but we got to move quickly through with no waiting. We loved hearing all about the Sistine Chapel and Michelangelo with pictures and great stories sitting out in the courtyard. Once we got in the Sistine Chapel where there was no talking allowed we knew what to look for and all about the history of the frescos. This type of tour was so beneficial to a first time visit to the Vatican. When we were finished with our tour mid-day. The lines to start the tours were very, very long and hot! We strongly recommend this tour you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tours were very easy to set up on Viator. Our first tour was the Mystery tour,at night. The information was interesting and the guide was humorous . Our second tour was skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Again the tour guide was very good. We enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Serafina was excellent. Even though the museum and Sistine chapel were ridiculously full, she managed to show details and put what we were seeing in historical context. I would recommend checking for religious holidays before you plan a trip to Rome. Many places are closed or overcrowded

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth the high cost. Shannon was a knowledgable guide, and the access to areas of the museum and time in the otherwise empty Raphael rooms and Sistine Chapel were incredible.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message