The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cwgeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

History is my passion so this day trip was heaven for me. Unfortunately the weather precluded a trip to the volcano and instead we went to a very interesting museum in Naples that holds many of the artifacts of Pompeii and surrounding areas. The museum employees however decided to close-off many of the exhibits we wanted to see probably on a whim. The Italian people are socialist-leaning and given a chance not to work or to go on strike they'll take it. Overall wonderful we had a great group leader on the bus and at Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was awesome! First off, our tour guides, Sarah and Enzo, were very well organized and knowledgeable. They were great at keeping us informed throughout the day. They spoke excellent English and were very detailed in all of Italy's history and answering our questions. Alfredo, our awesome bus driver, drove 1.5 hrs to a rest stop in Cassino where we had 15 min to stretch our legs, use the toilets, and grab some coffee or snacks. Back on the bus for the next hour to Pompeii, our guides spoke to us about the history of Pompeii and what to expect when we arrive, which made the drive fly by. At Pompeii, we were split into 2 groups with 10-12 per group and we had excellent audio systems to hear our guide at all times. In addition to our tour guides, each group was provided a professional Pompeii historian guide to teach us about its history. The tour was fantastic! We had plenty of time to take photos and walk around on our own while still able to listen via audio systems and keep up with the group. Lunch was ok, not the best salad and pizza I've had, but pretty good for being included with the tour. TIP: Your first drink is included, each add'tl is 4 euro. Mt Vesuvius was an awesome experience! We had a little more than one hour to climb to the top and back. It took 20-30 min to reach the top at a moderate-to-slow pace stopping to rest and take photos along the way. It's pretty cool to be able to say you climbed an active volcano! On the way home, we stopped in Cassino for a break, then continued back to Rome. During our return, our guides conversed with everyone individually to ask if we had any questions/feedback about the tour or Italy in general, then answered everyone's questions out loud for everyone on the bus. There were a lot of helpful tips offered regarding places to eat, safety, etc. TIPS: Bring snacks for the ride. // There are plenty of chances to rest/nap on the bus. // Bus carries cold water for 1 euro

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a delightful trip this turned out to be!! In one day, we saw the beautiful Tuscany, a fabulous meal in a winery and sometime to shop as well. It is worth every penny. The Tour guide, Monica is so knowledgeable that she took the time we were on the bus to give us so much information that we are very thankful. I would advise everyone to take this wonderful trip.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Monica was wonderful. The Tuscany countryside was breathtaking. The history brought to life. Nothing like a little wine tasting to break the ice with your fellow travelers. For anyone needing a break from the bustle of the city, this is s tour not to be missed. Loved it.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day trip tour to Pompeii was well organized and comfortable. Luca and Manuel were great guides. Alberto was a fantastic driver. The local guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was incredible! There was enough time at the comfort stops and information shared by the guides about Rome during our return was of value.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

willie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic. Peter, the tour guide, was great. He answered all of our questions and made us enjoy Tuscany. I am recommending to a co-worker who is coming over in the summer.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

moti k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a tour my granddaughter and I booked and I think it was well worth the effort and money. The tour was conveniently arranged for pick up and drop off. The tour guides, Jonathan and Peter were amazing founts of information. Art, architecture, history and personal vignettes made the 3 hour trip down and back interesting and informative. Although I had been to Pompeii several times, I still found new insights with these two young men. Please take this trip, you will enjoy it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Desiree S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely wonderful day trip to Vesuvius and Pompeii - first class service all the way! The guides, Lucca and Manuel were knowledgeable, entertaining and extremely helpful and the driver Alberto was skilled and very competent. The pizza lunch was very good and we had plently of time to observe and explore both Pompeii and Vesuvius. I would highly recommend this trip and will definitely be using this company for excursions again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Katharine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a fantastic value. Pompeii and Vesuvius are must-see and are so impressive in person. Our guides Mara and Antonella were very knowledgable and made the lone bus ride enjoyable. Highly reccomend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Greig S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tuscany is beautiful is well known. Our tour showed us in one day why everyone loves it.
Our guide Anna was awesome. Not only did she tell us about Tuscany, its history and why its unique, but gave us great insight into how the people live and their customs. It is a long but very enjoyable day.
Highly recommend it

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Min Juan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

informative and professional guider from Rome to Pompeii and at local Pompeii. it is the must program if you want to enjoy a tour with historical and local culture information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such an amazing tour. Tuscany was beautiful and a great way to see the area

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Luca was our guide and he was fantastic, loved the knowledge he had...the day trip was fantastic highly recommend it

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jeffrey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was such a great trip! Pompeii and Vesuvius weren't on our original itinerary, but our flights home were canceled so we booked this last minute, and we are so glad we did! Alessandra and Melanie were our hosts and they were just wonderful. They are a wealth of knowledge and funny also. They told us lots of stories in the bus and kept us entertained. It is a long day, but worth it! The hike is a bit strenuous, so I wouldn't recommend this trip if you aren't prepared for a hike.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Debra K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was everything I hoped it would be. We packed so much into the day and yet were not rushed. We got to see all of the best of Tuscany, enjoyed Montepulciano, had a wonderful wine tasting and lunch at a farmhouse and visited a lovely abbey. Peter was not only informative but also an engaging tour guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Cian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Unbelievable trip, should not be overlooked. Our coach was very comfy, our hosts were incredibly friendly and their stories/facts very informative and fun to listen to. Pompeii itself was incredible but without our guide Roberto, we wouldn't of enjoyed it half as much. Thank you for a great trip, Cian and Niamh

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Rome Pompeii tour was awesome. Everything went as I had expected. The guides Jennifer, Peter, and Enzo at Pompeii, were all professional and I learned a lot about life in Pompeii. peter also told us interesting facts related to Italian life. As for the schedule, we were also on time all the time. I could recommend this tour to everyone interested in history and hiking. Thank you !

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Definitely worthwhile - very knowledgeable guide, scenery on the way, a nice meal included. A long day but worth it and not too tiring. The museum in Naples was better than most of us expected, I thought, and Pompeii is awesome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Giuseppe A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day trip well worth the time and money. Excellent tour guide, Christina. Wish we had more time in Orvieto beautiful town with lots of things to see. Met some very nice people. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

vanessadeguz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip! Monica and Robert were wonderful, knowledgeable, and fun! Ask for them! The tip to the Pompeii museum was a bit short but we would do it all over again! Does not disappoint!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

kylie t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great value for money.
A lovely tour guide and a yummy lunch at the winery.
If you only have one day to get to Tuscany, then this is the way to do it.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

FARAH N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Peter did an amazing job in this tour he had soooo much info about Tuscany, wine, Italy, culture, history, etc. He really enriched the experience with all the background info he gave. The places we went to were amazing as well. the scenery was out of this world. The wine tasting and lunch were really special. the setting in the wine cellar made it feel so real. loved every part of it. really really worth it.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Jamie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Manuele was a great tour kind with a lot of insight about Rome and the Tuscany region.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

lani85715

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ivan was our tour guide and he helped make this a truly wonderful experience. The weather was cold with occasional showers and could have put a damper on the tour, but Ivan kept us moving forward and spirits up. Tuscany is magical of course and an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message