The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1863 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabian was excellent, he is local from Capri...very knowledgeable!
Luisa our tour guide in Pompeii amazing too..so fun and she knows sooo much...love this tour so far my favorite trip!!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing low cost tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. The Tivoli part of the trip was more ruins, but the Hadrian's Villa was amazing with the scenery and the fountains. There were restrooms at the sites and the guide gives us enough time for picture taking. All in all, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone. You will enjoy it.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was a great way to see Tuscany and wine country on a day trip from Rome. Our tour guide was Gio, and she was wonderful! She was informative, and gave a nice balance of history and fun facts. The lunch at the winery was great, and the wines were reasonably priced. On the way back to Rome Gio gave some great recommendations for dining and sites to visit! I wish we met her earlier during our time of Rome, her recommendations were spot on! Overall the tour was relaxing, with a decent amount of bus time that was scenic. It was nice relaxing on the bus after many previous days of running around rooms all day all night. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to get a taste of Tuscany.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this tour! Stephanie and Manuelle were great tour guides! Stephanie shared historical stories on the sites we were driving by, while Manuelle entertained us with the espresso rules of Italy. Both guides were very kind and were available for any questions, whether it was related to restaurant recommendations, taxis, etc.

While we didn't get a chance to climb Mount Vesuvius it was raining super hard so they had to close the park, we were able to go to the National Archeological Museum of Pompeii instead. We would have loved to have climbed Mount Vesuvius, but nothing anyone could do about the weather. By the time the afternoon rolled around, the same came out and we were able to enjoy a wonderful tour of Pompeii.

Having the whole day planned out and having tour guides point out historical sites was so worth it! We highly recommend doing this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing by the two most enjoyable knowledgable characters,our Tour Guides Julio and Alexandra. Orange Pink Group. The tour would have to be the highlight of our trip. It was well organized, the stop offs the lunch. Mt Versivus, Ancient Pompeii. Impressive!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I went on this day trip with 2 friends. Our leader was Melanie and she was lovely ,so friendly and helpful .
We got on the bus ,and were entertained the whole way by Melanie and Eleana and Mariuz the driver ,were told the history of the area and funny stories.
When we got to Pompeii ,we had a local guide with 40 years experience ,Ginero or Genero not sure of spellng.He was so passionate and knowledgable and really gave is a proper idea about what it would have been like in 79 ad.
Lunch was lovely .
The trek up Vesuvius was harder than I thought It was going to be especailly after just eating a pizza but the views were amazing and I really enjoyed it.
Over all this trip was fantastic ,we definately got more than our moneys worth ,Melanie and Eleana were full of info and entertaining andthe bus driver was brilliant negociating all those bends.

Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Ahh, where to begin...this tour was the highlight of my trip for sure. First, the tour guides, Stephanie and I can't remember the other lady's name were very pleasant and passed the time well with information about the destinations as the picturesque bus ride went along. They did this periodically and it was not excessive so you had time to have conversations with others on the tour or just to relax. The tour of Pompeii was not conducted by the tour guides that were on the bus, but the lady that did this tour was also very nice, funny and knowledgable. Lunch was good, the bus tour guides gave a nice story of the area that tied it nicely together with the menu for lunch and the flavor was pretty good. The Mount Vesuvius hike was surely the high point, pardon the pun, of the tour...the views were just stunning. I will say that they aren't lying when they say that it requires some physical fitness. I was able to make it to the furthest point of the path up the volcano but I wouldn't describe the hike as easy. There are 3 stopping points on the hike and the views from each are equally nice, you don't lose much by not making it all the way to the top, so if you don't make it you certainly have not been cheated. Do yourself a favor and make this tour a priority if you are in the area!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lindy was an excellent tour guide! She made the day so fun! The lunch at the winery was incredible and so much more than I ever would have expected! This day was the highlight of our trip to Rome. Tuscany is so breathtakingly beautiful!! Don't hesitate-book this tour-it was well worth the money! It was great to get out of Rome for a day and just relax and enjoy the beautiful sites of Tuscany. Our pictures were priceless.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant experience!! Was debating whether to do such a long trip during a short break to Rome 5days however the 3 hour coach ride there and back was completely worth it! Was I tired at the end of the day..sure but the culture and experience was well worth it! Guides were fantastic, made the journey seem a lot shorter than it was, Roberts stories about old rome/Pompeii were brilliant. The lady guide was fantastic as well sorry forgotten name. Highly recommend climbing Vesuvius! Knackering but views were insane!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend this trip! It was such a great learning experience. Our guide team was very knowledgeable and fun a great combination! Pompeii was amazing. I have been reading about it for years and it did not disappoint. The guide we had at Pompeii was also amazing! For amyone traveling to Rome I recommend booking this trip it more then worth the time and money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to see Pompeii at your own pace. It was nice to just be driven there in an air-conditioned bus and back. It was a long day, but worth it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was an amazing experience from start to finish. Our tour guide Luca was incredibly knowledgable and helped create an unforgettable experience from his outstanding knowledge to his jokes and charm. the organisation of the tour was great with smooth transitions between trips and coach journeys. The archaeologist at Pompeii was also fantastic with his explanations and engaging content as we were guided through the ancient city. The included meal was also delicious and was far larger than expected. Highly recommended and worth every penny.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were so glad we chose to go on this trip. First, our guides were so knowledgable and fun! And the guide at Pompeii was awesome! It was amazing to see a whole town preserved! The climb to Vesuvius wasn't too bad because it's a short hike and the view was beautiful. The bus ride was fun too!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic. Not only did we get to experience some wonderful wineries but experiencing the little villages. The scenery was breath taking. Our tour guide Max was so knowledgable about the regions. Tuscany is a must whilst visiting Rome

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine Country Day Trip from Rome Including Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This has been a dream for many years to visit Pompeii, and being able to go to the volcano made it even better. The meal we were served for lunch was plentiful, and the tour guides were VERY entertaining and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Luca and Hector were brilliant. They had loads of information to pass on, and explained about the sights as we traveled to Pompeii.
What this booking doesn't say is that your lunch is included in the price, and the restaurant we stopped at was lovely and cool.
This trip is more than worth it's money, but be aware the climb to Vasuviouse is hard going, especially if your not super fit, but worth it for the views alone. Would I recommend this trip....YES!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marcela C
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took this tour with CityWonders. I can not recommend this company enough. Our guide was Antonella, and she partnered with another guide, Elena. They were both fantastic. They were knowledgeable about everything it seemed. They gave us facts during our bus ride about the places we were passing. They knew a lot about Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. They kept us entertained with fun anecdotes and stories throughout the trip. The 3 hour bus ride was broken in half with a 20 minute food/bathroom break. There was a local guide, Lena, at Pompeii that took us through the site, who was also very knowledgeable and entertaining and made the most of our short time there. The lunch at the restaurant was fairly well organized, for Italy. Italians I found work at their own pace. Our bus driver Alberto was amazing. It was a little scary taking the small rode up to Mount Vesuvius, be he did a wonderful job. The climb up to the top was difficult. The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice to have a little longer at Mt. Vesuvius. Overall though, everything was great.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The schedule worked very well. Luca was extremely helpful and informative. Also the local Pompeii guide was well-informed and helpful.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was amazing, the highlight of my stay in Italy. Our guides, Luca and Julio and driver Massimo could not have been better. The walk up the side of Vesuvius to look down into the crater capped it all off.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and educational tour. We were provided a lot of information during the day, not only on Pompeii, but also about Rome. We thoroughly enjoyed it and thought the tour guides did a fantastic job!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful day trip. Our driver Alex was attentive and informative. Umbria, Assisi and all the sights were magnificent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Assisi Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Alfreddo provided a good level of information both on the bus and at the villas. We also had plenty of time to enjoy both villas. The free time in Tivoli was sufficient to visit one of the good places for lunch, or to view the town. The two villas are completely different and equally worth visiting. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had been to Pompeii before on my own, and this time took the tour since I was travelling with my daughter and granddaughter who were first timers. I was amazed at how much information I had missed on my first visit and that was explained so clearly by our guides. Furthermore, the hike up Vesuvius was very enjoyable and the views absolutely outstanding. This trip is definitely worth the long bus ride to and fro. Our guides, Antonella and Elaina were great.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic day trip. Long day but you aren't walking much as there is so much travel involved. We really only got 3 hours 2 in Positano, 1 in Amalfi of personal time, the rest was split up between the train ride and the bus trip. It also would be good if they fed you light snacks so you didnt feel you HAD to eat which you did once you got to Positano so you could have more time to sight see. The views are unbelievable, the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly and their english was very good as well. This was a great way to take a break from the hustle and bustle of Rome and it's one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen in my life. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome Including Positano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of our favorite trips while in Italy! We thoroughly enjoyed Pompeii. The shuttle bus was so comfortable and roomy, the leader on the bus was funny, happy and knowledgeable and made the bus trip fun. Our tour guide in Pompeii was just great and gave us so much info, all while being jovial and funny. We loved this trip so much!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message