The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1851 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was an amazing experience from start to finish. Our tour guide Luca was incredibly knowledgable and helped create an unforgettable experience from his outstanding knowledge to his jokes and charm. the organisation of the tour was great with smooth transitions between trips and coach journeys. The archaeologist at Pompeii was also fantastic with his explanations and engaging content as we were guided through the ancient city. The included meal was also delicious and was far larger than expected. Highly recommended and worth every penny.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were so glad we chose to go on this trip. First, our guides were so knowledgable and fun! And the guide at Pompeii was awesome! It was amazing to see a whole town preserved! The climb to Vesuvius wasn't too bad because it's a short hike and the view was beautiful. The bus ride was fun too!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic. Not only did we get to experience some wonderful wineries but experiencing the little villages. The scenery was breath taking. Our tour guide Max was so knowledgable about the regions. Tuscany is a must whilst visiting Rome

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine Country Day Trip from Rome Including Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This has been a dream for many years to visit Pompeii, and being able to go to the volcano made it even better. The meal we were served for lunch was plentiful, and the tour guides were VERY entertaining and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Luca and Hector were brilliant. They had loads of information to pass on, and explained about the sights as we traveled to Pompeii.
What this booking doesn't say is that your lunch is included in the price, and the restaurant we stopped at was lovely and cool.
This trip is more than worth it's money, but be aware the climb to Vasuviouse is hard going, especially if your not super fit, but worth it for the views alone. Would I recommend this trip....YES!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marcela C
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took this tour with CityWonders. I can not recommend this company enough. Our guide was Antonella, and she partnered with another guide, Elena. They were both fantastic. They were knowledgeable about everything it seemed. They gave us facts during our bus ride about the places we were passing. They knew a lot about Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. They kept us entertained with fun anecdotes and stories throughout the trip. The 3 hour bus ride was broken in half with a 20 minute food/bathroom break. There was a local guide, Lena, at Pompeii that took us through the site, who was also very knowledgeable and entertaining and made the most of our short time there. The lunch at the restaurant was fairly well organized, for Italy. Italians I found work at their own pace. Our bus driver Alberto was amazing. It was a little scary taking the small rode up to Mount Vesuvius, be he did a wonderful job. The climb up to the top was difficult. The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice to have a little longer at Mt. Vesuvius. Overall though, everything was great.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The schedule worked very well. Luca was extremely helpful and informative. Also the local Pompeii guide was well-informed and helpful.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was amazing, the highlight of my stay in Italy. Our guides, Luca and Julio and driver Massimo could not have been better. The walk up the side of Vesuvius to look down into the crater capped it all off.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and educational tour. We were provided a lot of information during the day, not only on Pompeii, but also about Rome. We thoroughly enjoyed it and thought the tour guides did a fantastic job!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful day trip. Our driver Alex was attentive and informative. Umbria, Assisi and all the sights were magnificent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Assisi Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Alfreddo provided a good level of information both on the bus and at the villas. We also had plenty of time to enjoy both villas. The free time in Tivoli was sufficient to visit one of the good places for lunch, or to view the town. The two villas are completely different and equally worth visiting. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had been to Pompeii before on my own, and this time took the tour since I was travelling with my daughter and granddaughter who were first timers. I was amazed at how much information I had missed on my first visit and that was explained so clearly by our guides. Furthermore, the hike up Vesuvius was very enjoyable and the views absolutely outstanding. This trip is definitely worth the long bus ride to and fro. Our guides, Antonella and Elaina were great.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic day trip. Long day but you aren't walking much as there is so much travel involved. We really only got 3 hours 2 in Positano, 1 in Amalfi of personal time, the rest was split up between the train ride and the bus trip. It also would be good if they fed you light snacks so you didnt feel you HAD to eat which you did once you got to Positano so you could have more time to sight see. The views are unbelievable, the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly and their english was very good as well. This was a great way to take a break from the hustle and bustle of Rome and it's one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen in my life. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome Including Positano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of our favorite trips while in Italy! We thoroughly enjoyed Pompeii. The shuttle bus was so comfortable and roomy, the leader on the bus was funny, happy and knowledgeable and made the bus trip fun. Our tour guide in Pompeii was just great and gave us so much info, all while being jovial and funny. We loved this trip so much!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was perfect since the beggining. Melany our bus guide is really a terrific guide. Not only she knows a lot but she is the nicest person. Our guide in Pompeii was extremely good too. The pizza lunch was very good. 5 stars indeed.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Rosella was very informative and knowledgeable. We had a wonderful day trip and would recommed it

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well done tour. American guide Mike was entertaining and informative. Great jokes. Pompeii and Vesuvius were incredible and well worth the trip. Nice restaurant in Naples. Great pizza.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were very happy with our tour: both Patricia on the bus and Vincenzo our guide at Pompeii. Both had great humour and charm, we had lovely day. We left knowing so much more than when we arrived.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The hike up Mt Vesuvius was fun, but the real gem is the tour or Pompeii. It was truly mind-blowing and should be on everyone's bucket list. This tour was great because they handle all of the logistics for you. Great guides and a fun trip. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I very much enjoyed this day trip! Lovely views, very engaged and entertaining guide Kylie.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

AMAZING! If you love history, you will LOVE this tour. Everything you've read and seen in National Geographic will come to live and make sense. It helps that Luisa - our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowledgeable and patience with everyone. She was warm, friendly, funny, willing to answer questions and her English was nearly perfect. The 2 women on the tour bus Sarah and Julia, were willing to share personal stories, and knew all about the regions we were passing by on the bus. They worked the passengers by having a fun Q and A and we felt free to ask what other tours they would recommend.

The unsung hero is Fausto, our bus driver. Wow! this driver needs a raise! The way he maneuver the tight and narrow two way streets on our way to Pompeii was incredible. He never put the passengers at risk, we were totally safe. When you sign up for the tour, you'll know what I mean.

Lastly, lunch was eh, blah, so bring a snack. The bathrooms are .50 cents, but the shot of limoncello at the end of the day was refreshing.

Have fun!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The best day of my 10 day trip to Rome. Outstanding. The trip went flawless. The guide was excellent and the beach was beautiful and was not crowded and was very clean. The boat trip was fantastic!! Glad i didn't miss that! Swimming in the Mediterrain was a plus!! Thank you to Beth for such a pleasant day trip!!

Doing what: Sperlonga Beach Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guides Julia and Sara were very helpful, informative, and kind. The tour was stress free. The tour guides tell you loads about the history of Italy and Pompeii. The restaurant they take you to for lunch was delicious. While the tour is pricey, I had a great time!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a beautiful day and we saw a good amount of Pompeii and then hiked Mt Vesuvius note that that was very cold at the end of March/beginning of April. Worth it but dress appropriately. The temperatures are very different in the 2 spots. I also thought the place we went to in Naples would be more authentic and that we would see more of the city, but the pizza was good, especially the crust. Tour guides on the bus were fantastic!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a long day but well worth it. The bus ride stops for a break so you can go to the bathroom and get a snack. The walk up Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart. It is a steady incline they say 20, but it sure seems steeper. There is not much of a level rest area in throughout the trek. Still worth it for the view of the crater and the surrounding sights including Naples. The bus ride up and down is harrowing in and of itself. The lunch is hearty. Each person got a whole pizza and salad and drink. We had a gluten free member and the restaurant was accommodating. After a nice lunch there was a quick bus ride to Pompeii. The guide was wonderful. Gave us a lot of great information with flare and comedy when needed. Everyone received a headset which worked outstanding. We walked for about 75 minutes. Really the highlight of the trip. We were all exhausted and we stopped on the way back from Rome at the stop area we did on the way up. We spent some extra time here for purchase of souvenirs and drinks. It did take about 13 hours for the entire trip. Cannot say anything bad. The local guides on the bus gave us tips about some places to eat and visit in Rome. Fantastic, but exhausting day. Would definitely recommend this tour if you have Pompeii and Vesuvius on your list of attractions to see while in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message