The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1949 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The bus was comfortable, and the tour guide and driver were both friendly and thorough. Pompeii is a bit overwhelming to tour on your own in a half day, but they give you enough guidance to make the trip worth your while. I highly recommend this for people who are comfortable traveling independently and who don't mind not seeing all of Pompeii during their trip. Take a book with you it's a long enough drive!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent day trip by bus from Rome to Pompeii, including a vigorous hike up to the crater of Mt Vesuvius. Our guide spoke perfect English and shared many stories and much information on trip both to and from Pompeii. She was also personally very helpful providing me with train information and protocol for our next day's journey. The guide who showed us around Pompeii was excellent, pointing out many interesting facts that we would have missed had we toured on our own. One could spend days exploring Pompeii, but he made the visit both efficient and thorough.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

poitras
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great day out on this tour. Our tour guide Robert was infectious with his enthusiasm about the area we were visiting. He has a real gift of teaching us everything from political history to culinary, religious, geological and anything else you can think of. Not boring in the least... Thanks Robert..so glad we took this tour and not a train trip to Pompeii instead!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great day. The guides had the day perfectly organized. They were easy to understand and very knowledgeable. They gave us time to be quiet on the bus and rest. We stopped halfway about 1.5 hours into the drive at Casino for a snack and potty break both coming and going back to Rome. We were happy to be able to leave a bag with extra shoes on the bus instead of having to carry everything all day. Lunch was good but we were happy the restaurant let my husband chose spaghetti instead of pizza. They actually seemed happy about that as their ovens must have been overwhelmed with pizzas. I think that should be offered-three choices: two kinds of pizza or spaghetti. We liked the salads too. The climb to Mount Vesuvius was not too bad even in the heat with the breeze off the water. The guides were right that you need about 30 minutes to get down the Mount too. It's slippery on loose gravel coming down so you have to be slow and steady about it. Pompeii was wonderful. They have a local guide who takes you through Pompeii and the other guide stays along as well. It was very interesting and full of many facts. We went to five cities in three countries and this was definitely one of our favorite days. Definitely worth the bus ride. We wished the bus had wifi as our bus did on a day trip in London.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour!!! Our two tour guides were Julio and Marco. They were both hilarious, helpful, and extremely knowledgeable. Julio even knew 6 languages! Perfect guys to run the tour. When we got to Pompeii, we were handed off to a local guide to take us through the ruins. He was also funny and knowledgeable. Lunch was actually really good! The tour says you get a pizza lunch, but you also get a nice salad and some wine or drink of your choice with it in a nice banquet area. We almost didn't get to go up the Vesuvius because of the weather, but luckily it cleared up and we did which was awesome!! Props to the bus driver and tour guides for getting us up the side on that small windy road. I highly recommend this tour especially if it's run by the same tour guides all the time!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband had a amazing day with you tour company an our guide Monika was very informative so help full an couldn't do enough for us. It was always our dream to visit Tuscany an we weren't disappointed Thanyou Bob an Carolyn Australia

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Five stars for the Tour Guide Becks, travel arrangements and chosen attractions. Definitely gave me a flavour of Tuscany.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guide but remember to be there on time! We almost missed it!! The climb of Mt Vesuvius was fabulous and we had enough time for pictures, climbing, admiring the views, ice cream at the end, etc. We did the Mountain first which was perfect as Pompeii itself was more tiring than the climb and would have been difficult if it was reversed. The bus driver was super safe and the tour around Pompeii was detailed but not unbearably long. You had time for toilets throughout and we got to see the main sights. Hint: in certain seasons you may only go to the ruins instead of the ruins and museum in which case the ruins posess 3 ash bodies things whereas the Museum is the main place to see it. The 3 bodies were enough for us though! It was fabulous with great value for money and I would HIGHLY recommend it! A must do!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tiring! Be prepared for a lot of walking but rewards at the end are priceless.

Thanks to Amanda for all the tips of the foreigners rome! Great guides in Pompeii too!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really excellent trip.
The tour guide was excellent and very professional. The whole trip was extremely well organised from start to finish. The guide at Pompeii was excellent , the best yet so enthusiastic with humour!
Well worth every euro!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had the most wonderful day. Our tour guide Ernedo spelling? was wonderful. The bus was very comfortable. We saw the beauty of Tuscany on this trip. I would highly recommend this trip. Although the trip is 12 or so hours it was not too long of a day. We had a great lunch at a beautiful winery. The towns we visited were interesting and beautiful. The scenery was great.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We climbed Mt Vesuvius before going to Pompeii. The climb uphill took more than 20-25 mins as suggested. We were allowed only 1hr 20 mins to climb up and return. Since I'm not very athletic, it took me 35-40mins to reach the 2nd level crater, so I spent only 10 mins for pics and have to descend already. Luckily, the descent was much faster although slippery due to the loose gravel. It pays to rent a stick, though I didn't do so. The Pompeii local guide was great, humorous, knowledgeable, and had allowed enough time for taking precious pics. Archeological sites worth the visit once in a lifetime. Be prepared for steamy hot conditions. Sunscreen, sunglasses, hats/umbrellas, water bottles all needed. Lunch included but water/juices are all carbonated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Would do again. Get the guided option. Our English speaking guide was knowledgeable and personable. Patricia our tour escort was punctual, precise and professional. She was always smiling on a very hot day. If you want a positive stress free trip to Pompeii from Rome this is it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour with great guides, we had Alessandre and Geo and an amazing driver called Antonio. The local guides at Pompeii were also fantastic. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guides! Only complaint would be the lunch - awful pizza which was very disappointing! But i wasn't on the tour for the pizza, so really a minor issue! Guide at Pompeii was also excellent!! :

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Magical day in Tuscany with Monica @ City Wonders as our Guide. This tour is definitely worth it!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Tour guides Roberto and Amanda were excellent and funny. Both very knowledgeable in different areas relating to Italy and Pompeii specifically. Is a very long day 13 hours but the bus ride is very comfortable and allows for rest to and from Pompeii. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An early start but it was definitely worth it! It was scorching hot but our affable knowledgeable guide at Pompeii whilst showing and telling us about key sites was very considerate and he tried to keep us in the shade when possible. Pompeii was fabulous - to see well preserved buildings and objects on such a scale in context not in a museum. Our guide brought it to life. You could spend all day there! After our visit to Pompeii we had a tasty pizza lunch nearby. We then were taken nearly all the way up Vesuvius and had 1.5 hours free time - to walk to the crater and enjoy the views. The walk to the first viewing point shop where you can buy drinks, ices as well as souvenirs is the longer stretch to the crater loose pumice and dusty on a fairly steep path - good exercise but strenuous in the heat so make sure you have water at the start. Don't worry about getting to the 3rd the last viewing point on the rim of the crater as you can enjoy the same views from the 2nd viewing point on the rim also has a shop.We thoroughly enjoyed our day out. Highly recommend this well-planned tour.Our guides on the coach and for Vesuvius, Anna and Amanda were very knowledgeable, humorous and kept a steady flow of info on sites as we passed as well as passing on snippets about living in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip with wonderful tour guides. Highly enjoyable day trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this is a must ! well worth the early start and the two guides we had and the driver were excellent.. so was the lunch in Pompeii. The climb up Mount Vesuvius was well worth the effort in the heat! Would love to do it again - full marks for this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our day trip to Pompeii included a trip up Mt Vesuvius. The view from the top was fantastic. Pompeii is amazing and well worth the long day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

De tour naar pompeii en vesuvius was echt geweldig. Leuke reisgidsenJulia, Luca en een goede chauffeur Massimo. Echt een aanrader!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip to Tuscany and some of the small towns. The meal was amazing, tour guide was great. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our favorite part of our trip! Our guides, Robert and Guilio, were funny and knowledgeable, and our on-site guide in Pompeii Willy? was great also. The food for lunch was served at a catering hall, it wasn't bad but I wish we were able to eat at a real restaurant to get a little bit more authentic meal. The bus was comfortable, I would definitely do this again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved our trip to Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guides were informative and fun. The walk up Vesuvius was steep, dusty and extremely hot, but worth it! Pompeii is a fascinating and remarkable historic site. You could spend hours and hours exploring.Wow! I'd recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message