The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1958 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An excellent tour of the highlights of Hadrian's Villa, and an extensive tour of the Villa D'Este in Tivoli. We had enough time to see it all. The tour guide was both extremely nice and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A lovely way to see some highlights of Tuscany in one day. The towns we stopped at were lovely. The lunch was delicious and the wines we tasted were wonderful. Getting to see the Abbey was probably something people wouldn't do on their own and it was beautiful. Monica, our tour guide, was amazing!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was very informative, the tour guides had lots of fun information for the coach journey and was lovely to listen about lots of other places as well as Rome and Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip, with knowledgeable and helpful Georgio. While day trip with picnic could be even better, in summer heat the half day leaving at 8 am was a great compromise to see the main sights of Ostia but still have a reason to go back.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour with the opportunity to look into the crater of Mt. Vesuvius. The tour guide at Pompeii was both knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Marco our driver was fantastic! He was very friendly and knowledgeable. Roberto's trip through Pompeii was very enjoyable. The lemon ice was to die for. The Italian coastline was so beautiful we already want to return.

Doing what: Best Private Tour: Pompeii, Sorrento and Positano Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Antonella was a very good guide along with her partner forget the name currently They gave us a nice account of history along the bus route with much information about the areas we drove through. They helped us out with restaurant choices in Rome. They even talked to us about Venice and Florence. They were very good with English. The actual tour through Pompeii was incredible. The insite into the development of the city of Pompeii, the recount of the eruption, the relics shown were all amazing. The tour was the highlight of our Rome vacation. We made the trek from the bus stop to the top of Vesuvius. It was a good view of the Volcano no lava or steam and vista of Naples though cloudy. This trip is well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good and spectacular experience.The entire organization was excellent and extremely reliable .We are Portuguese a couple and two children of 11 and 16 years and we were in a group with large numbers of Australians and Americans, all friendly .A Special word for the guides : in Pompeii , Al Alfredo very good and knowledgeable of their culture. On the bus , Antonella and Andrew excellent , always available for any information and always concerned about the well being of all visitors. So fo rthis two Antonella and Andrew our special thank you.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The bus was comfortable, and the tour guide and driver were both friendly and thorough. Pompeii is a bit overwhelming to tour on your own in a half day, but they give you enough guidance to make the trip worth your while. I highly recommend this for people who are comfortable traveling independently and who don't mind not seeing all of Pompeii during their trip. Take a book with you it's a long enough drive!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent day trip by bus from Rome to Pompeii, including a vigorous hike up to the crater of Mt Vesuvius. Our guide spoke perfect English and shared many stories and much information on trip both to and from Pompeii. She was also personally very helpful providing me with train information and protocol for our next day's journey. The guide who showed us around Pompeii was excellent, pointing out many interesting facts that we would have missed had we toured on our own. One could spend days exploring Pompeii, but he made the visit both efficient and thorough.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

poitras
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great day out on this tour. Our tour guide Robert was infectious with his enthusiasm about the area we were visiting. He has a real gift of teaching us everything from political history to culinary, religious, geological and anything else you can think of. Not boring in the least... Thanks Robert..so glad we took this tour and not a train trip to Pompeii instead!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great day. The guides had the day perfectly organized. They were easy to understand and very knowledgeable. They gave us time to be quiet on the bus and rest. We stopped halfway about 1.5 hours into the drive at Casino for a snack and potty break both coming and going back to Rome. We were happy to be able to leave a bag with extra shoes on the bus instead of having to carry everything all day. Lunch was good but we were happy the restaurant let my husband chose spaghetti instead of pizza. They actually seemed happy about that as their ovens must have been overwhelmed with pizzas. I think that should be offered-three choices: two kinds of pizza or spaghetti. We liked the salads too. The climb to Mount Vesuvius was not too bad even in the heat with the breeze off the water. The guides were right that you need about 30 minutes to get down the Mount too. It's slippery on loose gravel coming down so you have to be slow and steady about it. Pompeii was wonderful. They have a local guide who takes you through Pompeii and the other guide stays along as well. It was very interesting and full of many facts. We went to five cities in three countries and this was definitely one of our favorite days. Definitely worth the bus ride. We wished the bus had wifi as our bus did on a day trip in London.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour!!! Our two tour guides were Julio and Marco. They were both hilarious, helpful, and extremely knowledgeable. Julio even knew 6 languages! Perfect guys to run the tour. When we got to Pompeii, we were handed off to a local guide to take us through the ruins. He was also funny and knowledgeable. Lunch was actually really good! The tour says you get a pizza lunch, but you also get a nice salad and some wine or drink of your choice with it in a nice banquet area. We almost didn't get to go up the Vesuvius because of the weather, but luckily it cleared up and we did which was awesome!! Props to the bus driver and tour guides for getting us up the side on that small windy road. I highly recommend this tour especially if it's run by the same tour guides all the time!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband had a amazing day with you tour company an our guide Monika was very informative so help full an couldn't do enough for us. It was always our dream to visit Tuscany an we weren't disappointed Thanyou Bob an Carolyn Australia

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Five stars for the Tour Guide Becks, travel arrangements and chosen attractions. Definitely gave me a flavour of Tuscany.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guide but remember to be there on time! We almost missed it!! The climb of Mt Vesuvius was fabulous and we had enough time for pictures, climbing, admiring the views, ice cream at the end, etc. We did the Mountain first which was perfect as Pompeii itself was more tiring than the climb and would have been difficult if it was reversed. The bus driver was super safe and the tour around Pompeii was detailed but not unbearably long. You had time for toilets throughout and we got to see the main sights. Hint: in certain seasons you may only go to the ruins instead of the ruins and museum in which case the ruins posess 3 ash bodies things whereas the Museum is the main place to see it. The 3 bodies were enough for us though! It was fabulous with great value for money and I would HIGHLY recommend it! A must do!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tiring! Be prepared for a lot of walking but rewards at the end are priceless.

Thanks to Amanda for all the tips of the foreigners rome! Great guides in Pompeii too!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really excellent trip.
The tour guide was excellent and very professional. The whole trip was extremely well organised from start to finish. The guide at Pompeii was excellent , the best yet so enthusiastic with humour!
Well worth every euro!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had the most wonderful day. Our tour guide Ernedo spelling? was wonderful. The bus was very comfortable. We saw the beauty of Tuscany on this trip. I would highly recommend this trip. Although the trip is 12 or so hours it was not too long of a day. We had a great lunch at a beautiful winery. The towns we visited were interesting and beautiful. The scenery was great.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We climbed Mt Vesuvius before going to Pompeii. The climb uphill took more than 20-25 mins as suggested. We were allowed only 1hr 20 mins to climb up and return. Since I'm not very athletic, it took me 35-40mins to reach the 2nd level crater, so I spent only 10 mins for pics and have to descend already. Luckily, the descent was much faster although slippery due to the loose gravel. It pays to rent a stick, though I didn't do so. The Pompeii local guide was great, humorous, knowledgeable, and had allowed enough time for taking precious pics. Archeological sites worth the visit once in a lifetime. Be prepared for steamy hot conditions. Sunscreen, sunglasses, hats/umbrellas, water bottles all needed. Lunch included but water/juices are all carbonated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Would do again. Get the guided option. Our English speaking guide was knowledgeable and personable. Patricia our tour escort was punctual, precise and professional. She was always smiling on a very hot day. If you want a positive stress free trip to Pompeii from Rome this is it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour with great guides, we had Alessandre and Geo and an amazing driver called Antonio. The local guides at Pompeii were also fantastic. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guides! Only complaint would be the lunch - awful pizza which was very disappointing! But i wasn't on the tour for the pizza, so really a minor issue! Guide at Pompeii was also excellent!! :

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Magical day in Tuscany with Monica @ City Wonders as our Guide. This tour is definitely worth it!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Tour guides Roberto and Amanda were excellent and funny. Both very knowledgeable in different areas relating to Italy and Pompeii specifically. Is a very long day 13 hours but the bus ride is very comfortable and allows for rest to and from Pompeii. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message