The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Merrill V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I'll start out with my only negative, the BIG bus! All big bus tours have issues... dirty windows, problems with air-conditioning, etc. Ours was no different and we were on it from early morning to late evening. However, this is one tour that I would still highly recommend even with all those typical BIG bus issues. We had 2 guides, Inga and Rebecca, both were informative and kept us occupied throughout the day. Being away from Rome and the crowded city for the day was lovely. The Tuscany countryside is worth seeing. Lunch was very good for both meat eaters and vegetarians. We made several stops and we never felt rushed. We had time for photo taking and shopping. I definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Andrew M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience - very long day but wonderful insight into the history of the site and the surrounding area. Appropriate amount of narration on the bus, along with the tour by the local guide at Pompeii. It's impossible to see all of Pompeii in one day, but the highlights are definitely covered. The Vesuvius hike gives a beautiful view of the Bay of Naples, although the path has a lot of gravel if that is a concern. Lunch was at a large restaurant/catering hall that definitely caters to tour groups, but the service was efficient and the pizza was very good! Would definitely recommend to someone who wants to take a day tour to somewhere completely different!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Wendelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had ONE day to visit Pompeii and this trip gave me that and more Mt. Vesuvius. Great, friendly, knowledgeable tour guides. I would love to go back and spend more time in Pompeii. But, for a one day tour from Rome, this was terrific.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gareth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip made all the more enjoyable by our three tour guides, Antonella, Rebecca and Bernadette, who were very informative and passionate about there roles.
My wife and my son were In agreement with me that this was probably the best day tour we have been on and I believe that was down to our tour guide hosts.
I must not forget our coach drive Antonio, who was a true professional and coped very well with the hazardous drive up the winding roads up Mount Versuvious, fully deserving of the round of applause he got whilst negotiating a tricky passing of another coach.
Fully recommend this tour if your visiting Rome, make a day out to Pompeii and Mount Versuvious top of your list of things to do.
Thanks again Gareth , Deborah and Mathew Davies family

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

isandweg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Be ready to walk and learn tons of information. We had an amazing tour guide: Sara. She shared information with us with regards to history of the region, history of Pompeii, Naples and of course, the Vesuvius. The bus driver, our personal gladiator - Antonio was admirable: maneuvering the big tour bus in those winding roads. We also had a local guide in Pompeii, very nice and also very knowledgeable. We had free time to take more pictures and explore a bit more within the ruins. In all, this was another great tour by City Wonders

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kyle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What an amazing tour. My wife and I spent 11 days in Europe and we both agree that this was our favorite day. Our guide was Peter and he really took care of us. He gave us all the info we needed on the sites we saw and was very well informed. We especially loved the lunch and wine tasting. We loved the wine so much that we shipped 6 bottles back home to us. After the day in Tuscany, my wife and I were trying to figure out how we could move there. A must-see!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was Peter City Wonders and he did an excellent job of leading the group. There was additional guide provided, who was an expert specifically on Pompeii, and that added to the learning. They both did a wonderful job - no communication barriers, interesting history and anecdotes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Carla B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Totally awesome tour !!! Our tour guides Melanie and Andy were most informative , fun and helpful throughout the day.
Of our 17 day trip - 11 different tours- to Europe, this was one of our top favorites. The 20 min walk to the top of Mt Vesuvius along with the bus ride leading to the walk was breath taking !

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Chris Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guides were fabulous. Trip to the top of Mt Vesuvius was breathtaking need to be fairly fit though. Pompeii was spectacular - things I had read about all cam to life. Wonderful experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Despite the long travel time from Rome to Pompeii on the bus, this was an extraordinary day. Our guide, Robert, was patient, energenic, extremely knowledgable and available for all questions from our group of 25. We had hoped to climb Mt. Vesuvius, but a rainy morning prevented our climb Instead, we visited an outstanding archeological museum We highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Nelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I loved this tour! Tuscany is beautiful even though we got stuck with rain. Our guide Anna was soon nice and sweet. The drive there was beautiful and green. We stopped in Montepulciano first, which was a really nice small town. Then we headed to a Tuscan farm where we tasted several different types of wines and had lunch there. Food was great! Wine was great! Then we headed to another small town where we were able to do some shopping and have home made ice cream. It was a great tour and I Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tuscany lived up to all my expectations. This was helped by Lindy our tour guide - great! However, the star was Antonio the driver,who kept us safe on some precarious corners, twists and turns.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

theaterlover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous overview of Tuscany, great knowledgeable tour guide Peter. The wine tour great the lunch not so great. It'll definitely give,you a good overview,of where you'll want to come back and see more,of.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

marcjusten

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guides Roberto and Luca were brilliant! Very informative, enthusiastic, so willing to share their wealth of knowledge on the history and trivia of Roma, Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius and everything we passed in between. They were also attentive to everyone's needs and comfort during the day.
The tour guide at Pompeii was also very informative, willing to answer any question, and keen to engage and interact with us tourists . The only criticism would be that it would have been nice to have had more free time after the guided tour at Pompeii. Half an hour is just not enough! I'd suggest 1.5hrs would have been great! But this is already a 13hr return tour from Roma, so it is hard to fit it all in!
The provided lunch was excellent, included your first drink beer, wine, soft drink, or water.
The walk to the Mt Vesuvius crater was terrific and very worthwhile. The outstanding views are not to be missed, so please do push through the steep climb, just wear suitable foot wear for the loose gravel surface. The time provided on Mt Vesuvius was of an appropriate duration. We had a broad range of ages teens to retirees and physical fitness in this tour group, and everyone made it to the top.
The tour coach / bus was comfortable and modern. The coach comfort stops were at a nice hotel and were of appropriate duration - not too long or short.
Overall, a five star tour! Highly recommended! The efforts of the tour guides Roberto and Luca certainly had a large part in it's success! I suggest requesting them by name!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

circle2us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a long day, but our two guides Andy and Melanie kept us entertained and informed. They even came through the bus on the way home to help each family with restaurants and taxis, and answering questions any questions about Rome. Pompeii tour was comprehensive and thorough. The climb to the top of Mount Vesuvius was icing on the cake. Walking Pompeii was not easy - lots of uneven walkways to negotiate and a certain level of fitness was necessary for both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Pompeii had huge crowds which detracted from the experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lynda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Don't miss this trip!
We were apprehensive as a long journey but it flew by with great stories from our guide Anna
Pompeii is a truly amazing site, much bigger than we imagined and our local guide made sure we got the best out of our visit

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sophia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was totally worth it. You really miss the details of what you're looking at in Pompeii if it's not pointed out to you by the local guide. There's no English plaques to read. I booked the tour for Pompeii but the highlight of the trip was the hike up Mt. Vesuvius. It might be a bit challenging but we took it slow and steady and it was well worth the view and sense of accomplishment. It should be noted that the hard part of the hike is at the beginning and gets easier as you ascend.

Sara and Dmitry were very warm, friendly, and knowledgable guides. Dmitry talking about WWII in Italy was fascinating. Sara told a great story about Vesuvius' cable cars. You HAVE to try the fresh-squeezed orange juice at the pit-stop, no exaggeration, the best juice I've ever had in my life.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had the best day with my guide Melanie. Loads of interesting insights into the region of italy as well as both pompeii and mt Vesuvius. Highly recommend going on this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sophie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip was really well organised and well paced. Our guides Peter and Enzo were very entertaining and informative. They brought pompeii to life! The trip was fascinating and well worth doing. I would recommend it to anyone. The lunch venue was very good too.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organized tour. Guides were interesting and informative. It is a great way to see some amazing things all in a day trip from Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

annie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great trip to Tuscany with our guide Anna and trainee Barbara Symie Lovely country side and places of interest and a beautiful lunch and wine tasting thank you

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Debbie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely awesome! Janvar was a fantastic guide and Andy and Melanie were also excellent guides, very knowledgeable about Rome and Pompeii and their tips on restaurants and coffee bars was fantastic. Janvar was extremely passionate about Pompeii and gave us details that any average person would not spot. Even down to the ratings of the red light district. Very humbling! Mount Vesuvius was equally spectacular. Lunch was provided at a local pizza restaurant and this was very tasty and freshly made.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sujan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fantastic! What made this tour amazing was our guide Sara. She's the best guide ever. She kept us enetrtained with stories and taught us about the culture on our way there. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was great along with seeing the ruins of Pompeii. The lunch we had was fantastic! Again, what made this trip great was our guide Sara!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day trip - well worth the money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Andy, Melanie Aussies both and our driver Antonio aka the 'TONY Stewart' of bus drivers delivered an AWESOME non-stop tour of the history and archaeology of Pompeii and the geology of Mt. Vesuvius. The team took a personal interest in their 'family' of tourists, so that by the end of the long tour they knew everyone on a first name basis. Even during the several hours of 'dead' time to and from Rome and the sites, they continued to provide exclusive insights about traveling about Rome and its environs. A good example of their personal engagement and commitment was their efforts to prod everyone to the top of Vesuvius under specially harsh weather conditions that day. They provided the BEST touring experience of my many years traveling with VIATOR.--Jim

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message