The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1274 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was outstanding! Luca and Elena were excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire trip was outstanding.
The guides were very pleasant, and informative.
The added guides at the museum and Pompeii were great.

If you want a great experience book this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day overall for our family. We had spent 5 days in the city of Rome and it was enjoyable to get out of the city and see the Tuscany countryside a bit. The winery lunch and wine tasting was really fun! We wish we could have had a little more time to shop and explore in the smaller towns, but also understood the time constraints. The bus ride was comfortable and our tour guide very good!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip to Pompeii was very engaging and interesting. I felt a little smarter after listening to the tour guides talk on the busride about different things around us. On another trip to Italy I will take their advice to take a train to Cassino and go up the mountain to the monestary. The Museum in Naples was small, but very interesting to see. I would consider doing this tour again because later in March the tour includes a hike on Mount Vesuvius. I like how we stopped every 1.5 hours so people could stretch their legs and use the bathroom. Also, the pizza lunch was at a nice restaurant near Pompeii. The tour guide for Pompeii was very knowledgable and showed the group the key areas in Pompeii. She also allowed people to take pictures and wander around on their own at times. There were a few children on the tour and all the tour guides were smart to warn the parents about certain parts in case some subject material at the museum or at Pompeii would be offensive to the children.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. Had a great driver Claudio who took us from hotel in Rome to Pompeii and back. Guide was fabulous and passionate about Pompeii. 2 hour private tour probably not long enough so after it concluded we skipped the return stop off lunch and stayed for 2 more hours walking by ourselves.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing experience, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing ancient ruins! I was travelling alone for this trip.

Stephanie and Melanie were my tour guides, and they were able to keep us all entertained for the 3 hour trip to Pompeii and the 3 hour trip back to Rome. Don't worry though, they do split the journey in half, so you get a break every 1hr and 30min! Stephanie and Melanie gave interesting facts about Rome, Naples, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, so there was never a dull moment inside the bus.

Because I booked during winter, Mt Vesuvius was closed. You do however get to visit the Archeological Museum of Naples, and they have a large collection of artefacts from the Pompeii excavation. It was a great museum, albeit confusing in its layout. Be warned, nothing is translated into English! But the artefacts themselves are pretty self-explanatory. Some of the more interesting parts of the exhibition were closed due to it being a Sunday (the Secret Chamber, and some of the more well known frescoes), but it was still an enjoyable time. You do get to wonder on your own in the museum, so you can take your time looking at various things.

Lunch is a traditional Naples pizza, which is absolutely delicious. You also get a complimentary beverage and salad to go with your meal.

The tour of Pompeii was fantastic as well. You get shown around the most interesting and well preserved parts of the city by a local and knowledgeable tour guide (I think to explore the whole city yourself would require a whole day). You also get to see some of the plaster casts of victims of the eruption of Mt Vesuvius, the most memorable being the one of the dog.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! It was very well organised and the tour guides were especially accommodating and understanding! Thank you very much Stephanie and Melanie for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An interesting and amazing trip. definitely worth the price. excellent local tour guide in Pompeii which brought the story alive. A great tour guide for the whole trip was Roberto who was in charge of us all day long. Amazing his knowledge and all. Roberto continue this way. wakee wakee, wake u up ;-)))

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My family greatly enjoyed this tour which we took on 24 Nov. Initially I thought it would be quite rushed since we need to cover two towns in one day trip but it turned out to be fine - we had enough time in both Orvieto and Assisi for taking in the sights and for prayers. We also had a delicious and leisurely lunch at a restaurant set within a holiday resort. Mara was our guide and she is simply fantastic - very enthusiastic, very friendly and very knowledgeable. We had Begonia as our guide in Assisi and she too was very good. We would not know many of the interesting facts and history of these places if not for Mara and Begonia. The trip overran a little longer as we took more time for prayers but Mara was very patient and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

arvo
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Had a great day trip with a very entertaining guide

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide Luca was incredible, and you could tell how much he knew and loved this history of Rome and surrounding areas. He spoke very clearly and kept us highly entertained with facts as we made our way to and through Pompeii. We also liked that City Wonders had our best interests at heart - even down to keeping us hydrated! When we got to lunch, the first drink was free and we were recommended to not order a second drink and just buy a bottle of water off the bus for a cheap 1 euro only, since the drinks in the restaurant were way more expensive! The tour of Pompeii was incredible, we would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Massimo our guide was fantastic. Pompeii was fantastic! In one word FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour climb was excellent, Pompeii awesome and lunch great, this tour is a real highlight...

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting day trip. My three kids loved the Naples Museum and walk around Pompeii. We took great pics to share on FB. Our tour guides, Stephanie and Sara, were well-informed and made the long day very enjoyable. Next time we are in Italy we will stay stay longer in Pompeii. Lunch was great.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Lindsey was great a real nice day trip when your in Italy

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Everything went as planned, and they had great information about Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message