The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Massimo our guide was fantastic. Pompeii was fantastic! In one word FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour climb was excellent, Pompeii awesome and lunch great, this tour is a real highlight...

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting day trip. My three kids loved the Naples Museum and walk around Pompeii. We took great pics to share on FB. Our tour guides, Stephanie and Sara, were well-informed and made the long day very enjoyable. Next time we are in Italy we will stay stay longer in Pompeii. Lunch was great.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Lindsey was great a real nice day trip when your in Italy

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Everything went as planned, and they had great information about Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out!
Wonderful guides full of good cheer and useful information.
We made it to the top of Vesuv and saw the breathtaking view of the bay and Naples.
Pompeii was just as good as expected, with an interesting and engaging guide!
oh - and lunch was lovely :-)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour made for a very, very long day. I was sick, but I still enjoyed it. I wish I wasn't sick though, because this would have been one of the best tours I had been on! It was just non-stop amazing-ness. We even stopped along the way for a little limoncello and chocolate. The pizza was aaaamazing, and they give you a WHOLE pizza just for yourself! Many people didn't even finish. The climb up the volcano was a little hard, only because it was kind of steep, but worth it in the end. Pompeii itself was so neat, but I wish we had time to wander around the city by ourselves. It seemed like everyone was in a group tour though. Anyways, it was a very rewarding and interesting tour. Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Marco was the best tour driver ever! He was waiting for us with a super comfortable Mercedes van and made us feel like VIP tourists. We'd been in Rome for two days already, but he brought our experience together with interesting and engaging commentary about all the sights we passed as we drove through the city. His knowledge was much more than surface deep, and we learned so much. The six hour round trip car drive could have been uncomfortable, unpleasant, and dead-time, but we enjoyed it the whole time. We'd considered doing a group tour or taking a cab to Termini and then two trains to Pompeii, but that seemed so public and busy and full of potential snafus. We think that we got great value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide for the day (Sarah) was excellent. She made the the bus ride to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii go much quicker, giving us a lot of interesting information and facts along the way. The man who took us on the actual tour of Pompeii itself was also very knowledgeable and made it very enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely fantastic trip! We travelled with our two boys (aged 8 and 11 years) and were a little worried about how they would find it. They both LOVED it, especially climbing Vesuvius. Pompeii was fascinating and the pizza delicious! Like all the other reviews would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well done! Tour guide Gio was super knowledgeable and was easy to understand. She answered all of our questions and then some. We had a wonderful day in Tuscany. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guides were very knowledgeable and personable. They shared history facts along the way to Pompeii and in regards to the museum and how it came to be. They also presented information on the re-discovery, excavation, and of the extent of the volcano eruption - current land we were traveling where once was the bay, etc. Original tour had mentioned that we may be taken up Mt. Vesuvius to hike to the top. That was not mentioned during tour. I did not ask about it. And in all fairness the top of Mt. Vesuvius was cloud covered and there were rain sprinkles occasionally - so that may have been the reason. Loved the whole experience including the history class explaining the existing portions of the Appian Way.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were so lucky to have beautiful weather for our trip. Our guide Maximus was great!!! He was so nice, friendly, funny, and gave us lots of history. We were so happy we booked this trip and would recommend it to anyone thinking of seeing Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Overall it was a great tour! We were very lucky to escape the rain in Rome by having Pete as our tour guide and Stefania show us around in Montepulciano - which was a lovely city! I agree with some of the reviews regarding wanting more time in Montepulciano, and the walking required to see this city. The lunch was amazingly delicious with plenty of wine to taste. Pete was also great and explained a lot of the history behind everything. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the fine wine that Tuscany has to offer!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message