The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1901 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized trip leaving from Piazza del Popolo, full day trip on air conditioned bus. Tour guide at Pompeii was very colorful, informative and funny. Lunch at pizzeria outside Naples was good for margarita pizza. The visit to Mount Vesuvius offered some incredible views of the Bay of Naples. The hike up the trail to the summit takes a good 25 minutes on a dusty trail with gravel and is steep in parts, comfortable shoes a must.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Luigi was an incredible guide! He tailored the trip on the fly and found a way for our 9 and 11 year old to swim. Lunch was an authentic Italian meal with a beautiful view of the coast. He kept in contact with our Pompeii guide and made our entire experience seamless and one we will remember forever

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii, Sorrento and Positano Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The BEST way to see Italy in a time crunch. You can enjoy the Italian countryside at 300km/hr on the high speed train, then arrive to a guided tour of Pompeii. A leisurely lunch and visit in Sorrento, then back to Rome by dinner.

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

Ruth
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely day visiting Hadrian's Villa and Tivoli Gardens. Our tour guide was lovely and very informative. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic trip! We had two guides, both who spoke very clear English. They told us so many interesting things we would have never known. Pompeii was very impressive. The bus was very clean and comfortable. All around five stars.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely fantastic if tiring day. Our guides Julio, Luca and driver Antonio were exceptional. Friendly, knowledgeable, informative and great fun. Mount Vesuvius was amazing as was Pompeii. So glad we were provided with a guide around the city or we would have missed so much wandering on our own. A really well planned trip. Thoroughly enjoyed and recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was such a cool thing to see. My brother and I are traveling together on a gap year, and we had a great time and learned so much! Our tour guide Alexandra was very informative, and even asked every person on the bus individually if they had an questions as we were driving back to the city. You can tell she really loves what she does. In Pompeii Bernadette was our guide and she was great! Very informative and great sense of humor! I would definitely recommend this trip to others and I loved the tour guides!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii Day Trip was a great tour. It takes a full day but is definitely worth your time. The tour guides were exceptional as was the bus trip and accommodations. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic but challenging climb to the top of Vesivius and wonderful tour of Pompeii. Extremely friendly and well organised trip of a lifetime!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and the volcano and not have to worry about transportation. We were staying in Rome and wanted an easy/relaxed way to get down to Pompeii. A bus tour was great. Climbing to the top of Vesuvius was a plus! It is bit more of a hike than I expected. Kind of steep, but totally doable. Loved the views.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our party of 9 had a wonderful time on this day trip. The transportation was easy to find and first class. The tour guide was excellent - well informed and very friendly. The sights were magnificient. We dined at a fabulous restaurant in Tuscany. We couldn't believe how much we saw in one day! We would definitely recommended this company and this day trip!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We liked everything about this day trip. The company seemed very well organized and the staff very friendly.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour that was guided by Gio and Antonella was one of the most amazing experiences of my holiday. Gio was full of knowledge regarding history, politics and local facts while being exceptionally personable and friendly. Anton Ella was with the other group however the same praises above are also for her. She was very kind and engaging tour guide. Silva is a very talented driver, the roads and other drivers were exceptionally dangerous however I felt complete confidence in her hands during the entire day. Arriving at pompeii I immediately judged Roberto to be the best tour guide and that we were exceptionally lucky to have him. He made the experience expectionaly entertaining and made the history very engaging for everyone in the tour, he also made the information he presented relatable to modern life. Amazing people skills. This tour ran like clockwork and I enjoyed every minute. I will be recommending this company to all with particular reference to Gio, Anton Ella, Silva and Robert.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour with a very entertaining and knowledgeable guide. Just the right pace for the less mobile to be able to keep up, without holding up the younger element. Visiting the Villa Adriana first allowed us to see the progression from one era to another. Highly informative without being too intense.
Would have been nice to have just a little longer in Tivoli but it made the perfect wind down at the end of a busy week sightseeing.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Not only were the tour guides really friendly but I was travelling alone and made some great friends on the tour that day. They are the only tour that only goes to Pompeii from Rome, and they really let you make the most of the time you have to explore Pompeii. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Pompeii tour was amazing!! Definitely worth doing. If you are a Pompeii lover you should consider staying over night there so you can do a longer tour of Pompeii because there is so much to see. Otherwise the day trip from Rome covered a lot! The ride down had beautiful scenic views and our tour guide was so energetic and taught us about the history along the way they also let us nap considering you leave so early. The halfway point you stop at on the way there and back gets a lot of visits from buses so if you have to use the restroom go first because you may not have time if you buy food first so you may want to bring a little snack for the ride. I thought the souvenirs were better outside of Pompeii then at Mount Vesuvius if you're looking to buy anything. After Pompeii we had a fabulous lunch and then headed to Vesuvius. The hike wasn't as long as I expected but was still a good exercise which you will need after eating a whole pizza pie yourself! because the grade was so steep. Definitely a trip you need to wear good shoes on. There is basically no bathroom at Mount Vesuvius so keep that in mind when you are leaving lunch at the restaurant. On the way back our tour guide also went around and helped people book more tours in Rome that they still had open and gave you a discount too which was awesome. Overall a great experience!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Trip to Pompeii was Great and a Must See! Our 2 tour guides Julia and Silia were Fantastic very informative not only about our trip to Pompeii but about everything else in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fabulous trip! Our tour guide Stephanie was wonderfully knowledgeable, funny and welcoming. She did a great job organizing our very large group and all of the history and facts she has to offer is amazing!. We enjoyed walking through the steep, hilly streets of a couple Tuscan towns and learning about the history and culture of Tuscany. A very special treat was getting to hear the monks chant. We had a fantastic time at the wine pairing and the food was delicious for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. I would recommend for people who appreciate food, wine, culture, history and active fun!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family of 4 youngest: age 11 loved this trip. The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and the kids especially loved the climb on Mt. Vesuvius. Our guides were knowledgeable and friendly. We all learned a lot of the history of the entire region. Our guides were Gio and Robert on the bus -- the Vicenzo enzo in Pompeii -- all get 5's! The bus driver, Antonio, was very safe - even on the twisty and narrow Mt. Vesuvius roads.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii is a beauitful city and this tour was definitely worth it. The volcano was a terrific site and would highly recommend it, however the hike is rather difficult so be prepared!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful places to visit! Excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable of the history. The day was super hot and humid, but overall a very good trip into Tivoli!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Extremely well organised tour. Great communication when booking. Our family of 6 had an amazing experience hiking up Mt Vesuvius, loved the pizza in Naples and enjoyed the experience of Pompeii.
The guides were informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip! Stephanie was very personable and knew her tour. Julia and Romel the driver were fabulous too!! The tour was very educational for our family...Pompeii was awesome as was the hike up Vesuvius.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day with 4 hours to visit Pompeii which was plenty of time. The host and bus driver were polite and provided us with information as necessary. It was nice to not have to worry about making our way there and back on public transport, and the bus was nice and air conditioned.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Meet the tour guide exactly where they told us to meet. The trip was very enjoyable. Enjoyed the walk to Mt. Vesuvius! It was great! Also enjoyed Pompeii, so glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message