The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1264 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An interesting and amazing trip. definitely worth the price. excellent local tour guide in Pompeii which brought the story alive. A great tour guide for the whole trip was Roberto who was in charge of us all day long. Amazing his knowledge and all. Roberto continue this way. wakee wakee, wake u up ;-)))

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We needed a break after walking Rome for 2 days so Pompeii was it. The drive down was informative and the stop was welcomed. The museum was so neat I wish we could of spent more time there. Finally lunch and then Pompeii what a really cool experience, the tour guide was great I don't remember his name but he really knew his stuff. Because it was the holidays it wasn't as busy as usual which worked well for photos. The drive back was quiet as everyone was tired. The girls that did the tour on the bus were fun and nice and very good at their job.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My family greatly enjoyed this tour which we took on 24 Nov. Initially I thought it would be quite rushed since we need to cover two towns in one day trip but it turned out to be fine - we had enough time in both Orvieto and Assisi for taking in the sights and for prayers. We also had a delicious and leisurely lunch at a restaurant set within a holiday resort. Mara was our guide and she is simply fantastic - very enthusiastic, very friendly and very knowledgeable. We had Begonia as our guide in Assisi and she too was very good. We would not know many of the interesting facts and history of these places if not for Mara and Begonia. The trip overran a little longer as we took more time for prayers but Mara was very patient and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

arvo
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Had a great day trip with a very entertaining guide

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide Luca was incredible, and you could tell how much he knew and loved this history of Rome and surrounding areas. He spoke very clearly and kept us highly entertained with facts as we made our way to and through Pompeii. We also liked that City Wonders had our best interests at heart - even down to keeping us hydrated! When we got to lunch, the first drink was free and we were recommended to not order a second drink and just buy a bottle of water off the bus for a cheap 1 euro only, since the drinks in the restaurant were way more expensive! The tour of Pompeii was incredible, we would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Massimo our guide was fantastic. Pompeii was fantastic! In one word FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour climb was excellent, Pompeii awesome and lunch great, this tour is a real highlight...

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting day trip. My three kids loved the Naples Museum and walk around Pompeii. We took great pics to share on FB. Our tour guides, Stephanie and Sara, were well-informed and made the long day very enjoyable. Next time we are in Italy we will stay stay longer in Pompeii. Lunch was great.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Lindsey was great a real nice day trip when your in Italy

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Everything went as planned, and they had great information about Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out!
Wonderful guides full of good cheer and useful information.
We made it to the top of Vesuv and saw the breathtaking view of the bay and Naples.
Pompeii was just as good as expected, with an interesting and engaging guide!
oh - and lunch was lovely :-)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour made for a very, very long day. I was sick, but I still enjoyed it. I wish I wasn't sick though, because this would have been one of the best tours I had been on! It was just non-stop amazing-ness. We even stopped along the way for a little limoncello and chocolate. The pizza was aaaamazing, and they give you a WHOLE pizza just for yourself! Many people didn't even finish. The climb up the volcano was a little hard, only because it was kind of steep, but worth it in the end. Pompeii itself was so neat, but I wish we had time to wander around the city by ourselves. It seemed like everyone was in a group tour though. Anyways, it was a very rewarding and interesting tour. Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Marco was the best tour driver ever! He was waiting for us with a super comfortable Mercedes van and made us feel like VIP tourists. We'd been in Rome for two days already, but he brought our experience together with interesting and engaging commentary about all the sights we passed as we drove through the city. His knowledge was much more than surface deep, and we learned so much. The six hour round trip car drive could have been uncomfortable, unpleasant, and dead-time, but we enjoyed it the whole time. We'd considered doing a group tour or taking a cab to Termini and then two trains to Pompeii, but that seemed so public and busy and full of potential snafus. We think that we got great value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide for the day (Sarah) was excellent. She made the the bus ride to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii go much quicker, giving us a lot of interesting information and facts along the way. The man who took us on the actual tour of Pompeii itself was also very knowledgeable and made it very enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message