The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1914 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really excellent tour. Alfreddo our guide was really nice, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. We were in a small group and taken in an air conditioned coach, this was really handy as it was about 32-25 C in Rome. He gave an excellent commentary. Hadrian's villa was amazing. Nothing prepares you for the shear scale of the place. The town of Tivoli was quiet and the people were nice. Had some excellent pizza at the restaurant in front of Villa D'este. The Villa was amazing, so many fountains and water features. The gardens and architecture were amazing. Alfreddo was really informative and had a great time. A must see.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Veronica F
Honduras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite tour of all we did in Italy! Climbing Mount Vesuvius was a workout but well worth it! The views from there are great - if you don't get a cloudy day as we did - but still climbing the volcano and seeing the crater up close was awesome.

Going into the Pompeii Ruins was also awesome. Our guide there was very cool, knowledgable and fun. He gave us time to look at all the sites and take pictures, while still moving the group along at a good pace. Take this tour on your trip. It is an experience unlike any other!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of our favorite days on our vacation. Julia and Julio were perfect, as well as the bus driver. Energetic, lively, informative...a lot of fun to be around. We took a subway ride a block from our hotel right to the meeting point, and were assigned a guide to follow for the day. Two small groups were put together on each bus, and the ride was comfortable. As promised, we were able to nap if we wanted to on the three-hour drive, with a stop along the way. Mt. Vesuvius was a challenge on such a hot day, but thankfully it was first on the list. But what an experience. And Julia and Julio made sure they had enough water to distribute to anyone several times during the day 1 euro per bottle was very reasonable. Lunch was prepared and ready, again, as promised, with beverage of choice, and we got to sit and talk with some of our travel companions. We weren't rushed, and got to cool down. Then off to Pompeii where a guide, Bernadette, from that site took us around. Very entertaining, and you knew she loved her work! Got back on the bus for return drive and back to original meeting point. Very happy with tour in every aspect. Booked three events through Viator on our trip, and everything went as planned.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Anna and Antonella from City Wonders were excellent guides and provided so much useful information about both the tour and about Rome. The tour was really well run and there were no problems. The tour guide of Pompeii was also excellent and informative and the radio system worked well. We were given adequate time to have lunch, and to get to the top of Vesuvius and back we made it to the 3rd shop at the top! It was a fun day out and was definitely worth it. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lots of fun, our guide Lucca was very professional and charming. It was a great option for a one day trip out of Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic, one of the absolute highlights of my trip!! We departed on time from our meeting point in Rome in a comfortable bus. Our guide, Andy, was FABULOUS and kept us entertained with stories during the 3-hour drive down to Vesuvius and back. On the way down, we stopped at a very nice cafe with clean bathrooms for a bathroom break and optional coffee and croissants RECOMMENDED. Andy pointed out various sights along the way and told us stories of the volcanic eruption, the Appian Way, Spartacus' Revolt, and other stories relating to landmarks that we passed. We then had a very winding drive up most of Mount Vesuvius, followed by a 40 minute hike up Vesuvius to see the crater. Next, a delicious pizza lunch in Naples, after which we drove to Pompeii where an Italian guide took over and gave us a 2-hour walking tour of the remains with intriguing commentary, creating vivid scenes in our minds about how life used to be in 79 A.D. Make sure you see the erotic frescoes. Finally, we hopped back on our bus for the 3-hour drive home, with another rest stop at the same plush cafe. We heard plenty more historical stories on the way back, so all the driving didn't seem burdensome in any way. This tour was the final icing on the cake of my 10 days in Italy, a real treat not to be missed!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out! Our guide, Antonella was fabulous and very knowledgable. The hike up Mount Vesuvius was amazing and the guided tour through Pompeii was outstanding. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely amazing trip, our guide Anna was incredibly knowledgeable and extremely well spoken in many different languages. Our guidein Pompeii, Lucia was equally as knowledgeable about the city and made it an interesting afternoon out.

The trip was planned to the 't' and went off without a hitch minus some aching legs that evening!

I would fully recommend the trip to family and friends.

Thank you for a fantastic day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended - Packed a lot into limited time. Tour guides were excellent Anna and Luca. Our driver Marius did an amazing job of getting us up Mount Vesuvius - narrow, twisty road! Great way of getting to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Fabulous pizza at lunch time. Whole trip worth the money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The entire trip is amazing with Julios and Robert as our guide. They are very knowledgeable, fun and took care of us ensure that every tour member is safe and sound.

Highly recommendable to experience Pompeii and hiking up the volcano. Have to do it once in a lifetime.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great day out - knowledgeable guides with great information about these historic sites - and a well organized trip.

Just note to make sure you bring snacks with you for the morning - its an early start and you see Pompeii before lunch so we were starving

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized trip leaving from Piazza del Popolo, full day trip on air conditioned bus. Tour guide at Pompeii was very colorful, informative and funny. Lunch at pizzeria outside Naples was good for margarita pizza. The visit to Mount Vesuvius offered some incredible views of the Bay of Naples. The hike up the trail to the summit takes a good 25 minutes on a dusty trail with gravel and is steep in parts, comfortable shoes a must.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Luigi was an incredible guide! He tailored the trip on the fly and found a way for our 9 and 11 year old to swim. Lunch was an authentic Italian meal with a beautiful view of the coast. He kept in contact with our Pompeii guide and made our entire experience seamless and one we will remember forever

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii, Sorrento and Positano Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The BEST way to see Italy in a time crunch. You can enjoy the Italian countryside at 300km/hr on the high speed train, then arrive to a guided tour of Pompeii. A leisurely lunch and visit in Sorrento, then back to Rome by dinner.

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

Ruth
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a lovely day visiting Hadrian's Villa and Tivoli Gardens. Our tour guide was lovely and very informative. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic trip! We had two guides, both who spoke very clear English. They told us so many interesting things we would have never known. Pompeii was very impressive. The bus was very clean and comfortable. All around five stars.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely fantastic if tiring day. Our guides Julio, Luca and driver Antonio were exceptional. Friendly, knowledgeable, informative and great fun. Mount Vesuvius was amazing as was Pompeii. So glad we were provided with a guide around the city or we would have missed so much wandering on our own. A really well planned trip. Thoroughly enjoyed and recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was such a cool thing to see. My brother and I are traveling together on a gap year, and we had a great time and learned so much! Our tour guide Alexandra was very informative, and even asked every person on the bus individually if they had an questions as we were driving back to the city. You can tell she really loves what she does. In Pompeii Bernadette was our guide and she was great! Very informative and great sense of humor! I would definitely recommend this trip to others and I loved the tour guides!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii Day Trip was a great tour. It takes a full day but is definitely worth your time. The tour guides were exceptional as was the bus trip and accommodations. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic but challenging climb to the top of Vesivius and wonderful tour of Pompeii. Extremely friendly and well organised trip of a lifetime!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and the volcano and not have to worry about transportation. We were staying in Rome and wanted an easy/relaxed way to get down to Pompeii. A bus tour was great. Climbing to the top of Vesuvius was a plus! It is bit more of a hike than I expected. Kind of steep, but totally doable. Loved the views.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our party of 9 had a wonderful time on this day trip. The transportation was easy to find and first class. The tour guide was excellent - well informed and very friendly. The sights were magnificient. We dined at a fabulous restaurant in Tuscany. We couldn't believe how much we saw in one day! We would definitely recommended this company and this day trip!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We liked everything about this day trip. The company seemed very well organized and the staff very friendly.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour that was guided by Gio and Antonella was one of the most amazing experiences of my holiday. Gio was full of knowledge regarding history, politics and local facts while being exceptionally personable and friendly. Anton Ella was with the other group however the same praises above are also for her. She was very kind and engaging tour guide. Silva is a very talented driver, the roads and other drivers were exceptionally dangerous however I felt complete confidence in her hands during the entire day. Arriving at pompeii I immediately judged Roberto to be the best tour guide and that we were exceptionally lucky to have him. He made the experience expectionaly entertaining and made the history very engaging for everyone in the tour, he also made the information he presented relatable to modern life. Amazing people skills. This tour ran like clockwork and I enjoyed every minute. I will be recommending this company to all with particular reference to Gio, Anton Ella, Silva and Robert.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour with a very entertaining and knowledgeable guide. Just the right pace for the less mobile to be able to keep up, without holding up the younger element. Visiting the Villa Adriana first allowed us to see the progression from one era to another. Highly informative without being too intense.
Would have been nice to have just a little longer in Tivoli but it made the perfect wind down at the end of a busy week sightseeing.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message