The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1311 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was our second Tuscany tour arranged with Viator and, like the first one, it was perfect. Lunch was delightful and our tour guide was very personable and knowledgeable. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is fantastic. The ruins are equal to Pompeii. Our guide was an archaeologist who made the site come alive with his knowledge of the site and of the history of the area. It's a short drive from Rome and not to be missed.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great. Pompeii was amazing. The guides were excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was awesome! I really enjoyed our pizza in Naples and of course the history within Pompeii. Luca and Julia were awesome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was my favorite tour of all! Syriana was out tour guide. She was so knowledgeable and personable. The bus was so comfortable. Lots of fun stops with fun tastings. The two towns we stopped at were awesome. The local tour guides were wonderful. The pace was good. The views undescribeable. These towns are everything you dream Tuscany to be. Lunch at the winery was delicious. It was fun getting to know the other folks on the bus. Best day ever!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful day on this tour. The guide who travelled with us and the local Pompeii guide were both passionate and interesting. Don't visit Pompeii without a knowledgeable guide, as you will miss so much detail. Lunch was delicious - a pizza in Naples - and then the hike up Mt Vesuvius was not to be missed. The hike is relatively steep, but there is no need to go all the way if health issues prevent this. My husband and I are both in our 60s and reached the top ridge in the time allocated. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful day on this tour. The guide who travelled with us and the local Pompeii guide were both passionate and interesting. Don't visit Pompeii without a knowledgeable guide, as you will miss so much detail. Lunch was delicious - a pizza in Naples - and then the hike up Mt Vesuvius was not to be missed. The hike is relatively steep, but there is no need to go all the way if health issues prevent this. My husband and I are both in our 60s and reached the top ridge in the time allocated. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pompeii was definitely interesting and I was amazed at seeing the grooves in the cobblestones from the chariot wheels. Be aware that hiking the route up Mt Vesuvius is strenuous, but worth the climb. We had the same guide from our previous tour of the Catacombs, Erneto. He has so much knowledge!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful trip! Highly recommended!
Our tour guide Luca was very good. The Local guide at Pompeii was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A really wonderful half day tour. It started in the morning which meant we arrived in Ostia before almost anyone else. This makes a pleasant change from overcrowded Pompeii - and Ostia is a smaller more compact version of it really minus the brothel. Highlights include the mosaics and the fast food counter. Our tour guide Georgio ? was knowledgeable and relayed the history to the group with good humour and in a clear voice so everyone understood. Not as famous as Pompeii but more enjoyable.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome can not begin to describe our tour with the best guides ever! we had two groups split onto one bus. with our guides giving us detailed information during the 3 hour bus ride to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius, so the ride didnt seem very long at all. Pompeii was everything I had hoped it would be, with just the right amount of time spent when you factor in the crowds and the heat.The pizza was very welcome and very GOOD!! which you burned off by climbing a active volcano!which I must say was a challenge to climb and not for everyone. It has a very steep grade and soil thats like an open bag of dry concrete.But once you reach the top you know you have accomplished something not very many people in the world have had a chance to do.
I have to give our driver Antonio a giant shout out, he made the drive up and down Mt. Vesuvius in a giant tour bus seem easy... What a ROCK STAR!!! Thank you Roberto, Lukka and Antonio for a WONDERFUL tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you are not going to stay South of Rome and want to see Pompeii and the coastal area near Naples then this is the tour. You start the day at 7AM at the train station and finish at 7:15 PM at the same train station. Because it is a high speed train only 2.5 hours of your day is on the train leaving a full day of touring. Fabian ,our primary guide, and Enrico, our Pompeii guide, were both knowledgable and easy to understand. The restaurant in Sorrento was reasonably priced, had quality food and unbeatable views of the Bay of Naples. Our tour incleded only two couples, but even with a slightly larger group this tour would give more personal attention than any group tour we have been on.

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour... Would definitely recommend it. Train journey saves a lot of time and leaves more time for exploring Pompeii and Sorrento. Photo stops along the way to take pictures of the beautiful coastline was much appreciated as was being escorted to our seats on the train.

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is with a tour company out of Rome. It's great and the tour guides are fun and give you a vast amount of historical information. You get to see Pompeii and have a few minutes leisure time to take pictures. Great guide in Pompeii with a lot of information. The pizza in Naples was really tasty although it did take a little long to serve. The highlight of our trip was climbing Mt. Vesuvius, it's definitely not for the faint of heart but worth it. I do wish they would have given us a little more time to shop for souvenirs. Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely amazing! Worth every cent. Great experience climbing vesuvius. Our guides were amazing! Especially our guide at pompeii. I would do this again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour guides, learnt so much, both on the bus travelling to and from Pompeii and with the guide who took us around Pompeii. Low cloud on the volcano prevented us from seeing into the crater but we still climbed right to the end of the track. Pompeii was amazing! well worth the visit. Excellent pizza lunch too.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great! Robert and Lukka did a great job. I would highly recommend City Wonders Tours especially if you can request Robert and Lukka they were both informative and very entertaining. As far as Pompeii, it was nice, not as preserved and nice as Ostia Antica but very nice.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was AMAZING! The lunch was spectacular and our guide was an expert. The towns are so quaint and the people are very friendly. Would definitely recommend this tour for anyone traveling to Tuscany.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guides were great and made the day very enjoyable despite it being very wet. The tour was very well organised, lunch was simple but tasty. The guide who showed us through Pompeii was also excellent. It was a really enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and I had the most memorable 35th wedding anniversary celebration in Rome! The Tuscany trip was the highlight and we enjoyed every minute of it. First of all, our tour guide from Rome, Ettore, did a wonderful job. He was fun, very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about the places we went to. He specially spoke about wine with passion! Livia, our tour guide within the town of Montepulciano was also wonderful. She knew a lot about art and history and described the great works of art in the church and other places we went to. Tuscany is such a beautiful place! The views were breathtaking. I took so many pictures. Our tour group was fun. We had a great time at lunch. Lunch and wine was very good. I want to go back there some day. We still have so many places we have not been to and we will definitely check out Viator again for our booking. I like being able to book in our own currency and the system is efficient and hassle free. I give 5 stars to the tour, the tour guides and Viator.com.! Ciao!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful opportunity to take high speed rail from Rome to Napoli. It is about 1 hr away to get to Napoli from the Rome Termini station with comfort. The small group tour was great at the Pompeii with independent English speaking guide. Driving to Sorrento with ocean view was memorable and the affordable pasta lunchout of pocket at an oncean view restaurant and free limoncello tasting was amazing. Free time at Sorrento allows to stroll the small town and to do a window shopping or to pick up a small souvenier. Note: There is guide before the rail to give you the rail tickets, and there will be a guide waiting for you at Napoli station, however, not while you are taking the rail to Napoli. So if traveling alone, do not fall asleep in the rail.

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guides Monica and Luca were excellent kept us informed right throughout the day and made sure everyone kept to time during the journey, at Pompeii we were met my a local guide Enzo who was very good as well. Make sure you have decent shoes as the hike up the mountain is on loose gravel. The views of the crater and the surrounding cities are amazing at the top...

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such a fun day out for us! Pompeii and Vesuvius were absolutely outstanding and our guides (Anna and Siliana) were great, they knew so much local history and landmarks and would point out interesting things for us on the way to and from pompeii on the bus but still gave us time to snooze.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our experience on the tour was a good one. We had a little difficulty understanding the tour guide once we were at Pompeii, but other than that, it was a great experience. The coach driver showed a lot of expertise driving up Mt Vesuvius and the tour guides on the bus were knowledgible. The tour guide lady was very kind and showed a lot of enthusiasm and assistance to all tourists.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the local Pompeii guide Vincent was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message