The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1286 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic. Our tour guides, both on the trip and in Pompeii, were very knowledgeable and interesting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Guides were great, tour was great. Only thing I would have changed is more time in Pompeii. Loved it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What a great tour. Our guide was Roberto and he was upbeat, funny and energetic from 7:30am on. He was very knowledgeable about Vesuvius and Pompeii and shared his knowledge on the drive down. He made sure everyone was accounted for so we never had to worry about being left behind. Roberto's sharing of facts about Vesuvius and folklore about the area added to the entire experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was fantastic! Syriana was the best guide- she is very knowledgeable, friendly and funny! The tour guide at Pompeii, Enrico, was the same. I can't recommend this trip more highly. Everyone should book it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

great day out with lovely guides on a large coach - driver was very good considering i suffer travel sickness i didnt feel ill at all. Actual tour of Pompeii was great - we visited in January so the crowds were very few and we had an easy walk around with our knowledgeable guide. Lunch was provided also, pizza which was very nice. Toilet stops there and back - well organised and well scheduled.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a dream come true for me. It's a very long day- take something for breakfast (but you can't eat on the bus, though they do stop in Cassino, about 3 hours south of Rome). We went to the Archeological Museum of Naples (winter) for a couple of hours before lunch at a 'mess hall' style restaurant just outside Pompeii. Pizza was awesome! Had a fantastic tour with an elderly local Pompeiian (yes, there is now 'New Pompeii'!) who was very funny and informative. Got back into Rome at about 8pm the same day. Would definitely do again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a dream come true for me. It's a very long day- take something for breakfast (but you can't eat on the bus, though they do stop in Cassino, about 3 hours south of Rome). We went to the Archeological Museum of Naples (winter) for a couple of hours before lunch at a 'mess hall' style restaurant just outside Pompeii. Pizza was awesome! Had a fantastic tour with an elderly local Pompeiian (yes, there is now 'New Pompeii'!) who was very funny and informative. Got back into Rome at about 8pm the same day. Would definitely do again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a dream come true for me. It's a very long day- take something for breakfast (but you can't eat on the bus, though they do stop in Cassino, about 3 hours south of Rome). We went to the Archeological Museum of Naples (winter) for a couple of hours before lunch at a 'mess hall' style restaurant just outside Pompeii. Pizza was awesome! Had a fantastic tour with an elderly local Pompeiian (yes, there is now 'New Pompeii'!) who was very funny and informative. Got back into Rome at about 8pm the same day. Would definitely do again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a dream come true for me. It's a very long day- take something for breakfast (but you can't eat on the bus, though they do stop in Cassino, about 3 hours south of Rome). We went to the Archeological Museum of Naples (winter) for a couple of hours before lunch at a 'mess hall' style restaurant just outside Pompeii. Pizza was awesome! Had a fantastic tour with an elderly local Pompeiian (yes, there is now 'New Pompeii'!) who was very funny and informative. Got back into Rome at about 8pm the same day. Would definitely do again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was outstanding! Luca and Elena were excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire trip was outstanding.
The guides were very pleasant, and informative.
The added guides at the museum and Pompeii were great.

If you want a great experience book this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day overall for our family. We had spent 5 days in the city of Rome and it was enjoyable to get out of the city and see the Tuscany countryside a bit. The winery lunch and wine tasting was really fun! We wish we could have had a little more time to shop and explore in the smaller towns, but also understood the time constraints. The bus ride was comfortable and our tour guide very good!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip to Pompeii was very engaging and interesting. I felt a little smarter after listening to the tour guides talk on the busride about different things around us. On another trip to Italy I will take their advice to take a train to Cassino and go up the mountain to the monestary. The Museum in Naples was small, but very interesting to see. I would consider doing this tour again because later in March the tour includes a hike on Mount Vesuvius. I like how we stopped every 1.5 hours so people could stretch their legs and use the bathroom. Also, the pizza lunch was at a nice restaurant near Pompeii. The tour guide for Pompeii was very knowledgable and showed the group the key areas in Pompeii. She also allowed people to take pictures and wander around on their own at times. There were a few children on the tour and all the tour guides were smart to warn the parents about certain parts in case some subject material at the museum or at Pompeii would be offensive to the children.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. Had a great driver Claudio who took us from hotel in Rome to Pompeii and back. Guide was fabulous and passionate about Pompeii. 2 hour private tour probably not long enough so after it concluded we skipped the return stop off lunch and stayed for 2 more hours walking by ourselves.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing experience, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing ancient ruins! I was travelling alone for this trip.

Stephanie and Melanie were my tour guides, and they were able to keep us all entertained for the 3 hour trip to Pompeii and the 3 hour trip back to Rome. Don't worry though, they do split the journey in half, so you get a break every 1hr and 30min! Stephanie and Melanie gave interesting facts about Rome, Naples, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, so there was never a dull moment inside the bus.

Because I booked during winter, Mt Vesuvius was closed. You do however get to visit the Archeological Museum of Naples, and they have a large collection of artefacts from the Pompeii excavation. It was a great museum, albeit confusing in its layout. Be warned, nothing is translated into English! But the artefacts themselves are pretty self-explanatory. Some of the more interesting parts of the exhibition were closed due to it being a Sunday (the Secret Chamber, and some of the more well known frescoes), but it was still an enjoyable time. You do get to wonder on your own in the museum, so you can take your time looking at various things.

Lunch is a traditional Naples pizza, which is absolutely delicious. You also get a complimentary beverage and salad to go with your meal.

The tour of Pompeii was fantastic as well. You get shown around the most interesting and well preserved parts of the city by a local and knowledgeable tour guide (I think to explore the whole city yourself would require a whole day). You also get to see some of the plaster casts of victims of the eruption of Mt Vesuvius, the most memorable being the one of the dog.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! It was very well organised and the tour guides were especially accommodating and understanding! Thank you very much Stephanie and Melanie for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message