The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James Blake W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

While I am usually reluctant to book and take tours when traveling abroad, I was impressed with our tour guide, Luca, and I really enjoyed exploring the Naples National Archaeological Museum and Pompeii. It's a long and full day trip from Rome, but it's completely worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Luv2TravlAmy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well - I crossed off going to Pompeii from my bucket list! This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Monica, was so helpful and informative. She gave a lot of information to us prior to arriving in Pompeii. Our local guide was also very funny and was just a wealth of knowledge - filling in all of the details of the city and answering all of the questions we had. Our trip took us to the archeological museum rather than climbing Vesuvius as it was in the winter, but seeing the artifacts was so interesting and really gave perspective as to what life was like in Pompeii. I was not impressed with lunch - it just seemed very un-Italian. The pizza was good, but the atmosphere was less than authentic. They did make a stop on the way to Pompeii and on they way back for restroom breaks no toilet seats in the ladies rooms...just beware. Great day - it is a LONG day, so be prepared for that. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Linda Alnor N Denmark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day w enthustiastic guides. Enough time at each stop to enjoy it. Visit at The abbey w gregorian monks was very special. Tuscany on a beautiful autumn day - go for it!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Anne C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well worth the time and an easy day trip from Rome. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable, easy going. We loved both sites for very different reasons.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Yuri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. The Archaeological Museum was fun to visit. Then the tour takes you to a remote site to have lunch. Some of the best pizza I have ever tasted. After lunch, that moment you realize that you're about to visit one of the most historical sites in the history of the world, Pompeii. Just amazing to actually be on site, and breathtaking to know that Mt. Vesuvius is in the backdrop. Our tour guides Massimo and Roberto were the best ever. They had our group so into the tour. They were informative, outspoken, intelligent, so friendly, down to earth, funny at times. They were simply amazing. They made the tour even that much better of an experience. A to the tour guides! A to Pompeii!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michelle Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Both our tour guide and Pompeii guide were very knowledgeable and interesting. The day was very well planned and ran smoothly. We enjoyed seeing the Archaeological Museum before visiting the site as it helped us imagine the city as it once would have been. We recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

kah t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I was on a work trip in Milan and decided to skip town to Rome. I was lucky enough to get on a tour guided by Roberto which I read many positive feedback on. He has kept the trip light i.e. not all boring stuffs, but he talked us through the history of Pompeii on our bus ride there..and kept us entertain throughout. It will always be a trip I highly spoke about besides being there in Pompeii myself but also guided by a great tour guide. It was well worth the 12-13 hours of the day. I am pretty sure you will not know how time passes so quickly on this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

bmccormack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice trip to Pompeii and the museum would have loved climbing the volcano but the weather did not permit it. A must see

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Juleschap Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent way to end the year. The trip to Pompeii was probably the highlight of my Europe trip and it was made even more enjoyable by our guide Antonella and our Pompeii guide Enrico. The only negative was the lunch - the pizza was not enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Alexandria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved this tour. Our guide was amazing. She was very funny and knew what she was talking about. Also the local guide in Pompeii was knowledgeable and made the tour fun. Lunch was also very delicious. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michele P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had been on this tour before however my cousin whom I was travelling with really wanted to visit Tuscany. I wasn't anticipating any WOWs since I had been there. But there were definitely WOWs around every corner. Each time we visited another location the vistas were incredible. The weather couldn't have been any better especially since when we left from the states the forecast daily was rainy and cloudy. The forecasters couldn't have been more wrong. We left very early and had a comfort stop which was like a mini mall where you could pick up specialties of the area. Our local guide in Montepulciano was Guilia from Siena, she was friendly yet professional, very pleasant and quite knowledgeable about the area architecture and the history. She made the climbing of all those hills more interesting. She was captivating.
In Montalcino, the Gregorian chant was very special especially since the Monks are being called back to France so there will no longer have monks to do the chant after the end of this year. Our wine tasting lunch was right next door at a wine cellar. Lunch was very yummy and the wine was delightful with the accompanying food. Again the scenery was beautiful through the hills toward Pienza. There we stopped at the Duomo which was the family home of Pope Pius 11. We got back to where we started with many stories to share about the area and our day. Bravo!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Derek P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was everything and more than I expected. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. The stop for food in Pompeii was delicious. Also, the guide that was used in Pompeii was very polite and took us to some really cool spots. I will recommended everyone I know to take this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Doug D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic trip. Highly recommend if visiting Italy. Tour guides were great as well. Amazing how well preserved some of the homes in Pompeii are.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Mickey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a fabulous day in Tivoli.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

keldogg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guides were friendly, approachable, and most importantly knowledgeable. The trip to the museum in Naples was actually very interesting and a good substitution for the hike to the top of a volcano. Once we were at Pompeii the tour around the site was only a few hours but I felt like we saw the most important parts of the site. I was so glad I booked a tour with a guide instead of going on my own since there was so much I would have walked right past not knowing the significance. The guides were great at telling the group about the history and significance of even the smallest things at the site. Stuff I would never have known myself like how small pieces of white marble were used on the road leading to the port to help travelers find the road in the dark. I would have walked on and never noticed that at all. I highly recommend having a guide to get the most out of the experience of being in Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kareem H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We really enjoyed our day trip to Tuscany. Our tour guide, Peter, has a very big impact on giving this tour 5 tours. Peter was punctual, nice, charasmatic and VERY informative. He made the 2 hour trip on the bus a breeze by giving the history of most of the towns we passed. All of the places we visited were wonderful and will leave a lasting impression. We really enjoyed the winery and the food there was delicious. Everything was very fresh and full of flavor.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

CARLA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Totally worth the early morning!! Really enthusiastic and informative guides who kept us entertained for the journey, plus gave us some nap time! An amazing experience to see Pompeii. Much recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Victoria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Interesting and well organized. Tour Guide Andy was both humorous and had a lot of historical info which was very nice to hear. The local Pompeii guide was excellent as well - we went to the head of the line, and he had lots to explain on Pompeii as well as the surrounding areas. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gareth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful trip, great tour guides, especially the local guide at Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

C J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Absolutely amazing day trip with the local tour operator. Excellent tour guide with so much local knowledge. Our climb up Mt. Vesuvius was spectacular, and worth the climb, not too hard a trek at all. It was drizzling and covered with cloud when we arrived but we donned our spray jackets and put up our umbrellas and climbed to the top. On arriving at the crater we felt a bit disheartened thinking it was a waste of a climb as we could not see anything. Within 10 minutes the cloud had cleared to a beautiful clear blue sky. Such a spectacular view into the crater and of Napals, not disappointed at all. I would recommend the climb even if the weather is not particularly good as there were a lot of disappointed people who didn't want to bother because of the weather, they all wish they had of made the effort, it was too late then. The National Archeological Museum was well worth the trip, such interesting history. Amazing how advanced the people were with their buildings and infrastructure of the city. We had delicious traditional pizza for lunch at a local restaurant, full table service and the most amazing freshly squeezed orange juice we had ever tasted at the local village.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was the most wonderful day we had such a great time, Pete our guide was sensational and the lunch at the winery was fabulous - it far exceeded our expectations and we had an absolute ball. Tuscany is so beautiful, so glad we did it. - Go with Pete - he is THE BEST - he knows everything and is so informative.
Gina D.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a wonderful tour guide Antonela - our comfort was her foremost concern.
I saw Pompeii 47 yrs. ago and was disappointed in its condition - very crowded
and many scaffolds. Great to climb Mt. Vesuvius.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Anthony L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip we took to Pompeii. The tour guides were absolutely amazing. I feel bad that I cannot remember their names but they had great knowledge of the local area and had a lot of great knowledge to the history of the places we visited. One tour guide was from Australia and had longer hair, and the other was an Italian woman who was very pleasant and helped us find a great restaurant after the tour. We would definitely do another tour with the company that Viator set us up with.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Diann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I enjoyed this Tuscany Day trip the most out of all our tours in Rome. The wine country was beautiful, the guided tours through the small villages were done wonderfully. The lunch at the winery was fun, we ate lunch with a great family from Australia. The wine tasting was fun, the wine was pretty pricey. Our tour guide was AMAZING, she made the trip so very enjoyable, she was very knowledgable and informative. I strongly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

JAMES M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We loved the tour of Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guides Ettore and Antonella entertained us on the bus which was very comfortable. Our guide Luisa at Pompeii was excellent. The hike up Mt Vesuvius was strenuous, so be careful and wear appropriate shoes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message