The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2226 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organized tour. Guides were interesting and informative. It is a great way to see some amazing things all in a day trip from Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

annie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great trip to Tuscany with our guide Anna and trainee Barbara Symie Lovely country side and places of interest and a beautiful lunch and wine tasting thank you

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Debbie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely awesome! Janvar was a fantastic guide and Andy and Melanie were also excellent guides, very knowledgeable about Rome and Pompeii and their tips on restaurants and coffee bars was fantastic. Janvar was extremely passionate about Pompeii and gave us details that any average person would not spot. Even down to the ratings of the red light district. Very humbling! Mount Vesuvius was equally spectacular. Lunch was provided at a local pizza restaurant and this was very tasty and freshly made.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sujan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fantastic! What made this tour amazing was our guide Sara. She's the best guide ever. She kept us enetrtained with stories and taught us about the culture on our way there. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was great along with seeing the ruins of Pompeii. The lunch we had was fantastic! Again, what made this trip great was our guide Sara!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day trip - well worth the money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Andy, Melanie Aussies both and our driver Antonio aka the 'TONY Stewart' of bus drivers delivered an AWESOME non-stop tour of the history and archaeology of Pompeii and the geology of Mt. Vesuvius. The team took a personal interest in their 'family' of tourists, so that by the end of the long tour they knew everyone on a first name basis. Even during the several hours of 'dead' time to and from Rome and the sites, they continued to provide exclusive insights about traveling about Rome and its environs. A good example of their personal engagement and commitment was their efforts to prod everyone to the top of Vesuvius under specially harsh weather conditions that day. They provided the BEST touring experience of my many years traveling with VIATOR.--Jim

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Out guide Melanie was extremely knowledgable and fun to listen to. She even gave us great restaurant recommendations afterwards based on where we were staying! Our Pompeii guide was also very knowledgable and gave us an excellent tour. We were given enough time to explore Pompeii and Vesuvius on our own. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Russell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Peter and Jonathon were awesome guide for this trip. Very knowledgeable about all the points of interest on the way and on our return trip.
Once we arrived, our local guide, Enzo, was just great. He gave us wonderfulsometimes humorous descriptions of what we were seeing in Pompeii.
We enjoyed the trip very much.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Keily W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guides Mara and Ana and driver Marilena (spelling?) were the best! They were funny and knowledgable. The hike up Mt Vesuvius was short but steep, took about 30min to get to the top. Our Guide at Pompeii was great too. I usually prefer to sightsee on my own, this tour changed my mind!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ollen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I have no words to express the hidden wonders of the world....You just have to be in it to feel it and enjoy every second of the day trip by the High-Speed Train and the Gondola experience with no cars to worry about.
What a lovers paradise.

Doing what: Venice Independent Day Trip from Rome by High-Speed Train

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day learning about the history and culture of Pompeii. Our guide, Andrew, was knowledgeable, entertaining, and akLso gave us good tips for travelling in Rome

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

cwgeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

History is my passion so this day trip was heaven for me. Unfortunately the weather precluded a trip to the volcano and instead we went to a very interesting museum in Naples that holds many of the artifacts of Pompeii and surrounding areas. The museum employees however decided to close-off many of the exhibits we wanted to see probably on a whim. The Italian people are socialist-leaning and given a chance not to work or to go on strike they'll take it. Overall wonderful we had a great group leader on the bus and at Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was awesome! First off, our tour guides, Sarah and Enzo, were very well organized and knowledgeable. They were great at keeping us informed throughout the day. They spoke excellent English and were very detailed in all of Italy's history and answering our questions. Alfredo, our awesome bus driver, drove 1.5 hrs to a rest stop in Cassino where we had 15 min to stretch our legs, use the toilets, and grab some coffee or snacks. Back on the bus for the next hour to Pompeii, our guides spoke to us about the history of Pompeii and what to expect when we arrive, which made the drive fly by. At Pompeii, we were split into 2 groups with 10-12 per group and we had excellent audio systems to hear our guide at all times. In addition to our tour guides, each group was provided a professional Pompeii historian guide to teach us about its history. The tour was fantastic! We had plenty of time to take photos and walk around on our own while still able to listen via audio systems and keep up with the group. Lunch was ok, not the best salad and pizza I've had, but pretty good for being included with the tour. TIP: Your first drink is included, each add'tl is 4 euro. Mt Vesuvius was an awesome experience! We had a little more than one hour to climb to the top and back. It took 20-30 min to reach the top at a moderate-to-slow pace stopping to rest and take photos along the way. It's pretty cool to be able to say you climbed an active volcano! On the way home, we stopped in Cassino for a break, then continued back to Rome. During our return, our guides conversed with everyone individually to ask if we had any questions/feedback about the tour or Italy in general, then answered everyone's questions out loud for everyone on the bus. There were a lot of helpful tips offered regarding places to eat, safety, etc. TIPS: Bring snacks for the ride. // There are plenty of chances to rest/nap on the bus. // Bus carries cold water for 1 euro

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a delightful trip this turned out to be!! In one day, we saw the beautiful Tuscany, a fabulous meal in a winery and sometime to shop as well. It is worth every penny. The Tour guide, Monica is so knowledgeable that she took the time we were on the bus to give us so much information that we are very thankful. I would advise everyone to take this wonderful trip.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Monica was wonderful. The Tuscany countryside was breathtaking. The history brought to life. Nothing like a little wine tasting to break the ice with your fellow travelers. For anyone needing a break from the bustle of the city, this is s tour not to be missed. Loved it.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day trip tour to Pompeii was well organized and comfortable. Luca and Manuel were great guides. Alberto was a fantastic driver. The local guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was incredible! There was enough time at the comfort stops and information shared by the guides about Rome during our return was of value.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

willie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic. Peter, the tour guide, was great. He answered all of our questions and made us enjoy Tuscany. I am recommending to a co-worker who is coming over in the summer.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

moti k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a tour my granddaughter and I booked and I think it was well worth the effort and money. The tour was conveniently arranged for pick up and drop off. The tour guides, Jonathan and Peter were amazing founts of information. Art, architecture, history and personal vignettes made the 3 hour trip down and back interesting and informative. Although I had been to Pompeii several times, I still found new insights with these two young men. Please take this trip, you will enjoy it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Desiree S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely wonderful day trip to Vesuvius and Pompeii - first class service all the way! The guides, Lucca and Manuel were knowledgeable, entertaining and extremely helpful and the driver Alberto was skilled and very competent. The pizza lunch was very good and we had plently of time to observe and explore both Pompeii and Vesuvius. I would highly recommend this trip and will definitely be using this company for excursions again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Katharine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a fantastic value. Pompeii and Vesuvius are must-see and are so impressive in person. Our guides Mara and Antonella were very knowledgable and made the lone bus ride enjoyable. Highly reccomend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Greig S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tuscany is beautiful is well known. Our tour showed us in one day why everyone loves it.
Our guide Anna was awesome. Not only did she tell us about Tuscany, its history and why its unique, but gave us great insight into how the people live and their customs. It is a long but very enjoyable day.
Highly recommend it

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Min Juan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

informative and professional guider from Rome to Pompeii and at local Pompeii. it is the must program if you want to enjoy a tour with historical and local culture information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such an amazing tour. Tuscany was beautiful and a great way to see the area

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Luca was our guide and he was fantastic, loved the knowledge he had...the day trip was fantastic highly recommend it

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message