1.  Ancient Rome Explore the Colosseum and Forum in style on a private walking tour with an art expert, and skip the queues for the Colosseum and Palatine Hill. Accompanied by your own private guide who specializes in art history, a private ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Jeanette, was great. Very informative, amusing and sassy. We walked to places we wouldn't have visited and her recommendations were spot on. All in all a very good way to see some of the less well known, but still interesting, parts of Rome.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our family including one teenager enjoyed our walking tour around the Campo de Fiori and Castel San'Angelo areas of Rome. We were shown many locations by our guide that we likely never would have found on our own and enjoyed associating various stories and legends with the destinations. As narratives engage and entertain, we were both - and more so as the tour went on. Note though the stories were less about ghosts and mysteries and more about the dark and violent tragedies befalling innocents of Rome both male and female, tragedies largely attributed to unscrupulous papal and/or patriarchal rule of the past. No doubt that abuses of power are a part of Catholic history, yet, it would be like Il bue che dà del cornuto allasino for modernity to treat Catholic leaders as lone examples in human history. For some, the stories may have seemed pointed and critical of Catholicism particularly. For others, maybe not. With some relaxed perspective, everyone can have a good time on this tour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great way to enjoy the first evening at Rome! Children-friendly guided tour where you get to learn the history of dark Rome. We did 9pm tour, which worked out great after nice dinner nearby. It is about two hour walking tour, so it is a great way to walk off the pasta/pizza dinner. The tour doesn't end at the starting point, so, bring a map and be prepare to get familiar with the returning route to hotel. Rome is like a maze, so we did get lost several times on our way back to hotelwalked, however we did not mind it at all since the city is very safe and beautiful.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Before booking this tour, I inquired if this tour was good for someone with mobility issues such as walking long distances and using a walker/wheelchair, there reply was This tour is suitable for wheelchair users provided passenger is traveling with a companion who can assist them on and off the bus. Wheelchairs will be stored in the luggage area of the bus. What they did not tell me is that there was substantial walking on uneven terrain and cobblestones. The first stop we did was approx. 1 hour walk, so my spouse had to stay on the bus. The second stop was the Vatican, my spouse decided to get off the bus and tried to walk as the guide told us that it was not far. Not far for someone that has no issues walking is not the same for someone that has difficulties walking. We managed to get to the Vatican, but had to use the wheelchair as the distance was too much to walk for my spouse. On the second part of the tour, the first stop had a hill to climb, steps to go up and walking, my spouse stayed on the bus. The other stop was to visit the Colosseum again there was substantial walking and going up steps and again my spouse had to stay on the bus. Out of the whole tour, my spouse spent most of the tour on the bus not seeing very much. I know that Rome is not a city for people with mobility issues, that is why I had inquired about the tour before we booked. If I would have known that my spouse would spend most of the tour on the bus, we would not have taken the tour we would have found an alternate way of seeing Rome. This was definitely a waste of money and time.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Gio was a very knowledgable tour guide that shared many vivid stories that have stuck with me. This tour is definitely more about the mystery, legends, and stories of Rome. There was some walking during the tour, but it was quite easy walking. Gio was very engaging and she answered anyone's questions. It would be neat to be able to go into some of the locations. I think if the tour could go into one location during the tour it would be even better! I would suggest the tour for anyone that is into history and learning more about Rome.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This is not a ghost tour but was an interesting walk around parts of Rome that you would not otherwise see. Our guide showed us some places and told stories of the past

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I loved this tour! It was very informative and our guide, Alena I think was very engaging. She told us great stories! I think the title is a little misleading, its not really a ghost tour, but more like Dark History of Rome tour. The description Viator uses is correct just the title or name of the tour is misleading. One note that I didnt catch when we went was you start at one church and the tour ends at another church. The walking was easy and we stopped about 10 times for different stories. I loved the stories...very unique. My favorite story was the pictures of Virgin Mary throughout the city. Great tour for anyone that likes those unique facts you wont find in a tour book or even online. I wish the tour was longer...could have gone 3 hours easily. thanks!
I

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Natasha L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide, nice walking along the streets of Rome. It would be recommended for someone who has a limited time( 1-2days) in Rome.
Great value for money!

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

While I was expecting something different based on the title of the tour I am happy we took it. You aren't visiting any supposed haunted or supernatural sites, besides the old bridge near the middle of the tour. Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and covered the history of each site we visited (5 locations only). This is a walking tour and the pace was quite quick. The sidewalks in Rome are narrow or non existent so be careful at night is some of the areas. We learned a lot on the tour, namely the small overlooked details of early Roman life and some of its infamous citizens never mentioned in history books. I think the tour was good and worth taking but I was expecting something different given the title. Still it was very educational and fun to learn about some of the politics and lives of early residents and how their lives shaped and impacted history.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour. Brings the Ghetto and life there into perspective. Also showed a totally different side of Rome in Trastevere. We had a great guide from Michigan who brought it all to life for us. Would recommend this to anyone. Wear comfortable shoes as there is lots of walking.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed walking though areas of Rome that we would not have gone to on our own. A lot of historical perspective was related to us by our tour leader. It is wisely scheduled late in the day so the heat is not a factor, and it ends up at dinnertime in Trastevere, so the people on the tour could make nice choices for a good Italian eating experience. Lots of good photo opps.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. This was a good tour to hit the popular areas in Rome. Be prepared for lots of of walking.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour wasn't exactly what we were expecting, although maybe we really didn't know what to expect. Our guide, Mossimo, did a great job telling the stories. The stories were quite strange and certainly they portrayed a very disturbing part of Rome's history. The part we liked the best was getting to see Rome after dark and walking down some back alleys that we never would have ventured into on our own. Our son was looking for Madelinas the rest of our time in Rome.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour what we bought on Viator (what was described on the website) and what we experienced at Rome were completely different. And most disappointingly, the tour guide was very indifferent and rude towards everyone on the tour. There was an elderly person, who could not catch-up the speed the guide was walking at and requested to slow down a bit. But the guide turned it down and responded very rudely. We were taken only to a souvenir show at St. Peter's Basilica and the tour got concluded there very abruptly. The guide was only bothered to show us various souvenirs in that shop and nothing more. Where as, Viator's tour description says, the an inside tour of St. Peter's Basilica is included in the tour. But, we were never taken inside the basilica. The tour does not cover some of the most important attractions like, Piazza Venezia, Colosseum, Castle of St. Angelo etc., The guide was unable to explain the historical details of many places we were taken to (for most of the attractions, she was referring to only 1600-1700 AD period !!!)

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our Ghost and Mystery walking tour was great. This was our second visit to Rome. We had visited last year for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and did not take advantage of seeing Rome at night. Great way to see the nightlife and the "dark" side of Rome.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Our guide Franco was great. My disappointment was that there was so much walking. The tour was found by searching "bus/mini-van" and then it turns out to be mostly walking. We had already completed a Rome walking tour.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Masimo is an awesome story teller - expect him to completely "ruin" your vacation with horrific stories from Rome's not-so-peaceful past, which includes executions, murders and plots that went all the way up to the top. It's a great way to learn history, walk around in Rom after dark, and get to know the places and people that make Rome so intriguing.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This was an enjoyable walk around Rome but was dampened by a cold pouring rain.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour really talks about the facts and tragedies that happened in old Rome and not so much on horror stories. Really love this tour as it is different from the others because it gives a glimpse on the lives of the common folk and society back then. The content of the tour is very good and plentiful and our guide Massimo is really entertaining and a good story teller. Be prepared to walk quite a bit at night if you are someone who gets tired really early.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time and really enjoyed the walk thru the old tow of Rome. Our guide was a lovely young man who was very knowledgeable regarding the rich history of Rome. He also had a great sense of humour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a really nice tour, you are able to see the most important touristic attractions of Rome and the tour guides were very knowledgable about the city and its history. You walk a lot, but it is the best way to get to see the city.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Wear comfortable shoes as your will need to traverse over a great distance with the beautiful Rome cobblestones. The tour moves very quickly....maybe a little too quick.... Our guide in the morning was very good. The guide in the afternoon tour had very broken english and was difficult to understand. The group could barely keep up with the walking part of the tour as he moved WAY too fast!

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

It was a lovely evening walk. A great way to appreciate the sites and sounds of this community in Rome.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

An excellent guide and an interesting walk through the back streets of Rome listening to the kind of stories we wouldnt have normally heard. The children on the walk seemed to enjoy it immensely.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

this is a fabulous tour , a casual walk throughout the streets with a local point of view . we got a real feel of the history of rome . prob the best tour of the trip

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message