1.  Ancient Rome Explore the Colosseum and Forum in style on a private walking tour with an art expert, and skip the queues for the Colosseum and Palatine Hill. Accompanied by your own private guide who specializes in art history, a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Natasha L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide, nice walking along the streets of Rome. It would be recommended for someone who has a limited time( 1-2days) in Rome.
Great value for money!

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

While I was expecting something different based on the title of the tour I am happy we took it. You aren't visiting any supposed haunted or supernatural sites, besides the old bridge near the middle of the tour. Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and covered the history of each site we visited (5 locations only). This is a walking tour and the pace was quite quick. The sidewalks in Rome are narrow or non existent so be careful at night is some of the areas. We learned a lot on the tour, namely the small overlooked details of early Roman life and some of its infamous citizens never mentioned in history books. I think the tour was good and worth taking but I was expecting something different given the title. Still it was very educational and fun to learn about some of the politics and lives of early residents and how their lives shaped and impacted history.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour. Brings the Ghetto and life there into perspective. Also showed a totally different side of Rome in Trastevere. We had a great guide from Michigan who brought it all to life for us. Would recommend this to anyone. Wear comfortable shoes as there is lots of walking.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed walking though areas of Rome that we would not have gone to on our own. A lot of historical perspective was related to us by our tour leader. It is wisely scheduled late in the day so the heat is not a factor, and it ends up at dinnertime in Trastevere, so the people on the tour could make nice choices for a good Italian eating experience. Lots of good photo opps.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. This was a good tour to hit the popular areas in Rome. Be prepared for lots of of walking.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour wasn't exactly what we were expecting, although maybe we really didn't know what to expect. Our guide, Mossimo, did a great job telling the stories. The stories were quite strange and certainly they portrayed a very disturbing part of Rome's history. The part we liked the best was getting to see Rome after dark and walking down some back alleys that we never would have ventured into on our own. Our son was looking for Madelinas the rest of our time in Rome.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour what we bought on Viator (what was described on the website) and what we experienced at Rome were completely different. And most disappointingly, the tour guide was very indifferent and rude towards everyone on the tour. There was an elderly person, who could not catch-up the speed the guide was walking at and requested to slow down a bit. But the guide turned it down and responded very rudely. We were taken only to a souvenir show at St. Peter's Basilica and the tour got concluded there very abruptly. The guide was only bothered to show us various souvenirs in that shop and nothing more. Where as, Viator's tour description says, the an inside tour of St. Peter's Basilica is included in the tour. But, we were never taken inside the basilica. The tour does not cover some of the most important attractions like, Piazza Venezia, Colosseum, Castle of St. Angelo etc., The guide was unable to explain the historical details of many places we were taken to (for most of the attractions, she was referring to only 1600-1700 AD period !!!)

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our Ghost and Mystery walking tour was great. This was our second visit to Rome. We had visited last year for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and did not take advantage of seeing Rome at night. Great way to see the nightlife and the "dark" side of Rome.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Our guide Franco was great. My disappointment was that there was so much walking. The tour was found by searching "bus/mini-van" and then it turns out to be mostly walking. We had already completed a Rome walking tour.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Masimo is an awesome story teller - expect him to completely "ruin" your vacation with horrific stories from Rome's not-so-peaceful past, which includes executions, murders and plots that went all the way up to the top. It's a great way to learn history, walk around in Rom after dark, and get to know the places and people that make Rome so intriguing.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This was an enjoyable walk around Rome but was dampened by a cold pouring rain.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a wonderful day we had! Just my wife and I with Annalisa, The Closseum and ancient Rome! My wife has some back and knee issues and Lisa was able to adapt the walk to make it easier for her without sacrificing any of the quality of the tour. She has brilliant recall of large amounts of information about everything there is to see on this tour, and there is a lot! It is obvious that she loves Rome and its ancient sites and has spent a great deal of time learning the history of the city. I couldn't possibly tell you all the history she shared about The Colosseum,The Forum and Palatine Hill but I can tell you that she was animated, interesting, engaging and able to answer any question we had about the area. There is a lot to see on this tour and the experience could not have been the same with a large group of people, or wasting the day standing in line. Most importantly, I don't know that it would have been as great an experience with another guide. I'm sure all the guides are good, but I don't think any other guide could be more kind or more in love with her subject and eager to share its history. Thank you Lisa for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour really talks about the facts and tragedies that happened in old Rome and not so much on horror stories. Really love this tour as it is different from the others because it gives a glimpse on the lives of the common folk and society back then. The content of the tour is very good and plentiful and our guide Massimo is really entertaining and a good story teller. Be prepared to walk quite a bit at night if you are someone who gets tired really early.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time and really enjoyed the walk thru the old tow of Rome. Our guide was a lovely young man who was very knowledgeable regarding the rich history of Rome. He also had a great sense of humour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a really nice tour, you are able to see the most important touristic attractions of Rome and the tour guides were very knowledgable about the city and its history. You walk a lot, but it is the best way to get to see the city.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message