Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 583 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and an amazing Tour Guide. This is a must-take tour as the lines for the Vatican were hours long since it is a jubilee year. Our tour guide was a blonde gal from America with an Art History degree who had married an Italian after studying in Italy. Her depth of knowledge on all things in the vatican museum was astounding. This was a once in a lifetime opportunity to see the vatican and our guide made the experience that much better. She kept us on schedule, ensured we all got in close to see the best artifacts, gave us great details on each exhibit, and even gave us recommendations on what to do outside of the vatican and around Rome. I would have taken this tour to see the Sistine Chapel ceiling alone it was so amazing! One of the best tours of my trip for sure!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Melissa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband, in-laws and I all did the Vatican tour with Sara N. Sara was absolutely the best tour guide. She was smart, fun, patient, and engaging. Her knowledge of the paintings and history that tied into everything the Vatican and St. Peter's offered was unmatched. I would highly recommend this tour when you go to Rome. It covers everything the Vatican offers site wise and the tour guides give you so much of the rich history to go along with it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sean E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tremendous. Our tour guide, I believe her name was Agnes, was the best. Great knowledge of the Vatican, friendly, terrific sense of humor, patient with us first time American tourists. We avoided the lines, and got great background and historical information that added so much to the experience. A highlight of our Italy trip!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Sabrina was our tour guide from CityWonders and she was incredible!! So knowledgable about the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter and #39;s! We took tours in Rome and Florence with City Wonders as well and Sabrina was the best tour guide of them all!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Ashwin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Interesting tour with 5 stars for our guide Damiano. The tour is very well organized. Not the fault of the tour agency, but I wanted a more biblical understanding of the Vatican and was surprised that there was so little in the Vatican about this and rather a lot about artists like Michelangelo and so on. The trip to the sistine chapel was the best highlight for me. May I didnt appreciate the art because I am not an artistic person. So if you are into art then this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Nirmal S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was fantastic, demonstrated full availability , education and knowledge in the Vatican arts.
I had the best experience possible .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

koha Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Shannon was fantastic and this was a great well paced tour from beginning to end with ample time to do your own exploration of the Basilica at the end of the guided tour. We were a group of 6 aged from 16 to 75 and the tour pace and commentary worked for us all. There was minimal waiting and the pace of walking and commentary was comfortable. Shannon was really informative and passionate about all aspects of the tour. Really enjoyed the tour and would do another tour with Shannon. The Vatican was sensational as was the Sistine chapel and the Basilica. You could spend an incredible amount of time wandering around but the tour kept you on track with a reasonable pace. There is a fair amount of walking but its pretty flat walking, mainly inside with a few flights of stairs, but not too many. There is a couple of security checkpoints along the way so best to travel light. Skipping the line is perfect as even in early January there were lines first thing and apparently you can wait for hours to gain regular entry so the Skip the line option is great to maximize your time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Pia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was wonderful! She knew a lot about the Vatican and the art in the Vatican museum. Best of all, she knew how everything works and she guided us through everything masterfully. Well done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

sdio7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

perfect guide,highly recommended to skip the lines.Vatican museum is on of the best places to visti in rome

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

V P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow, the absolute best in my opinion of tours in Rome! Choosing this way to see the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Museum and St Peters Basilica was amazing, you absolutely have to do a guided tour in order to get the full benefit of knowledge and skipping the line up is the only way to go.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Wendy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour lots of people at the Vatican so best way to see and learn so much was with a tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

kevinrchisholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a wonderful time and we really believe it was the best way to see the Vatican.
Our guide was very knowledgeable in all respects.

The only thing we missed was the Pope himself ,but being he was in Afica at the time I think that would have been tough to deliver.

I have been to to Rome over 15 times and viewed the Vatican from the square only and this was truly amazing..

Sincerely

Kevin Chisholm

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour guide. This is am exceptional tour if you want to see all 3 areas of the Vatican. It was fascinating and interesting. My tour guide had so much knowledge and kept my attention to entire time. It was nice to pass all the lines and have access to each area. Really one of the best ways to see all of this history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Laurie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Teresa was an awesome guide and was very friendly and personable. Although Italian, she has a great grasp of English as well as complex words/terms. Teresa got us front row/corner seats in the second tier of seating she said this was the best seating she had ever gotten, and I could have literally reached out and touched the Pope, but I was too busy taking pictures. Unlike some reviews I have seen, Teresa did not just seat us and leave. She stayed with us for an hour giving us the complete history of the Vatican and even showed us pictures of she and her husband getting blessed by the previous Pope in their wedding attire. By the time Teresa left, we were well educated, and the Pope appeared within a few minutes. This tour was worth every penny/euro, and we would highly recommend!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Kenna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the best way to see the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museums. Our tour guide, Lucca, was exceptionally knowledgeable, and you could tell that he reeeeally looooved his job. He was passionate about what he was showing us, and he made it even more exciting to be on this tour. We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome tour! Our guide, Emmy, was the best. Very knowledgable and helpful as we truly skipped the lines for a perfect your of the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Matty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was wonderful and informative. The best way to see the Vatican museums and St. Peter's cathedral.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Best way to see the Vatican and really understand what you are looking at. More than a tour guide, we had a really interesting educated guide who filled us with information that made this a wonderful experience. .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sec was brilliant. Just the right amount of history with a wry sense of humour. Really enjoyed the tour as it tied in the history of other places we'd visited Forum/ Colloseum. Great to have someone point out some of the important bits of the Vatican without having to sort the wheat from the chafe yourself,. Also really useful as it was so busy although pm is definitely better you had someone telling you where to go so you didn't have to think about where to go.
Really recommend for best way to succinctly see the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jonathan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sadly we cannot remember her name but our guide was so informative and fun as she guided us through the Vatican-we were so glad to have skipped the huge queues with our early start. The best way to see these beautiful works of art!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Harvey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the best of a very, very crowded Vatican. Beautiful architecture and paintings surround you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Phillip T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The 8.10am tour of the Vatican is the best time to go. We were in before the crowds and had 20 mins in the Sistine Chapel. Friends who went later got a 2 min walk through.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Leonard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a moving experience. Our guide was very informative and gave us a lot of information about the Vatican and the Pope while waiting. She was very insightful in telling us where to sit for the best views of the Pope. I would recommend this tour, and a very well done to our guide.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Bob L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was the saving grace after we had a VERY, VERY bad experience with the Hop On Hop Off bus. It was so oversold, DON'T DO IT. Try one of the other bus services. Now back to the Vatican Tour, our guide was amazing, she gave us so much information. My partner and I had been to the Vatican many times, but never with a guide. This made it seem all new to us. It was the best part of the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message