Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 577 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

koha Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Shannon was fantastic and this was a great well paced tour from beginning to end with ample time to do your own exploration of the Basilica at the end of the guided tour. We were a group of 6 aged from 16 to 75 and the tour pace and commentary worked for us all. There was minimal waiting and the pace of walking and commentary was comfortable. Shannon was really informative and passionate about all aspects of the tour. Really enjoyed the tour and would do another tour with Shannon. The Vatican was sensational as was the Sistine chapel and the Basilica. You could spend an incredible amount of time wandering around but the tour kept you on track with a reasonable pace. There is a fair amount of walking but its pretty flat walking, mainly inside with a few flights of stairs, but not too many. There is a couple of security checkpoints along the way so best to travel light. Skipping the line is perfect as even in early January there were lines first thing and apparently you can wait for hours to gain regular entry so the Skip the line option is great to maximize your time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Pia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was wonderful! She knew a lot about the Vatican and the art in the Vatican museum. Best of all, she knew how everything works and she guided us through everything masterfully. Well done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

sdio7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

perfect guide,highly recommended to skip the lines.Vatican museum is on of the best places to visti in rome

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

V P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow, the absolute best in my opinion of tours in Rome! Choosing this way to see the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Museum and St Peters Basilica was amazing, you absolutely have to do a guided tour in order to get the full benefit of knowledge and skipping the line up is the only way to go.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Wendy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour lots of people at the Vatican so best way to see and learn so much was with a tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

kevinrchisholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a wonderful time and we really believe it was the best way to see the Vatican.
Our guide was very knowledgeable in all respects.

The only thing we missed was the Pope himself ,but being he was in Afica at the time I think that would have been tough to deliver.

I have been to to Rome over 15 times and viewed the Vatican from the square only and this was truly amazing..

Sincerely

Kevin Chisholm

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour guide. This is am exceptional tour if you want to see all 3 areas of the Vatican. It was fascinating and interesting. My tour guide had so much knowledge and kept my attention to entire time. It was nice to pass all the lines and have access to each area. Really one of the best ways to see all of this history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Laurie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Teresa was an awesome guide and was very friendly and personable. Although Italian, she has a great grasp of English as well as complex words/terms. Teresa got us front row/corner seats in the second tier of seating she said this was the best seating she had ever gotten, and I could have literally reached out and touched the Pope, but I was too busy taking pictures. Unlike some reviews I have seen, Teresa did not just seat us and leave. She stayed with us for an hour giving us the complete history of the Vatican and even showed us pictures of she and her husband getting blessed by the previous Pope in their wedding attire. By the time Teresa left, we were well educated, and the Pope appeared within a few minutes. This tour was worth every penny/euro, and we would highly recommend!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Kenna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the best way to see the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museums. Our tour guide, Lucca, was exceptionally knowledgeable, and you could tell that he reeeeally looooved his job. He was passionate about what he was showing us, and he made it even more exciting to be on this tour. We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome tour! Our guide, Emmy, was the best. Very knowledgable and helpful as we truly skipped the lines for a perfect your of the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Matty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was wonderful and informative. The best way to see the Vatican museums and St. Peter's cathedral.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Best way to see the Vatican and really understand what you are looking at. More than a tour guide, we had a really interesting educated guide who filled us with information that made this a wonderful experience. .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sec was brilliant. Just the right amount of history with a wry sense of humour. Really enjoyed the tour as it tied in the history of other places we'd visited Forum/ Colloseum. Great to have someone point out some of the important bits of the Vatican without having to sort the wheat from the chafe yourself,. Also really useful as it was so busy although pm is definitely better you had someone telling you where to go so you didn't have to think about where to go.
Really recommend for best way to succinctly see the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jonathan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sadly we cannot remember her name but our guide was so informative and fun as she guided us through the Vatican-we were so glad to have skipped the huge queues with our early start. The best way to see these beautiful works of art!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Harvey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the best of a very, very crowded Vatican. Beautiful architecture and paintings surround you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Phillip T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The 8.10am tour of the Vatican is the best time to go. We were in before the crowds and had 20 mins in the Sistine Chapel. Friends who went later got a 2 min walk through.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Leonard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a moving experience. Our guide was very informative and gave us a lot of information about the Vatican and the Pope while waiting. She was very insightful in telling us where to sit for the best views of the Pope. I would recommend this tour, and a very well done to our guide.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Bob L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was the saving grace after we had a VERY, VERY bad experience with the Hop On Hop Off bus. It was so oversold, DON'T DO IT. Try one of the other bus services. Now back to the Vatican Tour, our guide was amazing, she gave us so much information. My partner and I had been to the Vatican many times, but never with a guide. This made it seem all new to us. It was the best part of the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

George S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Vatican Museum Sisteen Chapel and St Peter's Basilica were phenomenal! Our guide was the best! We would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Jeanne Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

One of the best parts of our time in Rome. They deliver on the promise. No lines and many closed doors were opened for us. Saw parts of the Vatican that it is impossible to see otherwise. And it was our group alone in the Sistine Chapel. The guide was so excited to be sharing this treasure of a place, we learned so much.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Gerald I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

So So So worth spending the money. Not only did we get some great info about the Pope, the Vatican and St. Peter's but our tour guide did his very best to get us as close as possible to see the Pope pass by. Experience of a lifetime to be so close to Pope Francis. Actually we were so fortunate not only to see the Pope close up on this tour, but we also attended Mass Sunday morning that Pope Francis celebrated and delivered the homily. Unbelievable.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Kerry O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best way to see the Vatican, I would highly recommend that you book this tour and skip queues, the tour guide was really knowledgable, and it saves a long 2 hour wait..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Nelson G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is the best way to see the Vatican, hands down! Wonderful tour and our guide Sarafina was terrific! Her expansive knowledge of the Vatican was obvious.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

dina a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was FANTASTIC. She really took her time explaining portraits and various arts that I would never had known if I went without a guide. This made the tour so much better and special. She was knowledgable of the artifacts in the Vatican and shared some of the best highlights. There were others who were not a part of our tour who wanted to listen in because they had no guide or knowledge of their surroundings. Outstanding!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One cannot go to Rome without a stop at the Vatican. Our guide, Linni, was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and had a special talent for positioning the group in the best areas for viewing the various rooms and their key sights. The Vatican and it's a various museums should be seen with an extra allotment of time to really do it justice. This is a must tour and should not be attempted without advance purchased tickets -- the lines are too long.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message