• USD ($)
  • English
What better place to celebrate Christmas than in the Eternal City where it all began. Whether you’re keen to embrace the religious side of Christmas or simply want to see the Italian way of life, Christmas in Rome is sure to be an unforgettable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time on our Christmas Day Walking Tour with Makela. She was easy to understand and had great stories behind the history of some of the sites we visited. We participated in five tours during our ten days in Italy with three different tour companies and this was our favorite!

Doing what: Rome Christmas Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our tour guide was Maximus who was excellent! If you can get him, you must do so. Was lovely to walk all around Rome during Christmas to see the sites and feel the joy of the season. We had 3 kids with us who did very well. Would highly recommend this tour without hesitation.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

In a word - outstanding - we were a group of 7 family and friends and I'm writing on everyone's behalf to say it was probably the best guided tour we've undertaken and I have to say this was all down in the most part to Tiffeny who was our guide. From the moment she met us outside the Vatican Museums and guided us through the Museums, Rapheal Rome and St Peter's she was excellent - full of knowlege, bringing every aspect of our Tour alive with stories, facts and info in a way that was easy to assimulate and remember ... and more importantly completely interesting she has a natural storytelling ability. The organisation from the online booking process to skipping the queues (and they were really long) at the entrance was superbly organised and professional - the whole experience was one to remember, in fact we didn't want the morning to end it was so enjoyable. I wouldn't dream of booking with any other operator now and when we return at Christmas I will once again be using Viator and hopefully Tiffeny if she is around. 5 Stars.....
Fearga McEvoy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Amazing, beautiful, and moving. It is hard to believe that the works of so many truly gifted artists reside in one place Claudia was our tour guide, and she proved to be extremely knowledgeable every step of the way. My wife, who has traveled all over the world, commented that she had never been in inside a more beautiful building than St Peter's Basilica. We loved it so much that we watched the televised Christmas mass from there upon our return home and marveled at how we had just been there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Carol
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This tour was fantastic but made even better by our expert guide Angela. She had such a knowledge of the Vatican Museums and all of the works inside and was brilliant at giving us all of the historical detail. We visited St Peter's Basilica on Christmas Eve and managed to see it all set up for the evening service. Thanks again Angela

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

I've spent several holiday seasons in Rome, and it's truly a wonderful place to stay in December. The weather is not great, but Rome in December is beautiful and full of buzz. The shops have a very appealing holiday feel with many wonderful food and drink specialties that are unavailable at other times of year.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The guide was excellent! Since it was two days before Christmas, we were the only ones on the tour, so we had a private tour. It was excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Our Vatican Walking Tour was the highlight of our Christmas trip to Rome. We were able to see so much, with a deeper insight and appreciation than if we attempted on our own. Our tour guide was absolutely fantastic, and we are so grateful for her guidance and knowledge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Guide was very informative and knowledgeable.
Other than taking place on Christmas day, there was no Christmas theme to the tour. It would have been nice to know that the tour was ending at St. Peter's Square (since public transportation was limited on the holiday). Lots of walking, so a few other members bailed early. We left our tour after Navona

Doing what: Rome Christmas Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great tour for Christmas day. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The 'check-in' process was a little hectic, but it was Christmas Eve at the Vatican, so what can you expect. Also, and this is no fault of the tour company, but we BARELY made it into St Peter's from the Sistine Chapel before the Pope changed his mind and decided to close things early. Some people didn't make it. But I guess that's one of the perks of being the Pope.

Our guide, Shannon, was amazing. We learned so many interesting things, especailly about the Sistine Chapel. I highly recommend her, personally. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The guide was knowledgeable and interesting, and use of personal communication devices to talk to us helped a lot, but on Christmas Eve day, it was incredibly crowded. We did skip the huge line outside the museum but were almost crushed inside. I would avoid this museum when it is so crowded.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

We were a bit dubious at the start of our tour because the organisation of registration and process of giving out audio headsets was so chaotic. This was because the person in charge was late. However, once our tour got underway our minds were soon put at rest. Our guide, Alexandra, was so knowledgeable and a true expert on the city of Rome. She gave us a lively commentary during our walking tour of the city and she was very caring of our group of 24, ensuring that we all kept together on the busy streets and that everyone had a drink during the break. It was easy to hear her lively and humorous commentary because of our headsets. You just had to make sure that you kept in range of the her headset. You also must be a good walker to enjoy this tour as you cover quite a distance during the 3 hours and at times you are walking at quite a fast pace through busy streets. This is because there is so much to see and Alexandra had so much to tell us. As well as lots of historical facts, she also gave us lots of local Roman stories and legends, things that only an insider would know. We were a group of four (myself, my husband and parents) and we really enjoyed our tour and will always remember our Christmas day in Rome. Many thanks to Alexandra!

Doing what: Rome Christmas Day Walking Tour

Marie H
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Even though I have seen some of this route before, it was still lovely to do this on Christmas Day. Rome is such a fabulous place.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Day Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Our tour guide was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable and imparted lots of information. Overall, though, we felt there was too much information imparting outside the museums and not enough actually seeing what was being talked about. This created a somewhat anti-climax when it came to seeing the Systine Chapel and St Peter's. We were also surprised to be advised to leave the tour at the Systine Chapel and skip the St peter's bit as we'd had to leave our bag at the museum entrance. We ignored this advice as it didn't seem logical and we were happy to manage the situation ourselves. It would perhaps be a good idea to warn your clients not to bring large bags if they don't want ot have to loeave them at the start of the tour and then have to leave early. Overall ok - but going between Christmas and New Yeat there wasn't a big queue to avoid and I wonder about the cost-effectiveness of this tour given the price - perhaps in peak season it would be more cost effective. Nonetheless we had a lovely time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message