The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing day trip. Bus took us as high up Mt Vesuvius as it was allowed. It was a 40 minute walk up a 14 degree slope with a number of stops to catch my breath. Able to look down into the crater and still see steam or smoke coming out. Then a 20 minute walk down to where the bus was waiting. A little leery knowing this is still considered an active volcano, although it last erupted in 1944.
The ruins of Pompeii are much bigger then expected. Imagine a city of 20,000 people buried! The stone streets have deep ruts worn in them from many years of wagon wheels. It all came into perspective when we stood in the main city square and saw Mt Vesuvius 7 miles away. Now I can imagine what happened!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome tour from start to finish! We learned a great deal about the history, food/wine, people and geography of the area from our two professional tour guides Stefanie and Hector - Grazie! On site at Pompeii, Giorgio proudly echoed his Family roots as assistants to the archaeologists throughout the restorations. We really enjoyed the walk-through with him and this historical tour. All three guides have a wonderful sense of humour! Hector had us rolling in the bus aisles with his tips on crossing the streets in Rome, paying taxi fare/the drivers and ownership of our dinner table til we ask for the bill/how to ask for the bill if ignored. All could relate to what he was saying. Hilarious!

The pizza for lunch at Tiberious (included with tour) was frankly the best we ate while in Italy. It served us well for the Vesuvius climb! Grazie Antonnio for the amazing drive along some single lane hairpin curves up and down the mountain to the starting point of the climb. Phew! Spectacular view of the crater and the Gulf of Naples! Could even see the distant island of Capri.

It is a full day (7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.) and we highly recommend this tour!

Ted and Monique
Ottawa, Canada

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long bus ride to get there and back but the girls made it very enjoyable and informative, knew when to give us down time for a snooze. Their knowledge and tips on how to pick the best restaurant and cuisine were spot on, tried their tips, worked well!! The tour through Pompeii was exceptional made perfect by our guide "Enrico", his sharp, brilliant wit and knowledge of Pompeii were exceptional. Trip us Mt Vesuvius was challenging, sorry we didn't make it to the top but lots did. Had an excellent day, well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Mara, was highly knowledgeable and very friendly. She talked just the right amount on the bus trip. The meeting place in Rome was easy to find; no confusion like we had on a previous tour. The group was split into two so there were only 20 of us, which was great. We appreciated the half-way stop on the way to and from Naples. Vesuvius was awesome!! We had adequate time to walk up at our own pace. Lunch was great! And Pompeii was everything we had expected and more. Our local guide, Enrico, really brought past events to life for us. We HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I went on this tour back in April this year. It was one of our favourite tours we did in Europe. From the beginning when we met our guide Roberto was fabulous. There were 2 tour guides on the bus with us and they interacted with the all the people and provided a lot of knowledge about all the places we were passing. Pompeii was amazing, the history behind it is unbelievable and the fact that there are still so many remains after so long is crazy. After this we walked up the mount Vesuvius, luckily the weather was only just warm as it is a bit of a hike to get up to the top. but getting to the top is well worth it. The scenery overlooking Naples is breathtaking. This tour is definitely a must do when in Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on this trip. Although a very long day it was well worth it. We were given ample time for exploring at each stop and found our guide Antonella extremely helpful and informative. Our guide in Pompeii shared his extensive knowledge of the area as he guided us through the ruins of the city. At no time did we feel rushed and would definately recommend to others.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

That was truly amazing experience. We had fantastic guides Stephanie and Ettore who were patient, funny and extremely informative, not to mention Vincenzo who guided us through the city of Pompeii and was absolutely amazing.
The trip itself was very long (13 hours) but it was worth every minute. Pompeii and Vesuvius are Italy must sees and we are delighted that we chose this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Syriana was the best tour guide i've ever been with in Europe! she's just great! So informative, friendly and funny. and so helpful as well. So was Olivia who always had an answer for everything I asked about during our tour in Tuscany. This tour is a must with great tour guides. Highly recommended. Specially for those who love green landscape, and natural food (the launch at the farm was great).

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This Tuscany Tour was wonderful. Our guide was very enjoyable and personable and 100% helpful.
Delighted that we were able to have a great experience. The only thing that would make it perfect would be a nearby hotel pick-up instead of making our own way

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very amazing tour! Pompeii is huge and there is so much to see. But the view from the too of the volcano is truthfully breath taking! It's worth the mile long hike from the bus stop to the top, very rewarding!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant day out. 100% recommend this trip. We loved every second of it. When we initially booked I was sure whether the day might be tiring with a lot of driving and not much time at the actual sights. However I felt we had plenty of time at the sights to see everything that we needed/wanted to, and while the drive was long it was broken up with a few breaks. The tour guide was great, very chatty but interesting to listen to. The Pompeii local tour guide was very good and so knowledgeable. This daytrip ended up being a highlight of our holiday.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tuscany was outstanding and really enjoyed the day. Our tour guides were exceptional, smart and funny and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this tour. And thanks once again to the tour guides.
Colin and Beverley. South Africa

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was really worth the time and the money. Our tour leader, Violet was an excellent tour leader. On the coach we were two groups. The other tour leader, Siriana. took it in turnswith Violet to tell us about Rome and what we were going to see. The two of them together were simply marvelous. the driver Marius was also very efficient especially in handling a terrible jam on the way up to Vesuvius. The climb to the crater was hard but really worth it. The sight from up there was incredible. The food was acceptable though the room where we ate was really crowded. But Pompeii is an experience everyone should have at least once in one's life. Our guide there, Gennaro, not only knew what he was talking about was also entertaining. He made this two hour visit of Pompeii extremely exciting. Pity we only had two hours.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our family of five recently did this day trip. Our kids are aged 16, 13 and 10. Everyone really enjoyed the day. The tour guides Robert and Melanie couldn't have been more informative and helpful. Our 10 year old whom we were thinking may get a bit bored loved hearing the stories that Robert told along the way - it kept him very well entertained! Lunch in Naples was delicious, and all our kids who are pretty fussy when it comes to pizza gave it the thumbs up. We would definitely reccommend this trip to others and even though it is a long day, it is not rushed and there is plenty of down time at the restaurant and on the bus.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic Tour. Violet and Massimo were a great team. Lots of fun. We will always remember out time at Pompeii

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message