The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1156 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was great, Gia our guide was fantastic. It was a long day but well worth the time. The wine tasting and lunch were great as was the surprise stops Gia had for us as well. Gia was personable and knowledgeable and made the whole day a truly terrific experience. A must for a day trip from Rome.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Awesome. Our tour guides were extremely knowledgeable - not just about Pompeii but the entire area we travelled through to get there. They were humorous and very professional. They made the very lengthy excursion pass very quickly and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was such a great day tour. The only disappointment was that the weather was a little cloudy, but climbing Vesuvius was still amazing. The tour of Pompeii showed all the highlights and the guide was really knowledgable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worked out really well. The guides and driver helped make the day. It was a 13 hour round trip but well worth it and not too much. We had 2 hours or so round Pompeii which was OK to see the main parts and more than get the feel of the place. You could spend a whole day there but considering the trip was from Rome and included Vesuvius it was a good agenda.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It is not possible to exaggerate Tuscany’s allure.
It was our good fortune to have signed up for the Day in Tuscany on October 15. The weather was beautiful, the group was small and cordial and Peter was our chaperone.
Although native Italian, Peter studied in the States and his English was flawless. He was also well-versed on Tuscany, living in Rome and his commentary was delivered with good humor.
The experience was well-thought out and our only regret is that our time in Montepulciano, Montalcini and Pienza were all too short. The lunch at the winery was a great idea and a very nice “break” in the very busy day. The time expense of the visit to the monastery was considerable and, while interesting, we would have rather had more time in the three cities.
Overall, it was time and money well spent and a great introduction to the Tuscan region.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It would be hard to improve on this trip. Yes the day is long, but it was well planned and organized and the sites not to be missed. Accompanying Viator guides and local Pompeii guide were outstanding. One warning: The climb up Vesuvius can easily take longer than advertised.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great and interesting tour of Pompeii, the best pizza I've ever eaten, and I can say I climbed an active volcano! Definitely worth the cost, which isn't expensive.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing day trip. Bus took us as high up Mt Vesuvius as it was allowed. It was a 40 minute walk up a 14 degree slope with a number of stops to catch my breath. Able to look down into the crater and still see steam or smoke coming out. Then a 20 minute walk down to where the bus was waiting. A little leery knowing this is still considered an active volcano, although it last erupted in 1944.
The ruins of Pompeii are much bigger then expected. Imagine a city of 20,000 people buried! The stone streets have deep ruts worn in them from many years of wagon wheels. It all came into perspective when we stood in the main city square and saw Mt Vesuvius 7 miles away. Now I can imagine what happened!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome tour from start to finish! We learned a great deal about the history, food/wine, people and geography of the area from our two professional tour guides Stefanie and Hector - Grazie! On site at Pompeii, Giorgio proudly echoed his Family roots as assistants to the archaeologists throughout the restorations. We really enjoyed the walk-through with him and this historical tour. All three guides have a wonderful sense of humour! Hector had us rolling in the bus aisles with his tips on crossing the streets in Rome, paying taxi fare/the drivers and ownership of our dinner table til we ask for the bill/how to ask for the bill if ignored. All could relate to what he was saying. Hilarious!

The pizza for lunch at Tiberious (included with tour) was frankly the best we ate while in Italy. It served us well for the Vesuvius climb! Grazie Antonnio for the amazing drive along some single lane hairpin curves up and down the mountain to the starting point of the climb. Phew! Spectacular view of the crater and the Gulf of Naples! Could even see the distant island of Capri.

It is a full day (7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.) and we highly recommend this tour!

Ted and Monique
Ottawa, Canada

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long bus ride to get there and back but the girls made it very enjoyable and informative, knew when to give us down time for a snooze. Their knowledge and tips on how to pick the best restaurant and cuisine were spot on, tried their tips, worked well!! The tour through Pompeii was exceptional made perfect by our guide "Enrico", his sharp, brilliant wit and knowledge of Pompeii were exceptional. Trip us Mt Vesuvius was challenging, sorry we didn't make it to the top but lots did. Had an excellent day, well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Mara, was highly knowledgeable and very friendly. She talked just the right amount on the bus trip. The meeting place in Rome was easy to find; no confusion like we had on a previous tour. The group was split into two so there were only 20 of us, which was great. We appreciated the half-way stop on the way to and from Naples. Vesuvius was awesome!! We had adequate time to walk up at our own pace. Lunch was great! And Pompeii was everything we had expected and more. Our local guide, Enrico, really brought past events to life for us. We HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I went on this tour back in April this year. It was one of our favourite tours we did in Europe. From the beginning when we met our guide Roberto was fabulous. There were 2 tour guides on the bus with us and they interacted with the all the people and provided a lot of knowledge about all the places we were passing. Pompeii was amazing, the history behind it is unbelievable and the fact that there are still so many remains after so long is crazy. After this we walked up the mount Vesuvius, luckily the weather was only just warm as it is a bit of a hike to get up to the top. but getting to the top is well worth it. The scenery overlooking Naples is breathtaking. This tour is definitely a must do when in Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on this trip. Although a very long day it was well worth it. We were given ample time for exploring at each stop and found our guide Antonella extremely helpful and informative. Our guide in Pompeii shared his extensive knowledge of the area as he guided us through the ruins of the city. At no time did we feel rushed and would definately recommend to others.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

That was truly amazing experience. We had fantastic guides Stephanie and Ettore who were patient, funny and extremely informative, not to mention Vincenzo who guided us through the city of Pompeii and was absolutely amazing.
The trip itself was very long (13 hours) but it was worth every minute. Pompeii and Vesuvius are Italy must sees and we are delighted that we chose this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message