The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1047 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this trip! Mt. Vesuvius was covered in beautiful wildflowers and Pompeii was amazing. I long day, but absolutely worth it. Lifetime memories.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. Elena and Anna were informative during the bus ride out and back. Willie, our local guide at Pompeii was fantastic with a unique sense of humor.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour saw us join up with a 2nd group doing the same tour and shared a bus and our tour guides for the day were Massemo and Robert who were very informative and entertaining and good friends. At Pompeii we split into two groups and our group had a wonderful tour leader who was informative and very funny. We found Pompeii amazing and you could easily spend a day or more there but our few hours there allowed a terrific overview. Lunch was included being pizza and a drink and then onto Vesuvius which we climbed the 1/2 hour to the top for amazing views. Overall a wonderful tour which was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This day trip was wonderful. We enjoyed every second of it. Our Guide, Sarah, gave us information of each area we passed through along the way, she was extremely entertaining. This trip was totally worth every penny.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good day trip. Daniel and Roberto and busdriver get 5 out 5 stars. Myself and my daughter enjoyed the day . Loved the experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip to Pompeii. Everything well organised. Very knowledgable guides that made the trip interesting and fun. Would strongly recommend using this company for any tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just a wonderful day! Antonella was an amazing guide, full of life and information. Not only was I totally engaged in all she had to share with the group, but she also held the attention of my two teenage sons- not an easy feat. Due to a rain storm we were unable to climb Mount Vesuvius but she quickly made alternate plans. The tour of Pompeii fantastic, we were so glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went smoothly on this tour, even the weather played along giving us a clear view after our climb to the top of Vesuvius. Our tour guides Daniel and Ettore were very entertaining and informative making the long bus trip pass quickly. With the new parking shemozzle on the Vesuvius access road, making this trip on our own would have been confusing, frustrating and difficult whereas our trusty guides had us out of the gridlocked bus and on up the path in no time. Ettore's colourful commentary on the situation was a hilarious highlight of the day rivalled only by his dissertation on early Roman toilet habits.

Although we'd spent the previous week on the Amalfi coast we made the decision to do Pompeii from Rome as taking public transport from where we were staying involved both bus and train travel and deciphering timetables and connections etc. We're so glad we did as the day trip was an efficient and excellent use of time and we otherwise wouldn't have climbed Vesuvius and visited Pompeii on the same day thus missing one or the other.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was really convenient. We all met at Piazza del Popolo in Rome and loaded on air conditioned buses. We had a comfort stop half way to the volcano and again on the return trip. We had excellent guides that gave us a lot of history of the region as we traveled to our destinations. They watched over us as we climbed Vesuvius and kept us together at Pompeii. We had a very experienced guide at Pompeii. This tour took all the guess work out of navigating the transportation to Pompeii from Rome. It was a very comfortable tour. I plan to look into the tours they give in other places as I travel.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the early start (7.15am). Comfortable coach which we shared with another tour group doing the same trip. Both guides shared their knowledge and stories along the way. Wonderful. Pompeii was something else - wow!! For this we had a local guide and again her knowledge and stories gave us a very much enhanced perspective. Traditional pizza lunch at a very pleasant restaurant in Naples. Then along the narrow, winding road to Mt Vesuvius. That in itself was quite an experience and had us gasping. The walk to the crater took us about 30mins. It was steep, a little hard but the views are so worth the effort. Exhilarating when you get right to the top. Yay!!! You don't have to go all the way though and there are two or three 'stations' along the way where you can take a break. Coming down is the same route as going up. Mostly a quiet trip on the way back to Rome; occasional commentary rousing us from dozing off. A real highlight. Must do.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip. I was expecting it to be a bit gruelling as it's almost 3 hours each way but we had a rest break and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining.
At Pompeii we switched to local guides so we had the benefit of their knowledge as well.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far the best of the day trips we took from Rome. Our guide Pete was great, had extensive knowledge of the winery and some of the do's/don'ts to watch out for in Rome. The country side is very beautiful in this section of Italy. They start you out w/a guided walk though of a small town called "Monte Pulciano". Then there was a quick stop to observe the "Chanting Priests", and then it's on to the winery for a simple but delicious lunch in the wine cellar where they poured at least four of the wines they make. The wines were also available in their gift shop at reasonable prices. Last stop was a very small town called "Comuni Di Pienza" where an hour of free time is granted. It was a full day, but we had a great time...

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This guide was amazing. His knowledge of Italy, Rome and Pompeii was fantastic. He was very entertaining and had a great sense of humor (and he will tell you, a sexy voice). Pompeii is not to be missed. The climb to the top of Mt. Vesuvius was spectacular and everyone made it up and back. We had a great day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Although this a thirteen hour trip it was well worth it. i went with my granddaughter who is eleven years old and there was plenty to interest us both. the climb to the top of Vesuvius was steep but manageable even for a senior. the views at the top were worth the climb. Pompeii is amazing - there is real sense of history. The tour guides were excellent providing a lot of information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message