The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1096 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A long day, but well worth the time. Pompeii and getting to climb to the rim of Vesuvius was very memorable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was worth the 3 hour drive. Not only was the drive through the country side delightful, but the history lessons along the way were fun and entertaining. The walk up Mt. Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart, but the view was spectacular and also very satisfying. Be aware that most of the articles from Pompeii actually are housed in the Naples museum, but enough is at the site to make it worthwhile.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really good tour. Tuscany villages well worth a visit. Wine tasting and lunch very enjoyable. Great day!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding. Massimo and Sara were knowledgeable and very entertaining. A great team ably supported by Alberto to whom I raise my hat. There is no way I would drive up to the volcano in that chaos. Pompei guide very good. I would go again if onlY to be so well entertained again. The delights of Pompeii and Vesuvius are an added bonus.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lindy was a wonderful tour guide. Smart, quick and sassy in a very excellent way. We had a great experience with her and enjoyed Tuscany (Montepulcino and Piensa), the abbey and winery very much. One of the best guides from our entire trip.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a brilliant tour. The 3 hour coach journey from Rome was really pleasant and didn't seem to be that long. Our tour guides, Eleanor and Robert were just superb. Robert was an archaeologist and was very knowledgeable, and funny with it! It was like having a history lesson every step of the way, and we really enjoyed that aspect. There was so much interesting information shared throughout the day and we absolutely loved it. It was a long day, about 13 hours, but well worth every minute. Pompeii is just an amazing place and should not be missed. Thank you Robert and Eleanor, we will never forget this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and so was the food! A long ride though to Tuscany.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and although a long day, the guides Luca and Mike made the trip extremely enjoyable and informative. The local guide in Pompeii was very knowledgeable and his own enthusiasm for the city really shone through. The lunch included was also delicious. And Vesuvious a must see.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was really worth it! Had a good time going up the volcano and Pompeii is amazing. I have been to other world heritage sites and this is really different... A place frozen in time. The trip was made even more fun by our tour guides Maximo and Violet who have shared many information and facts for the whole duration of trip and they are very knowledgable, experienced guides. Probably the best tour guides I've encountered so far. Good job Maximo and Violet!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pompeii with Vesuvius was a real deal, good guides, in small groups, individual attention, and space to do your own exploration as well. Just great!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well planned. Tour guide was excellent lunch was great. The bus very clean. Climbed Mt vesuvius in the morning and toured Pompeii city after lunch.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I did this trip and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Our tour guides - Stephanie and Violet - were professional, knowledgeable and friendly – Violet in particular had a great sense of humour! At the end of the trip, they even walked the length of the coach, asking every single person if they had any questions about the trip, Rome, or other excursions, even giving out helpful recommendations for local restaurants.

The drive up to mount Vesuvius is good fun, but TERRIFYING!! (Don’t look down if you’re scared of heights!). Fortunately we had a brilliant bus driver, who handled the perilous hairpin turns with skill. Once at the drop off point, the walk to the top of the crater is hard work in the heat (taking about 25 mins), but worth it for the views over the Bay of Naples, Pompeii and Naples city. A tip though - WEAR TRAINERS! (I did this climb in sandals and it’s not fun, as the path is made of a loose ashy like dirt, which can become slippery on the way down.)

The pizza lunch was very well-organised and you have the choice of 3 pizzas. Orders are taken on the coach, so upon arrival at the restaurant there is only a short wait to be served. The pizza was tasty, too!

Pompeii was excellent. The tour guide was very informative and we learnt lots. Pompeii is the kind of place where you need a tour guide to bring it all to life – otherwise you’re looking at a lot of ruins which don’t mean much to the average visitor. As it was, Pompeii is absolutely fascinating and well worth a visit.

The actual bus journey to Pompeii was comfortable, though there were no toilets on board the coach! You do however, have a stop halfway (after 1 hour 30) at an excellent service station in Cassino, so loos and snacks/drinks are never too far away! (There are also toilets at Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius, though only port-a-loos at Vesuvius, and expect to pay 50c). As for the trip duration; unusually, we actually arrived back into Rome at the advertised time. Amazing!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic Tour. A great day well spent. From beginning to end we were well taken care of by our fantastic guide Robert. Robert is extremely knowledgable and interesting as well as being a very nice person to spend the day with . Our Pompeii guide was also fantastic. Thoroughly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

had a fantastic day, it was just me and my boyfriend, wen we arrived our tour guides violet and robert were welcoming and friendly and made the history so interesting and told some great stories too! pompeii was awesome and mt vesuvius even better. take a good camera!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We got to Pompeii on the anniversary of the Mt Vesuvius eruption. The tour guides made the whole trip quite interesting - they even delivered event the geological aspects of the volcanic catastrophe with gusto. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message