• USD ($)
  • English
The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1015 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed this tour to Tuscany very much. It was one of the highlights of our trip. The tour guide Peter was a great guide and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great tour into Tuscany giving us an insight into this beautiful area. Loved the towns, the church and the meal.
We had a great tour guide who entertained us with the history of Rome and the Tuscany area we visited from our departure to our arrival back to Rome.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I wish that there was an option for 10 stars, because I would rate it 10/5!!!! absolutely spectacular trip. It helped that we had an Awesome guide, Rob, who kept us entertained with historic tales and gave us sooooo much of information on everything, including the geological effect of Pompeii. Its a hard thing to do, in the middle of summer, keeping the attention of all your ppl for 13 hrs! and he did that so well! City wonders, you are so blessed to have Rob working for you!
The walk up to Versuvius, the pizza in Napoli, visiting the ruins in Pompeii, there are no words to describe the experience, it has to be experienced! It was an experience that I will never forget and I am so glad that we did it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous day trip from Rome. The guides were fabulous - very, very knowledgable and also very funny. Although the day was a little overcast we still had an enjoyable hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius. However the highlight of the day was Pompeii! We could have stayed there the whole day looking around the place. Our guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. Great value for money and highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Giorgio showed his knowledge and understanding of Pompeii in an entertaining way.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A stress-free way to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Our guide, Violet, was terrific--witty, knowledgeable, and very energetic. She met us at Piazza del Popolo and kept us engaged, informed and entertained all the way to Pompeii. The guide who joined our group in the ruins really knew her stuff. She brought us through key locations at an easy pace, showed us details that would have been easy to overlook, and gave us plenty of time to stroll around and take photos. She really brought this city back to life. Without her insights it would have been hard to make heads or tails of what we were seeing, had we chosen to explore Pompeii on our own.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mike. the tour leader was very informative and friendly. Enzo, the guide for Pompeii, was very knowledgeable and an excellent guide. Mt Vesuvius was awe inspiring.
A long day but a great experience that I'd highly recommend

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic tour! Tour guide Mike was brilliant - informative, funny and helpful. Walking up Vesuvius and around the crater is amazing - quite a hike up, especially in around 35 degrees, but SO worth it! DO take their advice to buy your cold water from the bus driver - the 'cold' drinks at the top are not really cold and are way more pricey. Pompeii is just awesome - really well organised, each with your own headset, and our Pompeii guide, Willie, was the best ever - so knowledgeable, very quick witted, funny, loads of stories and so many little details pointed out. On the way back to Rome, we were given lots of helpful tips and suggestions about good places to eat 'real Italian', or rather real 'Roman'. Highly recommended - we would happily do it all again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Sarah our tour guide was fantastic, very funny and knowledgable. She also climbed Mount Vesuvius which we thought was pretty impressive (especially in heels!) This was a very well organised tour from start to finish. The local guide in Pompeii was great, and made the tour interesting and humourous. Lunch was provided with a small green salad, choice between two pizza's and one soft drink. The pizza was pretty good, and we were given plenty of time to eat and relax before conquering Mount Versuvius! The climb for Versuvius is steep and slippery - wear decent shoes! However there are lots of places to stop along the way to catch your breath and take a great photo! This was a highlight of out Italian tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great day trip from Rome to Pompeii/Mount Vesuvius. We were staying within walking distance of the Piazza di Popolo where we met our guide Anna and boarded the bus. The ride went quickly with Anna dn Ettore giving great background on the area and the sites wew were about to enjoy. A half-way break in Cassino was welcome. The tour of Pompeii was one of the best parts of our Italy trip, though a little rushed and quite crowded. I would have enjoyed another hour or so to explore the ruins. After a delicious pizza lunch, we headed over to the volcano. The hike to the top was well worth it. An awesome view of the Bay of Naples. The ride home was quick. All in all a freat day trip. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We have been on a lot of tours, and this was by far the ABSOLUTE BEST ! We were in Rome and wanted to see a glimpse of Tuscany. Well we got that and so much more. It was truly fabulous. Visiting Montepulciano was spectacular, driving thru the beautiful countryside to the Abbey and listening to the Monks chant was so moving and a once in a lifetime experience, the fantastic lunch in a private Tuscan villa with just the 20 or so of us was simply the best, and the beautiful town of Pienza we stopped at was so picturesque that we kept wowing every time we turned a corner. Lastly, our guide Peter - unbelievable! One of the most knowledgeable people of Italian history I've ever met, but more importantly a really nice guy. He spoke fluent English and Italian and couldn't have been more helpful. If you do any tour in Rome, you must do this one with City Wonders and Peter as your guide. You'll love it.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour. Hectoro and Antonella were great hosts. It's a long day (13 hours), but totally worth it. It's about a 3-hour ride on the bus to Vesuvius, with a stop halfway for a breakfast and bathroom break. You hike up the top part of Vesuvius. It's about a 25-minute hike, and it is pretty steep. Definitely don't wear flip flops, and if you're out of shape, it could be tough. The pizza lunch was better than I expected, and the tour of Pompeii was unbelievable. It's so expansive, and our tour guide Louisa really knew her stuff. Put this trip on your list if you have a day free. One bit of advice -- use the restrooms you come across during the Pompeii tour if you can. At the end of the tour, there are only 2 bathrooms, and it was utter chaos for the hundreds of people who finished the tour and waited. There are a few scattered around the old city.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great day out thanks to Antonella and Daniel for their wonderful commentary. The bus trip and the lunch were great, but the climbing Mt Vesuvius and walking through the streets of Pompeii were absolutely breathtaking. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in history or nature. A truly brilliant day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We met at 7:30 AM in Piazza de Popolo. There were two groups on the same bus. We were given a little bit of info then the guides Violet and Mara let the group sleep. We stopped for a snack/bathroom break. Following that we were given information about lunch and the tour of Pompeii. We arrived and were met by the local guide. This guy was great. What a sense of humor and more good information about the sight. Lunch then followed. Afterwards off to the volcano Vesuvius. The road going to the midway point was incredibly windy, but the bus had no problems. We were given over an hour to clim to the top and then return to the bus. On the way back to Rome we stopped at the same place as in the morning. Great tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Day trip to Vesuvius is a long day from Rome but well worth it. Our Tour Guides Louise and Massimo were fantastic, they gave us time to chill in the morning until we stopped for coffee then on the second part of the bus journey they took us through background to what we were going to see and also the areas we were travelling through. They were both very informative and very funny. Our first stop was Mount Vesuvius, this is a good trek up to the top but worth it. Then we went for dinner which was quickly served and we had good options of pizza and drinks to choose from, and the guides were good to point out that extra drinks here were expensive. then we went a short drive to Pompeii, on this tour we had a local guide as well as Louise, his name was Willie and he was sooo funny, one of the most entertaining tour guides we have ever had, he kept a smile on our face all the way round, however still giving us a very good insight into the story of Pompeii.

I would highly recommend this tour, the guides were fantastic, they made the day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message