• USD ($)
  • English
The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Tuscany tour led by Ettore was marvelous! Our guide was a wealth of information about the Tuscan area, wine, and travel in Rome. We visited the charming town of Montepulciano where a knowledgeable local guide gave us a tour of the town pointing out the highlights. Then on to visit a beautiful Abbey before having a fabulous wine tasting lunch in a wine cellar near Montalcino. After, we had free time in the lovely town of Pienza. Tuscany is absolutely beautiful and this tour did not disappoint. However, our guide, Ettore was the true gem that day!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I really enjoyed my day trip to Pompeii from Rome! The guides were very friendly and helpful, the food at the restaurant was delicious, and our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowledgeable and hilarious. However, you do not get to spend much time in any one spot, so be prepared to walk quickly! We were constantly being corralled by our guides because we needed to move on to the next destination. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We planned to spend the week in Rome, but booked this one-day bus tour of Tuscany so that we could see some of the country side. This was a great tour! We met up at the Piazza del Popolo at 7:30 the morning of the tour. That in itself turned out to be a great starting place, because later in the week when we came across this piazza it was packed with people! The bus was comfortable, and our guide gave us background information on the way to our first destination, a charming little city in the hills of Tuscany. There, we were met by another guide, Klaus, who is a German transplant resident of the town. He pointed out the highlights and showed us the town cathedral. A local wine maker came out and greeted Klaus and wanted us all to know that he had been in the shot of the scene from a movie that was filmed there. It was a hike up the medieval cobble-stone roads to the top of this town, not the best for a disabled person. Then back on the bus, we then headed to the Abbey at Saint Antimo, a picture-perfect spot in Tuscany where we were privileged to hear some monks doing Gregorian chants inside the ancient church. Then we wandered a bit, marveling at the scenery. Then off we went to a winery, where we had a delicious lunch in the wine cellar. Note: if you have to use the bathroom, do so before you sit down, as there was no room to get up once everyone was seated. Then on to the last village, the town of Pienza. It too, was absolutely charming, with stunning views, friendly shop keepers, and picturesque winding streets. Then back on the bus and back to Rome by about 7:30PM. It was a wonderful way to spend the day, cover a lot of territory and see a contrasting lifestyle to the hustle and bustle of Rome and Florence. But a word of caution: there are steep hills and steps without railings. So if you have trouble walking, or are in a wheel chair, take this into consideration.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolute highlight of my holiday! Not only were we in a incredible surrounding but we had the most fantastic tour guide Enzo (excuse the spelling) who shared all his brilliant knowledge about Pompeii in a fabulously entertaining dialogue all throughout the tour of the city. It made the tour one hundred times more fascinating to understand what it was you were looking at, along with all the hilarious tidbits thrown in. Sarah our group leader was wonderful in arranging the day for the group. She too made the tour extra special by sharing intriguing facts about the areas we were driving from, through and to - an added delight as our bus journey was near 3 hours long. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting a fun and fantastically informative day around this area, with the bonus of seeing some breathtaking scenery and history of course! Would not hesitate to sign up for more trips run by Dark Rome Tours/City Wonders, worth very cent! Thank you!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We went during our christmas vacation. A long day, with 3 hours on the bus each way! But, thanks to our guides the time on the bus went fast. Seriana and Robert gave relevant information and "history lessons" on Rome and the landscape as we went along. Lunch and coffestops were fitted in nicely. As for Pompeii, it is crowded (even more so during the summer). Our guide, and the "radio in your ear" gave us good information. The museum in Naples completed the tour in a good way.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was awesome. The wine and the food was delicious. Also included in this tour is a trip to Montecello and another small town. At Montecello you have a guided tour through the city. Another small town that we stopped in after the vineyard was neat too. We did some shopping and purchased cheese and bread while we were there. The whole trip was very good. We did not know that this trip included 2 other stops besides the vineyard so it was quite a nice surprise for us. The tour guide was super nice and very informative. We also stopped in an abbey in the middle of Tuscany to listen to a gregorian chant. That was very neat to witness since I am not catholic. All in all it was a very good trip and I would definitely recommend it. We traveled in December and it was a lil colder in Tuscany then in Rome so bundle up if you decide to travel during that time!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had the best time on this tour! Our tour guide Gio was amazing, friendly, upbeat, highly knowledgeable and fun! She had in depth knowledge of Tuscany and made the trip wonderful. We went to a Abby and saw Gregorian Monks chant 9th century prays, stopped at a hilltop village called Montepuchano for a tour and learned about how the town came to be. We learned about the best wine Bruinela, and visited the winery in
Montalcino for a fabulous lunch inside the winery. We got to sample four of their best wines while dining in this incredible place.
We sampled Cantucci a biscotti like cookie and shopped in
Piennza a small town that sold a lot of hand made pasta, cheeses, olive oil and wine alone with hand made items like soaps and crockery and leather goods.
It really was so much fun, the views of Tuscany were incredible! We feel very fortunate that we experienced this tour. Gio was very helpful in making sure we all knew where to meet, what history was important to point out and upon leaving the bus at the end of tour she made sure we all knew where we were going to get back to our hotels. She gave us recommendations of where the regulars go to eat and shop in Rome. I highly recommend viator.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We loved Willy our tour guide in Pompeii, and Valentina our guide from Rome to Pompeii! The trip was everything we expected and more. The ruins were much more extensive, and some parts better preserved than we had imagined. It was an experience that we can now check off our bucket list.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The day trip to Pompeii was great and the tour guides Sara and Giovanna were fantastic, engaging and very informative. We had to make a call to Peugeot Leasing and Sara allowed us to use her phone, as we had only got into Rome the day before and had not had the opportunity to organise mobile phones. I would thoroughly recommend this tour. Tricia, Mark, Liam and Sophie. Adelaide South Australia

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic tour, one of the highlights of our vacation! We were lucky enough to be in a small group of 7 for the trip, so it felt more like traveling with friends than a guided tour. The tour guide was really great and very knowledgeable, and the tour van was a Mercedes-Benz, so we got to travel in style.

The description of the tour package isn't terribly helpful, so here is the breakdown of the trip:
- 2 hour drive north from Rome, the first hour isn't very exciting but once you get into the Tuscany hillside it's breathtaking
- First stop: Montepulciano, an idyllic little town on top of a hill with some incredible views of the countryside. 1-hour tour of the town with a local guide.
- Next stop: Montalcino, to visit an abbey and hear the Gregorian chants of the local monks there. We got there early and had some time to explore the abbey grounds as well.
- Right next door is the vineyard you will go to for lunch and a 5-wine tasting. The food and wine are both fantastic, everyone in our group bought some wine to take home, it's just THAT good.
- Last stop: Pienza, a slightly more touristy hillside town with tons of shops and restaurants, you have an hour of free time to explore, go shopping, or eat some local cuisine.
- Total trip time is about 13 hours, expect to get back into Rome around 8 pm

Overall it was a great trip, a must-do while in Italy!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guides Peter and Anna were very knowledgeable and engaging. Our break halfway down to Pompeii and then back to Rome made the 3 hour bus ride less intense. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a fantastic fun filled day Our tours guides Mike and his female guide(sorry I have forgotten her name). They were the best tour guides we have had .Although it was a very long day it was fantastic and the day was full of information on the history of Pompeii Mt Versuvius Naples and Rome and Italy as a whole. I wish Mike had have been my History teacher at school it would have been fun. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

J+H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Not being lovers of organised tours, my husband and I weren't sure what to expect but we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Our tour guide Sarah and the specialist Pompeii guide Gennaro were both fantastic. Gennaro was extremely knowledgeable and clearly passionate about the site and he made the ruins come to life. Praise also to the bus driver who made us feel safe and comfortable in sometimes extreme conditions. We have already recommended this tour to friends travelling to Rome next year.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message