The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 986 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

FYI: If you plan the walk up to the top of Mount Vesuvius make sure you wear closed shoes. Flip flops will be a problem walking on the loose gravel and dirt. Very hot at Pompeii. Bus driver will have water for 1 Euro. Bring a hat. 3 hour bus ride from Rome. Rest stop half way. Pizza lunch with drink included.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides (Peter and Stephanie) were fantastic. They were so knowledgeable and enhanced the trip with lots of facts about the region on the bus ride. Willy the guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable and quite entertaining as well. We thoroughly enjoyed the hole day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our Pompeii and Vesuvius tour was AWESOME! Mossimo an Luisa are the best tour guides. They are incredibly knowledgable of Italy's history and are funny to boot! We would definitely recommend and cannot wait for our next trip to Rome, so we can book them for a different tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Trip very well organised. Guides Cyriana and Violet were extremely knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. Although a long day the coach was comfortable and Pompeii and Vesuvious worth the trek.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience! Lindy was amazing as a guide - a lot of knowledge and very entertaining! Definitely recommend as a day trip if you're in Rome!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We almost didn't do this one, but my oldest daughter really wanted to see Pompeii. We were so glad we did! This was simply awesome. Roberto and Massimo were awesome tour guides and supplied so much historical information that it really made our trip fun and educational. If you haven't seen Pompeii - it is quite amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The last day trip scheduled for my family during our two week European trip was the Tuscany on One Day Tour. We loved it!!!! Our tour guide Anna was the best! She brought much enthusiasm to the tour and provided many interesting facts along the way. I only wish we took the tour at the beginning of the Rome portion of our trip because Anna provided a lot of useful tips (where to eat, etc.). The tour itself was great - we saw beautiful scenery, visited two historic towns and had a delicious meal / wine tasting at a local winery. Would definitely book this tour again.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thought the 2 girls who showed us around Pompeii were very knowledgeable and there English was excellent

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an incredible experience! Our tour guide was knowledgeable and funny. The scenery was breathtaking and the experience unforgettable. The lunch was delicious as well. The size of the tour was nice and the headsets a great touch, even though the group wasn't huge. Overall a great time! I would highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A most interesting and enjoyable day. We were met by a pleasant and friendly rep who kept watch on us all day to ensure we didn't get lost! At Pompeii we were escorted around by a knowledgeable guide who gave us information without asking us questions as many guides do! Following a tasty pizza lunch it was off to Vesuvius. The climb was quite steep and took about 35 minutes but we did have time to walk around the crater and buy souvenirs and ice creams before getting back on our comfortable coach for the return journey. We stopped for coffee/tea for a short while on both outward and return journeys. Our total time on the trip was about 13 hours.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was Roberto...fabulous, outstanding, great sense of humour and a wealth of information, more than we remotely ever expected. The bus ride which at first we weren't looking forward to went so incredibly quickly thanks to Roberto.
Mt.Vesuius...that was a hike!!! While we were given ample time to climb the mountain, one does have to pace themselves and be happy knowing they made it to whatever level they did. Phenomenal views of the bay of Naples, great pictures, and a sense of accomplishment for climbing up the volcano.
Pompeii...outstanding!!!!:) our local guide Enrico...okee, doo kee!!! and Ba Bini!!! He was fabulous...he needs to be acknowledged immensely. Great history, told with passion. Thanks, Enrico.
Would highly recommend this tour..push your limits!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was amazing! Two very talented guys - Maximo and Roberto made a perfect show all the time we were in the bus. In Pompeii we met a very good guide who shows us this old place making us feeling real life, which was so tragically abandoned here. After his stories you can see a crowds of people on the street, a working shops, smokes from the houses, therms. It was really good. Only one thing made us sad - entrance to Vezuvii was closed this day, but it wasn't the fault of the guys who have organised the trip. But we have a really good time. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a fabulous trip. We had Mike as our guide and he made the day very entertaining. The guide we had in Pompeii was also excellent throwing in a lot of fun stuff during the tour. Climbing Mount Vesuvius was challenging but it was worth the effort as the views were amazing. Even though the bus broke down on the way home it didn't spoil the trip and 'hats off' to the team for sorting it out quickly and without a lot of hassle. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and i went on the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome in June 2014. We had the most amazing time. The group was easy to meet in Piazza del Popolo and the air conditioned tour bus was not parked far away (no bathroom on the bus). It is about a 3 hour drive to Mt. Vesuvius where we started our tour with a hike to the top - takes about 25 minutes - pretty steep incline but absolutely doable - i would recommend wearing sneakers though as the trail is a lot of tiny crushed pebbles - can be slippery. You do stop about 1.5 hours into the trip for a bathroom break where you can also buy food. Our tour guide, Massimo, was amazing. He talked to us on the way to Mt. Vesuvious about lots of fun facts, stories, and myths about Rome and Pompeii - really interesting and animated story teller - made the bus ride go fast. Pompeii is only a 25min drive from Mt. Vesuvius. You get lunch first (really good personal pizzas) and then tour the city ruins - pretty amazing stuff. Tour guides in Pompeii vary in how good they are, but that is outside of Viator's control as they do not provide the tour guides in the city of Pompeii. Overall we had a great day trip to Pompeii and would definitely recommend the trip to others - request Massimo as your tour guide if possible :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed our trip, was blown away by how well preserved Pompeii was. This was the one both me and my husband were looking forward to. The views from mount vesivius are amazing, im really unfit so was tough climbing up at first but worth it. The guides who took us through were so informative we were in the purple group with Violet. She was knowledgeable, helpful and really took the time to tell us about Rome, Pompeii and mount vesivius. She also helped us book other trips and recommended different ways to get to the sights. When at Pompeii we had Louisa, she was also fantastic. Really knew her stuff. I would so recommend the tours otherwise you would miss the importance of different things. The sight is huge and they help you see the important things and really give you a sense of how it was. Definetly recommend this trip and a big thanks to the guides as they made the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message