Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 616 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was very informative, the tour guides had lots of fun information for the coach journey and was lovely to listen about lots of other places as well as Rome and Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Antonella was a very good guide along with her partner forget the name currently They gave us a nice account of history along the bus route with much information about the areas we drove through. They helped us out with restaurant choices in Rome. They even talked to us about Venice and Florence. They were very good with English. The actual tour through Pompeii was incredible. The insite into the development of the city of Pompeii, the recount of the eruption, the relics shown were all amazing. The tour was the highlight of our Rome vacation. We made the trek from the bus stop to the top of Vesuvius. It was a good view of the Volcano no lava or steam and vista of Naples though cloudy. This trip is well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent day trip by bus from Rome to Pompeii, including a vigorous hike up to the crater of Mt Vesuvius. Our guide spoke perfect English and shared many stories and much information on trip both to and from Pompeii. She was also personally very helpful providing me with train information and protocol for our next day's journey. The guide who showed us around Pompeii was excellent, pointing out many interesting facts that we would have missed had we toured on our own. One could spend days exploring Pompeii, but he made the visit both efficient and thorough.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great day. The guides had the day perfectly organized. They were easy to understand and very knowledgeable. They gave us time to be quiet on the bus and rest. We stopped halfway about 1.5 hours into the drive at Casino for a snack and potty break both coming and going back to Rome. We were happy to be able to leave a bag with extra shoes on the bus instead of having to carry everything all day. Lunch was good but we were happy the restaurant let my husband chose spaghetti instead of pizza. They actually seemed happy about that as their ovens must have been overwhelmed with pizzas. I think that should be offered-three choices: two kinds of pizza or spaghetti. We liked the salads too. The climb to Mount Vesuvius was not too bad even in the heat with the breeze off the water. The guides were right that you need about 30 minutes to get down the Mount too. It's slippery on loose gravel coming down so you have to be slow and steady about it. Pompeii was wonderful. They have a local guide who takes you through Pompeii and the other guide stays along as well. It was very interesting and full of many facts. We went to five cities in three countries and this was definitely one of our favorite days. Definitely worth the bus ride. We wished the bus had wifi as our bus did on a day trip in London.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tiring! Be prepared for a lot of walking but rewards at the end are priceless.

Thanks to Amanda for all the tips of the foreigners rome! Great guides in Pompeii too!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An early start but it was definitely worth it! It was scorching hot but our affable knowledgeable guide at Pompeii whilst showing and telling us about key sites was very considerate and he tried to keep us in the shade when possible. Pompeii was fabulous - to see well preserved buildings and objects on such a scale in context not in a museum. Our guide brought it to life. You could spend all day there! After our visit to Pompeii we had a tasty pizza lunch nearby. We then were taken nearly all the way up Vesuvius and had 1.5 hours free time - to walk to the crater and enjoy the views. The walk to the first viewing point shop where you can buy drinks, ices as well as souvenirs is the longer stretch to the crater loose pumice and dusty on a fairly steep path - good exercise but strenuous in the heat so make sure you have water at the start. Don't worry about getting to the 3rd the last viewing point on the rim of the crater as you can enjoy the same views from the 2nd viewing point on the rim also has a shop.We thoroughly enjoyed our day out. Highly recommend this well-planned tour.Our guides on the coach and for Vesuvius, Anna and Amanda were very knowledgeable, humorous and kept a steady flow of info on sites as we passed as well as passing on snippets about living in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Anna and Antonella from City Wonders were excellent guides and provided so much useful information about both the tour and about Rome. The tour was really well run and there were no problems. The tour guide of Pompeii was also excellent and informative and the radio system worked well. We were given adequate time to have lunch, and to get to the top of Vesuvius and back we made it to the 3rd shop at the top! It was a fun day out and was definitely worth it. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic, one of the absolute highlights of my trip!! We departed on time from our meeting point in Rome in a comfortable bus. Our guide, Andy, was FABULOUS and kept us entertained with stories during the 3-hour drive down to Vesuvius and back. On the way down, we stopped at a very nice cafe with clean bathrooms for a bathroom break and optional coffee and croissants RECOMMENDED. Andy pointed out various sights along the way and told us stories of the volcanic eruption, the Appian Way, Spartacus' Revolt, and other stories relating to landmarks that we passed. We then had a very winding drive up most of Mount Vesuvius, followed by a 40 minute hike up Vesuvius to see the crater. Next, a delicious pizza lunch in Naples, after which we drove to Pompeii where an Italian guide took over and gave us a 2-hour walking tour of the remains with intriguing commentary, creating vivid scenes in our minds about how life used to be in 79 A.D. Make sure you see the erotic frescoes. Finally, we hopped back on our bus for the 3-hour drive home, with another rest stop at the same plush cafe. We heard plenty more historical stories on the way back, so all the driving didn't seem burdensome in any way. This tour was the final icing on the cake of my 10 days in Italy, a real treat not to be missed!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended - Packed a lot into limited time. Tour guides were excellent Anna and Luca. Our driver Marius did an amazing job of getting us up Mount Vesuvius - narrow, twisty road! Great way of getting to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Fabulous pizza at lunch time. Whole trip worth the money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and the volcano and not have to worry about transportation. We were staying in Rome and wanted an easy/relaxed way to get down to Pompeii. A bus tour was great. Climbing to the top of Vesuvius was a plus! It is bit more of a hike than I expected. Kind of steep, but totally doable. Loved the views.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour to Naples and especially Pompeii was unforgettable. We were picked up at our hotel at 07:00 in the morning and we were back at our hotel at 21:00. We got to see Naples through the bus windows so to speak with one breef stop at the marina harbour, where we could see over the bay over to Capri and Vesuvio, a beautiful view. Our main aim by taking this tour was to see Pompeii, and what an experience. To think that over two thousand years ago man had allready planned cities with streets, main streets, multi storey high buildings, snack bars and last but not least with drainage- and plumbing systems. The only difference between Pompeii anno AD 78 and the modern city is the invention and use of electricity. Nothing else. It's amazing. Next trip to Rome will defenatelly include a revisit to Pompeii, there is so much unseen.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, picked us up from hotel on time, friendly tour guide, as advised we stopped from breakfast and went to the coast and Pompeii. Great day out as you see the coast and embark on a road trip you would probably not normally do if staying in Rome as its a long journey!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Pompeii tour was amazing!! Definitely worth doing. If you are a Pompeii lover you should consider staying over night there so you can do a longer tour of Pompeii because there is so much to see. Otherwise the day trip from Rome covered a lot! The ride down had beautiful scenic views and our tour guide was so energetic and taught us about the history along the way they also let us nap considering you leave so early. The halfway point you stop at on the way there and back gets a lot of visits from buses so if you have to use the restroom go first because you may not have time if you buy food first so you may want to bring a little snack for the ride. I thought the souvenirs were better outside of Pompeii then at Mount Vesuvius if you're looking to buy anything. After Pompeii we had a fabulous lunch and then headed to Vesuvius. The hike wasn't as long as I expected but was still a good exercise which you will need after eating a whole pizza pie yourself! because the grade was so steep. Definitely a trip you need to wear good shoes on. There is basically no bathroom at Mount Vesuvius so keep that in mind when you are leaving lunch at the restaurant. On the way back our tour guide also went around and helped people book more tours in Rome that they still had open and gave you a discount too which was awesome. Overall a great experience!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Trip to Pompeii was Great and a Must See! Our 2 tour guides Julia and Silia were Fantastic very informative not only about our trip to Pompeii but about everything else in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip! Stephanie was very personable and knew her tour. Julia and Romel the driver were fabulous too!! The tour was very educational for our family...Pompeii was awesome as was the hike up Vesuvius.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant experience!! Was debating whether to do such a long trip during a short break to Rome 5days however the 3 hour coach ride there and back was completely worth it! Was I tired at the end of the day..sure but the culture and experience was well worth it! Guides were fantastic, made the journey seem a lot shorter than it was, Roberts stories about old rome/Pompeii were brilliant. The lady guide was fantastic as well sorry forgotten name. Highly recommend climbing Vesuvius! Knackering but views were insane!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend this trip! It was such a great learning experience. Our guide team was very knowledgeable and fun a great combination! Pompeii was amazing. I have been reading about it for years and it did not disappoint. The guide we had at Pompeii was also amazing! For amyone traveling to Rome I recommend booking this trip it more then worth the time and money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very big day but it was fabulous, loved the Amalfi Coast, our driver was excellent and our trip to Pompeii was incredible, our guide was amazing, so much knowledge. It is an early start and didn't get back to Rome until 8.45 pm but we had a great day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and educational tour. We were provided a lot of information during the day, not only on Pompeii, but also about Rome. We thoroughly enjoyed it and thought the tour guides did a fantastic job!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a long day but well worth it. The bus ride stops for a break so you can go to the bathroom and get a snack. The walk up Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart. It is a steady incline they say 20, but it sure seems steeper. There is not much of a level rest area in throughout the trek. Still worth it for the view of the crater and the surrounding sights including Naples. The bus ride up and down is harrowing in and of itself. The lunch is hearty. Each person got a whole pizza and salad and drink. We had a gluten free member and the restaurant was accommodating. After a nice lunch there was a quick bus ride to Pompeii. The guide was wonderful. Gave us a lot of great information with flare and comedy when needed. Everyone received a headset which worked outstanding. We walked for about 75 minutes. Really the highlight of the trip. We were all exhausted and we stopped on the way back from Rome at the stop area we did on the way up. We spent some extra time here for purchase of souvenirs and drinks. It did take about 13 hours for the entire trip. Cannot say anything bad. The local guides on the bus gave us tips about some places to eat and visit in Rome. Fantastic, but exhausting day. Would definitely recommend this tour if you have Pompeii and Vesuvius on your list of attractions to see while in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A long day but so worth it. The tour guide Stephanie and Becky were amazing, so informative about Rome and Italy in general. They explained the structure of the day clearly including when/how rest stops. They were very informative about what to expect walking up Vesuvius explaining the x3 points and being realistic in your expectations. It was a tough walk and I was close to giving up before the first point, but I did get to the top. Back on the coach most did not get to the top but seemed very happy to have walked a part of it. Lunch was good, gave everyone a chance to recover. You sit at group tables so for me travelling alone was ideal as I has people to chat to. The guide in Pompeii Vincenzo was very informative. He gave plenty of time for picture taking before moving on. It really was a great day. The only thing to bear in mind was that in early June it was really hot by 3pm in Pompeii it had got to over 30. This does distract you from the tour so I would recommend going earlier in the year.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we had a fab time . the tour guides where very informative and friendly. i would say to anyone who is visiting rome and they have time to book this tour. pompeii was amazing and the walk up mount vesuvius gave you some stuning views. all in all we are glad we did this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was probably the best tour that I took in Italy. It is cumbersome to get transportation from Rome to Naples to Pompeii so this tour was great that it organized transportation for you. It was an easy meeting location and the transportation was seamless. Additionally, the guides on the bus were awesome and very helpful. The first part was the ability to hike up Mt. Vesuvius good thing about the bus is takes you as far as tourists can go by vehicle. Caution: the hike is a little harder than I expected nothing terrible but nothing to dismiss. Wear shoes. After that pizza for lunch is included. Finally, the Pompeii tour was awesome and great guides. The other downside was there was not a ton of time to wonder around on your own outside of the two hour tour. If you are looking to spend longer there, you may not want to this. Overall, it is a long day but probably the best way to see these attractions.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The things you will see in Pompeii will change forever what you think about civilization in early A. D. Our guide in Pompeii, Vincenzo, was funny and knowledgable and made our time there extremely enjoyable. Our guides from Rome, Roberto and Elena, were outstanding; smart, funny and passionate.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day - but so worth the effort.
An Early star, and a late finish but our tour guides made the day with their commentary and knowledge.
We learnt all sorts of historical information, as well as the history of pizza making, good restaurants in Rome and how to tell a good gelataria!
And then there was the locations, My Vesuvius was shrouded in clouds / fog, and it was still great to visit, then Pompeii was excellent, our daughter had studied all of this in school and it brought it all to life or her
Could not recommend this trip more

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message