• USD ($)
  • English
Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2367 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was probably the most amazing experience that closed out our trip to Italy. Everything was completely amazing and overwhelmingly emotional, but on our last day, we took the Pompeii day trip and were blown away by the awesomeness of the whole experience. Our tour guides, Anna and Luca were informative and patient and completely professional and had a wealth of knowledge before, during and after the tour experience. The guides in Pompeii (whose name escapes me) was so well versed and educated, it felt like he took us back. He was knowledgeable and humorous. What a fantastic experience, if you don't do this tour, you are missing out for sure! Way to go City Wonders!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Totally worth the money! This was our splurge tour while we were in Rome for 5 days. Pompeii was amazing and so cool to see. Could have spent the day there but the time there was really good. We had a great tour guide when we got there. The Amalfi Coast drive and stops were a once in a life time experience. I was moved emotionally by the incredible beauty of this part of the world. We travel a ton and good several Viators tours for our big trip each year for tha past 5 years and have always been so impressed. The only things that were not perfect is that we had a driver on his first day doing this tour and did not say much at all. He was quiet the whole way. Honestly, along the Amalfi Coast drive you really don't need any commentary but it would have been nice to hear some fun facts while driving. Especially the 3 hour drive back. It is a very long day 13 hours but well worth it! We were picked up at 6:45 am and dropped off at 8:30pm. Don't let the long day get in the way of the amazing experience! I would also recommend that your don't go to the restaraunt the guide takes you to in position. Busy tourist trap and the food was average. Find your own place on the beach and get away from the crowds. Much more enjoyable. Do your self a favor and treat yourself to this amazing tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An early start but well worth it. We had a very informative guide, Peter, on the coach and he knew when to let us rest. Lunch was a little rushed as there were so many coaches arriving at the restaurant but was very good. Pompeii was amazing. So very moving. Our guide (whose name I can't recall) was very informative too. We learnt a lot that we wouldn't have found out but visiting it without a guided tour. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing day had by all! The Amalfi Coast was breathtaking - Loved both of the towns. Stopped many times along the coast for pictures. Pompeii was interesting and our guide was very informative and full of energy. Our van driver was great and informative. Highly recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Naples was just a bus trip around the city to see some main sites and not worth much, but Pompeii was very interesting and about a 2 hour walk. Again, having been ill and not in shape now, I had a hard time stepping up about 18" at the end of the tour since some of the sites in Pompeii you had to step up for. Lots of rough walking for someone who is not in shape.
But the fascinating information for Pompeii is worth the tour for sure.
Great tour guy, George, an older man who has been doing this for years it seems and really knows his subject.
You will find Pompeii fascinating! Worth your time, folks!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I have been wanting to visit Pompeii since I was a child. And ever since I saw pictures of Positano a few years ago, I've wanted to visit there, too. So imagine how happy I was to be able to enjoy both places in one trip!! And it was everything I had hoped it to be.
Our driver, Alexandro, picked up my daughter and I at 7 am from our hotel along with 5 other passengers. As we drove to Pompeii, he pointed out various spots of interest and very patiently answered my questions. After a smooth drive we arrived in Pompeii before 10 am. We were met by our guide, Antonio, and from the entrance we proceeded to walk through the history of the once magnificent city. It was a picture perfect day and we took advantage of it. The tour lasted about 3 hours.
From Pompeii, Alexandro drove us to Positano. The drive along the coastline was breathtaking and nerve-wracking and delightful! We enjoyed a delightful lunch at the restaurant Chez Black, overlooking the Gulf of Salerno. We didn't have a lot of time to spend shopping, but that was OK with me. As my daughter went exploring, I enjoyed a seaside cappuccino.
We arrived back at our hotel before 9 pm. We had a wonderful day and I highly recommend this tour. Please send my best regards to Alexandro and especially Antonio, who helped me navigate the steep incline to the exit at Pompeii. Thank you, Viator!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We went to pompeii for the day, it was a brilliant experience. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly.
the dinner was ok but definately worth the trip!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Professional driver + Expert tour guide for Pompeii.

Amalfi coast is simply breathtaking. The views, the sites, the area has so much charm. A definite must.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The Pompeii tour was cut short because the ruins closed early that day; however, the guide was excellent and tried his best to give us a concise tour. The coast was a harrowing road trip but the scenery was beautiful.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The bus ride was "comfy",driver was great!...We absolutely LOVED Pompeii..Wish we could have spent more time there, rather than driving through Naples, and visiting the Cameo store. The Pompeii tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly..great job!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was our first time to Rome. Wasn't very impressed with the city itself. This tour was definitely the highlight of our trip. On this tour we visited the ruins in Pompei and the Amalfi Coast...which was absolutely spectacular!! It's a 14 hour long tour, however, the driver made many stops along the way. The guide was very knowledgable and pointed out several points of interest along the way. Having only a maximum of 8 persons on the tour was huge +! I highly recommend this tour on your visit to Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

So worth every penny. Pompeii, Amalie coast, and positano are beautiful.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Pompeii was amazing! The guided tour is a must. We learned so much. The Amalfi Coast is the most beautiful place I think I have ever been and I travel a lot! You must go!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was one of our FAVORITE tours. The scenery was breathtaking, we stopped and had lunch in Positano at a restaurant on the beach named "Chez Black" the food was delicious the staff was friendly. We also did some shopping in Almafi. Pompeii was great as well, our tour guide was very informative.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I really enjoyed my day trip to Pompeii from Rome! The guides were very friendly and helpful, the food at the restaurant was delicious, and our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowledgeable and hilarious. However, you do not get to spend much time in any one spot, so be prepared to walk quickly! We were constantly being corralled by our guides because we needed to move on to the next destination. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message