Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 595 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant experience!! Was debating whether to do such a long trip during a short break to Rome 5days however the 3 hour coach ride there and back was completely worth it! Was I tired at the end of the day..sure but the culture and experience was well worth it! Guides were fantastic, made the journey seem a lot shorter than it was, Roberts stories about old rome/Pompeii were brilliant. The lady guide was fantastic as well sorry forgotten name. Highly recommend climbing Vesuvius! Knackering but views were insane!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend this trip! It was such a great learning experience. Our guide team was very knowledgeable and fun a great combination! Pompeii was amazing. I have been reading about it for years and it did not disappoint. The guide we had at Pompeii was also amazing! For amyone traveling to Rome I recommend booking this trip it more then worth the time and money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very big day but it was fabulous, loved the Amalfi Coast, our driver was excellent and our trip to Pompeii was incredible, our guide was amazing, so much knowledge. It is an early start and didn't get back to Rome until 8.45 pm but we had a great day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and educational tour. We were provided a lot of information during the day, not only on Pompeii, but also about Rome. We thoroughly enjoyed it and thought the tour guides did a fantastic job!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a long day but well worth it. The bus ride stops for a break so you can go to the bathroom and get a snack. The walk up Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart. It is a steady incline they say 20, but it sure seems steeper. There is not much of a level rest area in throughout the trek. Still worth it for the view of the crater and the surrounding sights including Naples. The bus ride up and down is harrowing in and of itself. The lunch is hearty. Each person got a whole pizza and salad and drink. We had a gluten free member and the restaurant was accommodating. After a nice lunch there was a quick bus ride to Pompeii. The guide was wonderful. Gave us a lot of great information with flare and comedy when needed. Everyone received a headset which worked outstanding. We walked for about 75 minutes. Really the highlight of the trip. We were all exhausted and we stopped on the way back from Rome at the stop area we did on the way up. We spent some extra time here for purchase of souvenirs and drinks. It did take about 13 hours for the entire trip. Cannot say anything bad. The local guides on the bus gave us tips about some places to eat and visit in Rome. Fantastic, but exhausting day. Would definitely recommend this tour if you have Pompeii and Vesuvius on your list of attractions to see while in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A long day but so worth it. The tour guide Stephanie and Becky were amazing, so informative about Rome and Italy in general. They explained the structure of the day clearly including when/how rest stops. They were very informative about what to expect walking up Vesuvius explaining the x3 points and being realistic in your expectations. It was a tough walk and I was close to giving up before the first point, but I did get to the top. Back on the coach most did not get to the top but seemed very happy to have walked a part of it. Lunch was good, gave everyone a chance to recover. You sit at group tables so for me travelling alone was ideal as I has people to chat to. The guide in Pompeii Vincenzo was very informative. He gave plenty of time for picture taking before moving on. It really was a great day. The only thing to bear in mind was that in early June it was really hot by 3pm in Pompeii it had got to over 30. This does distract you from the tour so I would recommend going earlier in the year.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we had a fab time . the tour guides where very informative and friendly. i would say to anyone who is visiting rome and they have time to book this tour. pompeii was amazing and the walk up mount vesuvius gave you some stuning views. all in all we are glad we did this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was probably the best tour that I took in Italy. It is cumbersome to get transportation from Rome to Naples to Pompeii so this tour was great that it organized transportation for you. It was an easy meeting location and the transportation was seamless. Additionally, the guides on the bus were awesome and very helpful. The first part was the ability to hike up Mt. Vesuvius good thing about the bus is takes you as far as tourists can go by vehicle. Caution: the hike is a little harder than I expected nothing terrible but nothing to dismiss. Wear shoes. After that pizza for lunch is included. Finally, the Pompeii tour was awesome and great guides. The other downside was there was not a ton of time to wonder around on your own outside of the two hour tour. If you are looking to spend longer there, you may not want to this. Overall, it is a long day but probably the best way to see these attractions.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The things you will see in Pompeii will change forever what you think about civilization in early A. D. Our guide in Pompeii, Vincenzo, was funny and knowledgable and made our time there extremely enjoyable. Our guides from Rome, Roberto and Elena, were outstanding; smart, funny and passionate.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day - but so worth the effort.
An Early star, and a late finish but our tour guides made the day with their commentary and knowledge.
We learnt all sorts of historical information, as well as the history of pizza making, good restaurants in Rome and how to tell a good gelataria!
And then there was the locations, My Vesuvius was shrouded in clouds / fog, and it was still great to visit, then Pompeii was excellent, our daughter had studied all of this in school and it brought it all to life or her
Could not recommend this trip more

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything about this tour was amazing. It is a long day but if you want a high-quality tour, this is the one to do. Stephanie and Anna were our City Wonders tour guides and we honestly used their tips on traveling Rome and Italy for the rest of the trip - they went above and beyond to describe where to eat, what neighborhoods to check out, where to find good leather, how to avoid tourist traps, etc. and as stated before, we used these tips for the rest of our week in Italy.
And regarding our tour, Stephanie and Anna did a great job at prepping us on what to expect for the day. The drive from Rome to Pompeii is a little long but there are comfort stops along the way for restrooms and coffee/snacks. The pizza lunch is delicious and worth the wait.
Enrico was our actual tour guide of Pompeii and he was potentially the most enjoyable guide we had throughout our entire trip. He was knowledgable, funny dry sense of humor, and was able to answer all our questions.
The trip up Vesuvius was not too challenging - and the views of Naples from the top are breathtaking.
Overall, this is a high-quality tour that goes above and beyond when it comes to the information and experience they provide. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I bought this trip for my friend for Christmas to allow her to fulfil a lifelong ambition of seeing Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. We had high hopes and we weren't disappointed. We were lucky enough to have Melanie as our guide and she made the day really special. The locations of Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii were amazing in their own right, the views back from Vesuvius over Naples a particular highlight of mine. Melanie however kept us entertained with facts, figures and humour on the 3 hour journey down from Rome and back again. We were looked after from start to finish and it was a joy to be a part of the tour. I can't recommend this highly enough. Melanie, if you read this, we took your advice and visited La Carbonara in Monti on our last night after booking! and had the best meal of the trip. :- thank you for the tip. Liz and Jen

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is with a tour company out of Rome. It's great and the tour guides are fun and give you a vast amount of historical information. You get to see Pompeii and have a few minutes leisure time to take pictures. Great guide in Pompeii with a lot of information. The pizza in Naples was really tasty although it did take a little long to serve. The highlight of our trip was climbing Mt. Vesuvius, it's definitely not for the faint of heart but worth it. I do wish they would have given us a little more time to shop for souvenirs. Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out from Rome. Exceptionally well organised by informative and entertaining guides. Fabulous walk up to the top of Vesuvius...would certainly not have wanted to do the drive up there, so was glad to leave it to the expert coach driver. Adequate lunch and then a wonderful tour of Pompeii with another great guide. Stops half way on both legs of the journey were appreciated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

really amazing! Where to begin?! I'll start with saying what a great guide Monica was! We went on this tour last Friday the 10th. It was all very informative and I've always felt a very strong connections towards Pompeii and its history. It's hard to explain! I've always believed I was there in a past life to be honest! I've wanted to go all my life and couldn't have asked for a better team to accompany us there. They were a great laugh had lots of interesting facts and useful information for Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a dream come true for me. It's a very long day- take something for breakfast (but you can't eat on the bus, though they do stop in Cassino, about 3 hours south of Rome). We went to the Archeological Museum of Naples (winter) for a couple of hours before lunch at a 'mess hall' style restaurant just outside Pompeii. Pizza was awesome! Had a fantastic tour with an elderly local Pompeiian (yes, there is now 'New Pompeii'!) who was very funny and informative. Got back into Rome at about 8pm the same day. Would definitely do again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a fun and interesting excursion away from Rome. I recommend everyone save a day and visit Pompeii. There is not much time to see Naples but Pompeii is fascinating.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing experience, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing ancient ruins! I was travelling alone for this trip.

Stephanie and Melanie were my tour guides, and they were able to keep us all entertained for the 3 hour trip to Pompeii and the 3 hour trip back to Rome. Don't worry though, they do split the journey in half, so you get a break every 1hr and 30min! Stephanie and Melanie gave interesting facts about Rome, Naples, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, so there was never a dull moment inside the bus.

Because I booked during winter, Mt Vesuvius was closed. You do however get to visit the Archeological Museum of Naples, and they have a large collection of artefacts from the Pompeii excavation. It was a great museum, albeit confusing in its layout. Be warned, nothing is translated into English! But the artefacts themselves are pretty self-explanatory. Some of the more interesting parts of the exhibition were closed due to it being a Sunday (the Secret Chamber, and some of the more well known frescoes), but it was still an enjoyable time. You do get to wonder on your own in the museum, so you can take your time looking at various things.

Lunch is a traditional Naples pizza, which is absolutely delicious. You also get a complimentary beverage and salad to go with your meal.

The tour of Pompeii was fantastic as well. You get shown around the most interesting and well preserved parts of the city by a local and knowledgeable tour guide (I think to explore the whole city yourself would require a whole day). You also get to see some of the plaster casts of victims of the eruption of Mt Vesuvius, the most memorable being the one of the dog.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! It was very well organised and the tour guides were especially accommodating and understanding! Thank you very much Stephanie and Melanie for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide Luca was incredible, and you could tell how much he knew and loved this history of Rome and surrounding areas. He spoke very clearly and kept us highly entertained with facts as we made our way to and through Pompeii. We also liked that City Wonders had our best interests at heart - even down to keeping us hydrated! When we got to lunch, the first drink was free and we were recommended to not order a second drink and just buy a bottle of water off the bus for a cheap 1 euro only, since the drinks in the restaurant were way more expensive! The tour of Pompeii was incredible, we would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour is amaizing. I highly recommend to visit Pompeii via Viator which offers good services and you needn't to worry about the traffic as it is all organised by aviator and a full day trip Rome/Pompeii is exactly what business people are looking forward to during their tight traveling schedule.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was done through City Wonders and our guide Syrianna was fantastic. She was a local of Rome and knew her stuff! Very knowledgeble and friendly and was very helpful all day. We went to Mt Vesuvius first...tough climb but well worth it!! View was gorgeous. Lunch was pizza/salad and that was yummy! Then we went to pompeii and the guide there was funny and knowledgble as well. This was very fun and we learned a lot about Rome, Pompeii, and Mt Vesuvius. Recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

EXCELLENT DAY TRIP AND SIGHTSEEING FROM ROME TO NAPLES AND POMPEII. VERY KNOWLEDGABLE TOUR GUIDES. COULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT THE STOP AT THE CORAL SHOP.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fabulous tour and another tick off the bucket list. Roberto was the best tour guide I came across, he was so professional and engaging. If he was my history teacher at school I may have paid more attention, he explained everything in a way that had you on the edge of your seat wanting to know more, and considering its such a long tour, it never felt like information overload. mt Vesiusius is a decent climb but achievable with a basic fitness level and the view is definitely worth the effort. the pizza for lunch was really good but the service in the restaurant was very slow, would have preferred another 1/2hr at Pompeii. We split into two groups and our guide at Pompeii was also interesting and loved his sense of humour. On the day of our tour we had issues with the bus and hats off to our driver and Roberto who handled it so professionally ensuring it didn't impact on our tour in any way and arranging a replacement bus and we still got back to Rome on time. well done guys you two were incredible with the way you handled that issue!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message