Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 577 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I bought this trip for my friend for Christmas to allow her to fulfil a lifelong ambition of seeing Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. We had high hopes and we weren't disappointed. We were lucky enough to have Melanie as our guide and she made the day really special. The locations of Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii were amazing in their own right, the views back from Vesuvius over Naples a particular highlight of mine. Melanie however kept us entertained with facts, figures and humour on the 3 hour journey down from Rome and back again. We were looked after from start to finish and it was a joy to be a part of the tour. I can't recommend this highly enough. Melanie, if you read this, we took your advice and visited La Carbonara in Monti on our last night after booking! and had the best meal of the trip. :- thank you for the tip. Liz and Jen

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is with a tour company out of Rome. It's great and the tour guides are fun and give you a vast amount of historical information. You get to see Pompeii and have a few minutes leisure time to take pictures. Great guide in Pompeii with a lot of information. The pizza in Naples was really tasty although it did take a little long to serve. The highlight of our trip was climbing Mt. Vesuvius, it's definitely not for the faint of heart but worth it. I do wish they would have given us a little more time to shop for souvenirs. Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out from Rome. Exceptionally well organised by informative and entertaining guides. Fabulous walk up to the top of Vesuvius...would certainly not have wanted to do the drive up there, so was glad to leave it to the expert coach driver. Adequate lunch and then a wonderful tour of Pompeii with another great guide. Stops half way on both legs of the journey were appreciated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

really amazing! Where to begin?! I'll start with saying what a great guide Monica was! We went on this tour last Friday the 10th. It was all very informative and I've always felt a very strong connections towards Pompeii and its history. It's hard to explain! I've always believed I was there in a past life to be honest! I've wanted to go all my life and couldn't have asked for a better team to accompany us there. They were a great laugh had lots of interesting facts and useful information for Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a dream come true for me. It's a very long day- take something for breakfast (but you can't eat on the bus, though they do stop in Cassino, about 3 hours south of Rome). We went to the Archeological Museum of Naples (winter) for a couple of hours before lunch at a 'mess hall' style restaurant just outside Pompeii. Pizza was awesome! Had a fantastic tour with an elderly local Pompeiian (yes, there is now 'New Pompeii'!) who was very funny and informative. Got back into Rome at about 8pm the same day. Would definitely do again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a fun and interesting excursion away from Rome. I recommend everyone save a day and visit Pompeii. There is not much time to see Naples but Pompeii is fascinating.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing experience, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing ancient ruins! I was travelling alone for this trip.

Stephanie and Melanie were my tour guides, and they were able to keep us all entertained for the 3 hour trip to Pompeii and the 3 hour trip back to Rome. Don't worry though, they do split the journey in half, so you get a break every 1hr and 30min! Stephanie and Melanie gave interesting facts about Rome, Naples, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, so there was never a dull moment inside the bus.

Because I booked during winter, Mt Vesuvius was closed. You do however get to visit the Archeological Museum of Naples, and they have a large collection of artefacts from the Pompeii excavation. It was a great museum, albeit confusing in its layout. Be warned, nothing is translated into English! But the artefacts themselves are pretty self-explanatory. Some of the more interesting parts of the exhibition were closed due to it being a Sunday (the Secret Chamber, and some of the more well known frescoes), but it was still an enjoyable time. You do get to wonder on your own in the museum, so you can take your time looking at various things.

Lunch is a traditional Naples pizza, which is absolutely delicious. You also get a complimentary beverage and salad to go with your meal.

The tour of Pompeii was fantastic as well. You get shown around the most interesting and well preserved parts of the city by a local and knowledgeable tour guide (I think to explore the whole city yourself would require a whole day). You also get to see some of the plaster casts of victims of the eruption of Mt Vesuvius, the most memorable being the one of the dog.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! It was very well organised and the tour guides were especially accommodating and understanding! Thank you very much Stephanie and Melanie for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide Luca was incredible, and you could tell how much he knew and loved this history of Rome and surrounding areas. He spoke very clearly and kept us highly entertained with facts as we made our way to and through Pompeii. We also liked that City Wonders had our best interests at heart - even down to keeping us hydrated! When we got to lunch, the first drink was free and we were recommended to not order a second drink and just buy a bottle of water off the bus for a cheap 1 euro only, since the drinks in the restaurant were way more expensive! The tour of Pompeii was incredible, we would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour is amaizing. I highly recommend to visit Pompeii via Viator which offers good services and you needn't to worry about the traffic as it is all organised by aviator and a full day trip Rome/Pompeii is exactly what business people are looking forward to during their tight traveling schedule.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was done through City Wonders and our guide Syrianna was fantastic. She was a local of Rome and knew her stuff! Very knowledgeble and friendly and was very helpful all day. We went to Mt Vesuvius first...tough climb but well worth it!! View was gorgeous. Lunch was pizza/salad and that was yummy! Then we went to pompeii and the guide there was funny and knowledgble as well. This was very fun and we learned a lot about Rome, Pompeii, and Mt Vesuvius. Recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

EXCELLENT DAY TRIP AND SIGHTSEEING FROM ROME TO NAPLES AND POMPEII. VERY KNOWLEDGABLE TOUR GUIDES. COULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT THE STOP AT THE CORAL SHOP.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fabulous tour and another tick off the bucket list. Roberto was the best tour guide I came across, he was so professional and engaging. If he was my history teacher at school I may have paid more attention, he explained everything in a way that had you on the edge of your seat wanting to know more, and considering its such a long tour, it never felt like information overload. mt Vesiusius is a decent climb but achievable with a basic fitness level and the view is definitely worth the effort. the pizza for lunch was really good but the service in the restaurant was very slow, would have preferred another 1/2hr at Pompeii. We split into two groups and our guide at Pompeii was also interesting and loved his sense of humour. On the day of our tour we had issues with the bus and hats off to our driver and Roberto who handled it so professionally ensuring it didn't impact on our tour in any way and arranging a replacement bus and we still got back to Rome on time. well done guys you two were incredible with the way you handled that issue!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worked out really well. The guides and driver helped make the day. It was a 13 hour round trip but well worth it and not too much. We had 2 hours or so round Pompeii which was OK to see the main parts and more than get the feel of the place. You could spend a whole day there but considering the trip was from Rome and included Vesuvius it was a good agenda.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome tour from start to finish! We learned a great deal about the history, food/wine, people and geography of the area from our two professional tour guides Stefanie and Hector - Grazie! On site at Pompeii, Giorgio proudly echoed his Family roots as assistants to the archaeologists throughout the restorations. We really enjoyed the walk-through with him and this historical tour. All three guides have a wonderful sense of humour! Hector had us rolling in the bus aisles with his tips on crossing the streets in Rome, paying taxi fare/the drivers and ownership of our dinner table til we ask for the bill/how to ask for the bill if ignored. All could relate to what he was saying. Hilarious!

The pizza for lunch at Tiberious (included with tour) was frankly the best we ate while in Italy. It served us well for the Vesuvius climb! Grazie Antonnio for the amazing drive along some single lane hairpin curves up and down the mountain to the starting point of the climb. Phew! Spectacular view of the crater and the Gulf of Naples! Could even see the distant island of Capri.

It is a full day (7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.) and we highly recommend this tour!

Ted and Monique
Ottawa, Canada

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Mara, was highly knowledgeable and very friendly. She talked just the right amount on the bus trip. The meeting place in Rome was easy to find; no confusion like we had on a previous tour. The group was split into two so there were only 20 of us, which was great. We appreciated the half-way stop on the way to and from Naples. Vesuvius was awesome!! We had adequate time to walk up at our own pace. Lunch was great! And Pompeii was everything we had expected and more. Our local guide, Enrico, really brought past events to life for us. We HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I went on this tour back in April this year. It was one of our favourite tours we did in Europe. From the beginning when we met our guide Roberto was fabulous. There were 2 tour guides on the bus with us and they interacted with the all the people and provided a lot of knowledge about all the places we were passing. Pompeii was amazing, the history behind it is unbelievable and the fact that there are still so many remains after so long is crazy. After this we walked up the mount Vesuvius, luckily the weather was only just warm as it is a bit of a hike to get up to the top. but getting to the top is well worth it. The scenery overlooking Naples is breathtaking. This tour is definitely a must do when in Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was really worth the time and the money. Our tour leader, Violet was an excellent tour leader. On the coach we were two groups. The other tour leader, Siriana. took it in turnswith Violet to tell us about Rome and what we were going to see. The two of them together were simply marvelous. the driver Marius was also very efficient especially in handling a terrible jam on the way up to Vesuvius. The climb to the crater was hard but really worth it. The sight from up there was incredible. The food was acceptable though the room where we ate was really crowded. But Pompeii is an experience everyone should have at least once in one's life. Our guide there, Gennaro, not only knew what he was talking about was also entertaining. He made this two hour visit of Pompeii extremely exciting. Pity we only had two hours.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this trip. It was a tight squeeze getting 8 (plus the driver) in the van but it was much better than trying to drive myself. I sat in the front middle seat and the driver did an excellent job on the really winding roads along the Amalfi coast. I always felt safe. We stopped for refreshments about halfway and also stopped along the way for pictures. Amalfi was beautiful and the 1 hour that we spent there was enough time for me since it's not a very big place. I really loved Positano and wished we could have spent more time there but I knew on a day trip like this it would be a quick trip. The driver led us to a restaurant that was very good and the service was pretty fast. It sat right on the water and it wasn't cheap but how many times in my life will I get to Positano? It was worth it. This allowed some time for shopping and picture taking after lunch. Now I want to talk about the tour of Pompeii. I can't say enough about how good this tour was. We met up with the guide there and he was fabulous! He said his father and granfather had done tours before him. He was funny and knowledgable. Pompeii is amazing. There's much more there to see than I thought. There are more ruins left than in Ancient Rome and it's easier to see the how they lived. I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this. I would recommend this tour anytime. It's a long day and I was dropped off at my hotel at about 9:30 PM but it was worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the highlights of our visit to the Rome area! OMG Robert could not have been better with his well rounded knowledge of all that is Pompeii and so rounding area. His female college ( sorry her name escapes me (maybe Melanie) was charming!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific trip. This is the only trip that I could find from Rome which returns the same day. They pick you up in an 8 passenger minivan at 7 am at your hotel or B and B and return you to the same location by 10 pm. Pompeii was terrific and the guide was excellent. They only stop for 2 hours in Pompeii but we felt it was enough. Pompeii is very large and their are one day "Pompeii only" day tours from Rome if you want even more time in Pompeii. There are also overnight and 2 day tours to the Amalfi Coast but this is the only tour that come back to Rome the same day. It stops in Amalfi and Portofino, both beautiful located on the mountainside high above the ocean, but stopping at two towns was more than more than enough. It's a long but perfect day and we did not feel the time we spent in Pompeii and the two coast towns were just the right amount of time. I recommend this tour VERY highly. Expensive, but worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was unequivocably the highlight of my trip to Rome. First of all, it is worth the $$ just to be picked up at the hotel when the day starts so early and ends so late. Our group of 7 was pleasant, and the van was not plush but adequate and comfortable. The guide for the day (Monia? Not sure how to spell her name) was fantastic, friendly, and helpful. The driver, Max, was great driver and a funny guy. The scenery was beautiful, and we stopped frequently for short pit stops and camera opportunities. The lunch in Positano was actually the best food I had all week, better than any we had in Rome (I ordered the local specialties of Caprese salad and linguine pesto). If you have any health or mobility issues, be warned that we walked down a lot of steps to get to lunch on seaside in Positano, so it was a bit of a climb back up to the top again. If you can't do that, there are places at the top where you could eat and then meet up afterward. We had time to look around and do a bit of shopping after lunch. But it wasn't enough. if I ever go back, I'd spend 1-2 days in Rome and the rest in Positano and surrounding area.
In Pompeii, we had a local guide (Guitano) who was a third -generation tour guide there. He claimed to know more about Pompeii than his own home, and I believe him. I thought I knew a lot about Pompeii, but he was amazing, and I learned so much from this trip. The surprising thing was how much he taught us about daily life in Ancient Rome in general, not just Pompeii, since he drew many parallels between Pompeii and Rome. He also made many comparisons between Pompeii and Roman Empire vs the modern world, which were very insightful and thought-provoking. In short, even if you've read the books and seen the museum displays, there is no substitute for the real thing, and a local guide is imperative. I came away with a whole new appreciation for what daily life and culture was like in Pompeii and Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic and Syriana? was a great tour guide. The older chap that walked us around Pompeii was also fabulous and very interesting to listen to. There was just an ideal level of walking and we weren't too stuffed by the end. What an amazing place and we are so glad we finished our trip to Rome with a bang. I would like to also say that making this booking from our apartment in Rome two days before the trip was very simple. The booking process and meeting info that comes via email was very easy and ofcourse the e vouchers cause who has a printer on holidays?. all good from here. thanks ruth and robert from Melbourne

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was one of the best tours we went on in Italy. Daniel was our tour guide and he was the absolute best! He went out of his way to make sure we were well informed and well taken care of. He provided excellent background information about Mt Vesuvius and the Pompeii area and also provided info about getting in and around Rome (restaurants, sites, transportation, etc). He also provided helpful insights about how to avoid getting ripped off. You could tell he really loved what he was doing and loved the area. We wish all tour guides could be like Daniel! Thanks again Daniel!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message