Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 518 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a brilliant tour. The 3 hour coach journey from Rome was really pleasant and didn't seem to be that long. Our tour guides, Eleanor and Robert were just superb. Robert was an archaeologist and was very knowledgeable, and funny with it! It was like having a history lesson every step of the way, and we really enjoyed that aspect. There was so much interesting information shared throughout the day and we absolutely loved it. It was a long day, about 13 hours, but well worth every minute. Pompeii is just an amazing place and should not be missed. Thank you Robert and Eleanor, we will never forget this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I did this trip and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Our tour guides - Stephanie and Violet - were professional, knowledgeable and friendly – Violet in particular had a great sense of humour! At the end of the trip, they even walked the length of the coach, asking every single person if they had any questions about the trip, Rome, or other excursions, even giving out helpful recommendations for local restaurants.

The drive up to mount Vesuvius is good fun, but TERRIFYING!! (Don’t look down if you’re scared of heights!). Fortunately we had a brilliant bus driver, who handled the perilous hairpin turns with skill. Once at the drop off point, the walk to the top of the crater is hard work in the heat (taking about 25 mins), but worth it for the views over the Bay of Naples, Pompeii and Naples city. A tip though - WEAR TRAINERS! (I did this climb in sandals and it’s not fun, as the path is made of a loose ashy like dirt, which can become slippery on the way down.)

The pizza lunch was very well-organised and you have the choice of 3 pizzas. Orders are taken on the coach, so upon arrival at the restaurant there is only a short wait to be served. The pizza was tasty, too!

Pompeii was excellent. The tour guide was very informative and we learnt lots. Pompeii is the kind of place where you need a tour guide to bring it all to life – otherwise you’re looking at a lot of ruins which don’t mean much to the average visitor. As it was, Pompeii is absolutely fascinating and well worth a visit.

The actual bus journey to Pompeii was comfortable, though there were no toilets on board the coach! You do however, have a stop halfway (after 1 hour 30) at an excellent service station in Cassino, so loos and snacks/drinks are never too far away! (There are also toilets at Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius, though only port-a-loos at Vesuvius, and expect to pay 50c). As for the trip duration; unusually, we actually arrived back into Rome at the advertised time. Amazing!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is not cheap, especially for a family of 4, and so expectations wereset high. Other reviews have, in my opinion, been fairly accurate. The trip itself is a no brainer - 2 world class sites although I would have been disappointed if poor weather had forced a cancellation of Vesuvius in favour of an extended visit to Pompeii (not a bad plan B but Vesuvius is after all 50% of the rationale for the trip), albeit of course no reflection of the operators. I have seen some criticism of the restaurant used for the lunchtime stop however I have no criticism. They are catering for coach loads and so it is a little fast-foodish however the quality of the Pizza (a fast-food!) was very high so no complaints from us. Daniel and Mel (our guides) were superb and incredibly knowledgeable, not just about the destination, but all things Rome. Both knew the right balance between sharing knowledge and useful info (especially as a means of making a long coach trip pass quickly) and letting us sleep! The comfort break stop at Cassino (same place on the way there and on the way back) was also pleasant especially for those partial to caffeine and, on the way back, a limoncello taster, albeit the proprietors would be well advised to keep the toilets cleaner than they were. According to the ladies these had deteriorated materially during the course of the day. In terms of logistics and organisation - both first class and would definitely use the company again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great! Robert and Mel gave us a lot of information throughout the drive to Pompeii! The guide at Pompeii was very interactive and made the entire tour very memorable! I would highly recommend this tour as a 1-day getaway from Rome! I only wish we would have had a chance to stop at Naples :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. I was worried it would be a little expensive for what it was. But in the end, 130 euros per person was totally worth it. This included a 3-hour coach air-conditioned bus ride leaving at 730am from Rome (with one pit stop at midpoint) to Pompeii, during which our 2 tour guides fascinated us with constant information about Rome's history in general, and anything we asked. When arriving in Pompeii (which, in itself is an awe-inspiring experience) we met up with a specialized Pompeii tour guide who directed us through the ancient city. It's nice to have someone tell you what things used to be, and guide us so we don't get lost. We then went to Naples for lunch (best pizza!) and they taught us the history of how the pizza originated. We then headed toward Mt Vesuvius, where our tour guides continued to explain to us the tragedy of Pompeii. The hike up the Vesuvius was moderately difficult (an elderly or out-of-shape person might have a little trouble) as it was a constant 30 degree incline and took about 30min, but mostly just sandy (no rocky terrain). On the top the view was spectacular, and the idea of being near an active volcano was pretty cool. We then had the same 3 hour bus ride home with one pitt stop midway, and again the tour guides showered us with more information.

I felt we really got our money's worth: 2x 3-hour bus ride tours of info, 1-hour guided tour of pompeii, lunch included, and ticket to go up the vesuvius. Our tour guides (Roberto and Sarah) were absolutely incredible, I would request them if I could. Go for it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a much better trip than I imagined. It is a long day, but you get to experience Naples Pizza, walk up Mt. Vesuvius, and tour around Pompeii. Sarah and Robert were a great tag team. Robert provided extensive geologic background and the history of the surrounding area, while Sarah provided us with some very interesting and funny details about the food. It was an outstanding trip, and I could not have learned as much traveling on my own. Thank you, thank you. A side note: there are a few trips advertised for Pompeii, but it is worth paying the extra to eat lunch in Naples and walk up the mountian. Also, maybe you want to wear some sturdy shoes for the mountain. . Truly amazing! A must see if you are going to Rome for a few days.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went smoothly on this tour, even the weather played along giving us a clear view after our climb to the top of Vesuvius. Our tour guides Daniel and Ettore were very entertaining and informative making the long bus trip pass quickly. With the new parking shemozzle on the Vesuvius access road, making this trip on our own would have been confusing, frustrating and difficult whereas our trusty guides had us out of the gridlocked bus and on up the path in no time. Ettore's colourful commentary on the situation was a hilarious highlight of the day rivalled only by his dissertation on early Roman toilet habits.

Although we'd spent the previous week on the Amalfi coast we made the decision to do Pompeii from Rome as taking public transport from where we were staying involved both bus and train travel and deciphering timetables and connections etc. We're so glad we did as the day trip was an efficient and excellent use of time and we otherwise wouldn't have climbed Vesuvius and visited Pompeii on the same day thus missing one or the other.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was really convenient. We all met at Piazza del Popolo in Rome and loaded on air conditioned buses. We had a comfort stop half way to the volcano and again on the return trip. We had excellent guides that gave us a lot of history of the region as we traveled to our destinations. They watched over us as we climbed Vesuvius and kept us together at Pompeii. We had a very experienced guide at Pompeii. This tour took all the guess work out of navigating the transportation to Pompeii from Rome. It was a very comfortable tour. I plan to look into the tours they give in other places as I travel.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the early start (7.15am). Comfortable coach which we shared with another tour group doing the same trip. Both guides shared their knowledge and stories along the way. Wonderful. Pompeii was something else - wow!! For this we had a local guide and again her knowledge and stories gave us a very much enhanced perspective. Traditional pizza lunch at a very pleasant restaurant in Naples. Then along the narrow, winding road to Mt Vesuvius. That in itself was quite an experience and had us gasping. The walk to the crater took us about 30mins. It was steep, a little hard but the views are so worth the effort. Exhilarating when you get right to the top. Yay!!! You don't have to go all the way though and there are two or three 'stations' along the way where you can take a break. Coming down is the same route as going up. Mostly a quiet trip on the way back to Rome; occasional commentary rousing us from dozing off. A real highlight. Must do.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This guide was amazing. His knowledge of Italy, Rome and Pompeii was fantastic. He was very entertaining and had a great sense of humor (and he will tell you, a sexy voice). Pompeii is not to be missed. The climb to the top of Mt. Vesuvius was spectacular and everyone made it up and back. We had a great day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius tour was everything we had hoped for and MORE! We were so impressed at the history that was available right before our eyes. Our guide did a wonderful job although it was a very, very hot day for this tour. My party of 3 still enjoyed everything. We were so glad that we decided to do this tour over another and have recommended it to others. From the bus ride to lunch to back to Rome, everything was splendid!!! Our guide from Rome, Luisa, was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed her!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guides were easy to find and the bus was comfortable on the ride from Rome. The stop along the way was appreciated. The tour of Pompeii was terrific - well paced, lots of information. A nice lunch and time to walk up Vesuvius. The walk was strenuous, but well worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous day trip from Rome. The guides were fabulous - very, very knowledgable and also very funny. Although the day was a little overcast we still had an enjoyable hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius. However the highlight of the day was Pompeii! We could have stayed there the whole day looking around the place. Our guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. Great value for money and highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A stress-free way to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Our guide, Violet, was terrific--witty, knowledgeable, and very energetic. She met us at Piazza del Popolo and kept us engaged, informed and entertained all the way to Pompeii. The guide who joined our group in the ruins really knew her stuff. She brought us through key locations at an easy pace, showed us details that would have been easy to overlook, and gave us plenty of time to stroll around and take photos. She really brought this city back to life. Without her insights it would have been hard to make heads or tails of what we were seeing, had we chosen to explore Pompeii on our own.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message