Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 669 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day learning about the history and culture of Pompeii. Our guide, Andrew, was knowledgeable, entertaining, and akLso gave us good tips for travelling in Rome

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was awesome! First off, our tour guides, Sarah and Enzo, were very well organized and knowledgeable. They were great at keeping us informed throughout the day. They spoke excellent English and were very detailed in all of Italy's history and answering our questions. Alfredo, our awesome bus driver, drove 1.5 hrs to a rest stop in Cassino where we had 15 min to stretch our legs, use the toilets, and grab some coffee or snacks. Back on the bus for the next hour to Pompeii, our guides spoke to us about the history of Pompeii and what to expect when we arrive, which made the drive fly by. At Pompeii, we were split into 2 groups with 10-12 per group and we had excellent audio systems to hear our guide at all times. In addition to our tour guides, each group was provided a professional Pompeii historian guide to teach us about its history. The tour was fantastic! We had plenty of time to take photos and walk around on our own while still able to listen via audio systems and keep up with the group. Lunch was ok, not the best salad and pizza I've had, but pretty good for being included with the tour. TIP: Your first drink is included, each add'tl is 4 euro. Mt Vesuvius was an awesome experience! We had a little more than one hour to climb to the top and back. It took 20-30 min to reach the top at a moderate-to-slow pace stopping to rest and take photos along the way. It's pretty cool to be able to say you climbed an active volcano! On the way home, we stopped in Cassino for a break, then continued back to Rome. During our return, our guides conversed with everyone individually to ask if we had any questions/feedback about the tour or Italy in general, then answered everyone's questions out loud for everyone on the bus. There were a lot of helpful tips offered regarding places to eat, safety, etc. TIPS: Bring snacks for the ride. // There are plenty of chances to rest/nap on the bus. // Bus carries cold water for 1 euro

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day trip tour to Pompeii was well organized and comfortable. Luca and Manuel were great guides. Alberto was a fantastic driver. The local guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was incredible! There was enough time at the comfort stops and information shared by the guides about Rome during our return was of value.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Min Juan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

informative and professional guider from Rome to Pompeii and at local Pompeii. it is the must program if you want to enjoy a tour with historical and local culture information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Rome Pompeii tour was awesome. Everything went as I had expected. The guides Jennifer, Peter, and Enzo at Pompeii, were all professional and I learned a lot about life in Pompeii. peter also told us interesting facts related to Italian life. As for the schedule, we were also on time all the time. I could recommend this tour to everyone interested in history and hiking. Thank you !

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sylvanas Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Peter is a funny person and knows a lot about ROME, Pompeii.
You won't regret by choosing this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ernest J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pompeii is an amazing place to see and it's a great break from the wildness of Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Azucena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding!!! Great guides, tons of knowledge and information not only on Pompeii but all the way from and to Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome in every way! We have two young children and they thoroughly enjoyed Positano, Amalfi and Pompeii. I'd highly recommend this trip for people visiting Rome who'd like to get a small taste of Pompeii and the spectacular Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Breathtaking views of Positano and the Amalfi coast with our driver. We had lunch in Positano and it was amazing. Pompeii was a guided tour with Mr. Gaetano and he was terrific. If you have not been south of Rome this is a must tour for you.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

david

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very good tour, but i found the Naples museum rather boring. My impression of Naples is that it is a dump. A good pizza lunch was provided before visiting Pompeii. A local guide is provided at Pompeii who was very good and spoke clear english. The site is massive with so much to see we spent 2 hours there,very pleased that i went. The City Wonders 2 guides and coach driver were all very good. Returned to starting point in Rome with break coffee break on the way. Recommend to all.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent - highly recommended :-
Guides Marti and Luka were very good and kept us going throughout the journey. Our guide at Pompeii was also very good and highly knowledgeable.
The trip was great value and although the bus ride from Rome took 3 hours each way we broke it up with a comfort stop each way. Visit included the museum at Naples as well as Pompeii. Lunch was included excellent pizza !.
Highly recommended, and avoids the whole driving experience !

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Denis John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day visiting Naples and Pompeii. Trip was very enjoyable and made so interesting by Sylvia our guide from Rome to Pompeii and then by the gentleman who joined us sorry forgot his name and then took us around Pompeii. This is only a brief visit to Pompeii but gives you a good insight into the ancient ruins and was so absorbing . I really wanted it to go on longer, We had lunch included and that was so lovely and on our way to Naples we stopped off at a cameo making factory which was very interesting as we watched a lady making a cameo. All in all a wonderful trip that I would recommend to anyone . Thanks Viator

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James Blake W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

While I am usually reluctant to book and take tours when traveling abroad, I was impressed with our tour guide, Luca, and I really enjoyed exploring the Naples National Archaeological Museum and Pompeii. It's a long and full day trip from Rome, but it's completely worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michelle Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Both our tour guide and Pompeii guide were very knowledgeable and interesting. The day was very well planned and ran smoothly. We enjoyed seeing the Archaeological Museum before visiting the site as it helped us imagine the city as it once would have been. We recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

kah t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I was on a work trip in Milan and decided to skip town to Rome. I was lucky enough to get on a tour guided by Roberto which I read many positive feedback on. He has kept the trip light i.e. not all boring stuffs, but he talked us through the history of Pompeii on our bus ride there..and kept us entertain throughout. It will always be a trip I highly spoke about besides being there in Pompeii myself but also guided by a great tour guide. It was well worth the 12-13 hours of the day. I am pretty sure you will not know how time passes so quickly on this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

justcurious85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our bus travel to Naples and Pompeii was well coordinate with every 1.5 hour breaks in a 3 hour drive. The guided bus tour in Naples was quick and informative given by Teresa. The lunch was decent, the pizza and fruit dessert being my favorite out of the 3 course meal. As far as the Pompeii tour, Teresa was amazing. She was able to draw our imaginations of what life was like in Pompeii and how the people lived there. Example, she got us very excited before entering every ruin such as a fast food place they had built. The drive back to Rome was uneventful besides another 1.5 hour break.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Amanda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was fabulous. Brando was an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable and friendly, tour went without a glitch from the time we were picked up from the Westin Hotel to the time we were brought back. Tour guide in Pompeii was EXCELLENT - he brought the city to life for us - informative and very entertaining the man had charisma. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Warren and I enjoyed ourselves immensely and look forward to spending more time on the Amalfi Coast on our next visit to Rome.
Amanda and Warren Turner.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour driver/guide, David was fun, knowledgeable and kept us all busy on the ride back and forth from Rome, as well as during the amazing ride down the beautiful A,alf Coast.

The tour of Pompeii was inspiring, and the tour guide for that was an expert in the history of the place and was passionate and committed to make the experience memorable and significant.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Pamela F. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very organized and followed time schedule well. Our tour guide was Sara and she and fellow guide Elena provided helpful facts and education about Rome, Pompeii, Naples and sites on the bus ride. We stopped after 1.5 hours for a break then went on to the museum in Naples. We were given 1.5 hours to explore the museum in Naples on our own. It was an appropriate amount of time. Next was a pizza lunch and then on to Pompei. Enzo was our guide and was great! Lots of knowledge as he is local to the area and his ancestors worked the excavation. I think we spent 2 hours touring the highlights of Pompei and then back to the bus for the ride home. After 1.5 hours we stopped again for a break, limencello tasting and gift shop. We had a great time.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Stephanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I took this tour on the 28/11/15. This was an excellent and well organised tour. If you're going to do a tour from Rome do this tour and you really need the whole day so I wouldn't go for a half day option.

Our tour guides were fantastic and I loved the way they kept feeding us with snippets of history. I hope these guys get paid well for their efforts. 10 out of 10 to our 2 guides and the driver!

I didn't realise but lunch was included and it was Pizza with salad and a drink. We spent 1 hour in the Museum and 2 hours at Pompeii. After chatting with some other people on the tour we recommend
To spend longer at Pompeii and maybe less time at lunch or not have that lunch break and give people the option to grab a quick lunch at the site. I personally would have liked to see more and maybe at a quicker pace but I understand the tour needs to cater for everyone's needs.

There are toilet breaks and the guides check to make sure you are ok on the bus. Our group was very nice too which helps when you're on a tour all day.

I feel confident to go back by myself now.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Chanel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Stephanie, Luka, and Marios may or may not have spelled those right were all marvelous. I learned a ton and had fun doing it. The lunch was wonderful. Hiking up Mt Vesuvius was challenging, but well worth the sore legs and just sore everything, tbh at the end of it all. Getting to Pompeii and learning more about their civilisation was just the icing on the cake. It truly was remarkable. Luka and Stephanie's Rome 101 at the end of the tour was especially appreciated and myself and a couple other tour guests took advantage of a certain gelato recommendation immediately after the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Trudy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a great way to see Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast in a Readers Digest version of the area. I had a very limited amount of time in Rome so this was a good way for me to see the sights. The members of the tour group and the guide made for a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

colesy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a Great day out. Trip was well organised from start to finish. Coach was comfortable and our tour guide Stephanie was absolutely fantastic. Full day was filled with interesting facts about Rome, the route we travelled and Pompeii itself. The journey could have been a bit long and boring had it not been for the Tour guides and their interesting in-depth knowledge. Pompeii was amazing, there was much more to it than i had thought and i would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message