Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 650 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Both our tour guide and Pompeii guide were very knowledgeable and interesting. The day was very well planned and ran smoothly. We enjoyed seeing the Archaeological Museum before visiting the site as it helped us imagine the city as it once would have been. We recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

kah t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I was on a work trip in Milan and decided to skip town to Rome. I was lucky enough to get on a tour guided by Roberto which I read many positive feedback on. He has kept the trip light i.e. not all boring stuffs, but he talked us through the history of Pompeii on our bus ride there..and kept us entertain throughout. It will always be a trip I highly spoke about besides being there in Pompeii myself but also guided by a great tour guide. It was well worth the 12-13 hours of the day. I am pretty sure you will not know how time passes so quickly on this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

justcurious85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our bus travel to Naples and Pompeii was well coordinate with every 1.5 hour breaks in a 3 hour drive. The guided bus tour in Naples was quick and informative given by Teresa. The lunch was decent, the pizza and fruit dessert being my favorite out of the 3 course meal. As far as the Pompeii tour, Teresa was amazing. She was able to draw our imaginations of what life was like in Pompeii and how the people lived there. Example, she got us very excited before entering every ruin such as a fast food place they had built. The drive back to Rome was uneventful besides another 1.5 hour break.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Amanda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was fabulous. Brando was an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable and friendly, tour went without a glitch from the time we were picked up from the Westin Hotel to the time we were brought back. Tour guide in Pompeii was EXCELLENT - he brought the city to life for us - informative and very entertaining the man had charisma. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Warren and I enjoyed ourselves immensely and look forward to spending more time on the Amalfi Coast on our next visit to Rome.
Amanda and Warren Turner.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour driver/guide, David was fun, knowledgeable and kept us all busy on the ride back and forth from Rome, as well as during the amazing ride down the beautiful A,alf Coast.

The tour of Pompeii was inspiring, and the tour guide for that was an expert in the history of the place and was passionate and committed to make the experience memorable and significant.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Pamela F. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very organized and followed time schedule well. Our tour guide was Sara and she and fellow guide Elena provided helpful facts and education about Rome, Pompeii, Naples and sites on the bus ride. We stopped after 1.5 hours for a break then went on to the museum in Naples. We were given 1.5 hours to explore the museum in Naples on our own. It was an appropriate amount of time. Next was a pizza lunch and then on to Pompei. Enzo was our guide and was great! Lots of knowledge as he is local to the area and his ancestors worked the excavation. I think we spent 2 hours touring the highlights of Pompei and then back to the bus for the ride home. After 1.5 hours we stopped again for a break, limencello tasting and gift shop. We had a great time.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Stephanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I took this tour on the 28/11/15. This was an excellent and well organised tour. If you're going to do a tour from Rome do this tour and you really need the whole day so I wouldn't go for a half day option.

Our tour guides were fantastic and I loved the way they kept feeding us with snippets of history. I hope these guys get paid well for their efforts. 10 out of 10 to our 2 guides and the driver!

I didn't realise but lunch was included and it was Pizza with salad and a drink. We spent 1 hour in the Museum and 2 hours at Pompeii. After chatting with some other people on the tour we recommend
To spend longer at Pompeii and maybe less time at lunch or not have that lunch break and give people the option to grab a quick lunch at the site. I personally would have liked to see more and maybe at a quicker pace but I understand the tour needs to cater for everyone's needs.

There are toilet breaks and the guides check to make sure you are ok on the bus. Our group was very nice too which helps when you're on a tour all day.

I feel confident to go back by myself now.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Chanel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Stephanie, Luka, and Marios may or may not have spelled those right were all marvelous. I learned a ton and had fun doing it. The lunch was wonderful. Hiking up Mt Vesuvius was challenging, but well worth the sore legs and just sore everything, tbh at the end of it all. Getting to Pompeii and learning more about their civilisation was just the icing on the cake. It truly was remarkable. Luka and Stephanie's Rome 101 at the end of the tour was especially appreciated and myself and a couple other tour guests took advantage of a certain gelato recommendation immediately after the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Trudy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a great way to see Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast in a Readers Digest version of the area. I had a very limited amount of time in Rome so this was a good way for me to see the sights. The members of the tour group and the guide made for a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

colesy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a Great day out. Trip was well organised from start to finish. Coach was comfortable and our tour guide Stephanie was absolutely fantastic. Full day was filled with interesting facts about Rome, the route we travelled and Pompeii itself. The journey could have been a bit long and boring had it not been for the Tour guides and their interesting in-depth knowledge. Pompeii was amazing, there was much more to it than i had thought and i would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ali R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had wonderful tour guides - Roberto and Anna - who were very knowledgeable about Italy, Rome, and Pompeii. They were funny and interactive and I would definitely go on a tour with them again! Hiking Mt. Vesuvius was incredible, the views are beautiful. Also, Pompeii was wonderful. Again, we had a great guide who was knowledgeable and funny and showed us all of the best parts of the historic city and gave us plenty of time to take photographs of everything. If I'm ever in Rome again, I would definitely use Viator and the local tour company and go see these places again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were on a 3 day trip to Rome and decided to take a day trip to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. The early morning start was worth it as we experienced the right amount of time in both places. Our tour guide was both information and very funny and also very helpful.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Aphrodite Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did this tour on August 28th and just wow - there are no words to say just how freakin incredible it was! Firstly I have to mention our tour guide, Mike. I'm really not exaggerating when I say that he is the best in town, or in the world! An American living in Rome, he was very laidback with some hilarious crude jokes and taught us about Roman/Pompeii history in such a way that we were hanging on every word! It was a long day from 0715 to 2000 but having Mike as our guide it didn't drag at all!

Ok so regarding the day, climbing baby Vesuvius was exhilarating. Exhausting yes but more so exhilarating when you finally reach the top, I personally felt like a superhero when I did. Don't forget to buy a postcard for a few Euros and get it stamped to say you climbed Vesuvius. Then had a pizza lunch in Naples which was quite nice, followed by a short bus ride to Pompeii. Walking around the ruins of Pompeii was indescribable, knowing what happened to the once-thriving city! An experience not to be missed! In conclusion to say this tour was amazing would be a major understatement, wish I could rate it 6 stars :-

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow, the opportunity to climb Mt Vesuvius and look into the crater was not to be missed, although quite a long trip from Rome. Pompeii was just as I expected, only bigger, much bigger. Could have done a whole day at Pompeii easily as there is so much to see. The guide was first class and very helpful.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Amanda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Hiking up Mt. Vesuvius is one of the coolest things we did on our honeymoon. Definitely a one of a kind experience. Pompeii was really interesting, but also a bit morbid, as you might expect considering the circumstances. Long bus ride both ways, so if you can do this from Naples instead of Rome that's probably better. But still an amazing trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fantastic day! Had the best guide in the world -- Massimo ruined our tours for the rest of our two week trip!!!! No one could compare to him!!!!!! He was full of all kinds of interesting information about Rome. He was funny and engaging!! That is one wonderful tour guide that you have there. We enjoyed the climb up Mt. Vesuvius and of course the trip to Pompeii. Our guide Alexandra was also very good.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

keith1955

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a Fantastic day out. Rob and Becky were absolutely BRILLIANT, and really knew their stuff. We have never learnt so much in such a short time. What a great History lesson. The Restaurant where we had lunch was great, and the food far exceeded our expectations.
Lots of tips and advice was given to us about every day life in Rome, and proved to be very usefull during our stay in Rome.
The coach journey was very comfortable, and the rest breaks were well timed. It was also good that our driver had Ice Cold bottles of water on the coach at 1 each, which saved buying it at silly prices from the places we visited.
The tour around Pompeii, was very informative and well planned.
The trip up Mount Vesuvius was to say the least, a VERY interesting coach drive, and the walk to the top was hard work for us at 60 yrs old , but well worth it when you get there. Fantastic views from 4,300 feet up a volcano, above the clouds.
The journey back to Rome was full of more history and very useful tips about where to go, and what to see in Rome, including some good restaurants and Gellato shops.
My wife and I can't praise this duo enough for making it a great day, and we highly recommend it.
Thank You Becky and Rob for a GREAT day out.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antonella and Robert were our wonderful guides. Robert was so passionate about sharing his knowledge of Rome, the region and Vesuvius that he was addictive and has a fun way of sharing his knowledge. Antonella was very helpful, kind and informative and between them they made a great team and I would certainly hope to be in their company again if I get the chance to return. The trip was well organised and worth paying for the ticket. Pompeii was fascinating and our guide on site was very up on her subject also with lots of information and stories. Climbing that last stretch of Vesuvius, almost vertically lol, and becoming one of Roberts Vessies was exhilarating and a major achievement. It certainly worked off the traditional pizza lunch that was also part of the trip. The coach ride up and down the volcano is just as exciting and the views are magnificent. If I am fortunate enough to return to Rome or the region, I would not hesitate booking this day trip again. It's a long day from Rome ...... 7.30am to around 8pm ....... but well worth it and you get a couple of bathroom breaks at a very nice coffee/souvenir shop below Monte Cassino. The total travel time is around 6 hours, but definitely on the return journey you are grateful for the time to get a nap. You will need it. Great day and, again, Antonella and Robert were outstanding guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Emme W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great day trip!!! It's a long day but there is decent time to rest on the comfortable bus ride back to Rome. Andy was one of our tour guides and having him there made all the difference! He's entertaining, very personable, and shares a lot of valuable information along the way. This tour is well organized and my friends and I really enjoyed the hike and Pompeii!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kelly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Although it was a long day, we found this trip to be one of our favorites in the 2 weeks in Italy! Our coach bus was comfortable, the guides extremely knowledgable, but most importantly they were kind and extremely helpful. Pompeii is more than I expected and the hike to the crater of Mt. Vesuvius was a bucket-list kind of activity. Be ready to do quite a bit of walking, but there was plenty of time to rest on the return trip to Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Murray W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the best option for my wife and I as we wanted to see Pompeii as a half-day tour. The arrangements or speed train allowed us to be back in Rome for the afternoon. Tour leader was very knowledgeable as well as very entertaining. A great day out.

Doing what: Pompeii Express Tour from Rome by High-Speed Train

Narelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a fantastic time on the Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius tour. The guides were lovely, hilarious and informative. The local guide we had at Pompeii also was just great.
The whole day was very enjoyable and I would highly recommend this to anyone going to Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Victoria W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guides and the bus driver were fantastic! We took this day trip from Rome to Pompeii and got to do a walking tour of the city, eat a pizza lunch near Naples, and then head up Mt. Vesuvius. Wear comfortable shoes, bring sunscreen, and stay hydrated. Other than that, be prepared to learn a bunch and see a completely different region of Italy!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jason F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour and knowledgeable guides. Robert gave incredible insight, not only into Pompeii but Rome, Catholicism and general history of the area. Highly recommend this and any City Wonders tour you can do, they run a tight operation and are extremely accommodating to their guests.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jason A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the best guided tour we had on our trip to the UK and to Rome. Even though it was a three hour ride to Pompeii, the drivers were very entertaining and informative that the ride did not seem that long at all. They explained a lot of stuff about Rome, Italy, Romans, Pompeii, Vesuvius, and the eruption. The amount of time at each place was perfect and we did not feel rushed at all. I would highly recommend doing this on your first full day in Rome as we learned so much about what else to see in Rome that we never considered before. We unfortunately did the tour on our last full day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message