Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 693 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kazza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip out from Rome, thoroughly enjoyed Amalfi, Positano and a later visit to Pompeii. Great guide Hector took us around Pompeii and gave us an amazing experience. We had a small group and were given plenty of free time to explore. Had a rest on the way back as a long day out. Expensive but really wanted to visit the gorgeous Amalfi coast.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the day. The guides - Rick and Andy - were informative and fun to be with. Our Pompeii guide Carla was also very good. I would highly recommend this trip if you have an extra day while in Rome. We were leary of the long bus ride but it wasn't bad and we learned lots of tips and interesting information along the way. We'd read that the hike was strenuous and while it was, it was worth it for the beautiful view.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jaymin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guides were very knowledgeable and took what would could have been a long boring day with many bus rides into the most informative day of our time in Rome. Climbing Mt Vesuvius was a real hike with beautiful views from the top of the crater. Pompeii was vast and we had our own Pompeii guide once we got to the archaeological site. Wish I had booked more tours with City Wonders. Again, the tour guides made this amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

MaryJoy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Luca, our guide, did a wonderful job telling us all about Rome, Pompeii, Naples, and Mt. Vesuvius. CityWonders is a very organized and punctual company. We arrived at the meeting point at 7:30, loaded on to the buses, and had a bathroom break on the way there and back. We had a local guide in Pompeii that helped us see the highlights, a wonderful pizza lunch, and then a hike on Mt. Vesuvius. Be sure to bring good walking shoes, a hat, and water for the day. Well worth it and a great company and guide.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fabulous. Best thing I did the whole 11 days I was in Italy. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and Pompeii is incredible. The only way it could have been better is if the weather were better there was a landslide and we couldn't go up Vesuvius or even really see it with all the clouds but the backup plan museum was nice and no one can control the weather. The overall experience was great and it was nice to take a break from the hectic crowdedness of Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Anna P Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour with Alessandra and Andy in the lead. It's a full on day with six hours in the bus total so be prepared to be a bit knackered by the time you get back. I thought they did such an excellent job in spreading out the information provided and I really appreciated that our guides took the time in the last hour on the bus to go over a of the touristy and perhaps off the beaten tracks elements of Rome. Please tell Andy his Gelato recommendation La Romana was spot on and we went five times in three days!!! These guys really know their stuff and handled a large group really well. You only get a two hour guided tour of Pompeii but that's actually enough as it all becomes a bit information overload actually! Lunch was a tasty Napoli pizza with first drink included and we were very happy with everything.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kirsty B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A lovely, happy, cheery lady was our guide.Very friendly and full of information. Meeting point was easy to find, the coach was very nice. The walk around Pompeii was absolutely astounding and our guide there was very informative. I could have spent all day just at Pompeii! The lunch we had was great - the pizza was better than the Roman pizza! Then we drove up Mount Vesuvius and we had enough time to walk to point 3 which was amazing. Such a magnificent view and wonderful history surrounding it. We were back on time and we stopped on the way back at the same place we stopped at in the morning, so we were able to buy coffee and souvenirs and try limoncello! Great value for such an amazing trip. Everyone on the trip was lovely and our guide sorry I've forgotten her name! even suggested where we could go for dinner when we were back in Rome - I ended up having the best stir fry I've ever tasted! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed it so much. Do have to warn you the driving near the coast is filled with so many turns and twist---make sure you do have a bottle of water with you ! The entire tour was amazing...LONG....but amazing. Pompeii HECTOR our tour Guide........what we learned from him applied to every single thing back in ROME.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were met at Termini Station and given our tickets for the high speed train to Naples. Once in Naples, we were met and driven to Pompeii. The guide there was extremely good. She knew her stuff very well and answered all questions asked. The route we went on was different than I had done before so there was new stuff to see. It included a nice mix of residential, commercial and public buildings so we got a good idea of the town and how it functioned. The guide gave us a lot of insight into how the people lived.
Following the tour, we were driven back to Naples for our return trip to Rome. Overall, it was a great tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Pompeii Express Tour from Rome by High-Speed Train

Wendelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had ONE day to visit Pompeii and this trip gave me that and more Mt. Vesuvius. Great, friendly, knowledgeable tour guides. I would love to go back and spend more time in Pompeii. But, for a one day tour from Rome, this was terrific.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gareth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip made all the more enjoyable by our three tour guides, Antonella, Rebecca and Bernadette, who were very informative and passionate about there roles.
My wife and my son were In agreement with me that this was probably the best day tour we have been on and I believe that was down to our tour guide hosts.
I must not forget our coach drive Antonio, who was a true professional and coped very well with the hazardous drive up the winding roads up Mount Versuvious, fully deserving of the round of applause he got whilst negotiating a tricky passing of another coach.
Fully recommend this tour if your visiting Rome, make a day out to Pompeii and Mount Versuvious top of your list of things to do.
Thanks again Gareth , Deborah and Mathew Davies family

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Despite the long travel time from Rome to Pompeii on the bus, this was an extraordinary day. Our guide, Robert, was patient, energenic, extremely knowledgable and available for all questions from our group of 25. We had hoped to climb Mt. Vesuvius, but a rainy morning prevented our climb Instead, we visited an outstanding archeological museum We highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

circle2us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a long day, but our two guides Andy and Melanie kept us entertained and informed. They even came through the bus on the way home to help each family with restaurants and taxis, and answering questions any questions about Rome. Pompeii tour was comprehensive and thorough. The climb to the top of Mount Vesuvius was icing on the cake. Walking Pompeii was not easy - lots of uneven walkways to negotiate and a certain level of fitness was necessary for both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Pompeii had huge crowds which detracted from the experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Debbie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely awesome! Janvar was a fantastic guide and Andy and Melanie were also excellent guides, very knowledgeable about Rome and Pompeii and their tips on restaurants and coffee bars was fantastic. Janvar was extremely passionate about Pompeii and gave us details that any average person would not spot. Even down to the ratings of the red light district. Very humbling! Mount Vesuvius was equally spectacular. Lunch was provided at a local pizza restaurant and this was very tasty and freshly made.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Andy, Melanie Aussies both and our driver Antonio aka the 'TONY Stewart' of bus drivers delivered an AWESOME non-stop tour of the history and archaeology of Pompeii and the geology of Mt. Vesuvius. The team took a personal interest in their 'family' of tourists, so that by the end of the long tour they knew everyone on a first name basis. Even during the several hours of 'dead' time to and from Rome and the sites, they continued to provide exclusive insights about traveling about Rome and its environs. A good example of their personal engagement and commitment was their efforts to prod everyone to the top of Vesuvius under specially harsh weather conditions that day. They provided the BEST touring experience of my many years traveling with VIATOR.--Jim

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day learning about the history and culture of Pompeii. Our guide, Andrew, was knowledgeable, entertaining, and akLso gave us good tips for travelling in Rome

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was awesome! First off, our tour guides, Sarah and Enzo, were very well organized and knowledgeable. They were great at keeping us informed throughout the day. They spoke excellent English and were very detailed in all of Italy's history and answering our questions. Alfredo, our awesome bus driver, drove 1.5 hrs to a rest stop in Cassino where we had 15 min to stretch our legs, use the toilets, and grab some coffee or snacks. Back on the bus for the next hour to Pompeii, our guides spoke to us about the history of Pompeii and what to expect when we arrive, which made the drive fly by. At Pompeii, we were split into 2 groups with 10-12 per group and we had excellent audio systems to hear our guide at all times. In addition to our tour guides, each group was provided a professional Pompeii historian guide to teach us about its history. The tour was fantastic! We had plenty of time to take photos and walk around on our own while still able to listen via audio systems and keep up with the group. Lunch was ok, not the best salad and pizza I've had, but pretty good for being included with the tour. TIP: Your first drink is included, each add'tl is 4 euro. Mt Vesuvius was an awesome experience! We had a little more than one hour to climb to the top and back. It took 20-30 min to reach the top at a moderate-to-slow pace stopping to rest and take photos along the way. It's pretty cool to be able to say you climbed an active volcano! On the way home, we stopped in Cassino for a break, then continued back to Rome. During our return, our guides conversed with everyone individually to ask if we had any questions/feedback about the tour or Italy in general, then answered everyone's questions out loud for everyone on the bus. There were a lot of helpful tips offered regarding places to eat, safety, etc. TIPS: Bring snacks for the ride. // There are plenty of chances to rest/nap on the bus. // Bus carries cold water for 1 euro

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day trip tour to Pompeii was well organized and comfortable. Luca and Manuel were great guides. Alberto was a fantastic driver. The local guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was incredible! There was enough time at the comfort stops and information shared by the guides about Rome during our return was of value.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Min Juan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

informative and professional guider from Rome to Pompeii and at local Pompeii. it is the must program if you want to enjoy a tour with historical and local culture information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Rome Pompeii tour was awesome. Everything went as I had expected. The guides Jennifer, Peter, and Enzo at Pompeii, were all professional and I learned a lot about life in Pompeii. peter also told us interesting facts related to Italian life. As for the schedule, we were also on time all the time. I could recommend this tour to everyone interested in history and hiking. Thank you !

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sylvanas Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Peter is a funny person and knows a lot about ROME, Pompeii.
You won't regret by choosing this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ernest J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pompeii is an amazing place to see and it's a great break from the wildness of Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Azucena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding!!! Great guides, tons of knowledge and information not only on Pompeii but all the way from and to Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome in every way! We have two young children and they thoroughly enjoyed Positano, Amalfi and Pompeii. I'd highly recommend this trip for people visiting Rome who'd like to get a small taste of Pompeii and the spectacular Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message