• USD ($)
  • English
Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 495 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We met at 7:30 AM in Piazza de Popolo. There were two groups on the same bus. We were given a little bit of info then the guides Violet and Mara let the group sleep. We stopped for a snack/bathroom break. Following that we were given information about lunch and the tour of Pompeii. We arrived and were met by the local guide. This guy was great. What a sense of humor and more good information about the sight. Lunch then followed. Afterwards off to the volcano Vesuvius. The road going to the midway point was incredibly windy, but the bus had no problems. We were given over an hour to clim to the top and then return to the bus. On the way back to Rome we stopped at the same place as in the morning. Great tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Day trip to Vesuvius is a long day from Rome but well worth it. Our Tour Guides Louise and Massimo were fantastic, they gave us time to chill in the morning until we stopped for coffee then on the second part of the bus journey they took us through background to what we were going to see and also the areas we were travelling through. They were both very informative and very funny. Our first stop was Mount Vesuvius, this is a good trek up to the top but worth it. Then we went for dinner which was quickly served and we had good options of pizza and drinks to choose from, and the guides were good to point out that extra drinks here were expensive. then we went a short drive to Pompeii, on this tour we had a local guide as well as Louise, his name was Willie and he was sooo funny, one of the most entertaining tour guides we have ever had, he kept a smile on our face all the way round, however still giving us a very good insight into the story of Pompeii.

I would highly recommend this tour, the guides were fantastic, they made the day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a fabulous day trip we had touring the Amalfi Coast from Rome. The whole tour was well organised and provided some time for personal browsing in Amalfi and Positano. Pompeii was well worth the visit, such an incredible hidden city. It was a long day but worth every minute.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

FYI: If you plan the walk up to the top of Mount Vesuvius make sure you wear closed shoes. Flip flops will be a problem walking on the loose gravel and dirt. Very hot at Pompeii. Bus driver will have water for 1 Euro. Bring a hat. 3 hour bus ride from Rome. Rest stop half way. Pizza lunch with drink included.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our Pompeii and Vesuvius tour was AWESOME! Mossimo an Luisa are the best tour guides. They are incredibly knowledgable of Italy's history and are funny to boot! We would definitely recommend and cannot wait for our next trip to Rome, so we can book them for a different tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pompeii always is impressive, no matter how often you visit it. Franco, our guide, shared his extensive knowledge that even our young grandchildren understood and enjoyed. It is a bit of a long drive from Rome; the tour representatives provided some commentary along the way. A very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

David W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Amalfi coastline is spectacular and well worth the trip! The roads are not for the faint hearted, as the roads are bordered by sheer cliffs into the sea!
Pompeii lived up to out expectations! Amazing! I was surprised that the coast of entry to Pompeii was not included in the cost of the trip.
The trip is a long day but well worth it. Our driver recommended an excellent restaurant in Rome after the trip that was the most amazing buffet!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alessandro, our driver was courteous and knowledgeable and gave us all the info we needed without being overbearing. It was a long day and the four of us were paired with 2 other couples who were traveling together. We enjoyed each other's company and both they and the driver were patient as my 11 year old fell very ill just as we were driving home which delayed us by about 45 minutes. So back to the day. Early pick up but then a quick stop for coffee after an hour. Drive up the Amalfi coast is beyond windy so motion sick travelers come prepared and medicated. The coast is stunning, the towns charming. We stopped for a break in Amalfi and lunch in Positano. Time in each place was just about right. Kids enjoyed being able to paddle in the ocean after lunch. Tour culminated in Pompeii with a new guide who really brought the history to life for us with his enthusiasm (don't remember his name).
An absolutely amazing day that completed our 5 nights in Rome. Highly, highly recommend this tour. It's pricey for a family but you've come this far just do it - you won't regret it!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and i went on the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome in June 2014. We had the most amazing time. The group was easy to meet in Piazza del Popolo and the air conditioned tour bus was not parked far away (no bathroom on the bus). It is about a 3 hour drive to Mt. Vesuvius where we started our tour with a hike to the top - takes about 25 minutes - pretty steep incline but absolutely doable - i would recommend wearing sneakers though as the trail is a lot of tiny crushed pebbles - can be slippery. You do stop about 1.5 hours into the trip for a bathroom break where you can also buy food. Our tour guide, Massimo, was amazing. He talked to us on the way to Mt. Vesuvious about lots of fun facts, stories, and myths about Rome and Pompeii - really interesting and animated story teller - made the bus ride go fast. Pompeii is only a 25min drive from Mt. Vesuvius. You get lunch first (really good personal pizzas) and then tour the city ruins - pretty amazing stuff. Tour guides in Pompeii vary in how good they are, but that is outside of Viator's control as they do not provide the tour guides in the city of Pompeii. Overall we had a great day trip to Pompeii and would definitely recommend the trip to others - request Massimo as your tour guide if possible :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed our trip, was blown away by how well preserved Pompeii was. This was the one both me and my husband were looking forward to. The views from mount vesivius are amazing, im really unfit so was tough climbing up at first but worth it. The guides who took us through were so informative we were in the purple group with Violet. She was knowledgeable, helpful and really took the time to tell us about Rome, Pompeii and mount vesivius. She also helped us book other trips and recommended different ways to get to the sights. When at Pompeii we had Louisa, she was also fantastic. Really knew her stuff. I would so recommend the tours otherwise you would miss the importance of different things. The sight is huge and they help you see the important things and really give you a sense of how it was. Definetly recommend this trip and a big thanks to the guides as they made the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful tour. Our guides from Rome and our guide in Pompeii were all very good and very informative. During the bus ride to and from, our Rome guides provided a lot of helpful information regarding things to do, places to eat, etc. in Rome. This was above and beyond!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I think this is the best way to see Pompeii from Rome in one day. The busride was relaxing, and you will get informations about the places you pass by, such as the Montecassino.
The climb of the summit of Vesuvio was great, so was the pizza we had.
I would have liked to enter Napoli, but I guess that is not possible to combine with Vesuvio and Pompeii in only one day.
The guide in Pompeii was really good and funny. So was the guides on the bus, and they handled everything very professional - even when a lady fell and broke her leg on the way down from Vesuvio, and had to go to the hospital.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

One of the best tours. The guide kept us entertained on the drive and offered us practical advice on our Rome trip. Pompeii and Vesuvius were amazing as were the views of Naples.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an amazing trip. It takes the entire day but is totally worth your time. The bus you take is comfortable/air conditioned. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was incredible. It's about a 40 minute walk to the top with amazing views of the Bay of Naples. The guided tour of Pompeii was also incredible. This was one of my favorite tours that we did while staying in Rome. Our guides, Geo and Daniel, were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great. Bus was comfortable, guides were good, pizza was good as well (was skeptical, but turned out better than planned). I didn't want to do shopping for souveniers, but I know others did, and the only place we really had time to do that was at a pit stop in Casino. The place had everything but just felt a bit too touristy. Pompeii and Vesuvios was a great experience, but doing a day trip was a lot of travelling for the amount of experience you get. In hindsight, I would have sacrificed a night or two in Rome and stayed in Naples.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message