Pasta, wine, cheese, salami, olive oil – these are the tastes of Italy. The country’s famous food regions have given their names to some of the world’s most popular food and wine – from Montepulciano wines to Parmigiano cheese. Tuscany and Umbria ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1476 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bucket list

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a terrific tour. Paulo, Nicholetta and Marco were wonderful guides and we had a lot of fun going to the market and doing the food prep for the outstanding meal. Only change I would suggest is to also let us do some of the actual cooking, too.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

LG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I decided last-minute to do this tour and was glad I did, as it was very informative and delicious! Valeria was an excellent guide, and the small size of the group allowed us to ask all the questions we wanted. The food samples are very generous, and I was stuffed at the end.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Rodney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There were only 6 people on this tour and it was very good. Siena was a gem and the church was fabulous. Make sure you check out the small library as this is nothing short of amazing. You do waste a bit of time purchasing the entry ticket. The trip through Chianti is great and the guide arranged with the driver to stop for us to take some photos. The meal at the winery was good, local and rustic and matched the wines. The short winery tour was informative with the wine maker being a wonderful talker of his local product. Our guide, Antonio, was excellent. He had extensive knowledge and kept us informed throughout the trip.

Doing what: Sunset Siena and Chianti Wine Tour with Dinner from Florence

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

highlight of our trip to Rome, no doubt! The food was amazing and we learned a lot! Our chefs were funny and friendly and it was great to interact with some fellow travelers. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Chez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent Tour Guide Domenico. He was so funny and the best tour guide I have had. Loved all the food and couldn't get enough even though I felt like I was going to burst I was so full. Overall fantastic and highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

hwagnerrealtor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Federica was lovely and very knowledgeable. We not only enjoyed the delicious food but we also learned so much about the history of Rome and the neighbors we explored.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Krystin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a blast. We learned so much and tried a lot of different foods. Emma was a phenomenal guide. Highly recommend doing this when you first arrive in Rome because the tips they tell you will be great to use during the rest of your trip.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Paul N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour and Guide, Antonia. Be aware that the market is closed for to afternoon tour. There is so much food to eat that you will not want to eat for hours before the tour begins, especially the evening tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Wouter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great tour with a very friendly guide that showed us some food and parts of Rome we otherwise would have never experienced. For sure something you should do when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Kathjbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour. Our guide Matteo was very knowledgeable and was also a sommelier so we knew we were getting the best information at all times. The wine was lovely and the tours of the vineyards were extra special. Lunch in the old cellar was lovely. Would definitely recommend if you have the time and want to see the Tuscan countryside.

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Phyllis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Emma, was amazing. She was full of history and information. The food was to die for. My tip: Don't eat before you go. It's a full meal a bite at a time you don't want to be too full to miss a single, terrific bite.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Margaret-Hope M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great variety, everything was delicious and fresh. Huge portions: I had to bring food home in a doggie bag. Our guides Arturo and Dominico were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Best guides ever :

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

dprzm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

THE SOMMELIER WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE AND THE FOOD SERVED WAS DELICIOUS!

Doing what: Italian Wine and Cheese Tasting in Rome

Marty_tracy02

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing. Best wine and bruschetta we had in Italy. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Taste of Castelli Romani: Day Trip Including Santa Benedetta Winery from Rome

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great few hours. Emma was a lovely girl who gave us great history. The tour took in wonderful food options and everybody was stuffed full at the end! It seems expensive when you are booking, but nobody was complaining about the ,only at the end. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Indiana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous! Gigi was great and had excellent provider contacts that fed us interesting and delicious food. We loved the history and traditions of the shops and the people in the market. They all seemed to love Gigi, which is not a hard thing to do given her personality and joy de vivre. We also loved the relaxed pace of the tour. Thank you Gigi.

Judy and Indiana

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour that I have already recommended to a friend! Friendly knowledgeable guide, wonderful food!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

karen.viles2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My daughters and I loved this tour with our guide Domenico! It was off the beaten path and Domenico led us through quaint shops where we felt so welcome. The food at the shops and the market were amazing! We loved the stop at the cemetery, too. Thank you, Domenico, for making it the best day we had in Italy.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Tracy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Rome Food Walking Tour was one of the best experiences that we've had while visiting Rome. Our guide, Domenico, was absolutely outstanding. He was very knowledgeable with local cuisine, history of Rome and the city's traditions. We made a number of stops at different shops, restaurants and a local market. Tried various food samples and dishes that we would not have tried otherwise. We were looking for an authentic Roman experience, and this tour definitely delivered on what we were looking for. We were glad that we signed up for the tour at the beginning of our stay in Rome. This gave us an opportunity to re-visit many of the shops and restaurants that Domenico introduced us to. Great tour! We would definitely recommend signing up, if you are considering it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Todd T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Food with a little history. This was the most enjoyable tour. Our guide Casey was fun, knowledgeable and accommodating. The food selections and places we went could not have been any better. I am not one to take tours much, but I would go again on this. We went back to three of the places to eat.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Christy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was so much fun!!! I had way too much wine while we were cooking so I don't remember everything but from what I do remember and from watching my videos later and looking at my photos I can tell you that I had a great time!!! We met our chef Martina in the morning and went to the farmers market to do our shopping. There were just four of us in the class and I think that is a perfect size. We walked to the house where we had our cooking lesson. I had read a review where someone said it took 45 minutes. It actually took about 10 minutes. The home was lovely and really well equipped for our class. We started drinking and cooking. They keep the wine coming. : We made three different types of pasta from scratch. We made a meat dish and we made dessert. It was all wonderful but you are absolutely stuffed by the time you get leave. There is no way you could possibly eat everything you make. After you leave there you can go to the owner's restaurant and pick up your little board that you use to make one of the pastas that we made. I have to admit I don't remember much about this at all. : We took a cab there with our new best friends Matt and Charlotte who were in the class with us. We met at 9:15 in the morning and we were done around 2:00. I wish I could emphasize more what a great time this class was. There is no pressure to do anything just right. It is very laid back and they do all of the cleaning up. : Later in the week I took a tour to the Amalfi Coast and I met 5 other people who had also taken this class and they agreed that it was one of the best times they had in Rome also. So, it isn't just the wine talking. :

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Teri V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly enjoyed, but do not eat before-lots of food to try!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Teri V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such an interesting way to learn about Italian food and some of the history of Rome. Eric was a great guide!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Tricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour with hosts, Martina and Nicoletta! They greeted us promptly at 9am and took us to the market while providing us background of the sites and culture. Martina is an expert Michelin 3 chef who gave us direction on the best foods to choose for our lesson. Martina and Nicoletta work well together while exchanging humor and instructions to the group. We made 3 types of homemade pasta that were beyond delicious and a veal entree too. If only they were in my kitchen now to guide me with their skill! The day past quickly as we had so much enjoyment in the 5 hours with them. Sincerely thank you for a spectacular cooking day, the chef Martina and Nicoletta! Buon appetito!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Carrie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful food tour of the Testaccio neighborhood - 9 stops at shops and market stalls, no other tourists, really felt like we were shopping like locals. My 12 year old son enjoyed it too. The guide, Domenico, was fantastic, funny and engaging, keeping the group of 12 entertained and informed throughout. The group was really interesting, from New Zealand, Israel, and the US, and the perfect size to stay together and not overcrowd the stops. The food is generous and we ended the 4 hour tour with a final stop at a gelato shop, full and happy. One of the highlights of our trip to Rome!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message