• USD ($)
  • English
Pasta, wine, cheese, salami, olive oil – these are the tastes of Italy. The country’s famous food regions have given their names to some of the world’s most popular food and wine – from Montepulciano wines to Parmigiano cheese. Tuscany and Umbria ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was amazing, I really enjoyed it! We got lots of tips on typical Roman food and wine to taste. With all the tastings you do you don’t need have dinner afterwards. I’ve been to Italy a few times, and still the gelato we tasted was probably the best gelato I’ve had in my live! The rest of the tastings were really nice too, mostly typical Roman. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour. Domenico and Emma were fantastic guides and made our food tour fun and educational. Wine, cheese, pasta and REAL gelato. Now, we are totally gelato snobs, knowing the difference between powdered gelato and fresh based on color and height. So fun! If you are into learning about food, local food and market history and meeting the folks that make it, this is for you. Thanks again Domenico and Emma!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Marco was our guide for this trip. Although we had been to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain in the past, it was nice to hear the history from Marco. The reason I booked this tour, though, was the cooking class. We ended up at That's Amore close to the Trevi for our pasta class. Fernando was the perfect teacher, patient and friendly. He even took photos for us! There was just one other couple that took the cooking class with us which made it so nice to get individual attention. We made cavatelli, fettuccine and ravioli with both semolina and water and 00 flour and egg. The best part is that the restaurant cooked the pasta we made and we sat down to enjoy our handmade pastas. They served good wine and a light and airy dolce, too. On our last night in Rome, we decided to go back for dinner at That's Amore and the food was fantastic! We even got to see Fernando again for a second goodbye. I would recommend this tour just for the cooking class alone!

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the tour. It was a good mix of people from Australia, Canada, America and Britain. We ate until we couldn't eat any more .and met some friendly and funny Italians. The pasta meal in the restaurant was excellent with wine and water and all in all we felt the tour was good value for money. Our guide, Dominik (the charming young man with long hair from Philadelphia) was brilliant company, amusing and funny and when he sang as well it was great. Would definitely recommend it to all foodies!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Booked this tour as a surprise for my boyfriend on our holiday to Rome. What a great tour!
The short walk from Piazza Navona to the Pantheon, and then Trevi Fountain was a great way to start our tour. The tour guide was fantastic, and knew loads of interesting facts about the sights. He swapped between English and Spanish effortlessly and never left us feeling bored while translating for the Spanish-speaking tour-goers.
We had a short time (around 15 minutes) at each place to stop and take photos.
The cooking lesson was definitely the highlight of the day! There were 9 of us in our class, and the table was set up in the center of the restaurant. Fabio was a fantastic teacher and we had so much fun. We made cavatelli and ravioli, and were shown how to make 'bow tie' shapes with the scraps. While rolling the pasta for the ravioli it stretched right out the door! Once we had finished we all sat down and the food was brought out to us; it was delicious! The meal came with complimentary wine and bread, and we even had desert.
I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone considering it, it's a wonderful way to spend a morning in Rome, and such great value for money.

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was so much fun. We shopped first for all our supplies in markets that I never would have found on my own. Our group was only 6 people and it was a perfect amount. We learned so much! Fabio was great - and his apartment was awesome. I will forever change the way I cook. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this tour.....lots of fun, food, wine and laughter.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This tour was really great. As it turned out, my wife and I were the only two people on the tour that day. Since this was our second trip to Rome, we had already seen many of the obligatory historical sights, and we thought this would be a nice change of pace. We were not disappointed. As we walked around various areas of the city, we stopped to sample some typical Roman foods such as fresh buffalo mozzarella, charcuterie, pizza bianco, pizza rosso, a pasta dish with wine and gelato. The food was plentiful, and the discussion centered around food during the tour was very interesting. We covered lots of ground at a very leisurely pace, and learned lots about the food of Rome and of Italy.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

What an evening! Our party consisted of our son and his girlfriend, private wine tasting. A table was set up by the window and we could see all the local patrons having wine and enjoying this special wine bar as we were about to experience. The knowledge of Masimo, 5th generation, and he was also the chief, made this a cultural experience we were looking for. The wine was from local vineyards, fabulous selection, and the food was just as fabulous, home cooking. This was an experience not to be missed and it complemented our day of tours. It was a great way to end our day and one we will never forget.

Doing what: Rome Gourmet Food and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The small group walking tour was just that. Our group of 4 were the only people taking the tour. Our guide was excellent. She was knowledgable, friendly and spoke excellent English. We saw things we would never have seen on our own and sampled some excellent foods - cheese, ham, pizza sandwich, stuffed rice balls, a dish of paste accompanied by wine and, finally, gelato. The food was sampled in a variety of stores. Brilliant. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was without question fantastic! What a unique way to see a part of Rome from ground level as you walk in Tetaccio eating your way through this wonderful neighborhood filled with family tradition and fascinating history. The food at each stop beginning with Volpetto's and ending with gelato was outstanding. Our guide Sarah was phenomenol. In fact there was a review witten for Trip Advisor on 7 July calling her the "Boss" and best tour guide ever. Well, we'd have to go with "Uber-Boss," she did such a great job providing insights into the food and what to look for in addition to various historical highlights about Testaccio. No doubt she is passionate about Roman food and wine and exhibits true expertise in these areas. This tour is unique, delicious and down right fun. Don't pass this one up.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Rome Food Walking Tour was the best tour that we took while in Rome. Sara was an excellent guide, sharing her knowledge of food, drink and history. I would highly recommend this tour. Great food, good wine and a very interesting way to experience some of the Italian culture.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was a definite highlight of my time in Rome. Monica was an absolute gem, she is so enthusiastic about food and sharing her experience with tour participants. The location is magical with views over the river valley. The class was a great deal of fun and was hands on. Hand making pasta and local dishes was wonderful. The only drawback was there was too much food!!!! Everyone in the group was replete with good food and good wine and had a well deserved nap on the drive back to Rome. Thank you to Monica and our wonderful driver/kitchen hand for an experience to remember.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

this was one of the most fun (and informative tours) we've ever taken. We went to a part of Rome we've never been to, known as the 'foodie' part of Rome, and sampled food and wine of many different varieties. Sarah, our guide was amazing. This was not only great fun, but surprisingly educational. I'd do it again.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a fantastic tour with Monica as our chef and guide. We went in November which was low season and she picked us up cheerfully, even though it was only my husband and I, and we set off on a culinary/travel adventure. She is so lovely, knowledgeable, patient and kind. She asked what our goals and food interests were and then she developed a plan with us while driving to the country to fit our interests. My number one goal was to learn to make pasta and she taught me how to make artichoke/ricotta stuffed ravioli, lasagna with bechamel sauce, roasted pumpkin and sausage, and fettucine with wild mushrooms. I will never go back to box pasta. We also made a fantastic chicken dish with balsamic vinegar, bruchetta, roasted potatoes with rosemary and stuffed tomatoes. For dessert we made tiramisu. We chatted all day in the wildly unique environment-- an ancient but totally renovated house in the village overlooking the river-- great kitchen-- drank wine and learned a about food, the Italian culture etc. We were so spoiled by Monica-- we did have her all to ourselves, but I suspect she would treat everyone that way. She is a very hard worker. Fabio, the owner, is lucky to have her and so were we. Thanks Monica for your graciousness and a splendid day-- TC and Dennis

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Walking tour was ok. Guide was nearly 20 minutes late and not much personality. Class was great -- memorable experience and wonderful food and wine. We highly recommend L'Amore restaurant for cooking classes or just dining.

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message