Pasta, wine, cheese, salami, olive oil – these are the tastes of Italy. The country’s famous food regions have given their names to some of the world’s most popular food and wine – from Montepulciano wines to Parmigiano cheese. Tuscany and Umbria ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1336 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An extremely worthwhile tour. Our tour guide, Sebastiana, was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and provided a first class service. Her relationships with the local people, especially at the market, benefited us greatly, ensuring that we received top quality food. The pizza at Volpetti Piu was delicious including potato pizza!, while the balsamic vinegar at Volpetti was the best I've ever tasted. We bought a bottle to take home. The gelato at the end of the tour was incredible, with a great range to choose from. The tour included a wide range of foods and we left at the end feeling very full and not needing to eat again for the rest of the day. There's not a great deal of walking, so ideal on those hot summer days. Sebastiana was able to provide great tips and advice, with a little bit of history thrown in to develop your culinary awareness. A very worthwhile tour and definitely worth the money. It was the highlight of our trip to Rome and I would certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was wonderful and with six people you had plenty of room and a lot of comfort. You visit the country side which is Tuscany is incredibly beautiful. We ended up sampling 12 different wines and got to eat some great food. The tour guide was really interested in talking about Tuscany and being a sommelier, teaching us about the wines of the three wineries that we visited. Beautiful day, we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide Sebastiana was great! She not only took us to the best of Rome's food, but she also enhanced the experience with her explanations and stories. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Guide Valeria was very informative and knowledgeable. Valeria was passionate about food and its history and that reflected in her excellent tour. Couldnt fault it. Plenty of tasting opportunities and lots to see and do.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So much fun! So much food and so much information! Great tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would highly recommend this tour as it allowed us to get away from the tourist
hotspots, try some delicious local food, and explore some of the local neighbourhoods.
Our local guide Federica was excellent. She kept things both interesting and fun
and it was great to see the pride she took in her home city and food.
We also got to experience her favorite pasta - with only peccorino and pepper -
which was delicious! This tour and gave me an insight into both the local life and
food in Rome that I othewise would not have experienced. Definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Knowledgable guide,excellent food. Would recommend this tour !

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved the wine, the guide and seeing the countryside! Don't miss this opportunity to see the real Italy

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Sebastiana was our tour guide - very knowledgeable and entertaining.
So much food, we couldn't eat it all
We intend to return to Italy and will definitely book more Viator tours.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of fun, yummy food, the gal who runs this business really cares, A

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this activity if you love to cook, hate crowds, have seen all the sights of Rome already, and want to experience something different. This class gave me the chance to take home a little bit of Rome that will last forever.

Length: 5.5 hours
Difficulty: Easy, but does involve a bit of walking from market to kitchen. Be prepared to walk about 15 minutes. Stairs are involved.
Included: Food and wine. Can cater to vegetarians too! Take notes!
Max participants: 8
Fulfilled by: Fabiolous Cooking Day

Our chef was Chef Federico Alessandri and his assistant Nicoletta. We started the morning by going to the market in Campo de' Fiori. Federico taught us how to pick the best vegetables and tomatoes. We then went to a cheese shop and butcher shop for more ingredients, then headed off to a private kitchen on Tibur Island.

Once in the heavenly air-conditioned apartment, we donned our aprons and started chopping. He gave us so many tips and tricks about cooking including how to prepare tomatoes, cook garlic properly, and blanch vegetables. We created two kinds of pasta -- semolina/water and flour/egg. We created and kneaded the dough ourselves including stuffing and rolling the pasta. Chef Federico and Nicoletta did all the actual cooking, but Federico taught us how to do it all ourselves.

In the end, we dined on 5 amazing courses -- Spaghettini with tomato sauce over seared tomatoes, topped with fresh mozzarella and basil Cappelletti pasta filled with zucchini, ricotta, and lemon zest, finished with a parmesan white sauce and red wine reduction Strozzapreti in a creamy broccoli and cheese I think pecorino, can't remember sauce

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was awesome! He had a great energy, good sense of humor, and was very kind and helpful. The tour was more than I expected, I highly recommend it and would even do it again in a future trip to Rome. The place is beautiful and the wines are AMAZING!

Doing what: Frascati Wine Tasting Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic scenery, Siena is wonderful and the vineyard and meal were superb. It is a wine tasting meal and not a wine drinking trip so do not expect large glasses of wine, but the meal and staff cannot be faulted.
Food was delicious as was the wine, a fantastic trip but be careful, some of the roads are a little tight and bumpy so if easily car / bus sick then be prepared.

Doing what: Sunset Siena and Chianti Wine Tour with Dinner from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous cooking tour with our host chef Federico. Gave us real insight to Italian cooking and food culture. Federico was great - very engaging, patient and entertaining. If you are looking for a break from the standard Rome site seeing tours then I thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fantastic morning spent walking and tasting different foods in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle. Our guide, Sebastiana, was delightful as well as knowledgeable of the local area, foods, market and restaurants. The tour was totally worthwhile and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Federica was a tremendous tour guide -- instantly befriending us at our easy to find rendezvous spot and then taking excellent care to teach us about the various stops/history on our tour. We did the late afternoon tour which meant that the Campo de' Fiori Market was just wrapping up. But as it was so hot we more than welcomed darting in and out of fabulous shops and eateries, some cool because of AC, others refreshing because we were in a subterranean dining room. We kicked off the tasting and tales at the Ruggeri Campo de' Fiori shop: beautiful meats, cheeses and family stories. We then went onto several other stops -- all with food samples -- including a bakery which had the best wine donuts we've ever purchased, a restaurant in the Jewish Ghetto, a gelato shop and most memorably, Sette Oche in Altalena, Ristorante/Pizzeria , Reclamavano la Cena, the restaurant which serves Rome's signature Tonnarelli Cacio E Pepe -- also Federica's favorite pasta dish! The motto on the server's t-shirts: Make food not war was an excellent indicator of how serious this establishment is about creating authentic dishes yet still promoting a fun celebration of tradition. It was a tremendous tour with no need to have a meal until well into the next day. Federica was delightful and engaging and took care that the members of our small and very nice group knew how to get back to everyone's respective hotels. She followed up with all in a foodie email communique sharing links to recipes and recommendations for further places to go visit. Highly recommend doing this on your very first day in Rome... it won't disappoint you and will help orient you to the city and where to go, especially with thoughtful Federica's guidance.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

There were only 4 of us on this tour - an American couple and ourselves. The guide was very personable and thoughtful to our needs in the high temperatures. In addition to visiting the Trastevere etc. the chance to learn something off the food of the area and to sample well our several stops did amount to a meal in total rather than just sampling the food were a a real treat. I would highly recommend this tour and you get fed to boot.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely fantastic wine and very reasonable prices. We are only regretting that we couldn't purchase more.

Doing what: Frascati Wine Tasting Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the best day of our 10-day trip to Italy. Our guide, Elisa, was great--and the food and wine were delicious. The drive is a mere 30 minutes and is very scenic. The whole tour had a leisurely pace, and yet we had plenty of time left in the day to explore the heart of Florence when it was over.

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was amazing, fun, witty, smart, knowledgeable about Rome and its culture and of course its food. The places were amazing as well. Every store we visited, the people were kind and friendly.
This tour guide is just an awesome human being, she treated us like royalty, and of course, we are not.
This is the best.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the best day we spent in our 23 day Europe trip! The female tour guide wish I could recall her name ! gave a thorough explanation of every small area and local landmark on the bus ride...better than many other guides we had, and she was graceful, humorous and kind to all of us. Our winery experience had another fascinating guide who explained the various wines and aging process of each. I fully appreciated the education about one of my favorite beverages, as well as many plentiful samples with snacks to offset the flavor. The dinner in the village we went to was another bountiful experience, with ample portions and wonderful table companions. We also did siteseeing and shopping in two other villages. What a wonderful, memorable time we spent!

Doing what: Chianti Region Wine-Tasting and Dinner Half-Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best day spent out of the 23 we spent in 5 countries in Europe! Bus tour guide was thorough with local landmarks and local history, graceful and humorous. Winery guide fully explained the preparation of various wines and conditions that affect them and shared 4 wines and snacks with us to compliment the flavors. Dinner restaurant provided meals customized choices given and order placed earlier in ride, ample portions and wonderful table companions. Other two villages we visited were charming and cozy views of local life and small shops with trinkets to purchase, not usually offered in larger tours.

Doing what: Chianti Region Wine-Tasting and Dinner Half-Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Lots of tasty food to try and Emma was a fantastic guide. Well worth it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Lorraine W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great foodies tour with a little bit of culture thrown in along the way. The food was fabulous and our guide, Gigi, was absolutely delightful.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant tour, could not recommend this more highly. Beautiful scenery, well organised and great value for money for the amount of delicious food and drink you get on the trip. Would 100 go again. Thank you for having us

Doing what: Chianti Region Wine-Tasting and Dinner Half-Day Trip from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message