Pasta, wine, cheese, salami, olive oil – these are the tastes of Italy. The country’s famous food regions have given their names to some of the world’s most popular food and wine – from Montepulciano wines to Parmigiano cheese. Tuscany and Umbria ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our only complaint is that we didn't do this tour on our first day in Rome. Our guide, Francesca, was excellent - knowledgeable, professional, and a lot of fun! The tour itself was exactly as we hoped; a perfect walking tour of campo de' Fiori, the Ghetto, and Trastevere, with the right amount of food, wine, discussion, and history blended together to add to our appreciation of Rome and the neighborhoods we visited. Francesca explained the importance of the different foods we were eating, how to eat and order them, and where to find the authentic stuff the next time we visit Rome! Our biggest concern starting out is that we might not get enough food and have to get lunch afterwards. Instead, we found the tour to include a balanced amount of food and walking for a great last morning in Rome. If you like quality Bufalo Mozzarella, Pizza Bianca, good salami, fried artichokes and Rice balls, Amatriciana pasta, red wine, and killer Gelato, then this might be the tour for you. When we were done, our guide e-mailed us a list of Restaurant recommendations for Rome and Florence (our next destination).
As a couple of 30 year olds from San Francisco visiting on our honeymoon, we can't recommend this tour enough and are already pestering our friends to sign up when they head to Rome in June. Thanks Francesca! You were awesome!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Domenico was outstanding, knowledgeable, fun and enthusiastic. He's known by the locals which is testament to being accepted as a local. I was delighted to find that we visited a deli that was part of a food programme I watched before going to Rome, a great surprise and the quality was outstanding. I would suggest adding in a coffee to the programme, perhaps at the Pasticceria. It's not Italy without coffee. The market visit was fun, lunch was underwhelming, 3 plates of pasta and average sauces. Wine was cheap and undrinkable. Otherwise an outstanding experience, my 12 year old daughter loved it. Go at the start of your trip so you can experience an untouristed side to Rome. 10 out of 10 Domenico.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely brilliant.
The best thing I did in Italy.
The chef, Federico, was a lovely man who took the time to explain the principles of cooking. Many of the tips given are applicable to all styles of cooking, not just Italian, so will be very useful.
The food was incredible.
I have already recommended the cooking class to friends and relatives as something they must do next time they are in Rome.
I have also been inspired to start looking for pasta making equipment so that I can try and recreate some if the dishes when I get home.
Such an enjoyable experience, and one that will be fondly remembered.
A "must do" when in Rome - see the Pantheon, the Colosseum, and the Vatican, and then do this class.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely brilliant.
The best thing I did in Italy.
The chef, Federico, was a lovely man who took the time to explain the principles of cooking. Many of the tips given are applicable to all styles of cooking, not just Italian, so will be very useful.
The food was incredible.
I have already recommended the cooking class to friends and relatives as something they must do next time they are in Rome.
I have also been inspired to start looking for pasta making equipment so that I can try and recreate some if the dishes when I get home.
Such an enjoyable experience, and one that will be fondly remembered.
A "must do" when in Rome - see the Pantheon, the Colosseum, and the Vatican, and then do this class.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The Emilia-Romagna region is known for it's delicious food and what better way to get to know all this yummy-ness than with a food tour that takes you from place to place to see how it is all made AND of course to sample all the good things it has to offer.... look no further, this tour will deliver!

Andrea, the guide, picked me up in morning at my hotel and from the moment I sat down he started to tell me about the region and the places we were going to visit and the things we were going to taste that I couldn't wait to get started.
Our first stop was at the cheese factory where he showed me how the cheese is made and I really mean from the cows who provide the milk all the way to the storage room where they keep all the cheese waiting to be shipped out to some lucky customers around the globe. After that we drove, not too far, to the prosciutto factory where Andrea explained how they cure and dry the meat to get from a simple ham to the delicious prosciutto I got to taste at the end of the tour. Next stop was for me as a balsamic vinegar fan, the most exciting one, we stopped at a, 4th generation family run acetaie where I was explained in detail how we go from a Trebbiano grape to the "black gold" that can age well over a 100 years and how the taste changes during that ageing process with plenty of samples and combinations with meat, cheese and my favorite... vanilla ice cream.
To conclude this fantastic day we had an awesome dinner at a typical Italian restaurant where I had some, typical for the region, tagliatelle al ragu and a superdelicious dessert.

tl;dr - Top experience and I would recommend it to everyone!

PS I had the privilege to experience this tour as an unforeseen "private tour" because there were no other participants for that day. (December is still a great time to visit Bologna people, go get some Bologna!)

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Matteo was excellent. Very informative and friendly. My husband loved the wine tasting and Matteo taught my daughter and I about wine ( even though we don't drink). Our last stop where we had lunch was delicious. Give me simple Tuscan cooking any day. A highlight of our trip to Florence.

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My friend and I were the only two to do the tour, probably because it is off season, but I HIGHLY recommend it! The staff was great and provided a lot of great information. The wine tasting was delicious, along with all the snacks and lunch provided. Everything was GREAT!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Make sure you have a completely empty stomach before this tour. Guide was great, the walk was nice in between tastings. Visiting the cemetery was nice, and all the food was good, especially the suppli!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The was awesome. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Domenico was a brilliant guide, with wonderful knowledge and a great sense of humour. Food was amazing. Loved it.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Truly interesting! Learned a lot! Our guide Francesca was amazing! The food was excellent!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Cathy F
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I attended this by myself as my husband was working. I do not speak Italian, the translator walked from the small bus to my hotel, spoke beautiful English and was very welcoming. The group included another couple and five girls from London traveling together. He introduced us all to each other and encouraged interaction which was fun. We saw the cheese being made, the proscuitto process and learned how the balsamic is made and why some is called gold. We tasted an abundance of everything and were offered the opportunity to buys products. The guide kindly told me that I was not allowed to bring back the proscuitto to the US. Then we went to an amazing lunch. It was four courses of all of the foods of Bologna and their local wine. During lunch I mentioned that I was having trouble finding reservations for dinner as there was a big show in town. Our guide, Antonia, called a friend that owned a great restaurant near our hotel where we were treated like royalty. The owner was standing there waiting for us and brought some tastes of things while he opened our wine. We could not have been happier. This tour will make you feel like you have a family member bringing you to his local farms and factories to share his heritage. At no point did I feel alone, the tour was fun. I would highly recommend this tour whether you are with a group or on your own.

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Rome Food Walking Tour was better than we expected. This tour was suggested by a mother and daughter we met in Venice, I'm so glad we randomly ran into them!

My husband I and I wanted to experience Rome in a different way. We wanted to do more than visit the Colosseum or Vatican City, we wanted to see the quaint neighborhoods or the hidden gems of the city and this tour offers just that! When asked at the end of the tour what was our favorite part it was impossible to pick just one. I would highly highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome. Ask for Emma too! Emma truly made this tour amazing! She had so many interesting facts, personal experiences and was such a pleasure to be around! We couldn't have asked for a more personable tour guide. We spend almost 2 weeks in Italy and this tour is in our top 3 favorite memories! Not to mention everything we ate was DELICIOUS. One personal suggestion would be to go hungry because you are fed a lot of incredible food and you will want to finish every last crumb!

Thanks to Emma and all the amazing family owned shops we visited, we will most definitely be back in the future!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This excursion was above and beyond my expectations !! Our guide Alex was a delight with enough knowledge about Rome. it's history and food to please everyone . I've been to Rome many times and just wish we had done this special trip previously.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING and a MUST for your first time in Rome!!! Dominico, our foodie tour guide for the day was easy going, knowledgeable and very prepared. This entire tour, navigating through the "locals" neighborhood was so eye opening and something off the beaten path you would never think of doing on your own. This tour was very personalized and felt as if you were catered to in every aspect. We tried just about every possible custom of Rome... pizza, desert, gelato, their version of fat food, home-made pasta, wine, and more. We ventured through the local market and learned and watched the preparation of cannoli. Tasted the BEST bruchetta I have ever had in my life! My children, ages 9 and 6 were engaged the entire time as well! If you are on the fence to arrange this tour... you will not be disappointed! A MUST!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Ask for Federico...was a great time and delicious food!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message